Premature babies support group

shelllow
oh i see. so there is an infant care next to your office. no wonder u have had that plan. perhaps..perhaps afterall, u can ask the centre if they are willing to take in your ger (it would be so convenient)...

bottling takes time. u will get the hang of it. don't worry. practise makes perfect ;) - us being first time mum, hehe needs lots of practise. i am still learning hahaha...

Paige.. nice name

Paige, gain weight fast fast and go home soon ah
- hope to see your pretty pix on this thread soon hehe

Bloom,
Which hotel did you book ? can catch the fireworks ? can I have your blog addy ? loves to read blogs too

Paige is indeed a very nice name.. I used to hav a colleague named Paige and she is very pretty with big eyes, charm quite a number of guys from our office.. I m sure our little Paige is a charmer too ya?

Jane,
we (like many of the sisters here) are lucky that our mothers are there to help us at those moments
so I feel really really bad when I argue with my mom
so nowsdays I will curb my temper and remind myself to be grateful to her

didi
yeah...really hor. recently my mama told me to take leave as she needs to pray for lunar 7th month. i also take without any hesitation, despite my leave ia already very pte ltd :p. have to be grateful to my mum...she have done a lot for my boy

Jane,
ya lor, I have heard of some dotters/ sils that don't want to take leave if their mothers/ mils needed to do something
their leave is so precious
you good dotter

yah yah, mum is the greatest. you know my mum has been coming to my house almost everyday now to help me with dash, and to cook for me. I dun really fancy my in laws coming cause somehow i just dun feel close to them, and dunno wat to say to them. but my mum gets tired, so i will ask my in laws to come over.

me suai ku, paige is a christian name?

bloom, i am thinking of eating chewable vitmains too! haha. but now pregnant so got to force myself to eat those pills.

oh now i finally found daec, jane, bloom and me pills haters! i really tot i am the odd one leh, dunno how to swollow pills at this age. haha. i will always prepare a bottle of sweet, and lots of water, and hold my hubby tightly when eating pills. haha.

didi/jane,
ya lor, we were the lucky ones who have moms 2 help us when bb came home. else i dunno how to tahan. tat's y sometimes, i told myself dun argue 2 much. hav to close 1 eye sometimes. juz last nite, my mom made me soo angry tat i nearly cried out. so juz went to rm & cool down. dun c then wont' get angry. but the lucky thing is, it's own mother. if it's MIL, sure quarrel 1 :p

so tired. tmrw nite will b gg 4 a nice dinner w hubby (actually is 4 our anniversary dinner last wk, cos we didn't hav a nice dinner..so won't b bringing ws home tmrw nite. anyway, will b flying off early fri morning.. my colleague la, booked the earliest flight 7.10am, means got to b @airport 5+ wan my life!! haha

haven't go alrdy start 2 miss her alrdy ..

kkf,
you also have a sister other than yourself ? that's mean 4 in your family ? me too got a elder sister that's all.....

dm,
ya lor, sometimes me and my sis will discuss about what our mom have done for us then we realised it is our mothers that do the most things for us, then we will cry together
hey, you also got 1 sister ? like me. btw, enjoy your anniversary, share with us where you two go pak-tor

morning mommies,

yeh, last day of working, then i'm flying off 2 bangkok tmrw morning

some pics 4 all to view, taken @chijmes last mth, when we went 4 lunch 2 celebrate my sis' bday.

shellow, c, my ger was born @34wks @1.45kg & she's grown to a big girl now.. so dun worry, paige will be a gem

1635980.jpg
1635981.jpg

1635982.jpg
1635983.jpg

DM
yeah lor mum great
no matter how mad I am with her, can still cool down eventually. dun thnk with MIL can. I opposite - with mum, sometimes quarrel sometimes quiet but end still can be ok. mil - i just keep quiet, but steam long time. hard me forgive

didi
I dunno why but just feel that own parents will give more to my ger, rearrange their schedule for her/help me. il are more selective abt leave/schedule, they more pick what suits them tho they also love her and say miss her. well action means more than words.is it coz its il so they selective abt helping or just coz their concept that work more impt..

