Premature babies support group

didi,
i onli saw my bb after a few days as i was in icu after gvg birth and was too weak to go down to the ward.....i din cry the first time i saw him.....

my parents tried to tell me that he wasnt that bad and not that small etc but actually i had a rough idea of wat was to come...

wif all the tubes, it really looks quite hard to accept and even when he progressed to CPAP, i also cried..i always tried to control my tears but smhow...it wld just fall....later on, i became better already after talking to the other mums at the bfdg room.....

the letters of appreciation r really very very encouraging....and hope that you wld go and look at my jie2 zhuo4..ha ha...anyhow yr second bb discharged already?

whos helping u to take care of the first one?hows the second one's breathing?

hi didi,

paiseh.. me not 'speaker'... just there to share my experience.
if u're there, pls do say 'hi'. it'll be good to put a face to the nicks here :)

Really very surprised that you gals are doing a very good job in looking after your child. Keep it up!

Costa, thanks for your wonderful dinner yesterday night. Really hope to see you and all at home soon.

Shanice,
i din noe you really come to this board to look for me, leh....ha ha...lucky i never talked behind yr back.......and my nickname very strange hor....

dun need to say thanks lah...its just a simple dinner leh..next time must give me more notice so that i can go and get sharksfin and abalone...haha..

tink we can do a good job onli because of the wonderful advice that you had given us...seriously...

cheers, see you next time at my place....

Costa, my mum is helping me to take care of the 1st one and the second fellow is getting better with his breathing, keeping my fingers crossed
thanks for the concern.

Hi Shanice, guessed you must be one of those nurses in NICU
thank you for taking care of those preemies

Hi Shanice,
Ya, from what i read on costa's posting, you must be one of the NICU nurse.
Although i didn't give birth in KKH but i've heard a lot of good comments on the KKH NICU nurses, on the care and profession that they gave to all the preemies. I'd like to express greatest appreciation to all of you. Similarly to all the nurses of NICU in the hospital i gave birth too....

Hope u r able to come to this thread and give some advises to all of us. We still have lots to learn...

morning mummies & mee see!

shanice, welcome! appreciate yr effort & time to drop by & give support.
but knowing yr busy schedule, we'll also try not to bombard u with too many questions.

costa, great that you got Shanice to pong chan! thanks!

costa,
its a bonus that the pros drop by... they also need proper rest & spend time with family.
its very exhausting to look after so many premmies who need as much attention & care.

Thanks for all the positive feedbacks on us! Really appraciate that. :> We are just doing our jobs. We can share and learn with each other as baby grows and develops their character differently as days go by.

hi evryone.

qn... how much is the ward charges per day at the SCN ? i just got my interim bill at NICU. wondering when the bill rate will reduce...

buzzbubbly,
The nicu nurses all said tt its their duty...but i really feel that wat you all hv done are all beyond yr job scope and duties....really everyone is vy grateful...

lindah,
welcome here..think you can call the Business Centre to find out as they wld be more in the position to advise you......u can see the kkh website and call them....

hi costa.

i am dead beaten..with my maid gone... sigh.. my mother now has to take care of my 2 year old niece and my boy...this morning i purposely apply for 2 hour time off and came in late for work..

tomorrow i dunno how...

i am going to view another possibile maid candidate tonite.

Buzzbubbly : WELCOME. thanks for coming by...hmm..dunno if you remember me keke...(i am one of the mother who had teary eye whenever i go NICU to see my boy that during last Aug to Oct 06 ;p)

early early good morning mummies ;-)

costa --- u in?? hope your boy recover from the fever liao..

buzzbubbly : heard from costa that you remember me hehe...thanks for taking care of my boy when he was in NICU. my hubby just went to return the empty milk glass bottles to NICU the other day keke... (thou we know there is ample bottles there, but we also know that mother's in NICU need the bottles desperatly)

Good morning mummies,

My bb suddenly developed red patches on her neck, looks like rashes/pimples. I feel so poor thing for her...my mil put powder on it but still there. Anyone has experienced this before? how to cure?

