Preggie Friends Since 2003

trans
The berries timing suits us fine.. No need to rush for his swimming class...
But it was quite messy at the school that day!!

Chris,
1st choice is St Margaret Pri and 2nd choice is Farrer Park…2nd choice, sure can get in 1. =P Yes, still w/n 1-2km

Preggie,
That’s really very nice of Joey’s teacher =P

Stylobb,
Nice to travel huh? Hb gg for 2 weeks+ overseas work trip in end Feb too...

halo mummies!
good to see the thread is alive again!

stylo
we went tokyo tower this time.. but cant find that place where sammi met andy in the last scene in 'love on a diet'.. that place is not real???
we ate beef too - kobe.. yummy.. very ex tho.. $160 for 200g.. we ordered 2..
i bot bag too - prada from tokyo outlet store :p
pf aunties brot me and mil few mths bk to custom-make dresses in jb.. cost rm80 but till now still no chance to go bk to try and collect.
shopping gd in hanoi?

m2b
st margaret is the polka dot uniform one?

preggie
so considerate of her teacher!

trans
I think I saw someone who looked like u at J8 while we were running to class!!

m2b
1st need to ballot??

chris
Steak in Aust is considered cheap and good... not imported mah...keke.

Went to Birkenhead Factory Outlet, took ferry there but don't find it good lah... only the Oroton outlet has good buys...

Shopping in Hanoi... no branded stuff lah... nothing much...
The yummiest food was roadside noodles with pork patties... v delicious!!

Are the dresses of nice fit?

Btw did anyone watch this HKG movie called "Accident" "Yi Wai"...

Movies: Watched Avatar, Sherlock and today, Invictus. Waiting for The Blind Side next week..

Chris,
Yup, polka dots uniform :p
If the dresses are good and nice, must intro us k?

Stylobb,
1st choice for past 4 years is balloting for above 2km so keeping my fingers tightly crossed...anyway, if can't get in, still have the 2nd choice

Hi Stylobb,

Still looking for someone to explain the movie's ending to you?

I watched Avatar, The Forth Kind and Bodyguards and Assassin lately. I wanna watch "Its not me, I swear" next.

good morning mummies!

stylo
hehe jpn beef oso not imported mah.. jpn cows more high class than aus cows la :p
i got birkies at beijing at 70% off! only sgd20+...
i havent tried them yet.. i see pf aunties made not bad lor...
no chance to watch movies for a long time.. is avatar gd?

m2b
i tink faith oso aiming that school... raine and rayna mayb classmates!
sure sure.. hopefully la hehe

chris
Hmmm.... I had wagyu beef too, price was considered reasonable...

Avatar - for ppl who like to 'study' CGI effects, yes. But I go for storyline, to me it's so so...

trans
Yah, still looking for someone to explain the ending to me. It was v funny, cos shortly I watched, I had dinner with a close gf, and she told me they just watched it one night but they all fell asleep halfway...hahaha

Having an itchy throat and cough leh...

Stylobb/Chris,

Avatar - Agree that storyline is so so, but CG very good. I enjoyed it.

Preggie,

R u still watching J&K plus 8? New season started last nite. Now I hv hubstation liao so I can record too.

Good Morning Mommies!

Chris,
If only both Raine & Rayna can be together...but guess the teacher will quite before the term is up...hahaha...you shd have see how the 2 gals played together =P

Morning,

I love Avatar, not due to the CG but the storyline. Why so so? So what is good?

Stylo,
I'm attending an engineering course to prepare project manager to think in a system engineering way. Heavy topics but I have a day off from the course for the 1st 2 week of friday.

I take leave today to celebrate Janelle bday in CC later.

stylo
i cant really taste a big diff betw kobe & wagyu.. must be my tongue lousy hehe..

m2b
i guess all kids play will be like that one la.. the teacher shd be used to it :p
st margarets is girls' sch rite?

hello ladies! How's everyone? I'm sorry, just manage to settle down with my daughter's starting P1 and my weight management clinic. Great to see everyone super excited with new movies, travel etc...
BTW, I started weight management clinics all ard the island with a grp of pcist friends and a doctor.