its weird coz il are also someone parents. so own kids tend say they r great whereas not all dil not so impressed hehe

jane
didnt get PM. paiseh, my email was set to my workemail which is no longer valid. resend, pls ? thx *paiseh*

daec,
il's own kids will say they great cause maybe they treat their own kids better ? sometimes, I feel those unlimited tasks that my mom do for me, am I able to do the same for my kids too ?

didi, yah, me have an elder sister, thats all.
same here, sometimes, i am thinking will i be as great as my mum in future.

dm enjoy your trip. your gal is still as pretty as before.

disneymickey
ur gal is pretty....

u guys r lucky, have mom to help u out. the day b4 i deliver, my mom specifically told me she is nt goin to help me look after my gal....
my confinement lady left after 2 wk cos some1 else delivered her baby, n can u imagine my mom didnt even offer to come n cook for me....

powergal, yeah.. u r right.. forget tat there are alot of barang barang when bb is still young (now i can squeeze all of my and bb's things into 1 bag liao..when its 2 bags last time :p)

jane..ehehe..i got time to play with my camera cos kate was sleeping mah... they did advertise in newspapers so next yr maybe u can keep a lookout for it? there was once when i see calcium syrup in guardian leh.. ithnk the brand is osteo -something... u wana try that?

shelllow, i also gave birth to my gal early cos of high BP..and my hb was flying back from overseas that day! ahahaha... Paige is a nice name... i thot CL is supposedly to stay for 4 weeks even if the next one comes along? Thats was my booked CL told me (when she explain that she cannot accept bookings that are too close).... there was one point when i dont have CL too, and MIL does not know how to cook... then FIL ask his fren's wife to cook, and FIL's fren's wife, after a while, ask me to go to her house and collect the food instead! So I fedup, show black face, and tell my ILs I will order confinement tingkat....

didi, i book marina mandarin, guarantee fireworks view but not parade view... (marina oriental and ritz carlton have parade view i think) ... u wont love to read kate's blog..cos i am too lazy to type wordy stuff.. just pics only... :p its at kathleenmak.blogspot.com

kkf, maybe ask doc tan if got chewable pregnancy vits?? ehehe..ur hb must be blue black from all ur squeezing when u take meds... last time i also reward myself with choclate when i take pills! :p

dm..ehehe..always love to see ws' pictures..does she have a blog?

bloom,
okie, just went to your blog
did you request for the cot to be placed in the room ? did they charge for that ? Marina Mandarin will sure be in my consideration list, if they can provide a cot too

kkf,
my mom a tai tai, she rather go Perth n rot there in my sis's place than get herself busy. after the CL left, i self helf lor... wat to do...

bloom,
i was on medication but BP doesnt seems to go down, lucky i had medical appointment on tt very day, BP was 190+ and the stupid mom dunno how contraction feels like, later the doc told me i having contraction, then i realise nt tummyache need to do business.....
i booked the CL in sept but due to premature delivery, she said she come help for 2 wk lor... think of it i should have order confinement tingkat...
yipee... time to pack up n go c my gal...

didi
maybe, hubby wont believe that tho hehe. hai i always tell him women relationship always got something, not so smooth-sailing. IL even more so no matter what.

well for me - I feel if I work, I cant do what my parents did for me. my mum is a hsewife u see.the sort cook yummy dishes, do hsehold chores and take care 3 kids all by herself :p helps the gap beween kids 4-5yrs. hehe ironic my mum prefers me to work

shellow
me too give birth coz high BP @week 32, birthweight 1105g via c-section

bloom,
thanks. but the lazy mommy here 2 lazy 2 write blog haha

kkf,shellow & all other mommies, thanks 4 ur compliments on ws

gg zzz liao. tmrw need wake up at 4am
see all next wk

didi
hsehold chores - i will get family members involved.

hehe cooking skills need to work on it continuously. remembered some dishes my mum trial and error many many times before she got it rite :p

realised a lot of you gave birth due to high blood pressure? wat triggers it? and from when you know you have high blood?

