Premature babies support group

disneymickey, welcome back. YOu want to submit your pretty gal photo to me for the montage?

Going to anderson primary. Will post again later in the night. any feedback do let me know.

kkf, the psle marking starts so late..the montage is well done..i wldnt noe how to do anythg like this...thanks...

daec,
great that the hole in the heart wld close off on its own......can understand how she feels as a mummy...

disneymickey,
yr ger is a lucky little princess......

kkf,
thanks 4 the invitation,but i think no need la. *can't tell the reason, cos i oso dunno how to say* . pai seh.

saw ur blog. noticed u bought the combi cutter 2. useful rt?

can c tat u've spent a lot of efforts in organizing ur boy's bd. bet he enjoyed himself?

had bit sorethroat @phuket. ytd started having running nose. left my ger @my mom's place last nite, cos i scared at nite if i coughed, will wake her. juz now i called back, she can say "mama" thru phone. so sweet.

4got to bring wallet & hse keys to work. now wan to go back early to sleep oso cannot. sigh.

Hello Mummies
Very busy cos of the "Lawyers' Event" happening in town this week.
Saw the bigger version of the montage on Dash's blog. VERY NICE!

Talk again.

hi kkf - well done. i like the montage

hello mummies, i have disappeared off the forum for some time as i had an emergency c-section last friday after being warded for observation on thursday. My twins were born at 27+5, but the smaller one didn't make it. My bigger twin is now in NICU. He is 925g at birth and has been doing very well since. At this point, he has v minimal intercranial bleeding (is that wat u call it?), breathing with help of CPAP, and jaundice.

I'm still battling with a thousand emotions but keeping up with the c-section aftermath and tasks for bb keeps me occupied such that i can grieve at a nice pace.

Will have a lot more to learn from you experienced mummies.. for now, it's about trying hard to be an effective mother cow and learning to bond with him which i am not very good at cos i am quite a "no nonsense" mother.. hehe.. if u know what i mean.

any advice on what i can do/learn at nicu? feeling a bit lost possibly cos of the mixed feeling of both a life and a death and can't get started properly. for now, i am just patiently waiting to catch my boy's first blink (havent' really open eyes yet, first smile, and waiting to give him his first breastmilk feed (now only managed to get like the base rim of the breastfeeding bottle filled (prob 2-3 ml?!) each pump session. Oh, i had to take medication to relactate after the earlier docs had different opinion on me breastfeeding and gave me med to stop lactating due to my health condition.. so it's doubly hard, but thank goodness i even managed a few teeny drops at the first try.. better than seeing an empty bottle!

I must really thank you all for the support here. i dun usually talk to anyone about emo stuff so writing it out is my best way. Coming here has prepared me so much better for the experience that happened and that will come.

hi xbliss,

take care! rest more well u can. ur bb is well taken care of @NICU. rest well, eat well. take lots of fluid, it'll help to generate more milk! u need all the rest u can now, so tat when u boy goes home, u can take care of him!

i think now u shld rest & try to pump milk. then, u can slowly learn how to take care of him, like changing diaper, feeding milk & bathing. slowly, take 1 thing at a time. nobody is perfect & born to b a mother. u'll learn/handle when the time comes

do come in here more, even if u dun hav anything to write, i'm sure reading the posts here will brighten ur day somehow..

hello xbliss, *pat pat* and welcome to join the rank of motherhood.

it must be a tough start for you. As we celebrate the birth of your elder boy... I will have silence prayer for your little one.

its great that you already have some BM. i remember it was after 5 days of my birth then i see the first few drops.

xbliss, feel free to talk as much as you wish here. this is where i find support too. I am proud to witness the birth of your boy

do take picture of your elder boy and show us the picture. its a wonderful wave to witness the little warrior growth.

meanwhile..have good rest and then you can produce good and quality BM for your boy. don't think too much okie...everything will be just fine

xbliss,
*hug**hug*....for all that you hv gone thru..u are a brave mummy.....

glad tt yr twin is doing well...do keep touching him and encouraging him, he can feel yr presence and love...

we learn from each other...not just you from us...try to build up yr milk supply as much as possible during this period...

any emo stuff or terms u dun understand, please drop them here..dun keep it bottled inside..all these technical terms may seem vy daunting but dun worry, watever we can help you, we will help you..

in the early stages, all the docs will drop all these terms u never heard before in yr entire life..its okay.....can learn slowly..