Jane,
thanks, yterday bo pian brot my boy to see a normal gp near my house....the doctor herself is pregnant and she also dare not examine him too close..

my boy kicked and kicked her and i was so worried for her....

his fever gone down but still crying and i think perhaps his throat is sore..but i m not sure..will get my mum to bring him down to see paedi later...

puppyduppy,
my boy got small red dots on his arm (the centre part between hand and the shoulder) and some on his arm.....i asked my maid to put some anti itch powder on him but it doesnt seem to work..dun noe is it "yeek fai" (rash in cantonese)...

did yr bb cry?

costa,

good that your boys fever has gone down, he cries often? he feeding ok?

my gal didnt cry, just that can see the red dots on her neck...think it could be heat rash...dunno if should bring her to see PD or just continue to put the powder...

hmmm... actaully two week ago , my boy has the same red spots. i think its 'heat patch'. try keep your bb face clean (with warm water).

costa - as for his arm..you may wish to put cooling powder (i brought one - red bottle, u can go to those medical hall say you want to buy 'pink fen' for bb). it works wonders (that time my boy whole back got the red dots...

sometime my boy has these red patch on his face too...so i know he heaty...so i try to clean and keep his face cool...

puppyduppy,
fever gone down but dun noe why keep on crying whole nite until like so kang kor lidat...

mine is raised dots....like "full stops"....

he dun really wanna drink and also the gp told us to give him barley water or chrysanthemum tea but he also dun really wanna drink...

the gp said that must watch out for fits and dehydration and also if he is unable to be roused from sleep....

jane,
will check out the powder.....

costa,

Yah my gals one also like full stops...did you put powder or just wipe with warm water?

oh no...your boy so poor thing, when did his crying start? recently?so you also didnt get a good nites sleep yest...poor thing...

your mom bringing him to see PD today?

hi costa - did the gp say exactly whats wrong with your boy? hope he better after seeing PD...

as for the powder..re to buy a good puff (those not furry one -ie those we ladies use for our face powder).

yes, i put the pink fen (re to get the RED BOTTLE) everywhere except his face and hand (don't want him to eat it).. then neck i put sparsely... but back and buttock and arm i put many :p

(RE : must use a GOOD PUFF so that the powder don't fly around won't get to bb nose)

then i always wipe him with warm water...dry..follow by the powder (twice a day - one time after bath and one time before he zzz).

Jane,
the doc said viral infection, tink its a standard answer when they cant find anyother thing and the next time is "is there anybody sick in the family?'

tink i wld go and get the powder see how..think the parts of the body where the raised full stops are wld pbly be the place that sweat gathers..

anyway my boy also vy sweaty..scared hot like me

hi costa --- har..viral infection? then how? hmm...is there anyone sick in the family?

ya..can give the powder a try. did the PD say why the full stops appeared?

keke most bb very sweaty..my boy too...

hey jane and costa,

yah my gal also very sweaty...i still wearing socks for her...maybe thats why...will try to go get the powder also...

hi puppyduppy....hmmm... socks is good but not if she is too warm pah.. i only wear socks for my boy when he zzz and its very cold (or when we go out). normaly days...i just wear for him those airy 3/4 pants...

my mum always stand by the law that it is very important to keep bb clean by cleaning and changing the clothes often. my mother very 'horrible' can change for my boy up to 10 sets of clothing every day...thats why i need a maid hahahaha....plus he wear nappies :p

hmm...was telling my colleagues about the powder then she say.. maybe should check the contain of the powder cos dunno if it contain those 'prohibit' things (chinese mah)...

Jane,
no one sick in the family...my elder son and me got very allergic noses onli....my colleague is coughing like mad for the last few wks and din see doctor even after everyone told her..so sickening..and shes sitting so near me somemore...real fed up..

onli today then my mum wld be bringing him to paedi..then we wld noe..

yterday i was so kan cheong that i forgotten to ask the gp and somemore she is pregnant and i was so scared when my son kept kicking her that i forgotten to ask her...

hi costa... oh ok ok. ah yo, better ask ur collegue go see doc. over here some of my colleague is down with flu too. i am so scare... everyday i eat fruits for break fast (vit C)...

hmm... hope the PD can give some good solutions.

costa,

aiyo ur collg so inconsiderate..better take more vit c to build up ur immunity.

