Premature babies support group

hi costa - same same. KKH dietrian also tell me to wean my boy at 6mths corrected. i am in no hurry to wean him... cos my mum also say, better wait for my boy to be able to 'sit' then give him some solid...

me no kanjong about weaning...thou sometime i wish my boy can take a bit of other food other than milk. but..... but...i shall wait...

my boy is already 8 mths as of actual age. but 5 mths corrected...so...well....wait la

Jane,puppy & costa

Thank!
I'm sure my boi will out grown this problem.

Costa,
My boi also on nutricomp,Polyvyson,MCT oil to help him grow coz he likes to move about alot.Doc say his input less than output.Haha....

This aft he will be discharged.Juz received call from doc that they hv successfully inserted the NJ tube.In this way,he won't hv reflux.

hi puppyduppy - haha. for me..is my mum will 'hunt' me via telephone :p

ya..me too very glad to have my mum to help with caring for my boy.

Jane and puppyduppy,
so gd that yr mum and mil so good wif babies..for my mum, she really cant take care and everything must depend on the maid as she is not used to taking care...

my mum just came back from the paedi...the doctor gv some antibiotics..said that my son has to complete the course...

and told to give him some porridge water and the milk must not be that hot since he got ulcers in the throat

for the rashes, told to give Neoderm..(cant remember how to spell but last time my elder boy also got the same medicine)..tink same doctor sure machiam give the same medicine

tink gotta depend on the maid to take care as my mum really cant handle...

hi jolene,

oh...your boy is ready to come home. good good. don't worry about fever after jab (quite normal). that time my boy after first jab hit fever i also kanjong like hell...but after that, i learn.

don't worry your boy (since he so active) sure will grow up fast fast and be a healthy boy. good for bb to be active and move a lot...like that their muscle will get to flex :)

jane & costa

I'm really comforted by the advice you hv given.I think I'm too hurried to wean my boi.Hiaz....I think I should not stress him.

hi costa - so the PD say the red full stop is rashes alike? hmm...is the Neoderm availbality outside pharmacy ? :p i thinking if good i can buy for my boy (cos dunno why but whevever i take care of him, i always caused him to have red spot one :p)....

that time my boy sore throat....the tampines PD also advise me to 'dilute' the milk. but i think your boy on BM??? will have this problem mah?

hmm... at least your maid can help with the supervise of your mum. its a form of help too...

Jane

Ya...he is very active and like to move alot.That's why we are going to wrap him up when he sleep at night.Coz the last time he pull out the tube becoz he was kicking and don't noe how he turn to the other side.Hiaz...then the tube came out lor

hi jolene - don't need to feel pai say to 'air' out whatever you wish to ask.... you see me and puppyduppy, publicly talking about our 'caregiver' hahahahaha....hmm....feel free to say...its ok really.

to know that your boy is coming home is a wonderful news for us (mothers)...

think you (like us) wonder about 'weaning' me too ever wonder. but the dietrican gvie me a very clear picture hence stop my ??? on weaning haha

i always ask silly question. re that time i ask about the nasal spray until costa so nice..toke a picture of it and yvonne explain to me :p (i bought it without knowing what it is for keke)

hmm...jolene, soon soon your boy will don't need the tube totally. the day will come soon..then he will be eating and drinking (before you know) he start to crawl and walk and ..... ;-)

Jolene,
tink I also kancheong spider when it comes to my own kid..but for weaning, i want my boy to faster start becuz want him to put on more weight but i guess cant rush...

tink there is some WHO standard which says now six mths is the recommended time, wor..if not it may lah, may only bring on diabetes and obesity..but tinkg about last time, we also start early, wat..tio bo?

jane, my boy is on both BM and neosure (my bm dropped drastically vy soon, factory wld close down)..

not sure if neo derm is available outside but better ask paedi first incase yr boy's rashes are different...

jolene,
did the doc say if the tube comes out, is it you just leave it or put it back? do you stick the tube down wif tape?

hi costa - hmmm... my boy weight is too fast...:p.

many pple tell me that starting on solid can help bb weight gain better too.. one of my collegue (her bb is full term) she give her gal solid on 5th mth and her gain gain weight thereafter...now her percentile is 50 (when on BM and before solid is 25)

ya..i heard about the WHO..but sometime..i think must see situation..no die hard rule when to start solid pah...

oh ... hmm ..hope neosure will help your boy to gain weight (like my boy)...

i see..ok ok. shall ask my PD about the neo derm...