I have headaches recently, a bit worry of my blood pressure as well. :p

wow, dm, happy bangkok trip.

shelllow, you not stupid lar, my 1st pregnancy, I also didn't know wats contractions. I just felt bad pain, and tot it was unusual cause could not sleep, then went hospital. after i went, then realised it was contractions. 2nd pregnancy, smart already, know any pain in the lower part means contractions. haha.

from wat my doc said, having high BP will need to deliver early, as it is nt good for the placenta... my placenta actually starting to detach from my uterus when they did the emergency c-section. normally BP will start goin up during the 20 wk, n doc will start doing the pee test often, to see if there is present of protein in urine. wat triggers high BP? bit me, i ask my doc, he said some is genetic, some is weight issue

kkf,
better go check wif doc. I even buy a BP monitor equipment at home.... BP took 5 wks to go back to normal after delivery....

My Paige is now on full bottle feeding... yipee... any tips for bottle feeding, when can start breast feeding (no need to wash bottle)... my gal like to suck v fast n she bite the teat....last night her lip turn blue.... i was so scare.... Any1 kid is seen by Dr Tan PL, is he good?

kkf
actually its quite common. just that ours is considered severe as it affects baby growth and too early in pregnancy. for those okay cases, people get it toward the end of pregnancy so dr will just say induce, give birth. end story. ihave a fren who has high bld with all 6 babes but it only toward end pregnancy. so fullterm, natural birth.

when I ask dr, one dr say inconclusive dunno why.other dr said its due to genes between hubby and wife not so match as first time.second baby onward shld be ok. indeed most cases occur for first birth only. some mums dun get it for later births.

I thot it was due to overweight (I overweight) but not true also-lot of slim ladies had e same thing.

bloom and me were superstressed. I cant relax at all coz wrk stress, home quarrels.cld be that too. I think for me its that.

I asked 2 doulas, one of them say due to nutrition. e TCM lady told me for me its coz I had bad water retention in early pregnancy. water retention means bad circulation, heavier weight so high bld

so not so clear cut why...

Jane/ Didi/ Dm

Ezann is fine! Cheeky lor as usual.. Just went for her eye review and was given 1 year for next review. She will be going for her IQ test in Oct 2008 . I am bringing her to tokyo and Osaka this 28 Aug. Just visited Dr Khoo to get all her standby medicine.. She is always bz in the house.. like a little housekeeper.

Am bz with the maid's renewal and as usual lor... Expressing milk for my no. 4, work, play and attend to the boys

daec
sure nt 2nd baby onward will b ok? Dr Kwek told me if i goin to have 2nd 1, same thing might happen also, n he stress i might get hypertension in my later part of life....
i had v bad water retention the week b4 i deliver, can even find 1 pair of shoes tt can feed, end up wearign my hb's slipper to work...

mummylian,
happy to hear that Ezann is fine
really admire your stamina leh
is the whole family gg to Tokyo and Osaka too
must be veri fun

DM
Your girl is still as pretty as ever. BTW, did you cut her hair or her hair grows slowly? FYI, A now has very short hair, her ah ma brought her to the hairdresser 3 times already...... Luckily she looks ok with short hair.

Hi everyone, sorry to just drop in like this.Havent had the time to write in the forum for a very long time.So im not sure if anyone remembers me. My girl was born 7 months premature. Now she is 22 months and doing great.

Just wondering if anyone has sent their kids to playschool or childcare when they are around that age?

shellow
no not sure if #2 will get it or not. that was one dr opinion, other dr say differently. no one can confirm for sure.

