Premature babies support group

gingal
reading your post. i think i can understand what you are going thru. when my boy (arrive at 26weeks) i was really totally lost. never in my life i thought i would be travelling from West to East everyday because i have to let my mum take care of my boy (as he is preemie i cannot trust nanny nor maid - thou that was the initial plan). suddenly my whole world become a mess.

me and my hubby live in west and work in west..imagine that.

but then i also wish to share. as siang grow up, since early last year, i been bringing him home eveyday (beofre that i everyday also go and stay at my mama house and my hubby have to like 'stay alone')

but all that is over. as now we go home everyday. thou yes we still travel on weekdays from west - east - west. But we are happier because we are united 'back at our own home' every night.

weekend now is we are always near our home (west)

i do not know how encourage you... BUT i want to tell you, sure there is a way out to every problem that come along. afterall, Jerlynn is a brave fighter and i am sure you can overcome all the issue. You can do it.

hopefully after talking it out here. you would feel better (at least in your heart).

Jane,

You have your Mum as the caregiver, it's different..If it's my Mum then I can do what I like in her house, better still I can keep baby at my own place whilst she shutters here and there with my dad or even she can stay at my place... I can even ask her to do this and that and not to do this and that... Alot of mummies here have Mums who can take care of their babies. In my case, I cannot afford to ask my Mum to go on leave for me or even to stop work, I cannot afford paying her in par of what she earns and she will not want to jeopardise her work too...

Jerlynn is brave...but being her Mummy I gotta be Brave and positive again... I really don't know how to protect her unless I really make things ugly...

gingal
i see, yeah i was lucky to manage to get my mum to help.

i agree with joanna, everything will turn out well in the end.

i think most if not all mummies (for the good of their kids) despite they faces what issue will think & find solution/way to solve problem that arise. the wei da of being a mother

along the way, tears may drop (i actually cried a lot in the inital stage as I faces fear of not sure what will happen in the future) but then, the day will come when everything turn out fine. have faith and yes stay strong/brave.

day by day as jerlynn grow up, all will be well

gingal
yeah MIL and mum is different. I hope u can figure out a way to resolve it.With ur hubby's suport and understanding, that really helps. my hubby dont seem to understand as well when it comes to his mum. now my mum can take care but not for long as she is old already.i now SAHM for that reason. if not my mum, hubby prefer his mum take care rather than maid.re smoke:FIL smokes, even hubby tell him not smoke in front of my girl - he still do. my hubby got asthma and he cant take the smoke but my FIL still smokes in front of him. irritating

kkf
sounds tough. all the best! I also concerned how to manage 2 kids. hopefully learn to manage.

my checkup at wk28 is gd. baby now 1173g. my bld pressure is normal yippee! hope can cheong till fullterm..

asked my dr wat is the min for baby discharge at thomson. he said they more concerned abt weight rather than gestation wk.impt is that baby 2kg. so even if wk 32, baby is 2kg -can discharge liao. I think they assume show once baby reach 2kg, the gestation wk shld be ok too. assuming no issues of coz.

Jane
wah that is tough. u strong mummy! I can understand to some extent abt being apart from hubby. when I preggy last time, some unhappiness in family, he need cool off & not see my family. so my hubby used to stay at his parents and me at my parents. I stay his place sometimes but cant sleep there. so stress. I hope the same dun repeat again, so I really hope can get own hse..I really wish for own family unity. *fingers crossed* all ok

Day-C
Great! i am sure bb can go for full term
jia you! so i gather u intend to opt for TMC for delivery?

no la. honestly, some mummies here been thru even more. every household has its own problem. its like, we all have to find a way out and at the end of the path, we all wish that all will just turn out well.

don't worry nada and her sibiling will bless you and your hubby to go thru all and everything will just be fine

Day-C,
Guess it is humanistic that each one will prefer their own parents to take care of one's kids
for mine, the option of letting in-laws take care of D&D are a big no-no, reason being my ilaws are taking care of my 2 sil's kids (total 4) so hb and me would rather having me to take care of D&D myself or my parents
(thank god for that)
btw, you are in JB ? everything Ok ?

Gingal

I'm pretty lucky. My mum will be looking after my baby. Before I try for baby, I did ask my mum if she's willing to look after otherwise I will not want to have a baby. My MIL and my method will clash. My MIL uses the soft approach.

Many of my friends also face the same problem. One of them suppose to let the MIL look after her baby. Her MIL back out after her baby is born cos her SIL insist that her MIL look after her baby instead! My fren was left in a big trouble. Last min have to find babysitter cos the nearby childcare was full. Luckily her own mum lend her the maid. Now my fren and her PIL are not on talking terms. It's really sad.

Being a working mum is not easy. Let the maid look after also worry. Put at childcare but expensive.

day-c
My doctor don't weight my baby at every check-up lei. If want ultrasound have to pay extra. So pretty worried about my baby's weight. Hope he's on the right track. The previous time he's 450g at 21 weeks.

