Premature babies support group

mommies, letter emailed to ST.... i found some more figures given in other forum but dunwana use it w/o those parents' permission...

kkf. taht feb mommy think w/o using brain lah.. these are the fortunate pp who have a smooth life... congrats taht ur 12 week test is OK!
dont be so stress.. try not to think of negative things..ur bb will know... ayah..now 12 weeks too late liao..cos now then i rem NTUC income got a insurance for pregnancy..can cover some stuff.... but can only buy during first trimester... thats why wanted different stats... cos daec's and mine are quite low... need some higher figures...anyway emailed liao...

daec, abit hard for govt to dictate flexi hours, IMO.... its up to the companies themeslves for that...

shelllow, as mentioned in my draft, once the amt reaches $15k, social worker will step in and try to downgrade ur bb's ward..... during my time, i had wanted to take 8 weeks and then go back to work..but in the end, my gal only come back 22 days later..so i decided to take all 12 weeks else i will only have 4 weeks with my gal before i have to go back to work....

kkf
I hope your dream of getting a baby girl comes true. YTD, I went to your elder son's blog and read all your posts again....I understand your anxiety ..... don't spend time worrying, see how Dash has grown up so well....your happy moments. Your are a GREAT LOVING mother, you will be blessed. Don't worry.

Bloom
Actually I had a huge hospital bill cos my girl was in NICU for 6 mths and was discharged with oxygen support equipment....but too lazy to dig out all the bills. Both hb and my medisave (reach maximum) were completely wiped out...so today my medisave is still zero but I have started working again so it will take me years to build the nest again.

i m new in this thread. never come across my mind that i will be a mother of a premature baby. my first gal was born at full term.

my baby gal was born on 12aug08, 26 week-er, 815grams.

i have problem establish milk supply. now on medication. hope it will work for me. if still cannot, mightt have to ask other moms to donate.
any moms here baby in KKH NICU now?

Hi precious one, long time never update your blog liao ah? i am really filled with anxiety, truely. sigh. just hope this pregnancy will be different. I really dun want this baby to suffer like his/her brothers.

Bloom, glad that you have submitted the letter. hope it will bring some light to us premature babies parents.

Hi yan, what happened to your 2nd pregnancy? Dun worry 26 weeks shd be ok. I have always problem with milk supply last time as well, my boy was on formula sometimes. anyway, try to drink more soup..

hi kkf,

i bleed and have mild contraction. hospitalised for a week , water bag burst and kana infection, so baby got to be delivered immediately by c-sec.

all people around me said tat i overworked.

now delivered a week already stll extremely low milk supply. anyone take longer than tat to establish MS?

kkf,
congrat on ur 12th wk mark....do rest well n dun think too much...
Yan,
look at ur gal photo or think of gal when u r expressing, u will have more supply.... it works for me....

<font color="0077aa">Hello Yan</font>

Congratulations on the arrival of your number 2!
Welcome to the board. The mummies here are a bunch of experienced mums with preemies as young as 24 weekers. Feel free to ask questions if any.

My twin boys were 25 week-ers, born in Jan 2005 at KKH. I remembered it took me quite a while before I established my milk supply.
You can consult the lactation consultants (LC) for assistance.
The LC will teach you the ways to massage your breasts and how to stimulate the milk flow.
You have to pump regularly every 3 hours. Takes lots of fluid. It was recommended to drink a big glass of water or red date tea before pumping and to drink another big glass after pumping.
Some mummies are blessed with abundant of EBM, some are not.
Do not be stressed if you fall in the latter category. Give whatever you can supply is good enough.

<font color="0077aa">Hello KKF</font>
How are you doing?
I still cannot figure out who is the girl you are talking about on channel U. All of them are soooo young. I look like an aunty next to them leh,
You see wrongly is it.....? hehe
What is her name?

kkf,
haha, quilty quilty me.....feel so bad too for not updating my blog...I'll find time to do so again. Bz with work, after the 7th month, I have to move house.....so bz.

