Premature babies support group

kkf, ya it is tough now, I really hope things will slowly gets better
anyway being a mommy is tough regardless of how many we have, rite ? so you still at a dilemma whether to have no. 3, same leh my hubby also believe in Fengshui

Wow.. Really many posts to read.. Was bz the last 2 days... Finally can find a breather when all is asleep to join in

Lindah
Can understand the frustration... but i guess we as mummy wld definitely love to spend as much time with the bb as possible.. They know our presence

Thanks to say that during my ger's 2 mth stay, my hubby drove me there every day. As both our jobs r flexi... We were on leave like almost 6 months! Really appreciate my job then. Hang In there!

As for EBM, u must establish a gd flow by doing it 3 hourly, then u can switch to 4 hourly, then 6 hourly , 8 hrly n 12 hrly.. Supply shld be the same.If ur job scope allow, 3 times a day is the best. My sis in law has been expressing for 16 months, her supply per day is 1 litre!! But u must b persistent

DisneyMickey
No worries men! Different children develop differently. The bb tat my sis bbsit is 26 months... Can't talk npw.. Dr say is ok

Am oso using medela's dual pump

Costa
My milk supply oso decreasing.. from 400ml per expression to 250ml.. Milk flow becomes slower. Still expressing twice a day... haiz, reluctant to stop le but really very tired liao
Jus came back from appt at 1130pm, still can't rest... Must be cow cow first...

Cholegal
Wow! Urs can already crawl.. My girl likes to do the push up action.. Can sit without aid too. My sis always say that she is a cheerful n Very happy bb
But unlike u, this time rd, really enjoy the confinement

Okie.. guess have to go to bed liao.. Very tired after the day.. tomoro still have to go for meeting. As I don let my maid bathe the bb, every morning has to spendin 1 n s half hours in getting her ready should i need to go out early.. Nitz to all

Hi didi, I have decided not to have my 3rd one next year. Maybe got to wait till year of cow. Your hubby zodiac sign is horse too?

kkf, no, my hubby's zodiac is not horse, but his belief in fengshui is more towards his career, as for child-bearing part he is not particular as we are too DESPERATE and more than happy to have our bbs (so didn't really worry about the zodiac

morning mommies,

lindah,
i used medela single pump. q gd leh. but my fren who used avent manual pump say it's better, she says manual got better control.

kkf,
i scared of allergy mah, so din give my ger fish till after 1yr. but since u hav been giving & no problem, then it's good lor. anyway, fish is gd 4 brains development.

mummylian,
thanks 4 the console. but bit sian cos she can't talk yet. n bit pai seh oso, esp when pple ard kept asking can walk alrdy? can talk alrdy? sigh.

hullo!

wah... i wake up at 8.10 today! Bathe quickly and pump before lvg for work. Reach ofis 9+, supposed to be 8.30. Terrible right!

kkf,
ya. i think will tahan a bit before taking NPL. do what i can.

mummylian,
your supply very good hor. I nvr reached that much ever... maybe i shud change to PIS after all. Going to Bfdg Org this Fri... try out their PIS demo set. Then decide...

single pump can get so much? wow!

i tried avent manual before. then got tired so changed to ameda. now when use avent manual, the let down no longer so good so i stick to ameda.

now flow reducing... dunno whether should change. haiz. but i figure if hv another kid, then worth it. but such things can last or not? like ameda, after 5mths, suction feel less. not sure if it's my imagination. A fren of mine has a 4yr old ameda. Also not so good, already.

kkf, hows yr first few days at school?u really wake up very early in the morning..

Lindah,
how long do you need to tell yr boss before u can go for NPL?My personal advice to you is take one step at a time..maybe find out when he can be discharged..whether any special care needs to be taken when looking after him(hopefully not)..and whether can yr caregivers cope without you around..

Most importantly..the question is "can you tahan staying at home to take care?"

becuz everythg now to me is preliminary stage...u dun noe when he can be discharged? if you take leave and he is in good hands in kkh,then you waste the leave, right?

Why dun you just sit down, think thru...wat is the next step and work towards it?

