Premature babies support group

chocolatte,
Hugs to you...

I lost my smaller twin at 21 wks and delivered the other twin at 24 wks...he has been discharged last wk...

if you wanna noe anythg or need anythg i can help, do private message me by clicking on my user name and sending me a message

we are here for you, you are not alone....

I'm back fm my holiday.Haha...left my bb & hubby in here while I go & enjoy.Btw,I hv bought bb sound & movement monitor during my trip.My fren say very good to monitor bb.

jolene,
harlo, where you went?so envious....
dun tink i can go anywhere..gotta express bm for my boi boi....

costa
I went to sydney with my colleague on a biz trip.Since bb hv not discharge,so I go back to work first so tat I won't waste my leave.I din't breast feed so it's ok for me to leave bb wif hubby.

jolene,
oic, sydney, tts nice...you are right, reserve yr leave for bb when bb's discharge as you may need time off and on for check ups and reviews...

costa,
i did not know u were expecting twins. all along i thought u hav only 1 boy, with another few year old son.. i must be very blur n didn' read thro the past posting.

wah jolene, so nice to hav a trip. it's good to hav ur own air for a while.

irenelovej,
i tink i may not have mentioned it before on tis thread.

it was a very tiring pregnancy for me and i lost the first twin at 21 wks (the first twin was removed) and i had a cerclage and they tried to keep the second twin inside me for a longer time...but smhow, he wanted to see the world early and made his entrance three wks later from the older brother...

it has been a very difficult year for me, even my gynae asks me not to "pong chan" him anymore.. haha...

hi jolene,

welcome back!
smart move to reserve leave for bb's discharge. going back to work also helps take ur mind off worrying abt bb.

hi costa,
so how was 1st official weekend with little fighter at home?

my boy has fully recovered liao so brought him to vivocity jalan jalan on saturday.
the place is huge!

gals,
i hv bought the bb movement & sound montior for my bb.Anyone of you need it?This is to monitor the bb heartbeat and movement at home.If bb no movement or heartbeat,the alarm will ring.I don't know whether we can get this here.But I feel more secure if this monitor can help to assist us at home.If you all want,I see whether I can try to get for you all.Since our bb are premature,we must be very careful.

hi jolene,

agree that the movement & sound monitor is very useful esp if bb has a tendency to go into apnae.
it's available at Robinsons & Motherswork, that's where i bot mine.

yvonne
how much did you pay for it?My hubby can't find it at Robinsons leh.Which department?He ask the staff but they say no.

Yvonne,
Harlo, good afternoon..
the first wkend was okay, except that he throws up milk sometimes and also before feeding, when we try to remove milk from his tube..sometimes we dun get anything out (by right, shld get some milk/mucus out)

today brot him to see the eye doctor, gg to see her again in three wks time..she's a lovely lady, frenly and vy nice...

asked a nurse at scn, she said that its okay to miss one or two feedings when the bb's sleeping but i read smwhere that premature bb's system not mature for him to cry even when he's hungry..

So i dun noe whether to tube feed him at nite or just continue to let him sleep..wat did you do last time wif yr boy?did you wake him up at nite or he auto-pilot wake up?

i wish i can go vivocity, man.......did you buy anything? i went there twice and din buy anythg because there were too many pple and hard to shop with parents and my son around

i bot it 1 year ago for $259.
my other premmie-mummy friend saw it at Robinsons Centrepoint for $299.
is it cheaper in sydney?

guess they may not stock many of such monitor due to poor response.
it is very ex unless like us who hv specific reason for buy it.

costa,

it's common for them to throw up milk. i remember it was quite frequent in the intial weeks. maybe try to break the feed with a short interval & monitor that he's not throwing too much.

no milk or mucus cud mean that he has digested ALL milk. think it shud be fine.

for nite feeds, i set alarm to wake myself & give him even when he didn't cry for it.
i imagine their stomach so small, can't feed much in one go, so surely hungry every 2-3hrs.

i din buy anything, just ate lunch at a not so crowded restaurant, walk ard a little & it's time for kiddo's afternoon nap liao.
there're too many ppl & now with school holi, it's packed with kids.

think it's better to go later instead of rushing with everyone.

