Preggie Friends Since 2003

Halo Mommies!
Went RB on Fri coz got sale...went Ikea on Sat to get Mae a new high-chair coz hb gave away Raine's...

Hong,

Stylobb,
The so-called finale so bo liao leh...
tonight showing again...
I think JA is really good.

Preggie,
I'll try to make it coz that day hb not in Spore and I personally got no idea where is Depot Road...

Attending
---------
1) Preggie and Family
2) Chris and Family
3) Cla & Family
4) Trans & CY

TBC
--------
1) Hong and Family
2) Cherly and Family
3) M2B and 2 princesses

NA
--------
Linda & family

Good morning mommies,

Hi M2B,

Will be nice if you can bring mae along.. then she and jamie can "interact" and "network". Jamie flipped yesterday but we didn't see it, just that when she was sleeping, we went to check on her, and found her to be on her tummy with arms out stretched. She looks like a suckling pig! hahaa

Went to PD on sat and she weighs only 5.4kg and 61cm long.

I also went shopping over the weekend... Bought shoes, clothes and winter wear for both Joey and Jamie from Zara. Sigh.... it was another expensive weekend for me (or rather KB.. heehee)

Hi Trans,

Speaking of Pri Sch, i'm still torn between Radin Mas and Tao Nan... now joey's classmates are asking her to go to River Valley Pri... aiyoh.... i wonder if the chances are high if i enrol her in phase 2C for River Valley.

So....... did you get the transformer shoes?? haha

Hi Linda,

So have you decided on a school for Ryan yet?

Preggie/Chris,

I bot a pair of Reebok. No Transformers shoes, so obiang leh... It's funi that the Transformers outfits are quite nice but not the shoes.

M2B,

U driving there? If not, I am sure all cabbies will know where Depot Road is.

Good Morning Mommies.

Stylobb,

Josh wakes up at 710am on weekdays and his school bus will pick him up at 755am. His school starts at 8:15am. Ends up he wakes up around 7+ too on weekends and we can never sleep late...

Ya, I also find the 5min finale so anticlimatic. Everyone thought will have a different ending.

Preggie,

RVP is quite gd too. My colleague's 2 boys are there and one of them got into the Gifted edu and has transferred out. But you may need to ballot for 2C. Tot you already decided on Radin Mas?

Will confirm again on the gathering as Josh as swimming class till 12pm.

Preggie,
Will SURE try to make it coz so long never meet up with the mommies liao...miss you gals lah...

Aiyo, once they start flipping, very bo eng liao...now Mae flipped so fast...sometimes she flipped and sleep on her tummy in the middle of the night and end up with "checkered" face coz of the mat we placed underneath her...hahaha

My NY resolution is to save $ leh...hope can achieve it...

Trans,
Aiyo, I so loooonnnnggg never drive liao leh...Yalah, if go will be taking cab...wana meet and go together? Can share cab fare? hahaha, see my NY resolution??? =P

Minnie,
Good for us that Raine can sleep till almost 9am on weekend although she wakes up at 7am on weekdays...luckily Mae alos dun wake up early so we can sleep till 8am+ at least...

m2b/chris/linda/minnie
Yah lor, so silly...hb also asked me why they didn't reshoot the scenes, I said prob. too costly and the actors have prob. moved on to other serials.
Surely you all noticed QYW's hair is longer...
Macham the 5 min is worse, should not have done it... keep explaining makes it worse. Sure to hv feedback in the newspaper again...hahaha
The writer was saying he is regretful he didn't write a good ending for the serial.
Btw I only watched the last 7-8 episodes...hehehe.....

Mummies, thanx for response to the school question...

trans
Finally you found the shoes.

I realise that CY wlbe 'confined' to the circumference of tpy..hehe.. maybe in Sec school, he wl go further??

Yah only 5-10 mins if by car, but 40 mins by bus! Poor jesse! First day we all felt so heartpain, even hb was thinking of ways to shorten his journey, but after some discussion we left it lah.

And worse, as he does not eat bread, he refused to take it during the break. The teacher asked him and tried to tell him to, he said no thanks and he wl wait till school is over to eat his lunch!!!!
But I brot some biscuits for him and asked the teacher if ok, to let him eat.

minnie
I told him to wake up later last Sat!!!

trans/linda/preggie
So fast eh... ur kids wl be off to P1 next year!!!!!

hong
Ur kids enjoying CC? Who fetches them after CC??

preggie
I didn't see anything much at Zara... anyway I've settled the kids' clothes and shoes...

m2b
Someone asked about NY resolutions?

