Premature babies support group

We also had our fair share of "Is she gg home today?" "Doc say can." Then after that "Aiyah. Dr say cannot.." moments.

At the end of the entire episode, we think dd was better in the hospital as the nurses do an excellent job. All I have to do is to be a cow. When we actually brought her home, we were greeted with screams and cries. She was never like this in the NICU. Hiaz. That's when it hit me that life will never be the same.

Anyway, patience is a virtue. Hugz to everyone. We all have been through it.

hi xbliss
we shall arranged as my sms. don't worry too much. Another suggestion i have is you can consider get EBM bags (that is some of the mummies i get to know does). if not, always ask the nurse to help u keep the bottles u send in :p then u pick up everytime u visit bryan.

you still in confinement right...take care (it been raining recently).

hi kaiz...hmmm sorry, i don't have any good contacts for PDs in the north and north east...

hi stressed - haha...i know what u meant. i really do...+pat pat+ and hugzz....i think my neighbour is the greatess in this world for willing to accept my boy climbing their window grills whenever we by pass his flat... :p (mummies who read my thread... cheer up. its a raining raining day).

today mark my boy taking his 2nd peunmoccal jab. next month is MMR liaozz....

Stressed,
i get wat you mean....last time when the doc said my son can be discharged..i still wait wait, then he kena a bad cough and cant drink milk...and the meesees told me "aiyah, ask you to discharge you dare not and u see lah"

so if can discharge, better faster faster discharge.....dun tink we are cant cope..get wat i mean?

same thg for your ger as for my son..when i was at kkh, a nurse told me "i always remember yr son as a baby who doesnt cry for milk"

i told you"u hv been deceived badly.....he is vy norti and screams vy loudly..." hahah...

kaiz,
i think i did reply yr post.....why do you need the suctioning thingy?

I'm glad to know that the price of the plastic caps has gone down.

Talk about my girl going home. She had a tracheostomy surgery done in week 38. We had the understanding that she will be home once the surgery is done, may be 2 weeks' time. That was in Apr 2005. But my girl was not discharged until 3 Aug . Sigh... So we waited until our necks very long.

I agreed with stressed that life will never be the minute the baby hit home.

For our case, our stress level went much higher because we have to not look after but nurse the baby to health. And we have the equipment beeping at home and the oxygen concentrator making loud noise. There's no nurse that we could relied on so it was kind of scary. In fact, the way we arranged our girl's room is exactly like the hospital setting. I recalled one day, during suction, I sucked out something pinkish in color. I was so afraid that I drove all the way to NICU immediately and showed the sisters the catheter with the pinkish phlegm. Then we were told that we sucked too deep.

This nursing experience had made me a very light sleeper now. Every bit of movement, groan, deep breathing etc. from my girl even now....will wake me up.

It was so stressful then but I thank GOD for my girl's health has improved greatly.

gee, there's a word missing from my post above.
It should read:

I agreed with stressed that life will never the SAME the minute the baby hit home.

Sorry!

xbliss

you can buy the plastic caps from the distributor in Upper Cross Street tel 65323855 - 0.80 each.

NUH lactitionist told me to not take fernugreek for preemies as it causes something...forgot. I also take domperidome and it is safe.

xbliss

u can buy the caps from the distributor in upper cross street tel: 6532 3855 - 0.80 each -i bought few months ago.

lindah, you so poor thing, I took fenugreek and thank GOD, no diarhea. It looks like NUH and KKH lactation consultants have different views on fenugreek. I recalled fenugreek at my time in 2005 ran out of stock across all GNC outlets The waiting list on GNC list was long too. I managed to get a few bottles from Nature Farm after some time.

precious,

it was kkh consultant who told me to stop fenugreek and then gave me domperidone. think it was sister choo. i told her i was gg to loo more often so she gave me domperidone instead

kai where you stay? If sengkang, i always go kids clinic dr lilian, quite a nice lady doctor.

Btw, me so super kiasu, I am going to enrol my boy into holiday program! haha! I thought during the whole december holiday, nothing to do, might as well bring him to learn something. Initially, consider julia gabriel, then find that they only have november classes (when I have all my meetings and plannings). So eventually going for zoo phonics class most prob. Just a week program, 1 and a half hour session, costs only $114.

Anyway, anyone interested to join me? its for 1 and a half to 3 years old, and 10th dec - 14th dec 930am-11am. I chose siglap centre.

