Preggie Friends Since 2003

Good morning mummies,
Had a good break yesterday, lots of sleep and Kungfu Panda. Show was good and thank goodness my boy could sit thru, although he was a bit scared. Asked me why cinema so dark.

Hi Angeline,
I vow to dress up more when i lose more weight. I always feel so fat after having my 1st boy, wear anything also not nice, so ended up not buying new clothes. Guess if I'm slimmer, I'll have more confidence to wear more stylish clothes :p How old is your baby now? I also wish maternity leave longer, 12 weeks just whizzed past. Even my colleagues asked how come I'm back so fast. Guess nobody misses me ha!!

Thanks for all your advice. Fortunately, my boy likes storybooks, like us to read to him. I try to read 1 or 2 books to him every night. Sometx also bring him to library to borrow books. I bot a lot of book from OZ for him, the books there so cheap and good. Y'day at Popular bookshop, also bot some phonics books, 1 chinese writing book and 3 educational EDs. Will try to teach him a bit everyday.

I'm not a kiasu mummy actually, just that i feel we've let him indulge in video and computer too much. our fault. time to change that.

M2B,
almost there..counting down. u had natural first round right? actually it's good to carry baby to full term. My baby wasn't growing well inside, not putting on weight, so gotta take him out. He was all bones when he came out, only 2.4kg. But now he's a chubby 6kg baby
Pregnancy is a whole waiting game..from conception to birth.

Hi Periwinkle,
not bad your girl has the patience to sit down to finish her writing. That's so good. My son has problem sitting down for 5 min. He takes 1 hr to finish dinner also..sigh... We got to sit down with him with a cane, cos he tends to run around.

for those going for a trip, njoy!
I hope I am still on holiday cos we dun enjoyed this trip this time.

Yesterday, FIL went to remove the color hair for Janelle. She was so upset and called me to complain and ask me to bring her back again.

Hi Periwinkle,

Joey is one of those 4YOs who is in K1 lor... She's born 30 Dec 03. She's the youngest and shortest in her class.

Hi Masshiro,

Joey has never been to the library before... i find the library boring leh. haha.. see la.. i think i'm the most bochap mommie.

And, i dun really read to her. Our bedtime routine is to sit down in front of the tv at 10.30pm everynite to watch Jon & Kate plus 8.

M2B,
u are 32 wks now. Time moves so fast. Are u delivering in TMC? Inorder to reach 3kg, Megan need to put on 200g each week. Or u wanna try my method? Try durian and good quality durian.

Preggie,
Joey is learning very well, she is quite advance.

Masshiro,
wow 6kg at 3 months? His weight is really good.

Periwinkle,

My boy is same as Joey - born 30 Dec 03 and is in K1 this year.

Preggie,

CY luvs the library!

We usually borrow the non-fiction books for him. I was quite surprise the library has quite a good collection of such books for pre-schoolers. Helps me explain things to him like the water cycle, how volcanoes are formed, etc, in a way dats ez for him to understand.

Hong,
Me gg into my 33 weeks liao...fast? I was thinking how come so slow leh...

Hehe, I think most of the weight gain will goes to me instead so I dare not take durians liao...

Trans,
Raine loves library too and I agreed the libraries do have a good collection of books.

trans
mon is usually our library day but instead of reading those edu stuff, ash more into princess storybooks. i guess like mummy like daughter, int in books of 'trashy' content. haha

peri
my girl is still in nursery but she is one of the tallest & oldest in class as she is a jan baby in 2004.

chris,

Boys and gals r diff lor. CY goes for books abt cars, dinosaurs, etc.

We r bringing him to night safari this Sat & he keeps thinking dat we r going to Africa cos he read in books abt e African safari. Hiazz...

I think I am another mother who didnt really bring the kids to library. I dun think I can handle two alone.

trans,
have u being to nite safari before?

Thanks for "showing face" to run the business here, hehe!!