<font color="119911">gingal</font>,
thks for the link leading to this premature bb support grp. it's kind of sad ro see our bb with so much wires/tub attach. yup, i remember u mentioning that the medicine try to ta han u via delay u fr labour for 2 wk. if not, u will be given birth at wk 27 right?

I also encountered one non-chinese SCN nurse. she can take her time and speak very slowly anfd sofely when we asked her qns. but some nurse are super gd.

for my boy, he is on breathing tube for 10hrs and then ttf to SCD the next day. doc said that he is progressing well. hmm....yr gar required 2 photlight machine??? my boy was on photolight on and off- one moment jaundice normal to 165 and the next day, shot up to 195 again. one of the nurse talked to my hubby saying that he is not progressing well so better ask both parents to come down to meet doc. ai-yo....when we met the doc, the doc said that for the first 2 wk, it is normal for weight loss and jaundice level. that nurse really over-whelmed.

re:weight loss.
my boy loss 200g within 2 days after photolight.

re:see bb.
yup, when visiting bb, I also wore long sleeves and long pants. I'm really kind of miss him. but hubby who delivered milk early in the morning before 7am will update the progress of him.

is Jerlynn yr first bb??

thks for sharing yr story at SCN. will tell hubby abt that ((*&amp; nurse. how can she like that.....as a nurse,they shd be more caring esp to bb.

hmm.what time do u normally go and visit yr gar? for me, I will visit my boy on sat during visiting hr.

did u give ebm to yr gar?? now, I'm trying to build up my supply.

hmm..Jerlynn got x=ray?? if not, how u know she got tiny hole?

<font color="119911">disneymickey/tree_ice</font>,
thks. but mine born at wk 31 wor....think boy will be much heavier loh esp their bones. but he is progressing well and feed of ebm via tub will be increasing 3ml everyday.

<font color="119911">bloom</font>,
Hi!!!!haa..no lah.....bloom thks thks lah....gingal also the one who link me here.

<font color="119911">costa del sol</font>,
oh...how many wk is yr boy born? 750g wor.... the social worker told me that some bb even born at 400g. wor...small wor.

<font color="119911">day-C</font>,
see that bb gar weight much smaller compare to bb boy loh. so how old is yr gar now?

<font color="119911">precious_one</font>,
thks.see that bb gar weight much smaller compare to bb boy loh. yup, he just can't wait to come out during third day of cny. think he kept hearing his jie jie say "gong xi fa cai" until buay ta han....:p

<font color="119911">caca</font>,
thks. everything are unexpected. so at first, we are really at lost.

gingal,
do what is happy for you. happy mum = happy child. a day before we brought bryan back also major war break out. it's very much the adjustment phase. everything will blow over, watever decision you take. just dun burn your bridges, be tactful. with kids, somehow it is good to have support from as many ppl as possible.

Jane
v excited to see you and siang tmr!!! can i call craydon and tree ice along?!?! mini gathering for a short while. i will be having steamboat at SIL house which is a blk away only
so cant stay long too.

kkf
i use the eucalyptus oil in those air purifier which has water inside and it looks like mushroom?!!? think the brand is greenaire. OK the thing is i dun believe it will purify air, BUT the eucalyptus oil is very good for my sinus prone nose. It almost immediately clears the airway and such a pleasant smell.

Or you can get the vicks liquid, put a few drops on hanky and keep it near dash nose when he sleeps. the fumes will also help decongest and give him a better sleep.

Eh i not pro hor, is just that i learn from my own experience and colleagues' kids'.

Aiyoh, I posted a reply but it doesn't come out...dunno what's wrong...

Hi afcai,

yah loh, my girl was on 2 photolight machines as she had very high Jaundice, but it was taken off after a day.
The nurses at NICU were very professional and explained to me what the doctor told you. I like the team at NICU,
they give me a lot of re-assurances when we have questions, they explained better than the doctors do sometimes.

Jerlynn is my first baby though not first pregnancy...

Tmr is Sat and I will be there from 12 pm onwards as the nurses are training us for Bathing, Breastfeeding and CPR.
I think I will be there whole day tomorrow, or if I'm too tired maybe I will go home late afternoon after 5.00pm.
Other than tmr, I'm usually there in the Evenings after 7pm, will stay til about 8+9pm most times. Sometimes if my
hubby gotta work late, we will be there about 8+pm. I am trying to see how I can cope by going alone in the afternoons
for her 4.30pm feeds, and I only started doing so today. I think it should be alright as they have Nursing Room for me
to express my milk and it is rather convenient for me to stay longer hours...

I am in the first room should you wish to drop by, the smaller room with about 9 babies only

Re: EBM

Yah I'm giving my baby EBM, try take more fish and liquid (Hot drink/water etc)... I had fish for almost every meal
during my confinement and now at least for one meal everyday. My milk flow is considered good from what the nurses
told me... But as I get lazier each day stretching the hours more, esp when breasts dun get painful even when engorged
now, my milk flow abit decreasing...

