Premature babies support group

Didi
You will be easy to spot Mummy with twins!
Some of the mummies from the twins thread will be there too.
Looking forward to meeting you.
Porridge Disneys suggestion is good. Cereal for bfast and porridge for lunch and dinner.
You have to boil it a bit longer to make the texture similar to rice cereal for a start.
Can add in some pork and carrots for a sweeter taste but do not introduce the meat immediately.

Disney Mickey
Wait till she says Mama. I love you!
Ohhhh......

Costa
Your whole entourage will be there that day?

mich,
my whole entourage, bo lah where got?only bern, mum, maid and me..hope to put my elder son elsewhere if not he sure make alot of noise..

cmg to tink of it, u cld be right,wld be holidays then leh....if nobody can help wif my elder one, may hv to brg him there..sian buay

mich,
can't wait *grin*
u know wat? my hubby recorded my ger calling him dad-dad & used it 4 his sms ring tone. so heow hor? but i'm kind of glad, means the girl is impt to him

Precious one, you so cute! Handsome dash can meet pretty angel! Really hope to see pretty angel with pretty mum there!

xbliss, glad that bryan is progressing well each day! soon you will be busy with him at home.

thanks for sharing about dragon fruit jane! I seldom eat that though.In fact, I seldom eat fruits...not good! me very lazy one, I only eat bananas, because just need to peel of the skin! hee.

Mich you will be there for the awareness day! great! Maybe all of us who are going shd set a time to go so that we can meet up. But me not very good in ang moh hor, so you all may not see me talk very much. I am quite obvious too. You see a very giantic mum with a cheeky little boy, will be me!

Anyway, the school you mentioned seems cool!

I really hope dash will pick up english. His holiday day program at zoo phonics is just one week from 10th december to 14th december, not yet started.

Stressed, take care! hope you get well very soon!

Didi, dun forget me leh! I will be going too.

Disneymickey, your gal so sweet. Whenever I talked to my boy on phone, he always bor chap me.

Anyway, just to share...always feel so stressed after talking to my colleague. She has a daugther who is coming to 3 years old. She told me at 1 year old, her DD is already doing 4 pieces puzzle. Then at age 2, can say dunno 1-30 or wat. This mummy is very hardworking, she will do art work with her daugther, and train her to say complete sentences. She sends her child to montosorri, and enrol her into Mandeville music school. Every weekends she will bring her to swim. Another colleague of mine also, her daughter is toilet trained at 1 year old, can speak at lot at 1 and half, and she is a strong believer of shichida. She always follow shichida methods, flash cards, read books etc.

Me feel I AM SUCH A LAZY MUM!

Just now went popular to buy some puzzles for my boy, haha! My colleague daughters can do puzzles already even at 1 and a half, yet my son still cannot! haiz. so must work harder liao...

Jane I agree perfectly with wat you said. Let your child rest well before any test. Like my boy, I REALLY REALLY think he is just a very very normal kid. During shichida lesson, everything he also cannot do, and everything also do wrong...sigh.

I think he is just very very very happy that day so he cooperated well. You know whenever he went for lessons, the teacher asked him questions, he would not answer one. Teachers thought "this kid is stupid or wat, dun understand what I am saying?"

Btw, there is something I am unhappy about today. We had a meeting just now discussing about kids in our classes. We had to point out problem kids, like naughty ones, and weak ones.

Then one of the teacher pointed out a boy. The other teachers started commenting about that boy saying "he is a premature baby". He did not do well, in fact I think he did badly in exams.

My class also, got a gal who fared quite badly, her mother told me "maybe because she is a premature baby."

Please lar. I dun believe in that. I am the first to stand out to say "look, I am a premature baby borned at 27 weeks, I am still doing well, premature so what? who says premature baby cannot do well?"

My colleague also premature baby borned dunno how many weeks. She had a twin sister, but still birth. So left only her. She is a uni grad too, and is doing very very well in terms of studies and career (she is those very energetic type, and is well liked by my principal).

So all our children will grow up to be wonderful, and great!

I think most importantly we have to believe in our children.

My colleague is also preemie leh.. her language is so powderful.. used to join those debate team etc. so how?

kkf, puzzles very easy to train one. dun worry. i think as long as more exposure and giving him different things to do boosts his skills and confidence.

kkf, sorie sorie, of course want to see the most 'senior' preemie lah
(just kidding). Did you ever heard something before, at least 2 of my friends told me that preemies are smart babies ? (hope it is true)

Disnew Mickey, Mich thanks for the help info, most likely will try in Dec

Hi mummies, good morning. Haven't been posting...

