Premature babies support group

Sorry costa, forgot the "r". Mummies who has the montage, you want me to resend or will you be able to add on the "r" in "bernard" name?

Xbliss, yah yah. I want the copy. I can wait, and can take fr you or pay for postage and photocopy fees.

Anyway, xbliss, can I ask you, do you know how accurate is IQ test? Me also wish I could see the whole process, but yesterday I got PSLE marking, so was not able to go. The pyschologist called up my hubby today. She told him about the results, she said Dash is among the top 1-2% population? I also wondering whats that about. She also told him that my boy is gifted????? I was sooooooo puzzled. He is just 2 years old leh. How to know whether he is gifted. To me, he is just very normal. I saw kids smarter than him a lot! So how accurate is this kind of test? Dash is in very good mood yesterday so he cooperated and performed very well. He "won" the heart of the nurse and pyschologist, cause today the nurse called me and told me "your son is a cuttie! very sociable and talked a lot!". I really think this kind of test go to depend on a lot of factors. An intelligent child who is taking the test that day may be in a foul mood, and does not want to speak, so in the end? Conclusion? Speech delay? Low IQ?

Chloegal and mich, your kids went for iq test before?

Haha, lili, gain IQ may help really??? I dunno, sometimes, my hubby will credit Gain IQ for dash's IQ. hahaahhaha all IQ!

Neh, he is just in good mood yesterday.

Wowowowowo poster!! must start doing! next monday must hand in? But I dun have time to go KKH...

Alicia!!!! you staying in sengkang???me too. You where??? next time I can visit you.
I am staying at compassvale street. Btw, me also 29 years old. Maybe we know each other?

Wow..kkf, top 1-2%! Yippy! We got a gifted child in our group. You should call up Gain IQ and tell them. Then maybe they will get your boy to do advertisement for them and you can earn some $$$... hee hee.
So happy for you... Just now, I also go and flash cards in front of my gal!! hee hee.. hopefully her IQ can also grow!!

I believe all our kids here will grow up to be very smart like me!!!! (buay par seh!) Dun forget I am one fine example of premature baby growing up to be brain functioning very well...haha. (as if!)

Yeah, I shd ask zoe tay to get off, n I take over. ha!

No lar, I really do think yesterday my boy was in a super good mood.

I only wish that he wil grow up to be strong and healthy, with no medical problems, and everything smooth for him. I only wish the scar in his brain, and also the hole in heart will never ever ever cause any problem to him. As long as he can study, I dun really care whether he is of high or low Iq. Normal can liao...I wish for a healthy child, not for an intelligent child.

If you say I am not proud of him, and happy, it will be lie. After seeing him going thru so much, this is really one good news for me.

kkf, congratulations on producing a gifted child. Your family certainly deserve this honour as I can feel/see that you put in lots of effort in stimulating/grooming your child. He will be a fine, intelligent and handsome young man. My girl is a few months older, dun know if he minds an older girlfriend .... hahahaha (just kidding). Sad to say, I think my girl is just the opposite, dun like books kind. When she was bedridden, she likes flash cards etc. now she snatches and bends the cards. Oooops, cannot blame her lar, her parents are not keen in studies either. She is a dancing queen. She is very shy with strangers near her or looking at her but she is not so shy at shopping malls, if she hears some pop music that interests her, she will dance there and then. Very funny. Oh, dun know why the KKH dietician keep insisting that my girl drinks Pediasure..... I want to switch to Gain IQ too..

xbliss: For your interest, KKH uses the Bayley Scales of Infant and Toddler Development, Third Edition to test our premies. Since you are in this profession, how do you compare your co's with Bayley? As in the care-giver report, it was stated that the scores indicate how well a child performed compared to a group of children within the same range from across the USA.

Bryan is progressing super well. 21% is as good as room air liao. Well done. He is a super boy!

alicia, I like your blog layout and design. Very warmth and nice and your Crayden is very very handsome. Feel like kissing him. CPR training already, your boy is going home very very soon. As far as I know, KKH won't train you in CPR if your boy is not ready for discharge. Congrats.