Alicia, sad to say my breast milk not much as well, so cannot advise much.

xbliss hope bryan will get better and drink lots of milk and go home soon.

costa, will the extra heart vessel cause any problem? My boy next time if visit dentist to extract tooth must ask for antibiotics also.

why is there discussion about plastic caps? I thought the bottles n caps are provided by kkh. I still remember sometimes their caps not enough one, and bottles too! haha, i always very kiasu, at one go bring home around 20 plus...keke.

kkf, would love my girl to meet your handsome and gifted son but Siglap a bit too far for me lei. I intend to enrol her in zoo phonics at Bt Timah when she is ready.

lindah, previously Yen Ping of KKH ask me to eat fenugreek, perhaps after 2 yrs, research might have found it not as effective or good hor?

precious

think it affects diff pple differently. some pple may be ok w it while some (like myself) not suited.

okay lah all mummies. bye bye now. i am going home... wish i can sleep on the train but sure cannot get seat. and the buses go round and round.

Good news to share with u all.. Craydon is back home today!! His weight this morning is 1.98kg and the doc called me today to say he is all ready to go home..

Anyway got a headache now cos he is not sucking at all when use Avent milk bottle.. Lucky we got a spare one from KKH which is NUK one and he finish the milk within a few mins hence we know the problem lie with Avent leh.. Now my hubby went to get some NUK bottles for him and tomolo I hav to take care of him myself cos my hubby can't take leave for tomolo.. So afraid that I can't handle leh..

alicia
Craydon is home. This is the BEST news. It will be nice if we can have good news everyday. Congrats and enjoy your motherhood. Tomorrow will be a very challenging but definitely enjoyable day for you.

Thanks, precious_one.. I m more worried that I can't handle tomolo.. My mil is not much of help as she is always not at home..

if any mummies updating the list, total stay in SCN is 21 days.. Thankss..

sometimes I cannot handle my boy who is 2 years old also! haha.

Happy that craydon is home alicia! enjoy your time with your boy!

alicia, congratulations! *pop champagne* have a fun time bonding with craydon and learning all about him!

Jane: Thanks for helping with the arrangements. i checked out pharmacy today.. no have the plastic caps. But as amy said, i will be going to the army market tomorrow to see see look look.

costa, sorry about today! i realised i am another sotong mother who din even know that there's detergent for bottles.. so went on shopping spree bought a lot of things. kanchiong lah. for all i know, bryan was drinking from dirty milk bottles though we scrubbed like mad and sterilized 2-3 times.

kkf,
dun noe if dash has the same condition as my son....maybe he doesnt hv...dun worry too much...they are just worried back flow of dirty water may infect the heart..

chk wif yr cardio doctor..i dun like the idea of taking too many antibiotics oso

lindah.
yes, fenugreek can cause the runs......domperidone shd be vy safe as its just a signal to the brain to produce bm..

actually i also din really fully feed my son ebm...after a few mths, supply ran out and had to be supplemented wif fm....but still i tried to express but later supply got lower and lower

rgdg my son physio appt today..must do some exercises..he lost his temper a few times until i dem paiseh and kept screaming...the physio asked me is his temper so bad at all..sad to say, i said yes.......

tink nothg else more to do than exercises..its really bo pian......

xbliss,
no pblem at all. no worries....alamak, you shld have asked us mah...im more worried you let bryan drink ebm fm dirty bottles...

we can meet up another time..u got my number.can text me again....

i just got home....kkh was my second home last year....

eh, tink u better rest more during confinement leh...

alicia,
congrats....told u everythg wld be okay and now craydon can go home..so faster faster go home..hospitals r not the cleanest of places as i always say

hi costa,

Oh i was asking about PD clinic that have the suction of phelm service in case needed in future. Cos my boy's apnea relapse when the viral infection hit him. It was triggered by secretion accumation.

costa, yar lor. i feel so guilty that my blurness might have caused bryan to kena the gut problem.. sigh sigh. so sad. after i hear missy say about the detergent, i knew i had to go get it right away.. so guilty and upset with myself.

today's night visit was fine.. bryan is back at 1ml feeds and tolerating it well. he had his first blood transfusion today.. kena draw too much blood for past few days. he looks so red after that.

Taking childcare leave today, so not going work. Lazy me! hee. Actually dash been sick for so many weeks, never really stay at home to take care of him, think I shd do something for him, so decided to take leave to be with him today.

Costa, my boy went thru heart operation before to patch up the moderate VSD hole. So his condition is different from bern bern, but still he will need to take antibiotics for dentist procedure.

kkf,
is dash better today?
is the vsd hole smthg like pda?

many full term kids hv the blood vessel thingy and needs to take antibiotics before dental treatment as a precaution..

some adults may oso hv tis heart vessel thingy without knowing as we dun go for regular heart scans since birth....antibiotics i tink are just a preventive measure just in case...(tink it cld be same for dash)

yterday at the cardiac clinic,there was a young lady doc there who listened to his heart and said that there is a dun noe wat when she was feeling his liver..

so of cse being a non professional,i asked how come lidat..she said heart also concerns liver wor..

but later, this lady doctor asked the more senior doctor and then he said its okay..see him in six months time....

hopefully everythg okay..