Didi, think porridge cooked by you is much better than package cereal. So if you have the time, it will be great to introduce it to your babies soon. Think if they are taking the rice cereal well, they should be ready for porridge already. Couldn't comment much cos I've only started with a little bit of semi-solid with my gal yesterday. Started with avacado in the morning. Will do the rice cereal in a few days time and intend to do cooked porridge once I get back to s'pore in a week's time

kkf, ya. As trs, we know that there are many reasons that contribute to poor performance in school. Maybe prematurity may be a factor in some cases but we shouldn't just pinpoint to that one factor and label the child. What I mean is that when the tr or mother make such a statement, there is already a label on the child and sometimes it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.
By the way, school hol coming soon liao... happy lei...
Have a good yr end break...

xbliss and other mummies how does blocked ducts look like eh? Cos my nipple hor like don't look that same as before lei. Even though I never BF, but I did some pumping before then. Now the nipple still can see the ducts, some a bit black black, some whitish..not like last time, all merged together one... Sorry hor, a bit "RA" here... but I dunno who to ask lei.. thinking of going for some gynae check to see if it is normal!!!

Yesterday, went for follow-up again. Sigh, doc still comment that my gal stiff on her muscles. But she says her actions still looks ok, but everytime we touch her and try to press her legs aparts, she will stiffen up. She can flip already also lei.. So worried. Tomorrow is the result for the video again and I'll get to chat with the physio in greater detail.

good morning mummies

Read about kkf thread of development of premature baby. To Jane, My siang is a shiny star hehe.

Log in this morning, just cannot wait to share with all that siang know how to clap hands (both hands meeting) and wave good bye (the right way)!!! jane is so so happy today.

Like Disneymickey, i feel so great!

To me, its a BIG milestone liao (in my own way of grading my boy).

oh too bad i cannot go on 30 Nov (really not much leave left). this month still have to take half a day cos siang needs to attend physio session on 20 Nov.

kkf - about fruits. banana is also great ah

Hi Jane, morning.

Read your post about dragonfruit. How old can give this fruit?
Also like to introduce avacado to you. But for banana, I read it can cause constipation. So must be careful.

Congrats on Siang's achievements..
Very very good. Now you can do Barney with him and he can clap along...
So fun...

kkf,
dun worry abt wat others say la. n like i've always told my colleague, (try) NOT TO COMPARE!! every kid has diff development. like dash, his mandarin so powerful rt? i'm sure not many kids r like him, preemie or not. my ger is 20mths, but can only say single words (& not v clear some more) but we r alrdy v happy & proud.

btw, my nephew who's 26mths, can count 1-10. my ILs soooo proud of him, go ard & boast. sigh. kind of give me some stress (oops, did i juz tell u not to compare?? grin). hope my ger can do it by then oso.

jane,
i can understand ur joy
kkf, maybe we shld juz concentrate on these kind of joy & continue to encourage our bb & motivate us to teach more? this way, we & our bb will prob b much happier?

kkf,
btw, i think u r alrdy doing A LOT 4 dash. if u r lazy, wat m i?? i've nev even brought my ger to attend any classes & not gg to do tat! rem i say we wanted to enrol her in childcare in jan? well, haven't even registered yet. haha. now this is wat u call lazy ok :p

Good morning mummies

I read from books that extremely premature babies often have learning problems - which aren't always based on intelligence, but on the way the child learns.

Recent research has indicated that the premature baby's brain is anatomically different to the brain of the fullterm baby and this may help explain the learning difficulties and developmental issues faced by many premature babies.

Coincidentally, I am doing more research on this and I will share with you ladies once I have more information.

Mummies, for the time being, LETS LOOK FOR PROGRESS, NOT CONFORMITY.

Every milestone which our preemies cross is an achievement!

Jane
The rate Siang is growing, I bet he will overcome his hearing in no time. Like what I've said previously, our miracle premie will always perform beyond our imagination. It is GREAT to feel GREAT and thank you for spreading your joy to us. It is a GOOD feel to start our morning by reading good news from you and every mummy. GOD bless all of you.

kkf
hei, your teachers know you are a prematured baby or not and do they know that you also have a prematured son.... rather insensitve lei.

I'm curious here, if the teacher think that becoz the child is a premie and that's why poor result, may I know if the teacher will make extra effort in teaching the premie or they teach the premie like the rest of the children? What I am saying is if there is scientific proof that premie will be slow in learning or in achieving academic good grades, then I think MOE should not put premie in the same class as other full term borned children for a start. And when a child top the class and happen to be a premie, will the teacher then during discussion comment that she/he is a premie or they want to claim credit for their superb teaching skills. Sorry, I dun mean to dis-credit teacher but they ought to spend time with a child to know why the child fare badly in an exam.

