Premature babies support group

costa,
thanks for the explaination..now i understand better :>

should baby poo and pee after everyfeed? heard that if they poo and pee at least 6 times a day its normal.

would you know at what age our babies can grab things and hold on to our fingers?

sorry for the many questions..cos for full term babies..by 3rd month they are able to turn, so for our babies, would they also be able to turn when they are 3 months..or when they are 3 months(corrected age)

puppyduppy,
no pblem at all...

when the baby becomes bigger, they wun pee and poo after everyfeed...accdg to the nurses, tis is because the baby's digestive system gets more mature and digest slower..so they wun poo and pee so often...

oso, my boi din poo for two days last wk...

for the turning part,this is where early intervention takes place...there was a lovely physio lady who saw my boi at the same time as the neo nat and did some test on him

then, she showed us some exercises to help him to learn how to turn etc as preemies' development MAY BE delayed..I say maybe only because some can be faster....
based on their corrected age...

costa,

oh didnt know there were exercises to help our bbs to learn to turn...so you are doing the exercises with your boy now?

so does your boy wake up for the midnight feeds or does he sleep through? sometimes my gal will be sleeping when it is time for her feed..then the nurse will still put the bottle in her mouth and she will drink while closing her eyes..like so poor thing...asked the nurse if we could just let them sleep if they dont wake up..she say at this age we should wake baby up during the day ...but at night if they sleep..we dont have to wake them up to feed..

puppyduppy,
the physio taught my mum and maid the exercises, i was in the next room talking to the neo nat lady doc...so my mum only told me wat they mentioned and the exercises they do to help bb strengthen his head and turn etc

my boi doesnt wake up but we have to tube feed him..different nurese told me different things regarding whether its ok to let bb sleep thru the nite..last nite, i tube fed him and he threw up three times.....so poor thing...

costa,
oh no..so poor thing ur boy...maybe reduce the amount u feed to him?

think u must be so tired having to wake up to feed him and go to work the next day....

puppyduppy,
i tink i learnt my lesson tt i cant tube feed an increased amount even at nite....so at nite or after midnite, i will decrease the feeds and try to increase slowly during day time

to tell you the truth, last time wif my first kid, i wasnt so hands on and only concerned abt my lack of sleep but now, more hands on and i tink i can catch up the sleep on wkends

whos gonna help you take care next time?

costa,
for your 1st kid, you had help to look after him?
wow its great how mummies can sacrifice anything for our precious bbs :>

my MIL will be taking care of bb when i go back to work..but as i will be on no pay leave for the next 2 months, will be taking care of her myself first.hope i can do it...im the super kancheong type...and still feel so clumsy with her.

puppyduppy,
costa is rite. it's a MAY BE to delay in development. My boy didn't hav any delay. so at his actual 4 mths, he can turn, now at his 7+ mths, he can crawl, sit a bit unsteady but still able to.
it's really depends on each individual. dun worry. my relative's one is a full term huge baby, yet can only turn at abt 7 mths.
i didn't buy anything for his motor skill development, by the time it comes, it happens. my boy since 5-6mths can grab a teether n keep bite on it. haha...

as for night feed, dun hav to wake them up to feed. how i wish my boy sleep thro nigth... but he still wake up for 1-2 feed every night.

puppyduppy,
for my first kid, i got a maid, now i oso got a maid but i tink i rather do it myself like feeding and inserting of tube feed...dun like to have the maid feel that we are at their mercy..

tis was how i felt wif my first maid, i dun like pple to have a hold over me...

good to have mil..me got my mum and maid to take care during my working hours and after work, try to take care myself...

for my first kid i always relied on my maid to take care of my nite feeds....but now, i dun wanna do that unless i am dead tired...

its good you can take no pay leave..for me, cant liao..

irenelovej,
thats what other preemies' mummies told me, wat will be will be..

they will develop when its time for them to do so...

i just afraid his development cld be more delayed due to the bleeding in his head....next month got to scan head again...

costa
thank God that my fren's MIL will help to take care of my boi in the future.I will be working at home for a few months until boi is stable enough.If not i will be worried when I hand over to my fren's MIL.