Jane,
wow ur mom change so many sets of clothes for ur boy...also good lah..means he is always fresh and clean...

my mil use J & J powder to put on my girls neck leh..and also this powder think its corn start ah..or something like that...she say its suppose to be more cooling and better for bb..aiyo..i see already so scared leh..

jane, my colleague wun see doctor, one..she ai4 qian2 ru2 ming4 (loves money more than her life)......i already hinted to her and she still lidat..reali cheesed off...

now my mum at the paedi..wif my maid and boy

hi puppyduppy, ya, my mother really hard working one. she will wash (clean with warm towel) my boy face every 2 feeds. then in between she will change his top and wipe him with warm water...

then at nite before he zzz..she will wash his buttock with warm water (really water wash). dry him...change his cloth. then let him zzzz....

so..hahahah..when my boy is with my mum, he is always beautiful..when weekend i bring home, he sure end up 'ugly' with spots when i bring him back on monday morning :p

hmmmm.......think ur mil shld know what she is doing pah. probably she see ur gal have those spots..so she do some 'cure'...

puppyduppy,
my colleague is really very inconsiderate..do you noe she fainted on friday morning and the ambulance came and yet she wanna come to work....wat do you tink, man?

the onli thing i can do is to build up my own immunity...

cornstarch can be put as a powder ( i ever heard pple mention before)

jane,
wah ur mom really take really good care of ur boy hor....
me also..when im taking care of my gal..she surely have some red spots on her body...cos maybe i never clean her properly...

costa,
yah have to take care of urself and build ur immunity...take cod liver oil...im taking that now :>
oh i never hear about putting cornstarch before...thats why was abit scared...

hi costa..wow..ur this colleague reall a bit extreme ler...

hi puppyduppy - haha...ya i always kanna scold by my mum for not 'keeping up the good work'. then that time she go one week holiday..my boy kanna the red rash...wow...she so angry with me ;p.

puppuduppy --- hahahahhaah..same same. now i feel not so bad cos you like me kanna said by the 'caregiver' hahahahaha.... :p (opps wacky jane) keke..

but i tell you ler. my boy like to be cared by my mum more...he like happier with my mum (cos she will let him 'jump', step on her round tummy, swing swing, talk to him, 'pretend row boat' etc etc.... but but when i bring him home..he is entertain by the musical rattle only :p (cos i no strength to swing or let him jump wor)...

so....anyway, its ok la. we 'new hand' later maybe we like our mother/mil...will know how to keep our bb clean and tidy.

we alwasy learn from mistake mah...;-)

now you don't feel so bad too rite (esp when your mil say you) cos there is someone out there who also kanna said 'every monday' by the caregiver hehe

Jane, bo pian one lah, tis type of thing....how to maintain so clean....i cant leh.....so i dun expect my maid to do that as well..ha ha..

my colleague is indeed vy extreme..really cant stand her...i just hinted to her whether she saw doc over the wkend and she said she went to see chinese doc...dun noe real or not....still cough until like dunoe wat..

costa & other mummies,

I hv a few questions to ask.Hope you all can help me.

Costa,
1)When your bb is feed tubing,did you give him any pao shen before he has his jab?My boi got fever after a jab.
2)When did you wean your bb?Wif the tube feeding still or based on his corrected age?
3)Did the doc give your bb any medication before?Such as MCT oil,lasix etc?Not sure whether I can give pao shen through the tube or not coz he can't be mouth feed at all.

The reason why I ask is because my boi was admitted again becoz he have a fever,can't stop crying & his reflux.He pulled out his NJ tube (the tube feed to his intenstine).Doc try to put it back but he struggled so much so they put the tube in his stomach.But after a day,he went breathless & blue becoz of the reflux.Now doc will sedate him & put the tube back to intenstine.

I'm very confused.The ICU doc say wean my boi based on corrected age,but lung doc say based on birth age.Even though my boi is now 5.1/2 month (chronological age) but 3 months (corrected age),he is not allow to be wean at all.I really don't know wat to do.

good morning jolene, you seem confuse. i shall keep my post short

About taking jab. i learn that it is very important to shower our bb before going for ANY JAB. i never give my boy any pao shen before that (my mum say he too young for that). BUT I really think taking a bath before going helps. AND after coming back from JAB, DON'T shower him. just change clothes (dry clean face and neck if need be)...don't shower till the next day. it works for my boy.

