Premature babies support group

Long time din't log in & saw so many postings.

Costa
You are a brave mum.I believe we (mummies) tend to treasure our premmies more than other mummies.Sometimes when I see some parents mis-treat their children,I feel angry.Why they don't treasure their children who don't give them any medical problems.

As for me,I can't even bring my bb out coz he needed oxygen & feeding tube.Hiaz.....

Jane,
yeah, light at the end of the tunnel
for all of us..

Mich,
thanks for coming by...i had also been inspired by you for being so brave....and had been following yr posts last time...

Fairytale,
Thanks for your praise...i actually vy coward one...even facial, i also say painful...

Hows yr boy? The oxygen thingy wld be a thing of the past soon....hv faith in him...is he progressing well now? did doc give any further analysis?

hi fairytale,
sorry,but i din hav time to go thru archieve,how old is ur boy? my ger needed feeding tube for abt 1wk when she's born.looks pitiful,but after removing it a wk later,she's eating/feeding like a hungry hipo..dun worry,it'll b the same 4 u soon

costa n mickey

my boi hv improved but doc say when he is sleeping,his breathing is gd.But when he is awake,he tends to breathe very fast.Doc say they can't do much.They put my boi on by pac.Sometimes they can off & switch to oxygen.He is still on feeding tube to his intenstine but doc say din't really help much for his reflux.I'm thinking of weaning him when he is back.Don't care what the doc say liao since they say they can't do much.

Fairytale
I know of one baby girl (born at 24 weeks plus) who was discharged with oxygen and feeding tube. She is doing good now too.
Your boy will be fine.

Costa
All the mummies here are very brave and the babies are warriors.
How's your little warrior doing?

hi fairytale - am sure your boy be will soon overcome the reflux. have faith :)

can understand the agony of your boy cannot go home yet. but soon soon, am sure soon he can be home sweet home. let the doc and nurses do what they can...meanwhile, let you boy know, he have all the mummies here to cheer him up orh :)

jane,
think this way,since now ur boy prob still q weak,it's best 4 him to stay in hospital, where there r professional nurses & docs who can attend to him. when my pd say my ger can b discharged,hubby & me bit scared, dunno if we can take care of such a small bb. so in the meantime, rest well, & build your health , 2 b prepared to take care of ur little prince when he comes home

Mich,
My boy is okay, thanks...small sized...he was also discharged wif feeding tube but he pulled it out himself and the second time i din put it back..i got no heart to put it back

slowly feed him thru bottle, now also still slowly drink....bec his sucking is still weak...

Fairytale,
Wonder why the doctor cant find out how come when he sleeps, he cant breathe well....Later on, wld it be troublesome to get another analysis by another doctor?

Maybe can ask the doctor if take out the tube possible or not?Did you do any facial massage for your boy?Maybe try to stimulate his face to give him some feeling to his mouth..if he had not been feeding thru mouth...he may not "feel the senses"...

Tis is my five cents worth as i was taught to do this massage to stimulate my boy's face..anyway, his feeding is still weak but no harm doing the massage...

Coasta, i am still struggling to read the postings here.....so the format is abit different from where i came from.

but, this will not stop me from wanting to post more photos on my boy, kayton.

as some of you had remembered my last post, kay was a premature too, born as a 29 weeker, weighing only 815gsm.

i weighted him last week, to my disappointment, he's only 7.8kg, but i am okay with it lah, cos the doctor says it's normal for premature babies. their weight will only be on par with their peers when they hit puberty.

so, mummies, with very low birth weight babies, dun give up. slowly, day by day, you will see your baby progress.

encourage your baby along, talk to your baby everytime you visit him (for those babies who are just born and are still at the incubator), keep on pestering those nurses for you to carry your babies. it's very comforting for our babies to feel our touch, our hug and our LOVE.

803907.jpg
my happy boy sitting on my bed! he simply adores the camera! would smile at one whenever he knew he is the focus.

any mummy here that were from the same NICU as mine??

kay was staying in the NICU from feb 2006 to april 2006, anyone here? hey, we may knew each other leh...

Stressed and Chloe, Guess all of us are strong in one way or other....

Kaytons mummy, Me cant get used to the other forum's format..heh heh..opposite from you...