Tis is my own opinion..becuz i m not embarassed to tell you that i did entertain thots of quitting previously and i kept on crying and panicking when my boi was at kkh...The counsellor there spoke to me and told me to take one step at a time and dun rush things....

I listened to her and then when my boy was discharged...I just took a day leave on Friday and then over the wkend settled things down at home and later i went back to work after a few days....

For tube feeding, i changed the tube myself, the rest of the things I outsourced to my maid to do..

Many pple are not like me can just hands off......and more so, its yr first child.....of cse not advising you to be like me lah...

Mummylian,
really admire your BM...embarassingly, i only expressed enuff to mix wif cereals..my frens told me im wasting my time...i oso dun noe when to stop....

haiya costa.
i thot every drop of BM counts? Tt's what I was told by this lady who champions BM...

i hv to inform boss and apply formally AT LEAST 2wks in advance. I think I will definitely take leave for at least 2 weeks... so I thot whay not take 4 weeks. more time for baby. If got special care, lagi jialat coz my maid cannot full time on baby. she has a lot of things to do. and my parents so far only visit my son 6-8 times. So at least I think must be around until my parents and my maid are comfortable with my baby, before I go back to work. I am very scared to just leave my baby with them like that. somemore feel cheated coz din get to spend maternity lv on baby alone...

you talking about majella is it? hmm... i hvn realli spoken to her on these things. normally when we talk, it's abt financial arrangements.

what was your next step that time when it was not known when baby will be discharged? i am interested to know oso. at this stage, i sometimes think that I am just swimming like Dory the Fish in Nemo... Keep on Swimming. Keep on Swimming... Waiting for D-day.

the reason y i scared to lv baby w them str8 away is because since my parents and maid dun visit baby much, i am paranoid tt they dunno the signs of distress from baby. face colour, straining, etc... can learn but will take time oso...

hi kkf -- wow...so its seem my boy teething quite fast hor...since urs at 20 mths also have not had 8 teeth yet...hmmm.. i wonder....

about eggs, i understand from my collegus is first give egg yolk, then..slowly egg white...cos scare allery ...

my boy had his very first try at porridge yesterday! hmm ... he can swallow and he manage to eat 4 spoon full. but need my mum help to 'push' the porridge in keke...today my mum will try the one meal again...hehe.

lindah..about BM. do not be stress. sure can one... and about gg on NPL...think costa & other mummies can really share with you her experience...most of the mummies here sure have that thoughts when our bb is in hospital..but i think non here actually really stop work...

jane,

really, ah? hmm... but at this pt i realli hope to spend time with him... ;)

ya... something about the albumin in egg white, i think... can only intro after corrected 1 yr...

lindah..your fear of who can and who cannot take care of your boy we all can understand. my boy at 26 weeks when discharged is still small (he diascharged at about 2.2 kg corrected about 1 month old). then when he home, i manage to apply for one month of maternity leave. then with help from my mum, we manage to cope...

i think...while waiting for D-Day, perhaps you can see if either of your parents can go with you to hospital to learn how to take care of your boy? the SCN nurse is more than happy to teach you the various signs and sythoms....

(just remember..if the doctor feel your boy is ready to go home, means he is ready. believe in it).

talking about steps when i dunno when that time my boy will come home.... i just work and work and to and fro KKH. i din think too much....never buy anything for him too. until he came home, i start to buy this and that

while he is still in hospital, i just had my pump, steriliser...really...no bb things at home...

but once he is out...all i need is clothes and pampers and of course milk bottles and teats! all these easily ready available.

lindah...just to share...don't be stress. things will be just ok. really...u see me...belive. things be ok

lindah...sometime...think think...you can go to hospital everyday (but u cannot really stay there whole day because there are visiting hours and such)...hmmm..not that i discourage you from taking NPL ...

perhaps...perhaps...mummies (like mich or costa) has further to share..

lindah...i really personally been thru what u are gg thru..really....given my boy is born at 26 weeks and at 985 grams. here talking to u is a mummy who (like costa, mummylian, mich, cholegal etc) has experience not having bb at home for months since bb arrrive in this world.

lindah..u have us...be strong. continue to express and if u feel comfortable..just change pump etc. try PIS and these and that...

thanks, jane.

my parents too tired to go lah. my dad is 70+ and my mum is late 60s. so i dun expect them to go often oso. Not so good at public transport and my father don't drive much nowadays. They only go on some saturdays when i drive from home.