I think doc din't wan me to wean so early coz they are afraid my boi stomach can't take it.U know the docs & nurses are so familiar wif my boi problem liao.Don't even need to go A&E.Juz go to PICU for admission.On thurs,the docs & nurses saw him.Ask me how come he come in again....I laugh & tell them same problem.

re weaning...
of cos our concern is for bb to gain weight asap but it's better to give time for their digestive system to mature. so guess, average time is 6mths corrected age.
starting too early might add stress to their oredi under-developed/immature organs.

hi hi yvonne :) ya...thats what the KKH dietrican told me too...

hi jolene - oh i see....din know KKH got such a Unit...its a 'private' clinic?

hi jolene, don't stress yrself too much. take heart that yr boy will do better, just like costa's boy.

hi costa, how's yr little one?

hi jane, bb started on solid gain good weight cos the food nutrients build muscles... which weighs heavier than fats mah..kekeke

hi yvonne..oh i get what u meant. now milk is fats...solid is muscle (bone etc)...

hmm....hehe..in one or two mths time (once my boy can sit steady) i will give him solid :p

ya jolene - yvonne is right...see costa boy is fairing better and better...matter of time they outgrow everything.

ya..better be in office...your boy be home the moment you go off work :)

yvonne..i wanna tell you ler. since last week (where the dietrican ask me to reduce the feed to 150ml / 3 hourly)...my boy 'motor skill' seem to improve (with his drinking lesser).

last weekend he like can flip and lift up his head (the week before i toke the advise of the dietrician he still unable to) ... so i think...hmmm.....weight has a certain factors in their motor skill development :p

heehee.. jane, u're so candid. u definitely sound more cheerful than before

weight is 1 factor but don't underestimate yr boy's learning ability. he's been practicing the past week liao leh... be prepared for a nice surprise coming very soon

bbs learn very fast. it may look like bb hardly progress, like taking a long time to reach the next milestone... then suddenly it happens out of the blue, esp with standing, walking & even talking.

Hi mommies ah, may i knoe where to buy small size baby gift set for my DD ah? She is so small and i dun have the idea what to wear her when she discharge leh, but not now la thus she is already 1.4 KG, still can't discharge la and i just KAN CHEONG wanna buy a set of new clothings for her to wear from hospital to home liao lol..any idea?

Yvonne,
thanks, my boi is better..after taking antibiotics..tink the taste shld be okay, smells like pineapple.....must finish the whole course..fever dun hv but got rashes like the full stops i described yterday..ha ha, cldnt find a better way to describe..

ayu,
tink perhaps yr bb can wear the normal new born clothes but dun buy so many lah..she wld outgrow it very very fast..tink new born size is perhaps the most suitable for her..

she has to be at least about 2kg to be discharged..so by that time, she is more or less like normal new born already....

morning!

costa,
i remember the pineapple anitbiotics.. my boy LOVES it. he'll kwai kwai sit down and wait when he sees me preparing it in a syringe... haahaaa
cud the rashes be a way of purging the virus/infection?

costa,

i brought my gal to the PD yest, cos my mil said the dots on her neck getting more and more....PD said its fungel infection...gave us a cream to apply...should be ok in 1 weeks time. he said without the cream the infection wont go away...luckily we brought her to PD....

Glad that your boy is ok...he never cry at night already?

Ayu,

when my girl was discharged, she wear newborn clothes...abit big lah but ok cos in no time she grew into it....

Yvonne,
ha ha...tis is the first time i saw such an antibiotics..last time my elder boy's antibiotics taste terrible and is from those "branded" pharmaceutical company's bottles which you must mix..not like the pineapple one which is put into the paedi's own bottle to mix wif water...

puppyduppy,
thanks...dun noe if the rashes caused by infection..doctor says no.its due to heat...at nite got cry but not the nonstop type.....touch wood...hope he dun cry and cry..wif weak lungs and crying lidat..vy heartpain.....

wat type of cream yr paedi gave?can share?

jane,
will take a picture of my son's cream and post it here for you tomorrow..

hi, can i check with mummies here, what kind of bottle/teats did u use with you newborn babies when they come home, is avent teats really too hard for preemies?

mesh, how old is yr bb now?

rgding yr question on teats,some preemies use avent but was told that latex (brown) colour type is better as its easier for preemies..perhaps later then can progress to avent type...(tis is my 1 cent opinion)...

costa, my babies are 20 weeks old and still in my tummy.... hahaha.... i was just thinking, cos i have triplets and they sure to be preemies one mah... i have got some avent bottles, then recently read that nuk teats are softest, more suitable for preemies right?

Stressed..... does nuk teats only fit nuk bottles? i think i got to get a few nuk bottles/teats to standby..... keep my avent bottles for when they are older.

costa,
ur boy down w fever? hope he's fine now.
wat is the 'pineapple' antibiotic? my boy's antibiotic smell terrible. it's a white powder to be mixed w water. i think it taste yucks coz we hav to struggle so much to feed him w tat. he keep struggle n twist here n there to 'siam' the medicine.

