Preggie Friends Since 2003

Hi Cherly,

Yes.. great wall quite siong.. coz the steps are uneven, some high, some low, some got missing slabs. No la.. didn't get the certificate coz must pay one leh..... i spent the money eating venetta ice-cream up on the great wall instead! hahaa

HI Mummies

cherly/hong
The parenthood rebate can only be claimed for 2nd child onwards if I read it correctly.
$10K for 2nd, $20K for 3rd.

IF u click on the Parenthood words, it wl bring u to another section whereby u choose the % to be shared btwn hb/wife.

Also have the Working Mum claim.

Maid levy - Not sure if can claim by mth. Mine is a year liao. Can't rmbr what I did last year. Sorry, can't help u with this.

I read till I blur last nite....

preggie/cherly
I climbed the wall twice.. I think one side is not so steep but I can't recall which side...

preggie
The guide/driver are locals? So u gave them big tips?

U earn so much gotta pay tax ah?? hehehe..

cla/preggie
I have liking for pandas too. Hv seen in HKG or Guangzhou last time. Big but gentle creatures.

cla
Yah I got a new IRAS pin. After that I changed the pin, but when I tried to log in last nite, I cannot enter leh.

chris
My present co also does not hv auto filing.. u gotta fill in the salary and the cpf section.

cherly
Come to think of it, I think the levy is on an annual basis. I think can only claim by year.

Hahaha Stylobb, I was going to suan preggie when I read that she need to pay tax. You are faster!

I have got the cert for the great wall leh. But I climb it when I was young so lots of engery. I remembered the view really took my breath away and not the climbing part!

Jastan,
That is very nice room! But I think this belongs to the suite. Very expensive leh...

Cla yeah, 6.5k includes everything. Air tickets $2755 (Promo tix), Hotel around 1k and unlimited JR rides close to $700. 2K spending $.

Cherly / Preggie,
In fact, I felt that it's kinda cheap if you take into consideration that my flight is SQ and hotels are Hilton and similar class. Brought a lot of goodies as well as lots of Thomas stuff too. I think I save on the hotels a lot as friends have 50% discount and SQ tix is on promo when I booked.

Recently there's this advertisment which promote China snow mountain? IT look beautiful leh... Chengdu if I didn't remember wrongly...

Hi StyloBB,

The guide and driver are both PRCs. At the end of the trip, we gave them extra tips to show our appreciation lor... you know some of my tour mates finished their RMB and borrowed money from them! hahaa.... the guide and driver didn't mind them paying back in SIN dollars.

Hi StyloBB, Linda,

Are you sure you all dun need to pay tax? Later i report you to IRAS ah! hahaaa

Cherly,
rebate and relief is diff.

Ben is claiming child relief not parenthood rebate.

if u want Ben to have all the 10k rebate then u just need to state u give Ben 100% of the 10K.

Correct me if i am wrong. relief is the amt deduct from ur annual income before they calculate the amount of tax u need to pay for this tyr 2006.

Rebate amount is use to minus off the amt of income tax u need to pay.

Saying if u got tax this year for amt of $1k. U use the Rebate 10K to help u to pay off. That mean u no need to pay tax this yr and u still have 9k left after deducting 1k. This 9K can be bring over to a few years.

Stylo,
that mean u and ken have 25K tax rebate.

Preggie,

Don know why started from last year i need not pay for tax. Previous year got to pay few hundred bucks too.

Hong,

I am abit blur blur liao, will work with Ben tonight to submit it.

Cherly,

The reason might be there's a few reliefs that you didn't use previous year but managed to use it last year?

Hong explaination is correct.

Hallo Mommies...

Talking abt taxes, I also have to pay taxes after all the rebates and reliefs leh... Dun think me high earner too. Or maybe I didnt claim enuff???

Anyone knows how much is the grandparents' tax relief?

Minnie,
u can only claim grandparents taz relief if the grandparents are not working.