Irene
I agree wif you.All babies are diff.So we better don't compare our bb wif other bb as it will cause us alot of stress.

puppy,
your calculation on the feeding is really gd.I estimated my boi feeding to be 60ml coz we don't noe how to estimate.It's my sis who gave us advise that since boi hv 50ml for the past 2 weeks,we must increase 10ml.I also feed my boi wif water as we want him to get use to the taste,

i lost this thread yet again and when i finally caught up with it, i read that chocolatte's girl has left us. i'm so so sad for her. i'm not sure whether she'll still follow this thread. it must be painful for her.

I am new to this thread.

Chocolatte, I read about your lost. I do understand deeply how you feel because I lost my boy who was borned very prematurely at 23plus weeks too. He was in NICU for 2 days before he left us due to heavy bleeding in brain. I am thankful for the two days he was with us too.

My 2nd boy was borned prematurely again 27 weeks. He stayed two months and 3 days in hospital. Now he is 14 months and is very active. He has this moderate hole in heart who had been patched.

All,
My boy is 31 week preemie. He is now 27 months old. All the things i read in this forum brings back those memories - feeding tubes, monitors, apnea, daily calls from PD, reflux,etc. Those days where weight gains of 20-30grams per day will brighten our days. I remember when i first brought him home, I find myself constantly checking to make sure he's breathing. I suppose this is what every preemie mum goes through.

Preemies are a wonder and they develop at their own pace. I have stopped comparing him with other babies but every milestone that he reaches is an achievement in itself.

There is a good preemie book if you are interested. I have found comfort and knowledge in this book - "Your Premature Baby & Child" which is available in the national library. Hope this helps.

Good morning, ladies...

amk, welcome to the board..we hope you wld join us more often and share yr experiences wif us...

how do you deal wif his reflux?it really makes me upside down everytime he throws up even wif tube feeding....

jolene,
great you got yr fren's mil to help you..you can fang4 xin1 a bit when you go to work...

morning ladies...

was too busy to post recently...

it's really nice of other experienced premmie mummies to share their experiences. hope to learn more too...

irenelovej, costa, jolene & amk sk are very right that all bbs are unique individuals, developing at their own pace.
sometimes, it feels like there's no progress but take heart that bb has oredi achieved alot since the early days.

talk about bbs are unique individuals....

My DD only learn to flip at 5.5mos. But she progress very fast to sitting. Now she is putting her butt up to crawl. All these within 3 weeks!

She's 6.5months now and I don't intend to start solids until she is 8 months. I want her disgestive system to stablise first. No hurry for us to start solid.

BTW, she has to go for a cystoscope for her kidneys in Jan next year.
That's one of the reasons why I push solids till later.

Good morning mummies,

Was too busy to come in for a few days...

Its great to hear that your bbs are progressing well, i was just asking the nurses about premmies development, should we follow the actual birth date as a gauge or their corrected age as a gauge...maybe i should just take it easy and let my girl develop at her own pace....

My girl seems to be having some colic...she will grimace and squirm a few times a day...PD says to let it be, it should pass after a few months...did any mummies experience the same thing with their babies?

good morning, ladies,

Rgding yr question, i think we shld treat them from their corrected age for developmental progress BUT for vaccinations, shld follow the actual date of birth or follow the paedi's advice on when to take the jabs (smtimes got to see when the bb hits the weight etc)...

hearsay colic will pass after a few months, i cannot really remember the solution for it, maybe other mummies can help...

My dd's solution to colic (or at least it relives her a bit)

1) Ru yee oil. twice a day
2) Burp after drinking half way.
3) Burp after drinking finish
4) carry baby upright.
5) Med like ridwind or dentinox

prevention of colic/reflux,
feed by holding the bb's head in a higher position (45deg?), use Dr Brown bottle for anti-colic, latch baby which is clinically proven to introduce lesser wind compared to bottle

puppyduppy,
dun worry, every baby has colic. my boy used to throw out milk too. after 2-3 mths will be better.
Ur bb discharged already?

irenelovej,

need your advise...i bought the avent bottles and planning to use the teat for newborns...u think its ok..or the Dr Brown bottle is better? should i use latex or silicon teats?
yup im feeding her at an angle..so she is not lying flat down...

my bb will be discharged next week :>

costa,
is his merlioning getting less? does it happen at certain times of the day only?

puppyduppy,
congrats on yr bb being discharged next wk..

his merlioning averages twice a day....tis morning was quite jialut..accdg to my mum..

