Premature babies support group

kkf,
hope dash is better? let him rest more & feed more water.

talking abt sick. last weekend when we visited my in-laws, noticed my MIL was sick. but it doesn't really bother me, cos my ger normally dun like to look 4 her. realized next day, tat my nephew was sick 2. my SIL blamed in on my MIL, cos she carried & bathed him!! can't understand old pple. sick then stay away frm the kids la. u know how difficult it is 4 the poor kid (who can't really express their discomfort) & us??!!

this weekend, my SIL say we go back separately, so tat my nephew won't pass virus to my ger. when we went back ytd, my MIL still kept trying to come close 2 my ger. lucky my ger din response well. i v scared she'll try to feed her food (cos she always used food 2 make my ger go close 2 her). lucky she din. but she roll up some paper & speak into the paper (my ger's ear was on the other side). then after tat passed it 2 my ger. i nearly jumped up & shouted NO! lucky my ger din accept.

i will surely make a big fuss if my ger fall sick *touch wood*

Lindah, so interesting. For my mum, she thinks like if you say baby is fat, she will become skinny!

<font color="0000ff">precious_one</font> hee hee, i'm also experimenting on the formatting. Thanks kkf for the link. Very useful.

kkf, ya, if you go last nite I will recognise you and Dash

Precious_One, the doc gave us Smecta and Lactobacillus Acidophilus, as my boy is having diarrhoea.

<font color="0000ff">lili</font>, Errr, my hubby just told me that he has to sign up for a google account to access to his girl's blog. I didn't know it is so complicated cos I thot I only need to extend invitation and give permission in the blog. hhmmmm, do you mind signing up with google, it is free. Ya, very fun with colouring text, like new toy hor

<font color="ff6000">didi</font>, Thanks. I want to be familiarised with medicine names for kids. Taken down in my note book liao.

<font color="0077aa">disneymickey</font>, can understand your fear and frustration. It is very tiring to look after sick child especially when the child cannot express his/her discomfort and resort to crying. I hear my girl's cry only I go gila liao.

Chloegal, never bring my boy to kkh leh, just brought him to normal GP, and now his fever has subsided a bit. Me worry about dengue too. Asked the doctor, but he said not very likely, and I was wondering how did he know?

Anyway, really hope my boy's fever will go away!

disneymickey, do understand your fustration. I sometimes will blame my in laws for letting my boy eat things he shd't eat, causing him to have cough that kind of thing. But I do think they mean no harm. They also very poor thing, wanting the best for our kids, but in the wrong way.

U don't say Disneymickey. I was soooo furious with my FIL. He fed her with water melon juice despite me saying no. Before I can react he already shove the straw into dd's mouth. Then my AH Blur happy happy go and suck.

I'm ultra anal abt what she eats because of her kidney issues. So I need to know if he added any other ingredients like salt or sugar. I also very pissed because FIL never listen to me means he disrespect me as a mother. So what if he is the grandfather. I am the mother leh.

I pulled dd away then some watermelon juice drop on the floor. I never apologise at all. I show black face through out. 15mins later I said all go home. When I went home, my poor DH kenna from me.

hahaha...

I will be telling my PILs off next week. I will tell them if they ever feed dd again w/o my permission, I make them meet dd's 2 NUH Profs for confession and get a big scolding. See whether they scared or not. hmpf.

BTW, I also told my dd's future childcare supervisor the same thing. I think she was scared. She must be wondering why this mummy crazy one. hahaha...

kkf
If Dash feel restless than better see a PD soon. The PD from kkh told me before that the fever will went to its peak and then will slowly subsides. It takes about a week to recover. Mointor him properly. Take Care

hello mummies.. so many angry and tired mummies this week. the reality of mummy life. i'm preparing myself for those issues with PILs too.

stressed, childcare sometimes very lax one. they fail to send messages properly to their teachers sometimes.. i have seen older kids who are still given like double portions of food even when their paeds recommend only 1 portion cos of obesity and related heart problems.

today i was given the chance to feed bryan via the tube. nothing much.. just hold the tube straight up, but it makes me very happy. I note that the ebm given was cold.. i asked the nurse then she feel it and ask me to hold lower (the tube area instead of the injection like tube holding the ebm.. totally avoid my question. Is it supposed to be like that? Wouldn't giving cold milk to preemies have any effect??

xbliss,
great to see you on line now.....

rgdg the milk....i guess it shld be okay.....as the milk is vy frozen and maybe still cold to the touch when you touched it...tink shld be okay bah??mummies, any ideas?

i noe yr feeling...even holdg the tube makes it so simple but at least you doing smthg for your kid right?hws evythg?i hvnt got time to go thru the posts...gg to sleep soon..got to wk 2mr.....

lili,
just read yr post briefly...kp up the good work on yr ger and her exercises.......