Re: X-Ray

I think doctor mentioned "Echoing", I dunno is it the procedure to check on the hole? Maybe some experienced mummies can help?
For X-ray, Jerlyn had it once done, as she had indigestion and vomited milk and greenish liquid, doctor ran alot of tests
including a X-Ray to make sure she is alright. Luckily everything is normal then...

Re: Happy Mummy = Happy baby

Dunno is it she can sense my unhappiness, though I try to be the same in front of her. Jerlynn is frowning, grumpy and crying
(which she doesn't cry at all and made me worry previously) these few days. It's really weird as imagine just before this,
I was worried she is not normal and keep asking nurse why I never heard her cry even when drawing 4 tubes of her blood.
But now, she cry or makes noise at the smallest disturbance...

Hi Costa,

Although i'm not active in this forum , but i'm a regular reader here.

Hi Gingal,

I think i have the same experience with you. My parents unable to help me to take care of my boy due to their age and moreover now they helping my brother to take care of their 2 sons.

My MIL offers her help and i dun have other choices . Initially, i hired a maid to help up in the housework but unfortunaly my MIL dun get along well with the maid and sacked her. Thereafter, she refused us to hire another maid. So we turned to hire a part time cleaner.

My mother in law dun have much experience in taking care of baby. Every things always relied on me. Initially, i have alot of conflicts with her, but we try to find a way to solve the things out. She staying with me during weekdays and on Friday nite, she will goes back to her house.

With my boy current situation, i have no choice but to quit my job and take care of him. I dun rely on her too much. Everything, i will try to do myself accept when bathing my son, help me to look after my son few hour in the moring while i asleep etc.

So, if Jerlynn goes back to yr MIL's house, if you dun agree with yr MIL , just try to sort things out. Everything can find a solution.

HI mummies

I am already 35weeks very contented.But quite scary now my little girl like playing me out at time contraction can be like every 10 mins but at time nothing.So attention seeking haha dunno when will she come.Anyway hope she can stay abit longer trough.

About breast feeding
Seem like all mummies here breast feed .Just wondering I still have not gt my breast pump yet thinking to try out first if I can sucess than I might consider investing in a breast pump. Do u ladies think its ok ? As I m not very confident I can make it as I am 1 of those lazy mummy haha come to think of must wake up every now and than to pump I will feel like very tired reali peifu u all.

Gingal

Your girl is doing very well she will be gg home with you soon rite.Her eye reali very big and nice.I think her eyes is like u.Btw can I ask u do u eat ginger for your confinement cos u breast feeding?

Afcai
Jia you your boy will be with you home soon no worries .Do remember to take care during this period of time also as its confinement must take care.

Chloegal
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU ... PROUD MUMMY OF THREE PREMIES!

Fairlander, xbliss, dash, kkf, and all mummies
Thanks for your birthday wishes for my little princes who turn 4yrs old yesterday.

DM, I have a birthday celebration for A's class too ytd morning, I bought a cake and goodies bag and guess what ..... I brought only 21 goodies bag and it turned out that they have recruited 5 more students along the way and I have to rush out to quickly get 5 more goodies bags of different goodies and in bags.... what a rushing morning ytd... then I learnt that the 4 yrs old got big appetite, a number came for second helping for my miserable 1 kg cake ....my SIL told me the children eat very little...so they finished the whole cake pretty quickly....next year must buy 2 kgs cakes liao.....

gingal
船到桥头自然直!Who to look after baby etc. I'll pray that you reach a satisfactory close for all family members concern! Enjoy your newborn!

xbliss
I have yet to see the BIG birthday bash pictures lei...don't know what is the photographer doing (hb's colleague)... I felt my hb and his colleague did a wonderful job in dressing up the fuction room ....when I entered the room...I felt romance .....hehe
Half way through, the children, remove the tape and take away the balloon, I do not think the photographer got a chance to take a picture of the before function look ... cos he was held up at the causeway ....

think they are about the same. I choose cordlife for dash and violet, dunno why leh...think got offer...haha. both are the same i think.

i think stemcord is a business that started in SG. Cordlife started in Malaysia. I think there is some difference in the storage method too, but generally both serve the same purpose lah. Cordlife seems to be stronger in advertising. I had signed up twice for their service but both times never got to store.. sigh sigh.. hahaha. they gave full refund lor.
i will say very very good service, before and after by cordlife.

