Premature babies support group

halo costa,
i've received ur reply. thanks a lot

oh, regarding the antibiotic that has awkful smell. he has completed the full course (almost whole bottle), by forced, struggle, cry.... i hope he'll never need medicine anymore (touch wood).... to parents, children's health is the most important thing

hi hi mummies,

just to pop by tell everyone...i may go MIA for a while..as i need to focus some intervention issue for my boy. till i am done...see you in this forum soon. I am at another forum discussing on my boy condition...

bye for now.

cheers to all childen's health :)

irenelovej,
no pblem at all..just pm me or contact me thru hp if you need anything...dun shy, hor....

gd tt yr boy has finished all the antibiotics.....no choice lah....as a parent, we want the child to be okay...

jolene,
hows yr boy?

Hi premmie mums,
Yest was the followup check-up for my baby. He's now 6 weeks and he's 4.2kg! Since he was born at 2.08kg, this weight gain is such a relive! He definately look chubby and happier now!

Just wondering from mummies if there are any tricks to feeding him. Cos my arm is getting so tired especailly the night feeds. His head is heavier now....do you all carry and feed him like the conventional way? Or is there any equipment to use so can feed in a more relaxed manner. I have the breastfeeding pillow, but it doesn't seem to work for Bottle feeding...

costa

He can't stop crying for the past 3 days esp day time.Night time he can sleep thru out.Whenever he crys,he get very breathless.I see already heart pain.Hubby will bring him to see his doc later & see whether he need to be admitted again.Hopefully don't need coz very tiring leh.

jolene,
hope yr boy is ok...really i cant bear to see babies crying...very heartpain..

has yr hb came back and hows the review?

keann,
harlo, welcome back...i also not sure of any equipment...how about you rest yr arm on a pillow so that not so tiring...for me, alot of times the maid fed him as i m at work and when i go home, i need to coach my elder boy in his school work....

costa

we juz came back from doc.Thk God,my boi don't need admission this time.Doc say becoz my boi don't hv enough oxygen that's why so breathless.Ask me to pump up my oxygen and medication also increase.Will monitor him for a while.When my boi is there,he stopped crying.When he come home,he cry abit again.Aiyo........

Costa,
Thanks...you so lucky! can siam the duty..hehehe.
Mum helped out during the day but at night, arm really tiring. Guessed this is part of babyhood...

Jolene,
great that yr boy is ok..how do you pump up the oxygen? thru the machine is it?it is always lidat..me also always feel better when at the doctor then come home very sick..ha ha...

keann,
i want to take on more responsibilities but i m really very very tired...shld learn from yr example and be more hands on....

hi, may i know if any of you bought playing mat or mattress for your bb to practising their fliping motor skills?

Jane, i din buy any playpen or mat..i wanted to buy either a mattress/playpen but so far, hvnt got down to buying one yet...

tink if he has a safety barrier around him (and pple watching him), a bed shld be okay, bah...

didi,i think kkh did part of the five in one jab for my boy(i think so lah)..i cant remember how many are there but for the follow up, i just brot him to my elder son's paedi at eastshore..(more convenient lah...)

tink any paedi wld do or you can send back to kkh for the jab..but it wld be more troublesome for you to bring the babies all the way there...

yr second boy went back liao or not?

Hi Costa,
Tik i am on maternity leave now, that's why eng eng can do this and that. Can't imagine when i go back to work....dunno if can cope with pressure from work and feeding baby at night. How i wish Singapore more friendly to mummies...

Costa, ok my elder son was only given BCG jab so will need to have the other jabs, no leh my younger one still have breathing prob so got to stay for a while

hi good morning mummies,

hi didi - read the thread about u asking on the 5-1. my boy also only had his BCG taken at KKH..then after that we brough him to polyclinic for the rest of the 5-1.

by the way...if you can, do bring him to pte clinic for the jabs...cos don't have to que keke

oh...don't worry am sure your boy will soon be able to come home

jolene, how's yr boy now? hope u're coping well too.

jane, my boy has a playmate for daytime play cos i find the floor too hard & uncomfortable esp after sitting at long stretch of time.
the playmate can cushion the little slips & falls better.
i also hv a mattress for him to take naps so no worry about him falling from the bed.

didi, polyclinic & PDs hv vaccination services. think some good family GPs also provide.
best to go where is convenient just like wat costa is doing.