Precious One,
iirc, your workplace is very near to your current home
and you are shifting ? hate moving house, boxes and boxes of things to pack

didi
me too, i hate moving house too. The co. I am in now is a new set up, a local listed co. jv with an overseas big co., my 1st week was at the local listed co. premise then move to new office....so much work. Now I'm moving house from CCK to CCK --- very close by ...till now still can't find time to pack.....damn sian...chim bo eng! I have always wish to work near home and eventually got one...so happy!

hello mummies

didi
me not a good dotter la...keke. just doing what i can to relive my mother :p

hi mummylian
wow next week flying to japan. have lots of fun. think now u busy packing hehe

puppyduppy
my boy is still home care :p intend to send him to cc probaby next year or so. when he is around 2.5 years old.

kkf
don't be stress. rest and relax
.. you are doing great

disneymickey
WS is so sweet
...you back liao mah?

shelllow
How is paige doing? the last update u say they are bottling? bottling really take time...give a little bit more time if she is not ready. she will be.. very soon.

hello yan
I am mother to a 26 weekers boy. his birth weight was 985g. he is now 2 years old (born in 2006). you know..your ger and my boy shared same birthday
. i hope you are coping fine. don't be too stressed. re BM supply... would have to be built up slowly. you are in confinment right now? think not easy for you as you have a elder one to take care too right. chat here often, there are lots of experienced mum

bloom
erhh alamak error error I mean after subsidy - pay $7k in total. nevr mind can say it mostly stay in ICU if kena asked hehe. anywayz that is still takes 2/3 of my medisave of ten years. mine is gd case. shld beep Lindah.hers was 90k, after subsidy pay 30k thru medisave, cash. hmm think the chart would show how long the stay, but I dunno what class ward

kkf
haiz I no money coming in, I still spend. worry my hubby apnea la. negative ions suppose help clear the air.

try do more happy things to get ur mind off it. positive prayer. noe it not easy. read somewhere u can only think one thought at one time, so best consciously choose positive

bloom
somehow I still thk govt has a part to play in the working schemes tho companies has a part to play too. somehow other countries - heard the general pace is slower overall. at least if they implement in govt co - I go join there heheh

anyways its going to be slow slow process.

jane
Paige is doin well, she goin to have her hernia surgery next monday, but we are goin to postpone it as it is 7th mth now... we r kiasi.... like all the mommies say, having hernia surgery means goin home soon, i hope.... part of me is happy n part of me nervous....

hello shellow

i see. if the neonat is ok with the postponment of the operations, then its ok. me too..during 7th month, i avoid couple of things... just to be on the safer side

are you ready at home? you would be clearing your leftover balance of maternity leave right? don't worry, a few mummies here have managed to cope. so will you
have faith and get ready to welcome paige home

daec
Looked like I might be the one paying the highest hospital bill here...my girl's hospital bill w/o subsidy could buy a 3 room hdb flat ...around S$180k/-. I only knew that all medisave wiped out and I paid some cash via credit card initially cos I thought must pay $$ each time I received the bill until one mother stopped me. After discharged, A was hospitalised a handful of times .....and spent more than $20k cash on home care-equipment and medical care apparatus (18mths of nursing at home) but those were the days and I'm thankful and grateful that A is growing up well now and my almighty GOD provides the $$$.

yan,
hi hi....welcome to this board, please let us hv yr details like date of birth etc so tt we can update the bb..its stil early days for yr bm supply..must keep up wif the expression about every three hourly...

mich is right, we have alot of mummies here...do join us here for discussion of sharings of questions...

hello all,
back late late mon nite. shopping was great! bought a lot of stuff 4 ws. 19pieces of clothing, 2pairs of slippers, 10pcs panties, 8pairs socks, a hello kitty water bottle &amp; a minnie mouse feeding plate &amp; bowl.

but the stupid mommy went to pour hot water into the water bottle, n 'melted' it!! ws still asking me this morning "mommy, where's my new water bottle" urrgghh...juz sms another colleague who's still in bangkok 2 try &amp; get one for me..but not much hope

oso, recevied a piece of bad news almost every day. on fri, hubby sms say ws buried her face into the face &amp; sob. when daddy asked her y, she didn't wan to say. hubby concluded she missed me . me so heart pain when heard abt it
then she fell sick on sat, fever, cough, running nose. prob not used to not having me ard &amp; being sick, she has been behaving weirdly..eg. suddenly cry, play half way &amp; go hold hubby tight. then on sun, sis sms say my uncle passed away..

