Premature babies support group

hi mummies, gong xi fa cai!

welcome on board & congrats to the birth of your twins, didi!
the mummies here are very helpful and patient to listen to all your questions. do feel free to ask.

jane, u're right... cough is very IN! so yr big boy is doing better now after seeing the lung specialist?

my boy finally recovered fr his super long episode of cough, phlegm just in time for CNY.

Jane,
Yah, we both been thru the same route....even our kids "graduated" together....

Yvonne,
how are you ?guess u must be busy wif work and yr boy?
any mi jue to share on how yr boy recover from cough ?

hi yvonne, gong xi gong xi..

jane sing the song "go away go away cough..."

hmm..like costa, i would really like to know...yvonne, how u manage to chase away the cough bugs?? can share share?

my boy last night jsut started on the nose drops that the lung specialist give him...hopefully..will have significant improvement and his nose & throat will be free from phelgm blockage/jam....

had been quite busy at work but i still try to read up your chats every now & then, otherwise will be hard to keep up.

hehe... me no hv mi jue.
tried almost everything from neubilizer to inflammide (ventolin) to suppressants to pi pa gao... until i gave up & stopped everything.
decided to let him recover naturally & over time, the cough just lessen. the phlegm didn't go away completely until almost 2 weeks later.

i started giving my boy lily bulb & lotus seed rice porridge & gingko nut & dried beancurd stick rice porridge which i read somewhere is good for cough & phlegm.
it did seem to hv some relieving effect.
not sure if yr boys are too young to drink rice porridge water, otherwise, can cook some & give them a little in diluted form.

hi yvonne,

wow..u are a super knowledgeable mum. accordinlgy to my mother, she also told me, once my boy can take solid (ie porridge and such), she will cook something like what you have mention. she say she will put 'long gan' cos 'long gan' will chase away the phelgem...

my mother also believe in letting my recover on his own..but my mother think the nose drop is good for him..so we will continue with the nose drop lor...

hey jane,

u see me too up liao... i'm also learning along the way.
before becoming a mummy, i'm a super bo chap person. don't know anything, so now learning & reading up as much to try give the best to kiddo.
like all of u, i also heartache that he had to fight so hard in the beginning.

i saw a porridge recipe book while doing grocery shopping, bought it cos i'm out of ideas on wat to cook for my boy

then chance upon the 2 recipes lor...

hi yvonne,

really...reading helps hor. nowadays everytime i chanced upon articles on bbs, i will attempt to read up (even if its things that i am already aware of).

new year new begining...hope our bbs be away from all the bugs...

hehe..i shall see when my lao gong got time..shall download my boy picture for u all to see ;-).

hi didi

oh, glad that u found this thread, replied to u over the multiple babies thread. Dun worry, 30 weeks is quite safe, just need to closely monitor to make sure that the organs are well developed.
If there's no complications, weight gain should be quite fast.

Thanks again sisters, I really pray for the day when I can cuddle my bbs in my arms like any mummies, as I feel very sad to see them kept in the NICU. Please pray for my bbs

Chloe, how heavy were your bbs ? thanks

didi,
best is fish soup. fenugreek, some premature babies may be sensitive to it, may cause them to have diarrhea, otherwise is okay. I finish abt 2 bottles of GNC fenugreek. 1 day abt 8-9 caps. drink more water, pump more and rest more is the best.

Ah May, thanks, will get the fenugreek tmr, btw should I check with my bbs's doc prior to consuming it. I don't want to take chances with my bbs.

hi didi

My babies were 1.7kg and 1.3kg when they were borned. Once ur babies are ready, please carry them, cos this will help them feel that u love them and they can grow faster. Now u can try interacting with them by touching them gently, sing and talk to them. u will be surprised, they can feel ur presence although they are still small. Once they reach 1.8kg, growing to 2kg will be very very fast.

hi all, i'm new here, got some questions hope to find out how you gals handle ...... i'm expecting triplets, edd in august:

1) waht happens if our babies premature and stay in nicu, that means CL look after us mothers only? normally do they give discount if this happens?
2) being triplets which can decide to come out anytime, how do we book the CL? if we agreed july then babies come at june and CL can't make it then how?
3) how much is nicu at kkh per baby per nite? must admit we are quite stressed over this, esp hubby
4) any CL to recommend, preferably experienced in triplets.

tanks in advance. Appreciate any sharing on how to cope. i'm also worried about breastfeding but i think that'd have to wait..... need to think about the CL issue first

hi msh,
check with your gynae, if you can can c class, then nicu will be cheap, as the cost is tag to mummy's class, but the care at nicu is the same for all babies.

not sure abt the CL thing, but think you may need to get a maid or two first. CL may not be so helpful unless your mum and mil cannot help.

thanks stressed. will check out.