OH YAR, i just met Jane and Siang!!!!! And yes! Bryan and Siang do have some things in common!!!! Hee maybe Jane can load the pic up

(Without my face hor!!!! i dress like huang lian po like that!!)

tks kkf and xbliss for the advice will discuss wif hubby abt it.visited gynae 2day.edd is on 18th april.now 30 weeks bb weight is 1.4kg.hope can tong till mid april then give birth coz wanna attend bro in law wedding on 21st march.cross my fingers.

jane
I hope so birth at Thomson if all is ok as I think normal birth wld costs ard the same no matter which hosp. I spoke to my dr abt it, saying that I may switch to KK if issues arise. He says its not a problem. my next checkup is wk 32. He didnt raise any concerns abt it as as of now. thx for ur gd wishes!

didi
true. I think some mums tend to be more 'possesive' or insistent abt no way inlaws not take care my baby like me heheh. I dun have any gd reason for inlaws not taking care of my girl as she is only grandchild rite now other than they r working. they may retire tho..I am totally not comfy w them taking care of my girl coz I find they r not v observant towards her needs and towards my opinions/preferences. sometimes insist to meet even tho its not a gd time for her. I just back from JB at ard 7pm and they insist to meet her that nite tho obviously we were tired after travel, stuck in jam. they dun see anything wrong with their request at all!even when hubby told them preggy me not feeling well. hubby seems not able to intervene at such times. me not at JB now. the moving shld occur ard April. We are still applying for our own flat and hope the application is successful. As hubby retrenched, actually cannot get flat but erhh we bluffing that he still working with my dad biz fren help to vouch for him :p thx for ur concern!

joanna
oh dear! hope ur fren find some resolution. sounds that her MIL also on the spot between SIL and her tho. I going for private dr, they tend to scan every session. yes, pay extra for the scan but I have to coz of my history anyways.thk some dr also measure the tummy. think most dr tend to assume growth is ok as long as bld pressure ok, no protein in urine, ur weight increasing at an ok pace.

afcai
my girl is now nearly 2yrs old. Her development is on par her age and progressing well. Thank God.Dun worry overly abt ur babe, have faith it will b ok.

Day-C,
I know sometimes it is hard for hb to reject their parent's requests, for your case nada is the only grandchild lagi tough
I see, really hope that you will get your flat real soon, you gtg in Sengkang ?

yup, true, nurses at NICU are far more better than SCN. they are more caring, patient and approachable. they also took sometimes to explain to us.

oic. y'day, I reached SCN ard 1240pm and stayed there till 1330hr. so happy that I can hug my boy (carry him).

re:rm
my boy has moved 'hse' thrice ard SCN (haa did not pay rental...). fr the big big rm to smaller rm. now, his room is shared with other 7 babies near to the counter there. inside only got 2 bb gar and the rest are bb boy.

re:EBM
hmm..tot they requested frozen milk to be deliver? that's why always got to rush back within 3hr time frame to pump. milk flow still not gd.me also taking fish soup, red dates/longan and black chicken soup (alternate day). yup, it is a must for me to have fish soup every meal. the nurses said that my ebm still can last my boy cos his intake is now ard 40ml. what's abt yr gar?

re:x-ray.
oic. must be scary for u when doc ran lot of tests.

re:crying.
only cry I heard my boy is after delivered, cry twice then no more. every visit, he will soundly aslp. he also dun like ppl to disturb him when he sleeping..he will frown and get like irriated.

re:nurse at scn.
the non-chinese nurse u mentioned is she a indian ? y'day, I encountered an indian nurse (pump and short, now got a bit sore throat) who can speak chinese. when during the feeding of bb, she told the bb to hurry up as other bb need feed. b4 that the bb cry, when she changed the diaper, the bb cry even louder so she popped the pacificer and asked the bb to hold it. she told the bb to keep quiet and told him that do he want to wake up the whole neighbourhood? then the bb just splash foundation to her. luckily, the nurse went away to take wipe. so the urine all splashed onto the floor and bed.

dunno is that this nurse? how she look like?

thks thks. will rest as much as possible when my cl is here next week (17/2). that's why hubby only allowed me to go out once a wk to visit my boy...kind of miss him.

<font color="119911">day-c</font>,
oic. that's mean 07 bb. but any other follow up after she discharged fr SCN last time?

talking about breastmilk, officially stops breastmilk now...
violet is only 3 weeks old. i felt very guilty leh, but each time manage to pump just 30ml, very pathetic, she is drinking 80ml...supply never meets demand leh. Felt a bit demoralised. ate fenugreek, drank papaya soup, drank lots of fluid, still same...

but do feel guilty for being a lousy mum.

btw, dash has been coughing for 2 months, feel a bit sianz...again thinking, is it never give him enough breastmilk last time?

daec and fairylander, glad your pregancies are doing well!
all the best!

joanne, how r u?

caca, wow great soon your baby will be full term!!

afcai and gingal and bbgal, hope your babies continue to strive well, and get out of kkh and go home soon!!!

oh btw, regarding gathering, anyone has suggestion where is a good place???

i have initially tot of going globetrotters, a very children friendly restaurant, but then just found out it is no longer operating.

where else is children friendly???

else i rent a chalet at east coast or downtown east? wat you all think?