Tink the next time i can log in is in office...gd nite....

stressed,
i can understand re ur FIL. cos my MIL oso sometimes use food 2 lure my ger to b close. but sometimes, it's not the right time or the right food. but i'll tell hubby to go tell his mother. normally my hubby will oblige. n his mother v scared of my hubby.

so tired today. raining some more. think my ger ytd played 2 much alrdy, in the end, din sleep well last nite. kept crying. so i'm so tired now. must go take my kopi *yawn*

wow. whole day forum down. me at home sick. think my poor son also got phelgm cos of me so i brought him to GP when i went to get MC. He's doing ok, thank goodness. a bit of phelgm and coughing but colour is allright. doctor gv him some pink medicine. next time maybe i try the PD at siglap centre - kinder clinic. they do suctioning, unlike the RMG I went to. they run night sessions too!

hahah. i very happy today. hami ate almost half a jar of heinz vege mash without fuss.

1032392.jpg

lili,
your dd looks like she enjoying tummy time now! Head very high, very good! looking at your pic inspired me to try today (since i wasn't working) so share w you my ds most charming pic.
he din stay up for long but at least he tried.

xbliss,
ya - it's like that one. i was oso surprised at first. i think the nurses din hv enuf time to warm the milk. so far son ok. some pple say cold milk may cause wind. but dunno lah, seems okay. at home, will def warm up.

forgot the pic:

1032397.jpg

btw, jac, i bought the nestle premium stage one today. cost $4.45 at giant. you said only RM6.80 at JB right? Will definitely look for it when go JB.

kkf, it's great that dash is gifted leh. enjoy it. isn't it nice to know your son has more than catched up w his peers, and the enrichment classes you sent him for were worth it! your son looks very smart.
maybe big can become dr.

i understand your feeling of good news being snatched away tho. it's like my son's discharge day - i was so scared some nurse or doctor would say sorry - cant discharge today. Like dun want myself to be dissappointed...

Hi lindah, you finzlly bought your bumper mat? saw you posting in "want to buy".

I surely hope dash will become a doctor. Haha, I keep thinking when I am old, got discount mah.

But I seriously dun think he is gifted in any way. Yah, maybe he is a gift to me. But def not gifted. I got fustrated just now with him for not being able to match the picture to same one. So how can he be gifted? ha! I think maybe either my hubby heard wrongly or the psychologist in super good mood that day when she tested my boy, and so everybody tested that day is gifted.

hahaha. aiya kkf, maybe at that age, he's not yet supposed to match pics?
dun stress.
he will catch on fast.

yes i got my playmat at $80.
pooh n frens. skali this morning another mummy PM me - she got world map which i prefer. but too bad - bought oredi...

mine is also pooh one. Nice hor? I like the design, think it looks nicer that world mat, not so colorful, but of course more educational, hee.

It is quite comfortable.

yah - i think it's very soft - nice. but yah - i wanted world map cos more educational. but nvm lah. right now, my son cant read yet anyway. you back to school for four more weeks then hols right? quite fun, ah...

Good morning mummies,

sorry i have to post fast because i have another appointment this afternoon (yesterday was at KKH for my boy review) so gotten type fast and zoom off to catch up with my work.

xbliss, about the ebm. i also notice it thou i know normally the nurse would take out the milk out to (de froze) before each feeding......that why that time i end up (after my mum kept on commenting that my boy is given frozen milk) trying my best to at least give my boy 2 feed of Fresh express BM as and whenever i can. weekend i would stay there whole day....(just to be sure every feed he have fresh one)...

just a update on my boy progress. the Neo Nat has since extended his review period to 6 months so next appointment is in APril 2008
but then hor...the neo nat felt that my boy need to go under screening of the physiotheraphist to have some good work out!! i finally know why my boy is like not crawling and half not yet walking like that. because his hip balance is not very good. but the physio say, with proper way of exercise for him, my boy be crawling and walking (even maybe running) in no time because his leg muslce is very strong.... so...well, i need to bring him see physio. i have 'discharge' him from dietrician with the approval of the neo nat.