My FIL working and my MIL declare as self employ so we cant claim parents and grandparents

cherly
Maybe that was before charlene was born, so less to claim.

preggie
Don't report me leh... I had to pay all this while but not much lah..

minnie
Grandparent Caregiver Relief is $3,000 for one parent or parent-in-law. Only 1 person can claim for parent or parent-in-law.

hong
Cfm that for Parenthood Tax Rebate is
$10000 for 2nd child
$20000 for 3rd child
Can be split btwn hb/wife in any %.

Working Mother Child Relief (only for mothers)
5% of mother's earned income for 1st child
15% ---"---- 2nd child
20% --"----- 3rd child

Qualifying Child Rebate
$2000 per child for the first 3 children
Can also be split btwn hb/wife

Parent Relief
$5000 if parent living with u
$3500 if parent not living with u
(have conditions re age, income of parent)

Foreign Maid Levy Relief
cherly
I think can claim on nbr of months cos it says the 'maximum' is two times the levy paid... u can try to put in.

hong
I tried the excel worksheet, the Parenthood Tax Rebate is the last rebate after they show the tax payable so for those with second kid and more, it will really offset the amount...

U mean the $9000 wl be kept there?? Actually no difference, cos the next year, we wl again claim the same reliefs..

today talking abt tax... i just filed mine, nothing much since i din really work for long last yr :p

Stylo,

Great summary!

Just like to add on some stuff...

Maid relief - max is $7,080, so is abt $295 per mth. If u r paying more than this amt, can onli claim $7,080.

Parenthood Tax Rebate - yes, the remaining will be there to offset ur future tax. the diff is that u & ken don hv to pay tax for the next few years, since u contributed to the birth rate. hee hee

DJD,

could be due to the WMCR and grandparent care relief.

Hong,

thot ur mil is taking care of Ju full time? How come declare self employed?

Chris,

Ur employer under auto-inclusion scheme? Still they hv to give u the IR8A form leh, maybe u wan to check w ur HR?

Morning

Toking about taxes, I long long ago already filed.

Linda,

I oso hvnt had to pay tax for a few yrs liao, me oso earning very little as compared to Preggie. Hehe...

I am oso waiting for ur pic leh. Make me to 'gian' to go Thomas Land leh you... I must start to SAVE, SAVE, SAVE liao.

Stylobb,

I was reading your posting and looks like u hv a lot reliefs to claim leh. Tink u no need to pay tax for a few yrs liao.

Good Morning Mommies.

I have filed both mine and hb's taxes liao...hiaz, both of us are paying taxes every year leh...also not considered high-earners...

Last year worse, paid so much more...hiaz...

Cla,
My MIL working as freelance. She collect accounts, tidy them and pass it to licence accounting coy to tampulate her customers account.

Stylo,
i also need to pay tax every yr, so i guess Law n I will able to save a small amt this few yrs. hee hee

Trans,

Me also gian to go ThomasLand again cos I only took one ride. I'm having problem with my photos upload leh. HAzi... got a new computer and I'm not IT pro so gotta take some time

My tax is filed b4 I go Japan cos scare I sotong forgot. I don't think I need to pay tax cos I got additional claim as compared to all of you! Studies! Oh ya Preggie, did you claim under that?

Yah man, I also filed my income tax liao. No more headache...

cla
U are right, but for my case, we pay less for levy due to the young children.

hong
Btw, for the Working Mother Child Relief, does it mean if u earn $20k a year, u calculated 5% of that amount for 1st child? THis amount is not known yet leh, they wl auto deduct for us.

Same for the Parenthood Rebate, it's not reflected immediately right? So I really don't know how much the final amount wl be.. hope it'll be zero!

So cute, ur mil, like that is self-employed.

trans
Yes I have a lot to claim for... 3rd child has a lot of reliefs to claim.
Actually everything is in good timing, rmbr I left my last co last year and they paid me this package? If not for the twins, maybe I won't get so much rebate/reliefs.
Govt loves babies!!!

