IVF Mummies

hui, ok,i go n find the address, yes it is beside coffeeshop.

Rae, yah agree with LY, think $170 is quite cheap. $150 for KKH is without consultation which is usu $40. My GP charges $150 but need to pay $19 for dunno what charges...so total is about the same as yours.

Dawn,
you have given your kids the jabs already?
I thought of waiting till he is 2 then give as then he will only need one jab since he is not at childcare. Even the nurse agreed as then his butt won't have ti suffer twice. My son is going for the Hep A jab though.

By the way, did you give birth naturally or by c-sect? Have been wanting to check with you.

LY & Dawn,
hehe..... but think $170 is not incl consultation fees. but watever the cost, so long it's not over expensive, i will get my child vaccinated

anyone of u gg for 2nd child? Government has rolled out a very attractive baby bonus..... hope my boy will come out on or after 1 Jan 09 :p

wow..now govt giving $3K for IVF at public hospital, but we missed it :p anywaz, mine wasnt done at public hospital. i wonder if public hospital IVF patients will suddenly increase. I think oni SGH and KKH is considered public..

Rae,

aiya..for pple who hang out here, i think its not a choice of 2nd child or not. But whether 'can conceive or not'. I will ping1 for one until sometime next year, before calling it quits. cos hit the big 'u know what'..already an 'old-age' mum even if I conceive now. But seriously speaking i have other concerns too, such as ability to cope, childcare issues, couplehood issues etc. These are the main factors that make me think twice too.

your 2nd one is a boy too? Hmm..means ur hubby sperm is quite healthy (heehee). I heard the baby bonus is brot forward to 16 Aug so u got to enjoy the perks!

hui/dawn - tks for the address.

stumbled_by,

oh yes, sure long q at public hosp.... our time already long q, now have to wait even longer.... :p

agreed abt the factors for having 2nd or more kids as this is a personal choice. They have to weigh the pros & cons, needs etc. With more baby bonus, some may not even give in. Nobody can force someone to have kid. My ex-coll said "even give me 1 million dollars, i oso dun want to have 2nd child"...... LOL.

not sure if his sperm healthy or not..... but whether have kids, boy or girl, healthy or not etc is all fated...... have to read the papers for details cos a bit confusing thou.....

Rae,

oh..i forgot your 2nd one is from IVF-frozen cycle, so I commented abt the sperm, sorry :pp Ignore my comments hor..

cos some of my frens who heard of others having 2 boys(natural conception) they always made this kind of comments :p

Wow..ur colleague is so adament abt not having 2nd kid. For me, its more of 'dillemma' so I am not strictly 'want' or 'dont want'. I think the main reason most pple have 2nd kid is to accompany the 1st kid.

ya..the bb bonus thing very confusing. i think main difference is 4th mth maternity plus the bb bonus payout (for 1st kid esp)

stumbled_by,

no worries.... :D regardless of gender, like i said, health is more impt

mayb u r letting nature to take it's course... in a way, yes, to accompany the 1st kid cos 1 is too loney and when he grows up, he has to shoulder lotsa burden. also, if he needs help, he has a sibling to go to.....

hi hui,

how's Jovial and ur little 1 doing? when r u due?

stumbled by,
i think NUH is consider public hospital too...
Rae, I din wait very long for IVF leh. I went to do blood test in Jan,then wait for results...u know lah...need to do the 3-5days & 21 days cycle... then I start my injection in march cos my exam finish in early march. Also i find that each time i see gynae only 1 hour waiting or less. Pretty fast...

hui,
my boy is like Jovial..... monkey too....*sigh* does he wants u to carry him? Mine still does and even sits on my tummy but I moved him away....

LY,
maybe they access on case by case or hosp policy bah..... KKH advised me to try for 3mths on natural, thendo tests, scans before actual programme....

Hi! Jeni,
Yeah! I used my friend's acct.I've problem with my acct. I plan to do FET soon. Will discuss with Dr Loh on my next appt.What abt you?

Rae,
Would like to know how much it roughly cost when you did your FET.

Hi Stacy,
same here! I have made an appointment with Dr Loh next friday and plan to talk to him about the FET. Wanted to wait till next year end initially but my hubby really want to have a second one and so, if my 3 frozen embies don't work, we are contemplating to go for another cycle. Hence the reason why I have to do it this year end. So, I really hope to God that the FET will be successful. Which month are you looking at to do your FET? Let me know and maybe, we'll be doing it together again

Hi Hui & Rae,
Knowing that both of u are preggy, but are u interested to bring your boy for the toddler contest 13-36months at Jurong Point next Sunday, 10am?