costa, the afternoon talk went ok, i guess.
5 mummies attended; their premmies are of various birth weight & age. 2 in SCN, 3 in NICU.
in fact, 1 mummy just delivered 1 week ago & is still digesting the facts.
the SCN premmie mummies were oredi harden by the experience cos bbs have been in hospital for 2 mths.

surprisingly, as i tell my experience, i was overwhelmed with emotions & started tearing... so paiseh

and as promised, i mentioned this site to them and urge them to join us if they need any support & answers.

keann,
m sure you will be on hands on than me...i really cant do without my sleep and also every day come back home, muz supervise my elder boy to study...

didi,
which neo nat is both yr bbs seeing?tink my boy was on ventilator for quite long..desats and all those jargon were part of the lingo i learnt last time....u must be busy shuttling between home n kkh..must take care....did the neo nat say what caused those issues tt yr boy has..tink probably you heard those words like chronic lung right?

Yvonne,
tink i can understand how those preemies' mums whose bbs are there for 2mths feel..i hv been in the same boat...hope none of the bbs were really preemies...

but from wat i see, some preemies really progress vy well and they can even go home before their expected due date...

tink the reason why they din call me to go and talk is becuz the mee sees and loh koon noe that mayb i will cry whilst talking and make them more scared...

i can understand why you teared bec it really brings back many memories for us...some of the preemies mums still call me and when they talk abt the pblems tt their kids hv..i tear also...

on hindsight, we wonder then how we were able to cope when the experience is really too much....i really hope those parents can come and join us here...to get some moral support and encouragement...

costa,

i'm sure u'll be called for "duty" when yr boy is older... we're the more chatty/kaypoh ones... kekeke
the nurses are really thoughtful, they don't want to disturb the mummies in the 1st year cos they understand bb is still young.
so they try to get mummies with 18-24 mth olds, preferably SAHM, then won't disturb work schedule too.

while sharing, i felt really connected with the mummies there, esp the youngest premmie's mum. she was very quiet throughout the talk.
i could feel exactly how she's feeling now... we've all been there before.
i tried to stress that it's extremely tough in the beginning & assured her that it will get easier as the journey goes.

hi yvonne,

hmm...i still remember when i attended the sharing session (that time my boy just less than 1 month into entering this world at such early age). that malay lady who share with us was also teary when she told us about her boy (who was then 15 mths). the baby boy is a 27weekers...but i think he really progress well with not much problem.

thinking back...wow...its been 8 months back...time flies....

like costa..i hope the mummies would join us in this forum..this is where i had all the moral support... this forum is like the place where i really feel connected...

jane,

yes, 1 of the SCN mummy also teared when she joked abt how badly she wanted to kidnap her own bb home on some days!
like us, she can't wait for bb to master bottling & be home soon.

altho it's been 20mths since my boy was born, everything felt like it happened just weeks ago.
the best thing is that premmie mummies are stronger after the journey.

Hi Jane and Yvonne, thanks for the advice on 5-in-1 jabs. Will check out nearby my place. Aiyah, forgot to attend the Coffee Afternoon last week, too busy till forgotten about it

Costa, my younger boy's doc is Dr Khoo Poh Choo. Yep, she did mentioned something like cause he can't coordinate with bottle feeding and breathing

Yvonne,
The memory is still vy fresh in the mind for me, too and the other day when i brot my boy back..he like so onz...jumped into the arms of everyone there ha ha even the cleaning aunty who really loves him...then one of the nurses showed me the photos in her hp she has of him and machiam so many leh..ha ha.....

didi, u forgotten to go..me not invited last time leh....if not i tink i wld hv learnt alot

my bb's neo nat is doc khoo also...she is very patient and very lovely.....we r lucky to hv her..tink she specialises more for chronic lung disease(sounds scary but its actually smthg tt many preemies get after being so long on ventilators)

bottlefeeding coupled wif breathing is a learned process and it comes easily for full term babies (mostly) but for preemies...they take a little time to learn...its partly bec of tis thats why my boy took such a long time to get discharged and also partly because of the ckn pox virus tt was going around then...