They want to take care of him when he come home but they hardly visit him as they think praying will be more effective in helping him. for all i know, they may be right. so i oso dunno whether should drag them to KKH. they love my son (i can tell cos they bother to do prayers at 4AM for him).

when he's at home, i hope they are not too tired to take care of him. haiz. They so old already, I want to drag them to kkh oso got no heart... i think they oso see no pt gg kkh. wud prefer to reserve their energy to when the baby comes home.

hi lindah...i see. or perhaps if you intend to get a maid eventually, get this maid to go with you to KKH (during one of the hands on session) and see if any of the nurses can help guide her. ...

think if ur parents can be at home while the maid take care of your baby...perhaps you can consider if u wish to quit or u want to do partime or wat...

hug hug lindah...things sure can be work out one :)

no lah . wont quit . not possible . home loan will drive me crazy . hehehe .

thinking of dragging my parents for some of the hands on sessions .

waiting eagerly for then .

hi lindah :) well..me too working hard cos need to buy my boy toys etc etc etc etc haha...

hmm..good if your parents can go. then think maybe u can arrange with the nurses for a special hands on experience for you..since now your boy is about 2kg plus? shld be quite easy to handle...

meanwhile, sit tight and wait for the very fast approaching D-Day :)

Lindah,

my next step before i knew wat to do was to ask the nurses roughly when he can be discharged..

they can give you a rough idea like for eg 1 wk or 2 wk..also you wld noe when they ask you to do hands on like bathing, learning cpr(its a must)

i thk u hv got some steps right as you alrdy got a maid..bring her down to practise infront of the nurse.....can bring her down to hands on maybe for a full day or smthg to learn from the nurses and demo infront of them

yr boy's eye progress is good...tt he regressed whilst in hospital...

tink if yr boy is really to be discharged, he wld be fit as a fiddle like normal kid..only thg is we dun hv monitoring devices at home...so we have to observe him for changes in face colour...(when not pink but blue colour)..breathless etc..
afterall, nothg better than human observation...

for me, i personally feel is to try to stay longer in the hospital..talk to the nurses to learn more..get as much knowledge as possible...

when it comes to cpr, the "sister"nurse will teach you and tts vy important to get yr maid/caregiver to learn...

my maid is the village type and so when the cpr came about...i got the maid to demo on the dummy to show that she has understood wat she has learnt...

yah, talking abt majella, she advised me not to panic and to take thgs one at a time becuz later on you wld need leave to bring him for appointments etc..so try to preserve leave but of cse, if you hv leave just take..

maybe my situation is different as i m self employed and dun really hv "so called leave"

Jane,
congrat to your boy which he succeful to have 4 spoon full, why not start the nestle rice cereal and brown rice wth spoon first, more smooth,he can learn how to swallow first, then you give him the porriage will be easy for him too.
Ya, i think your boy very powerfull, got 8 teeth which ours one only got 2 and my 2nd twins not at all, i always say him was a old man , bogei. bogei.
Lindah, keep it on, i prefer the manual avent pump, more powerfull like we press ourself, oh, i still remember when i pump at home, as my sons not wth me, i will look at their photo and do the express, quiet usefull, like can express more .ha..ha.. maybe you can try....
Disney,
need to check wth you,
as i told you before my twins dont like porriage as they more prefer nestle rice cereal and brown rice wth spoon, i already stop 2 week, yesterday i start again, 1st twins look like want, he was taken 4small spoon than dont want already and vomit out, 2nd twins after taken 4 spoon he also dont want, no choice that need to do milk for them, they finish all the milk. ai ya, what should i do? please advice me,,,,,,
is it i still need to cook everyday?
Didi,
than you must jia yu, for me, i will let my twins everything in same time, example same time for drink milk, eat cereal, bath will be turn by turn, sleep time also same, because i got one maid to help me, i dont want them in different time if not i will be more busy, my twins very funny too, if i give one of them early or do anything for other one, one of them will look at me, like asking me? how abt me? why i dont have, than i will let him know the reason, example, brother finish breakfast first than he can bath early, i will told his youngest brother, keke finish milk first , so i will bath for him, if one of them vomit after meal, next meal i will give him first i will tell other one say, he vomit the milk, he more hungry. he need to take milk first, you was good boy, finish milk and never vomit out.i dont know my way wrong or correct, i just want them know that i was fair to them.
kkf,

