Miscarriage - Antiphospholipid Syndrome

ckyp

Hi, I’ve just joined this forum. I would like to know is there anyone here with antiphospholipid syndrome (APS) who had got pregnant and delivered a healthy baby and who was the gynae that you had consulted.

I’m diagnosed to have this APS in my 2nd miscarriage. And when I am conceived for the 3rd time recently, I have the hope that I will be able to keep and deliver this baby. I took Fraxiparine jab (a blood-thinning medication) daily as advised by my gynae. But in the end, now I have my 3rd miscarriage whereby the foetus stopped growing in the 5th week. I’m very disappointed and sad now…….
Does anyone of any experienced gynae who is good in handling this kind of pregnancy complication with APS? I have this fear that I’ll miscarriage again…………

Hi doggie,

I am diagnosed with this problem after my 2nd miscarriage. My gynae adviced me to take baby asprin, ie half of the normal dose of asprin. Besides that, I am also under TCM treatment recommended by my gynae.

If you feel unconfortable just before or during ur mense (heavy breast, mense cramp etc ), you might have clotted blood in your body (due to previous miscarriage). TCM can help you to expel it out through acupuncture.

Gynae: Raffles Hospital Dr Han
TCM: 宁医师(Bishan 62564238)

Hi Cally,

Thanks so much for your info!!! At least now I know who're the doctors that I can approach if I do conceive again....hopefully....

Hi doggie, it's best to seek treatment early, dun wat till you conceive, it might be too late to resolve the root cause.

After my 2nd miscarriage, my Gynae urge me to take asprin asap if want to conceive after the 2nd cycle. If I took it after conceive, it will be too late to thin the blood.

As for the TCM, I went for the TCM treatment immediately after d&c as TCM need more time to 调 the body. After 2 mths/cycles, TCM said that I am well enough to try again.

Make sure your body recovered before you try again. It's easy to get preg but not easy to keep it. So get treatment early, dun wait, miracle won't happen overnight.

Hi Cally,

Thanks again for your advice!

I have never have this thought that I need to seek treatment on this early as after my 2nd miscarriage, I trusted my Gynae’s advice that I just have to do the Fraxiparine jab daily (never mention on taking asprin) once after I’m conceived again. Thus, for this 3rd time, I took the jab daily but still turned out negative. You are right that I should seek treatment early….. I’m now with another Gynae for my miscarriage treatment and I will definitely ask him should I take asprin after this…

Is it Dr Han who urged you take asprin asap after your 2nd miscarriage? It is good for you to have him giving you the right advice. Do you know of any good TCM in west area as Bishan is rather far and inconvenient for me to go as I don’t drive. Did you just go for acupuncture or also taking Chinese medicine to 调 your body? Do you have to boil the Chinese medicine? (I don’t mind having to boil the medicine...)

How many months of pregnancy are you in now? Or you have already delivered?

I’m glad to have you sharing your experiences with me……I won’t wait for miracle to happen….

Hi doggie,

Dr Han besides asking me to take asprin, she also adviced me to go to this particular TCM. She recommended this TCM because 宁医师 is really very good.

I used to seek another TCM in a reputable establishment in the west as it's more convenient. I have been with her for almost 1 year since my 1st miscarriage. However, I still miscarriaged 2nd time. And when the TCM know it, she adviced me not to get preg again... Wat a stupid advice. Guess wat, the medicine she given me are not suppose to be taken by preg woman!! I verified the medicine with other TCM and even on the website it stated that. Hence, please dun seek the TCM just because it's convenient.

In conclusion, if the TCM is really good, it's worth the distance and effort. I should have listen to my gynae and go to 宁医师 after my 1st miscarriage. My 2nd miscarriage really wake me up.

宁医师's medicine don't need to boil, just powder to take with warm water.

I just pass my 1st trimester. It's a miracle when we finally see it kicking inside me. My husband and I are overjoy. We are confident this time. Hence, I do hope you can get the right treatment and feel the miracle.

Hi Girls,

Me also have my 3rd mc and still have no clue what could be wrong as the miscarriage profile test cannot find anything conclusive.