wah... u all is so knowldgable for the bb items. i really blur like 'sotong'. i didn't even heard the monitor before n i didn't buy any. anyway, my boy is the alarm for me. when he was young, every 3 hrs he cried like he has been hunger for days, so we always get the milk stand by n when he cried, put it into his mouth, or try latch him. n when he refuse to latch, then quickly warm the milk up, very messy.

yvonne,
i think the same as you leh..i scared he not enough nutrients becuz he is only drinking about 90 ml and for his weight, it shld be enough..

so every three hours, i set alarm clock to tube feed him but the nursing manager told me that its okay to skip a feed..but i really scared he cant put on weight leh..

yah, better dun bring yr kiddo to too crowded places because wif so many pple around, cant tell wat viruses are in the air...

i oso dunoe how much actually he is throwing up but smtimes can be quite a lot and when it comes up thru the nose, can be quite scary looking...so now kalang kabuk..i think i better monitor and write down how much..incase the doctor asks me next wk.....

costa,
u're doing ur best. don't worry.
yes, u're rite abt avoiding crowded places. lots of flu thingy going ard again...

irenelovej,
it's by luck that we found out abt the monitor.
my hubby & i always joked wif the nurse that we need the hospital equipment to monitor bb at home cos we're so dependent on it mah.
actually, KK does rental on case-by-case basis.
then during the usual chats, 1 nurse mention the monitor lor.

hey costa,

just realized my boy also due for his KK checkup next week, 14 dec afternoon... when is yr boy's checkup?
we may bump into each other.

Thanks for all your hugs and encouragement. It really helps to know of your success stories... Supposed to be having confinement, but I'm running around, visiting my baby then rushing home for my confinement meals. Seems like KKH and NUH are both full now, and our paed just managed to get a place for my daughter at SGH NICU. Have you heard of their NICU?

Now I'm expressing milk and freezing it...but my baby's gut doesn't seem to be accepting it yet when the doc tried it twice, so she's still on the TPN nutrient drip. When did your baby start on being able to take your EBM?

Hi Costa,
I'm really glad to hear that your elder twin has been discharged...gives me hope. Thanks, will pm you if I have any questions. Did your baby have any prob accepting your EBM at the beginning?

yvonne,
my boi next appt wld be on 12th dec for speech learning theraphist for feeding pblems and also dietition matters..on 13th dec, then its the appt for full blood count etc....just one day difference if not i can see you and your boi boi...

choco latte,
its my younger twin who has been discharged...i lost my elder twin..it was been a very difficult pregnancy and i just couldnt hang on to the elder boy..

dun worry about things...my bb din have pblems accepting the ebm because it had been tube fed to him thru the mouth..actually he was bottle feeding but due to cough, he was discharged from the hospital wif feeding done thru the tube..

you can pm me anytime if you want to talk to anyone...

hi choco latte,

can understand the mad rush u're going thru now.
i too didn't do a proper confinement or took proper care of my c-sect wound, running ard everyday, visiting bb, rushing home to express breastmilk.

very soon ur little one will be ready to take EBM. bb just need time to develop & mature the necessary organs.

i've no idea abt SGH's NICU. perhaps other mummies can help to enlighten.

hi costa,

yeah, too bad we missed each other by a day. i wud love to meet little warrior.
so the tube might get to come off next tue lor?

Hi chocolatte,

i was also like you..didnt have a proper confinemenet, rushing to hospital every night to see baby and give breastmilk. had difficulty walking cos of the csec wound, but still had to force myself to go...

my gal's doc tube fed her my breastmilk from the 3rd day she was delivered. Very little at a time.

do you all think it is good to get the moniter? cos i also worry when it is time to bring baby home, how to check esp at night when we are sleeping if she is ok. at 36weeks she is still holding her breathe and she turns so red.

yvonne,
harlo, good morning.....i not sure if the tube can come out next wk becuz i am not letting him bottle much as he is throwing up even after taking milk thru the tube...must wait for the slt to assess the situation....

me too din hv proper confinement and even bathed and fainted in the hospital toilet....tink next time i old sure got alot of aches, now already feeling them liao...

puppyduppy,
why dun you ask the nurses whether need to buy or not or ask the neo nat on her progress and her breathing patterns....