Stylo,
WMCR is generated base on the 5% of ur annual income. I didnt read much abt this.
Parenthood rebate is not reflected in the filing. It shld reflect in Income tax return form from IRAS.

MIL - more to it lah. I dun know how she did it but a few coy contribute to her CPF funds. May be not self employed but other coy registered her as employee.

good morning mummieS!
today's friday the 13th! we are having our dinner&dance today at cafe del mar... hopefully it doesnt rain man... we will knock off early at 3pm today. will go vc and meet up my long-missed colls at old office

Good Morning Mommies...

Hi Hong,
Ju looks nice both in before and after haircut pics...After the haircut, he looks so cool...handsome boy.

Hi Chris,
So nice to ko early...Cafe Del Mar looks like a nice place... enjoy yourself.

Hi M2B,

We've booked tickets to watch "Meet the Robinsons". Hope joey will enjoy it.

What have you planned for this weekend?

Hi Hong,

Julian looks v stylo and handsome in his new haircut.

Hi Preggie,

Me gg to "Shao Mu" on Sat... Josh has been bugging me to bring him for Mr Bean. But I dun like this man leh...

Hi Chris,

Enjoy your Beach Party!!

hong
oh ya, i wanted to say ju is a handsome boy after his haircut too... before haircut is cute boy :p

minnie/preggie/m2b
ya thks! we are looking forward to it...

preggie
nothing much for me.. wanted to go swimming again but ash a bit running nose liao so beta not... mayb bring her to some outdoor places...

Hi Preggie & Minnie,
Raine enjoyed Mr Bean more than Meet the Robinsons though...she was laughing away...

Hi Preggie,
Shd be shop ard after Raine's music lesson tmr...intend to go VC...

Now we are carless coz waiting for our new car...dun know when will come...hb exported his car before its 5th year, got some $ back though...

Hi Preggie & Minnie,
Raine enjoyed Mr Bean more than Meet the Robinsons though...she was laughing away...

Hi Preggie,
Shd be shop ard after Raine's music lesson tmr...intend to go VC...

Now we are carless coz waiting for our new car...dun know when will come...hb exported his car before its 5th year, got some $ back though...

Hi Hong,

Ju is soo cute and is becoming more and more handsome.

Hi Chris,

Enjoy your D&D. Hereby wishing you get the 1st prize!

Hi M2B,

Wah got new car to sit ah. Can smell leather again!

Hi Chris,

Hope you dun win a pair waterford crystal champagne flutes! hahaaa.. then you'll have more things to auction off on ebay! hahaha

Hello mummies.

What a bz day for me.

Hong,

Ju is a fair and handsome boy.

Chris,

enjoy yr D&D.
both u n pf dare to go to swimming pool now? 2-3 months later i can bring clarence to pool too, looking forward to it.

M2B,

Which car u buying?

Preggie,

I wanted to bring charlene for meet the robinson too but i think i might not have enuf time on weekend. My mum is going for holiday next week, the agent told her Kunming is quite cold so might need to accoy her to buy some clothing.

Been v bz... trying to find my work but alas, this aftn mil fell sick and chara has been having fever since wed nite. ..not sure if it's becos of the mmr jab... my gf doc says no, the gp says cud be.. I had been sorta up the past two nites checking on her. Anyway... part of our role as mummies... I managed to leave work earlier .
btw do u gals jot down the dates when ur tods fall sick?? I do it this year.

Weekend's here, hope she wl be fine. Hb said she was kinda listless this morning... maid said she was ok in the day, in fact no fever and was playing by herself.

trans/minnie
As usual my mum v gan jeong, kept asking me if I gave chara fever medicine and asked me why fever still there... haiz...

hong
jul is good-looking, I don't mind his messy hair do before the cut....

preggie
Maid's off this weekend so wl be a challenging one for us.

jesse just swung by the lamp and broke the shade and bulb..so maybe we'll hv to get a new one!