I do have fren who had high bld for first one, hers was fullterm tho.for her #2 and #3 kids - dun have it. I did read at another forum this mum had high bld and prem baby for first one. second one was fullterm with no high bld. wanted to reach her and ask her more but she no longer active in the forum.

yea me too I end up buying shoe size bigger. I cant fit those shoes at all now.

didi, the bb cot was requested at no extra charge... i think hotels usually prov cot w/o charge, cos i got it foc the last time i went to hotel intercontinental too!

shelllow, ahaha..sama sama lah... i got bleeding and thot it was UTI... then just thot go gynae just in case..din realise my BP was so off the charts! :p

dm, ehhehe.. just post pics like me loh..btw, rem that mtd of weaning off midnight feed that u taught me? by the time i reach 1 scoop FM.. kate started waking up TWICE a night instead of one time.. so scared liao..so now back to 2 scoops... now sometimes she wake up, sometimes she doesn't... give up hahahahah

kkf, i think my high BP might be a combinaton of nonknown (aka genetics?) and hb making me blood boil...

mummylian..hehehe..good tat u have a little housekeeper..so cute!

puppyduppy, my gal will be going playgrp next month..not sure what will happen then :p

daec, wow..i wish i can be like ur frens..no 2 onwards no prob :p

bloom
me too wish so

oh happened to watch oprah with a dr christiane northrup. She talking to some lady who has health issues. I duno what is coz watch halfway. her advice was eat breakfast, have a good mealplan (eg. avoid too much caffeine, eat health stuff) and do 5 joyful things for urself.

Stress causes inflammation in ur cells. and cells to degenerate and breakdown. Joyful things prevent that.

I guess for us, the stress too much cause our cells not work well

Hi morning!

Just went to chat in the mummy to be 2009 feb forum, not very happy with one of the mummies, who said that the govt shd't subsidise those people who need to go thru ivf cause she thinks it is their choice to give birth late and so have problems conceiving. Then she said herself gave birth at 25 years old, 3rd child at 28 years old blar blar, and she said govt shd subsidise sahm like her.

Sorry leh, me very not happy with her, cause i think she is a bit proud leh. i know she is a blessed one, and can have children so smoothly and early, but not everyone is like her lor.

I envy her lor, cause its my dream to be a young mum too. if given a choice, i also dun want to have my 3rd baby at age 30 years old, but who asks my hubby to only meet me when i was age 26 years old? and my first boy was taken away when i was ready to be a first time mum at age 26 years old?

sorry ah, me just feel that why got such unsympathetic mummy.

my friend tries and tries for baby, but not able to conceive. her fault meh? no leh, she is just 30 years old leh.

sorry ah, i may sound a bit harsh, but think we are already blessed to have a govt giving us money to give birth.

now with 4 mths maternity, more baby bonus, what more can we ask for?

but one thing i feel govt shd look into, gives more subsidies to us premature babies parents during our babies stay in nicu/scn etc, and special leave for us. haha.

envy mummylian going japan.

bloom haha, your hubby makes your blood boils?

yesterday went to my 12th week scan for down syndrome. still a long way to go...

anyway, fairylander, how are you coping? can see baby liao?

kkf, just a quick one...

i am thinking the same too (abt premmies mommies being left out). so i am thinking of drafting the following to straits times (if u wana help it will be better since my english sucks)

it will go like this...

I was delighted to hear from yesterday's National Day Rally that help had been extended to couples who needed IVF and family with five or more children, groups that had previously been neglected in previous rounds.

However, I will like to highlight that there is a minority group of people whose wish had been neglected. The group of the premature babies.

I myself am the mommy of a premature gal, born at 34.5 weeks. Her stay at KKH SCN set me back by fifteen thousands dollars, most of them paid by my medisave account. She was discharged 22 days after she was born, with only regular checkups required. With a big chunk of my medisave gone, I have to think twice before embarking on any plan to have number 2, lest the second child came early too, and required lengthy hospitalisation stay (which comes with a big bill).

And I am considered one of the luckier ones. From the premmie support group, I know of many other families with premature babies. Some of their babies stayed in the hospital for months, some of them required operations even before they are charged, while others are still being followed up for complications years after they are born.

Below are some of the statistics among the people I know.

<mommies, pls insert ur bb's weeks of gestation, no of stays in hospital, hospital fee (total amt, amt subsidised, amt paid by medisave... not need to be down tot eh last dollar), followup still being done.

