Premature babies support group

disneymicky/lindah/stressed/mich
I also feel like dat-dun want go. he can see whenevr go there, I sorta tense up.

in end, I think must bit selfish and insist go home earlier etc. naughty of me. just that I thk sometime hubby not know or understand then they won't cater for our needs to hav space from IL. IL sometimes too focused on the grandkid only.
I cannot tahan eh. its my time. i shld have say how i wan spend it. not that I totally dun want go, just not so frequent or tt long hehe :p

Hi, wow, forum down yesterday.. so terrible hor...

Lindah, Hami looks very pro in this position eh. I was telling my hubby when my gal finally could be at this position that she looks like the normal babies in the advertisements for diapers already... Now we can consider going to go studio to take pictures liao.. Cos got new pose!!!
Hee hee.. me like you.. scare scare of my MIL.. sigh..

You know, there is a thread in this forum on MIL problems.. once I went in to read... wow a lot of problems eh.. maybe if we go in and read, our IL problems may seems smaller.. hee hee IL problems also need support groups...!!

mich, i just pm you

wow aabout the ils...maybe stressed is right. we should print a t-shirt "I MAYBE CUTE BUT NO FEEDING ME"

costa,
absence make the heart grow fonder!
hehehe. in a way good lar - you dun have to subject yourself to pressures from ILs.
my MIL and mum are ex-neighbours, so they quite close one.

daec,
sometimes give in to him, sometimes make him give in to you lah. guess it's abt give n take.

lili,
ya - was thinking of studio photos soon too. in fact i oredi reserve slot w FunShotz... but Hami needs more practice. he gets easily tired pushing up.
there's a support grp for MIL problems? Haha. That's interesting.
Hope I dun need it, man. Sometimes I think I subject myself to more stress than necessary. My MIL realli quite harmless.

Stressed
2 pcs of that t-shirts please.... Thanks!

Daec
My in laws will bring whatever they like when they visit my boys.
After they left, the food will go to my maids and my sisters tummy. Shhhh.....
My Twin 2 is very fussy with food so he usually dun eat such snacks. Then MIL will say why you everything also dun eat!

Lindah
Poster almost done. You want to catch a glimpse of it? Heee....

Costa
My in laws dun help also, Just visit, play, read, feed them with unhealthy snacks and say Bye Bye.

Lindah/ Lili
Aiyah... The discussion on the studio pictures topic is tempting me.
Feel like bringing D&E for the studio shoot too.

lindah,
got .. in fact, got many forums on MIL/DIL/FIL/SIL prob. but 2 much discussions may not do u any gd, i feel. but sometimes still need a channel to vent our frustrations

last nite my ger started to refer to dirty things as yee-yee.. eg. water on my dad's shirt. when bathing her, she say her arm yeeyee cos got water. my hubby fed up say then ur whole head yee yee (cos was washing her hair). she was stunned 4 a moment, as if really considering wat her daddy was saying. i couldn't stop myself & laff non-stop haha

disneymickey,
yr daughter very cute hahah......and smart...can refer to dirty thgs as yee yee.....

mich,
my inlaws see my son so rarely tt they are also not close at all, cant blame them as they alrdy hv great grandchildren whom two of them even older than bernard..so they bochup, then i also bo hiew..hahaha...

mich
you probably shud do studio shoot since D&E are at a cute age now!

ya leh, wanna catch a glimpse of your artwork.

disney
i agree. somemore forum, you never know who's reasing your complaints. if got pple sabo you then jialat. no good for the r/s.

your daughter so cute. hehehe. so innocent rt! must be thinking realli hard abt what daddy said.

costa,
but my sister not 2 happy haha. cos my ger has been calling her yee-yee (we hav been trying to ask her to call ah yi, but still yee-yee). so this morning she complain say she c ah yi as dirty haha

Many posts!

Think our discussion today is on in laws? haha.

Anyway, just brought dash to see doc. Yeah, false measles, phew!

Let me read the posts before I post more...

kkf,

glad it's juz falst measles. did the doc tell u it's actually q common esp after fever?? my ger had tat after she took MMR. but hers are juz 2-3 spots, but it's worrying enuff. glad tat dash is ok

disneymickey,
hahah..same for my sister....i always say yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee....hahha...

kkf,
false measles....or Roseola..did doc give med?just fever medicine right?..after the rashes come out..everythg okay...my elder son kena last time,i took pictures haha.....

Precious one, I agree! Before I have kid, me and hubby very loving as well...haha. Now, all our attention on our boy, think we are not so close liao...we love our boy more. haha.