U can pm me any time you want....and maybe i can give you my hp if needed...

do take care of yrself...

Xbliss
I wasnt sure if you will post again. I decided to wait. Good to have you back.

Parenting a child in NICU is very different from doing it in the comfort of our own home. There is so many things we can do when we are at home. At NICU, we can only stand and look helplessly when the nurses attend to our babies. This, coupled with the unfamiliar NICU environment will naturally make you feel "lost".

Expressing milk for your boy is probably the only thing you can do now to bond with him. Leave the rest to the medical team.
When the baby is more stable, you will be allowed to carry him. It may not happened so soon, be patient.

Get a good milk pump. Pump regularly to stimulate the milk supply. Drink more fluid. If you encounter any difficulties , request to see the lactation consultant- Yen Peng.

Make friends with the nurses at NICU. They spent the most time with you bb and they are the best people to go to for daily updates on your boy.

Lastly, bear in mind that all preemies develop at their own pace. The ride in NICU may not be smooth sailing. However, a Set back is NOT a failure.

Have you thought of a name for him?

hi xbliss

sorry to hear abt your younger son.

the staff at NICU take care of bb well.
I echo their advice to me which was - not worry abt baby, they will help to take care. Focus get well, produce BM. if not much, dun worry, just try ur best - that is enuff.

I felt better seeing that they showed some love, concern to bb. Some of them did take some time to explain/chat with me. Do ask questions from the staff or here in this forum. I learnt a lot from them. I felt lost too but dun worry u will learn along the way

If its KK, they have some bks that can borrow. I borrowed some and it reassure me as it explains abt NICU /progress of baby/info abt premmies.Think the mummies here can advise some on that too.

I wasnt in this forum when I was at NICU. I kept a blog on bb progress. It helped me focus on her progress and the positive. That was really helpful.

When u go see ur boy, he knows u are there. ur presence helps him. talking to him reassures him.

do take care of urself too. dun worry too much. take it day by day, step by step..

kkf, hmm nice work done
maybe you can put my boy's names if it is not a bother/ troublesome they are Dylan (left) & Darryl (Right)

xbliss, sorry to learn about your younger darling, please take good care of yourself as your elder boy need you very much.

xbliss, stay strong. I'll keep your family in my prayers.

kkf, thanz for your hard work on the montage. Saw your blog pictures. You are a really great mommy for Dash. I'm sure he will grow up to be a fine boy.

hello mummies, tk u for e advice. i feel more normal now instead of being a "helpless" mummy. hee. it hurts not being able to do much 4 him. I am very touched by the NICU nurses.. heard from Dr Chee that they knit the little hats to fit the bbies. i will def buy them nice cakes when bb bryan is 1 mth old.

We have named him Bryan (his younger brother is/was Ryan). i believe he shares the same name as someone else's little fighter too? it is a common name but easy to remember and sounds nice (to me!) do all preemies have "brownish hair"? i thought he took after my gene.. i have natural brown hair and kena scolded by JC teacher for "dying" my hair before.. Bryan's hair makes him look like ang moh bb! hehe. sure will be very stylish in future. just hope he is not "kiew moh" (curly hair) like me cos my mum always say "kiew moh" pple very notti.

sure will come up here to post, just that adjusting to milking schedules, eating and even walking takes a lot of time.. yesterday walk from women's to children's wing took me like 20 min..