Jane: Congrats, your baby is crawling now, very soon he will be standing, walking and then running. That is the real time when you do not have time to make up liao.

There's so much to read today. Did I miss reading anyone's good news. I'm sorry. I am having a big headache ah, my girl caught cold and cold ytd night and she is so cranky that she wanted me to pat pat her the whole night. Her phelgm caused so much discomfort in her that she couldn't sleep. Brought her to a doc. this morning. She ate her medicine but refused food ... I damn sian

Precious one, so coincidentally, my boy is sick also.
just got to know he got fever...sigh............damn sianzzz really!

Hope your gal and my boy recover very soon.

Of course dash doesn't mind a galfriend a few days older...haha!!! Me already chop a lot of potential future daughter in laws for him.

Really hope our children be healthy and safe everyday.

Sometimes, when you receive a piece of good news, you will always fear that it will disappear very quickly, you know what I am saying? that is the feeling I have now. haiz.

Jacelyn: You are very emotional just like me. I perfectly understand how you feel towards your sons. Towards my girl, I want to give her my last breath, I also want to give her my "scar less" brain, "scar less" lungs and a "scar less" neck. I used to think that I want to live to the age of 55 only cos I'm rather vain, dare not look at my wrinkle face. But now, I think I want to live for as long as my girl needs me and if GOD is willing. In a way, she becomes my reason for living long life.

kkf, since you're teacher, can u teach me how to arouse my girl's interest in reading story book. Each time I hold a story book in hand, before I can finish reading the 1st paragraph, she will flip to the next page liao.

Ya, hope they recover soon especially when my girl is due for a scope/surgery on 29 Oct, if she can't get well by then, I will have to postpone it. Must pray hard hard.

Hi kkf,

Before I was married, I stay in Sengkang but now I stay in Hougang, in-laws place.. I used to stay in Compassvale Walk then we move to our sis's place in Compassvale Lane.. keke.. Dun think u know me ba? But u can see my photo on my blog to see if u really know me? keke.,

Hi precious_one and lindah,

Really? Learning CPR meaning he will be home soon? If is true, I will be more happy & ready for his home arrival.. Baby cot, clothes and toys r all washed, cleaned and ready!!!!!

Hi xbliss,

Hug to u! I also jus been to the stage where he lost weight cos of water loss and gain weight again to move "house".. Before u realise, ur baby will be putting on more & more weight and u will be fetching him home too like the past the mummies here has gone thru.. We must stay positive and happy and continuing to be a cow meanwhile.. hahahaa..

Alicia, yes, learning CPR means going home pretty soon cos KKH dun want to waste time/resources to train you again later. Very positive indication. When your baby wt touch 2 kgs, can bottle feed well, which he is already doing well.... very very soon. Get ready the steriliser. too

good evening mummies,

i had a good nap and then woke up to pump. now the ebm always different amount.. can range from 80-100ml each time. I wish can "tu po" 100 soon. If still not improvements after 2-3 days, i think i go find sister choo.. she expert at unblocking clogs.

Alicia and KKF, i will be moving to compassvale link after bryan comes home.. prob about Dec to Jan? Now new flat still under reno. we shall find a day to party. I am 28 yrs old, just one yr younger than 2 of u!

Alicia what;s ur blog? sorry too many posts i must have missed it when i MIA.

Does any mummy know how to crochet? Got any online websites i can visit to see if i can make a set of booties, mittens and hat for bryan? i used to crochet those simple stuff but am very bad at it. But i thought of giving a try now that i am a bit more settled in my routine.

As for the test, KKF, was your mother in law allowed in during the test? What did she say they tested him on? I do not know about the Bayley test that precious_one mentioned but will go check it out once i am better. For DDST, caregivers are to keep quiet and offer no non-verbal expression at all throughout the test. Sometimes if child can warm up to tester, caregivers may be asked to leave so that no chance for caregivers to give "clue" to the child. U know lah.. how anxious we can be when there is "TEST"! based on your child's age, he will be tested on age appropriate behaviors, for e.g. at infant stage, if there is eye contact when they call, if they reach for things dangled, etc. The milestones are very general, i feel. There is another portage guide that offers more detailed milestone at each month up to 6 yrs and most childcare centres develop part of their curriculum according to that.