Like to share.
I just buyed the johnson & johnson product which bathtime series.
was a new product, i tryed the bedtime bath, lotion, very good for baby, the advertisement is for baby sleep more smooth and easy sleep.
I try to use and i notice very good, is useful. now they can sleep more sweet and in sleep faster than before i use. exspecially my 1st twins, he always need me to carry 2-5minit than he can get sleep, after i used the bedtime bath and lotion,powder he can sleep himself, he just need me to sayang sayang him wth hand, a few minit he fall sleep.
ha..just share share wth your.

jacelyn,
i was told when i try solids (cereals), bb may reject new food initially..got to b patient. sometimes, they'll eat a bit, then dun wan. so it's normal. i think u shld continue to feed a bit everyday. until they like it..but to save effort & $, maybe u juz add vegetable in the porridge. if u add meat & fish every time, then they dun wan to eat, a bit waste $. veg cheaper. try putting pumpkin? ez to cook & pumpkin bit sweet, maybe they'll like.

disney
ok,thanks , i will be patient and try and try,
now i going to give them some, pork,carrot wth porriage, see how, report you again, hope can give you good news.

hallo

sorry ah. i hv a qn and dunno where else to ask. i was thinking maybe my baby's prematurity may be due to fact that i dun eat much fruits and veg. i cant stomach fruits (dunno y; dun like the smell) and eat leafy vegs/carrots occasionally only... any advice what supplements to eat? as i guess in future, i should prep my body w better nutrition... so that hopefully can get full term baby?

Me back from my battlefield!

Trying again to read all the posts...hee

Costa! Thanks! My first few days of school were challenging! Kids are ever so noisy! I still got piles of holiday homework to mark, compositions, worksheets etc. Want my life.

I usually woke up at 4am. Sometimes you will see me up at 3am. Well, because got to mark and mark and mark. I am not a person who can do things after work. I usually won't do anything at night, will spend time with my boy.

Lindah, you may want to buy angelcare sound monitor. I bought it last time, that can detect the slightest movement of your baby. I am soooo afraid of apnea so I bought it. If there is no movement of baby (breathing) for few seconds, it will alarm you.

I think you should also (like what costa said) start training your maid on how to take care of the baby. hmm...bring her to see him, and let her watch how those premature babies are in kkh. Maybe she will see that it is not easy for those babies there, and will take extra good care of him.

Jane! I am working hard for my boy's toys and books too!!! Haha...I am even thinking of sending him for courses liao. Going to bring my boy for trial at growing up gifted this sunday.

Hi jacelyn! hope your baby loves your delicious porridge!

fairytale, how is your baby?

kkf,
i oso dunno. but i read an article on a mummy who had 2 IVF. she succeeded the 2nd time cos she take good care of her health, including eating more fruits and veges...

so then, i thot cud be because of my immune system not fortified enuf...

Lindah,
yamn dont be sad that you never eat a lot of vego and fruit. as kkf say, i am also eat a lot of vegi and fruit, a lot a lot of supplement food and healthy product, one week once dongcongcao and paosen. so what happen to me too? still prem baby...hai ya...dont say la..no choice, maybe fate want us to be a special mommy and maybe our baby need more love and care from us, so they come out so early. My hubby always say, people need to wait 40weeks the baby wth them, but our baby 30weeks aready know how to smile wth us.. ha..ha
disney , kkf, all the mummies,
share wth your my happiness.
my two little boys each one finish 1/2 bowl of porriage, wah,wah,wah, i am so happy, now they sleep, i will give them milk after 1 1/2hour later, can emazing how happy i am? the porriage wth meat and carrot, i got put some soya sauce too

Hiaz. Feeling down these few days. Read too many unhappy things like this baby got critical illnesses, this baby born sooo prematured. Then some childless bi#ch insulted my good friend's ds by saying he is ugly.

