Preggie Friends Since 2003

Good morning mommies,

Woke up to some news today.... i failed my dissertation!! But hor, i dunno why i dun feel sad at all... now i've got 6 more months to redo and submit.

Yesterday KB told me that one of my friends called him up to say he wanna sue his son's school and transport coy.... Coz his son fell asleep in the school bus and no one noticed... The driver drove off, parked the bus and went off for lunch. When the son woke up, he was screaming and slamming on the windows. Luckily, a passerby saw it and called the police.. The SCDF had to break the window to save his son! My friend was soooooo furious!! I can totally understand his feelings.... how can the school and school bus operator be so careless???

Hi Chris,

The retrenchment is scary.... my colleague told me that her bil was retrenched and his wife has just quit her job to be a SAHM.

hong
i mean in spore. heard microsoft, chartered semicon already announced recently. my aunt working in hp, she said there oso got retrenchment.

Preggie,
The son is in Pri school?

Chris,
I know chartered is going on retrenchment cos Law's cousin is in there but I didnt hear he got retrenched.

I think all the major coy will undergo this cut.

preggie
sounds horrible! how can the driver go off without making sure the bus is empty! which sch is it?
my hr sent out some sad news yday. one of our mgrs is diagnosed with stage 3B lung cancer, which is near to stage 4 the final stage. he has 2 young children aged 11 and 5, wife is sahm. comparing this, retrenchment is just a short-term setback..

Good Morning Mommies.

Preggie,
Think you'll be able to do an excellent dissertation in the next 6 mths.

Chris,
Understd your tiredness and unwillingness to wake up in the morning. BTW, need your chinese physician's contact coz thinking to recommend to my 2 cousins who are trying for bbs for years.

Hi Chris, Hong,

The kid is in Pre-School. My gosh... if it happens to joey or jamie, i think KB will surely sure the pants off the school. The kid could have died.. imagine the heat in the bus! Oh, it's a "branded" pre-school.

Imagine he got a call from police at KKH asking him to rush down to see his son.. how traumatic is that?!

preggie
wow branded pre-sch can make this kind of mistake! parents will call the sch if the child is gg to be absent rite? if no absent, they shd make sure the child arrives in sch safe and sound.

m2b
i just sent email to ur yahoo account

Preggie,
Pre-school - I thot it is a must to have an assistance on the bus. I will scold the bus driver upside down if it happen to my kids.

Chris,
that is quite sad.

preggie
So, gotta work harder...

Oi! That's so traumatic for the kid!
Yah, how come no bus asst/auntie? What is the father going to do now?

Was thinking what if it happened to jesse...???

chris
That's so sad.
WOnder how they cope....

good morning mummies!

hong
pf say to go amk tmr, he checked the lens there is $110.
i tink i saw the spree on overseas sites.

stylo
i heard from my coll that he has quitted smoking. he is quite close with the one who is sick. he was encouraged to quit bcoz the coll who got lung cancer dun smoke.

trans
oh ya, b4 i forget, read from TODAY yday that carrefour is having atrium sale and transformers figurines are gg at $5 (usual price $39.90).

Good morning mommies,

I think i had an overdose of pineapple tarts yesterday... now my throat dun feel very good... haizz...

Hi StyloBB,

I also dunno why there's no bus assistant.. but what can the father do, short of complaining to MCYS and maybe MOE? Maybe it's better to live and let live... no point making someone jobless, but the message to the driver must be clear, that it's a very grave mistake and it must not happen again.

Hi Hong,

I just bought a few Dr Suess books (recommended by a friend) for Joey on Sunday, after going through the books with her once, she can read them by herself (and to her sister) already.. i'm so amazed!

I think it's the way the story is written, they use simple words and repeat them throughout story, so it's easy for the kid to read.... And because it's so easy to read, it increases the kid's confidence in their reading skills. I'm so thankful for Dr Suess..... I've promised to take joey to Borders to choose more Dr Suess books this weekend.

Mommies... any other authors of children books, to recommend?

