Premature babies support group

Hey all....remember me? been so long since i came here...been so bz at work and with my gal...she is 10 months(corrected age) and can stand and crawl and walk a few steps..

how is everyone?

Hellp puppyduppy!

Got photo of your gal?

Morning everyone, you see lar, saturday also got to wake up so early! crazy! haha.

I will be busy today with lot of things. I need to go take my boy's passport, then go to raffles hospital to do nose checkup, after which go sentosa for family day, finally go YU GUO for tui na! busy day today!

Next saturday is my own family day at expo organised by Singapore hokkien huay guan. Busy busy busy.

<font color="ff0000">disneymickey</font>, forgot to reply you, when the bags arrive, will inform you thru sms.

Nobody post today? I shall post some pictures of my boy at siloso beach!

Jane did you go eventually?
I just stayed there for think around 40 minutes cause so boring. Then I went vivo.
1053661.jpg
1053662.jpg

good day mummies,

busy weekend for all of us. Hubby and i have been preparing for a mini "full month" celebration for bryan just amongst close relatives and esp for the docs and nurses who are the ones watching bryan all the time.

Bryan has officially hit 1.2kg today! So happy to see the target getting nearer to 1.5kg (dunno why 1.5kg but i like the no.!) He has been tolerating his milk feeds so today upsize to a "L" size milk tube (dunno what to call that injection like tube). Very satisfying to see him digest the milk, put on weight, and even to watch him cry when he poos. Today is our first try at changing his diaper too! ewww!

xbliss
If I am not wrong, the milk tube is called the syringe, can be used for both feeding and injection. Glad that Bryan is growing well. Only 0.3 kg more to 1.5 kg.....it will be achieved within a few days. Full month soon, how time flies...

My girl will be admitted to KKH tomorrow, her scope/surgery should take place around 1pm and the ops theatre is on the 2nd level. If we're fated to meet, I'll see you tomorrow.

Precious one, hope everything goes well for your little angel's scope/surgery. keep us updated, k?
Will you be staying in the family room?

Xbliss congrats! glad that bryan hits 1.2kg, may he be home with you all very very very soon!

PRECIOUS_ONE
Does angel need to stay in the hospital after the scop or just day surgery only? Hope everythings goes well for angel and take care.

hi precious_one, may angel have a smooth and successful op.

yes, i will be at NICU tomorrow during visiting hours. Will look out for someone whom i think looks like precious_angel though i dunno how you look like.

Hi chloegal
Thanks for your concern. If the scope showed that the hole in the neck is ready for closure, then a surgery will proceed, then angel will have to stay in one night for observation. However, since her surgery is scheduled sometime in the afternoon (subject to delay), most likely after scope if no surgery, they might still keep her for observation, to ensure everything's fine, this is KKH's standard.

kkf
I'll go check later if family room is available. Nowadays, the family room always full cos very limited rooms but my family stayed before. Rather comfortable. At least, we can rest a little.

xbliss
If you happen to read this thread prior to visiting Bryan today. Give you a brief description about me, I'm rather petite in size (155cm only), fair and have long hair. Should be wearing jeans and most likely wait outside the surgery theatre if Ops scheduled on time at 1 pm. We will check into surgery ward 'C' class first. I think it is ward 55. You can't see angel along the passage cos the nurse will bring us to the theatre via back door. haha. My girl might be transfered to High Dependency Ward after surgery (not confirmed).

First time admitting my child w/o hubby cos he has been sick for more than 2 weeks liao. Pray for us. Thanks!

Precious one, yup when my boy went for heart surgery, i stayed in macdonald family room too. Quite a cosy place, and got free internet.

I know how it is to wait outside the operating theatre, want my life!

High dependency ward is not Children ICU right?

Children ICU to me is a very scary place with dreadful memories.

Anyway, may all go well for angel!

Yeah! Angel can wear swim suit to swim soon!