Had planned to go swimming again but looks like chara wl not be allowed into the water... maybe we wl still go, let jesse and julien play in the pool.

Hb suggested trying Botak Jones as they opened a branch at TPY.

I was on site the whole day, working in the rain.

Regarding Julian - thanks...
We felt he look cute in the new hairstyle. He started to show us mischief look + the new hairstyle simply cant have the heart to be angry with him.

Swimming - yah i have not bring Jan for a dip for very long time. Have to wait for them to be full recovered.

Chris,
I wanna ask the same qns as DJD leh. pf and ash going down the water or the whole family?

Stylo,
i dun really jot down the date but will rbr the period. Jan will likely to fall sick every 3 to 4 months.

M2B,
U still going back to Toyota?

Hi M2B,

Your old car is a subaru right? We like the new vios too! We think it looks sleeker than the old model.

Hi Cherly,

I kind of addicted to china now.. coz the stuff cheap and scenery is so beautiful. Kunming is nice. Hope your mom will enjoy the trip

Hey, you interested to do a family trip to china? Maybe we can get some mothers here and we form a group. Ask Cla to be the organiser
hehehee...

Hi Chris,

You dare not go swimming? heheh

good morning
doing my tax filing now...

good news! i won the 6th prize yday at the d&d! got a apple ipod 80gb video, heard from pf its worth $588 hehe.. funny thing is 5 of us met to go together and sat at the couch right in front of the stage and end up 4 of us got prizes, one of them got the 1st prize! imagine only 20 prizes for 200+ staff and 4 came to us.. hehe we were saying the couch is lucky!

preggie/cherly/hong
hehe dun make fun hor.. i got new swimsuit and pf willing to overcome his shyness for the sake of his daughter

gd afternoon!

Chris,

Congrats! wow! gd prize, so lucky!

Hong,

Ju is so handsome in his new haircut, can be a super baby model liao :D

M2B,

wow! getting new car... my sis also buying a car, she is getting Honda Edix, since she has got BIG family. :p

Preggie,

hee, heard my name here... sorry, has been very busy w my work and really no time to look out for tours
also starting my 'engine' to prepare for my exam too, tough tough.... i can start looking around after my exam 'cos i don think i will start work so soon, maybe rest a while more and take my time to find a job.

Did what I wrote in my earlier posting.
Dropped by cherly's place to give/take stuff.
Then to Ikea to get the lamp.
...Then to Botak Jones for lunch...
trans, u can go with ur family as it's so near our area... near the SPH...
Prob go swimming tom, but chara not allowed to go in the water...

chris
Congrats on winning!

Ordered the ribeye from Botak Jones, 300gm at $19, I think. Pretty good...

Swimming costume? U bot 1 pce or 2-pce?? Why pf does not dare to go swimming? We have been swimming nearly every week, last week I did 8 breadths...

cla
I like Edix too leh... hehe....but is paralle importer right? I don't know much abt cars, only sorta 'learnt' frm hb.. now at least I can say I like Odyssey and Wish...hahaha....

preggie
Maybe u shud go to Shanghai..since it's a shopper's paradise... I like BJS for its historical sites, but not Guangzhou.. found it v dirty and scary....

cherly
Hb says wah, the swimming costumes got so nice details....
U are rite, 4T is too big... now ends up jesse has more tees but all can't wear so back to square one of no new things to wear! haha...

Hi Chris,

Wah.. so lucky
it's a really good prize.. will come in handy when you go on holiday,, it;ll keep you entertained for hours

Hi StyloBB,

Shanghai i'm not so keen leh.... you know i'm shanghainese? hehhee... my parents used to bring me there every year when i was young... I was thinking of Mongolia!

Went to watch Meet the Robinsons today, i find it not too bad... young children may not be able to understand the storyline though... I'm waiting to watch Shrek 3.

KB went to world gourmet summit.... i'm so bored at home now.... waiting for the repeat telecast of "A Haunting" on Discovery now

Hi Cla,

If you plan for a group holiday, i can only join if it's December coz after our Hokkaido trip, we'll be going to macau and HK in October to celebrate KB's bday. I dare not take too many days leave.... later boss say since i like to go on leave so much, dun have to come back liao!