Costa, my memory failing me...why must bern sees cardio? I thought only my boy is seeing. He jus went to see doc tan last wednesday, next appointment is 1 year later.

Mich, do bring your handsome boys for photoshoot. I try to bring my boy for studio shoot every year...hee

Talking about in laws...haha. I also have complaints about them. They have lots or relatives going their house to stay (my mum in law is an indonesian), so last time I got angry for that, because my boy was still very young and under their care. I always fear that they will spread diseases to him.

Anyway, actually, I do think my in laws are good enough liao...not much complaints. All old people will tend to raise kids in their own ways. Last time, they feed their kids anything that they can find, so now they also feed our kids with anything they can find lor...haha.

I also dunno what I am talking.

I haven't work on the poster yet leh...how? when is dateline?

stressed
heheh gd ah let hubby taste how difficult it is :p
dunno leh my hubby still like dun learn though he try also. In end, I use guilt heheh. if u sayang her, then u let her go home early so she dun cry still yet to see if it work tho

Lindah
wah tough like dat as then will compare2 brother. hope u get along with ur sis-in-law so at lest got geng. my hubby only son so also lot pressure on him also. his sis and aunts bochap me, very cliqueish

scared if dun set record straight now - forever be habit hard to change. eg.if I give in, one thing FIL want is for us stay there weekends. yikes become weekend nomad

yeah lah must give and take.true true.

mich
wah sound like wat my sis kena.in end, she just grumble, can't do much. when e kids older, she told them to request for more healther food hehe

disneymickey, never leh, doc didn't say that it was common. Anyway, my boy got fever before but did not have that leh. Now suddenly got it, dun understand why?

His rashes very obvious, all over face, tummy, and back. Think will get worse.

The doc gave cream to apply. His fever has subsided so no need anymore fever medicine.

I think Yee easier for kids to pronounce...haha, my boy also called my sis "yeeyee".

Btw, mich ask you ah, have you bought any stuff from shichida before? Me thinking of getting their flashcards, do they help?

kkf,
dun worry. the spots will be gone soon.

aiya, juz heard frm hubby, ytd he brought the photos (taken @phuket) to bind @queensway, the person there say need 1 wk!! how difficult is it 2 bind?? i ask him y nev qn the person y must take so long. he juz ans me never. i wan to faint!

Yest received a good news from my hubby who spoken to 1 of the nurse that Craydon can come home today.. But this morning, his weight drop by 10g hence doc said still need to stay another 1-2 days to confirm.. Abit disappointed cos I hav already line up his toys, blanket and pillows on his baby cot waiting for him to sleep in tonite.. Dun know y he lose weight cos he shd be keep gaining leh.. And I so worry cos he kept sneezing leh.. Hope it wasn't me wwho spread the virus to him even though I recovered before I visited him..

Got a question to ask u gals.. As my milk supply is getting super lower and lower, like to ask if I can mix the milk together from the different timing of the day that I had expressed out?

Say 8am one can mix with 11am one?

disneymickey,
I think most men have the same trait, they never question one....hehehe, my hubby also like that so I learn that if I want something on an urgent basis, do myself! If things can drag, then ask Mr Easy to do it lor. But still must follow up with him to remind him to collect. hahaha

Alicia totally understand your disappointment. Last time, the hospital called and told me my boy can come home, then suddenly called again and said they discovered he got hernia, need to operate!

Anyway, not to worry, craydon will be home by this week.

Hmm...no problem with mixing I shd say?

disney,
kah kah kah *LOL* my hubby is oso lidat! Me being the kiasu one will ask - why u nvr ask this, nvr ask that? hehehehehehe...

kkf,
good to hear it's only fake measles..

daec,
you hb only son, no wonder lah. if my hubby, sure i kena marah if i dun let him stay. haha.

i different case cos grow up in same neighbourhood. they are not cliquish so it's quite alright. but not nice to complain to SIL and BIL's wife on your MIL lah - know what i mean? Become like ganging up on MIL.

alicia,

think try not to mix, cos EBM should be in room temp for max 4hours, fridge for 48hrs, top-compartment freezer for 2 months and deep freezer for 6mths.

I din mix.

alicia,
it's ok 2 mix. cos sometimes when we pump, not exact amt 2 feed mah, so still have 2 mix frm 2 diff pumps 2 form 1 feed. anyway, juz rem FIFO.

oso, dun worry 2 much. it's better 2 craydon 2 b super ok then come home rt? at least there r nurses & docs there 2 care 4 him. dun worry. he's coming home v soon.

kkf
Ya, dun worry, the spots will clear soon.

alicia
ok, to mix the ebm of different timing. But once the ebm is thawed, do not put it back into the freezer. Can understand your disappointment. Just bear with it for a day or two and Craydon will be home soon!

alicia, dun worry. craydon will be back soon. I asked the nurse before.. she said its ok to mix as long as within 4 hrs..just out of curiosity, how much is he drinking per feed now and how often is the feed?