Mine too...
1. Be prudent (a bit difficult with 3 kids...haiz)
2. Continue to exercise regularly

stylo
ya lor, i was expecting a diff ending oso.. ash must be so disappointed.. she was eagerly waiting for the show yday. end up i dun tink she even understand the 5 mins..
i never tink of a NY resolution this yr lei..

Stylo,
Yes, both kids enjoy CC so giving me less problem so I dun have to battle with crying kids in the morning. Only problem is Janelle cant seem to nap in the CC. Teachers are more worrying than us. Janelle said the teacher will try to pat her to sleep but she just couldnt fall asleep. May be like Trans had mentioned before, they dun need so much nap now.

I realised she nap shorter even on weekends.
Julian managed to nap, I think he tune to the CC routine especially the naptime better.

Where is Jesse's new school? SO far away?

Preggie, M2B,
Julian likes to sleep on his tummy. Not that we trained to but he just ended up in that position. The butt will point high up, haha..

Stylobb,
Raine asked me abt the Little Nyonya show this morning so I asked her to watch it today at 8.55pm herself before heading to bed...hahaha

Yaya, QYW's hair is longer liao...haha

Hong,
I know what position is that coz my 2 nephews slept in that position too!

Chris,
Your NY resolution is to have a smooth delivery and also enjoy the 4 months' ML (shopping/travelling)...heehee

Stylobb,

To be precise, CY is confined to Lor 2 & 3 of TPY, hehe. I prefer him to be in a sch near hm so he doesnt nid to wake up so early to catch sch bus lor. I think e child nids to hv enuf rest in order to be able to concentrate in sch. When he reach sec sch, he can go out of TPY liao. I was also confined to TPY up till P6.

My NY resolution? Slimmer waistline and fatter wallet!

chris/m2b
I think they shud just forget about this 5-min finale lah...

trans
School bus - Can't be helped... so many other kids are also in that situation... wl see how it goes...
My kids now sleep by 9pm...

Hmm.... how to hv fatter wallet?? hahaha

hong
Oh it's true, at 5yrs+, kids don't need aftn nap all the time but they will need to hv enuf sleep at night.

Sorry, I didn't flw up on the amazon thing.. yes, if you are free around my area, let me know... thanx...!!

Besides hving to wake up earlier now, I hv been v v bz... yesterday I looked after the 3 myself cos maid was off and hb had to do some church thingy.. tkfully they were rather well-behaved.. I sent them to nap by 2.15pm! and they slept till 5pm+.

Minnie,
No problem. Not in need of the book right?

Stylo,
no problem. Hopefully I can make it to ur place this friday. Law is not feeling well. I think he is having stomach flu now. Couldnt even attend his gd friend wedding last nite and I have to go alone.

Hi Preggie,

Decided on Ai Tong and is going to move this year. In fact, we are going to a showflat later at Bishan. We can't decide if we want to move to AMK, Bishan or Sin Ming. Would love Sin Ming cos within Ai Tong walking distane but worried about 7th month.

Both of us don't want to put Ryan's edu to chance. Just imagine if we failed at balloting. how?!

Linda,

Showflat! Dats nice.
Upgrading ah? So confirm will move? Then who will look after Ryan after school?

Hong,

Have emailed you already. Thanks!

Stylobb,

Josh still needs to nap for around 30mins-1hr. Power nap of 20mins when we are out also works as long as he naps. My colleague was telling me that her gal told her that some of her classmates in P1 fell asleep in class around 3pm+ and I started to wonder if Josh will be like dat next time! Haha..

Why are they showing the finale again tonite?

Hong,

Shifting to where? You old gal there? Just wondering.. If they shift to another location, during P1 registration, do the 1km rule under 2C apply from the old location or the temp location?

Minnie,
I am not old gal of Kong Hwa but old gal of Temasek. They are shifting in Jan 2010 for expansion of the current school for 2 yrs.

The temporary location will be where Maha Bohdi temp school is now, former Macpherson sec school. They are expanding with 150m running track.

Hong,

Oic.

So where do you intend to enrol J&J? Temasek? My colleague went for ballot for Phase 2B of Temasek last year. His gal was one of the lucky 2 who got picked. 2 places, 15 kids. Aiyo...

good morning mummies

re. sch, anyone knows if i can put address for ash at my in laws so that i can enrol ash at sch near theirs?

Ohaiyo...

Chris,

Yes, you can do that. But you have to go MOE to make a statutory declaration that your ILs are her caregivers. And if your inlaws stay within 1km of the school of choice, Ash application will fall within 1-2km instead. You won't have priority to be within the 1km radius, if balloting takes place.

minnie
can i do that if both in laws are working? how do i know which sch is within 1km? i tot zhenghua is quite near to my place but my cousin said the distance is measured from the main gate is which not on the main road so its actually quite far.

