Preggie Friends Since 2003

Stylobb,

CY is ok wz his hmwork, but he hates learning spelling and ting xie! My mom will supervise his hmwork which he does willingly. But when she starts to teach him either spelling or ting xie, he refuses to cooperate. These days, I almost go hm everyday to a long-face mother and a sulky son. Just yday there was another episode, I told CY I am very sick of hearing complaints daily, if you cannot be cordial wz popo, then I shall hv to send you to childcare.

He says he only wants me to teach him his spelling and ting xie. I tot abt it, since it is causing so much grievances between the 2, I tink I will ask my mom to stop teaching him, jus supervise his hmwork and I will teach him when I get hm. Can u imagine the 'complaints' start the moment I reach the door, hvnt even remove my shoes and put down my bag...

Trans,
Even if u send CY to Childcare there is spelling and ting xie at K2. He still cant run away with it. haha...

Complaints - I recalled my MIL did that to us for months till I sent both to Childcare.

Cla,
I am the one doing the reading cos daddy reading tone can make everyone sleep. *zzzzz*
So every nite, each kid will show me the book they want me to read. Now targetting at Chinese book.

Stylo,
may be getting books with story abt vehicle and road sign. hee...

trans
Are you really serious abt sendg him to Childcare?

hong
Both hb and I can read .. ahem... our tone is ok...haha...

He has a LOT of books with vehicles...just this week he brought back an order list of books and he already picked 4 - all connected to vehicles!!! In the end I only took 3 as the 4th one was for elementary ... too easy for him and I don't think it's fair to shove it to the gals...haha

hong
I suppose he dreams vehicles too...!!

2134798.jpg

hong
Nope, so far, he is not interested in Transformers.
He likes trucks, asked me to bring camera to take pics of trucks so that he can flw the photo.
Told me he wanna be a truck driver, I asked him how about buying a few trucks and rent to his friends?
He says he needs $$ for just one truck first... hehe

Btw Transformer 2 will be coming ...

Stylobb,

He has about 3-4 worksheets daily, spelling and ting xie on alt weeks, i.e., tis week ting xie (8 characters), then next week spelling (5 words). So every weekday just learn one new word plus revise e ones that he already learn.

Actually he has already learn the words b4 in class. I tink he has this mental block cos he doesnt like spelling/ting xie. My sister says when she tests him, he doesnt even tink and he says he doesnt know or he forgot how to write. But on someother occasions, she will see him writing the words on his own. So far, he always get all the words correct when tested in class, despite all the tussles. I know he can do it one, he just doesnt like to do it.

I told him popo is the oni person I have who can help take care of him, and I feel sad if they cannot be cordial with each other. I dun wanna send him to CC, since he is doing well in sch.

Hong,

The idea of sending him to CC is to separate him & popo, not to escape from ting xie/spelling lah. Heheh. He loves popo so much, he can't bear to leave her. I said, if not popo goes to work lor. He asked if so, then mommy will stay hm? I told him no, then u will go to neighbour's hse. He said NO, popo MUST stay hm.

Stylobb,

Actually a bit sian. Cos I dun tink relationships in fmly shld be strained due to academic matters of the kids. I always tell myself I dun wan CY to see me and equate me with school stress, cos it will result in a huge dent in our relationship. But more and more, I find myself getting entwined in this.

We dun ask a lot from him, as long as he can cope with school. But, like my mom said, even if he doesnt like it, we oso cannot just leave him to it, & watch him fail rite?

Hi Trans,

3 worksheets a day + ting xie + spelling.. wow.. really quite stressful. Joey's school dun have all these. The school told us that they will make the children finish all the work at school and when they go home, it's to relax and enjoy, no need to think about school.. seems like this school is quite "alternative" hor?

Hi StyloBB

I dun think joey is advanced in reading.. it's only a few days ago that she started reading by herself.. before that, it's ZERO interest.. dun really even want to try to read when we encourage her.

Yeap.. i checked out Chai.. not everything is by local designers leh... there's this corner selling cushions that are like maggie mee and inside each packet of "maggie mee", there's a packet of "seasoning" which is a small pillow.. the thing cost $130!! siao.. who will wanna buy?!

Tampopo, i love the black pork ramen
yummm!!