Periwinkle,

My gal is in nursery, she is def the oldest in the class as she born on 2 Jan 2004. Her teacher said she is "xiao da jie" in class.

Preggie/Hong,

Like you, i have never brot my kids to library b4. Perhaps should try one of the day.

The kids section in the libraries are really good. They even have boxes where pre-schoolers books can be found. Sometx I also borrow to read myself. They teach science, geography, etc stuff in ways that are easy to understand.

But I haven't brought him there in a while since the HFMD outbreak. Ever since he got it the last time, I damn scared. More particular about hygience.

I also want to visit Night Safari. But the tix really very ex leh.

Masshiro,
Nite Safari is not cheap but is quite a nice place to bring the kids. The performance is much better than the day zoo. However, tram ride is a must at Nite Safari cos many of the animals can only be seen only if u take the tram and the ride cost $10 each.
Furthermore, the place is always pack with pple and tourists.

Library - I end up going library myself so I can take my time to look ard for book suitable for Janelle. There is one author which is quite good - Mem Fox. Her stories are quite catchy.

Cherly,
I'm quite scare to bring Julian out but I did manage to bring him for a swim alone. I dun dare to tell Janelle abt it. Scare that she will protest!

Good morning mummies.

Its Friday, hooray!!

Hong,

Why you scare to bring Julian out alone? He make noise? I would prefer ben to go with me if i bring clarence cos he is diaper free, so need to go toilet very often and will disturb my shopping. At least with him ard, he can bring clarence to toilet while i can continue my shopping.

Trans,

Hehe, cos i don know got business meh, otherwise will appear earlier.
I think i must be really "old" liao, bo tai bo ji kenna flu again.

good morning mummies!
today early release at 3pm bcoz its our co d&d tonight.
anyone gg for pc show?

trans/hong
i rbr i went to nite safari when i was preggie bcoz got free tickets.. quite nice la, i rbr the show was done outside the entrance so anyone can see without tickets. tickets are at $32 now incl tram ride. very ex lor... family of 4 already more than $100.

trans
talking abt love for books, i rbr during ash's cousin bday party, all the kids were eyeing to play wiht the gift containing musical instruments. when its ash's to choose an instrument, she said she wanted to see another gift instead, a mickey mouse book.

Good morning mommies,

Talking abt libraries, i do miss the smell of libraries. BTW, do they still have that hush hush, cannot talk rule - at the children section?

Hi Trans, Hong, Masshiro,

We are frequent visitors to the Nite safari coz we've got the zoo card. I think both the tram rides and the walking trails are nice in different ways.

While at the walking trails, if you see a keeper feeding animals, you can ask them if they can give you some to do the feeding. They usually obliged. There are also exhibits like porcupine quills and rhino skin which you can touch and feel. The rangers there will explain to the kids about these exhibits. Very educational.

Hi Chris,

I was at suntec yesterday to do some shopping and the queue to the carpark is horrendous!! Took me more than 20 mins to find a lot.

Morning.

Cherly,
cos I have to catch after Julian all the time.

Chris,
we went to PC show last nite. A big crowd everywhere. We got a notebook but it is best to get at the end of the show cos they usually give out more goodies but both of us need to work on this Sunday. Sianz working on weekend again.

I told Law if we can consider getting a CPU as well cos the current one is getting cranky.

Ops I meant chase after Julian.

Preggie,
the Zoo card covers day Zoo and Nite Safari?
I didnt take the wallking trail cos we are simply too tired with 3 active kids and somemore everyone rush down after working hrs.

Hi Masshiro,

Your younger son is very cute and cherubic!! got such a nice smile!

Hi Hong,

The zoo card i got is the wildlife unlimited. Can go to zoo and nite safari. Now they've got wildlife unlimited plus which includes bird park too

Masshiro,
ur younger boy is so chubby. I missed the bb smell. really feel like carry him now.

Preggie,
are u going to continue with the membership?