as for bm, trying to keep to schedule diligently. now reaching the stage where i can almost fill up the base of the bottle thinly with 2 pump sessions.. feel so encouraged when i see it "flowing" a little rather than drops. i had the help of yen peng to start off.. she visited me at the ward. really excellent for a 5 min crash course.. she was the one who corrected the doctors' opinions that i cant breastfeed.. thank goodness for her!

thanks for the concern.. actually i had been in this forum way before i delivered cos i knew the prognosis. I had read up the archives and already learnt a lot.. so i dun feel so lost. i could even educate my hubby the first 2 days. hee. But he grew quite expert quickly cos he went to NICU more (i couldnt bring myself to go for first 2 days) Now we are partnering each other in learning!

kkf, happy belated b'day to dash! actually bb bryan was due on 15 oct too.. heheh. next time we can co-invite for their b'day. i upset that it falls during exam period.. i.e. next time they will have their yr end exams on their birthday.. spoil mood. looking at the racing car toy set, i am sure it will be a fav hit with him for some time!

hello xbliss
good to learn from each other and yes, its important to have your support from your family (esp bryan papa).

you are normal and you are very brave and strong.

Here the mummies know what it is like to have our baby not home with us when we discharged.

like mich say, individual baby develops differently. have faith in bryan...he is a miracle and will be a strong fighter.

keep us posted on the updates (be it small or major) and continue expressing
. promise us you have good rest during confinement too. Bryan needs you

xbliss,
the hats are knitted by some of the nurses plus volunteers....and they need such hats becuz normal hats cannot be used to connect the cpaps..

they hv to discard them when its worn out so they need a constant supply.....

Bryan is a nice name..tink its the same name as jacelyn's son..

wat mich said is right..now u may not be able to do much for bryan but later on you wld be...so get yr health back together and let your wounds heal..

as wat mich had aptly said....a little set back doesnt mean failure.....every set back is a step towards greater things....

if need help, do pm me...

Mich
Thanks for replying on my behalf was really very busy this few days.

Xbliss
Great to heard from you again. Was always wondering how you are doing after you discharged from hospital on 09oct? You have to stay strong mentally and physically as days in NICU is not always smooth sailing. If some days when you feel like crying just let it out, release the stress and you will feel much better.

hi xbliss

*hugz*, u are such a brave mommy! Keep pumping yar? bb bryan needs ur milk. It is sad to hear wat happened to ryan, and i am sure u must be having mixed feelings now... Watever it is, priority now is to make sure that bb bryan is well taken care of and can come home soon. jiayou!

bliss,
my ger oso got brownish hair, ya, looks like ang mor haha. will try to post her recent pics soon. n oh, she has bit of curly hair 2, tat's y v notti haha. but dun worry la, it's juz a myth. i'm sure bryan will b a real cutie

xbliss, glad to see that you are still posting here. It's good that you stay in touch with us for the emotional support. We might not be there physically with you at the hospital, but somehow, it rather strange how the forum is like a virtual world where we can still connect. Sharing your days with us will make you feel stronger. We will be very glad and encouraged to hear about Bryan's progress.

Hi mummies, can you help me by giving me some names of your PD? I'm checking up on KKH website to see who I can contact for follow-up when I go back to Singapore over the next few months. Any good ones to recommend?

xbliss, I admire your strength and courage of handling both extreme emotions at one time. Bryan is so proud to have a strong mummy like you. With this super strength, you will be able to walk hand in hand with Bryan in his many many days ahead. Congratulations on the arrival of your new born, Bryan.

I'm sure Ryan will be dearly missed and in your heart, he will forever live. Ryan will understand that at this point in time, you need to focus on his gor gor Bryan.

Like Lili said, we will be very glad and encouraged to hear about Bryan's progress.

Going for PSLE marking these few days. Wun have time to access to computer, except only when back home which is around 6 plus.