1st pregnany - My momo twins had sudden no heartbeat at 12 weeks with no bleeding whatsoever ; Missed miscarriage

2nd pregnancy and 3rd - Blighted ovums

I am interested in visiting Dr Han, Can Cally advise the cost of a visit just to get an idea? My current gynae also put me on a regime of baby aspirn to prepare me for future pregnancies and I am not sure if that tiny pills would resolve all problems.

What I understood about baby aspirn is that it thins the blood hence doggie, the injection that is adminstered on you does the same to precisely thin blood. Hence would the asprin be any different?

At the same time, my gynae have a patient who miscarriage 7 times before finally having 3 live birth gradually. So the motto is never to give up unless you have detected a problem with the gene makeup that would cost miscarriages.

Looking forward to a lot of sharing on this thread =)

I do not know whether the asprin+utrogestan progesterone(pill+injection) or the TCM make it work this time. Might be a combination of both.

My gynae mentioned that the blood must be thined before ovualtion. It takes 12++ days for the asprin to work. I took the asprin just 12++ days before I ovulated. If the blood is thick, bb cannot absorb nutrition and didn't survive.

AS for the TCM, she mentioned that my womb got clotted blood and nutrition cannot reach bb.

Both western and chinese concluded the same thing. And I am on both treatment.

Dr Han's charges is almost the same as TMC. She is quite good, sometimes didn't charge me for consultation

Hi Cally,

Can you advise if Doc Han see patients only at raffles hospital or does she do consulation in raffles clinic too?

I think for us all sort would increase chances of a live baby hence progesterone and baby asprins both do little harm to the body I am hence thinking why not too. I bought the asprins but too lazy to start since I am shelfing TTC for another 2 months. However looks like I should start now after your advise of it working 12 days later =)

Just to ensure also that baby asprin is like a supplment taken by the elderly to prevent heart issues.

I think we really come a long way with recurrent miscarriages.. so unfair at times when I think back. Every single day of pregnancy is a milestone. Hopefully we all graduate like Cally sometime soon! =)

Hi Ling,

Dr Han's clinic is at Causeway point:

Causeway Point
No.1 Woodlands Square, #05-02 Causeway Point, Singapore 738099

General Obstetrics & Gynaecology Services (O&G)
Contact Tel: 6314 6431
Fax: 6891 1641
Visiting Hours Tue, Fri & Saturday: 8.30 am to 12.30 pm
Tue & Friday: 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Mon & Thursday: 6.00 pm to 8.30 pm

As long as we don't give up, there will be miracle.

Hi Cally - I’m happy for you  Just out of curiosity, why didn’t Dr Han recommend a TCM that is also available in Raffles Hospital? It’s insensitive and sound cold-blooded for the TCM to advise you not to preg again…..Was the TCM in Jurong East or previously at Bukit Timah? I was seeing a TCM earlier who moved from Bukit Timah to Holland Drive…but it doesn’t help for my 3rd pregnancy. I’ll take your advice not to seek the TCM just because it’s convenient!! Thanks!

Hi Ling – Don’t be lazy to start the aspirins!!! It’s good that you are as lucky as Cally who has a gynae to advise to start taking asprin to prepare you for future pregnancies, something which my previous gynae has never advised and I’m never aware that taking asprin could help till I see my current gynae for miscarriage treatment…..:-( May I know who's your gynae?
We won’t give up and let’s Jia You!!!

By the way, may I check does any of you suffer any side effects in taking asprin? My TCM told me that she has two patients having eyes swollen after taking asprins during their pregnancies...

Hi doggie,
Dr Han do not know how good the Raffles TCM are. Her own sister also seen 宁医师 and got preg successfully. Sometimes when western medical don't work, it's a good alternative to seek out TCM. My previous TCM used to be near Lot 1.

So far, I got no side effect from asprin.

Doggie,

Going to start the aspirin today after work for sure =) My gynae is Dr Heng from ESH but she is more suitable for a birth gynae than 1 that will follow through miscarriages etc. Simply because she is so busy with all the pregnant ladies. She is really good in my opinion and lotsa empathy. She told me I am too stress and wants me to get progesterone support and on asprin for next pregnancy and dont see her until the 8 week if I get pregnant to lessen worries. She dont think the scan will set my heart at ease and quite frankly she is right because I worried after my 6th week and stress till 8th week to confirm my fear of my last 2 blighted ovums.