In all the testings, the results are really dependent on many factors, not just child's IQ. Like what you say, if he bad mood, then that's it! But for such cases, tester will double check with caregiver to see if that's the case. The test may then be repeated after some time. There are really many factors like child's physical health, what parents tell the child about their visit to the psychologist (i.e. if say test, some children freak out under pressure), language (sometimes we do not necessarily use english for certain words.. like food.. we say mum mum), and even child's sociability/personality (may be very stranger shy so need v v long to get used to testor). So not exactly 100% accurate. But if all the above factors have been ruled out, and the child does well, likely that he/she is a real achiever! so don't read too much into it. As teecher, i am sure u know what is best for him!

BTW, u sent me PM already? i enabled PM but dunno how to see if someone has sent me.. help! how do i bold the words in the usual posts? i find it too long for u all to read clearly.. need to make it reader-frenly!

Precious_one, u mean nicu will give us report based on the bayley?! i wonder when i can see the report! hehe.. see lah. KS mummy in action again. But hor, i shall not be too anxious lah. I do understand every child develops at his own pace. For me, i believe in lots of exposure and opportunity, and giving child the freedom to learn at his pace and liking. (i can't believe i am saying this cos in my head, i am already thinking which music school to send him to next time! bah!) i just briefly checked out bayley scales online.. they selling the whole set at nearly SGD1000 (my rough conversion from pounds). woooo. when i better, i shall go NUS library check out free version. heh.

Alicia, CPR for infants is very easy! dun worry! are they going to teach you how to deal with choking, scalds, fractures, etc too?? (err touch wood no need, ok? but really the knowledge is important) the CPR for adults is tedious! i had to take up standard first aid cos of my work with the children.. the adult mannequin is so hard to "breathe" life into.. and after repeated pumping on his chest, our hands ache like mad!

Hi precious_one,

Thankss!! Just heard from my mother-in-law (she went to visit him in the evening) they wan us to learn how to bathe him this sunday..

Hi xbliss,

Where is ur new home? I will only get my key next yr in Sengkang too, its near to Buangkok MRT.. I m staying in Hougang Ave 8 which is pretty near to sengkang too.. mayb we gals can meet up in compasspoint after our confinement..

My blog is www.lawrencealicia.blogspot.com, if u free can click to see some pix of my baby..

WOW! U can pump so much ah? For my 3rd week now, I can only pump at most 40ml for both breast leh.. guess it run in genes ba, my sis also not much milk when she gave birth and she gave up on her 2nd weeks..

U got pump in the middle of the nite ah?

Anyway my mother-in-law said the nurse suggested I better dun let Craydon drink the expressed milk that I hav took panadol extra one leh..

xbliss: I mean IQ test that our premies has to sit at about 18 mths old, KKH uses the Bayley III edition. Usually such test costs $100/- each (this year, this test is sponsored by Singapore Pools so parents need not pay
)and I believe there are another two more IQ tests to go through, one at 5 yrs old and the other around 10 yrs old (for KKH premies). NICU does not conduct IQ test. Your baby will have a hearing test before discharge.

During the IQ test, caregiver will be asked a long list of questions pertaining to the child. Caregiver remain in the room with the child. The child will be tested on some physical and mental games, pictures, motor skills speech etc. The psychologist tabulate the result based on the child performance and the report goes to the Neo.nat in charge of your baby. Early intervention program will be recommended based on the result.