xbliss,
dun tink so much..even my son also got gut pblem last time..its common tt they cant absorb...Blood tranfusion is becuz their bodies are too immature to produce the red blood cells or smthg lidat..

last time, i scared until like dun noe wat..but later on, okay liao....they hv to do it over many hours as they are still small..it maybe worrying to see them lidat..but it shld be okay...dun worry...

xbliss,
dun worry. at least u hav learnt something. i'm sure all mothers oso hav sotong moments. tat's y we r here to learn frm one another.

did u ask ur hubby to try pharmacists @ other hospitals? i rem buying @ MT A pharmacy & there r a lot. nev mind, i'm sure the army mkt have.

kkf,
hope dash is better? ya, gd tat u can take leave & take care of him today. hope he recovers soon.

alicia,
congrats! i think u wont' hav time to login today? heehee..but anyway, enjoy little craydon. dun worry, like wat kkf say, i sometimes oso cannot control my 1 1/2 yr old ger. but slowly, u will get used to him & he'll get used to u haha

good morning mummies,

wow! yippy craydon is coming home
alicia must be really busy now. but then, i am sure you can cope somehow, its not that tough. as kkf say, uptill now, i also still cannot handle my that big worm :p

kkf - u got the email from the mummy? she wanna put her gal picture into our montage..sorry, i know its like late submission... hope its not too troublesome for u to help to touch up :p.

xbliss : no mention. i have very limited knowledge of motherhood but i am more than happy to do what i can for bryan. don't worry, i am very sotong too. i manage to find out all the little things because i got many sisters (who are all mothers). slolwy you will know more... the detergent is available in most places. learning is always start from somewhere right, no one is born knowledgeable. don't worry too much. Bryan is drinking! wow! soon he will need more, so continue expressing
he will be ok

oh xbliss, just a small little note to share. if your BM is in good flow, i suggest maybe u consider catching bryan milk milk time and go there and express fresh for him. that is what i think that time my boy would appreciate from me (that was about all i could do for him that time too). but please do let the nurse know beforehand so that they don't need to defroze the BM for u....

hi kai - perhaps you wish to do a google and call up the PD that is near the areas that you are looking for? just a suddenly thoughts i have...

kkf,
is tat ur sis in the BP thread? she say can't confirm meeting me @bugis weekday. maybe i can go ur place (@ sengkang rt?) 2 collect. then i can c the pretty mommy heehee

oh mummies, i got one collegue she ask me. if her boy (around 3 years old) does not want to drink milk. can she give him those vitamin drops that was given to my boy when he was in KKH?

hi xbliss, don't feel bad.. i'm another sotong mother like you..also didn't know must use detergent to clean until one fine day I was wondering why the teat oily oily one..

Wow, alicia, your boy is home... congrats.. welcome to the SAHM club

Briefly read thru' the posts..

xbliss, hope Bryan has resumed his feed today. My gal also faced with digestion problems initially. Sounds similar to Bryan. Her tummy is always very bloated, even when we brought her home. The doctors will monitor closely and resume his feed when he is ready.

Talking about MIL visiting ICU.. I also have my share of 'embarrassment'! My MIL will go around the ICU looking at other babies until the doc came to tell us to stop doing that!!! On the day of discharge, when my gal was in the SCN..while waiting, she even wanted to go and pat other babies who were crying!! I so scare and quickly tell her better don't, later the nurse says we spread germs to the other babies!!!!

i called up the distributor for the plastic caps that amy was mentioning. going to check it out today. Here are the details:

Chang Chun
Blk 34 Upp Cross St (2 blocks away from People's park OG taxi stand)
#03-132
Opening hrs: 1.30pm-8.30pm Mon-Sat

Each plastic cap is $0.80.. she said cannot be cheaper even if buy in bulk :p

I'm not sure if it is those that must buy the disc or just a cap. Any mummies interested can let me know.. i can buy since going today. Can PM me before 12pm ok?

(hope i haven't violated any forum rules for posting the dealer and arranging this "spree-like" purchase!)

lili and costa, i know preemies prone to indigestion, but see ur child like that in nicu really heartbreak. But never mind, Bryan has gotten better and does not cry so much anymore. He started opening his eyes big big 2 days ago. everytime i am there, he will do that! so cute..

lili, my mother in law too.. the nurses scolded her.. ask her to see her own grandson. haha. she already know the history of the few babies surrounding bryan cos she go talk to their grandparents (talk about finding ur own match!). i suppose it is also a form of support for pple of that age.. they dunno what is forum mah..

Haha, lili your in laws very helpful.

Disneymickey, can I can meet you sengkang, no problme. My sis will go bugis normally weekends only.