but still a good shopping trip. bought clothes 4 ws till 3-4yr old haha

precious,
i only brought her to trim her hair. ya, her hair grow v slowly..where u moving to?

bloom,
actually, not only premature bb need more attention/money, i felt the govt has oso left out kids with special needs (ie. autism,down syndrome, cleft lip, etc). i know the $ 2 b spent on these kids r oso super expensive.

anyway, thanks 4 writing in. i sure hope they'll publish ur letter. where u post to? if kenna posted, must inform. i'll go &amp; read,

ok. actually in a meeting now..on leave tmrw, will b back on fri

dm,
wow, good harvest
did you get all in the dept stores ? heard the weekend market is good just that too hot

didi,
got most of ws's clothes frm central dept store. but must go dig those leilong bins. each dress cost abt $15+.n oso bought some frm platinum mall &amp; pratunam market.here the prices r cheaper, but must buy >3pcs, then can get wholesale price. avg price of a dress is abt $8.

chatuchak mkt oso got lots of stuff. managed to get a pair of sandals &amp; 1 t-shirt 4 ws &amp; 2 t-shirts 4 myslef. each t-shirt cost only $2.50! the risk is, cannot try on. so only bought 2 &amp; my mom took 1, cos she said nice

the water bottle i was saying, it's oso frm central dept store. hello kitty &amp; cost abt $4!!! anybody gg bangkok??? my boss gg this weekend.juz now i 'hinted' if he goes,help me buy. but i think chance v slim. so i got to go buy a hello kitty water bottle 4 her.

jane,
went 2 read ur blog, did i rem to wish siang happy bday?? sorry if i've 4gotten..2 many things gg on now..in fact, i'm having a terrible headache now!!

precious
I heard even some dr with his high pay complain, hard to afford abt the bill for his premmie child coz took A class ward.

wah really siong, precious. God is The greatest somehow u could clear the payments..

hi hi disneymickey

was wondering if you are back. hope ws has recovered.

haha thanks. its ok... siang know here got many mummies who care for him.

you better take a good rest..

daec
yeah, thank goodness, I downgraded to B2 ward before I gave birth so A was charged B2 rate for one night and then they automatically downgraded her to C class. If I stayed in upper class....may be it would cost me 4 or 5 room flat for 6 mths...that's why the nurses in NICU always joke on the type of bed i.e. incubator, apartment etc. I also heard that some parents even have to sell their flats to pay for the bills....so sad. Therefore I'm grateful that I was not a spendthrift as a child and managed to have the savings to clear the hospital bill. So to me, one child is good enough cos I can't afford $$ for the 2nd one if he/she has to arrive pre-maturely. With the $ spent on A hospitalisation bill, we could pay for a brand new car....hehe...whatever, I've learnt to be grateful that A is with me and that $$ spent could be earned again. I also confirmed that I don't have the heart to go through another pregnancy again. Scared!

thanks all moms for welcome me

yes, i tried to be positive. i tried to think of her, look at her picture everytime i pump.. sigh.. still cannot. no matter what, i won´t give up easily.

does breast size mattter? cos i m flat...

oh ya... any babies here have high dnesity in the brain? the doctor said my gal´s brain dnesity is high.. might be normal might be not.. if it does not come down, her brain development will be slower..

my gal date of birth is 12aug2008, weigh 815g.

kkf,
dun worry too much.. enjoy your pregnancy
dun be stress..

bloom
am i too late for submission of stats? mine was 60 day stay, bill came up to 50K. 1 operation after discharge... think it was about 3K? these are before subsidies; i stayed c class, but the op was charged at high dependency ward charge so more ex than if C class.

yan,
u sound really brave and trying ur best. i was like tat when i joined here too. my boy was born 27 wks at 925g. i was given domperidon to lactate, nearly one week and it was only like about 10ml or so...but when it came in, it really came in. dun give up. MUST pump every 3 hrs even during midnight. and i dun think breastsize matters. i know of mummies who are flat but can nurse twins.
can't help u with the density thing. i guess all of us worry about that, but pls do lots of stimulation in NICU for ur gal. touch her, talk to her ALOT, sing to her. I bought those musical toys that play music when it auto detect certain level of noise, i.e. when baby cries. so that it can play to him when i am not around if he cries. later when bb gets to SCN, do lots of kangaroo hugs and latch on directly.

all mummies,
i am not enjoying my trip! it's my 4th day and our dear bryan cries a lot still. he wants to go out all the time and gets hungry really fast. dunno is it japan water very nice to drink?!?! v hard to handle him alone when hubby out working. hai.. but ok lah.. slowly adjusting.. trying to bring him out more to distract him! sigh sigh.. think i am going to have terrible muscle aches from all that walking. already got a blister on one foot!