costa,
gosh fainted in the toilet?
u know how we shouldnt touch too much water during confinement right..i was washing the bottles everyday...cos i didnt have a confinement nanny.
yeah will check with the PD when she is about to go home.

puppyduppy,
yah, because i had a difficult pregnancy and was confined to bed for three wks...(was in hospital for a total of 40 days all in all)
After the birth, was in woman's icu and when i went back to the normal ward..they asked me to bathe...

i thot shd be no pblem but luckily a nurse escorted me and waited for me in the toilet and whilst changing, i fainted in the toilet and the drip came out and blood was oozing on the floor..a few nurses carried me to the wheelchair and put on drips again. then later went to post op area (smthg like for pple after operation to go, one)...

and after that, one week later, i went by myself to see my kid in the nicu and i thot i was okay..i was already feeling vy weak but i din dare to tell the nicu nurses and whilst walking back to the ward, i fainted in the lift again...and coincidentally, my hb happened to be in the lift and then together wif a nurse, got help to come..

ha ha guess wat? the nurses in the ward said "dun faint leh, if not we got to write report, one leh" ha ha, funny or not....

costa,
oh my, my heart goes out to you...it must have been a very trumatic time for you...poor thing.cant imagine how it must be like...tot i very steady to be forcing myself to walk to see my girl..but u lagi more steady man....

puppyduppy,
all mums are wei da....but we are lidat, once its over, we forget abt it..m sure vy soon you wld hv forgotten the pain that you went thru..trust me..

hows yr gal?hows yr expression of bm?supply okay?

costa,

my gal is ok...knows how to scream and cry when she is hungry or wants to suck pacifier..
my bm seems to be getting less and less now..but i still pump..abit of bm is better than nothing i guess..

wat did ur boy's PD say about his throwing up of milk..is it ok?

puppyduppy,
its a reflux pblem because bb's digestive system not mature enough..even full term babies oso kena tis pblem....

they put a probe down his throat to check it out when he was still at kkh and the neo nat din say anythg last week

yterday, i asked a nursing sister, she told me to monitor how many times he throw up incase next when he goes to see the neo nat, i can tell the neo nat accordingly....

its great tt yr baby can signal to the nurses her needs

rgding the bm supply, take more nutritious food and pump regularly....

every mum here is not able to hav a proper real traditional confinement, including myself, coz we hav to go out to hospital visiting the bb. i tried not to touch water tat much, but as we hav to express milk, so always hav to wash hand n use hot towel to massage. i tried to take lots of good food n more heatier food to increase the nutrient intake n to keep body warm. or else the air-con at hospital always make me feel cold.\

costa, u really had a hard time.... my heart goes to u too.... can't imagine how u cope w it... u really very wei da

abt throwing up milk, it's the reflux problem coz there's something in bb's stomach not fully developed yet, so it causes the flow to be 'reverse'. most bb will hav this, plus the colic problem makes it worsen. mine one also hav it at his age of 2-3mths. after tat will be ok. if ur bb is taking formula, i heard Enfalac has a special formula for reflux bb, called Enfalac AR. u can check w ur PD

irenelovej,
when i read the other stories on the board, i feel that other mums are more wei da and after seeing mummies of kids in hospitals for months, i really feel my pain is nothing compared to them..really....

u are right abt preemie mum not hving proper confinement....those who care for their kid and rush here and there everyday..and have to express milk three hourly..who can rest under such conditions?

thanks for the enfalac referrel, will go take a look at it...i bot a tin of Similac to stand by..its a formula for preemies but maybe not those wif reflux pblem..

enfalac milk in general, also not bad, my elder boi was on tis milk since birth until a few years back...

Hi Yvonne,

My dd had UTI and later it was found that she had an abnormal right kidney and all her kidneys had reflux problem. So we had to do tests to see if the kidneys are damaged and how badly damaged it is.

I've checked and it's got nothing to do with her prematurity. That's why I don't want to mention much here. Already all the mummies here have been/ are going through sooo much stress. I don't wish to dampen everyone's fighting spirit.

My heart's with everyone here. Jia you ! Jia you!

stressed,
dun worry, you can mention here....wat did the neo nat say?anything which can be done?

stressed,

definitely no prob to talk abt other issues here. feel free to share. it's all part & parcel of motherhood.
so how's ur dd after the surgery? is it a 1-time corrective thingy? need to follow-up?