As at yesterday (corrected age of my boy is about 11mths) actual is 14mths. his weight is 10.3kg, height 76 cm. neo nat did not comment much so i guess he is ok pah :p

just a small update.

kkf - i PM u. thanks for the montage. so nice.

lili, the naughty student did not hand up my poster because i got NEW fresh idea hahahahaha....!!!!

xbliss,
hi, how are you?i replied you yterday, hv you got it? becuz dun noe is it my server got pblem..it bounced back and i resent it

hows bryan now?vy soon his weight will soar.......becuz they add all kinds of nutrients to the milk....also...do continue wif yr expression...

Jane,
great tt Doc A will not see siang till april...for me, appt wld be in january next year wif doc khoo....

aiyah, his weight so good can discharge from dietician liao lah...

rgding poster..still the same..hvnt finished my second piece....

hi costa,

i think the physio think his weight is too good ah :p. Anyway...accordingly to him, if i diligently practise the simple step he teach me...siang be progressing in less than 1 mth time (if fast, 2 weeks). i am glad he highlight to me what is causing the delay in Siang cos i very puzzled :p

oh i met sister choo and another SCN nurse, all talking about the premies awareness day and also Dr A also told me about it...

hehe lets us work hard on completing the poster. maybe next appointment with Physio in Nov..i will hand in my poster keke.

jane,
tt's good news.
less appts for siang and on the route to walking and crawling!

costa,
when are u handing in the poster ah?
i realli hope i dun forget when i go to KKH on 12 Nov...

hullo!

stressed,disneymickey
me2 stressed abt IL.so angry with them until keep argue with hubby. know they mean well but end up impact not so gd or disrepect me somehow as they think they know better tho me/my mum have taken care her much much more

wish they will think more before taking action. so eager to take care/see her that sometimes this override wat gd for her. eg. they so eager to c her, hubby give way tho she cranky. she end up screaming sobbing for more half h. she like dat if she not home after 6pm. heart pain pain c :| makes me wonder if they really care ? as I already told them many x she like dat one.

I guess this is inevitable as we set out the foundation of norms/limits what is ok, what is not. dun think we shld keep quiet if its not ok. though shld be tactful. a-but-then sometimes find it hard to tolerate le.

kkf
thanks! hope dash is well already ?

hmm me thinks all kids are gifts. but somehow I feel like our prem babies are more gifted. I bias maybe. Just that our little warriors start this life already fighting and been thru so much more. Also remind me to keep on fighting - see so small, already so spirited, how abt me - the mummy ;P make me reflect myself

lili
so sweet ur babe! I miss watching Nada do those! don't have much time now since work and she sleeps at 8

wat u say is so true ! I feel the same way, the way I view my girl/preggy is diff. now more treasure every milestone more as she prem.

jane,

congrats! wow, ur boy's weight so good. i juz weighed my ger few nites ago, & she's still 8.6kg! sigh. really dunno where the food goes. but again, maybe it's genes. her daddy has been underweight since young & her mommy oso underweight when young (but now ballooned haha).

xbliss
me too suprised when find the milk is bit cold. but I guess shld be ok ah.

I remember it was a thrill when start tube-feeding coz can do something for babe. better still the feeling when know the milk was my BM.

stressed
gd tho u show black face can go home. I supermad last weekend - show blackface also cannot go home. hubby insist wait for them 1hr so they can say gdbye to my sleeping girl.he kenna scolded last time if we dun do that.grrrr

thk if hubby not support very difficult

hi good morning lindah,

kekeke..at least i now 'know' why my boy is not here not there :p. but quite ok because i happen to know that physio opens on sat so i need not take leave (just maybe the first appt). they just told me. all in all, his motor skill is ok (Occupational therapise decide to leave him alone first) but he need to work his buttock (aka hip) lor... am sure hami does well with the new mat your bought him
..good enjoyable tummy time.

disneymickey... thanks keke, ya now he is one bag of rice :p and recently not sure is it grow sprut...his appetite quite good ler... and he jump a lot :p i think his weight takes after his daddy (who was round as a ball when he was baby stage)... I for one is those smaller size one :p.

i did a rough calculation. last review with Dr A was in June/July. he was then 9.5/6 Kg...so he up by 1 kg per mths?? sometime like that?? but since Dr A did not comment on his weight...so..i hope the physio would do him much good....