All the best! keep us updated.

good morning mummies

hello puppyduppy

indeed been a while since you pop by. how is everything? wow great milestone your ger has achive (taking steps at 10mths), yes yes is there any picture for sharing?

hi kkf
Haha i went sentosa but like you, after staying for about 1 hour, i find its kind of boring and hence went to takashimaya shoppping instead haha.

Dash look so sporty. i toke some pic but nothing too significant hehe. will try to post once i have it online ;p

and oh, i brought the 5 pieces of the wheel of the bus for siang hehe...

precious_one
do keep us posted on angel update after the scope tomorrow.

xbliss
wonderful! hey, do take pictures of bryan one month cake and mini celebration for memory... so when he grow up, he can see the milestone
i toke a picture of siang one month cake voucher. 1.5KG here comes Bryan! cheers

mich, costa
haha, i finally did some craft work on the poster over last weekend and finally had some rough sketch :p. will try to finish up by this weekend or next so that i can hand in on 20 Nov (because siang has an appointment with the physiotherapist on that day).

Today i am on Half day PM leave. bringing siang for his routine review with SGH ENT centre. gotten rush work now, chat with all mummies later
have a wonderful everyone

kkf
no lar, High Dependency is two steps lower than ICU. After ICU, I think still got ICU-step down unit close to ICU. ICU is a very scary name not to child also adult lei....

It is best that she return to C ward means that she is breathing very well. Just cross my finger. I'm going to leave my house at 0900 hrs after the crazy morning traffic. Can't bring along my lap top cos my hands very full liao, one big bag for my girl and one small bag for my live in tonight ..... The rest of the things will ask my hubby to bring over later. He's going to rest at home the whole morning until I call him on A's progress.

Yes, will ask A to go swimming with our handsome Dash one day. Then Dash can impressed her with his mandarin that will make my girl wants to learn mandarin. hahaha

hi precious, i think i missed ur earlier post. Dun worry, will look out for u. and i will definitely pray hard for angel too. today will be a tiring day for you, do hope you get enough rest and drink more water. i will look out for you outside OTs. if u see someone staring at u, u can wave at me to signal me k?! lol..

thank you all mummies for urging me and bryan on! just to let u know bryan is now quite pesky! For the past few days, he has learnt to cry when we are there, and we realised that he wants us to change his diapers! So, i had my first try yesterday.. needed 3 pairs of hands (1 pair from hubby, the other pair from nurse - imagine all hands in the small incubator..) while he watch on with eyes big big. Initially, we didn't get his cue until we checked. Then, we decided to ignore his cry just in case he haven't finish his big business and poo again after we change diaper. But he just continued to cry and cry until we panicked and almost went mad! The best part is when we open his diaper to check, he will stop crying and "watch". If we don't change, then he will start crying! and the cycle repeats until you change it. Aiyoh! next time come home, my hand-that-functions-like-leg will have to kar-chew-kin (hand leg fast!) or else he will scream the whole house down. Nurse there all very scared when he cry - lungs got amplifier inside one.

Yesterday feeding time, halfway milk got stuck in the syringe (thanks to precious_one for telling me what that thing is!) And so, the crying started and i felt like spider scrambling to push the milk into his tube, trying to pacify him, trying to find nurse. In the end, all the nurse did was to put few drops of ebm into his mouth and our dear boy shut up immediately and went into lullaland. haiz.... my life is now full of adrenalin rush, must watch my bp already.

Jane Do post photos of siang ok? Yah, sentosa really boring, unless you go the places there, but will be too tiring for us with a kid.

Yes! Wheel of bus is great! My boy really loves them...I find those characters in the vcds very very cute and nice too. The songs are great too.

Precious one, think you are on your way to kkh. Yes, lets find one day to take our kids for a swim! really hope to meet you someday!