KKF

Just came back from NUH. I was admitted today due to contractions. I had contractions at 845am about 15 mins apart. Took my medicine. Contractions stop after 1 hour. Then started again after half an hour. This time was very irregular. But my hubby decided to send me in anyway. On the way there, the contractions stop but tummy still very sore and painful. Baby heartrate was fine. Luckily Cervix was still closed.

CordBlood
I'm using Stemcord. Stemcord having promotion with NUH. Registration fees is $600 instead of $1500. Both are similar so decided to go for the cheaper one.

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
thks for the encouragement.

see that yr gar is at bed 36. my boy is at bed 38 loh. that's mean within the same area wor. but now, he had moved to small rm with 7 bb only.

me also pump 30ml for the first pump. then continue stimulate the reflux for 1 hr then can get 50ml. one mummies told me stress and lack of sleep also another factor that affect the bm.

my gar also had been coughing for 1.5mth. she got lot of phelgm man....

<font color="119911">Joenna</font>,
so better not to move so much now....did NUH give u long mc??

that cny third day, my water bag leak. then only got the contractions after 3 hrs later also 15mins apart. doc gave medicine and jab but....still cannot ta han....within half an hr, contraction came in every 5 mins. then all medicial team staff rush like 'mad' via grand events wor involving 20 staffs wor....so fast and smooth, bb just slipped out without push after a small cut below and also cervix just opened within half an hr after the contractions.

re;cordblood.
sad sad...that I missed donating cos when I highlighted that I wanted to donate but nurse asked me if I had registered. so faster go and registered loh....

afcai

Me not going back to work anymore till baby is born. Doctor advice bedrest now. Now only 26 weeks and 5 days. Still got long way to tahan.

caca,

yes i ate dishes cooked with ginger but they are cooked moderate amounts, i never eat the ginger itself.
less wine, less ginger for our BM sake. all wine and alcohol must be cooked, don't take uncooked ones.
Don't take liver ok? Liver was said to decrease your milk supply and also not good for your wound, moreover,
nowadays the liver not good, alot toxins due to too many chemical feeds for the piggies.
Kidney on the other hand, increases milk supply.

afcai,

I am in the room you are saying...are you the mother who wore track pants in white and tied up your shoulder length hair?
I never see your hubby in the room, but i think I went came back from lunch about 1.30pm and saw u left with your hubby down
the escalator and your hubby is very tall. I hope I never identify wrongly...
There are more bb girls la, just that they don't have enough pink cloth to wrap thus even my girl was wrapped in blue, Haha
Look out for Cot 06, that's my girl. Hope we can strike a conversation when we meet again. I was the mummy who was with the
nurse to bathe my girl and was with my MIL and hubby. I wore full-black ytd.

Re: EBM

May I ask how much you can pump for total both sides now? I think after a week of given birth, I can pump only about 50mls total.
Don't worry if it's not alot in the initial stage, gradually as you work hard and continue what you are doing, it will increase.
My girl's intake is only 37mls, and she is ever having not enough, today I might request them to increase her feeds liao.
Ytd she was really satisfied when she latched on to me 30 mins and sucked for about 10 mins, the rest of the 20 mins she fell asleep.
Then after latching, I still bottle feed her and she finished 30mls and nurse asked me to stop feeding as they say she having too much.
Only then she fell asleep very satisfied...

Yu don't have to rush back to pump. You can bring your pump and they have a private nursing room right at the end for you to use.
Or u can use the pumps they have there...this way u can stay on more hours, after pumping yu can ask the nurse to freeze the milk for u.
Don't be afriad to ask the nurse to accompany you in and teach you how to use their pumps and steriliser etc...wash basin is also inside
the room, thus very convenient...

Re: Tests

No Lah, not scary la, our babies won't rembr also what has happened. I witnessed my girl being drawn with so much blood (4 tubes) and
she looked so brave (no crying at all), even braver than my hubby who I think I saw he felt like heartpain...Keke

Re: Crying

For the first month I also never hear my girl cry, until recently few days, maybe she influenced by my unhappy mood, or
she has learnt it from other babies who cried alot, now she "knows" how to cry liao...Haizzz, she will cry when we change her
diapers...

Re: Indian Nurse

Yes, that is her!!! She was in ytd... But ytd she was really nice to me, and she wasn't as bad as she was previously.
If you think ytd she was bad, she was worst the last time I saw her. Ytd she helped me alot on latching on and teaching
me babies' habits...I changed a bit of my view on her then. She looked like good mood ytd too. Maybe she is just "mouth bad"
bah, she seemed ok to me ytd... I stayed from 12.30pm to 5plus ytd...

kkf,

What pump are you using? the pump sometimes also matters. I am using Medela PIS and it is very good. Heard Medela and Ameda is good.
Use Electric Dual Pumps...and rent from hospital to try first. Check out at KKH.

Joanna,

Rest Well!

Ciaozzz Girls, I gonna rush down to feed my baby liao... no time to pump before go out also, now gotta pack my pump and bring there.
Nurse said that Jerlynn shld be coming home once she reached 35 weeks 5 days later, now rushing like mad to buy watever
I left out..Hope Jerlynn passed her tests and I can bring her back to my own house soon. Hope everything goes well...
Jerlynn is 1.9++kg ytd, reaching 2kg soon...