Mummies, sad sad sad. I think my boy got measles or watsoever. I have mentioned he got fever past few days right? Now his fever has subsided but rashes came out all over his body (face, stomach, back etc). So worried. Can knock off only at 1pm. Haiz...worry worry worry.

Lindah,
i got appt 2mr at kkh...u tink possible for me to hand in both 2mr...i highly doubt..hahah...bo pian lah.maybe one FINE day, i wld submit it when i finish it..my son exams end next wk..hopefully i can complete it after that..

i try remind you about it.....

jane,
so you better kuai kuai do the exercises or "outsource" to yr maid.....

wah jane,
Siang's wt gain very very good!! What do you feed him?

precious,
i just dropped by your site. angel was so chubby last time!!! now all grown up oredi. now prettier and face more chiselled.
Your montages are very nice.

daec,
my hubby oso will stay until 10pm at my ILs every Saturday and Sunday. As a son, he has obligations to his mum so I cant complain. I am lucky tt Hami is not that cranky there. He will just fall asleep if there are not many pple around. If many pple around then he is 'rimas' so wont sleep. These things, very sensitive lah. I try my best not to show black face, just try hint to my hubby it is time to go home... Tell u secret - I am scared of my MIL. Hehehehe. Hubby say macam tikus (mouse). Since we stay w my parents, I guess have to give him leeway and let him spend time at his parents' home longer during weekends. My problem is sometimes he stay late on Saturday there just to watch soccer EPL!!! Obviously he finds it more fun to watch it w his dad and nephew lah. I have no issues w that but sometimes I just wanna go home n sleep. When my son grow up, think we may have to spend Sat at ILs and Sun as our family day - East Coast, Zoo or whatever. We have to take it as it goes. Now talk oso no use. Dun wanna fight. As it is, I notice now tt we become parents, we have more things to argue abt!

kkf,

3 more hours to go. his fever gone so shud be not so bad, rt? maybe it's an allergy? you cant take time off?

costa,
ya - think u can complete after your son's exam. pple do one, you do two!
tt's y takes longer...

disneymickey, sure will still take in your order. Thinking of closing a bit early so that will have time to chase money and to consolidate orders. hee. Anyway, my sister has taken in your orders. thank you for your support!

Lindah, yah, 3 hours more, but my heart is already not here...sigh...

I did not really give him eat anything special these few days since he got fever leh...

hi kkf, sound like false measles to me...siang had that sometime back (re i mention). if his fever subside after that..i think he shld be ok.

lindah..nothing much ah, just porridge and milk. siang is not even eating much fish (despite many attempts). veggie he eat a lot thou...

haha costa. ya manz i really will do that one step (which the physio) assign me as home work. its really only one simple instructions :p...

kkf,
dun worry abt the 'measles' ok. since u mention he has fever, sometimes these fake measles ie. red spots will appear. c doc alrdy? then give med & more water. my pd did advise me to give rice water but my mom say go where get so much rice water? haha. so in the end, we juz give barley (diluted, w/o sugar of cos) water & plain water.

thanks. will remit $ to ur a/c/

Morning Mummies

Jane
Thats good news!
Siang has very good weight. A pat on the back for Mummy!

Lindah
You feeling better?
Many of my colleagues are down with sore throat and cough after last weeks of madness!
I pump up my Vit C, just in case.

Xliss
Ask the nurses for permission to change diapers for Bryan. This is another way of being close to him.
Happy bonding.

KKF
My niece kena fake measles after her fever. Think Janes and Jaces boys also got it recently too.
Will subside after a couple of days. Take care!

Stress/ DisneyMickey/ daec
My inlaws like to offer Ribena and Wang Wang biscuits etc to my boys. I am afraid that once they are used to sweet stuff, they will reject the food serve at meal time.
Somehow, that dun seem to get into the thick skull of my in laws. Hiaz...
Hubby has to tell them again, again and AGAIN!!