his merlioning smtimes after midnite although we tube feed him and most of the time in the day time....

so excited for you, u muz be v excited.

costa,
my fren was telling me..if baby throw up..could mean that he is too full or never burp?

my girl still spits out milk eventhough i burp her....PD say its normal...hmm

yeah am very excited and abit nervous...dont know if i can take care of her as well as the nurses though...so many worries are in my mind now...

puppyduppy,
dun noe if my bb is too full as he is being tube fed after bottle feeding,but you cld be right..but i was already underfeeding him and worried that he cant grow much...

even after burping oso merlion

dun worry, u shld be okay...relax....

costa,

that time my girl also threw up some milk..then her PD reduce her feed..and changed the feed to 2 hourly instead...only last week they resumed to 3 hourly feed...and she seems to be drinking ok now..except for the spits of milk....

ur boy is drinking every 3 hours right?maybe can check with his PD to reduce the feed and change the time?

puppyduppy,
dun noe leh,supposed to drink every three hours to be more in line wif a new born baby and i oso not sure to reduce or not..really vy fan2

how long does yr baby take to drink her milk and how much does she drink?

costa,

was also worried on why PD change to 2 hourly..but he say that if bb cant digest milk on a 3 hourly basis..then he reduce the feed...but feed more often (ie 2 hourly). maybe u consult ur PD on this? but i dont know if this way will work for your boy or not...

now she is drinking 42ml...she drinks quite well...take about 5 mins or so...but of course milk will spill out from the side of her mouth when she drinks...have to stop once in a while so that she can swollow milk...

puppyduppy,
yr bb is making vy good progress liao..keep it up...

maybe i ask the neo nat when i see her...hopefully can do the same....if not i vy stressed...

costa,

yah can imagaine how stressful it is when ur boy keeps throwing up milk...

thanks, she is doing well..very proud of my little princess :>

puppyduppy,
hope tonite no merlion for me to see leh...tink spore got two merlions enough liao ha ha dun need another one....

jolene,
how are you coping?shld be okay, i guess

puppyduppy,
congrates. ur bb w be home soon. u must be very excited.
i oso started using avent bottle. but think avent still hav a bit bubble so sometimes he still colic. then we chg to dr brown. things improve. but after 2-3 mths when he didn't throw up milk anymore, we use back avent. coz dr brown got lots of part to wash n i'm a lazy mum

thanks everyone...:>

irenelovej,
does dr brown have teats for different kind of milk flow like avent....thinking of buying dr brown too...nurses gave me some teats that they use in hospital...dunno whether to use that or not as it may cause colic....

costa,
so how was ur boy last nite? got merlion or not?

regarding FM is it true that if we dont mix it correctly its not good for baby? do you all use hot and room temperature water to mix FM or just use room temperature water to mix then warm it up?

morning,everyone..

puppyduppy, yterday my boi pulled out the tube and my mum suggested not to put it back so that he can be more comfortable and suck better...

he din merlion but drank vy little...really its a vicious cycle..put the tube, he smtimes throw up but dun put the tube, he gets tired and cant drink

i din make milk for a long time but i think shld use boiled water which has been cooled...i cld be wrong maybe the other mothers can help, i onli noe that too hot water will kill the nutrients..

for preemies, kkh recommends Similac Neosure...i bot one to stand by....they say tis one is recommended for preemies and babies who cant gain weight fast....i asked the neo nat again when i saw her and she said tis one can drink....and buy one to stand by its okay..

costa,
ur boy wears mittans?even if he drinks very little..at least he can hold the milk in without throwing up....how many ml he drinks? my gal only drinks 45ml...then will spit out some after drinking...so end up less than that..

my gal drinking Nan1, so far so good....

wat brand of bottles to u use?

puppyduppy,
u can use the bottle n teat hospital gave u when u juz bring ur gal back and slowly let her adopt to the commercial teat.
those teats cannot be recycled so maybe the first d u let her drink once fr hospital teat once fr normal teat n slowly let her switch to the commercial type.
Dr Brown comes w #1 teat which is suitable for newborn. after tat can buy the #2 #3 teats when ur gal grow, or switch back to avent when the colic is away
u r rite that the hospital teats are not anti-colic.
pls let ur gal wear mitten n booties coz it's protecting the hand n foot fr cold and to avoid them scratch their face. i let my boy wear mitten till abt 3 mths. booties i stop abt 2 mths, coz tat time the weather was so warm. only let him wear it at night as we r sleeping in air con room

puppyduppy,
my boi wears mittens smtimes, if not he puts his hands into his mouth and vy stinko...but oso good to let their hands be free for them to explore and improve their motor skills

my boi supposed to drink 100 ml but it takes a long time for him to finish..