My Bryan has been shifted to another room as the last "room" that he was in initially is filled with newcomers. We take it that he got upgraded. He is now inside the isolation room becos noone using that room. We got a shock initially when we heard he's inside there, thought he kena infection.

He is still doing ok, weight increased to 958, about 30g more than his birthweight. But yesterday night, he was diagnosed with some gut/bowel problems, which doc say is very minor. But to play safe, they have stopped him from ebm and will observe plus take tests first. Very sad to see Bryan today cos he look like lost a bit of weight. he also seemed hungry.. shivered a bit here and there and keep moving his mouth. heart very pain. i dunno isit the cold ebm that caused it.. tonite i will ask doc again. I also noticed some black brown stuff halfway in his feeding tube and asked the nurse. she couldnt give me a satisfactory explanation but said they change the tube every 3 days. i will monitor that too. V V upset.. just now express milk halfway also drop the bottle.. lost maybe about 10-20ml of ebm. sigh sigh.

when i went into the lounge to collect bottles, the room kind of stank.. the containers holding the bottles and caps really stank very very bad too.. after taking home the bottles and caps, i sterilized them at least 3 times.. even went to extent of changing the water in my sterilizer which also kind of became bad milk smell. Feel like using my own containers from now.

Hi kkf, precious_one, lindah and disneymickey,

Thanks for answering my doubt.. My milk is so pathetically low that I hav to mix at least 3 different timing for a feed..

Although I m disappointed but then I know Craydon will be better taken care of in SCN.. Today I went to visit him again and he got a scratch line on his face.. aiyoo.. he scratch himself with his long fingernails lorr.. we (my parents and inlaws) r very amazed by his long fingernails as a newborn..

Hope the nurses won't give us false hope again and hopefully he can be back by this thu or fri..

Hi xbliss,

Craydon is drinking 40ml now every 3hrly.. I dun know y from yest onwards, my milk supply is only 10-20ml per pump for both breasts every 3hrly.. Tried every method and even pump for 45mins still very little.. Guess it really run in genes as my sis also low supply one..

I m wondering can Craydon latch on directly when he is back home?? He is still very small and premature..

I agree with u that the milk bottles and caps they gave us is super stinky.. got a smelly dried up milk smell and did u notice the caps r rusty too?

<font color="0000ff">alicia, are you pumping diligently at 3 hourly? Try fenucreek pills, can be bought from GNC or Nature Farm to boost milk supply if you intend to breast feed for a longer time. Drink plentiful of fluid. I heard Green Papaya with fish soup also helps to boost milk supply. Do not eat Pig liver, cos it drains off supply.

You can ask the nurse to cut Craydon nail's but you supply the nail clipper.

I will pray for your wish to come true.</font>

yar alicia, i asked a nurse about the rusty caps.. she said it's not a problem.. so now i take those which are fully lined with plastic inside or look cleaner.. if no caps i will use my own container. just to play safe. i went to check out milk bags today just to see how much it would set me back if i buy them. for you can do away with all the stinky bottles and caps soon! hurray!

i also saw in a no. of discussions about the fenucreek pills that precious_one is saying. The lactation consultant also told me to drink lots of papaya fish soup, which we all dunno how to make. I am still on the domperidone 4X a day to help me maintain my supply.. i do see the increase when i take it so have decided to take until milk supply is stable. My supply tends to "finish" by 20 min.. i tried this method of alternative breasts every min from 20-30th min.. and surprisingly it can produce quite a bit. seems to stimulate the supply to come faster. nowadays i can tolerate higher intensity pump so it helps too. at the end of the day, if not enough also have to supplement with FM. no choice lah.. cannot force ourselves too much!

xbliss/alicia : Do not use those rusty caps. It is no good. Invest in some personal plastic caps so that you can recycle them.

<font color="0000ff">xbliss</font>: go ahead to use your own containers if you have. Just labelled them and inform the nurse to return them all to you.

<font color="aa00aa">alicia</font>: Before Craydon's discharged, please collect a few more empty bottles for your ebm storage at home.

Hi precious_one,

Where can we get the plastic caps? Can buy from KKH?

Hi xbliss,

I hav stop taking domperidone when I was having fever few days ago hence dun know is it becos of that reason my supply suddenly become lower.. But I started taking again today..