Morning,

Minnie,
Kong Hwa that is why I chose my flat there.
Temasek always maintains her standard since my time, i realised some of the teachers who taught during my time are still there.

Chris,
U can go to MOE or LTA website to check if the distance is it is within 1 or 2km but u need to pay for that service.

How do u declare as a caregivers when both ur ILs are working? Althot my MIL is the main caregiver but she declares as self-employed so we cannot get the grandparents tax rebate.

I suppose should be ok as they dun really check if they are working full-time. Oh, Pf will have to bring his birth cert along to proof that your ILs are indeed his parents. To check the distance, you can check online or to be safe, call up the school to enquire. They will be able to tell you if your BLK is within the require perimeter.

hong/minnie
thks! i just chk when i hv the mood hehe.. dun hv the stressed feeling yet since ash got one more yr to go.. just asking now since u all talking abt it.

stylobb
Think this year unlikely to have increment.

chris38
PM you..

For Joel's primary school, I will be using my parent's address as well.

hong
Hope you are feeling better now. Yesterday celebrated Joel's BD in his school. It was a last minute decision and everything was done in a rush. Told Joel that we will plan early for his BD next year.

preggie
Not me, my colleague has applied for leave for those 3 days, so I got to cover him.

Minnie,

Showflat for HDB in Bishan. My goodness, it cost $670k for a 5room on the 21st floor. There's a total of 40 floors. Actually I expect that kind of pricing. Location is good though. MIL will take care of Ryan if we move to the North.

Chris,

FYI.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/measuring-home-school-distance

Actually, if you are aiming for popular school, u should be doing your research now. If you want to PV, request for 2004 kid should be send in now!

Jas,
Happy Belated Bday to Joel.
I think Xmas, kid bday and CNY are just too closed and we are too busy with work as well.

Linda,
if u are old ger then dun have much worry abt not getting into Ai tong. U just wanna move closer to the school to save traveling time.

Linda,

Ya, Bishan is a nice estate but ex. Gotto do your sums right before you move. But if Ryan goes to Ai Tong, better to move. My colleague sends his gal to the school's Before and After school every morning at 830am, before he comes to work. He stays in the East, school is in Bukit Timah. Everyday, his gal says so tired cos not enuff rest. But he has no choice as no school buses is willing to travel to the east to pick up his gal. Sigh..

linda/minnie
just called zhenghua, its within 1km.. so that makes it my 1st choice!
minnie, u were telling me zhenghua not bad rite?

beacon is more than 1km.. it is a new sch in bp. 2008 was its 1st intake if i am not wrong.

cla
hv u decided where to send matt?

Now talking abt schools again.. tkfully my dad kept my primary school's report card..... then I no need to PV or anything, my twins wl be able to go..

minnie
You seem to know alot about all these schools...

linda
One of my friends is staying at bishan point... opp Ai Tong! V good school right....

chris
So zhenghua is near ur place or ur inlaws' place??

hong
When is last day to cfm amazon? I may wanna get a book if I can't find it here...

B/days - those of us w/ early Jan kids find it v chuan cos Christmas/NY/b/days are all so close... hb says no more pressies for them for a year...

Till now, still can't decide where to celebrate baby's birthday. Guess lazier with 2nd kid.haha..both kids down with flu...sigh..my baby seems to have fever every mth..now 3rd time in 3rd consecutive mth..how come the flu bug doesn't go away...aggrr..

I also keep my report card. My certs all so precious I bought a fire proof safe to keep everything...was joking with my hubby that, if suay suay, thief thinks got precious things inside and take my whole safe away...i cry, thief also cries...cos my certs so precious!!! No valuables for the thief.

I'm going to send my kid to Pei Hwa at Bkt Timah..track every year to make sure I still safe under 2A2..if not, got to go for PV already. I also think shud stay close to school. Even for short distance, school bus also takes a while cos turn here and there.

Masshiro,
U are old gal from Pei Hwa?

I also feel that it is better to stay near the school. I checked the intake for Kong Hwa last yr. Seem to be ok and pple telling me birth rate in 2004 is very low so the possibility to get into the school is high, but I dun know if I can take that risk.

Chris,

Just checked for you. Zhenghua ok, no balloting last year, supply over demand. Phase 2C 165 places, 86 registed. Safe!

Hong,

Yeah, that's why we wanna move and we are deciding if we want Sin Min, AMK or bishan. Sure move one. I myself cannot tahan long distance.