Joanna,
good decision. nothing else is more important than your precious little one. You have my support.
Remember to rest. MC means rest, not do what you like ok? it made a world of difference when i CRIB-ed.

KKF
yay!! finally i hear the word gathering. globetrotters closed? I am not very good with child frenly places cos bryan not yet walking yet. The only place i know is IKEA and KKH - the revamped foodcourt! hhaha. rent chalet is mafan leh but more fun.

Dun feel guilty about not breastfeeding violet. It's not easy when u have 2 kids. If solely 1 child, definitely more time for him/her and not so tiring.

And oh Yes, presenting Siang Siang and Bryan!
2139491.jpg

gingal, i used medela electric pump, yah, I also tot problem lies with pump, so i bought ameda dual pump, in the end, still same...so i sold away 8 days old ameda and gave up breastmilk.
wow, counting down to 5 more days to ur baby going home...very fast leh. think she stays for 1 months plus only? very good. a real fighter! Some 29 weekers have to stay like nearly 2 months.

afcai, very sianz when kids cough right? my boy is seeing the doctor for 4th time...whenever he coughs he will be merlion, vomit out food...yucks.

xbliss, siang and bryan wow, looks alike leh. haha. so cute. why jane went ur place ah?
chalet is more fun i agree, and we dun have to rush to go off. but i am more familiar with downtown east chalet (booking), afraid too far for some of u staying west?

east coast chalet not sure where to book leh.

and i m not member of any club else can book...

Gingal, kkf
Ya now sems like baby dun wan come out le haha now already 35weeks 4days this come friday is 36weeks le.Getting more and more stress dunno y so scare false alarm cos everyday also got contraction.Now just hope can pass 36 or 37week even better.As for BM wise I think I will just try if can than will feed if cant than will give up reali peifu u all can BF everytime I think of every 3hrs must wake to feed very tired le haha.

JOanne
Jiayou that time I also 30week start CRIB everyday seem like 1yr to me lor but no matter what nw everything is over for me actutally very fast de.Now me onli waiting for delivery le at least when u hit 34weeks than u will have peace of mind at least u now baby lung confirm matuure lor.But I think gynae will give u the jab for mature baby lungs.Remember rest well

<font color="119911">Joanna</font>,
oh....wk 26 still early wor.... better get more rest and dun move so much. yr health and bb health are more impt. take care!

yup,yup, I always wore track pants (so if u happen to see me again, just said hi cos think u recognise me easier then I recognise u. will sure wear the same track pants) when I visited my boy. so yr ah gar and my ah boy in the same rm?? hmm..u mean yr ah gar is sleeping in the cot? so far, the big rm I see got 2 bb cot. I was wondering why this bb so specially spl in the cot?? when I go in, I saw a couple (dun tell me that u and yr hubby) and a grandma (yr mil hor)? anyway, the grandma did not left when we left. that sat, I came in first to deliver ebm while hubby was at the register counter to register his BC.

is it, yr ah gar wrapped in blue? when my ah boy ttf to SCN, they wrapped him in pink. hubby kept on asking the nurse, are u sure that is our boy cos usually wrapped in pink is gar mah...haa...then the nurse told us that pink brighter mah....ai-yo, think they wrapped wrongly....

re:ebm.
so far, today is my 13 days of CL. I can pump out from 40-60ml of bm for both sides. it took me 1hr to do that, kept on stimulating the nipple to stimulate the let down reflex. hai...u gd wor....after 1 wk can pump up to 50ml....for me, max amt hit is 30ml - 40ml. yup, hope, bm will increase and race against what my boy intake. my ah boy also consume 37ml. y'day, nurse did not increase his milk increase.

oic...cos I always need to rush back (set off hse at 1130pm+ after pump and got to rush bck before 1330pm+). thks...think will see if my hubby wanted to stay longer or not....

so did u visit yr ah gar daily??

re:test.
ai-yo....see them draw blood heart pain cos their little feet blue black or red red liao.

re:Indian Nurse.
oh...she kind of having sore throat. when she wanted to update us, she only wrote on the piece of tissue paper. anyway, that day, she is quite nice and also asked us if we wanted to carry our boy. so happy wor...and even teach us how to transfer the bb to another person (me not gd at it).

my hubby said that she is the one who update him the bb status and very chatty early in the morning.

re:pump.
wow, medela PIS, super gd and fast but ex wor.... me using medela dual electric pump. the one which hospital provide is a single pump leh...me never use that during my stay, use my own pump.

re:prepare bb hm.
gd that yr bb coming hm after 1mth + stay right? me have not washed bb clothes yet. will wait for CL coming next wk to let her wash. for diaper, I also have not bought yet, will ask hubby to buy end of the mth. anyway, we only use diaper at night.