All the best once again, angel is super!

precious,
take care. i'm sure angel will b fine.

kkf,
wow, dash looks sporty & handsome! ya, nothing much except the beach @sentosa. but weather not 2 perfect 2. so hot!

xblis,
ya,bryan so cleve, knows who's his mommy alrdy. gd tat u can a chance to practice now, so tat at least u would know wat to expect when bryan goes home.

so tired today. dunno wat happened 2 my ger these few days. super cranky. this morning asked her to say bye-bye to daddy & mommy when reaching my mom's place, oso dun wan. juz wan me to carry. cry for abt 5mins @lift lobby. until i buay tahan, say only left 5more mins 4 u, else i got to go, cos got a company bus to catch. then she kiss me w her face full of saliva & tears.

n no, she's not crying cos dun wan us to leave. she's crying cos she dun wan to say bye-bye. she has this bad habit now. always dun wan to say bye-bye. hubby say must insist her to do it, else v rude.

aiya, now i v tired la. *yawn*

hi xbliss
don't worry you sure can cope one.
bryan super wonder. i remember siang also cannot tahan if his pamper is wet or dirty :p and he love the shower time and now he will yell if he is hungry and when he see his milk bottle :p. this morning after we reach my mum house wow, so embarrasing he yell so loud at the car park and my mum told me even at 8th level she can hear that 'siang is here' keke.

hi kkf
haha ok ok. when i (or shall i say my lao gong) manage to upload the pic, i will post it. yes, unles the kids is like maybe 5 years old or so, else bringing them can be quita a tiring task... plus not much shade...

me too find the characters of the wheel cute
i think somehow they learn a lot from there.. will go into the two link u recommend later to have a quick look. thanks

Disneymickey yah lor super hot at sentosa! Your gal so cute dun want to say "bye bye"?

Yes, jane do post pictures for us to see!
))))

Now posting cause got access to laptop and got free periods, later wun have time to post anymore cause lessons all the way till 1pm, and after that will be going to my mum's place in pasir ris and wun be able to access. sob.

good morning disneymickey

hmm to me, it seem that your ger have reach another milestone of fully realising the meaning of bye bye. which show she have grown up one stage
to me la, somehow, i don't think its a bad habit (i don't know la, cos me new mummy but from what you describle, its seem to me...your ger has become more and more wise). erh maybe offer her some pat pat and dry her tears...

Siang now wave bye bye like nobody business :p (oooopppps) but then at the same time he will rush to the door and want to go out (thou his hand will wave bye keke). i am also not sure if he know what he wants :p

hi kkf
oh today your class ends at 1pm? brining dash to your mum house ah?

me too waiting for a meeting to start at 10.30 hence now posting haha

kkf, u sure like to surf and post here hor? me too! really enjoy talking in cyberspace with so many friends. btw, i wanted to comment that dash looks very good in the photos! like got put on some weight?!

disneymickey, i got one friend, she always insist her children say their ps and qs.. but her second daughter refuses to! So she left her alone and the child decided to do it. Think she felt very upset whenever she refused to do it, and was compared to her brother who diligently does it.

What Jane says is very true too.. the child knows the meaning already. I find it hard to say bye bye to bryan in NICU, so i always say See You later.. which is much easier on me (and i hope on him!)

Jane, Siang so cute. He is caught in between bye-bye-ing and wanting to follow! I am sure he would have loved to follow u! But dun worry, after he settle in at your mum's place, i'm sure the bye bye he waved earlier din matter so much to him anymore! got toys and food!

jane,
there's a period when my ger oso say bye bye like nobody's biz. yes, she's definitely going thru another stage . the terrible 2 maybe?? urrgghh. but think she's juz being stubborn la. last nite after dinner, we hav decided to put her @ my mom's place while we go makan, so i ask her, wan to go ah-ma's hse, she say yeh-yeh & wave & say bye bye to daddy immediately. sigh.

hello xbliss
me too enjoy chatting here. brightens up my day and also add on new knowledge
. Interesting of saying see you later (learn something new) if next time siang refuse to say bye bye... i will say SYL hehe. point learn. what you say is very very true. From what i know of my son, i think he is OK for me to go off but then he see the door open hence he wants to go out (more than follow me hehe). and yes, food is his priority kekeke...