i used normal bottles, sometimes just fit the teat into the bottle i used to store bm, for eg medula bottles, after thawing the milk, just put the teat on

or else,use the glass bottles the hospital gave for storing bm and just screw on the cap plus teat

how about you?

irenelovej,
good idea..will alternate between hospital teat and commercial teats..think will get the Dr Brown ones...
im also planning to let my girl sleep in aircon room...wat temp is ur aircon at?

costa,
my girl also like to put her hands to her mouth all the time....like you said, some people tell me not to wear mittans for her cos need to develop motor skills...some people say must wear..anyway my girls fingernails are so long now...so scared she scratch her face
im storing my BM in those glass bottles the hospital gives...but i dunno if i will continue pumping when my girl comes home..cos my BM is getting less and less...barely 20ml at one pump...still undecided....
will be getting Dr Brown's now cos my girl seems to have colic...

puppyduppy.
the hospital one is disposable bec they got no time to sterialise and oso it depends on the bottled ready mix milk that the hospital happened to use that wk...But at home, if you want, can recycle the teats maybe for a few times more to maximise the usage..(tis is wat the mee see told me at the hospital)

tink maybe u can cut yr gals finger nails then she wun scratch....

try keeping up wif the pumping...i only pump three times a day...in the morning before work, once during lunch time and once in the evening..

once you try to establish yr supply, it shld be okay...anyway, u can try taking fish soup or suplements to help wif milk supply...

From what I understand from parentcraft lessons, if the tin says 90ml to 3 scoops, we must follow.

Too little water will make the milk too thick and very hard for bb to digest. Plus I heard FM will expand in the stomach. According to Kellymom.com the fact is FM can cause the lining of the gut to be damaged because it's too thick. Hence BM is still the best. Gentle yet nutritious.

Anyway, we can't make FM too diluted either otherwise bb will not get enough nutrition.

costa
me coping well.Juz seen the PD yesterday & I ask her abt boi how come got phlegm sound.She say maybe catch a cold.Boi don't like to drink milk when he is sleepy.Sometimes can get very frustrated lor.

jolene,
glad you coping well...
i asked the neo nat why bb got snorting sounds when sleeping, she said its because the nasal muscles or smthg like that at the nose not developed well or smthg.....

do you tink yr boi caught a cold?dun tink so, right?if he touch wood caught a cold, wun be so comfortable liao, right?

how long does yr boi take to drink the milk?for me, i really dun hv the patience smtimes, vy frust to hear and see sucking but nothing goes into the stomach

when my girl drink the EBM she wont be settled till she drinks abit of FM...she keeps moving about in the bed for 1 hour plus and dowan to sleep...

my girl also got snorting sounds...her PD say it could be some mucus or something...

costa
my boi usually take ard 20 mins to finish his milk.The drops for the nose seems to dry up his mucus leh.Not sure whether he catch a cold or not.My sis also say the same thing that this snorting sound is due to the nose muscle not develop yet.She ask me to massage that area.

Also lately he has constipation.Yesterday my sis ask me to add abit of sugar into his milk.Thank God he poo poo but it's the hard type.Guess it's the accumulation of the poo for the past 2 days.Will see whether he will poo soft stools today or not.

puppy
when your girl can discharge?Able to celebrate Christmas wif you n hubby?

Hi Jolene!

Did the sugar help? Coz I learned from friends and relatives that we should not feed anything sugar because they will develop sweet tooth which will lead to tooth decay and unhealthy eating habits.

jolene,
harlo, m vy confused now..just brot my son to see the eye doctor..next chk up is six months time..

my boi took out the tube on wed and i din put it back but m so afraid that his drinking of milk is so slow and it may inhibit his growth
yr method of solving constipation is unique..for me, i put smthg into my son's anus...to stimulate his poo and true enuff, he bomb hiroshima after that, ha ha..