Good morning mummies.

Up early cos clarence wake me up for nothing after he did tha, now he is back to his sweet dream.

Preggie,

You are so good life, one year fly so many times. I am thinking either to go HK or Beijing in sept/oct as well.
I am also into china tour now, the same reason as you. China is so big, my colls who is incharge of china market, told me he wants to retire there. I don mind to travel with mummies here, let's see what cla come up first.

Chris,

Finally, u guys do it. So we shall organise a swimming gathering again?

stylobb,

Is chara better today? Yalor, i told you 4T is quite big rite? Haha, this means you can shop and shop again.

Really boring day for me/hb today... we thot we had it all planned to tire them out as maid not around. Scully the gals started to be sleepy after church and prata and we quickly went home to let them nap. No place to go and chara was quite fussy. Told hb to bring jesse to the safra indoor playground to while the time.. apparently jesse jumped down one storey and landed in the ball pit!!

Brot them to the pool just now and she was angry cos she didn't get to dip in the pool! Grumbling/fussing away and wanted to plunge her body into the pool!

cheryl
Weird leh... this morning she had a bit of fever... quickly gave her fever medicine. Whole day no fever but her temper was quite bad.. kept wanting to be carried.

Btw what is floor area of ur flat?? Looks v spacious.. I think is the layout.

I guess only
preggie
Hah?? U shanghainese???

I also think u so good life leh.. always planning for the next holiday...

Good morning mummies.

stylobb,

My floor area is 135sqm. Its a 5A.

chris,

Tell you something, rbr i mentioned i wont bring charlene for ear piecing? Yesterday morning after her breakfast, she told me she wants to go for that? I was abit hesitating to say yes so i asked if she knows what is that? She then told me her classmate, Tiffany got an orange set. However, i just fu yan her by replying ok when i have time will bring you. By knowing her kiasi character, i really scared off, scared she will cry loud n non-stop. After lunch n nap, she then asked me again if i am going to bring her, i double, tripple confirm with her, she said she confirm want to do it. So i decided to bring her and on the way, i keep telling her no pain at all must be brave so can mei mei. After she chose her earring, i asked if she scared, she said no, (I am more scare than her and hide at a corner), when the person going to do that, i said darling, you close yr eyes first and quickly go n hide again. I expected she cry out but to my surprise, very surprise, she didnt. I went over to ask her if pain, she said no. I asked her how the uncle n auntie do it (cos i didnt see, very scare) she told her cos she close her eyes but she heard "tsk" sound. She so proud, went home to show everybody she got earring and said she didnt cry. I told my mum i am more scare than her, my mum said i am useless. Hahaha, anyway, glad that charlene did it.

Good Morning Mommies.

Hi Stylobb,
Hope Chara gets well soonyday, coy has event, so taking my day off tmrtired man

Hi Hong,
Yap, we gg back to Toyota coz hb likes and his friends told him Vios quite fuel-efficient

Hi Preggie,
Nope, last car was Toyota toowe also like the new Vios, nicer than the lastthe blue is nicer too which is what Raine chose

Hi Chris,
Congrats! It is nice to win something

Hi DJD,
Charlene is so BRAVE!

good morning mummies
on medical leave today...

stylo/cla/dap/m2b
thks! i wanted to sell it initially to get a bag for myself but pf stopped me lor...

djd
charlene is so brave! nebi cry... so u went to goldsmith shop to do it?
hehe i dun tink he is that brave enuf to go swimming with pple he knows...

m2b
so u all getting a blue toyota again
how come raine chose blue? ash hates blue bcoz she tink blue are for boys only...

stylo
forgot to answer u abt the swimsuit, mine is 2 pc, but not really sexy kind lah. pf feels shy to go swimming bcoz he dun have a fantastic figure mah. hehe