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
my gar drank 4 bottles of chinese medicine and 2 bottles of western medicine, still coughing. last week, hubby took her to our plc to see GP. now, she not coughing so jialat except got so much phelgm.
ppls recommended that go and buy Eu Ren Sang Bo Yin Wan and it will cure cough within 3 days. will ask hubby to try that....

ai-yo....yr boy merlion and vomit etc when cough, so jialat?

yup, I did set alarm clock to wake myself up in the night to pump. so tired. pump for 1hr and wash up took 10-15mins.so by then, when go bck to slp, only slp for 1.5hr then woke up again. the cycle continue....sian...but no choice....that's life of moo in the moo yr...:p.

sometimes for the contraction is a false alarm. what did yr gynae say when u tell him u got contractions?

It's really like a long wait to 34 weeks. Tomorrow I will be 27 weeks. Still got 7 weeks to go. Everyday me and my hubby doing countdown. The new medicine making really sleepy. Now just sleep most of the time. Eat then sleep. Like pig like that lei.

Breast-feedings sounds like a torture. I hope I can tahan waking up every 3 hrs at night.

costa, hope its not Lt for the therapy! i hope no therapy at all! abit worried cos ayah..very hard to explain... dunwan to be too long winded... someties i think i worry too much

jane, u told siang u set a target for him? :p lesser tv is impossible at home..cos hb is tv addict... i always joke and say next time choose a old folks home w/o tv for him..then he will say he will die.. ahahahha ..the teacher said she is ok... but more in terms of her sitting down and not running around bah (which used to be another issue! ahah)...wahh...everyday u bring sian back from east to west..xin ku ni leh!

kkf.... yep u got my concerns...

dm, kate is having block nose too... its the virus season again..

gingal, hopefully with ur FIL falling sick again this round, ur hb can have doubts abt it..really not very good to have premmies exposed to so much germs.. do they live near u? if no, can use that as an excuse esp if u dont have car.. ehehe :p i tink the indian nurse used to be a premmie herself...

juniorjunior, i think it depends on which hospital u r at.. kkh do have social workers to help with teh bills...

afcai..ahaha. i thot u can find ur way around teh forum effortlessly :p

xbliss, got vicks liquid version? where did u get it? hahaha...so coincidental that both of them are wearing the same color clothes...

precious_one..ahaha..u never ask A to do headcount a few days beforehand :p heheh.why bd room is 'romantic' is ur hb rehearsing for v day? :p

kkf, dont feel bad for not having bm... with 2kids is stressful lah..now u can spend more time with dash... its virus season + cc that cause dash to fall sick more often... rent chalet abit mah fun right? plus all the kids will run everyday outside then we canot get to talk :p

joanna, thank goodness its a false alarm!

Afcai
My gynae say I must monitor lor if like get more intense than go hospital even false alarm also no choice de cos reali hard to say lor. So I keep telling baby dun give false alarm if not the daddy will be very tird and busy sending us haha.

jane, xbliss
your children can pass of as gor gor and di di ...both so red ..

bloom
Yeah hor, blur me, should have asked A to count hor...but 25...don know if she can manage though she can recite them, not sure about counting...nvr test....what romantic bd room? please lar...I wish boy but my bedroom is boring cos I am renting an apartment so no point doing up....the romantic room is the function room that we book for A's birthday bash ... the way he placed the deco, i.e. backdrop, banner, danglers etc. plus helium gas balloons ... so romantic!! HB is not romantic at all...he's china ah pek kind....hahaha

kkf
same here, Dash's gf if cough a little, especially after feed...also merlion, just this morning, she merlion .... actually, A's is diagnosed with very sensitve nose/airway pipe so her phlegm is caused by the back flow of the sinus, so she coughs mostly when she sleeps or when she just wakes up...in the day when she is active, she is okay. She is given Kietofen (by KKH Lungs Specialist) and she has to take this daily. We will watch out for the color of the phlegm or sinus to see if there's infection. If fever comes along, then confirmed infection. Sigh!

precious,
glad Angel had a good day on her bday. we r oso celebrating ws' bday in sch on the actual day. will let her skip sch, bringing her to zoo in the morning, then home 2 nap, then go sch &amp; cut cake ard 3+. oops. i'm oso ordering a 1kg cake. cos my colleague told me the teachers will cut small piece only leh.. c how it goes la..then after teh celebration, intend to bring her 2 botanics gardens then dinner at our favourite jap restaurant

really hope she can recover soon! hav been sleeping in no air-con for the past 1mth +.. she doesn't merlion, cos now she's drinking frm waterbottle with straw. but when she zzz, the nose is making lots of noise..

hope all kiddies recover soon..

dm
my SIL told me that too, small appetite, cut small pc etc, then the 4 yrs old kids finished the cake so fast and ask for 2nd helping....I nearly want to bury my head liao...pai say!