Anyway, xbliss, your boy ryan is up in heaven with my boy jared playing happily together, no pain, only happiness. My elder boy jared who is coming to 3 years old will be able to take care of him, not to worry.

Bryan will be home soon! May he grow to be strong and healthy each day and go home with daddy and mummy very soon!

Meanwhile, you got to do your confinement well too and build up your health. Take care ok? Do keep us updated. Anything you want to know, can ask us here, we have been thru before.

Ok disneymickey, I understand, will count you out for the montage.

Will touch up the montage and send to those mummies who have contributed to the photos. 20 years down the road, maybe I shall do another, and we will be amazed at how our children have grown!

Chloegal, so sorry, I think I have lost your email in the midst of all the emails. I have saved your children's photos, and may have accidentally deleted after saving. Can you send me your email address again? So soooorrry.

Btw, disneymickey tell me more about your trip next time...may consider bringing my boy there

xbliss!!! so coincident bryan and dash are borned same day! I will always remember bryan's birthday, hee!Bryan will grow up to be very healthy and strong!

Btw, nana, your son is ryan! I have your blog, so I got the name. Left only Naddy, what is the name of your pretty gal?

xbliss,
hi, so sorry, only now i know cos my pc break down whole afternoon.
Sorry to hear that., but, not to worry, bryan will be strong and recover.....
as costa say, ya, your boy name same as my 2nd twins....bryan teo.
Dont worry, bryan name was a strong name to give him, as my bryan also strong as i cant emazing too. He was born in 1.19kg, during 1st 15 days he was in critical case and his weight go until 900gram, he done the laser eyes when he was 1.5month in only 1.5kg. So dont worry, your bryan will be alright.....he will be strong as same wth my bryan, yes, he can , he can..........
I will tell my pusa to protect bryan and let him breath himself soon. Not too worry abt brain bleeding, my 1st twins in stage 2 before that.
Jia you, jia you......
try to save all the breast milk for bryan, what you can do is this and please rest more.....i know was difficult, but try please/////
Just go and do the pray, i dont know which you was, but, believe it, they can help you...believe.

jane,
today i cant get in pc, and now need to take care my boys as my maid need to do housejob, i will sent to you tomorrow.

hi mummies, today is so physically tiring but rich emotionally. i had a few good cries while reading your posts and while posting and it really helps. was busy eating and milking whole day.. think my supply has gone up a little.. can produce about 2 teaspoons per pump session..then maybe can relax and no need to pump so often. thank goodness for the relactation pills.

I have a question though.. as i have been suffering from constipation or rather dun dare to pass bowels cos of the pain of c-section, i took Laxarol or oral paraffin emulsion once. It was prescribed as a c-section package medication after the operation. Would any of you know if that is safe in breastmilk? Also, how about antibiotics prescribed for c section? I can't find any info online and have yet to ask the NICU pple. i will check with them when i go. or is there a number to call?

kkf, i also have another angel up there with jared and ryan. He is 17 mths old. I also have a pomeranian who is prob 20+ yrs old up there..hee. i'm sure ryan will love the pomeranian cos i watched animal planet everyday when he was inside and i always talked to him about how cute the dogs are.

also, bryan was supposed to be born on 15 oct via scheduled c-section, but becos ryan had passed on, he had to be delivered via emergency c-section on 12 Oct. So they have slightly diff birth dates, but prob some similar libran traits.

precious one, so glad to see you posting here. i was wondering if you were upset here. Hope that incident has passed and you are happy here again.

costa, the knitted hats sure carry a lot of love! too bad i can't knit.

jacelyn, i checked out online and it says "high" or "noble".

xbliss, I was on antibiotics after natural delivery previously as my placenta didn't come out together with the baby. The gynae actually used her hand and spent some 5 minutes within me to drag out the placenta. She mentioned that if she couldn't pull my placenta out, I would have to go to the Operation Theatre. Thank GOD, she did it, and becoz she did it, I was on antibiotic. I was on the advice of Yen Peng, to express milk and my baby drink the milk with antibiotics too. To play safe, ask the neotalogist since they are the expertise with premies. I'm not sure about the Laxarol though cos the NICU nurses told me me previously, she said what the mummy ate came out in the bm. They told me some mummies ate sashimi, and the milk smell like raw fish and after the baby drank that bm with sashimi, they lao sai..... I don't know if they are joking or serious, perhaps they are trying to lift me up/humour me since I was there for 6 months.