Costa, yep really pray hard for my younger one to go home
I wasn't actually invited for the Coffee Afternoon but I told the nurse manager that I wanted to attend and she says ok

didi,
OIC..dun worry, yr bb will be fine in no time...once they get the hang of it...then that time you wld karang kabut..wondering whether you got everything ready..heh heh, maybe you are ready but for me kancheong spider..scared everything not enough/ready....

hi mommies

My son is diagnosed with mild torticollis, a condition where he tends to turn his head to one side (in his case, he likes to turn to his right). We've been to the physiotheraphy, and now making him lie on his tummy with his head turned to his left. He cries a lot when we attempt to do the neck exercises for him. Anyone encounter this problem?

didi

i bring my twins to NUH for their regular reviews. So we try to tie in the appointments with the vaccinations. They just had their 5-in-1 2 weeks ago. Slight fever after that (about 38deg), but recovered the next day.

hi chloe,

my boy sort of had similar condition but in the opposite direction. he liked to sleep on his left which resulted in his slightly flat-headed just behind left ear.

neonat highlighted the possibility of the condition back then.
during initial physiotherapy checks, we were advised ways to correct/prevent the problem, eg play/talk/get his attention more on the opposite side.
with early intervention, my boy's movement & head shape are normal now, with no preference for either side.

given time & effort, yr boy will overcome this condition soon. not worry too much.

Chloe,
tink nuh shld have tis follow up wif the relevant theraphists who wld recommend exercises etc right...i think they say usually by six months the bb shld be very okay already

how about attracting him to the side that he doesnt really turn with a bright toy to stimulate him

my boy also tend to use left hand and also his head flops forwards altho he is six mths corrected age already...

hi mommies

well, true lor, need a lot of time and patience to correct my son's bad habit. Very tiring, esp when i am working... we tried attracting him from the left, but after he looks at us for a while, he automatically turns to the right again. Any idea how to correct flat head? His right side of the head is flatter than the left... yvonne, how early was ur intervention? My son is 4 months old (2 months of corrected age), is it too late to correct it?

dropping by...notice the chat abt the directions that our bb seem to prefer.

actually when my boy came home..he is always on the right..i was so kanjong spider and the phsiotheraphist say he really mostly on the right. so ask us to try lay him on the left more etc.... (but pai say to say...i never really exercsie him)

and now...(he sleep a lot in the yao lan). he is ok with both left and right. in fact, now he seem to be strongly on his left side???? my mother say he is a left hander... then now his right hand like not so strong wor...

i wonder..is all premmies all towards left more?

Chloe - about the flat head. try let him sleep more in yao lan. it really does wonders. my mother say if the bb is not yet 6 mths..there is chance of still moulding his head space. don't lost heart...can still correct one. later i see if i can download my boy born pic and his current pic.... YAO LAN is the thing. really!

costa - my boy is corrected 5 mths...his head too still sometime flops forward... the physiotheraphist got teach us try talk to him and try let him flip and get him to tilt his head upwards...

chloe,
any exercises tt you were taught tby the hospital?

tink intervention at tis stage shld still be okay.as their bones are still molding..(m i rite?)

Hi mummies, just wanted to know if desat is common in preeemies ? as it seems to be the only thing that is holding my younger boy back
and wonder if there is a remedy for this ?

jane, yr boi so cute...good size...

Didi, desat is very common wif preemies..tis is the term i heard most often when my boy was in nicu/scn...no remedy..i tink (tink only lah) that when the baby matures....the chances of desat wld be less

if i not wrong, i think they hv to coordinate breathing and drinking and if their oxygen levels go down, then they desat...(Yvonne, m i right?)

tink they hv to let them rest for a while and there must be continuous periods of non desat then PERHAPS can be discharged..

anyway, tis is from memory and wrong, please tolong hor...me gettin' forgetful

hi costa,

yes, you are right about desat...

didi - let me share with you my story. my boy was born on 12 aug. he was actually due to discharge on 2nd week of NOv 06..... then on the day before discharged i came to know he had desat while bottling..hence..his discharge was delay by one week (imagine how sad i was that day - i like totally lost hope)... but..the nurse and my lao gong tell me, its better that he desat in the hosptial than at home (where i will panic and won't know what to do)!!

didi..what i wish to share with you is...like costa say, with good and patience bottling...desat can be avoid.

its like...we breath when we eating..for our bb, their skill on that is not YET up to it.. my not yet means...your boy will reach the stage whereby he can suck, swallow and breath (3 things together)

don't be upset..its good for the nurses to be sure he can bottle well before he be discharge. really..believe me. i been thru it. give him somemore time. he will surprise you.