Hi Chris,

Talking abt camera, joey brought her camera to school yesterday for her photography class. When i checked her bag yesterday, the camera was not there!! i'm so worried that shem might have lost it! My mom is gonna kill me!

Morning,

Chris,
I think I will wait to see the shipping charge 1st cos the base charge for UK vpost is $22 comparing to US is $12.40

Preggie,
Janelle got a Dr Suess book as bday gift. Yes I find the book quite good. Is one of book I am considering to get.
U may wanna try Mem Fox but I borrow it from library. May not be easy for the kid to read but there is a moral behind each story. I think we have finished her the books we can find in the library.

Camera - oh dear, did u call the school to check? The camera ur mum bot u?

Good Morning Mommies!

Preggie,
I also amazed with Lorraine coz she can read very well now...In her ICR, she has progressed to a novel and after each chapter, there are some questions to be answered and she can do that.
I will sure send Mae to ICR next time.
Plus Lorraine also reading to Mae too!

Hope the camera is just misplaced and will be returned.

Chris,
look not bad. I'm also thinking of going for sometime, wanna bring the kids to a beach resort. When is pf bday?

Chris, why not? desaru is not too far. If u go, give me ur comment of the place ok. I hear there are farms ard that area. Can bring Ashley to those so the stay can be quite educational.

Morning Mommies. Any recommendations on where I can buy nice gift boxes? Need some for gifts that we are giving to our board members. Wanna complain abt our corp comms - suppose to be their job but ended up become mine just because Board matters are under my dept.

Chris,

Desaru I went eons ago, I think boring lor. But it seems now they hv packaged tours to bring u to farms, etc. I saw on TV sometime back. U go liao & let me know nice anot lah

hong/trans
ya pf mentioned got fireflies and some nature stuff to see.. have emailed the hotel to book. will update again hehe

trans
those gift shops like precious moments, giftland will hv ba.. they will tie the nice ribbons for u if u buy the box and ribbons from them.

chris
Desaru - too bumpy and long ride for you or not.

trans
You hv budget?
Basement of Ngee City.. the shop sells cards and teddy bears, they hv gift boxes.. around $8-$10 depending on size. Near Puma shop. Same type of boxes also at gift shop at Bugis and Kino.

Yah, Daiso also has.
Or the ex-Concourse shops? at Waterloo Street.

hong
u mean jusco? we went there last thu by mistake after exiting from the new customs at woodlands. quite big, similar to old jusco but still ard 20% shops not open yet. hv u gone to danga mall? heard its quite crap.

just searched the name, its jusco aeon bt indah, ard 10mins from tuas chkpt. need to pass one toll gantry RM$10.80. they have the usual brands like padini, FOS there.. i bot some cheap PP rompers for bb at RM9.99 each at this shop similiar to FOS called the brands outlet.. they sell replica agnes b & longchamp bag at RM29.99. bot some pigeon bb wear from jusco too.
http://www.jusco.com.my/JuscoHome/html/jusco/scinfo/sc_bi.php

Chris,
I meant the bt indah. How is the shopping experience there? I didnt go danga mall but I hear Law saying forum pple mention is quite a crap too.

thanks for the recommendations. Tink I will chk out Taka.

Chris,

I heard the layout at the new customs is horrendous. My boss went by bus and she said she had to climb up & down a few floors just to get custom clearance.

hong
i tink shops and f&b quite similar... there is more shoes shops at jusco BI other than vincci. they hv summit and mixit too. but i feel old jusco got more branded shops like mango, esprit, g2000. depends on wat u looking for. i dun think these brands are cheaper in msia so dun really matter to me.

trans
haha my dad oso have to go up and down (in terms of slopes) when we drove in.. he was complaining why so many slopes and sharp turns one.

Hi Preggie,
How much does the Dr Seuss books' cost in Spore. Is it cheaper to order from US? I'm quite keen.

Chris, Hong,
I went to Desaru a few years back. Dont' really remember stuff for kids except they have this kids' corner. Think they organise some activities for kids..The good thing abt Desaru is the drive is not long...Driving to KL with my 2 active boys was so tiring..though I like going there and Genting, I'm having 2nd thots.