As for storing of ebm, I bought Avent containers leh.. U bought milk bag? where did u buy and what brand, how much too?

alicia (powergal)
You can get it at KKH pharmacy. The plastic cap (coloured) looks exactly like the milk bottle cap. It costs about $1.10 to $1.20 per cap previously. Having said this, it's always out of stock previously. I got my hubby to go round other major hospital pharmacy to buy previously cos less premies there. Dun worry about the size cos it fits the glass bottle that we gather from KKH.

i m back from the night visit. this time is even more heartbreaking cos bryan cried a lot. I guess he is too hungry cos no milk for him for whole day already. But good news is no infection and the swelling in his tummy has gone down. Hopefully they resume his feeds in small amounts tomorrow. To see your own child hungry is really heartbreaking. i couldn't help but cry cos nothing could pacify him. For the first time, he opened his two big eyes to look at me pitifully and as a mummy there is nothing i can do.

My in laws were there too and it was really chaotic. They started screaming at the nurses when bryan didn't stop crying.. i believe it just pisses them off cos NICU is really in busy mode now. I am so ashamed by them. I had to tell my MIL off.. i asked her which baby doesnt cry?! so upset today. hopefully bryan will be better tomorrow.

hi xbliss,

hug to u!! I totally understand when Craydon cried too.. But dun worry so much cos even though no milk temporary, I believe they supplement it with nutrition drip rite? Also like what u said, there is no more infection and swelling hence u shd dry ur tear and stay positive..

Continue to jiayou and stay strong for ur baby..

kkf,
hows dash?

my son needs to see cardio as he has an extra heart vessel which they cant find the source....and next time before dental treatment, the dentist needs to be informed about it as this extra vessel may cause backflow of dirty water into the heart...

alicia.
glad to hear yr good news....try to see if you can still maintain the bm....if not, see wat milk powder the doc recommends....

xbliss,
the nicu is a pressure pot and a place of rollercoaster of emotions.....hp tt everyone can find a peaceful balance...its not easy and i hp tt you wld be ok...there were times when my son cldnt absorb the milk also and like bryan had to cry and i can understand yr feelings..

did i tell you also i flooded the nicu wif my tears last time tt even when my son was upgraded to using cpap, i cried also...vy soon,all this will be a thg of the past...if anythg i can help, do text me..

xbliss
sorry to hear. had to see my girl hungry also as they didn't allow when prep for operation. felt really bad2. dun worry, its temporary, they will resume ASAP. its great that the infection and swelling has improved. hopefull better tomorrow.

alicia
in the hospital, as a starter can ask the nurse to help u latch Craydon on to. e nurses quite helpful.

kkf
great to hear Dash didn't have measles.

lindah
yeah me kena scolding by hubby at first.he see me so pitiful he also stop.well also coz I stubborn. used to stay there overnite.i said - there,everyone got thing to do, in their own world. I alone like dumb2 dunno what to do when I there, cranky there&insomnia.I also wan happy weekend.so it bettter after i insist. that happened while preggy. sometimes I thk e IL stress and quarrels contribute to my preggy issues. well c how now that my girl is out & better.it may crop again. believe hubby&wife must work out and compromise tog so both happy.

heheh wat u&sis-inlaw talk is between the 2 of u ah, up to u. u all gd girl, know ur limits kan ;)

Xbliss,

U want glass containers? I have alot. I can deliver them to you since u need to run here and there...

In Mt A, grandparents are allowed to see baby once in the entire stay. ie. they cannot see the baby everyday. So that lessens the stress on the nurses.

So if the bb stays 3 months, too bad for the grandparents.

alicia & xbliss,
was reading ur post re the rusty caps! dun use the rusty caps la. go to pharmacy & buy some plastic caps. cost abt 70cents each.

daec,
me too was stressed for part of my pregnancy cos hubby alwasy come home late due to work commitments. anyway, IL issues will always be there... so have to be patient yah...

xbliss,
i oso remembered my baby couldn't take milk for a week because his BP was low - they thought it was infection but apparently his kidneys were immature so wasn't producing enough hormones to keep the BP high or something. His BP finally went up when they supplement that hormone for him. For that whole week, my family prayed each day that he will be fed milk the next day. Hang in there. Seems he's on the way to resuming feeds.

luckily my son tends to be quiet when parents and PILs come. I remembered in SCN got this new dad scolded the nurse loudly because some other bb cry. My hubby n I shake head and say - he must be new to SCN. As parents and grandparents, tend to be emotional. Guess your MIL just need to get used to it. My mum was funny though. She ask the nurse a lot of questions - what is that? what is this? Is he ok? When my mum left NICU, the nurse ask me - your mum a teacher ah? And I was like - Bingo! Haha.

if you are toking about bottle caps - NTUC sell pigeon ones for $1.50 for 2pc. But I dunno where to get the sealing discs.

good morning mummies, thank you for sharing your stories. Yar i know how stressful it is for the babies when they need to be placed under observation and no milk given. I suppose i just broke down cos my mother in law was screaming her head off over there.. really made me panic and so upset. I was so upset i told her not to touch bryan or talk to him. just let him sleep. haiyah.. grandparents. if only kkh have same law as Mt A!!! really hate having them in nicu.. little things become so explosive.