Hi Hong,

My membership will be expiring in June.. I think i will renew end of this year.. coz with Jamie, i dun think we will be going to the zoo so often.. must wait till she's abt 3mths, then can start bringing her to the zoo.

For us, we totally made full use of the zoo card.... we go the zoo and nite safari at least 2,3 times a month

Hi Hong, Preggie,
Yah..he's growing faster than my 1st boy. I suppose babies that are born small or earlier tend to grow faster. He drinks and sleeps so sure put on weight. Must jiayou, scared my supply not enuf for him. I love his smell too, if only there's some gadget to save the smell as keepsake.

I used to have the friends of zoo membership also until they upped the fee by 50%. Anyway, now my company has corporate card, but only for day zoo. When baby's older, I'll bring my kids there again. Is their playground renovated already?

Finally, the weekend's here. Can't wait to go home and zzzz...but gotta bring my son for his 5-in-1 jab first. hopfully no fever. Have a nice weekend, mummies.

Hi! I'm back from K.L. Done very little shopping because mom and child with me. Need to look out for young and old. Sigh! When it comes to shopping think it's better to do it alone. You can control the time and place. Think Stylo should also be back too. Oh crikey, Genting is so expensive! We had bak ku teh at a food court for 4 adults at RM150. That's S$60++ . The worst part is they don't show the price until you proceed to make payment. We thought how expensive can it be!!?? Boy!! So very wrong. One bottle of mineral water RM3 or RM2.50. Don't think I will go back again.

Masshiro, wow very cutee...

Mummies, guess my girl is the oldest. She's a June 03 kid. Just turn 5 and in K1 now. She's quite small build and people might think she's 4. I didn't bring her to the library till she's 4. Don't think she miss out much because I borrow the books on her behalf. She also tend to run around in the library and can't stay on a book for long.

Periwinkle,
ur bak ku teh is really ex. My PIL said it will be much worth to take up the hotel buffet lunch or dinner.

Library - I brot the two kids to Bedok library on my own last sat. Both kids were very happy, I taught Janelle the procedures to check out the books. Julian enjoyed walking ard the kids sessions. May stay longer next time cos need to rush off for Janelle lesson.

Good Morning Mommies!

Masshiro,
Your boy is so cute and chubby!

Stylobb & Chris,
I went to Vivo on Fri and went to Daiso...think they stock up on the organizers liao...saw got denim, white, biege, pink, yellow and blue...bought 2 for my sis and 3 (pastel colours) for Raine...heehee

good morning mummies!
very tired, fri d&d ended at 12am+ (no prizes this yr), sat am got coll's church wedding, sun am went to 'conquer' southern ridges, yday nite father's day celebration. another packed weekend..

m2b
i oso at vivo on sat nite and sun am hehe..

for frequent patrons of vivo, did u sign up for the vivo mbr for free parking? every $50 spent gives u $1 parking rebate.

masshiro
oooohh.. your boy so chubby!!! look at the cheeks!

peri
i ate that bkt b4 at genting. i guess its cheaper to go for fast food, or those hotel buffet like hong said. my mil even discovered the staff canteen at some ulu place.. cheap food but place is dirty and rundown lor... i also tink i wun wan to go to genting again, at least in the next 5 yrs. malacca is nicer and nearer.

preggie
how much is the zoo pass? do they hv it for nite safari only? pf and my co hv corporate passes to the day zoo & bird park so nite safari pass is more useful to us.

Morning mummies.

Periwinkle/chris,

Genting so exp now? I havent been there for long time, planning to make a trip in 1-2 months's time. Hmmm...maybe should reconsider.

Chris,

I got R&R weekend instead, the weather so hot yesterday, i also lazy to go out.

Chris,
Went there on Fri coz Raine wana build a bear and hb decided to bring her...imagine her limited edition Tropical Hello Kitty with clothings cost $64.70 leh!!!!

Parking - hb likes to park at HF instead coz of the lesser crowd lor...wat else...

Preggie
How much is your zoo membership? I have not been to the naight safari yet....