WS at 3 yrs old, i think 1 kg still safe. hahaha

kkf,

it is ok to pump less.. better than nothing right,,, i m 1 of those whose supply is super low.. at least u still can get 30ml each session. i get 10-20ml only ah though it have been 6mths since she was born... lagi worst right...i gotta combine 5-6 bottles to get the amount she need.. feel demoralised at time too and envy those who got engorged problem... but till now i still pumping.. cos yilin seem to love my milk
some people might be thinking, pump so little, why still wanna waste so much time pumping such pathetc amount of milk? but when i saw yilin drinking my milk, i feel very happy. so all the time and efford are worth it.

now i still on leave, can pump.. will be back to work on march...hmm.. no room for me to pump.. office very small only... dunno how leh..

my elder girl also sick... got fong mok from head to toe... so scary~~ think won´t be going to school for a week,,, really alot alot.. face, back, chest, tummy, armpit... aiyo.. all over la... even inside the ear... her fingers.... luckily the eyes din swollen...

doctor said can bath, but old folk said cannot bath la cannot on the fan la.. alamak... shld listen to who...i m staying with my mil somemore. when i told her we bath her and said doctor said can bath, she like not so happy.. i remembered i got it when young too, think i got bath leh,,,

afcai,

Yes that is us u saw. My MIL stayed in the room with BB when me and hubby left for lunch and came back after that. That is when we saw u and hubby leaving down by the escalator.

No lar, my girl not in the big Cot (BTW managed to speak with the 2 mothers in the big area at with babies at the big cots you mentioned, they are both very nice ladies), but we call the normal small bed as cot also, i.e. hospital cot. And yes, they will wrap bb in any color available, so not really pink = girl, blue = boy. When are you going again to visit your bb boy? I will go up to you when I see you next time.

I go everyday and mostly evenings, now trying to go more hours as alot to learn from the nurses as Jerlynn will be back home soon. so I'm planning to go in from 4.30pm onwards. Tues I will be in from 1.30pm onwards as I will be doing the demo of bathing my girl.

The nurse is nice again on Sunday. she is on the same shift again...and taught us how to help our girl if she sticks her tongue up and block her own passage and not breathing. So I think she is alright la, just that I was too fussy bah..

Hope you can bring your pump along to hospital and stay longer, and it is good for the baby to be in your arms, hearing and feeling your heartbeats again, he will feel safe and comforted, sleep better and grow faster. I realise my girl sleeps very well in my arms.

My bb if no hiccups will be Home on Valentine's Day. The nurses say she really knows how to choose her dates. Born on New Year's Day and back on V.Day. Actually not forgetting, i was hospitalised in TMC the week before Christmas and discharged on Christmas Day. The best gift for Xmas was able to discharge from hospital then.

So if really everything goes well, it means she stayed hospital for 1.5 months. slightly more than 6 weeks.

I only pump 20 mins and by the time clear and wash and put the funnels to sterilise takes up to 30 mins, 1 hour to do everything is alot of time leh, U will tire yourself like this.

My girl is now feeding on 40 mls every 3 hourly now. Like very little still, she looks like not having enough.

Joanna,

Don't worry, it's natural de, when it's your time to become mummy, you won't feel that it's difficult to get up and BF.
Coming to my stage now, I sleep through the night for 6-8 hours then wake up and pump, no need 3 hourly at night. I can still get double my usual amount. When I'm awake, I cont'd with 3-4 hourly, and my milk still increasing, thus I think once we establish the flow, it will be alright to stretch the timings abit. Now not so tired for me liao.

Bloom,

Yes you are right, that nurse told me she used to be a Premmie herself too!!! Dunno why I find she is rather nice now leh...I regret saying those things about her liao. Make me feel so bad now.

Both families have car, my FIL and my hubby and we stay very very near, within the same neighbourhood on the same MRT track, one station away. Mine is nearer to Tanah Merah and they are at Bedok.
Anyway this case has yet to be settled, my hb like non-chalant now, he is acting blur I think and it is terrible for me. But nevertheless, I already know what I want.

Re; Baby Monitor

I bought Angelcare Baby Monitor from US, hope it is good, can only try it when BB is back. Anyone uses this also?

So many kids fell sick, must be the weather, so hot and yet alot wind...at night it is sooo cold... Take care kids and Get well soon!!!

Yan,

You are a Model Mother we must learn from. *Applause* If I were u, i would have given up!!! But by still pumping for 6 months and not give up, it's really very "WeiDa"!!!

KKF,

Hope you don't give up.
Jiayou!

yan,

the feng mo is it hives? my ger &amp; hubby got it when we went bali last yr. it was super itcy. luckily, she doesn't scratch, cos we told her not 2. cos doc say if skin scratched open, will hav infection. but she can only cry cos it's q unbearable.

there's no med except doc will give some lotion 2 soothe the itch. i think they most impt thing is 2 keep it dry &amp; clean. i would definitely bathe her. if hot &amp; sticky will b every more itchy?

hope ur ger recovers soon..