The tel. no to NICU is 6394 1153 (hope it isn't changed after two years).

Like you, my pomeranian passed away about 2 decades by now, he was such a darling... his name is Fei Cai (in cantonese).

Yes, I was upset previously but I'm not going to be upset forever. This forum is about premies support and I believe that I went through quite a hell bit to be able to contribute a little. That's why I'm back again.

I still want to say that you are really very very strong. In your own busy/tiring time, you still care about me, I'm deeply touched. Bryan is going to be a very strong boy too cos like mummy, like son!!

xbliss,
I was also on some antibotics after my discharged and when i ask Dr Kenneth kwek about it, he bring me to NICU and ask one of the neotalogist for me caused i dun really know how to pronouce the medicine and at the same time took a peep at my son. She said it was OK and it is actually quite good for the bb to have some antibotics. Anyway our babies have to take antibodies when they are in NICU. Better take the medication with you to double confirm with the doctors.

Ha...Ha... cannot be lazy lor. Still have to pump every 3 to 4 hrs to get good supply. From the nuse, they say that you can get more milk supply during the early hours around 3 to 4am. I find it quite true cause i usually got more milk during those hours.

Have to eat more and rest more. Have a good confinement. Once Bryan is back, you will have have no times to do all these. Remember to cover yourself properly when you visit bryan since you are still on confinement.

It is good to cry to let go emotionally, i do that often when my son is in NICU. I still do it sometimes when i thought of it. Just cant help feeling worried and sad. But after all the crying, we still have to be strong cause we knew that the bb needed us and maybe they can feel how we feel. Talk to him more, he will knew mummy and daddy is there to give him support. Take Care...

Costa, Jane and Mummies....
It is so heartwarming to read the words of encouragememt and advice that you gave to Xbliss.
When we have a new preemie in the thread and we start to share our experiences, do you find the images of incubators, alarms and all the familiar scenes of NICU appearing on your mind?
It is happening to me now while i am typing this. Geee..

Lili
Our preemies are following up with their assigned neonatologists and I am not sure if these neonatologists run clinics for out- patients.
Dr Argawal is a neonatologist.
Are you planning to seek a second opinion on the muscle issue which you posted earlier or is it a general assessment of your girl's overall development?
Give us more information so we can call KKH to check on this.

KKF
Have send you an email. Paiseh leh, wanted to change my photo. Decided to choose one that they took together then ppl will know that they are siblings and also that can save place. Hee...Hee... one stone kills two birds hor. Thanks

chloegal noted, will change.

Xbliss, so bryan is borned on 12th october then?
Yeah, all our angels up there playing.

Anyway do continue to rest well today. May bryan continues to progress well as well.

hi kkf,

Very nice montage!

I sent you a photo of Ruby - if you have time to include her,it would be nice but if no time, it is ok.

xbliss,
good morning..how are you today?

After my birth,i was on vy strong antibiotics becuz i contracted septicaemia(blood poisoning)..at first they told me tt i cant give the bm to my baby but later on, they said can becuz my bb was on the same antibiotics....by that time, it was already four or five days after birth....i was so worried tt i cant get any bm at all

but wif the encouragement of the ward nurses and yen peng, i managed to express almost every three hourly

not trying to sound pitiful here but i was on drips for 3wks before birth and two wks after birth....and its vy hard to express bm when one of yr hands is obstructed by the drip..But smhow,i just kuai kuai expressed....i just stopped this year july....after my son turned 1 year of real age..

so do press on...u can put a note on the glass bottle saying that you have consumed xxx medicine or any other special conditions..just in case...tts what i did when i had fever and still expressed..then they can look at the bm before feeding and see if its okay...hope tis advice is helpful to u...

continue the expression, tis is the best window period to build up already..and bm is the best for bbs...even if you throw away the milk if it cannot be drunk, u still must keep up wif the expression...