Costa
What appointment does Bern hv at KKH tomorrow?

Didi
Once, my blackberry became CRASHED- berry. Thanks to the boys.
Oh.. i love berries.!

kkf
Please take care of Dash and yourself well. Gee, I dun know how to deal with measles either. Let's see any expertise advice from the mummies here.

Jane (neoah)
So nice, you discharge your baby from dietician. My girl still flw-up with dietician but I feel like discharging her myself. At one stage, her weight is always 1kg above but dietician continues to see her lei. Now her weight is about 11.5kg and is considered thin. But her cousin, her age (full term baby) is even smaller than her. So tempted to discharge her myself.

lindah
Hami looks very steady and happy in that position
Congrats, he's venturing into different food liao.

daec
I agree that premies have this extra spirit that full term baby may or may not have (unless challenge later in life) : the fighting spirit for life! They never give up!

xbliss
The first time I held the tube, I held on so tightly, so scared I spilt the milk onto my girl. Those were the days...

mich,
once my MIL offered 'cheese' biscuit 2 my ger. i took a look @ the wrapper. it's not 'real cheese', but some dunno-wat. so i juz ate up the last bit & told my ger "enuff har, ltr must take milk". think my MIL took the hint *heng* & stop.

but i totally agree & understand w ur frustrations! but again, my ILs know we r v strict w my ger on food. so still dare not anyhow offer. everytime they wan to offer something, my hubby will ask "got nuts? got this? got tat?"

hi mich..i think..the pat pat goes to my mum...:p but all in all, if really ask me what siang eat. its rice lor. re i say...he never taste cereal. very starting he start on puree grains. but of course now i no longer puree the grains, i just cook until very soft...

hi precious_one : erh...frankly, i just 'ask' my neo nat :p just ask lor. i meant if she is not comfortable, ok to see the dietrician too. i think weight is not a measureable of how well the baby is doing... so its ok ah.

disneymickey and precious_one. i always felt that gal should be petite in size (then you and hubby have hor fun to look forward to ah ;p - catch what wacky jane trying to say?) hahahaha....just trying to cheer everyone days up.

xbliss. yes yes, like mich suggest, do try to change his pamper and even try to catch his shower time...the nurses welcome u to be involved. they do...

lindah, me too. Before we are parents, my hubby and I so loving, nothing to argue, lots of space and freedom. With a kid, we argue over every thing eg. go to zoo, he said afternoon too hot, prefer morning but he doesn't make effort to wake up earlier... Ya, my girl was so chubby and she looked like a boy previously. Show me Hami's montage when ready ok.

Jane
Our mums seem to know best.

We are lucky that we have mums or inlwas to help around. Can really fan xing to come to work when we know the kids are in good hands.
You have new ideas for the poster!!? - good good, lets have some ORGINALITY here.
Please check your email.

DisneyMickey
My mum explained to me that grandparents like to buy food for their kids to show their love for the grandchildren.
Well, fair enough.
But when the kids reject food or fall sick, who suffers? The caregivers who are my mum and me lah.

Lindah,
wah, next time i hope i can have a dil like you..scared of mil...hahahha......

i really itchy backside go and do two, sekali both also never pass up how?haha...

maybe you put yr poster in the car, well protected..any time, can drop it at kkh?

mich,
bern has appt for heart plus occupational therapy tomorrow....at 4pm and 2pm...

Lindah,
wah u more than me ;) I more naughty than u ehehe. I still complain. I cannot tahan since wan stay there till 11+. they nite owls,long hrs whereas my side is chop chop 2-3hr vist,home by 8pm. He used to complain give him more leeway2.I say he want go, I dun stop him mah. I go there, not do anything so no point. I get restless v easy. sit long long I cannot tolerate, get stress. so he go himself whereas I go my granny's or I go few hr only then I leave first. funny but as long as both spouse happy

personally, I believe it must be a middle path - wat both spouse agree and can accept. If u can tahan, gd for u. later ur IL love u more hehe

i paranoid abt stuff like dis. I c my sis lot problem coz this.parents mean well but they got in the way of sis setting own family which has own diff rules/norms. then they argue a lot & their r/s huge dent. kid torn in middle. so I wish to set the bondaries of my new family early. still spend time with them but have enuff time/space for our own family and I have space to breathe :p