Minnie,

We are caculating carefully. Hazi, if only we can don't move, then we will be debt free for housing loan. But now, we have to borrow again cos that area is damn expensive. Also, now most of my friends are in the east.

Stylobb,

I know Bishan Point. Believe me, we have been around Sin Ming estate for countless time! Bishan point is idea for us expect for the $ and the 7th month. Futhermore, there's constrution going on just beside it and we are wondering what is it going to be?! We actually preferred Bishan Park which is older, bigger in area and just behind the park. Ai Tong is a SAP school with strong chinese culture. I told my hubby that I want Ryan to study in a school which only has chinese students and have a strong chinese culture.

Preggie,

I want to ask you, for HDB, if income ceiling more the 8k, how is it going to be? Interest how much higher?

Chris,

Bukit Panjang is the most popular school at your side.

stylo
both zhenghua & bt panjang is within 1km from my in laws. zhenghua is within 1km of my hse.

linda
i know bt panjang is popular the last few yrs. i tink minnie mentioned to me b4 zhenghua is featured in last yr's young parents as one of the gd schs in spore oso. i preferred bt panjang but if i put my address or my ils', it will be in the 1-2km phase and the chances will be lower if compared to choosing zhenghua lor.

All talking about schools, very stress leh..

I found 3 primary schools which is nearest at my place..

1) Henry Park Pri
2) Ghim Moh Pri
3) Fairfield Methodist Pri

If not wrong, Fairfield is the most popular right? I have no idea able to go in or not??

Heard the school too many volunteers so dont need anymore now ...

Chris,

me choose Zheng Hua, few min to reach the sch.

It is popular cos is very old sch, at least 40years liao. But i heard from my sil that bukit panjang std dropped after they change principal, now din check it out cos already set my mind to go Zhenghua. My bro also from Zheng Hua, he is doing fine too.

cla
ya zhenghua is very near to ur place and ash nanny's. just 1 bus stop away.
i oso heard abt the principal thing abt bp.

NOIF,

Fairfield is popular cos the school is affliated to Fairfield sec.
Henry park is also a popular school.

hong/masshiro
forgot to mention, pf is gg for the free canon course tonight. will let u know if he tinks its crap or good

Chris,

I will choose Zheng Hua too if I'm in your position. Balloting is only for the strong heart I would say!

Have been reading about bad news everyday now. Is any of your company affacted?

Chris,

Why did you like Bukit Panjang?

If ur nanny can continue to take care of Ash and no.2, it will be more convenient for you right? it may be troublesome if later need to send or fetch them, esp after become single session.

For me, i may discuss w my boss to see if possible to work PT and support from home when time due. Worst come to worst, i may just quit and work out other plans...

Stylobb,

Haha.. I got the info cos I have some pretty competent "school monitors" who will discuss which school is gd during the P1 intake. Plus I have to register Josh for P1 this year and last year, quite a few of my colleagues went thru balloting!! I could feel their stress... It was like a school stock market here!

Masshiro,

1 of my colleague was a PV at Pei Hwa and she managed to ballot successful last year. She says her gal P1 teacher is very strict and very different from kindy. Oh, the colleague I mentioned earlier who has to travel from East to West everyday? His gal is in Pei Hwa too. Every morning will be at the Before School Care in the school.

Linda,

For the sake of Ryan, I guess its a gd choice to move. But dun delay too long hor... Only 11 mths more!! Haha..

We have cost cutting in our company. No choice.

Chris,

Then dun need to change addy already rite?

Noif,

HP is a popular school and so is FMPS. I guess if you stay within 1km, you can try for Phase 2C for FMPS and ballot. 2 of my colleagues went thru this last year too and both successfully got in! But I suppose wat helped was that the ratio between registered kids/vacancies wasnt that wide also. But do note its a heart-stopping exercise. My colleague said her heart almost stopped during balloting. Hah.

linda
ya lor, sounds like zh will be my choice. must monitor the registration this yr liao...
so far, my co practise forced leave, thats why i keep having long breaks... headcount frozen, travel minimised as well.

cla
bcoz i heard gd reviews abt it b4 the principal change. and somehow i like the location better oso, more quiet and secluded hehe
i havent decided wat to do with ash when she goes pri sch. at least i still hv nanny as standby since no. 2 will be still there.
any student care in bp?

minnie
ya no need, if i choose zh, which seems to be the easier option.

Hi Hong, Minnie,
Yes I am ex student of Pei Hwa. Recently found some old primary mates so had lots of fun recalling the old school days. Our school has been rebuilt twice already since we graduated..only the church remains. Really had lots of fun there cos principal then was very good. Yah..i also heard now quite strict. Kids now so poor thing.

Chris,
Tks. tell us abt the course.