Premature babies support group

costa
Yes,they will get Peter Pan to take for your bb only when you request.I din't know until yesterday.That's why I arranged for today.I use my own blanket also.

jolene,
i just called them and they normally take for newborns and not too big babies as their cots for taking pix are small....

last time, they came to my room and asked if i wanted to take for my elder boi..

oh, i din noe can use yr own blankets..so nice..

My dd is ok. She needs more test to ascertain if surgery is needed. She cried like crazy when they inserted the plug. My mum got sooo worried coz can hear her cries 5 meters away from her ward. That's how loud she was! The whole day she scream until I can hear "woooo wooo" in my ear.

This Friday we will be the Prof for the outcome of the test.

Thanks everyone for your concerns. So tired now...

finally a break fr work...

hi costa
all the nurses are very nice, that's why i still bring my boy back to visit & say hello!
somehow, i can't thank them enuf for taking such good care of my boy, even tho it's their job.
they treat all the premmies like their own little bunch.

hi puppyduppy,
yes, it's good to learn to read bb's colours cos machines can only do so much with fixed parameters.
after the intial weeks in NICU, hubby & i were hands-on to press the alarm off/mute button whenever it sounded!
the nurses just supervise overall whenever we were there to visit bb.

hi jolene,
congrats on bb returning home!
remember to also take care of urself & keep us posted of bb's progress.

hi stressed,
u must be really shacked out now! remember u need rest too.
try to not worry too much for now.

PD say its ok to take the flu jab when breastfeeding..no worries...phew at least got ease of mind from a few docs...i very kiasu one..haha

tried to feed and burp my gal yest..when i feed her milk spill from the side of the mouth...i pull out the teat and put it in again...still the same thing...then when i try to burp her..she dowan to burp...sigh..when nurse burp her..she burp...aiyo...stress leh...what if when she comes home she dun wanna burp how..or i cant feed her properly....

harlo, everyone...
puppyduppy,my kiddo oso wun burp last time when i patted him at the hospital when he was tryg bottle feeding....tink my technique was not right and i giaped his face till red....haha..even the cleaning aunty oso laffed at me...

now hes being tube fed at home partially (must let him bottle feed for 10 minutes occasionally at home) and i was told to burp him even whilst being tube fed..

yterday oso he threw up some milk...

if after a few minutes, she dun burp, its ok..maybe she din take too much air in whilst drinking (i cld be wrong)..

Then when you let her lie down, put her facing one side either left or right and NOT flat on the head so that in event, touch wood, she throws up milk, it wun go down the windpipe...hope tis helps...

costa,
so did u manage to burp ur boy at home now? is he able to bottle feed at home when u try? when will you be able to take out the tube?he is throwing up millk when u tube feed him?

i look so clumsy trying to hold my girl and burp her...haha...

thanks for the advise...my girl always turn her head left and right when she sleep upright..haha...

puppyduppy,
was advised to let him bottle ten mins per day andthen the rest tube feed..alternately in the day time..no nite time bottling

me oso clumsy..dun worry, will learn, one...

costa,

does ur boy suck on pacifier when he is not feeding? seems that my girl can only settle down to sleep when she suck on pacifier...without it she will cry and wriggle around.

puppyduppy,
no, i din let him suck pacifier because i tink i din get one for him..but when he is being tube fed, i let him suck on a teat (stuffed wif cotton wool like wat they do in hospitals)...

the nurses told me sucking and the same time as bottling wld make the milk move fastly and oso let him associate the sucking reflex wif milk drinking..

oso, he wld suck in air as the teat is stuffed wif cotton wool..

hope tis is clear, if not you can email me if you wanna ask further...

tink suckg may help them think they are still in mum's warm womb and comforted wif their own natural instincts...

costa,
thanks for the explaination :>
yah my gal loves to suck the pacifier..will also do wat the hospital does..to stuff cotton wool in the teat....

its me haha....finally has a little time to write down a small note for you all.

my boy and me is at my mama home now...wow...havoc for the last 2 weeks plus. i had wanna to find time to drop by and say hello to every mama but just simply could not even have time to on the lap top...

my boy is making me hand and leg all so busy at one time.

he weights 3.05kg now. when he discharge was 2.6kg. last week brought him to polyclinic to take his 2nd jab of heb B.

next monday will be going to KKH for his monthly review (eye, ear, dietrican and see the speech thereaphist). will be more than half a day gone there....