Hi M2B,

The desserts came up to half our bill... abt $50. We had servings of orange jelly, milk pudding, custurd pudding, cakes.... haha. such a big variety hor? But the desserts are very nice la.. and we managed to polish off everything.

stylo
ya still no kids. i brot them to the sinseh i visited when they came back last yr but a bit difficult bcoz TCM need to constant visiting to make sure the med is working.
will u get seasick?
ash's ICR fees are $435/term, 1.5hrs per wk.

m2b
i guess can stop liao since she knows how to read.

Hi Trans,

Did CY tell you the reason why he only wants you to teach him spelling and ting xie? My guess is that they feel that the old folks don't really know the words and cannot pronounce properly, so they may not like. Your mum maybe gd in chasing him to do his work but not good in teaching him. (i see that in my mil when she deals w hb's nephew)

Agree that such conflict can strain the relationship in family.

Hi Stylo,

I always like Jesse's drawing, very detailed. He is very observant...

Cla,
Guess it is impt to cultivate a liking for reading in the kids.

Stylobb,
I’m paying $435 for 12 lessons for ICR. Each lesson is 1.5hrs.
Yes, I’m thinking to stop Raine after this level coz after that is comprehension liao which she can handle.

Trans,
Wah, CY really has a lot of homework leh…Raine only get homework on every Fri…ICR has spelling weekly too but her Tien Hsia dun have so quite relieved…I agree with you…I also dun wana Raine to equate Mommy to academic pressure…

Chris,
Raine is into comprehension stage now…so thinking to stop after this level…

Good afternoon mummies!

Today I brought ryan to cc when they are having their ting xie. The teacher actually asked 2 of them to go up to the white board, stand in between them and give them the words. When I was going, Ryan ran up to me, told me "mummy, I can't draw on the white board" Hahaha to him, chinese words are a kind of drawing! I'm guilty, I forgot to teach him yesterday :p

Trans / Cla,
Ryan's cc also got the same reading program. Ryan loves the books very much and will read by himself at home. His spelling is every Wed and ting xie every fri.

Preggie,
Ryan do not have homework as well. Guess that's the diff between cc and normal schools?

hong/cla
Thanks... he just loves vehicles.. he must have spent a lot of time observing the books or real vehicles on the road

trans
I think most kids are also like that, I mean, who likes to do homework and learn spelling??

Wah the way you tell me, and hb already warned me, soon we'll be spending evenings coaching them...sigh...
Mil prepares materials for them to do. My mum will also ensure jesse does his writing everyday.
These days, the gals had to do writing.
Hb's chinese is half past six, looks like it'll be me to do the Chinese...

If CY wants you to teach him, then it shud not be so bad, right?
Someone's gotta do the job...

Can't rmbr if I posted here that julien will go "(cough, cough) I have stomache" when mil, maid and even hb asked her to do writing. She will only be scared of me and when I asked her to write, she wl guai guai do it, I told her "Even if you cough, you also hv to write!" and she finished her one page!

preggie
Hb also likes the black pig...

Chai - oic.... wl go and take a look.

chris
Yes, many times when I am on boat, ferry, I will get sea sick... so I'm sorta phobia about the sea.... threw up on many occasions, v embarrassing...

chris/m2b
Thanx for info.
There are quite a nbr of child-related centres around my area/tpy... always see the banners but never checked.

There is so little play time for them. Every day after school, he takes a short nap, wakes up, and will do his writing and maths. Then it'll be dinner time. Then we see him, he can only play for a while, then it's reading time and it'll be bedtime.

This morning he woke up by himself, v happy cos it's Friday and he is allowed to play the Cars game on the Mac, but I told him is not morning but he has to wait till tonite...

Janelle Childcare also has homework but usually return at the end of the weeks. More like weekend homework.

Trans,
good that CY loves popo very much. infact no point sending to Childcare when the kid is in K2.

Stylo,
Julien is so funny but Jesse and Chara is ok with writing?

Hi Chris,
I love Genting cos I love the "indoor park" haha...but with 2 kids..hardly any chance to play. Xavier sure enjoys both indoor and outdoor parks..we got the annual pass for him oredi.

Hi Preggie,
Thanks. I'm interested in the Dr Seuss books. Will start looking around. Popular doesn't have?