hi disneymickey
hahahahhaahah...terrible 2 (what a way to describe) maybe ask kkf, about the 2 ;)...

so its norm they wave bye bye like nobody biz....now i am like more assured haha. glad we talk about bye bye today. like my boy lor. see ah ma like see honey :p (majam eat super glue..cannot wait to glue his buttock on my mum tighs) keke

disneymickey, ur girl so cute! got her moods one! i have heard about the terrible 2 phase and seen quite a number of terrible 2s as well. hahaha. i think my hair will be in a mess by the time bryan reaches 2!

Jane, yar, it is so amusing to chat here and listen to our children's stories. It is such a joy for us when they are young, next time they grow older and enter teenagehood will be different issues and uncute issues! I think ur mum must have given him a lot of treats to make him glue so tight!

I got a promotion to share with you all. A contact of mine used to order kids' furniture from this place, and now they are having a sale on their kids' furniture. The furniture very cute and nice, all wooden kind. See if you like, can call them to check stock and order. (I not doing business for them hor!! just that i find the furniture very cute and nice) http://www.prolog.com.sg/maxispace/kidsfurniture/kidsfurn1.htm

the prices are:
Pencil Table and Helicopter (white) Table S$10.00 ea
Pencil Chair and Helicopter Chair S$6.00 ea
Pencil shelf $10 ea
Pencil hanger $6 ea
Easel Out of Stock
Delivery S$30.00 (suggest u self collect, cos items are packed flat like ikea and not very heavy lah)

Jane, thanks will check out my email later
didn't replied earlioer cause my internet was down

Aiyoo...My girl last time refuses to say please. Then before I give her fav pillow or milk, I make her say please. Then that stubborn girl refuses!!!

make me so mad. Then I got everyone to do the same. No please no nen nen or chou chou.

Slowly she got the message. Now she guai guai say please.

i haven't conqured bye bye yet. She can say bye bye on the toy phone. But she very rarely say bye bye to us.

Oh Jane. My dd adores my mum too. Stick to her like glue lor. Inseperable. They only see each other like twice a week whereas she see me everyday. *shake head*

hi xbliss
yes indeed. be it good or bad days, to be able to share and to chat about their eveyday achievement is a joy indeed. wow good lobang you have. OK OK sure will go and take a look hehe...

didi - you are most welcome

hello stressed
haha. talk about shake head. my boy see me he always shake his head (sigh...keke). only when he cry, then he will call mmamamamamamamam... keke. 'Please' is another word that can be quite a tough task hor...hmmm... interesting way u have in aksing everyone to do the same (for your gal to learn). its a good teaching method.

hello!im new in this thread.after reading this thread i found it very heart warming.everyone here is so nice and close to each other.i have some question hope that u ladies can help me.im 34 weeks plus now,i was admitted for abt 10 days then go home rest till now since my water bag leak on 16/10/07.today juz went to gynae check up the water lvl still sufficient.but my baby was detected her right side kidney is enlarge since i was week 20.a few test has been done and i was told by my gynae n pd tat the worst scenario is my baby need to do operation wen she is abt 1 month old coz the left kidney still functioning well.but my baby is kinda small size atm only 1.5kg at week34++.so he suggest me to do c-sect and the possibility my baby wil stay in icu is very high.my gynae may refer me to kkh if i have financial difficulties.im currently seeing gynae at gleneagles.anyone here can let me know how much is the NICU cost for baby tat stay there abt 1 month?is there any difference if i deliver at gleneagles then transfer my baby to kkh for further treatment?or is it better i go deliver at kkh?pls advice tks alot.

stressed,
my ger still cannot say please. but i taught her to call to the person if she needs help or wan something. so far, so gd. except for a few times, when she snatched something frm someone (eg. daddy), i told her off, n she'll rtn to daddy & call daddy, then daddy pass to her.