I guess quarrel inevitable until this new family can 'settle' on some norms. dunno how now since got baby tho but I need my space..

kkf
hope Dash is ok. hang in there

haha.. this morning all mommies hav interesting posts..jane, understnad ur hor fun joke, i wish 2

stressed: i oso wan 1 of the t-shirt haha

daec/lindah,
lindah, u so good DIL. i cannot b like u. go in the pm, then after dinner, will ask my hubby to go home 8+. last time whenever he travels, i dun go back. but the last time he travelled, he asked me if possible, try to go back. my SIL oso asked me to accompany her cos her hubby not in. so i went lor. disaster. MIL totally ignored my ger & concentrated on my nephew. pissed me off so much. next time, will tell hubby i'm not gg back w/o him!

mich
one wonders if they are listening or not ? when we keeping telling those stuffs.like go in one, go out another ear leh.I'm sure we all want gd r/s with IL but this sorta thing makes it hard.

not sure if it works - can try give them alternatives to buy ?

stressed
hehe gd idea. my girl t-shirt will put 'I maybe cute but I CRANKY AT 7pm coz its bedtime.I wanna go home'

kkf,
dash will be okay... you have class is it? that's y cannot take off early? thot teachers quite flexi. lunchtime usually can go out for a while.

mich,
my ofc oso. i realise not only me but many of us are coughing throatily. it's really no good - esp in confined aircon space. so unhealthy.

how's your poster coming along? finish oredi?

precious,
think hami likes heinz better than the nestum cereal.

angel din look like boy lah - only her hair was short. me not doing montage. my poster is very simple. cut and paste. heheheheh.

costa,
my BIL's wife and me quite opposite. she is very open to my MIL until my MIL find her too frank. I am not as open to MIL so not so good oso as she complain to my mum I sometimes never talk to her. Everything she has to ask then I tell. My hubby even worse. Sometimes if the mum ask a qn he does not want to answer, he pretend he din hear! He does that to me oso!!! MIL-DIL relationship is very difficult to manage lah. You will have 2 DILs in future to handle! Good Luck!

One poster done already, rt? Bring that one in first lah. My car very small lah - picanto. the boot cannot fit the poster. I usually sit at the backseat w hami and I will always drag his carseat along while my hubby drives car. Was telling hubby, if we get a second kid, need to buy a more spacious car. My SIL bought a honda airwave - very nice!!! But think I better save $$ first then can daydream.

Actually hor Daec, my dd also starts her nong-sen from 7pm onwards. Last time my DH stubborn want to bring her out.

Then her pattern surfaces. I pretent no hear. I let DH deal with her. I just stand and observe and laff inside me. Then when the entire ordeal is over, I ask him how? How is the feeling of dealing with a cranky baby? U like? U like next week we start again ok? But I no help ok? I just look and laff at you.

hee hee. I think one time he got the message. Now die die also be home by 7pm.

I think sometimes it pays to be cruel to be kind.

Lindah,
yr mil and yr mum good frens huh....i dun tink my mil dare to say anythg to my mum..hahha..anyway, my inlaws not sporeans mah..so one year see one time or two years see one time....bad in the sense got no family support from there.....since we seldom see each other, the bond not there also...i also heck care one lah....just sandiwara when they are here...ha ha..or suria..hahha....i m so bad...

hmm, difficult to find the right level of openness...i can understand....

huh.poster...bring one by one huh..see how lah ..i lagi worse got no car mah..must take taxi..

no lah, i am not very good DIL. I am more a scared DIL! there is a big difference! hehehehe. but my PILs raised their sons well lah so even my BIL nvr fail to come down every Saturday w his family. PILs kids very filial. How can I get in the way of pple who are trying to be filial to their parents, rt?

But I oso expect my hubby to bring me JB, or shopping or East Coast at least a few hours on weekend so that we have time alone. I am already quite lucky. I hv a fren who spend almost every saturday sleeping over at IL's bcos the son is quite the MIL's fav son.

But disney, I oso never visit without my hubby. Cos dun wan to get used to it - later she will expect me to come more often, jialat.