Jane yup got the photo, and updated. Send a new montage to you all with the added photo.
1037605.jpg

lili
your MIL like my mum. In SCN, my mum wanna pick up the baby next to mine if the baby was crying. But as she dun dare, she will pat the baby to stop her from crying.

xbliss,
yah - my ma did networking when she visits. then scold me for not being as frenly. :p

costa
looks like exercises realli bo pian. eh, when can your son roll over ah? i am still waiting for my son to do that leh... very impatient.

alicia
congrats on craydon's homecoming... hope you dun get too many sleepless nights.

I have done dash's poster. But not sure what to include inside. Sorry, I may have missed out the posts on the poster previously.
Like this can? A4 ok?
1037714.jpg

lili/lindah,
my mum also lidat...go and talk to the other parents or grandparents and then comfort them somemore.......can u imagine?

she wld also go and look at the card detailing the birth....lindah, u noe the card right which says mummy's name, baby's weight at birth etc....and tell me tis baby got alot of hair hor and this baby tis and that....

infact she noes more abt the next bed/next next bed's babies more than me leh...

lindah,
my mum also will tell me tis and that, then i wld say "i come to hospital not to socialise,one, okay"...

rgding roll over, i also cant remember but i did remember the physio ask us to stimulate him by letting him look at things on one side and then the other.....u got the physio exercises in notes?

u tell me, how can i make a one year old child sit down and play wif me and teach him things....i cant imagine i can do that if i were to follow the instructions of the physio?

alicia,
congrats on craydon's homecoming....do join us here if you can

kai,
i not sure abt the suctioning..but my son had a bout of bronchitis and i rented a nebuliser from the paedi to let him use....is north east..sengkang?maybe you ask sengkang mums whether they hv any idea?i live at the east..

hi kkf - thanks for putting up the montage. so nice.

wow..your poster done! cool! so many picture.

i too had something like that but then (mine is still in my imagination and not done up yet) i intend to put in some wordings and such. aka magazine style :p. mine board measure about 80cm x 60cm if i remember correctly, from the flyer of the premmiess awareness day they say the poster should not exceed 90cm x 90cm...

Btw, costa can send me the information about the premiee awareness day? think me deleted without knowing...sigh

kkf,
okay, i send you now........actually i wanted to post here but i dun noe how to shrink enough to post.....

yr poster quite nice.....maybe can add some words detailing his development....

costa

yah i remember the card. must remember to dig out to put in album. that time i remembered i wanted to do scrapbook including the ultrasound scan but then in the end i just print and put his pics in one album.... have to dig out one day.

i dunno where my physio notes are. think in my drawer. can imagine bernard now can crawl away whenever he's bored n dun want to do the exercise. haha. very challenging.

kai, there is one in sengkang:
http://www.kidslink.com.sg/clinics.html

but nvr tried before. if i try the bedok branch will let you know. dunno how much is consultation fees. may try the kinder clinic at siglap centre - the doctors are certified PD + Neonates. First time consultation = $80. After that is $60 per visit. Suctioning is an additional $15. Exp, hor.

you can find list of PDs here:
http://www.eguide.com.sg/productservice-29544-pediatricians-Singapore,Asia.html

but no district SengKang listed so have to slowly browse.

Hi costa, shd be able to go for 30th november. So far, think school calender says we are officially off from 27th november!
I will be bringing dash there.

Will add some words in. But then hor, how to submit? must bring personally there?

lindah,
if you cant find yr notes let me noe...i tink i shld hv mine wif me.....it shld be similar all geared 2wards motor skills devt....

pm me if you cant find...

my son vy easily bored one....i dun noe how....the physio said play wif him one toy at least five minutes...i said i wld try loh...i usually put him in the play yard and then dump all the toys there..it seems tt i shldnt hv done that...but wat to do, wats done cannot be undone?just try to remedy the situation...

kkf,
you can just drop it off at the hospital nicu if you happen to be near by...or if dash has any appts, just drop it off..or if u are more familiar wif anyone of the nurses, then arrange wif her to drop it off..can?so far, i hvnt finished mine....passing it up is vy remote to me..hahaa...

actually I also very KPO I will go near the bbs too but I no touch them. But the nurses will glare at me. I scare liao. I faster siam to my dd. Then I know next time I better dun even look at other bbs. Wait the nurses angry with me and treat my dd badly.

haha..

But we just use normal paper to print is it? Mine is just A4 size, can? I dunno how to enlarge.

Another MIL incident.. I brought my gal back to my gynae clinic for her jab. I saw my gynae and told him to come over to take a look at my gal. He hasn't seen her since the day he delivered her. My MIL was carrying my gal and the first thing she saw the gynae was to lift up my gal's shirt and show him the 'tuqi' balloon... Till now, she still thinks that it's because the gynae left too much of the umbilical cord behind that's why her belly button pops out... I was so stunned and paiseh.. dunno what to say and just smiled sheepishly at him!!