My girl did not fare well in motor skills but did well in communication. So she was asked to attend Physio and Occupational therapy. However, from the time she sat for the IQ test and the 1st physio session, there was a waiting period of four months. At her 1st Physio session, she was discharged. She is still with Occupational therapy but out of the four sessions I attended with her, she refused participation in two of them which resulted in therapist writing in her report as CAN'T ASSESS. Yet in the other two sessions, she did impressed the therapist....so situation like my girl who has mood swings (I also realised that she is an afternoon person, more willing to do things in the afternoon), the IQ test result did not bother me as much especially so when she is a 24 weeker and needed oxygen support for about a year. Having said this, the report is useful in a way that it allows me to focus on the areas that she is weak in and hopefully she catches up with her peers in the long run.

alicia... wow, learning to bathe baby this Sunday, largi near discharge date liao. I think waiting for the weighing scale to hit 2 kgs. Your EBM must contain a lot of fat hor. Your feeling now is like kanna big sweep hor ... laughing to the bank! Congrats. Congrats. So so happy for you!

Mich, me too, used to have 1 but now no blackberry, only rasberries in the fridge...hee...hee

Lili, thanks, hmm must 'dig' up the thumbdrive, remember having 1 free when we bot the pc

Kkf, wow, Dash gifted
did you actually feed him with Gain IQ ? ha...ha... maybe Dash got mommy's smart blood
it really bring hope to preemies

hi alicia
wah ur blog so nice! Craydon soo cute!
hehehh funny what u say abt continue being happy and continue being a cow. I certainly felt like that heheh

hi lindah
showed ur pics to my mum. my mum said 'kus mangat' roughly translated wah so chubby! she sends salams(regards) to u. she say look like u.

hi kkf
congrats on ur baby gd IQ results. share tips leh:p

hi Jane
so exciting ur baby starting to crawl! congrats!

Hi precious one, yah, i also remember two more IQ tests coming up. Next one shd be at age 5 right? But then, heard the nurse told me, next year got another one?? Really dun understand why 3 years old got another one???

Anyway, my boy's motor skills is not very good also. ha! Only his language skills is good because he is very talkative one. So we got to train him up too.

Daec, like what xbliss said, not very accurate. My boy was in a very very good mood, and was constantly flashing his sweet little smile to the pyschologist, so in the end, the physcologist loves him so much, and she said he is very good! haha! My tips? Ask your child to smile more and talk more when been assessed.

He is just a very normal kid.

Xbliss, I think my in laws can go in with him leh, not so sure. But never mind as long as he is fine, is ok.

Sorry, me talking too much about the test. Will stop here liao.

Alicia, xbliss, we can go out with our babies next time yeah! Congrats that your baby is returning home soon Alicia! Xbliss, baby losing weight is normal for first few weeks, soon you will see him growing at amazing speed. Talk to him and sing to him more.

Xbliss, what music school you intend to send your boy? Haha, me also planning to send my boy to yamaha when he reaches 3 years old. Me want him to learn piano and "mi si" a lot of gals! haha.

guess what? me woke up so early today and today is a saturday!!!

Haiz...because me got to clean the house. Yesterady went shopping so never ask the cleaning lady to come. Now got to clean myself, sob!

hello! u are super early! i tot i am number 1! If not for ebm, i will still be lazing on the bed. After expressing, i am full of anticipation for bryan day already so cannot sleep. come up to forum to spend my time.

KKF, Alicia, my house also next to buangkok MRT! the aspella hdb flats! alicia, i think you belong to the next batch taking keys in 1st quarter 08 rite? when the time comes, if you need help with your defects or reno, can call me. i bring bryan to help you survey (me can lah, bryan no lah..i better keep bryan away from new houses that tend to be a bit more dusty!) for now, i offer my early congrats for craydon's soon-to-be arrival at home after his hotel stay at SCN.

precious one, the cost of the test.. i mean it costs SGD1000 just to buy the test manual, the instruction guides, the test papers and videos, etc.. usually before administration, the psychologists have to order the manuals, read and sometimes be tested on their ability to use the test properly. For those new psychologists or those using new tests, usually buay zai.. keep referring to manual esp for long long tests. When i used to use DDST, i always panic.. haha..
NUS library usually keeps these books of psychological tests, and i can borrow free cos still got colleagues studying there. heh. later on i read already i will know how to let bryan pass test with flying colors!

kkf, i tot of sending bryan to the christofori or whatever it is at compasspoint.. near to sakae sushi. cos nearby mah. yar, i think we watch too much korean drama.. man play piano is "mi si ren". hahah.

kkf, 3 yrs old got test?? Cannot be lar...cos my girl just saw her neo nat. Dr S B Lim in Sept and she mentioned next test at 5 yrs old hmmmm, but she did ask me to get the apple tree teacher to let me have a verbal report on my girl's progress in class on our next visit in 9 mths' time. Probably it is the 1st time that my girl attending playgroup/school.