We have run two classes already, we are still running classes on 15th Fri at marsiling blk 123 frm 730-9pm, sat 16th at parkmall frm 12-2pm and 25th Mon at St andrews comm hospital frm 615pm-8pm...

if anyone is interested to know more abt the right concept of weight management, healthy diet tips, come and join this introductory classes...only $5 and you get to measure your body fat percentage as well as your visceral fat( fat ard your major organs)
I know that losing weight is one of the top 3 resolution for 2010!

good morning mummies!
gg sentosa chalet this weekend to celebrate ash's bday

btw, happy birthday (or belated) to all jan babies!

trans
hey that school is near my territory! :p

Hello mummies! How are all of you today? My girl started her primary school well for the first 2 weeks and then she suddenly started to cry!! haha...she's back to school this week, hopefully she will be able to adapt well. Talked to her abt things she can look forward to in school. Guess she has found something she likes in school. Phew!

Hi zesty,
Which school?

I am quite tight up with work after the course and this Friday is the test. I still have a lot to go thru.

Hi mommies!

How's everyone with their CNY preparation? Me as usual having prob getting CY's shoes. Tink will go Queensway this week to look see. Anyone has shoes ideas?

Hong,

Your course sounds stressful. Does it lead to some certification?

Stylobb,

Have you watched Changeling before? I watched over HBO last week and tot it was very good. Angelina Jolie's acting was commendable. Think next movie I'll watch is Brothers

How's everyone??

trans
Nope, didn't watch cos cannot watch those movies about kids missing/dying... I cannot take it.

I watched "The Blind Side" purely for Sandra Bullock...keke

Shoes - his feet are v big???

CNY - Me binging on pineapple tarts leh... feel super unhealthy...

And my rite leg has been hurt/sprained for some reason and is affecting my lower back, seeing reflexologist.. unable to run till 4 weeks later... haiz.... so I"m feeling rather lethargic...

hong
I don't envy you...kekke

zesty
Did ur gal say why she cried?

chris
GOing anywhere during CNY since ur co wl hv shutdown??

Stylobb,

OIC. I wanna watched when it was screening in the cinemas last time but somehow din get the chance. So was happy when HBO showed it. Now am tinking of getting the DVD to keep.

Oh yah, SB won an award for "The Blind Side". Was it good?

Shoes - CY's feet are average size. My prob is with finding a nice design...

I've just started to take Berocca, supposed to give me energy to last the day. Seems ok so far.

trans
So, was it a good ending??

"The Blind Side" - intend to get the DVD. I think the movie centred on her character, she had a lot of room to bring out the character and she did it well. Not to mention all her nice outfits and designer bags...keke

Hmm...I am hoping to rent "The September Issue" - not sure if the shops wl have it cos not that popular in that sense. We rented "Twilight" - was a joke for me cos I can imagine why the gals (and even older women) are crazy over Robert Pattinson..keke...

Anyway my two top movies choices for last year are:
District 9 and
The Hurt Locker
Both are independent films hence they only had a short run here at the cinemas

Shoes - it's like this one. Therefore we always buy whenever we see and then keep. Hate to look for shoes last minutes. You got his CNY clothes ready??
I hv problem getting gals' shoes... now for their size, Clarks ones can cost $68 onwards!!!

I take Vit C, Vit B, and glucosamine and Vit gummies...keke. My kids love the Vit gummies and wl take w/o fail everyday.

I bot Berocca when I was in Sydney but for my hb to take...

trans,
I have two course books that add up to 6-8cm thick. Test is tmr morning. 2 tests somemore.
1st test 2hrs 100 MCQ but the MCQ is not easy, all the choices look alike that kind.

2nd test 50 MCQ - 1 hr.

I am struggling to READ thru them, will take in as much as my brain can contain.

It is under Institution of Engineers Singapore. I'm not sure if this is going to be any help. Anyway, it is part of the course if I wanna go higher up. I'm a lazy and not studious person, so i find it quite tough to go thru it again.
Furthermore a 3 weeks course, 4 days break then test.

At 1st I thot 4 days shld be enough for me to revise but I think I am very wrong.

Stylo,
I pity myself too. hahahaha..

Shoes - I dun intend to get any shoes for the kids. Janelle had a platform shoes that I got during BIL wedding. So happened that my youngest sister went Beijing 2 weeks ago (where it was at it coolest). She got back a pair of shoes for each kid so save me the trouble.

Trans,
sport shoes? Usually Royal sporting house will have warehouse sale corner. The price are ok, design will depend.

My biggest problem is to get dresses for Janelle.

Stylobb,

The ending is quite neutral to me. It's an open ending, the boy's body was not found and his mother still has hopes that he is alive.