Kayton is soooooooooo adorable...he not small sized to me leh..he looks quite proportionate..

adeline,
my ger stayed @ Mt A NICU in feb06, which NICU did ur boy stay?

think our bb r abt the same age? born feb06? if so,will u feel better if i tell u my ger weighs oso 7.8kg? haha

oh,din know their wt (for low birth wt bb) will only catch up during puberty..but pd did ask if she eats, i told him she eats a lot but not putting on wt. but doc say then it's ok. like i've always said, i fed her (q a lot,actually), she eats, she poo, she can crawl (but can't walk yet), she can laff, she understands wat we say. it's enuff 4 me. think every bb is diff.

sorry mummies,

short interruption. i am begining to think i shld change my boy FM. Now he is still on similac neosure. my mum is trying to introcude to him the sze shen brown rice cereal (mix with his milk).

recently i don't know why, his appeitite seem not very good. always don't want to finish up his milk.

i am thinking of introducing to him the normal FM. ie similac step 1 or two??

he is now bilogical is 9 mths but corrected is 6mths.

any mother any advise for me?

jane,
i think ur boy can move on to follow-on formula (6-12mths bb). since ur boy falls within this age group (whether corrected or not),u can move on to follow-on formula. my ger took nan HA2 after 8mths,b4 tat,she's on BF.

it's ok if sometimes their appetite not gd,think they r 'sian' of the food/milk, maybe it's time 4 a change. sometimes,if they r teething,appetite will oso b affected. dun b worry. unless u c him losing weight, then go consult pd.

good morning. Things seemed to have regressed for me. Dr SF Loh took a look at my scan y'day and said my waterbag is showing signs of bulging (similar to what happened to my 1st twin Joash's) so he has ordered with immediate effect, that I go back to TOTAL BEDREST, meaning I've to do everything in bed again
it's a torture having not being able to use toilet freely and being totally reliant on the nurses for your hygiene needs like an invalid. Also, it's really uncomfy having to elevate the lower half of my body the whole day. I wish I can have your perserverance Mich, Costa and all you mummies. The nurses put the 'CRIB' tag above my bed y'day evening and even refused to allow me to sit up for my meals or use the`PC! So am now struggling to type this lying down,
why must there be so many hurdles and dangers along the way? sighz...

I cldn't sleep well last night. I feel a lot of pressure on me now..very worried my baby Ashley won't be able to make it past her 24 weeks esp with this new development. The next 2 weeks are very crucial - I'll try my best to hang on no matter how much I've to endure... but mummies, I need your encouragement, I'm losing hope and feel that my story won't have a happy ending!!

hi disneymickey, oh ok. thanks for your advise.

my boy...erh...i dun have a weighting scale at home but he out wear his L Size Drypers liao..i forsee he will need to put on XL very soon :p

angel good morning. cheer up. its another day! remember..each day is an achievement. it is...

i was on CRIB too. hey gal persist! you have us u remember?? this thread is really all about u and ashley.

ashley ashley......ashley gal gal. u heard aunte jane or not?? listen UP. be good gal. take in more food...grow fast fast.... your mummmy is very tense and kanjong now. don't make your mum panic okie...

we all know thou sometime you do not reply but we know you are reading our threads.

hey...hey...don't strain yourself if u cannot really type laying down. msot important is rest

just log in, read our daily threads. keep yourself in touch with us...reply only when you feel comfortable.

rest is most important now. and stay cheerful.

Angel,dear,

*hug**hug*..u must perservere, ok..i was CRIB right from the start and absolutely no movements at all....which mean to say i was totally CRIB for three wks........and after birth also almost restrictive movements as i was on drips...

You hv to listen to wat Doc Loh said, dear..I also not used to being immobile and hving to use bedpans and even getting sponged early in the morning..but i really got no choice...

You gotta perservere like me....just a bit of perserverances goes a long way....

Dun tink of any bad endings....just concentrate and REST, REST AND REST....

Dont use the PC if you are not able to...maybe can get yr hb to type for you...just sleep and sleep....i noe its easy for me to say but hey, you ask Doc Loh..me also went thru the same thing...

My bb is ok and with me and trust me, u must strive on..okay...Just sleep well..Text me if need be... and make sure the nurses give you all the medicines you need.......

Another thing is really, try to minimise movements even when u are in bed as any movement may trigger contractions...

Also, even if you are given go ahead to walk when yr condition is better..please ask a nurse to escort you or smthg..

Again, yr hb or yrself can text me or call me if you need anyone to talk to..

HI angel,

You must be strong for Ashley....you have come so far and just take one day as it comes...very soon you will get to hold your bb in ur arms...

A big hug from me to you...

ask you all....my gal seems to be pooing after every feed...my mil say could be teething thats why..her poo not those watery type...any mummies got this experinece with ur bbs?

Hi Angel,

hang in there. It'll be over soon. Loon. What is a little discomfort? Okay. I know it's a lot of discomfort. But look at it this way,

You've made it this far already. The best gift for Ashley right now is not to trigger any contractions. The only person to give your lovely baby this gift is you.