Yan

Re density issue...cannot advise much too. but then again, i am sure the neonat will keep u updated. don't be too stress first. a step at a time was how i cope that time. everyday is like a roller coaster day at NICU... i hope some mummy here could be able to shine some light on density issue (or at least share)

yes, like xbliss i bought my boy a musical toy to put in his bed when he was in NICU too...then gradually in SCN, i brought mini speaker and a MP3 player and put beside him...

Yan, stay postive about BM. mine came fairly late (around 7-8 days). continue expressing.. yes, 3 hourly. you will see results
. jia you and don't think too much

xbliss

oh bryan is with u and hubby in japan! wow... could it be due to weather (cold)? thats why bryan hungry.. could be growing spurts too. any opportunity to experience the cool spa in japan?

Jane,
Happy Birtday to Siang Siang !

Xbliss,
Oh didn't realised that you were already in Japan, how was the flight ? actually in another way, it is good that Bryan is drinking more

Didi

Thank you so much
- thinking back i'm member here for coming to 2 years too (join in Nov 06 :p).

recently i went to jacelyn (remember the twin boys mummy across the border in malaysia) friend house to pick up something. her two boys also just turn 2 years old on 14 August 08
. she told me (via PM) she is very busy with her boys.

Come Feb 09, D&amp;D would be 2 years old too

Yan,
breast size doesnt really matter, i think...

jane,
u are right..actually our thread just hit two years anniversary haha on aug 17...if you go back two yrs, can see my first post ..must wish our thead happy anniversary

costa de sol (costa)
Username: costa

Post Number: 9
Posted on Thursday, August 17, 2006 - 7:10 pm:

anyone out there has a premature baby? would you like to share yr advice abt nicu and how long yr baby has to stay in hospital and also the pblems that you hv?

-----------------
costa..yeah... wow! we have come far and bonding has grown. pat pat on all mummies shoulder! yes wishes our special thread happy anniversary and wishes all our babies happy and healthy always

costa
thanks for starting this thread

Yan
Flat chest doesn't mean no milk. Milk need to be established by regularly pumping. I was like a cow with low supply of milk, but I was very hardworking despite getting regular engorgement (very painful) and sore nipples with milk bubbles. These bubbles need to be pricked by the lactation consultant and blood would flow out but still I pumped and pumped until my milk bottles flooded the NICU freezer that some old milk has to be thrown away.
So Jia You!! You can make it.

Jane and Precious_one and all mummies here,
thanks for contributing actively to this thread to keep it alive and for all yr advice and sharings...without it...this thread wouldnt hv come tis far..kum xia kum xia for all the frenships made at this thread....

yeah we have all make it so far (2 years) and many to come. cheers to our friendship

didi
hehe... 2 years is a remarkabe milestone. must congrats ourself (as mummy) for reaching this milestone
and many more to come, cheers! any special plan or home celebrations,

Precious
yeah hor sometime feel like no heart go thru it again. but then maybe it wont happen. then I look at Nada - think she would love a sibling. so I will try one more time at least..2 more would be nice ;) but see how la

kkf
jia yuo! read my earlier post wat the dr say as advise to ladies with chronic illness,stress etc..?
stress cause the inflammation of cells. she say do 5happythings. oh she also say - 1. do meditation ( sit quietly and feel love from ur inner heart. in this case, maybe u can think abt ur love for ur kids), 2.exercise ( light exercise bring up those happy hormones, so feel better) and 3. sex ! heheh lst one funny. maybe if cannot - just cuddle/hug/hug with hubby or dash. those makes us feel better.
we are rooting for u ok ???

Yan
Jia yuo! Its difficult.. just try ur best and that is enuff. worry and stress makes it more difficult. just pump regularly, dun think abt the amt. drink more water, eat health foods.think of ur babe only.