Hi Costa, Jane, thanks I felt so much assured after reading your posts. Ok I will relay this to my hubby too. thanks if not for you 'expert' moms, I am really LOST

hi didi,

i was ever realy really lost too...but i found this forum.

do have faith and belief that your younger one is strong and have fighting spirit. he just need a bit bit more time.

time is nothing...give him and you and your hubby will be rewarded. give him support by cheering him on...he will be there..soon... before you all know ;-)

didi,
me no expert lah..juz tt we been thru tis just slightly before you..alot of thgs i oso forgotten..

when the bb desats, maybe they will give them more time to rest before trying again..tts why they actually delay the discharge..as they may let the bb rest a few daysthere must be a continuous periods of non desats before they discharge..of cse subject to other things as well lah... and ...so thats y be patient..when you are kancheong, the bb will noe one...try talking to him and cuddling him more..he can feel it..

try to get to noe other preemie mums...as such frenships are important to keep you sane...(at least to me)

ya..costa is right. getting to know the preemie mums keep me insane too...haha..knowing costa already enough to keep me sane.

costa - i sms u tomorrow after my boy appt with Dr Low. to me...(right at this moment), it does not matter what is the results. to me, my boy has yet by far been doing real well so....give him what he need is the direction that i am heading. thanks for being so nice and dropping me sms...

hi didi,
can't remember when was the intervention but u're definitely not late to try encourage yr boy.
be persistent with getting bb's attention on the other side... over time his turning will last longer.

hi jane,
yes, i heard yao lan is good to round bb's head.
just that personally, i perfer not to use it.

hi yvonne, my son is the one with bad habit to one side, not didi's. heehee... too many posting, sometimes i also confused.
thanks for the advise, but like yvonne, my preference is also not to use yao lan. Looks like got to make him turn to the other side more to make both sides as symmetrical as possible.

didi, one thing u can do is to tilt the teat to one side of his mouth each time ur baby sucks a few times on the bottle. This allows him to breathe in between so that he will not feel so breathless. He's learning, so give him some time to learn how to coordinate. It's not a big problem and should be able to overcome very soon, dun worry, just be mindful when feeding him, give him time in between to breathe and watch out for signs. Should his face be turning blue, stop and pull out the teat cos he might have forgotten to breathe when he's sucking.

chloe.
i will try yr technique of tilting the teat to one side also..seems a good idea..

yvonne,
me oso prefer not to use yao lan....

chloe,
tink changing bb's head position helps but maybe onli when they are young as when they grow older, they wld turn themselves.......

yr advice to didi is wat the kk nurses told us also...always watch for face colour on the baby when feeding......if turn blue on face also around the mouth...quickly pull out teat..

yvonne, remember you told me tis also last time...

costa

The technique was taught by the NICU nurse. During the initial stage, worse lor. Got to pull out the teat every 5 times they suck (well, they were only on 40ml in hospital). Slowly, when they are more used to it, we use the tilting method. In asian context, instead of blue, watch out for black or dark as well. Blue is more for angmoh babies.

thanks chloe... blur me

hi costa,
yes, now i recall. like u, i've forgotten some of the stuff over time.
unless i'm asked, otherwise, can't recall the exact details.

Hi, all the mummies,
Quiet some time never here, a lot of story to capture here..
Jane, your boys very cute and big size too. As I know he was 8kg right?
My twins still in 7.30kg and 6.30kg only, especially noe the weight stop liao.
Last time I also never use yao lan, but my family member say baby if enought sleep they will grow fast and feel more safely when sleep in yaolan.
Now my 2nd twins already know how to turn his body, he always turn to his right side, can turn a lot of round. but for my 1st twins he still cant, but I can see he always try to turn his body to right, but he cant turn the direction. Pls give me a advice , is it too slow? now they was 7.5month,(corrected 5month)last time nhe got blood stain in brain when he born(stage2), but noe recover, dont know whether will effect his growing or not?

ya,
any mummis here buy the cloth diaper as advertisement here?
I was thinking to buy, quiet interesting, any comment or mummy use for baby?

chloe,
thanks.....tink u all can teach us things we never noe hor?

yvonne,
me too, unless im asked and sounds familiar..if not i also cant remember..last time the nurses used to explain but i smtimes oso catch no ball....but dare not ask the nurse again....