On the other hand, remember, your child is gifted so may be it is a special test for gifted ones.

xbliss: I recalled the psychologist asked me if my girl could say a few words, I told her yes just very few cos she was a trachy baby. The IQ test was held in Jan07, but my baby got her trachy tube removed only in Nov 06 (so only 3 mths to learn to talk). She happened to point to the pic that my girl knew so my girl named them correctly. The psychologist commented wah not too bad, at least she said a few words in front of me, some parents told me that their children knew so many words but when tested, they didn't even utter one word!!! This remark did not make me happy but felt that the psychologist is not so good in understanding children's mood swings, shyness etc. Can't imagine if my girl refuse to speak a word there and then, she will also fail in communication. At the end of the day, a very "zai" psychologist is also important.

kkf/xbliss: what kind of musical instrument should a girl play then it will 'mi si' boys ?huh??

harlo, good morning everyone,
alicia, just went to see yr blog...so nice......

xbliss,
i just pm you, can you check if you received it?

kkf,
must really share tips leh on how to groom our kids....

lili,
hows everythg in shanghai?hows yr ger?did you do any exercises wif her?

when you cmg back?shanghai must be turning cold now..do take care...

kkf,
dun b shy la. dash is really a handsome & now smart boy! feel free to share. we r all happy 4 u. we oso share our little ones' achievements here

alicia,
wow, learing to bathe alrdy? pretty soon craydon will b home. i rem initially having a tough time bathing my ger. cos we r so afraid tat we'll do something wrongly. n got to switch off fan. so after bathing her, hubby & me will b so sweaty haha. enjoy

xbliss,
i c u r keeping up well w the expressing bm. good job. i'm sure brandon will b putting on weight v fast. keep it up.

precious_one,
talking abt mood swing. the last time i went to pd, nurse ask if my ger can point to body parts, i say yes. but when the nurse asked her, she refused to cooperate. make me so malu. good tat ur ger do u proud

okie..gg to cook lunch 4 the little princess..my mom bought silver fish, add tat into her porridge. must b v tasty..yummy

hi mommies, just wondering did your bbs experience watery stools during the teething period ? as my elder boy has the watery stools this morning

disneymickey, my girl also made me malu sometimes. She takes a long while to warm up with stranger/relatives. She just leech onto me, worst sometimes just wave bye bye and ask me to leave with her. But hor, each time when we change maid, it does not affect her, she readily accept them?? Strange right...

Hi disneymickey, talking about cooking, me so jialat, haven't cook for my boy. I open the fridge, realise nothing much inside! Haizzzzzzz. Anyway, me such a lousssy cook!

I really think my boy is very normal leh. I think he is just really in super good mood when tested. Just now, I asked him to put in some puzzles, can tell you he doesn't know any! So I guess he is just pure lucky! Hahaha, can be labelled as "gifted" due to his "charming" smile!
hoho.

precious one, I also very puzzled. The nurse Lim? told me that next year got to test again leh??? die...why leh? must call up and ask, hmm, dunno if they are working today.

xbliss, oh you want to send your boy to the compasspoint one? I asked already, 5 years old then can go. Yamaha, 3 years old can go. Christofori I heard before, but thought yamaha more prestigious, haha.

Precious one, your little angel already mi si ren, no need do anything.

kkf, tks for your compliment. But seriously I dun think my girl will be very clever as in academically so I wish she will at least have some flair for music. I admire people with music talent cos I dun have any.

By the way, hope your boy's fever subsided by now. My girl's cold and cough will take days to recover. Ytd, another sleepness night. My head really swell liao.

haha, I dun have any music talent as well. I just hope that my boy will acquire one skill that he is good in.