Ah may, ok, i'm seeing gynae later, i'd check with him, but i think i'm private patient at kk, minimum class b leh :-( and yes, both my ml and mum will not be able to help...

msh,
was under private class but when i was hospitalised, was advised to go to b class wif five to a room, no personal telephone (never mind, got handphone, right) and got no TV (can bring your own small one)..

to give u a clue, i stayed in hospital for 40 days and when my bb was born really a preemie, my bb cld downgrade to c class straightaway...but dun noe why they din downgrade me although i stayed a further 2 wks from the date i gave birth (26 days before giving birth and 14 days after giving birth)..

i was in and out of delivery suite, was on anti biotics most of the time..my bill was about $15k, my bb stayed in kkh for about 5 mths plus (bill was about $30k)...

dun worry, if you are not sure, can find out from admissions dept..

do you noe that when i was there, i saw so many patients who transferred from other hospitals but they cld be downgraded to c class based on the medical social worker's intervention (but first 15k i think charged as private, that is patients transferred fm outside)...

dun worry for kkh patients itself, even the doctors wld tell you to downgrade after all no difference between the different classes for nicu as they "follow the mum's class"

hope i din confuse you, anythg you can post here...

thanks costa, it's very clear. i can roughly say nicu at c class is about $200 per day per baby ($30k/150 days)... wah for my 3, if all turn out underweight then i can look forward to $100k!! gosh.... looks like i need to walk in to the admissions dept later.

msh,
no pblem, glad tt i can help....

tink the bed itself is about 90 odd per day, the rest are medicines etc...the bills are subsidised partly by the government...i pray that your babies dun need to stay in nicu for long....for my baby, its bec he was really vy preemie..now he is back home for about 3 mths already...

the nicu and scn nurses are fantastic, anyway, the bulk of the bills are always at the beginning stage where they need alot of intervention etc..after a certain stage, the increase is not that great.....

Costa,
how is your boy? his cough better?

my girl seems to blow bubbles with her saliva and she drools alot...does your boy do that?

puppyduppy,
thanks, my boy's cough is better although on and off still coughing..tink its due to the ventolin and pneumicort pump that i had been given..

he was discharged wif both pumps and later we were advised not to give ventolin but since he started coughin recently, the neo nat had said to put him back on ventolin..

hopefully long term use of these two pumps is okay..tink if he gets better, ventolin has to be taken off...

my son doesnt blow bubbles much but likes to stick out his tongue leh....and he will giggle if he finds that wat we say (to him) is funny...

costa,

glad ur boy is better :>

so cute ur boy giggle..my gal also likes to stick out her tongue...she also will smile alot when i talk to her...

puppyduppy,

thanks....onli wish is for our children to be healthy.......

i really wonder whether they laff bec they noe wat is happening or its a natural response..heh heh..

i wish i can start him on solid foods but dun tink i can so soon as its better to wait till he is six mths corrected age...

hi costa..

talking about starting on solid. my mum jsut commented yesterday that it would be better for bb to start on solid when they are able to sit up (hence 6 mths corrected age for our bb should be a good time)

my mum say...now bb small (some more my boy pre-mature) she say dun start solid so soon...let him drink milk a while more.

my boy now as at corrected age is only 3 mths...gestation is 6 mths la...

Jane,

I agree wif yr mum also...

heard from my frens that for normal full term bbs, better to start at six months oso because if start too early, got chance of developing diabetes or watever...

oso, my bb head still not vy steady...wanna start oso cant.....

i want to start him wif solids bec i want him to put on more weight...

2mr, he got appt wif slt....tink they wld freak out if they noe i din put back the feeding tube...

hi costa.

oh...so my mum has her logic there...

my boy head not steady yet too...

haha..i dun think they will freak out. they will applause (your effort) that your boy can 'throw' away the tube liao.

tomorrow he seeing the neo nat too?

Jane,
Yr mum got logic because if the baby cant have good control and sit up..its difficult to feed..

no, my appt today is for slt nia...to see neo nat wld be next month i think...too many appts, until i tau gong gong already...

how about yr boy?when is his next appt?

can you babies turn yet? my girl likes to push herself up on her chest with her hands when she is lying face down.

sorry for asking stupid questions...but how u know if your baby head is stable?

hi costa,

my boy appointment to see neo nat always together with seeing dietrican & the physiotheraphist one... his next appointment is on 26 march 07

hi puppyduppy...my boy cannot turn yet...thou there was a period he was like trying hard to...