My boy now is taking half FM (Similac NeoSure) and my BM...think when i go back to work, he will have to be on FM... :-(

i read through the threads... wow, all the mummies coping great. continue the good work.

i am still trying to learn to cope with my boy...but soon will be going back to work on 26 Dec...sob sob.

i am taking in a maid to help my mum to look after my boy and a niece (who is cared by my mum too)...

to all mummies, i salute you all...now i know the tough task on hand haha....but well, 'mama is the best always'

continue the good work and continue to write...

jane, you must be really busy man wif yr boi..for me, my boi is on tube feeding and going to see the doc next wk for two days...

anyway, im oso still trying to learn all that i can and i got no way to contact you as i guess you must be vy busy if you din log on....

how come you got not enuff bm leh? thot you were pumping quite regularly..?did you latch on?

hi every mummy,
didn't write on the thread for quite a while though i did scan thro the discussion, coz always got no time recently

wanted to congrates to Jolene on bb's 'graduation', and Jane, good to hear fr u again. can understand how handful u'll be on taking care the boy. last time i oso like tat,when busy on the boy, can do till forget to eat, although very hungry already ...

weekend is coming, do enjoy ur family days...

My baby gal didn't make it and left us after blessing us with her presence for more than a week. Was very distraught hence didn't have the mood to post here.

Thanks for all your kind advice during my very short stint in this thread. Wish you all the best with your very own precious little fighters... As for me, will have to go thru confinemt then TTC all over again...

Chocolatte,
**Hugs to u**...
i really dunno wat should i say....it's so sad to hear that

do rest well on urself n take care during the confinement month. hope to hear a good news fr u soon.

Thanks irenelovej. Sigh...when i look at other mummies with normal uncomplicated births in the hospital, I just wonder if they know how lucky they really are. 'Cos it's so easy to take it for granted. For us, after our experience, we know what a treasure it is just for babies to survive and develop well. Everything we do to try to give them a better life is worth it.

chocolatte,
i dun noe wat to say..except to tell you to nurse yr body to health...

of cse, i cant fully understand wat you going thru but to let you noe that there is light at the end of the tunnel.....

chocolatte
sorry to hear what happen to your bb.You must take gd care of yourself before you conceive.In fact,i hv complicated pregnancy also & doc hv advised me not to conceive during these 2 years.if we were to see our own situation,it will make us very sad.My advice is to look forward.Don't worry,God will give you another beautiful & healthy bb.

gals,
do you hv any idea why bb hv mucus sound?My boi seems to hv mucus in his nose whenever I feed him.Really don't know what is it.Real mucus or phlegm.Hiaz.......

jolene, how are you coping wif baby?
my bb oso has mucus sound and tis morning, when he threw up, there was some phlegm looking thing in the milk he threw up

i oso got no idea why and when he breathes, oso got tis sound...i bot the nasal thing to try suck it out of his nose but no use also...

puppy
I din't let my boi suck any pacifier coz he don't seems to need it.My boi head also turn left & right when he sleeps upright.I try to train him to sleep side ways now.

btw gals,my sis in law told me that Fisher Price hv a toy gym which is good for bb development.I hv bought one for my boi for him to play.

Also,try not to buy long pants liao.My boi although is 55cm tall now but still can't fit into a Size 0-6 months long pant.In the end,I buy shorts for him to wear.Long enough to cover his legs.

jolene,

my girl also have mucus sound, her PD say its ok..she will snort sometimes.this happens especially after taking out the tube from the nose. Nurses say most premmies will have snorting sounds from time to time....please correct me if im wrong anyone..

BTW, my girl is sucking from bottle for all her feeds :>

costa
thank God tat bb is ok.when he is back the first night,he is really afraid as the surrounding is so new to him.Now he hv settled down.So funny,hubby & I were so tired last night that we forget to feed him at 3am.Then ard 530am,he start to make noise then I realise I hv missed the feed.Aiyo really sotong.....

puppy
glad to hear that now your girl sucks from bottle.A gd thing to celebrate.When my boi learn how to suck from bottle,hubby & I are really happy.At least he hv learn how to suck.When is your girl discharging?

gals,
the new batch of Aussino bb comforter set are really nice.I buy mine already.Haha....hv been waiting since Oct.

jolene,
i was vy onz when my boi came back but there were a few occasions i din feed him after midnite as one of the nursing sisters told me its okay to miss one or two feeds

but another nursing sister told me not to do that as my boi is on tube feed and quite easy, so we shldnt miss his feed

but just tink that yr baby is good enough to cry for milk..my boi will just sleep thru although one nite, he made noise and after changing him, he was still crying...

later after feeding him then he din cry...so i guess we gotta sacrifice our sleep...

costa
I agree wif you tat we must sacrifice on our sleep.But yesterday we are so tired that we din't hear the alarm ring.Overall,my boi is ok to look after so far.Only when he is sleepy,he will close his mouth so tight.For me,I will "force" him but hubby will let him be without letting him finish his milk.