So angry when I heard that. I want to dig her eyes out.

hiaz. On a happier note, yesterday and the day before, when my dd slap my hand away, I pretended to cry and brawl. Guess what she did?

She gave me a kiss on the lips!

hee hee! Cannot use the same trick everyday. Wait no effect. hahaha...

jacelyn,
tink its advisable not to let bb take salt/sugar b4 1 yr old leh...so tink try dun put soya sauce into the food...if not, always they wanna use food wif "taste"

natural fruits n vegetables already got sodium and bbs cannot really process salt well as their kidneys r immature...

kkf,
u really vy hardwking leh...i dun tink i can ever wake up at 4am..now, i hv to wake up at 6 plus to get my son ready for school and i really buay tahan like a zombie at work....

onli during jun holiday, i can sleep until 7am tts why can relax and put on weight (so terrible)...

Lindah,
my premature labour was due to infection, im a vy meat person although i eat veg and fruits as well...

costa,
ok, tmr i wont put soya sauce, hope they take, before that i never put too, my sis always ask me try to put some, if not , baby dont want to take at all, a lot of people ask me to put , they say your baby dont want to eat because no taste, ok, tmr i just do the meat wth carrot without soya salt.

jacelyn,
last time, i was also fed salt in porridge and even salted fish..and also lidat but now wif all this research and etc..they say cannot put wor...

i oso dun noe who is right.....you try without soya sauce and see if they eat or not..if they hungry, sure eat one lah

oh ya ah, kkf. be teacher, hv to wake up so early... not so fun either...

hmm... dunno wat job is ideal.

costa,
mine oso infection, i think. so if eat more vits... maybe wudnt get infected?

costa,
ya,ya, i will try tmr , just put vegi and meat only, see how, thanks ha,, tmr lwt you know again.
Your boy start solid food now?

Too fast... i cannot catch up.
Stomach flu... MC 2 days liao.

Jacelyn
I mix it with a bit of water before pouring it into the milk. No problem so far.
You checked with the medical hall if it is ok to give before 1 yo?

Naddy
Dong cong cao is chinese herb, also known as Cordyceps. It is to build up immunity.
Si Sen is a chinese herb to boosts appetite.

Didi
Your boy is more than a year old now?
Will he still have episodes of desat?

Kkf
You are up so early... can really tong.

Lindah
KKH will give you ample time to prepare when your bb is ready for discharge.
The docs and nurses asked me was i ready to bring my elder boy home? They will make sure the mummy is confident in looking afer the child before discharging the bb.
I took a few days leave to spend the whole day in the hospital, learning to bathe and feed him.
The bathing was disasterous. Luckily, i didn't drop the boy.
Feeding also no good. He desat, i panic.
My family was very supportive. They said: bring him home.
Once home, we treat him like a normal baby.
It is good to think and plan but right now, it is too early to cast everything in stone.
Let him stay in the hospital for now to continue to receive the best care and grow well.

thanks, mich, for the advice. ya. i m a bit too over-eager. hehe.

jacelyn, your hubby look on the positive side. ;) Good right?

kkf, i checked the angelcare monitor is $279. Is yours still working? can sell 2nd hand? hehehe. not sure if i want to get... but maybe lah.