hmm...i think the head is stable when he can hold himself?? ... i really dunno ler :p (my boy head is like gg to be stable but not yet lor) but i understand normally its upon their 4th mth then their head will become stable... but i think head have to be stable before they can turn (correct me if i am wrong...)

puppyduppy,

oic, your appt wif neo nat wld be further apart because things get more stablised and he dunneed to see the neo nat so often

so the next appt wif neo nat may not match wif slt...and also slt appt always fully booked....my neo nat appt is next month end...

my boi can turn halfway nia and not until chest down...

my boy head sometimes like cannot hold up for long..dun really noe how to explain..tink same as wat jane said..

my boi can only turn halfway and we are encouraged by the physio pple to help him turn and chest down to encourage him to face his head up....

hi costa...

oh your boy is same same as my boy then...

but my mother discourage me from 'helping' him to turn as what the physio pple say ler...my mother say..he will do what he should when the time is ripe...

my boy is also half way turning too... there was a period he always try to turn..but these few days he like resting keke...

anyway...my boy as at corrected age is only about 3 mths..think another one month or so..he shld be able to hold his head and turn pah :p....

hi costa, jane,

My girl turn herself 2 times last week...then the rest she will try her hardest to turn..she is 2 months(corrected age). when i carry her upright, she doesnt want to lie on my shoulder..instead she likes to hold her head up and look around..haha...so kpo...

its ok to help our babies to turn? like guide their body to turn? cos usually i just watch her try to turn herself..when she cries in frustration then i turn her

jane,

i oso tink our bbs wld do wat they need to do at the right time...

but because my boi cant really exercise good head control and we have to let him be on his chest, so i turn him slightly and then let him practise turning up his head....

hi puppyduppy

oh so ur gal can turn herself liao..thats good.

ya my boy too...when i burp him...he will look up and look around keke...kpo really.

so..as at 2 mths they shld be able to turn?? my collegues kids...most turn aournd 3-4 mths...

hmm....think i shall try exercise him too then...

jane,
i heard usually babies will turn from 3 months...but my girl only did it 2 times...then after that she cant anymore...but always try to..cos she doesnt like to lie prone when she is awake...

ur boy so cute :>

hi puppyduppy...

so so what i heard (3 mths) is about correct... actually this period (where they trying to turn) is quite dangerous hor..have to 'watch' them esp nite time)..

my boy cute...hmm... u never see when he become monster keke :p

do u have ur gal picture to share?

jane,
i have picture of my girl on my hp and camera..havenet download it to pc yet...

ur boy looks so happy...:>

yah when my girl sleep..she will kick and kick that she will move around the bed...sometimes will find her in one corner when actually we put her in the middle of the cot...haha

hi puppyduppy...

my boy ah...so long got pple talk to him, he will shout out loud...cannot play with him one. once start..never can end :p

oh ya, same as my boy...he can 'move' 90 degree from one point to the other keke

do download to share ur gal sweet pic when u can ah..

Hi,Jane

How many month of your baby, look very healthly and big boy. what was his week born and now?

My twins born in 1.51kg, now 6.4kg and 2nd twins 1.19kg, now 5.4kg. 6.5month now, is it very small?

Hi didi,
I am also give birth my twins baby in 30weeks and their weight only 1.19kg and 1.51kg. Your baby was better, at least above 1.5kg, dont worry, everthing will be pass , only the time being.

I can share with you my experince, can e.mail me at [email protected]. they born 14/8/2006.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL THE MUMMIES.

Can I ask when did you wean your bb?Based on corrected age or born age?

Currently,my boi is fed thru a tube to his intestine.Doc suspect he has reflux.

Jolene,

We shld wean our babies by their corrected age.....now WHO standards recommend semi solids at six months age (for normal babies) but for preemies, i guess is six months corrected age...

Yr bb is at home now right? how was the test for reflux? so long nvr "see" u here....is yr bb fed thru tube thru mouth or nose?

is he coping well, maybe try to burp him even when tube feeding..tis was the advice given to me by the nurses..

jane,
blur me onli saw yr boi picture today..he's a big boy now....vy alert and lively looking....

jane,
sorry, i posted the previous post under my old nickname...heh heh...so dun be alarmed..its still good ole me..

wat brand of formula milk you giving yr boi now?

Any mummies have feeding problem before? Now my baby will cry when the bottle near him, he will bite and play wth his tougue, is it the teeth going to come out? they only 6.5month(actual month is 4month)

If this way, do I need to force him to finish the milk? sometime have to wait him sleep then can give him the milk.

jane, yr boy is really cute & looks cheeky...hee
did u shave his hair?

costa, how's yr boy's slt visit?

jolene, try to wean yr bb 6mths corrected & definitely wait till bb's neck has firmed up. better to give bb's digestive system time to mature too.