Jia You!!!

yes angel, jia you. or u more at ease with sms? you can sms me too (i just PM you my mobile number).

oh get ur lao gong to get u a MP3. i had one with me when i was CRIB too...its helps...

we are all behind u...persist angel. you are not far from the goal point

Hi Angel
I believed many of the mummies here can relate to what you are going through now.... CRIB.
I felt the same way as you. Feel like an invalid cos have to rely on the nurses to attend to my hygiene needs.
It was so uncomfortable and the days passed so slowly.
I did not know about this forum then and I had no other support besides my hb, family and friends,
You have us!!! Tell yourself if we can do it... You can do it too... Just 2 more weeks !!!!

Food I had fish everyday. I know it is difficult to eat while lying down. I had no appetite. Eat for the sake of the baby, ok?
Avoid any spicy food that will make Ashley more active. Cos we do not want her to disturb the water bag and trigger anything.

I am working near KKH and i lunch there quite often. If you are sick of the hospital food, I can help to buy lunch for you. You want some magazines?
I have PM you my hp number.

Oh... I remembered my cousin told me when she was ordered bed rest by her gynae, she was given some drugs to make her drowsy and she slept whole day, Time passed faster this way. I was not given any when I was in KKH. Maybe you want to check with Dr Loh.

hi angel, help is not far away..re i got a sis working at KKH. she is really more than willing to help you or buy u something real fresh yummy food from outside KKH.

that time when i was CRIB..i just turn side to side to ease the ache...angel..reach out to us. time flies and you will not be so sian.

like mich..that time if i know of this forum..i think perhaps i could really have tolerate for a few more weeks....

puppyduppy,
u say ur gal poo after every feed,is it after every milk or every porridge.sorry, i dunno how old is ur gal. i rem pd say,if poo is not watery kind,it's ok. if ur ger is alrdy eating porridge,it may be wat u add into ur porridge,eg.pumpkin & sweet potato tend to make it easier to poo.
anyway,if u r still worried, go c pd.

angel ger, weekend coming, i won't be accessing web (cos weekend no time to even have proper bath and makan as i need to be full time taking care of my boy :p).

i am really a lousy mum who is like a crazy woman come weekend haha...

but just wish to tell you...jane still rooting u on... monday when i come in, hope can see and read ur lastest notes (ask ur hb to write to us updates us).

try take good nite rest. think of us if things really get bored. and oh... to cheer u up, here another one of my boy pic (with a star for your ger)

angel..i know its very sian to spend the night (alone?) at the ward. my boy told me to give u this star to keep u shining and happy...

804994.jpg

they say bb and bb has antenal? if that is true...take a look at my boy pic (download into ur lap top for ease of access) because...braveness and perservance is what will bring u to your final success goal.

march on...am sure ashley and mummy be ok.

Angel
Don't worry too much.It will affect your bb.You must be a happy mummy.Tell your bb that she is so loved by so many mummies here.

costa
your bb got reflux but how come u dare to feed your bb thru mouth?I'm thinking of weaning my bb when he is back.Bit by bit i will give him the porridge

Fairytale,
Actually, his reflux is better and after the diagnosis and taking the test, the doctor said its not really serious enuff for medicine...

but he took out the feeding tube himself and i couldnt bear to put it back..so i fed him thru the mouth and now i hvnt started porridge yet...onli cereals...and mashed fruits...

costa
Aft you wean your bb,does his reflux gets better?My boi is only on Spirnolactone,Lasix medication only.How about your bb?

Costa
Weight can be gained slowly.
My younger twin used to drink very slowly when he first came home. Needs a lot of patience to feed him.

Adeline
Kayton is so cute.
Regarding weight no need to wait until puberty lah. My boys weights are almost on par with their peers now.
NICU my boys were there a year before your baby. Jan 2005 -May 2005.

Jane/ disneymickey
Yours also 2006 ah.....
Looks like my boys are the oldest preemies in this thread.

Jane
Your boy picture reminds me of my elder twin when he was younger. Botak and chubby cheeks!

Fairytale
Weaning - Start with plain rice cereal when bb turns 6 mths corrected age.

Angel,
pls hang it there, rest well for the sake of baby, and urself too. after the baby is born u'll be overwhelmed, so now take it as a 'chance' to rest n rest n rest....

am very touching to see so many mummies here offering help to buy food (hospital food really difficult to swallow) etc. too bad i work n stay far fr kkh so couldn't give u a hand. u'll hav my moral support. i believe supports fr others is very very important at this crucial stage.

All mummies,
saw lots of posting about having another baby. w/out noticed, i'm expecting a 2nd one now. pls pls wish me luck. i'm very stress n scare after having 1st experience.