If I have a daughter will let her learn ballet!
can keep fit! hee.

I think his fever is better now. Hopefully will not have anymore. Hope your gal's cold and cough recovers soon. My boy had it last week as well...

Precious_One, thanks, just found out that my gf's baby has watery stools during her teething period, at least I am not so worried now, haiz,being a mommy is really not easy

kkf, if you have a gal, let her learn ballroom/ social dancing, is so happening now or figure skating, I love to watch figure skating everytime on TV. I was telling my sis to let my niece learn that

hi.. it's saturday. Posts running fast...

KKH so good, got teach all the CPR skills, bathing skills..All my babies skills taught by my MIL!! But I wish I can know a bit of CPR for kids. I can be very panicky during emergencies!!

hi xbliss, are you a psychologist by profession? Do you work with clinics or private? I'm quite interested because last time in schools, i'm with the pupil welfare department and we always work with psychologists from MOE branch to do testing for kids.

Precious_One, how Angel's flu? Hopes she's better

Seems like a few of the kids are down with flu. Is there a flu bug going around? Over here, the weather is changing to autumn. Also can catch cold easily. So I dare not bring my gal out. But weather so dry. Humidity level can drop to as low as 40%!

Hi Costa. Me doing exercises and massages with her dutifully. Sometimes I get so overzealous until she so fed-up!!! But nowadays, she getting better with her tummy time, not so frustrated and can last slightly longer. So feel more enjoyable now.
See her tummy time picture...
1029707.jpg

I think we are all the same. Just want our children to be healthy and normal. Anything extra, it's a bonus
Actually, last time when I was expecting my gal, I used to think I want her to be like this, like that. But in a way, I thank God that with her premature birth, I began to look at her for who she is and just want her to live a healthy and happy life
Probably if she was a full term baby, I will take her every milestone for granted. But now, I really celebrate and rejoice in her every achievement, be it big or small. Just a thought.

So kkf, I understand what you mean when you say you are afraid the piece of good news will disappear quickly.. I also have those feelings sometimes. I guess after all that we went through with our kids, we hold every piece of good news dearly. I'm sure Dash will grow up to be a fine and smart boy, cos he has got great parents, right?

Hi lili and hello to Princess Coco, so glad to see your pic here. Hope to have a chance to see you in person when you return to SIN next month.
Angel is still down with cold and cough, usually she takes up to 14 days to recover but I really hope this time she will recover before 29 Oct. Yes, I agree with you, I only wish that my girl has good health and she will be a good person, truthful to herself and to others. Quote your words, anything extra, it's a bonus!!

Yes, lili, I have learnt a poem during my JC. Quoting the poem is a sentence I always remember "nothing gold can last"...haiz.

My boy is still having fever. 38.5 degree, high right? I really dunno why after IQ test yesterday, suddenly onset of this fever.
Maybe I shd't openly tell everyone anything good about him, because it will be batang? I also think maybe i shd't celebrate his 2nd year old birthday afterall...sigh...

Really worrying about this high fever. I never bring him see doctor just eat the medicine at home...

Hi precious one, you can refer to this link for formatting:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=formatting

kkf, the weather is bad these days, half day heat and half day rain, even my body also cannot take it, dun talk about toddler. Do not blame yourself for sharing with us good news on your boy. I strongly believe the fever has got nothing to do with his IQ test result. I only know that old folks patang celebrate "Da shou", never heard that children cannot celebrate birthday lar. Don't think negative.

It is okay to give paracetamol at 4 hourly if fever is persistent but please monitor fever every hourly. Bring him to see doc. if temperature continues to rise. If you are using digital thermometer, you can minus 5 degree off so his fever is about 38 degree now. If using those mercury kind of thermometer under his armpit, then 38.5 degree is considered quite high. Use children fever cool pad on his forehead. Rinse dry a clean cloth with tap water to wipe all his joints to cool off (repeatedly). DO NOT use ice or ice cubes directly onto him. Do not bathe him, just wipe. My girl's weight at about 11 kgs takes 5 ml of paracetamol. The dosage of paracetamol is according to the child's weight. Please check with doc. on the right dosage. Lastly, if Dash is still active, I mean in his usual self, there's no cause to worry. FYI, viral fever will go up and down i.e. after u administer medicine, fever come down, by or before the next dosage, fever shoot up again. Perhaps you already knew all the above, I just a bit lor so. Be strong!