Masshiro
Your son is so chubby....i love to rub my cheeks against bb cheeks....their skin so soft and boing boing....

My gal is 3 mths plus...going 4 mths in 2 weeks time...

periwinkle
the food at genting is very exp....

Your hubby doesnt want kids anymore?

Hong
I din see your hair colour strip...took out?....

M2B
Y not try to sell it away?...your grassland tickets>?

Stylobb
i did make Fel write letters..she can drag for 2 hrs writing a few letters....think she has learning disabiliy...and i m the kind of not Ks mum who became very KS due to the education system here.....got to suppress this....

Any mommies going for HSM?

Angeline,
Yah took out last week cos I think I pull on it and it kind of hurt me. What is HSM?

Weekends - Brot the kids to the library, ballet lesson, my mum place as my bro informed me that he has adopted two dogs. The kids fell in love with "Kaya & Guni" at my mum place. I think my mum also found two companions when my siblings are not at home. The dogs love kids, they dun really barks and are toilet-trained. Guess wat, the previous owner is a buddhist and the dogs are trained to listen to buddist chanting. It is part of their routine to listen to the chanting in the morning. May be that make Kaya & Guni a good nature dogs. Lastly, Law's grandma place for her bday celebration.

Good morning mommies,

Feeling good today... On friday, i had a feeling that i'm gonna get a sore throat liao.. so i quickly drink a lot of marigold tea wtih honey... Now, my sore throat is gone! Or maybe i passed it to my maid, that's why i recovered? hehe

Hi Masshiro,

Are you referring to the children play area? I didn't notice that they were doing renovation leh.

But they are doing this jetty thing which looks interesting.

Hi Hong,

Yes it covers tram tickets for Zoo on weekdays. Does not cover tram for nite safari. But, if you buy the Wildlife Unlimited Plus, it will cover tram rides for nite safari too.

Hi Chris,

I dun think they have the nite safari card leh.

Hi Periwinkle,

It's such a rip off! Did they try to con you coz you are a tourist?

Hi Angeline,

The membership ranges from $200+ for just the zoo membership to $300+ for wildlife unlimited plus. I can't remember the exact price though.

I'll be going for HSM on 8 August.

Hi Hong,

HSM = High School Musical on Ice

Hi M2B,

Actually, $67 is not too expensive.. that's abt the price of most of the bears there (esp when you deck them out in beautiful outfits). Did you also get the recorder to record a message?

My hubby had a bad experience parking at HF last month. He was being honked continuously by this renault coupe driver while driving round the carpark looking for a lot. My hubby got so fedup, he walked out of the car to confront the other driver - Asked him what was his problem. The driver told him that he was driving too slowly and KB asked him if he should call the Traffic police to check on the speed limit in the carpark! That driver got no balls, quickly say no.. and stopped bothering KB. Sekali, they bumped into each other in the lift again and the guy dare not even look at my hubby!

When KB related this incident to me, i told him "I'm so proud of you! You've got balls!!"

I detest Bullies!

Preggie,
Aiyo, to me $64.70 for that Hello Kitty bear is exp man...hahaha

Raine chose the "I Love You" message instead...after decking out in the clothings, the kutty really look cute lah, even I want 1 myself man...hahaha, was asking hb why he never get me 1... :p

I hate bullies too and I'm proud of KB too.
Normally, hb likes to park at HF coz lesser crowd lor.

Preggie, I heard that the number of trucks bringing food & perishables up to Genting has been reduced due to fuel hike. Hence food prices are going up in Genting. Anyway, thought it was a really boring place. Won't want to go back at least for another 10years. Can you imagine just on food alone, we spend close to S$500 for 3 days? Of course includes 1 day in K.L.

How's your Aussie trip? Everything planned?

Angeline, don't think of your child that way. Writing involves fine motor skills. This is also the most intricate and grueling part of the learning process in a kid. That's why they sell books on writing alone. To write takes time. It's also the most boring part, I'm afraid. The only way is to practise and practise. It gets alittle mind-numbing. Suggests giving stars on a chart? After maybe 5 stars, award with something she likes?