CNY clothes - I've got them all liao. Joined some spree some months back to buy and keep. For shoes, do u jus buy one size larger and keep?

Hong,

Yah, sport shoes kind. I tot of getting loafers but my sis says look like ah peh... I went to check World of Sports but din find anythg. Will check out Royal Sporting House. Thanks.

halo mummies

stylo
not gg anywhere during cny shutdown hehe.. my parents are gg halongbay + guilin...

trans
got most of my stuff ready.. din really get any new shoes for ash.. bcoz cant find nice ones.. ordered a pair of birkies for her online.. mayb will have to make do with that for cny...
boys sports shoes - i tink isetan scotts got a big selection, rsh at marina too..

Morning! How's everyone's weekend?

Stylobb/Hong/chris,

After Hong mentioned RSH, then I rbr last year I got CY's shoes from the RSH at Suntec. Went on Sat and got his shoes. He chose a pair of black and green Nike. These days he is into green cos of Ben 10. New glasses green, new PJ oso green... Can hold hands with Chris liao.

Morning,

Trans,
I thot u are going to say CY is going into very "military" color but u link it up with Chris. hahaha...

Must get Aunty Chris and CY together for a photo.

Hi Hi

hong
Ur course ending soon?

chris
Halongbay and guilin are two different places, they going on two trips?

We wl be driving in to KL on 12 March, cos Hilton's hving half price for rooms on weekends.

I'm still hoping to re-visit my gf and go to halongbay before she returns to s'pore leh....

trans
Weekend was a bit of upset for me, at first we were caught in traffic jam that took us 45 mins to reach one destination. Then we (me and jesse) spilled aloe vera drink on my camera and it went kaput!! Totally gone! Argh.... heartpain cos gotta spend $ now...

Shoes - usually we buy 1 size bigger and keep. Good that you got CY's shoes.
I need to suss out shoes for the gals....

No one's kid (boy) is wearing size 1 (after size 13) here hor? Cos I wanna sell the Timberland shoes.. which jesse wl not be wearing. BRAND NEW. PM me if anyone is interested.
Bot at SGD59.90, selling at SGD25.
One mummy frm another thread wanted but they were half size too small for her boy...

Stylo,
Course ended and test ended.

Hilton hotel keep u in their mailing list for special offer? How much after half price? KL or PJ?

The last time we went KL we stayed at Parkroyal. Good services and nice breakfast and so central to everywhere.

There is an Aquaria KLCC, have u visited? It is like underwater world. Very near to KLCC, walking distance. I brot the hotel package that came with the tix. However, last KL trip was not very pleasant. I got food poisoning and was in pain for one night then LS for the rest of the days. Luckily not very serious and hubby brot medicine along.

Hi Hong,

Hahaha, his green is not the army green kinda green. A little luminous, bright kind.

Stylobb,

Traffic was quite bad on Sat, lots of cars on the road! BTW, I wont be at Bishan on Sat mornings anymore. Switched Berries to Wed evenings from tmr onwards.

good morning mummies

trans
hehe cy green lover like aunty chris now ah... but we like diff kind of green.. i not into luminous green hehe...

stylo
hehe ash is wearing US size 1..
tink they will travel by coach from halong bay into the chinese border.. its gg to be a long ride..
we oso thinking of driving into malacca after cny.. but need to make passport for zach 1st...

hong
Hilton - Yeah, we are on their mailing list.
I think it is around SGD170 nia per night with their yummy bkfast too. Kids get to eat free.
But we need to get an extra bed. If they upgrade us to corner room, it'll be more spacious.
I have also booked it for my Aug trip with my gfs.

FYI Starwood is also having 50% for weekends.

I have heard about Park Royal.
Oh dear! Fortunately you were ok. Heard about the aquarium but never went.

Dress - Jan must be wearing v big size for dresses.

trans/chris
Green - chara can join aunty chris... but then, her fave colour also changes every other day, unlike julien's - which is only PINK....
chara does look nice in green...

trans
Yeah, super bad, jam at Macpherson area.

Good, so ur mom wl fetch him there and you'll bring him back?
So far the Sat timing works well for me and the kids... otherwise we used to meander till 11am we go out. So it's 2 hours not wasted. I also get my own time for bkfast and do some reading....

Does CY get a lot of homework?