Tks for the link.

<font color="aa00aa">kkf, do you realise that the forum is very quiet this weekend, I think we are the mummies staying at home to attend to our unwell children. So we must Jia You! Hope Dash's fever will be off by tonight!</font>

Aiyo, I type so much, all disappeared!!

Precious_one, agree. Forum usually very quiet over weekend. For me, I seldom go out at night ever since I moved here. So surf surf net...Looks like you learned something new from the formatting link eh. Got purple colours on your posting..

As for picture uploading, just use the upload attachment below and load your picture as you would in an email attachment. Only thing you have to resize the picture to make it smaller so the loading will be faster.

kkf, you must not think this way.. I mean the 'batang' way. I also have this kind of thinking sometimes. I think for me, it's the way i'm brought up. Even now, my mum will tell me cannot say this, cannot say that of my gal. For eg, cannot say she is heavy, cannot say she like to drink water (if not she will not like next time). So as children,my parents always emphasize our negative points infront of pp and never praise us. But now, because I'm a Christian, I know that God will not punish us for giving praise to Him. Cos all these good things are given by Him. So you must also have positive thinking. Positive thinking begets positive circumstances. But I know it's easier said than done. Many times, I still have such 'batang' thoughts creeping into me and I've to tell myself to get rid of them. It's a daily reminder.

Jac, what's the luanguzao ? Just came back from KKH. haiz, darryl is having watery stool so to play safe hb decided to bring him to kkh A&E
doc say it might be sort of infection
hmm, tonite I have nite shift again....

Hello everyone. Yesterday evening, dash's temperature hit 39.7 degree. Was about to bring him to A and E (may see didi!) but decided not to, because I know KKH, they will def ask us to go to the observation room, keep sponging him, then monitor monitor monitor, can tell you it will take many hours! Haiz...so decided just bring him to normal GP nearby my home.

The doctor inserted a pill into dash's anus, and now think the fever has subsided a bit.

Haiz...never sleep well, he kept making lots of noise, seems like he is very uncomfortable with dunno wat. Hubby said may be due to his teeth coming out?

Thanks jacelyn, wat luangguzao?

ZZZZZZZZZZZ Me sooo sleepy.

Anyway, some funny thing is yesterday was supposed to be the parent course for shichida, and I forgotten! keep thinking it is today! Haiz...in the end, luckily my friend (her daughter enrolled same time as me)asked me "are you at the entrance?" then I realised! So we rushed to bring dash to see doctor, then after that my hubby rushed over to listen. haiz...but we missed out 1st hour. We paid $170 for the course, die die must go.

Like today, dash is supposed to have shichida, must still go because there is no make up lesson! and imagine! 10 lessons cost around $700-800, so 1 lesson around $100! must go!

haiz.

thanks lili and precious one for consoling me.
Lucky got all of you!

didi, my boy used to have lots of problems as well, watery stool, bronchitis, reflux, watsoever...really worrying, I can understand.

May all our kids stay strong and healthy everyday.

i thoughtt i am no. 1 to post at such an unearthly hour but kkf and didi beat me to it again. today all the commandos on guard duty cos of the bugs in the air hor. are the kids better?

i'm up cos of routine night duty to pump.. engorged until cannot take it so got bumper crop. bb bryan got more milk now!

kkf, dun be "pantang" lah. i get very pissed when pple tell me cannot say good things about my child.. the child cannot evaluate himself, that's why he needs us to give that positive reinforcement mah. i got scolded by my mother in law when i made a simple comment that my sis in law's bb got put on weight (which is really good cos he is allergic to cow's milk and keep having refluxes)... like that also cannot.. then now everyday they will "good boy this, good boy that". what's the big difference man?! your boy might have gotten some bug from KKH, i mean hospitals got the most bugs one lor..logical enough reasoning?! hee

i believe in telling my child his progress.. i will be happy too if my boss praises me all the time and i never underestimate the power of positive words cos that is what carried me through my pregnancy and tough journey after that.

lili, i really like what you say.. that we have learnt to moderate our expectations and everything else we see as bonus, which makes us really happy contented parents. A happy parent makes a good parent!