As can be seen, this is definitely not a small amount, and one which shelf or scrape some of our plans for more children.

Currently, the government hospitals tagged the ward (and rate) of the baby to the mommy. I would like to suggest that for premature cases, the ward for baby be decoupled from that from the parents. Like what the nurses said, the baby receive the same level of care, regardless of the ward level tagged. While for us mommies, some of us may choose a high level ward so that we can be delivered by a doctor who knows our history (many of the premature babies' mothers had pregnancy complications) and whom we trusted.

The social workers also stepped in once the baby's hospitalisation bills exceed fifteen thosand dollars (during my time lah..is it different now?), and will look the family's income and see if they are entitled for financial assistance. I would like to suggest that the minimum amount of fifteen thousand dollars be lowered, and more grace be allowed for the family's income per head. After all, not only the lower-income family suffers when they have to deal with a huge hopitalisation bills, the middle income (especially those with small children or elderly to support) suffers too.

<mommies, what about the folowup operations etc.. are they still tagged to the ward?.....

I hope that the relevant authorities will look into these issues, and hopefully the mothers of the premature babies will feel less burden, at least financially, when their babies come out of this world earlier.

======================================

mommies, what do u all think?? need ur help to beef up ,....

my ang moh not good, want me to translate to chinese then can...haha.

but glad you write this! i was telling hubby too, i am going to write in (no lar, not possible for me, my ang moh very lousy).

btw, can ask them to give us special leave? haha, cause our premature babies need more follow up, and check ups mah, can give us more leave?

btw, erm, i have long throw the bills liao leh, is there anyway to check?

Why not just take approximate from statistic figure? i mean like if baby needs to stay 1, 2 months, how much will it costs, 3 months blar blar like that?

that will be more valid instead of using real life examples leh.

just wondering anybody interested in air purifer with negative ions from Japan ? better than HEPA. I buying one. if get 1 more buyer, its little cheaper.cost is few hundred. worried so I bought it as my hubby has obstructive apnea besides his asthma and ezcema.

if interested, pls PM me for more details

some descriptive text :
negative ions : It has the ability to eliminate and inhibit airborne allergens, bacteria, virus, germs and fungi; reduce and eliminate radiation from computers, TVs, mobile phones, electronic and electrical appliances; purify amd clear odor, dust, pollen and smoke; and nuetralise and eradicate toxic chemical and positive ions produced by air pollution, free radiacls, UV rays and electriostatic charge, to give you natural, invigorating mountain-fresh healthy air.

It helps improve: alertness, blood and lymphatic circulation, breathing, concnetration, energy, weak immunity and relaxation. It also relieve: allergies, asthma, eczema, fatigue, motion sickness, sinus problems, sleeping difficulties and stress

bloom
letter sounds gd!

kkf
wish they also look into other areas as money is NOT everything. like partime, freelance options, flexi hrs. I'm sure there are times when working mums need that option eg. when baby small, or exam times. Then no more leave. Childcare, maid, grandparents cant replace own parents.

Even if SG doing well and got lotsa money, the future still depends on the next generation. I believe that generation needs to be nurtured by primarily own parents.Own parents wont give face hehe like grandparents. Childcare and maid - well limits to how much they will truly care, give focused attention. Its hard to do that if the parents are all stressed out abt time,work and money.

eg. my p2 nephew misbehaving. grandparents too old and not always there to disipline. maid too soft to disiplin. parents too stress, not always able to check..

kkf, where to get the stats?

mommies, are the followup operations/neonat/therapy tagged to bb ward when they are born? dunwana say wrong thing then kena whacked by MOH...

bloom
followup meetings with neonat- tagged to bb ward too. operations - I'm not sure but I think same also.

perhaps u could also add in that if there is a threat of prematurity - the mummies need additional tests/checks even before baby is born. and even hospital stay.

even if its C-class rates - still expensive. mine was $30k at C-class rates for 42days. after subsidy was $7k. it whack two thirds of my medisave. Later on neonat/therapy all at C-Class rates but still cost a lot as many visits. think I easily spent above $1+k for first year. Nada didnt have much complications - if got complications, follow up operations lagi worse.