Mesh,
When my boy juz back home, he'll be breathless when using avent coz it's hard. so we used NUK latex teats too. but i dun find it good coz the elasticity gone very fast tat u have to replace a new one frequent. somemore it introduce colic too. we had a hard time on feeding him. after 2-3 wks, we let him used avent again. n i realised there're 2 types of avent teats i hav at home, one type is the harder one (old stock) n the other type is the extra soft one (new stock). so we juz use the soft one till now. so far ok.
but the best bottle is Dr Brown. When my boy has colic at his 2-3 mths, i bought 2 Dr Brown n it helps, not much gas to the stomach so he didn't cry due to night colic. but after he's elder n no longer has any colic, we stop using Brown n use purely Avent coz we lazy to wash the part
terrible parents

my boy was having some rashes over neck some time ago n his is due to mild eczema. PD gave some cream n it gone in 1 day. but if there's some milk or food on his neck n we didn't clean properly, it comes back. so, the red spots can be due to lots of reason. if the condition persist i think better to consult a doctor.

Irenelovej,
thanks, his fever is gone but tink there are some ulcers left in the throat.....

my elder son's antibiotics also very horrible smell and taste..its from those pharmaceutical companies (comes in a box)..tis one is by the paedi who "packaged" it himself..maybe the antibiotics tt yr boi took is more specific to his condition?

even if to me, the smell is okay, he also dun like to take and kept struggling also...

i din noe avent got two types, if we go shopping centre, must be go and ask them?

u are right abt the rashes...cld be due to the milk or food residue..thats why we got to clean properly but most of the time, i m very lazy..the milk dripped from the mouth to the neck, i just used his clothes or my hand to clean and thats all..ha ha....

costa,
my boy was having throat infection few wks ago. A PD nearby my house diagonsed as viral infection n just give paracetomol. useless. the fever keep coming back n shoot to higher temperature after dragging 4-5 days. then we went back to his neo nat n found out is bacteria infection. he was hospitalized for drip as he refuse to eat n drink n the fever cannot subside. luckily after 1 day the fever gone.
the antibiotic is white color powder then hav to mix w water. very concentrate n the boy really struggle hard to escape. we struggle even more to feed him. so jia lat

ya , avent got 2 types. the extra soft one is released last yr. if u look at the side of the teat, the extra soft type is having a longer line (abt 1 inch). the old model (harder type) has a short line at the side (abt 1cm). nowadays major retail like John Little n the department store should all replaced with new extra soft type already. small shops might still selling old model.

costa,
i might need your help in understanding having delivery in kk n your gynae, can i PM u? Dun think it's good to discuss this in public if involve any name of doctor or hospital rite ?

irenelovej,
thanks..will go look for it as the speech and learng pple hv recommended silicon teat for bbs later on....

ask the paedi if can give yr boy another alternative than the terrible tasting one..

tink bacterial infection is better cured by tis antibiotics, m i right?

u can pm me or email me (after you pm me, can you drop me a note here to let me noe that you hv emailed me as smtimes pm dun work)

i dun noe if i m in the right position to advise you as the gynae who delivered for me is not my normal gynae

but you pm me first and see wat i can do to help you answer yr questions...

Hi Mesh,

Nuk teats can fit into most bottles except Avent i think. Avent cannot fit into other bottles. As for how long one latext NUK last, I change them every 2 months. Expensive but worth it.

Msh, yes avent teats are too hard for newborns as they can't suckle well, I have changed to the Nuk bottles so much better, actually the price for Nuk and Avent are about the same

good morning mummies,

costa - - hehe..cannot wait to see your boi picture ;-)

yvonne -- you are rite..even now at night my boy diligently practise his fliping skill :p... last nite he almost fall off the bed while he 'row' around the bed, heng i 'caught him' before he row all the way down :p. must really watch him...

Jane,
once bb know a skill, eg flip, crawl, sit, stand, they'll keep practising it. my boy oso always fall down. luckily we let him sleep on matress on floor, so not that bad.

Mesh,
when bb drink milk, u can see air bubble in the bottle, so more or less there'll be air going into bb stomach. somemore bb has to burp out which also means there's air going in. my boy last time cried after drinking milk n after a while he burp out then he stop crying, so we know it's colic. Dr Brown bottle has additional parts in the bottle so when bb drinks milk, there's no bubble at all. actually tis bottle is more ex than avent or nuk. and yes, avent means can onli fit for avent product onli coz it's wide neck. if u buy nuk standard bottle, u can fit it into other teats from other brand.
the suitability is up to each bb. juz find a suitable one for him. one of my fren use pigeon peristaltic n she said it's good.

Costa,
thanks. i've pm u.

jane & yvonne

thanks for the encouragement!

My boi is back but he can't stop crying yesterday.Hv a hard time settling him down.I think his stomach is painful due to the antibotic.We stop the antibotic last night and he slept thru out the whole night.Then this morning he started crying again.Think his tummy not well as he hv not pass motion for the past few days.

irenelovej,
i replied yr email,if dun hv,let me noe, can? my server smtimes got problem, one..

jolene,
did the doctor tell you that the antibiotics had caused the stomach pain...?can stop or not the antibiotics since antibiotics hv to be completed as a course...usually i also dun like to give my kid antibiotics but smtime really bo pian....

Hi costa

I hv stopped the antibotic last night and hv informed the doc.She say most likely but not sure.I don't care,as long as my boi can rest,I'm happy already.He dint sleep during the day time yesterday.Think he must be very tired.