Hi Jeni,
It is Great to have your companionship. I am also looking at last quarter this year..haha...we are together again.I may not want Dec bcos Dr Loh sure on leave again.School Holiday mah! and he needs to spend time with his daughters. I've 5 frozen, hope to succeed again. dun wish to go further for fresh cycle if ..

Stacy and Jeni, Jia you!!! i m thinking whether to go for another round of FET....hee hee..but hubby thinks i m crazy cos our hands r full. i like kids leh....the more the merrier! but will wait next year till i see Dr Loh for my review.

somebody was asking about the TCM at Hougang, suddenly found the card:

Dr. Tan S L
Teck Chuan Medical Hall
Blk 322 Hougang Ave5 #01-84
S(530322)

Tel : 62810373

every Tue, Thur ( 6 to 9pm)
Sat (2-5pm)

do call and check as i have not visited her for 2 years liow. i find the Dr Zou at AMK equally good, if not better. ;)

Stacy,
will keep you updated for sure!

Dawn,
did you have c-sect or natural? Is it possible to have natural when having twins?

What's the address of Dr Zou?

hui,
what happened ? When is your EDD ? Must be tough if ur boy still needs u to carry

LY,
wah, ur boy took part in baby contest b4?

hui,
Must take Care hor. I remembered I also sprained myself during last pregnancy and no med. can be taken safe, except Panadol.REst more..

Dawn,
Are you coping well?
Dr. Tan S L used what type of treatment?medicine or acupuncture?

Stumbled by,
sit on the floor feeding jovial bread then stand up tink i nvr support myself well and i sprain my back..
my EDD is 4 Nov 2008.

Stacy,
me put the tiger balm patch on my back to ease the pain and also panadol..

Hi Jeni, I had emergency c-section as the dilation remained at 4cm after 6 hours of induction. i actually went to see Dr Loh for my wk 36 check up and he checked told me i was 4cm dilated! then v drama lor...i was wheeled chaired (zoomed) into the delivery suit...wah...i tot v fast can see babies liow but after 6 hours of pain still at 4 cm! so dr loh gave me a choice then, to c-sec or try until tomolo morning!
so d rest is history.
twins can be delivered naturally one, esp if one of them engaged. my gal was engaged but dr loh said that the structure of my womb/vagina was sengngei (crooked) so affected the dilation, u planning for twins?

my FET was around 1K only, i m not sure if can deduct from medisave as I did not. I was thinking may need to do another few rounds of IVF so save the money for next few rounds. Nowadays IVF got 50% subsidy from government rite? FET got or not?

Stacy, I m doing fine...still on NPL but going back to work in a month's time. my parents and parents in law gave very good support plus i have a v good maid, so thank goodness i am not too overwhelmed and can enjoy the twins. Dr. Tan SL is using brewed chinese medicine...everynite must drink those yucky medicine. Dr. Zou (she is from china, about 45 plus yrs old) does both chinese medicine soup plus accupuncture. i went to her for accu oni for my FET, prob it had help abit bah. $25 per session of accu (about 45mins)

Her address: Blk 505 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
#01-2670 S(560505) Tel 64560833

hui, u must take care of yourself, i also sprained my back when i was pregnant and it was terrible.

hi stacy,

can't recall the cost but think it's about 1K+?? how's the doc's appt?

Hi hui,

is ur tummy pain caused by the back sprain? better take care.... am lucky in a sense that my boy cling more to his father than me....

hi LY,

Jurong is too far for me - the other side of the island.... u went this morning? am waiting for somewhere near the East or town area.... next 1 is for girls 13-36mths at Far East Square, right?

Stacy,
what's saline sonograph and what is it for?
I have spoken to Dr Loh and I was given folic acid and some other meidcine to induce my mense in October as my mense is really haywired especially after I have given birth last time. Then he also gave me some hormones medicine to prepare the lining before doing the ET. So, I will be doing it around the first week of my school holiday.
When is yours?

Hui,
if it is really painful, may be you can try chiropractor. I am talking about the western one, not those chinese sensei type. There's one at Toa Payoh central, I think somewhere near the NTUC. Quite good as quite a few of my colleagues went and they gave good feedback. Yes, you can go to such chiropractor as I have seen from a medical show that a chiropractor helped his very pregnant wife to fix her back and sore muscles. Just check first befoer you embark on anything. Just be very careful not to strain other parts of your body. Take care.