Hi M2B,

Joey can read.. but definitely not novel standard. Raine is really very advanced for her age.

Hi Hong,

Yes.. i've got books from Mem Fox too... It's recommended by KB's aunt who was a teacher.

The camera is an olympus.. waterproof, weatherproof and most imptly shockproof... sigh.. hope it's with the teacher

Hi Masshiro,

I bought the books for under $20 each. i think abt $15 or $16, depending on titles. There's a bookset selling for $55, but i think the stories and words are too advanced for joey.

Hi Chris,

There a fruit farm and also an ostrich farm. My friend who went told me they can go and ride on the ostrich and the kids love it!

Fireflies... i think it'll be interesting.. but will have a lot of mozzies or not ah?

Preggie,
Gosh.. hopefully u can retrieve the camera.

I went thru Dr Seuss book with Janelle. Call "Fox in Socks" I find it interesting cos it has something to go with phonics but Janelle doesnt want to continue after a few pages. She find it too much of a tongue twister but I enjoyed it. May be I encourage her to read the book again next time.

Mem Fox book is not cheap. I borrow them from Library.

M2B,
Novel stage. I still prefer book with pictures. hahaa.. cos the children can relate the story better with pictures. Furthermore, I also like pictures story books. I like comic, i will borrow Superman, Ironman, US comics to read.

Good Morning Mommies!

Preggie & Hong,
All thanks to ICR! I'm surprised by Raine's ability to read too...she can read the food names off the signboards when we go foodcourt and the stall owners were amazed.

Hong,
I prefer picture books too but then the novel is a must-read for her ICR course now...glad she can do it and understand too.

good morning mummies!

masshiro
ash likes genting too, bcoz of the rides and cool weather and me & pf is really sick of it, wun go for the next few yrs.. anyway the lucky gal is gg melb in apr with her grandparents to visit her shushu. when r u going? i already booked their tickets, sq airfare is quite cheap now.

preggie
i saw fruit, crocodile farms, river cruise on the hotel website... we are advised to wear long sleeves and long pants for the fireflies excursion.

m2b
oh ya ash started her icr class in jan liao. so far she told me its fun!

Good morning mommies,

Woke up with puffy eyes and sausage lips!! aiyoh .. dunno what i ate last night, but i thot i look quite funny ;)

Hi Hong,

I think joey likes dr suess books because of the tongue twisters, i.e "Honey bunny funnybunny gave PJ funnybunny a fuzzy hug".

I went to kino at Liang Court yesterday but the selection of dr suess books very limited and all wrapped up!

Hi Masshiro,

Kino is selling Dr Suess books from $10 onwards.

Hi Chris,

Have you considered going on a cruise - like the royal carribean?

Hi M2B,

Raine is really impressive!! For now, joey confirm cannot read the menu... but we are training her to order food herself.

Yesterday, we were at Tampopo, she said she wanted desserts, so we told her to go to the uncle at the door to place her order..... she came back with the waitress carrying one whole tray of desserts!!! The first thing that came to my mind was "Jia lat liao!! How much is this gonna cost me?!"

Chris,
Which level is Ash in now? Glad she njoy the classes. Raine likes it too but quite a fair bit of homework though...

Preggie,
We made Raine order her own food too...there was once a Mac, I asked her to go and ordered her own meal...she did it but she spilled the whole drink coz she cannot handle the tray with burger, fries and the medium drink...she was so scared but I told her nvm and gave her $ to go and order again but this tiem round, ask for plastic bag to hold the drink =P

Haha, so how much does all the desserts cost?

Morning. Books - I hv stopped buying for now. CY's sch just started a reading programme for Chinese & english and we had to pay for a series of books. Just saw the books a few days back, the contents are quite good and CY is picking up wz reading them. Will just leave him to it for now. His sch work is getting more 'xiong' these days and I can feel some resentment building up liao, so dun wanna stress him anymore.