Jane
Siang birthday ?? wahhh cheers! Happy Birthday !

thanks for ur support and frenship
think i been here abt a yr ha..

daec
hehe yeah siang bday on 12 Aug
thank you for the wishes
- is all that siang needs, happy!...siang share same birth dates as yan ger. but just different year.

very soon next year like didi twins, nada be two (in May 09) also

we chat chat like that... past one year then two..so fast.

Jane,
think the celebration for dnd's 2nd birthday will be a simple one cause we celebrated their 1st mth and 1st year with friends and relatives, sort of feel bad that they have to buy gifts/ angpaos etc, so we decided to keep it simple, maybe a dinner with immediate family that's all

didi
hehe...me too had celebrations with my family... yeah feel bad if give gifts/ang paos hor.

simple happines is good ah

jane,
thanks 4 the compliments. told u ws is v chor-lor hor?

thanks.she's almost ok. ytd morning had a fright cos received phone call frm her sch, say she vomitted &amp; body warm warm. quickly called my mom (who's attending my uncle's wake) 2 go pick her up. then i called home, my mom say no fever, eat lunch, drink milk oso no vomit. so i guess it's cos she choked &amp; thus vomitted. but last nite &amp; today (i'm on leave today, cos it's my uncle's funeral) she's ok. she's napping now. ltr will bring her to town 2 meet hubby 4 dinner. since i'm on leave, might as well bring her out lor, else no chance to bring her out on weekday

kkf,
was reading ur posts ytd, but no time to write.
abt the insensitive mother whom u mention, guess it's becos she's nev been thru the tough time, thus she'll sort of take things 4 granted. i'm sure all mommies here will agree w me, 4 wat we hav gone thru, we learn to appreciate things/our kid(s) more. we r oso stronger, &amp; will b able to overcome any difficulty. juz ignore her la, she's so ignorant.. u know much more than her haha

thanks mummies for all your encouragement

jane,
so qiao, same BD
happy belated birthday to your boy

precious_one,
so we are from the ¨same family¨. ha... this realy encourrage me to try harder..

i tried to pump every 3hrs.. but when i go hospital to see my baby, i´ll miss the timig
and at night, sometimes i overslept. i told my hubby already if see me still sleeping when alarm ring, MUST wake me up.. but he din, i know.. he see me so tired, want me to sleep more.. he dun wanna stress me about this. he is a good hubby..
but for baby´s good, how tired i also must wake up rite.. sigh.. i lousy la... always overslept.. 1st few days still can tahan.. now too tired liao..

yes, i try to stay positive.. i have to.. i dun wanna get myself into depression.. my hubby has enough worries already. i dun want him still got to worry about me. and if i get depression, i won´t even get to express tat pathetic 10ml of milk...

Morning morning mummies, yan yan, dun be stress. take it easy. last time i also like that not much supply, in laws kept cooking green papaya fish soup for me, and i tried to drink more soup outside also. try drinking more soup, and try to pump more regularly. if really not sufficient, then bor bian, drinking forumla is ok one, my boy also drank some last time when my supply not enough. Dun get stress.

dm, thanks, i really envy some mummies who never go thru ordeals like us. they are just too xin fu. they dun understand wat we had went thru. they tot everyone is as blessed as them.

daec, thanks for sharing the tips. haha, touch? i tell you now i very sensitive to touch, i hate to be touched! haha. my hubby very poor thing...:p maybe got too many things on my mind, touch is the last thing on my mind.

Hi precious one, all the best ot you moving house, and i will go read your updated blog.

Mich, the actress i am talking about is the 7pm show every sat and sunday at channel 8 (sorry not U). The girl is known as "kaiqing" in the show.

COSTA, really glad you started the thread! it really provides lots of encouragements, and support for us mummies here!
Lets get the thread moving!

Anyway, Really glad to know you mummies here! Miss you all! we must have some sort of gathering soon! But think goto wait for me hor, hopefully next year february I can invite you all to my baby's full month! I really hope and hope very much! You know each year (for my jared and dash) I planned wat to do for their full months, in the end, none worked out, cause they were premature. sigh...hopefully this time round, I really can proudly invite everyone to my baby's full month!

Oh mummies, have a favor to ask you all. anyone working near plaza singapura? cause think of getting something from there, but sad cannot step out of the house.