i think it's gd tat u insist everybody to do the same as u, so tat ur ger knows tat's the correct way to do. i would like tat, but sometimes kenna sabo by parents/ILs. sigh.

my ger's head shaking sometimes not v accurate 1. but slowly teaching her. hubby say, now abt 70% accuracy haha.

my ger oso loves ah-ma. she can't call ah-gong yet. but she calls ah-gong as da-da (??) but every nite when i go pick her up, she'll b v happy & on weekends, she'll stick 2 me. ytd morning when i went out bfast with my parents & sis, she doesn't even wan ah-ma to carry. but wan ah-yi 2 carry. can c my mom q angry.

harlo, fairylander,
welcome you to this board...we are quite close to each other here as we hv been thru bad and good times together..

if you are for eg private class A1 in gleneagles and if trf to kkh...the first $15k wld be considered as private till you manage to get a downgrade to C class...

usually bbs will need to stay in hospital till 2kg, or can breathe on their own and drink etc...

tink the bill for one day stay in scn under c class shld be less than $100 but of cse, this does not include operation etc..usually the cost wld be higher in the beginning and then tapering off....

maybe the rest of the mummies can help you....my son stayed in nicu/scn for 5 mths 1 wk..

hi costa,
tks for the info.i was staying in 2 bedded at GlenE for the past 10 days when i was admitted due to water bag leakage.the total bill came out abt 5k.i claim 4k from medisave.so u mean if i transfer to kkh and deliver there now i have to prepare 15k in cash or is it posssible to claim medisave till i manange to downgrade to C class?

fairylander,
no pblem...i m not too sure...i think the $15k can be paid by medisave.....u can call the business centre of kkh to find out..

you can downgrade to C class but in the meantime if you deliver in kkh..the baby will follow the mum's "class" till downgrade approval given subject to means test..

i dun noe if i m givg you the right advice or not..u want to PM me?

fairylander,
i got yr pm and replied you liao and also going to add u into my msn......so tt we can communicate..

hi fairylander,

abt the 15K, i think it depends on your length of stay at the hospital. if you/bb stay ten days, you can charge sgd450 x 10days = sgd4500 to your medisave. if you/bb stay 2 mths, then you can charge sgd450 x 60days = sgd 27000 to your medisave. hope that info helps. think it used to be 400 per day but they recently increased to 450 per day (chargaeble to medisave). take care.

Hi fairylander
My gynea is from Mt E initially.Then he ask me to deliver my baby in NUH coz it will be cheaper for me.Thus,he recommended me a doc there.My NUH gynea was really nice.He let me downgrade to C class coz he forsaw that my baby will stay in NICU for long.

Dint regret delivering at NUH coz it's really cheaper there.If you deliver at private hospital,then transfer your bb to govt hospital,the charge is slightly cheaper than private hospital.The chances of allowing you to downgrade to C class is very low.

xbliss, so envious... everytime I read about your experience with bryan in NICU, I wish I too can do the same with my gal when she was there. They do not allow any participation from parents here!!! And my greatest regret is that I cannot give her any of my BM. Treasure your time with Bryan. You know the best thing is that you have the nurses and doctors around to 'troubleshoot'!!! So learn as much as you can from there..

So nice to hear Bryan progressing... it's really amazing to see his progress.. babies are strong survival....

Fairytale, welcome on board. Sorry to hear about your situation. Sorry I can't give you any advice on the hospital stay cos my situation is slightly different. I'll pray for you that everything will go on fine. Keep in touch with us and do take care of yourself.. rest more and work can wait..

Ooohh... I'm so sorry!!! fairylander and fairytale are two different person... how silly can I get!!! So paiseh...

My last posting was supposed to be addressed to fairylander...

so tired today. guess din sleep well last nite. ltr got yoga. last wk i yawned frm beginning till end of lesson,kenna suan by instructor haha. hope my ger tonite guai guai, no energy to scold her

tmrw & wed will b bz with a meeting @amara hotel. but will come back office for half a day, so may not hav time to come into the forum. continue to write mommies..

c u