Preggie,

Are u allergic to any food? Your condition sounds like mine when I hv hives. If I wake up looking like dat, I definitely take MC liao. How to go to work looking so unglam.

preggie
i dun like cruise lei.. i find it quite boring.. my mum wants to bring ash on cruise either this mth or next, b4 her melb trip..

m2b
she is at 1st stage lor, bcoz during the assessment, she dun understand wat 1st sound meant, so she cant answer the qns the assessor asked. anyway the centre mgr told me if the teacher feel ash is ready to move to next stage, can move anytime, dun need to complete the term, so i am fine with it. impt is she enjoy.

Morning,

For ICR, i realised different center fee is different. I even brot Janelle for the trial class when she was younger but she doesnt like it. So i started her with Ladybird series and surprisingly she is picking up well. Her church kinder phonic program also help her alot with the reading.

I was talking to my cousin-in-law, her kids are same age as Janelle and both of us keep shopping for books. SO hard to stop...

Now I told my sister and BIL, if they really wanna get things for the kids. Pls get them good books. I will appreciate that than toys, if the kids want toy we will get it for them.

The only book I dun like to read to Janelle is the Winnie the phoon series. Sorry I know there is phoon fans here but I really find it boring.

M2B,
may be u let Raine do the ordering and u help her to pick up the stuffs. It can be heavy for the kid to pick up the food.

Preggie,
I thot Dr Suess cost only $7 at Kino. Shall wait for the discount.

Trans,
Same here, I stopped buying books for Raine coz no place to store them so we go library and borrow instead...

Chris,
True, the teacher will assess the kids to see whne they can progress...my fren's gal dun wana answer the assessor too and thus start with 1st level but very soon, progress to next level liao coz warm up to the teacher...

I may stopped Raine once she finished her current level.

Hong,
Haha, coz that day I'm handling Mae who refused to sit in the stroller so I got Raine to order and hold the food herself.

Gd mrng Mummies!

Hi Hong,

I have been buying all sorts of book for the boys and leave it to my hb to read to them. But i usually buy it during sales and when they are really cheap, less than $5 each.

Matt ever told me not to buy chinese books cos he din like it even though we have not started reading chinese books to them.
But i like to buy chinese books, is cheaper and also wan to impart the moral values to them.

Hi M2B,

So nice that Raine can read now, gd effort. Matt still can't read but gd at memorising...

Hi Trans,

Matt's sch also started a English and Chinese reading programe this year. They are using Scroll Readers, is it same as CY's? Not cheap, $75 for 8 english and 8 chinese books.

Hi Preggie,

I would like to try Royal Carribean! Maybe we can date each other again... ;)

Hi MUmmies

m2b/chris/hong/preggie/trans/masshiro
Seems the gals are more advanced in terms of reading...haha... jesse reads, but is more interested in the road signs and bus signs..haha...you know, technical terms...!!

I'm also trying to get him read more...

We get him to order drinks like Ribena when we are out.... or ask the stall owners for stuff eg. fork, ketchup.

m2b/chris
How much are the fees? How long is per session?
So raine wl stop soon? Guess since she can read so well, no need to continue.

trans
Talking about homework, yah man, don't know how we wl cope next time.

preggie/masshiro
Is Cat in the Hat by Dr Suess?

Hb bot a v thick one, he would read to them... I think is a compilation of all the stories.. not sure, cos I don't like Dr Suess v much....

preggie
We are plng to go tampopo this weekend?
Did you recci Chai Dept Store?

Cla,

Yes, its the same series. I can't recall how much I pay for the books though.

It was very funny when he first read the book to us. We kept hearing 'What's Inside, my happy meals' when he read the title on cover. Me & my sis kept looking and looking at e cover and dunno where he got the words from. I finally knew what he was reading last nite. He was saying "What's Inside, by Heather Mills."

chris
I also don't like cruise leh... so constrained..

The shu shu still has no kids ah??

My hb's friend has emigrated to Mel..

trans
That's funny!

cla
Yah, the twins also like to be read to and they can rattle off the story cos it's memory for them!!