Mich,
thanks...as wat is on the hearts and minds of every mummy on this board, our onli wish is to help to lessen the pain and confusion of a new preemie mummy

yes,the familiar sounds of the machines etc are so real..before the parent support grp mtg started, i can feel tears in my eyes...u noe lah the ebm room where mummies bonded...

lili,
my boy is seeing Doc Khoo Poh Choo at KKH..she was assigned to us and she is a very frenly and knowledgeable doctor..

like wat mich said, ask us any questions so that we can find out for you b4 you come back..or you can email me...

i brg my boy to outside paedi for jabs but back to doc khoo for the follow up appointments....
bring back yr medical notes and history and make a copy for the doctor's review in spore..i gv a copy of my son's discharge papers to the paedi where i bring him for jabs to keep him in the loop about his birth and medical history...

hv a nice day..let me go and zo gang (work)first.....before comin' back...

xbliss,
i was on some antibiotics 4 c-section. i din think of whether it's suitable 4 breastmilk, cos i assume it's prescribed by gynae, it's ok. careless mommy here. maybe u can ask ur gynae, 2 b sure

do not lax on the pumping. i rem doing it every 3hrs initially. it'll really bring the supply in. breastmilk is NEVER too much. if there's bal, u can always ask 4 glass bottles frm the nurses & freeze them. i pump till my ger was 7mths but i hav 1 mth of supply in the freezer so she took bmilk till 8mths!

lili,
my ger's pd is dr ong eng keow frm TMC. his tel is 62526115. he's supposed to b a specialist in premature bb.

xbliss,
glad and happy to know that u are feeling better. jiayou! take care

Lili,
we are seeing dr argawal from kkh too.

kkf & those who r interested,
my phuket trip is good. every morning, will hav bfast by the pool. my ger will b bz chasing bird & eating her croissant & wanting to go to the pool. after her croissant, will walk ard the resort to take pics. then went 4 a swim, bathe & milk 4 her then go take shuttle bus to patong beach. speand 4hrs there, hav lunch @ this new mall. then took the bus back to the resort. 1st day, i went 4 massage when my ger was taking her afternoon nap, 2nd day, told hubby to go while i look after her.

c relax hor?

i stayed in hilton. bit far frm anywhere, abt 20mins by car to patong beach. but the resort is sort of self-contained. n the staff there r v friendly. will definitely go back there again

i tot u confirm gg batam? another thing gd i like abt this trip is, it's only 1.5hrs flight!!!

hi mommies

Good morning everyone! Can i check with u on bisphenol-A free bottles? i am using medela storage bottles now to feed my kids cos i understand that medela products are bisphenol-A free. But i discover that everytime i pour hot water into the medela bottles, there is a horrible stench, although i have already washed the bottles thoroughly with baby detergent. Anyone experience that with medela bottles? Anyone using the b-free bottles and feel that they are good? Where can i get b-free bottles?

good morning mummies

well..my maid decide to stay. if i strike toto i sure become a SAHM :p but well again...now just have to work la (like costa say zo gang)

hi xbliss - is a new day! let us know what is the progress of bryan

mich..yes,... somehow. the alarm sound and dididididi sound does rings a bell. like costa say, we are all here to share warmness and try to cheer each other up. you too have been a terrific support to me and siang...