Lindah
It is normal for mummies like us to feel overwhelmed....
This is a good platform for you to learn many things. I never heard of angelcare monitor when my boys were discharged.

jacelyn,
yah, my boy started porridge and i anyhow feed him, one..except no added salt thats all..pumpkin porridge wif beef, minced pork and carrot etc really anyhow one..

mich,
me same...i cldnt bathe my boi properly...(shame on me,second child leh, not like you all)...the nurse asked me to do again,i managed to convince her dun need haha..

yr two boys so adorable and not scared of the goats....tink they went to the goat farm at lim chu kang right? my boy got the same outfit as d and e...ha ha ...onli smaller size for my boy...

lindah,
regarding the monitor...i wanted to buy one last time but i din

my advice to you is not to let them sleep face down like wat the nurses said and after feeding, dun put him face up..let him lie to the side so that if he throws up milk,he wun swallow back

i think it all boils down to talking more to the nurses, see how they handle him and getting their advice...

if lah..dun worry..there is smthg which is called rooming in service in kkh.which allows the mum to handle the child themselves whilst staying overnite at kkh..only thg is nurses will be there to assist if you cant manage..

there was a mummy whom i noe who stayed overnite as her ger had special requirements and later..everythg went on fine and the mummy also went home wif good knowledge..

if you tink you can handle n confident enuff then discharge..last time, i always thot tt i cannot manage and one of the nicu nurses always "scolded" me..she wld say "tell u to bring him back,u scared tis scared that, u see lah, now got coughing and also exposed to chicken pox virus"

i really wanted to hit my head agst the wall for being so goondu and indirectly exposing him to more germs (u noe lah, hospitals are not the cleanest of all places....) and home is always best (if you are confident enuff)

Hi lindah, yeah, no job is perfect. haiz...teachers got the priviledge to knock off early. But then I came home, still doing work!sianz...weekends burnt with compositions to mark.

I am a morning person, so can wake up so early. When I was studying, I remember waking up soooo early as well.

Yeah, jacelyn, baby's porridge cannot be too saltish because baby's kidneys still not mature. You can try putting ikan bilis (how to spell) powder for taste? I always do so, somemore good for calcium. Congratulations that your babies finish half a bowl!

Mich you ok now?

Stressed, Wow the stupid person like that, say people's kids ugly? Think next time his/her will be really ugly. Serves him/her right! Anyway, you so lucky, your gal sooo guai!

Yeah yeah costa, I agree. Stupid hospitals not the cleanest place! My boy got blood infection there. It is due to mishandling of equipments!

I remember during his stay, got a nurse got chickenpox too!

hahah... mich, your boys hv grown well. ;) hope my son will grow just as well too. ;)...

costa,
rt now, dun even know when can come out. hhm... but agree w you. sometimes the nurses oso sick. i scared when they sneeze.

rooming-service, can find out from who?

Mich
Take care yourself, i will check wth them after that give some for my boys too.
Your boys grow very well. They look quiet same size ha...
kkf,
ya, i wont put any salt and soya sauce, maybe i try the ikan bilis, how to do the powder? how to give?
costa,
wah, your boy so clever, eat so many things liao, he can finish one bowl too?
Lindah,
ya, my hubby more positive than me during my boys in hospital, luckly got him, if not, i also dont know how am i going to be.dont worry, sure your baby can go back wth you soon, think positive and try your best to go and visit them, singapore transport more convenient than jb here, i still remember i am not dare to drive car to hospital, every time need to wait for my hubby to sent me there, if take bus, need very long time,not convenient too.
Jane,
whewre are you today? no news from you lei...

jane is here..working hard cos got meeting to attend kekekek....

now gg to shut off pc..going home hhahaha

chat with all tomorrow cheers!

Hello jacelyn

My mum do it for me. Not really sure how she do it leh...think she dry the ikan billis then pound? Or maybe can put in blender to blend until powder form?

Mich
Hope u have recovered from your stomach flu. Try not to get to close D & E caused if i am not wrong it can be easily passed to them.

Edric once caught the virus from my niece and was admitted to KKH for 3 days. He just vomit everything that goes into his mouth. To take care of him, we even rent a room in macdonald house at KKH so that we do not need to travel so much. Me and my hubby will take turn to look after edric while the other one will rest in the room.

I stayed in the macdonald family house before too during my boy's stay in kkh for about a week.
Nice family room though, but wish never ever have to got there.