jolene,
my girl will be discharged after xmass...28th Dec..im having sleepless nights already worrying about having bb home...scared i cant wake up to feed her...or cant hear her cries...:<. the nurses also told me its ok to miss 1 or 2 feeds at night if she dont cry...but during the day must feed her regularly.my girl very auto one..will cry when she is hungry or when she poos.

also worried that she cant get used to the noises around her when she is home. do you let you bb sleep in aircon at night? what about during the day? we are planning to let her sleep in aircon at night and fan durng the day.

puppy
I hv bought a sound &amp; movement monitor for my bb so tat we will know that she is ok.You can buy it at Robinson.I din't noe tat Robinson hv so I bought mine in Australia.Same brand &amp; model.

Initially,we sleep wif the air-con on but notice that he was cold &amp; breathe very hard.Ever since,we juz turn on the fan at night but we din't cover him with any blanket as he will be very hot.I juz let him wear long sleeve &amp; pant at night.Day time,he will wear short sleeve &amp; shorts. I think you hv to monitor your bb when she is back as every bb is diff.

choco latte,

my heart goes out to you &amp; family. do take great care! I'm sure God will bless you with a miracle.

nice to see you are all getting busy with bbs coming home &amp; at home.

Jolene,
the nurses was telling us that if we on the aircon..must put at 25 degrees and wrap baby up so they wont feel cold.

did you wrap baby up during the day? nurses say they liked to be wrapped up..but of course use a light wrap..not those thick wraps they use in the hospital...do u wear booties and mittan for ur baby?

puppy
1st night we did wrap boi.Aircon temp was 26 degree.Its only tat I din't put on a blanket for him.As for day,I don't wrap him as it will be too hot for him.Heat rash came out.That's why I know he is hot.He put on short sleeve shirt &amp; pants during day wif mittens &amp; booties on.So far so gd.

jolene,
was also thinking if i should wrap baby in blanket at night as well as wear long sleeve for her...think its quite hot....

glad to know ur boy is doing good :>

hi mummies here in this thread,
you all are great mums, three cheers to you all, so sorry to interrupt this thread, just want to drop in to write a few words. my older son is a premmie before at 33 weeks and now he is going 4 soon. he is born 1.8 kg , stay in icu about a month, needed c pap machine for breathing, needed tube feeding before too.. however if you see him today no one believes he is a premmie, infact i call small fat boy . i also been through no proper confinement , eating outside, staying in icu from noon to seven or eight in the evening. when he was discharged he was barely 2 kg, i can even bath him in the basin , the basin i refer is the bathroom wash hand basin very small, he cries and needed to be fed almost every 2 hour, i was so tired and i was so paranoid every min whether is he breathing.........mum love is the greatest.
there will be days you are up and down...........however you will feel great and warm to see him he has grown each day.
one of the polyclinic nurses taught me, once a day, closed all the doors and windows, put the baby closed to your naked body , they feel secure and they grow faster. i wonder is this true but i did tried, i felt very closed to the baby.
pressed on ............
take care, emily.

Harlo, good morning mummies.

emily, welcome to the board and glad we have an experienced preemie mum like yrself to join us here and share yr knowledge...

how is yr boy...tink we have all been thru the same route, no proper confinement, rush here and there....are you a sahm or ftwm?

anything you note abt his health or preemies' health that we need to take note?

hope you join us more here..

morning mummies

emily,
thanks for your advise and encouragement. its good to hear ur experience.

do share with us more experience and stories if you can.

costa,
how is your boy? still on tube feeding?

my girl had her 2nd eye test yest, doc said vessels are forming well, nothing to worry about. thank goodness...

hi mummies, i feel so warm here in this thread.
For premmies they seem to have lower immunity esp the first year infact dr did not encourage us to bring him to crowded places like shopping centre and i really compliance to it as to worry he fall sick. though seem a big sacrifice as not to bring him out but it is worth. as for developmental aspect, they will be slower in their milestones as compared to the full term babies, best do not compare them however the dr and most studies did proved that when the kids reached 2 yrs old the milestones will gradually closed up the gap .
will come in often to share more. currently i am pregnant with my third one now quite tiring too as i am ftwm.
mummies............good to come in to the thread to share / ventilate as to get a pad on the shoulders........
good night......

puppyduppy,
on tuesday, had appointment wif the speech and learning theraphist...still hv to be tube fed but combined wif more minutes of bottle feeding...

he still throws up lah, bo pian

yterday, had appt for cranial ultrasound and full blood count test and appt wif the neo nat...