This is my personal view only. I am sorry if I offend any teacher here.

As for the mummy who thought that her girl fared badly in exam is owing to her pre-matured birth, she ought to be ashamed. May be you invite the mummy to join this forum and then she will know that she must also put in effort in helping her child to excel in whatever she is doing.

kkf

I also think u are doing a lot and work very hard for Dash to develope well. do try not to be affected by others talk/progress.

I also agree with disneymickey - best not to compare. Somebody will always come out short when compare. every child has his own pace to grow

yes, like what u say - impt to believe in our kids! and wat mich - to look for progress is key !

Mich
U are so profound this morning. Hard to digest for me! haha.. But i agree lor. I'm sure bryan going to be compared to his cousin who is 6 mths older than him by the other family members, but thank goodness we would have moved out by then. Now they already keep saying bryan sure will bully his cousin (whom they assume is quiet and thus passive) cos they see bryan so active in NICU and kicking/waving away. If what they say would comes true, then it's not going to be just a joke for them; it will become a punishment to them!

lili,
how old is ur girl? how come her muscles are stiff? don;t mind me asking hor.

blocked ducts.. err... according to my pathetic knowledge and experience, it doesn't really present itself so much as a change in the nipple. Rather, it is a hardening of the milk ducts inside the breast.. so when you express by massaging the breast, you can feel a lump. Sometimes, i do need to check the nipple for dried milk that accumulated and cause the blockage. I read online that that recurrent blocked ducts can lead to a small blister like thing forming on the nipples but which can be resolved easily by pricking with a sterilised needle. Also recurrent blocked ducts can cause mastitis (correct spelling?!) which is an infection that needs to be treated with antibiotics.

When did you pump and how long? Before i started pumpimg, the nipple is "all joined together", but after pumping is not, err.. u can see the division of different "sections (?! my goodness, my description is so poor!) that make up the nipple. The color is roughly around the same, with some areas being a bit darker or brownish. I don't see any black areas.. maybe u wanna check with doc.

disneymickey,
want to enrol in childcare have to do quickly now.. end of year very hard to find vacancies already.

Jane
*Clap Clap* for you and Siang! Congrats on a new milestone achieved and more to come!!! Looks like today will be a great day for you!

lili

block duct sometime nipple look normal but the milk supply is less. recently I had white spot on nipple. read up its blocked duct but when call kk - lactation consultant say its blister.it may affect ur milk supply . so must roll roll til burst like pimple.
my sis also got something like that - she massage and squeeze until the whitish thing come out. mine - I squeeze but it cant come out like the top layer is covered by my skin. I even probe with needle, cannot. it was not so pain so I just let it be. breastfeed as per normal. I breastfeed abt 1-3x a day only.after 1-2 weeks, there was 1-2 days its pain. Subsequently look like going to burst. Then it come out/disappear itself. hope this helps.

jane,
siang is a clever boy, can clap hands and say bye bye!!!

lili,
my son is oso very stiff leh. i oso very worried. massage oso not doing very much, just have to hope for the best. sigh. my next review on monday. arghhhhhhhh.

mich,
you have the article on the brain being anatomically different? I am interested to read. Maybe that is y some of them are smarter than the rest, also the same reason some of them have more issues than their peers.

i am here, so long ,long.......never post here, actually i read the post , but, dont know why, no energy to write anythings.....like very tired,,,but, my face still seem me happy, but in my heart dont know why lei......i think only here i can express my feel.
oh, i wont type long here, as my boys porriage time reach, after the want to bring them for tidy their hair, as a bit long....after back i will post again....maybe around 2pm....
thanks all the mummies who ask where i am , hi , hi, i am here and i am ok...
precioes & jane...
hi....

kkf, tell you something, my mil just told me that my hb is also a preemie
ha, so he is the 'oldest' preemie here

xbliss, ya ur description is very apt. Before all stick together, now can see separation!! I only pump for about a week but subsequently, after I stopped pummping still got milk leak for a month and I had to wear breast pads.

My gal is 4mths plus (corrected) and 6mths plus for real age. Why stiff muscles? I also dunno... something to do with the brain, the doc says.