Costa,
Oh dear, you fainted twice? Good thing there were people around to help you at that time...you are very wei da...

Today went to visit my baby and saw the oxygen level drop to 80-88% range and the beeper kept going off...was so worried when it didn't improve even when the nurses tried to pat or stroke her to stimulate her to breathe...they changed the tube and said there was some fluid/phlegm. It happened during the 2 times I visited her today...so worried... Today was an emotional roller coaster ride...suddenly overwhelmed with feelings and couldn't stop crying when on my way home. Felt really desolate.

puppyduppy/irenelovej,
Yeah, definitely will touch water during confinement, esp when expressing milk...have to wash hands and towels to be clean mah...I just try my best to minimise other times.

Hi stressed,
sorry to hear abt your child's kidneys...have you got the test results back? Can the doctors help?

chocolatte,
all mummies are wei da....
the oxygen levels gg down is common and oso, you will hear alot of alarms gg off in the nicu....

tink fluid/phlegm is okay..they can suction it out...

if you wanna know anythg, can ask us, we will help you...i hv been thru the same route as you...

hv you spoken to the neo nats?at the beginning, you may want to speak more to them and if there is any lingo you dun understand, you can post it here to ask us..if we noe, we tell you...

things wld be fine....

chocolatte,
i was like you initially..very worried about the oxygen level going down..but like costa said, dont worry its common, my gal was also like that in the beginning. premmies sometimes forget to breathe, but once they get older it will be much better.

chocolatte,
which hospital is ur bb in now? i found nurses are very important. some are good, some are so so only. if u wan to hav some tips on the nurses, can tell us which hospital ur bb in n we can share w u abt the nurses via PM (not good to talk abt ppl in public forum
). tat's wat me n puppyduppy do to share our experience w the nurses

puppyduppy,
initially the alarms very scary, later i see the nurses ignore it and then go and off it..then i not so scared....

irenelovej,
u are right, some of the nurses can be dem good and some are mean to the extent of putting words into my mouth when i din say that..

must loon....but must say so far, i like almost all the nurses that took care of my boi boi...

some of them (not only nurses but even the cleaning aunties) hv touched me so much that i teared...

costa,
yah...at first i was all panicky and scream for the nurses when the alarms went off..after much assurance and explaining from the nurses..i not so scared anymore...they told me..must look at the baby's colour instead of listening to the alarms

yah most of the nurses are very nice and helpful.of course there are some that are not so helpful lah..

hey all,

i know this is out of the topic...but did you all take a flu jab while you were breastfeeding?doc say its ok to take..but i just wanna hear if anyone took it?

puppyduppy,
i din take the flu jab but on hindsight, i may take now and ask my mum and maid to take, so they catch less flus and in that case dun pass to my boi boi...

if doc says okay for breastmilk, guess gotta take his words, if not you discard the milk that you express a few hrs after you take the jab...

costa,

yeah i thought better take the jab cos now its the flu season and everyone is getting the flu....dont wanna catch it and pass to my gal..

yah..maybe i will discard the milk that i express after the jab...

puppyduppy,
you are right..
tink the next feed that you express after the jab, you discard...after that, shld be okay...

thats wat the lactation consultant told me before...but i had GA and not flu jab..so dun noe if the same rule applies...

costa,
i also had GA,but the lactation consultant didnt tell me to throw away the milk leh...maybe cos i only expressed on the 3rd day..and only like 1 drop came out..hah

puppyduppy,
i had GA afew months after birth..it was emergency one ordered by the gynae to clear up the leftover placenta...that time i was alrdy asked to express up to 8 times a day..so no choice lah....scared mah..so throw away

jolene,
congrats on the discharge..whos gonna help you?

thanks puppy & costa.

I will be taking care of him.Hv arranged to work from home for a few months.When he is more stable,I will get my aunt to take care of him as she is afraid she can't handle now.

Btw,I hv asked the Peter Pan photography to take pic of my boi.Hv you all done that?

jolene,
i hvnt got Peter Pan to take for him although i got it for my first boi...they will take at the hospital is it?