from the head ultrasound, tink have to do it again next year in january..to make sure the ventricles are not too dilated..oso, he is cutting down on the ventolin....right now, he has to take two types of medication thru pump to help his lungs...the neo nat just advised for one to be cut down..the other one to continue and gave some proteins to add to the breastmilk..

got to see the speech pple and heart doctor on one day next year and take head ultrasound and see the neo nat on another day....

costa,
u must be tiring running around for doc consultation. We'll all support u here. jia you, do rest well urself.

puppyduppy,
good to hear ur gal is fine on the eye. how's she now? ready to be home soon?

emily,
i really salute u.... after i hav a preemie, i dare not go for 2nd pregnancy, and u r having 3rd one!!! really an encouraging example for us. however, my naugthy boy has fully occupied my time after work, so still won't open factory for the time being

irenelovej,
i m really vy vy exhausted, can tell you tt, especially after yterday.....but i guess tis is the sacrifice we gotta make..

me too wun be hving another child altho i wld like to....factory i guess is closed liao...

morning mummies

costa,
kudos on being so strong and postitive *hugs*.ur boy is improving as his medication is being cut down ya...ur boy needs to go to the speech and learning therapist even when he is a baby?

my gal is doing good, except that she seems to be sticking her tongue out, also noticed that her tongue is abit whitish, asked the nurse but they say could be some milk stuck there. am worried is oral thrush....havent been able to contact her PD yet...

emily
thanks for coming in to encourage all of us here.

costa,
continue to being strong.Your boi will get stronger n healthier as each day goes by.My boi also did go for speech test but don't know for wat purpose.I din't bother to ask the nurses.

puppyduppy and jolene,
speech and learning theraphists or slt for short sees kids for feeding pblems and oso dietician sees them on the same day to see if we are feeding him right..tink i underfed him based on weight and i was afraid that if we give too much, he cant tolerate

the neo nats say early intervention is vy important...so guess hv to follow up regularly...

puppyduppy,
sticking tongue out is common, my bb does the same thing, they say its a reflex based on them wanting to suck...so dun worry

jolene,
thanks for your encouragement, really hope that his drinking can improve..considering how preemie he is....really got nothing more to ask for....whos helping you to take care next time?

costa,
pressed on . i read from books that premmie has high determination for survival, poor them have to go this now as they are premmie, many body organ still need to take time to be matured. i suggest that you dun increase too much feed at one go , probably about 5 to 10 mls every other day then see how your baby can tolerate or not. initally my son is like that too, i was too anxious of making him gaining weight then increase my feed, however next moment he is like a merlion. that time my son loves pulling out the feeding tube, it is a torture for me to insert the tube back again.
dun know what is your religion, whatever religion you are, pray and trust God. for premmie, to gain 0.1 kg seem so hard right i understand. when he was in icu, everyday i monitor his weight is like monitoring shares. someday gradually gained weight, some day the weight loss seem more than gain......at times it really discouraging but press on. i also believe in talking to the baby , telling the baby how much mummies loves him / her, ask the baby to get stronger ad healtier each day, dun underestimate them, they understand you, they are trying very much themselves to grow too.
costa, you too have to eat good nutritious food as to produce quality milk supply, if your bm is good and nutritious you are helping them to grow too and you definitely need nutrition as to give you strength to care for your baby.take care,
emily.

morning gals......how's everybody on friday?
emily, thanks...my kid is really merlion..really cant increase too fast if not he wld throw up due to reflux...

rgding the monitoring of his weight last time....me oso lidat.....

yeah, m still expressing bm for my baby....and trying to eat well...

morning all

as our bbs immunity is not very strong yet, did you all have many visitors to your house to see baby when your baby came home?my MIL told me not to expose bb to too many people now as she scared of the germs they carry....

costa,
the PD ask you to increase the feed of your boy gradually everyday? just wondering how would we know if we are underfeeding bb....

puppyduppy,
the dietician said i was underfeeding my baby.....

they have a chart wh shows how much a baby of each age grp shld drink , for eg 0 -6 mths,6 to 9mths etc...or else the nurses told me

Take the weight of baby multipied by the 150 ml and divided by number of times he drinks milk...

for eg a bb is 5 kg, so you take 5 X 150 = 750 and divided by 8 times = 93.75ml per feeding (agar agar bring to 95 ml or 90 ml)

it was the dietician who said i underfed him, i said its because of his reflux,,thank goodness he put on weight...a baby of my boi's age shld put on about 40 gm per day....

anyway, the pd din say increase gradually, it was the dietician who said increase but she din really give exact advice but told us to get nutricomp to add to the milk(tis is the protein powder which they gave at the hospital)...

oso, maybe take a look at the urine output and see if he is dehydrated or not...