Yeah, Mich, I will see a pd when I go back. Cos anyway, she needs to take her third dose of jab then and so we might arrange for a pd visit too.

didi,
how preemie was yr hb huh?hahha...want to get him to join our board or not?update his details here...haha

lili
EBMing is more painful than labour lei in my personal experience. The thought of EMBing puts me off on entertaining any thoughts of a sibling for my girl.. I always get breast engorgement and milk blisters that need the lactation consultant to prick it, then blood comes out, but still must pump milk....damn siong, pain and sian. One of my nipple went out of shape and it has a permanent tear drop shape (flesh)that grows on a nipple (like tap with a tear drop of water, sticking out) and I thought my nipple got disfigured owing to the manual pump....after I stop EBMing, after some days, the tear drop shape flesh disappear and I got my nipple back to it's original size. Phew!

didi,
i am ok. sure, i will share the recipe, my boys just finish one bowl of pork+potato+pear bean. they finish the pork too, this is 1st time they take, in 15minit they finish. really roushibaby...ha...
precious,
hi, i am more ok now, ya, you really can read me without see me, will share later...
before i share my sadness, share some good news.
my boys know understand a lot of word,
they know to point car,sis,brother,mum,dad, kakak....
and they know how to say car, jie jie,mama,papa,mummum...
when they hear the song if they happy they will...they will follow the song like crap hand,,stap feet,knob head,put up the hand hurray....
and when some one go, they will bye bye and pengkiss....
ha...ha...they very naughty ha....so now a day i more busy as need to be teacher...very paimia...
share some photo as now they like to sit at the misic car....every time pass there, they will look at the play ground....
1060121.jpg
1060122.jpg
1060123.jpg
1060124.jpg
1060125.jpg

Costa, will ask my mil, hope she can remember, she got 8 kids, so hopefully she can remember
, only thing I know is that he was borned @ KKH too (think at those times either home delivery or kkh only)

jac
My ears are all yours. It is your sharing that I join this forum becoz I felt for you then. I care enough for you that I can read your words in the posting very well. You can share with me in private or in open, the choice is yours and I will be patient to listen. Your sons really got this very very clean look. I feel they smell good too. Hugs to your boys.

lili/precious_one
my recent experience oklah, not so bad as that time the milkduct block then the lactation consultant massage for me. subsequently learn to do myself is better. Actually I like breastfeeding. sometimes bit pain if not latch properly or long time suckle. just have to relatch or take break. I love the benefits of BM tho. Nada likes it too which makes me feel heartened. I can tell from her face - like get high on BM heheh.

urm think precious_one experience worse than mine.
like precious, i dun like EBM though. siong. precious_one, maybe better pump will help though ? it does matter which pump use/how long pump. more gentle on the nipple.

jacelyn
wah ur boys so engrossed in driving

daec
first time my sis give me madela electric small pump, that one cannot even pump my milk out then I switched to the electric madela dual pump leh... I thot madela brand good liao cos hospital also use madela giant pump ...hahaha, i tried the manual pump once, so much milk come out then after that blisters, may be over pumped ... hahaha , but which ever pump I used, I get blisters initially...

Dear Mummies, you are right, we shd't compare, but really when I heard my colleague said her child can do this and that, will automatically start to think "why my son still cannot, wow her child so smart" that kind of thing leh. But actually my boy can say 1-10, A-Z, can sing "twinkle twinkle little star (the lyrics are not very accurate though" in both english and mandarin, can talk a lot of chinese sentences, shd be very proud of him liao. Haha, trying to stress you all now! kekeke, falling into my trap?
(big grin) let me hao lian a bit, so that I can pyscho myself that my boy is already very good!!!

Jac, what happened? your boys are soooooooo cute, really! dun be sad, you are blessed with 2 cute boys!

Didi, aiyo, somebody beat me liao, sob. Now I am not the oldest premature baby.

Mich, I dun think I have any learning difficulty leh. I still learn the same way with others. I may be slower in understanding, but eventually I do understand! I dun think it is due to my prematurity. Anyway, I think premature or not, really doesn't matter one, the most important thing is whether the child is willing to learn.
I know full term babies also score very very badly because they are just too lazy.

Lili, talking about breasts (sorry me RA) also, me also has this black little stuff on my nipples, I really did go see doctor (been referred to changi hospital), cause I thought it is dried blood, worried. Then after examing, doctor said shd't be anything serious.

Oh yah forgot to say, mummies, you may see me buy a lot of stuff for dash, but actually, in actual fact, I did not really use them often! I am really a lazy mum, only know how to buy and talk, but no actions!

Jane!!! happy that siang can clap and wave goodbye! think by 2 years old, he will achieve a lot!

Precious one, how is angel?
Your idea is good hor, put all premature kids into one classroom to learn...hee.
But really, being a premature baby myself, I do find that prematurity really has nothing to do with able to learn or not, if the child has no other medical issues.