Hi Stylobb,
Jesse's drawing very good..agree that it's very detailed. He's so talented. Xavier has also started to show some improvement after attending the art class Chris recommended. Was quite amazed when he drew this flying chairs ride at Genting...haha..it must have traumatised him cos he waited so long for the ride, then told that he couldn't met height requirement. I argued so long with the staff that he's only 1-2cm short but they very strict. He cried so hard.

Hi Linda/Trans/Hong/Stylo,

So co-incident, the scroll reader series must be popular...

Oh, then Matt / Nic's childcare is different. They will bring back some writing work on weekdays and to return the next day.

I think Nic also hv problem writing... need to sit beside him to see him write, unlike Matt, i can leave him alone and he will show me his work later...

Hi M2B,

That's true, and reading should cutivate when young.

Hi Trans,

then maybe CY wants to have bonding time with you, that's y he insist of you teaching him.

Have to tell your mum relax, don be so gan cheong. CY is a smart boy, he sure can do well.

Then I think I'm the adnormal one here. Ryan loves to do work, writing, reading and doing his sums. BUT he want me to sit beside him and watch. I'm so lazy that I don't want to. After a tiring day at work, I don't want to do work with him again. Sometimes I'm wondering if i hinder his progess. It's normal for me to bargin with him to stop reading and go to bed or to do his writing later(which never comes). Guess I gotta stop being so lazy.

Linda,
u are not abnormal, just too tired. I dun allow the kids to read if it is too late. I told Janelle that was a punishment for dilly dally and we all reached home late.

It is good that Ryan love writing. Janelle doesnt really like writing, only reading.

Good morning mommies,

I've got 25% discount coupon for full priced item books at Borders. Anyone wants it? I can email it to you.. print as many as you like.... 1 coupon per book.

Yesteday, Joey told me that she's busy writing to the monkeys.. I was wondering... "What monkeys?!".. Then she said, she writing to Ooh and Aah... I was still very blur, dunno what she's talking about, until i saw on Disney Playhouse that they are inviting kids to submit their drawings to these 2 monkey characters called Ooh and Aah.

Will you all help your kids send drawings to the TV station? I'm in 2 minds about it coz if i send and they dun show it on TV, i think joey will be very sad..... i dun wanna break her little heart.

Hi Masshiro,

I bought alot of Dr Suess books over the weekend.. StyloBB told me abt PageOne sale at Vivo.. went there and bought 1 set for Joey and 1 set for Jamie. The books are 20% off

Then on sunday, i went to borders and bought more books... 25% discount. The bookset i bought at PageOne is not available at Borders.

Hi Linda,

I wish i have a son like yours.. it shows that he's a keen learner.

Joey is not interested in doing assessment books. I think i will have a hard time when she enters Primary 1.

Hi Chris,

Talking abt cruise, i'm thinking whether to take a cruise from Melbourne to Tasmania.. It's an overnight cruise and can take the car along too! I think it will be an unique experience for Joey...

NATAS coming soon

Preggie,
I am interested to have the coupon. thanks.

I will let my kids to submit their drawing. At least there is a chance, if not selected then try again.

good morning mummies!

preggie
my mum booked the cruise yday. its for the mar holidays. melb-tasmania, sounds interesting. so u will be gg to melb first?
ash only interested in princess books & the little miss series. she has dunno how many versions of cinderella..

Hi Hong,

I've emailed it to you.. Happy shopping

Hi Chris,

Yah.. it's rather interesting... i found it while doing research on Tasmania. If my KB agrees, then we will fly to melb, rent a car, and take the cruise to tasmania. It's called the Spirit of Tasmania. Sounds fun hor? it'll be an unique experience for joey and me.

KB has already changed AUD!

Thanks Stylobb and Preggie for the info. I got Stylob's message but weekend no time to buy. Is the sale still one? I bought 2 Dr Seuss books at Popular..I think $10 plus with card 10% disc.

Aiyo..I going Melbourn next month expecting nice cool autumn weather..now raging fire...very sad to think of the wildlife roasted in the fire...

Preggie,
Can I have the discount voucher too? Thanks!
Thinking to get a V-day gift for both gals. Raine got me a fake rose yday...paid and message written by herself.