li li - my boy under Dr agarwal
yes, like costa say, i too bring my boy health booklet everywhere (really is everywhere) i go :p

kkf - may i have a copy of the montage once its finalised? love to keep a copy and include in the blog that i been trying to do hahahah

jace - oh oh ok ok. hope your pc come up fast

hi chloe, sorry...never heard of bisphenol-A free bottles. i am shy to say. my boy use 'prince bottle and pigeon teats', i know kaki bukit Baby's hyperstore got sell B-free bottles. my collegaues go there any buy. below is their tel : 68441123. Add : 69 Kaki Bukit Avenue 1 Shun Li Industrial Park

hope above helps

Chloe,
understand tht Kiddy Palace selling the bfree bottles..but so far, i din check it out

also, a couple of wks back when i was at Camden Medical Centre, the pharmacy downstairs was selling and was hving promotion if you bring in some old bottles but i din buy any ..I scared i dun noe how to use...dun noe if the promotion still on or not...

disneymickey,
wah, u really hv a good time.....show us pictures of yr ger when they are ready...

xbliss

i was on anti-biotics for a month plus after c-section cos my wound din heal properly and got infected (e-coli virus). i remember the antibiotics was amoxycillin and then later upgrade to something stronger (sorry, cannot remember the name of this one). i continued to breastfeed cos dr mentioned it is ok. i would suggest that u check with ur doctor (gynae and paediatrician) whether the drugs u are taking are safe. Good to check with both drs so that the o&g and neonatal teams know what's going on.

Good Morning, Mummies!!!

kkf,
nice montage! Thanks for doing it.

lili,
here's the KKH neonate list:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/MedicalSpecialtiesnServices/ChildrensHospital/Medical/Neonatology/

Most of us are w agarwal as she is head of SCN. the thing with these heads is, they are very good, but they are also VERY busy, which means waiting time is crazy. but if you are a private patient iso a subsidised patient like us, maybe your waiting time wont be so long.
If yu get monday morning appt, then jialat lah. sure wait very long.

xbliss,
how are you today? Getting better? Will you be discharged soon?

I'm sorry to hear abt Ryan. He will be ok up there, and even have a dog to be his best fren!

Plse continue expressing your BM every 3 hours to build up your supply. I remembered that once i slacked to 4 hours, my milk supply went up momentarily (as breasts had more time to produce milk) but almost immediately went down (as brain signals to breasts that not much milk is needed anymore). You will be able to survive this, even when there are times you wonder if you actually can! I find that the mummies here have that extra jolt of energy compared to other mummies, because they think of their dearest premature babies who need them more. Be sure to take care of yourself so that you can take care of your baby, ok.

The NICU nurses are very very nice as they know our worries. I like the SCN nurses too but I find the NICU nurses more attentive and usually warmer and more patient, bcos their nurse:patient ratio is better so they have more time for you. And they know the emotions that you are going thru. Some of them can realli become your fren during your stay.

Try not to cry in front of your baby as it may affect the baby's mood. Tell Bryan he'll be ok and that you will love him no matter what. Tell him his aunties, uncles and many other pple are waiting to see him when he gets better. Do ask your hubby to bond with the baby too. My hubby was very scared to touch at first because bb was so small.

Try and visit often if your health permits. Mine was natural delivery so I could come everyday in my knee high socks n long dress (must keep warm during confinement), I dunno for C-section mummies as I understand different mummies recover differently.

I remembered asking the nurses everytime they dropped an acronym or medical terms. They will try to explain what they can, esp the common items (ET tube, CPAP, IV drip, long line, PDA etc) that after a while you even know the complicated names of the medicine your baby may be taking. But medical update, they tend to wait for the doctor. I used to look forward to the nurses updating me on his weight gain, oxygen requirement (if there have been any improvement) and the amount of BM that he is taking in. The doctors usually update once a week or once in two weeks. It's a long ride. But if your baby is ok, it's worth it. When I see my son laugh at me nowadays, I am very very happy that we didn't give up on him.