Stressed, thank you for the offer. Actually there are PLENTY of bottles in KKH but no caps all the time! The bottles are still quite ok.. after wash they dun smell.. is the caps. *puke puke* my sterilizer full of milk smell now. hehe. I will go buy the plastic caps today. i read in another thread that the plastic caps always out of stock at KKH, but plenty at other hospitals. Maybe have to do a hospital tour to get the caps that i need! I also have the Avent Cups and Lids, just that they are 240ml and i dun have so much milk to fill it! the similac ones are just nice.. see bottle full have more morale! haha.

xbliss,
i stayed @Mt A & thus bought the caps there. got lots of stk. got blue & pink colour. i bought abt 40. 2 bad i've alrdy lent out all the glass bottles, else can pass them (w caps) to u. but maybe ask ur hubby go Mt A pharmacy, got stk there.

dun stress urself unnecessarily ok. ur ILs oso meant well. like wat some mommies here say, it's really q stressful & upset when u c ur bb crying non-stop & nobody can do anything. maybe tat's y ur MIL is gan cheong & thus shouted. dun worry, bryan will b given some form of food, if not milk. they won't allow bb 2 go hungry la.

i rem my ger crying 4 milk <3hr, but the nurse there dare not feed yet, cos doc instruction is 2 feed @3hrs interval. i asked since she's hungry, y can't feed more? doc/nurse told me, need to c if she can digest well or not, else end up bloated or overfed. c? they hav their reasons but of cos if u hav doubt, alwyas ask.

good morning mummies,

Xbliss - can you PM me...i maybe have the solution about the caps...(sorry, kind of having mad house in office today cos yesterday afternn not in...)

will talk to you mummies when i manage to clear all the paper...if NOT dump it all away ahhahaha!!

kkf - am glad dash is ok. siang recover quite fast from false mealese too..so dash be just ok. they say once they got it...it won't come again. but then my mum say, best let the rashes ALL come up (once and for all)

hi alicia - am sure craydon be home by this week...sometime they just like to play 'prank' :p (afterall, they are made of miracle) don't worry....that time my boy too. one day before he was due to go home, suddenly 'something happen'..but eventually everything ok...

xbliss

dun use those rusty caps, go buy the plastic ones that the rest mentioned. Can keep and use for quite a while, i am still using the plastic caps and glass bottles. haha... yalor, up the morale hor? 100ml of glass bottle is easier to fill up than those 260ml avent bottle!!!

The NICU is a pressure cooker, and it is not easy to cope with the emotions around. There are happiness, sadness, frustrations, confusions, pple feel lost and helpless. aiyah, so perhaps that's why ur ILs also find it hard to compose themselves, and i can understand why u really need to tell them off. And if u need to, u need to lor. Another way is to speak to ur hubby and let him do the job, no need to hit head-on with ur ILs, u still need to get along with them in future mah.
jiayou ok?

Lindah
tru tru. I read sometime they say issue more common with first babe.i was wondering if it cld be coz first babe typically lot of new adjustments. more scary.second time round hope better adjusted, so lesser risk of issues

alicia
I agree with Jane. me same2.on the day, my girl supposed go home(she 2kg already) suddenly they told me she need to have some procedure done. this was after nurse told me like confirmed she coming back few days time. so dun worry, he back soon. so very close

daec
actually you are right. i see my BIL's wife now 3 kids, so more settled.
i guess MIL knows what to expect by then.

hi daec, you know...on the day my boy suppose to go home..suddenly they tell me..NO. i broke down and cry (then kanna private lesson by the SCN nurse because...because...after the 3 months journey how can i be still so 'weak' - then i quickly dry my tears and tell myself, tomorrow, tomorrow my boy will go home).

ah yo...such a wet day liao, i still trying to make the mummies here sob...sorry :p

Guess the thread is moving too fast and my posting was missed last week.

Pls help me to update the table for my boy: birth weight: 2.1kg length of stay: 15 days , 33 weeker

Anyone have recommendation of good PDs for north and north east zone for outpatient consultant for flu or phlegm suction service if needed?