Abt swollen eyes, hopefully I am not one of them!Yikes!!!

Cally, is true, TCM does do wonders at times.. I started seeing Dr zou after my 2nd mc but during that same month I accidently got pregnant *faint* and lost it before I can start my bu regime. I have seen my recovery from the last 2 mcs much much faster than my 1st one. My skin also clear up and my period seems normal with little/ no clots unlike previously I always have major clots.

Thanks, Cally and Ling for the info. Hope 宁医师 will be the one who does wonder for me!! Hope to hear good news from Cally soon :)

Cally - Did you take any confinement food while you were on the TCM treatment after d&c? Could you give me the clinic address of 宁医师? Thanks.

Cally & Ling - Have you ever heard of hydrotherapy? Do you think it'll to increase the chances of successful pregnancy?

morning girls..started my asprin yesterday =)

I think important to do the mini confinement after the D and C! Try to make up for the nutrient you lost while having the pregnancy. For my 1st mc I did a D&C and I did confinment for 2 weeks.. while my 2nd and 3rd mcs I had natural bleed out epsiodes with cyotec which purge the sacs etc hence need not do D&C and frankly I hate to say this... the last 2 miscarriages was a like a heavy period hence I just stay off some food but didnt do any confinement. STILL.. my TCM physician insist I wear jeans/ pants and long sleeve for at least 2 weeks.

No leh what is hydrotherapy.. I am just willing to try anything to be frank.. just paranoidal after all these mcs..

Doggie,

Spa relaxation! =)Pity I have no tub in my house.

But it is a fine excuse for weekly spa treatment!!!!

I didn't buy the tub nor the home spa equipment...as still not so convince that it'll help my condition :)

Hi girls, if you do not want to buy the spa equipment but would like to try the spa....let me know. I can recommend you the spa centre to go to.

Hi cally n doggie

Read abt ur experience. I recently lost my baby at 25 wks and seems it might be due to the same syndrome as you two.

Cally: May I know are you still carrying ur baby into the third trimester?

Doggie:how does the doc detect ur condition?

Pls PM me if u dont want to post ur response.

Really need some help as all along, my gynae didnt think I have this condition till my fetal stop kicking me....

Hi tuete_cottage (tuete_cottage),

I just came back from my 4 mths maternity leave. My baby boy is very healthy, no problem at all. As long as you take the asprin as adviced, there is always a hope. My gynae told me tat I still need to be on asprin for my next baby. It's a condition that cannot be cure.

Hi Doggie

I'm diagnosed with APS after I lost my 1st boy @ 20weeks. I got preggy again one month later. From the start when I found out I was pregnant, my gynae put me on aspirin and once bb's heart beat is detacted, I was on clexine daily till 36 weeks plus.

Though my gynae told me the success rate is onli 80%, I was hopeful. My hardwork didn't go in vain, early Jan this yr I deliver my girl at 37weeks healthy.

So there is always hope ... and I m gonna try for my 2nd bb when I m ready.

I got blood test, and it's only border line. But my gynae kiasu, put me on aspirin. I already have 3 babies! All with aspirin. 4mths, 2yrs n 4 yrs

Hi ladies, a revisit to the above thread. For those of you who take aspirin, do you all have g6pd deficiency? Some doc say if have g6pd, wont be able take aspirin and need injection daily whereas others say ok to take...
wanna hear from you girls if you have any experience

Anyone able to share ur experience and are those daily injections and aspirin help in having a successful pregnancy? Also, anyone able to share ur high risk pregnancy gynae or tcm? Thanks!

Hi doggie,
Dr Han do not know how good the Raffles TCM are. Her own sister also seen 宁医师 and got preg successfully. Sometimes when western medical don't work, it's a good alternative to seek out TCM. My previous TCM used to be near Lot 1.

So far, I got no side effect from asprin.
Just to add that I got side effects after taking aspirin of other brand.

Anyone able to share ur experience and are those daily injections and aspirin help in having a successful pregnancy? Also, anyone able to share ur high risk pregnancy gynae or tcm? Thanks!

Hi I took both jab n aspirin everyday till the birth of my gal.. N she is 2 now

Hi don't know if this thread is still active, can I ask those who have APS, do u have alpha thalassemia trait as well?