Fairytale,
I would put it as he throws up but now so much nowadays compared to the early days of going home...I guess his reflux is better in the sense that he takes smaller feeds and little bit of solid food....

Mich,
M always inspired by yr stories and hopefully my boy wld be like your kiddo...heh heh...

Irenelovej,
A big congrats to you..hows evything? hope that it is plain sailing for you all the nine months...Dun be stressed lah.....i noe its easy for me to say but if you worry, you make yr little one also stressed...try to relax and follow up wif yr gynae regularly...U seeing the same gynae as last time?

irene,
congrats! every pregnancy is different. rest & eat well & wish u a smooth 9mths ahead

angel,
rest rest rest.. take the opportunity to rest well now. when little ashley is out,u won't hav chance to rest

Fairytale,
forgot to mention tt my boy was not prescribed medicine for reflux..just told to becareful whilst feeding him,thats all...

irenelovej,
disneymickey is right...every pregnancy is different....dun be too worried...just go wif the flow....

Hi mummies, something to check : my younger bb the one with longer tube-feeding period, tends to stick out his tongue off and on
does this happens to your bbs ? how to get rid of this 'bad' habit ?

Costa, do you 'so' your bb's head to make it round round ?

disneymickey,

my gal is 5 months(corrected age), she takes abit of the nestle rice cereal mix with her milk....
oh so if poo is not those watery kind should be ok right? think she is teething thats why she poos after every milk feed...

not been able to login for some time and wow... so many posts!!
so good to see more mummies in here.

seems like most little warriors are fighting well, slowly but surely.
take heart, mummies. every single effort will reap joy & happiness as your little darlings becomes stronger & healthy.

costa & jane,
how are your boys?

physio therapist has discharged my boy 2 weeks ago. so 1 less appt to queue for.
next week, will be annual eye checkup & neonat appt. hopefully, neonat can discharged him too.

hi mommies!

it's really, really nice seing such strong support for all the moms who need the support.

adeline lee

hi! my baby was in nicu from mid-march 2006 to april and transferred to scn in april.

my daughter, 12.5months corrected age, is only 6.8kg!!!!

she's been latching on direct since december 06 (as i've taken a year no-pay-leave) and absolutely refuses the bottle now. neonat has recommended pediasure but my daughter doesnt even want the bottle! i tried to sneak pediasure into cereals but she knows better. sigh.

Hi Mommies!

A few months ago when I was a bit more active in this thread, I started this table so that at a glance, we can see the info about our precious ones without having to scroll up and down, back and forth. So, I'm starting this again and if the information is not up-to-date or *gasp* wrong, please PM me and I'll make the necessary corrections. For all those whose info is not here, please PM me too so i can update everything here. This will also enable mommies who are in the same plight to contact the more 'experienced' ones. Thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Born in Week:</TD><TD>Length of Stay</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolene (joleoh)</TD><TD>08-Oct-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1645g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>3wks</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Yvonne, May I know how old are your bb ? as I am looking forward not going to KKH for appts
thoughI know it is still 'early'. Thanks

hi telly, thanks for the table. certainly easier to make reference to.
btw, how's yr little one doing?

hi didi, my boy is now 18.5 mths corrected, 21 mths gestational.

in the early weeks & mths, the follow-ups are more frequent, esp neonat & physio.
if your bb is discharged with oxygen or feeding tube or had brain haemorrhage (forgot the medical term used) or ROP issues, there'll more therapies, scans & checks respectively.

however, when development is moving along the right pace & path, the appts will get spaced out over 3-12 mths period, or at milestone age of 3, 6, 9, 12, 18 & 24mths.
between 18-24mths, the respective docs & therapists will discharged bb if there's no further concerns.
thereafter, bb's follow-ups will be transferred to child clinic side (in the case of KKH).

personally, it is good to continue with the follow-ups for at least first 2 years.
from age 3, our premmies are medically normalised. so if u feel kiddo is doing well, discontinue the follow-ups by all means.

Yvonne, okie, understood now
so good your bb are 'big' already, mine not even corrected 1 mth yet ..... ok, every mummy have to undergo this stage... btw, where's Costa and the rest ? hey, conserving all your energy for GSS, huh

hi mommies

Can i join u? i delivered my twins at week 31. They are now 5 months old (3 months corrected age). They stayed in NICU for 6 weeks. Here's their photo (left is my daughter, right is my son)

806617.jpg

To Auntie Angel and Ashley meimei, jiayou jiayou ok? Auntie Angel, u are doing a great job!! Mommy and us are so proud of u! jiayou!