Btw there is a nail place near my place, at the end of the row of shops, near the petrol station. You may consider going there if you need a mani/pedi. They open till 10pm.
I bot a pkg at central but have gone to this place twice due to convenience...

chris
How long's the drive to malacca? 2.5 hours??

You all bot new clothes for urselves for the CNY???

Morning Mummies,

trans,
like the Ben10 green?

Stylo,
Never heard of Starwood. Will take note of it. I dun feel like going to KL. Hope we can go to beaches this yr.

Janelle is wearing Size 8 for local brand. I have to go to GIRL if i am getting from Old Navy or Gap. She will be wearing S then.

She like long dresses, else have to wear a tight. I got her a denim tight from Uniqlo for $14.90. Look like a skinny jean when she wear it.

CNY clothes - A buy on and off so I dun have to rush for CNY shopping. I realised I have alot when I brot them out for washing.

stylo
talking abt the macpherson jam, i kena every morning on the way to work.. the roads keep changing.. last wk wanted to cross the street to go to the zi char stall.. then realised the traffic light and road to cross is gone!
yes malacca is ard 2.5hrs away... i cant find nose shoes in jb liao.. hopefully the one at malacca still there...
ya i bot cny clothes liao.. bysi got new stock.. i like!
ash likes pink too. she say she want pink & white bedroom + chandaliers + canopy bed.. faint...

stylo/trans
i started investing in nail polishes and rhinestones recently... paint and 'varnish' my toenails myself... my new hobby :p

Hong,

Yah, the Ben10 green.

Stylobb,

Nope, I will bring him myself. Class starts at 7.30pm so I'll go hm, get change then go out of the house again. I had to switch the Sat Berries with Wed Yamaha cos the Yamaha class closed due to shortage of students. Many kids started P1 and switched to Sat morning instead. so now Yamaha on Sat morning, Berries on Wed evenings.

Homework wise, CY doesnt get much. Usually just need to learn & revise his weekly spelling & ting xie.

chris/stylobb,

I dun really do my nails. Last I did was for last CNY.

Hello Mommies...

Long time no see!

Re CNY - I'm done with shoes and clothes for my 2 Js and myself. Pretty satisfied. Bought a pair of birks and a jwest from Robinsons.

Gals clothes, all from BloomB. Bought their shoes from Cotton On and BloomB.

I also bought a lot of books leh... MPH at raffles city having a reno sale.. A lot of good kiddie books going at only $3!!

Hi Chris,

My mom also going on holiday.. without me!! sob sob.... She's going to Zhangjiajie with my uncles and aunties in april. So cheap leh.. only $800 inclusive of tax for 9 days with Chanbrothers.

Hi Trans,

The tingxie is in hanyupinyin... quite easy. But joey has to do the "normal" tingxie at Jiang Laoshi. She's loving JiangLaoshi leh. Last sunday, i asked her to skip JLS for her cousin's bday party.. she was so relunctant! I cannot believe my ears! haha

Hi Preggie,

Yah, ting xie is in HYPY for this sem. Come next sem, CY will hv a mixture of HYPY and Chinese characters.

My jaws nearly dropped when I first saw the tingxie list. How can tingxie be in HYPY one? I really can't agree with the way Chinese is being taught now.

I am happy that Berries dun hv tingxie leh. Else every week got 3 lists to learn... I will pengz...

preggie
cotton on got nice shoes? how's their prices? i havent got chance to go...
ya china really cheap! hers is 9d $1300 by sq by ctc!

preggie/trans
i tink i mentioned to u all b4 the rojak way they learn chinese now rite.. that time ash's cousin just started p1 and i saw her textbook one paragraph got mix hypy and chinese ones..

chris
Ash - wah....

Clothes - I'm looking for nice dresses, not easy to fine leh... my feet hurt and I cannot wear heels for too long..

Jam - oh dear, u get it everyday! My goodness, that day, we were already so irritable.

U put the rhinestones urself?

trans
Oh you bring him yrself, can be quite tiring esp after work... fort. so near.... Once I'm back home, I'm unmotivated to go out unless there is something I need to do... I rmber when I brot jesse for make-up class in Orchard, I was v tired by the time we were going home...

Pedi/Mani - can it for CNY mah....

hong
Starwood would be Sheraton, Le Meridien, Westin and Four Points.

Beach places - hb/I were talking about Ubud in Bali...

I also think nothing much to do at KL lah.... just hv a break with them.. they wl enjoy the room and bkfast... keke.

preggie
Where is BloomB?