Hong, I used to have a big dog. A cream labrador. Some men are even afraid of her because of her size. Had to give her up when my girl was 1. She had sensitive nose. Think dogs are wonderful companions but demand as much time and money as a human.

Preggie
Wah KB is so brave, if I were him, I would dare not do that, only get so pissed off that he kept horning me, but I def would not do what KB did....

HSM
I was wondering if Fel would like it, thinking of trying ...

Hong
you took it out....Jan?...took it out too?

Hi Angeline, Periwinkle, M2B,

KB is the sort who will not tolerate bullies. I guess he's has been trained to be like this since he was a kid when he had to fend for himself in boarding school.

I heard from my MIL that he used to get into fights with those big sized angmo kids in school last time who tried to bully the asians.

Hi Periwinkle,

No leh.. i haven't really prepared for the trip yet. Going to pack only on Sunday nite. I also haven't planned any itinerary yet, though i know roughly where we wanna go.

Now i kindda regret going to adelaide leh.... should have chosen to go to Tasmania instead.

Preggie,
KB is into the right career.

Angeline,
FIL took it out for Janelle. Law took out mine for me.

HSM - Janelle was not expose to it. I dun know if she will like it. May or may not be going.
I just introduced new characters to her. They are from BBC and she likes them.

Periwinkle,
I may visit Gentings in Aug, just to bring the kids up for a short holiday.

Angeline
I went to Motherhood fair, but nothing much for me to get as my boy except the goat's milk sweeties, king solomon pre-schooler reader and assessment books, and diapers as gift for a friend's baby girl full month.

You got the Grolier series of books? I seen before but a bit too exp for me to invest knowing my boy 5 mins interest only...

I have not decided to go for HSM or not. If going, most probably either Wed or Thurs show.

masshiro
Joel also the same.. likes to play most of the time. He can't read words only alphabets. He is more interested in playing. Get him to write, got it wrong, ask him to try again, then after a while he will just get impatient, lost temper and refuse to write anymore... So worried for him...

hong/perwinkle
Talking about dogs, my boy was telling me that other day he wants to have a dog. I told him it is a big responsibility to have a dog, and it is not just a toy to play with.

What will your reaction be when your kid was being push and knock against the wall at the indoor playground due to an older kid running around? What will you say to the older kid?

Jas,
yes. A big responsiblity. I went to my mum place and was totally lost on wat to do with the dog. Luckily my brother was in pet food industry and he has some knowledge and his gf has dog before. It is like taking care someone.

Joel got pushed by older kid? I will tell the older kids to play gently.

mouseaction
if my gals are been pushed, I would tell my gals that the action is wrong, and tell them to avoid going near those kids, so as not to been pushed again.

Fel told me she wanted a rabbit, but I myself is so scared, i dunno how to teach her to take care, so gave up the idea...

I got the grolier, and now i do it everynite, no regrets....but last nite one page was torn out by my younger girl, very heartpain, overall is a very interesting series....i tell myself not to go near any of this exhibition this 5 years, as I do not have any more time for other such books....one is enuff....

HSM - most likely will go as Fel has seen the video in dept store, and seems absorbed...

Mummies.

Any good suggestion for nice dinner? A china customer who is in town with his wife, would like to celebrate they wedding anniversary. Asking me to recommend a place for nice dinner. Can someone give me some idea.

Oh ya, mummies, my colls just told me this customer abit niao, so i think lawry n morton will be out. It will be best if you could just indicate average price spent.

hong/angeline
Yeah, happened at the Kallang McDonald playground. The older kid was running and just came crashing upon Joel and causes him to knock against wall head-on, he cried big-time and the kid just ran away to play. I saw it but it was too late by the time I rush in, and I just carried him away.

angeline
If I remember correctly, the cost for the whole set is few thousands right? But I do agree that the books are very interesting and colourful.