May all our lovely babies grow up to be wonderful, healthy and strong!!!

oh by the way, the teachers know I am premature baby when I exclaimed loudly "what! i m premature also wat!"

Then they started realising and saying "wow! you premature already soooo giantic, if you not premature, then even more giantic???"

Btw, just to let you all know, I am 172cm tall n weighs a lot.

kkf, ha ha, now then I know he is a preemie (fyi he also don't know until his mom mentioned it). You are rite, preemies has no learning difficulties (at least for you and my hb).

precious_one
yes,medela supposed to be gd. I used the medela double pump until spoil eheehh.then I bought the new Medela Swing with the soft fit cup. so much more comfy heheh but I still dun like pumping ;) breastfeed still better. I hope next time I can 100% breastfeed. I guess sometimes all the blister,block duct is just something that goes along with being a mum. Just learn wat we can, minimise as much possible & deal with it hehe

hello mummies

sorry i am kind of having a very busy day in office today... haiz

mich
we are setting sail on the vessle next tuesday hahaha...cross your fingers for me for a nice cool weather (with all the rainy days recently..i hope for clear sky ah)

lindah, xbliss, disneymickey, precious_one, kkf, didi and all mummies, thanks for the wonderful pat pat u given me with regards to siang achievements.

To me... siang is special (not because he is a premature baby) but he is HIM. special and only one in this world. if he is clever, he is borned with it, if he is not that clever, then much will have to depend on me to provide him with the need be factors for his developments. But personally hahahah, i am not very intelligent hence...erh, i think, so long siang progress i think i won't expect too much (but that does not means that i will give him 'discount' in life achievement :p).

live life to the fullness so that one have no regret with today

jace--- both yours boys is clapping hands and waving bye bye too! pat pat. wow miss you ler. I just PM u with your invites. write to me...long time no chat

OH OH happy holis to all mummies. enjoy tomorrow. i am going to stay at home tomorrow because...want to save $$ haha hehe

If preemie = slow in learning, then what happen to my hubby? He not preemie leh.

hee hee...

Me still sick. Now fever. urghhh...

Happy holidays mummies.

Happy holiday!

Jane thats my plan too. to stay at home to cut costs, and because I am really tired...

This morning my boy woke up at 2am because he slept at 8pm last night. We ignored him so he kept making noise calling daddy and mummy, then finally at 330am, I woke up. I read to him, flashed cards to him (crazy right????flashed cards at 330am!), then let him played some puzzles. Finally at 5am, he went back to sleep. wowowowowowowowoo, want my life.

Jane, you are right, siang is the most special in this world to you. I believe all our kids are. Thanks for teaching me to be contended n to look at my child in a special way.

Hi Jacelyn, your boys handsome handsome eh...why you cut away your face in the picture??? Aiya.. But you look like you got very nice long hair eh...

Breast issue again...! Just now I try to go and prick out those whitish 'ducts' on my nipple. Some can come out easily.. like a half dried pimple..but some cannot and i very scare of pain.. I do until i feel like vomiting!!! So I stopped. I don't think it's blocked ducts or anything cos I read block ducts are painful but I don't feel pain. I really don't know what they are but I hope like waht xbliss describe.. my nipple will "all join together" again!!!! Aiyo..so RA.. better don't let any husbands come into this thread...

Jane, you are most welcome, will pat pat you more ok
you also consoled me when I am down and upset, we know what we are going thru
I am say this again, glad to have found this thread to know that I am not isolated

Stressed
Fever go away, there's no place for you to stay, Mummy Stressed x 3, wants to play.

May this song brings you cheer, get well soon!! (Sing it in the tune of rain rain go away!)

kkf,
Tell you something to make you really really happy. My girl cannot say 1-10, cannot say A-Z, cannot speak mandarin either. Cannot sing twinkle twinkle little star (only do perfect action). So the truth is your Dash is very very clever, you need not psycho yourself lei.

Having said this, this mummy here has the least concern. I only want her to be healthy and happy cos this is her childhood ma. I remembered I went to kindergarten at age 5 for K1. My parents are illiterate and I managed to score 299/300, 2nd in class in K2. No tuition also. hehe! Of course I understand that time has changed and the education system has become more diffcult and becoz of this I feel the more we should let them enjoy play play and more play at such tender age. In few years time, they will be buried in books. So poor thing right?

Precious one...you so cute again! haha.

I will stop my comparing now. Dun listen to my colleague...hee. You know hor, I saw her letting her one and a half year old dd join shichida, so I followed. Haha. You see me lar! Now she told me she want to let her dd join music school! Hmm...aiyo me better stop my stupid brain, else one day you will see me begging on street.