About weaning. my boy just seen KKH dietrician on last monday (latest adivse from dietrician). she say to wean at my boy corrected age of 6 mths. my boy as of today actual is 8 mths (he is born on August 2006).

about tude feeding...think costa be best advisor...

hmm... don't feel stress and confuse. i am sure under the good care of the doctor...your boi be ok.

did the doc say why he having fever? send my hugs to your boi...

jane,

my gal also like to be taken care of by my mil leh...cos she knows how to carry her properly and knows how to feed her etc...

for me i carry her until my arms so painful..haha..and sometimes my gal seems so uncomfy....:<

my gal also seems quite bored when i look after her.haha...

Jolene,

im sorry to hear your boy has been admitted again...my heart goes out to him...
sorry i cant give advice on tube feeding....

jane

doc say my boi fever may be due to the jab.We have the 5 in 1 jab for him on Mon.Then Wed/Thurs he hv fever.He can't stop crying on thurs morning,then in the afternoon,hubby & baby sitter send him in to see doc.When doc see him,they quickly admit him.They are afraid that the fever may be due to infection.But thank God,his fever subsided after admission.

hi puppyduppy - haha, i think hor, we really same same. so so so...we both can be very relief because our situation the same. so next time if your mil 'said' you... think about me hahaha.. then you won't feel so bad at being 'said' esp when the bb is yours :p

sometime i dun understand..bb is mine mah..why said me until like i really 'useless' :p

you know hor (dunno if you have this experience), every friday nite i bring my boy home...my mum SURE follow up with a call and see 'what have i done' to my boy hahahah..then sat morning, sun morning, sure call kekekeke....

i think...we just have lots to learn hehe.

at the end of the day, so long our baby is under good hands, i guess, we are happy mothers ;p

Jolene,

1. I tink i din give him pao shen before his jab but on and off, i wld give him the pao shen until now. The paedi gv some fever medicine to stand by(normal paracetomol)..

2. I hvnt weaned my boy yet...i wanted to do it yterday but he wasnt feeling well and had fever so i wld maybe do it when he is six months corrected...

regarding yr question on when do wean baby...some neo nat told me can start but the neo nat that my boy goes to says its better when he is six months corrected age (not the age calculated when he was born)

the doctor had discharged my boy last year wif Nutricomp protein(a big tin of powder to add to milk) and polyvysol (a small box with a picture of babies on the box)

if our kid is okay, then can dun take the nutricomp but the dietician says just finish up wat ever we hv at home...polyvysol is more for iron (if i m not wrong)..the dietician din say so i just continue...

I am not sure whether can give him thru tube feed for pao shen but i think if im not wrong, when he was tube fed, we gv him thru syringe although his sucking is not strong (till now)...

i think my own opinion is to listen to the neo nat..as nowadays, the norm seem to be weaning bb based on six months age(even for full term)...but then there r mummies who weaned them at lesser months and stiill okay..but i feel that since he got reflux etc..why dun wait for situation to be better first or else reflect the lung doctor's opinion to the neo nat?

my boy's tube feeding is NG tube..thru nose to stomach...tink slightly different from yr boy but still goes to the stomach(same end destination)...

hi jolene, i see. normally if fever hits after jab (actual day). that time for my boy first 5-1 jab, i did not shower him then i very stupid (cos the nurse say can) i go home i shower him..then he fever (i scare until hell)... then next jab, my SUPER caregiver (ie my mum) MAKE SURE i shower him before going for the 2nd 5-1.

there after...before all JABs, i shower him. and strictly no shower when reach home until next day.

hmm... so long fever subside. think its ok...

did you give him pandadol after the 5-1 jab??

jane,

even when i take care of him during the weekday (me not working at the moment), she will still come into the room to see wat im doing with my girl...wah piang..ahaha...me like unfit mother in her eyes...haha...

but im really glad and thankful that my mil can take care of my girl so well...

jane,

even when i take care of him during the weekday (me not working at the moment), she will still come into the room to see wat im doing with my girl...wah piang..ahaha...me like unfit mother in her eyes...haha...

yah we like in same situation hor..hha

but im really glad and thankful that my mil can take care of my girl so well...