OK, amended..still hope that more mommies can give more stats... will try to send out tonight at home...

============================================

I am delighted to hear from yesterday's National Day Rally that help had been extended to couples who needed IVF and family with five or more children, groups that had previously been neglected in previous rounds.

However, I will like to highlight that there is a minority group of people whose wish had been neglected. The group of the premature babies.

I myself am the mommy of a premature gal, born at 34.5 weeks. Her stay at KKH SCN set me back by fifteen thousands dollars, most of them paid by my medisave account. She was discharged 22 days after she was born, with only regular checkups required. With a big chunk of my medisave gone, I have to think twice before embarking on any plan to have number 2, lest the second child came early too, and required lengthy hospitalisation stay (which comes with a big bill).

And I am considered one of the luckier ones. From the premmie support group, I know of many other families with premature babies. Some of their babies stayed in the hospital for months, some of them required operations even before they are charged, while others are still being followed up for complications years after they are born.

Below are some of the statistics among the people I know.

baby 1 - SCN 22 days, $15,000 ($14,000 via medisave) B1 ward - no complication after discharge.

baby 2 - ICU/SCN 42 days, $30,000 ($23,000 via medisave) C ward - no complication after discharge.

As can be seen, this is definitely not a small amount, and one which shelf or scrape some of our plans for more children.

Currently, the government hospitals tagged the ward (and rate) of the baby to the mommy. I would like to suggest that for premature cases, the ward for baby be decoupled from that from the parents. Like what the nurses said, the baby receive the same level of care, regardless of the ward level tagged. While for us mommies, some of us may choose a high level ward so that we can be delivered by a doctor who knows our history (many of the premature babies' mothers had pregnancy complications), and whom we trusted.

The social workers also stepped in once the baby's hospitalisation bills exceed fifteen thosand dollars (during my time), and will look the family's income and see if they are entitled for financial assistance. I would like to suggest that the minimum amount of fifteen thousand dollars be lowered, and more grace be allowed for the family's income per head. After all, not only the lower-income family suffers when they have to deal with a huge hopitalisation bills, the middle income (especially those with small children or elderly to support) suffers too.

As for follow ups after the baby is discharged, I believe that they are being tagged to the ward of the baby. This can add on to the toll of the parents as they have to use their annual leave to bring the child for checkups and many of them also take leave to look after their babies in their pre and post operation days. Perhaps special concessions can be given for parents who took leave for their children's operations (and this applies to parents of full term babies with complications, eg, cleft lips, heart problems etc).

I hope that the relevant authorities will look into these issues, and hopefully the mothers of the premature babies will feel less burden, at least financially, when their babies come out of this world earlier.

===============================================

kkf/didi/mommies, sorry to play cham cham *sob* *sob* hand.. but can i have more statistics? cos daec's and mine's are considered as the 'better' ones... once the stats are gathered i will email to ST tonight after kate zzzz

daec, i already got a air purifier with neg ions at home.. hehehe.. good during the past few days when alot of pp burn offerings :p

Thanks daec..
ICU/SCN for 42 days cost 30K, wonder how much will b my bill, been 49 days n still counting.... tot can be paid full by medisave...
can they make maternity leave more flexible for mummy havign premature baby. MCYS state tt the 8 wk maternity leave has to be taken continuosly...

sorry bloom, i think mine will provide very good example, as my boy had to go thru hernia operation, and stayed 2 months in hospital. but then hor, we really could not recall how much, as you know, kkh billed us quarterly like that.

daec not air purifier too, no money. haha.

anyway, yeah, just got my blood test result for down syndrome, low risk, next big step will be 16th week scan for gender (hopefully), then 20 weeks detailed scan, and 20th week after, will be fearing and fearing and fearing...sigh.

recently kept waking up in the middle of the night, can't sleep, then will start thinking...negative things, sigh....
i really hope this will be my last pregnancy, a successful one with a healthy and well baby.