OH, my PM is working already! hehe. thks costa for testing it out! next step is to learn how to post in diff color and bold like precious_one!

steriliser done.. going to transfer milk already. Nites and chat again later! (can't believe i am saying good nite.. the birds on the tree outside start chirping already)

sorry quite lost in all the post.

xbliss, according to my ma - can say bb put on wt, just cannot say bb is fat ~ as later in life bb will be realli fat.

i m oso same as you. try say good things (but sometimes will slip up lah) and cant take it when pple say all the bad stuff (which happens when they compare to other bb). because whatever we say may come true as it's a sort of prayer.

Good Morning mummies

kkf: Glad to know that Dash's fever has dropped. There is no harm in giving Dash a dose of paracetamol when the body temp. drops to 36.7 for the 1st time. If confirm no fever after this dose, no need to administer medicine liao.

didi, what medicine did KKH doc. give your son since doc. suspected infection?

xbliss, i hated the engorgement part of ebming, I always kanna until terok terok. Now that I think of it, ebming is more tough than giving birth. Cos labour - one time terok pain but ebming for as long as you give bm. You will get clogs or blocked duct if you miss one or two pumps.
You are doing very well in this area.

lili, my hubby is a typical lao chek type, very very pantang, I say this cannot, say that cannot.... but me being very direct, sometimes say salah, he black face lor.
On the other hand, I will not say good things in front of peoples' kids cos scared adult pantang.

I managed to sleep ytd, not that my girl has recovered but my eye lids already so heavy for not sleeping two nights in the row.

For mummies who have access to my girl's blog, I posted my girl's montage 2005 and 2006 ytd night. You can see the big changes in her. Happy viewing.

kkf
As i know teething cannot be such high fever one. Think is better to go to a PD or KKH children emergency as he might need antibotic and he appear very unwell.

Last time my ger also like that, think her temperature is also about 39.4 degree and the PD say is viral infection and if the temperature never decrease after a few days have to bring her back and most viral infection take about 5 days to a week to recover. They are also afraid is denugan fever cause the sympton only surface around the fifth day.

Alicia, read your blog and love it. so beautifully designed! Hope your CPR course is fun today! Craydon's weight increase by quite a bit! congrats.. homecoming soon!

I think one mummy here mixed up our boys' name.. cant remember who thought my boy is called brandon.. so cute.. when i think about it, it sounds like a combination or Craydon and Bryan (alicia's boy and my boy's name!).

precious_one, thank you for the encouragement on ebm. i m a lazy mum.. keep missing the nite pumpings. only do it once a night. the rest of the time the alarm rings, i am just too tired to wake up. yesterday after missing pump for 7 hrs, the milk went up to 150ml. bumper crop for me.. similac bottle cannot hold so i panic to find slightly bigger container. At 150ml, i felt the breasts going to explode when i woke up. i know what u mean by pain!

xbliss - experts' advice for ebming is you must diligently pump at every 3 hourly for a start then 4 hourly (if really cannot bump at every 3 hrs). I understand your joy of having a bumper crop after 7 hrs but hor cannot always let it happen initially cos Bryan still needs milk for many months. When the milk supply gets more established and stable, I witnessed a handful of good cows pump more than 100ml each session so for two sessions of 6hrs, one gets more than 200ml of milk. If the pattern set is after 7 hrs, one gets 150 ml, one loss supply of 50ml and more. And in the long run, the milk supply actually gets lower and lower. Cos the brain sends a message to the breast saying that you only need 150ml after 7 hrs. Baby drinks milk every 3 hourly and the milk quanity gets more and more. This is how it works! Stress right!! I was so stressed previously too

Never never eat pig liver if you want to breast feed for a long long time cos liver will drain off supply.