Hi Masshiro..

when i read abt wildlife roasted in the fire... i suddenly felt hungry!!! must be lunchtime coming soon... heee

Hi Hong,

No need la... can always keep and go next time.. but aussie is a place we will go quite often coz it's not too expensive, plus joey have got cousins there.

We wanna travel sometime in May.. but have not decided where yet. Most likely aust or nz - all depends on what kind of deals we can get at Natas.

preggie
yes sounds interesting and unique! i hope when they go in apr, weather will be nice.. supposed to be cool.. now wondering shd get some long sleeves stuff for ash to standby... dunno if the bushfire will cease soon...

masshiro
sad to hear that the fire is mostly human-created.
so when r u going?

preggie
Glad you bot sth.
We have the one with all the stories but hard cover that we got a book sale some time back.

masshiro
Dr Seuss - there were not many available at the sale.

preggie/chris
I read abt the cruise and wanted to try last time but in the end I flew to Hobart cos my airfare was cheaper for me. I then took the bus to Launceston and from there, flew back to MEL.

Collick just returned from MEL and says it is v hot!

Think April is the best time to go, not sure abt it now with the heatwave...

Hi Chris,
Going mid Mar. Still go time for weather to cool downI hope. Very sad. I was reading a story about this dad putting his 2 kids in the car, went back home to take stg, and then car engulfed in flames and he lost his kid. Another dad lost his wife and kid. He was badly burnt with skin hanging from his body asking someone to save his infant daughter..I really hope the arsonists will be punished severely. What's wrong with these people.

So fast, today last day of CNY already. Happy Yuanxiao to all Mummies. Go home early and have a nice time with your family

stylo
ya my bil said apr is the best time to go, in terms of weather and fruits harvest.
he told my mil his fishes 'fried' bcoz water in the aquarium too hot!

masshiro
ya quite sad to read such news, esp if it involves kids.. imagine wat a painful way to die...

Good morning mommies,

So fast, the CNY is over already. Joey is looking fwd to opening her angpows.

Mommies, just out of curiousity, what is your dream holiday destination? For me, it will be to see the aurora borellis in Finland.

Hi Chris,

His aquarium is indoors or outdoors? I guess the electricity bills must be sky high, coz have to turn on the aircon to lowest temp...

Wonder if they will have a very cold winter this year.

Hi StyloBB,

I read bad reviews on the Spirit of Tasmania on tripadvisor.com.. hmm...

good morning mummies!

preggie
its those tropical fish indoor aquarium, need to keep a certain temp one. heard he spent a lot on this.. must be quite heartpain for him if his fishes died..
my dream destination? same as pf's - to bring our kids to revisit his sch in leicester and do a driving tour in england to show them the places we visited when we stayed there.

Hi Chris,

So romantic!!! Then you can tell your kids the story of daddy and mommy as you travel through england

Hi Trans,

Cruise with CY or alone? I can almost imagine you sitting on the sundeck, enjoying the sea breeze, one eye reading a book, another eye beo'ing those young angmos in swim trunks at the pool! hahaa

I dun have a dream place to go. Hope to go ard seeing breathtaking scenery and take as many photos as I can.

preggie
Oi! So many places I wanna go but little time / funds leh.. even those I hv been before, I wud like to go again..

Mykonos Island for me... hehe

Intensive shopping trip to US? hehe..

trans
My as well kill me to go on cruise! Two months!!!!

today on MC. This morning..my eye painful so i rubbed. in the end rubbed so hard that the lining shifted to the left..so my eye got swollen..and the lining creased. went to hospital..given 3 days MC. But much better now...must be retribution..that day was commenting how come my colleague can tear her cornea rubbing eyes...

so just to remind all mummies dun rub eyes too hard..and must remind our little ones also.

preggie
prob is uk holiday not cheap haha..

stylo
haha seasick for 2 mths?!

masshiro
aiyo sounds bad.. ash got a few times one eye swollen and i suspect she oso rubbed too hard..

Preggie,

My dream holiday is to go to Tahiti! If I strike toto or 4D and have too much $ to spend, I would love to stay in Le Méridien Bora Bora... I know, it's too early to dream...

trans
Btw CJS Catering is good! Office had it recently.

minnie
In the end, the personal party, did not manage to get DeliHub, they were fully booked!

masshiro
Sounds so bad... eye leh, don't play play.... just Optrex next time to clean.