Chinese - the mummies in another thread whose kids are in P1 are also not happy with the way Chinese is taught. I also feel that they shud learn how to read it the proper way... imagine, at least jesse is able to read the Chinese words, now, macham like effort wasted once they teach him hypy!!

Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,

Dresses - BYSI had some nice ones a few mths back. I bot 4 and kept 2 for CNY.

Classes - Yah, I try to bring him to all the classes myself unless I really can't make it.

Mani/Pedi - This yr I feel so lazy leh, dun feel like gg to do it at all. Duno why this yr dun feel any CNY mood. So lethargic...

Forgot to mention, apart from tingxie & spelling, his sch oso has a series of mini tests/assessments like every 2 weeks. Simple ones like listening comprehension, show & tell, etc. They are all marked and will contribute to a yr end grade.

chris/stylobb,

Yah, I know abt the rojak way but I din expect tingxie to be in HYPY oso lor. More like spelling rite?

Chinese std already so low, I wonder if it will drop even further like this.

stylo
ya used nail glue to stick them one..
jam.. ya end up most days i late 10mins for work.. bcoz i cant get myself ready to leave hse 10 mins earlier :p
i like bysi and sense dresses...

trans
ash just started to hv spelling & ting xie this yr.. make me very busy, got berries and icr homework to do somemore..

I also dun like the way MOE is teaching the kids chinese. In the coming yrs, they are going to use English to teach Chinese. Getting rid of Ting Xie. After the lower Pri are so used to HYPY they jump back to Chinese Character again and the standard of Chinese will suddenly shoot up very much.

Cos chinese writing is taken out in Lower Pri, the kids now cant even write nice chinese character.

Janelle started to have ting xie and spelling in the mid of K1. The CC said they used to start in the beginning of K1 but some parents complain so they drag till mid K1.

She got back a list of words she need to learn for Spelling and Ting Xie on the 1st week of Jan.

Stylo,
we stayed in Westin once. It is a very nice hotel.

Hello mommies,

Good afternoon!

Hi Chris,

I bought Cotton On shoes at Anchorpoint, the factory outlet.. Only 9.90 for first pair and 2nd pair half price... It's those shimmering ballet pumps.. But hor.. very funny leh.. when i brought it home for joey to try, you know what she said? She told me that it's lousy because the glitter will fall off and by Chinese New Year, the shoe will not be glittery anymore..

Wah lau eh... say the things i buy for her "LOUSY"!

Hi Trans, Stylo, Hong and Chris,

Yesterday i spoke with one parent and she told me that the HYPY tingxie is only for term 1.. after that it will be writing the words itself

preggie
oh, the outlet at anchorpoint sells kids size too ah.. mayb she know u got them cheap so cheap=lousy to her?

Hi Chris,

They've just opened up a outlet for Cotton ON kids.

She doesn't know how much i paid for them but it's true that the quality isn't all that great.. haha

Went to the hair salon yesterday and been hving a headache since then .. prob. due to sitting under that 'machine' - I don't know what one calls that - for more than 1 hour...

chris
The berries homework is quite easy, can finish quite fast lah... keke
It's the reading that takes up more time, esp to ensure he rembers...

trans
Many dresses that I see are too short for me, I prefer them to be just below the knee. Some dresses do not have a nice cut.
I also bot some dresses but as they are mostly in black, I cannot wear them for CNY.

jesse's school is apparently also started spelling this month.. I'm still waiting for the list.

preggie
maybe for shoes, get better quality ones... keke

HYPY - yeah, seems there is the way but I wonder what is the purpose? Won't it be better that they learn the Chinese words in the first place?
hong, I hope that the kids don't become reliant on the HYPY that when they see the Chinese words, they cannot read anymore!

Will you consider giving H1N1 jabs to your kids???

good morning mummies!

stylo
my turn to go salon this afternoon.. wanna give my hair some new colour!
i din really do much of the reading with ash lei.. no time

chris/stylobb,

Yah Berries hmwork is quite ez. I dun go thro the Berries reading wz CY too. We usually read before bedtime and I have just implemented a rotation syst for him - one week Eng books, one week Chinese books. He gets to choose what he wants to read.

Hair - I hvnt done mine, not gg to to oso. See how lazy I am this CNY? Anyone tried those "$10 haircut in 10min" salons b4? Tot of bringing CY to the Plaza Sing one this Sat after his class.

H1N1 - No jabs for CY unless we are travelling.