Hi Ladies..
Thanks for teh concern.. i finali recover from backache
Went for my check up today bb weigh 2.10kg @ 32 weeks 6 days

Jeni,
Seems like yours is more straight forward. I think Mine same as Rae have to go thru the saline thing after my menses and Dr review result if lining's ok, then decide when to do.... Only did pap smear, scanning to check my lining and given folic acid on that day.I'm given a letter to pass to KKIVF on the day I go for the test.What abt you?You fix date already?

Rae,
Can use medisave pay rite?

Hui, Great! Your baby also good weight ha! Take Care

Hi Rae,Hui,Stumbled by,
Brought Ryan to the Tots contest. He is very naughty maybe he is very sleepy lor...he cry when reach his turn.This is the first time we see him cry in public leh.... usually he will laugh & play happily when outside...Lately found that he is very tempermental, throw tantrum easily too...when cant get wat he wants, he will cry with tear... I got wrote in blog, to see detail visit my blog lor...
Stumbled by, your quires can be found in my blog too but in earlier months...think is april & july...

Rae, next one for gal is maybe at East point mall again... Not too sure leh...

Hui,
Got to take care of your back lor...
Good to hear that your bb is of good weight.

Stacy,
yes, I was given a letter to pass to KKIVF too and I have called them to inform them. The nurse told me that I have to go down to KKIVF for briefing etc. Yes, I have more or less told Dr Loh that I hope to do it at the first week of November so that most of my first trimester will be during the Dec holiday and will not affect my work like last time.
Dr Loh also checked my lining etc. I asked him if I have to do pap smear, he reviewed the previous result and told me that I didn't have to. So, I didn't do any pap smear.
Keep my fingers cross lah... Hope everything will be as smooth and as lucky like last time.

May I ask Dr Loh from KKH izzit a male gynae? Cos this morning news got interview a IVF gynae from KKH leh.

liyen, yes Dr loh is a male, he looks young and is v smiley. what was the interview about?

jeni n stacy, jia you for the FET...it is a much simpler process than ivf but i think equal emotionally draining.

Dawn,
I agree... I seem to have more worries this time like will I love the next one as much as this one blah blah blah... although it is still too early to say. Dr Loh said that the success rate for the thawing is only 60% and I only have 3 to play with
My hubby said that if it is not successful, then he wants us to go through another cycle
So pray for me, ok?

Jeni,
You decide to put in how many??? I've not decided yet, was given a dateline to decide.
I've never dun pap smear b4 so have to do it. You still remember what kind of food good for lining and implantation?

stacy, dun say like that....last time was simpler for me as i just failed my ivf, so just go thro the ET a few months later. It is different for u all as now u have to take care of your 1st one, must be tough for u all but u all can do it one!

LY, ic, what time is the show? nowadays i seldom watch tv one. ;)

jeni, will pray for you n stacy!!! dun worry, u will have enuff love for all your kids one. imagine those who give birth to triplets or more...it is tough for them to divide their attention as all babies r of the same age.
even for me, my 1st week i was struggling to be FAIR between the twins...and became v miserable...slowly came to accept that i cant be equal in everything i give them....i feed/talk/sing/smile/coo/etc at one, i will feel v guilty i am not doing the same for the other...esp when smiling at both placed in front of me...really a feat to maintain eye contact with both so that the other will not feel neglected!
now maybe used to it liow...make sure i spend almost equal time/love.

stacy, yes can claim but till now i had forgotten to done so.....
been too bz

hui, happy that u r ok now and bb is of good weight

LY, saw 1 at Far East Plaze for girl girl.....

good luck, jeni
will pray for u.....

dawn,
Was shown on tues morning 7-10am Zao An Ni Hao.I am A SAHM, so I spent lots of time watching TV lol...
rae,
Ya...I saw that too... Stumbled by can go for this...

Dawn and Rae,
thank you for your prayers.

Dawn,
you have pointed out my concerns etc, however, both your twins came out at the same time. For Stacy and me, it is more on how not to neglect our firstborn and how to accomodate another one in the heart when he has already ocuppied our hearts full full already... One of my colleagues who has her 2nd girl felt that way too and as a result, she tends to neglect the younger girl (as the age gap is only one) and she felt so bad about it... Haiz...

Stacy,
I will put in all the successfully thawed ones as I have only 3 mah, not much choice

jeni, yah true, u all used to have your kids in your hearts fully, n your kid also used to your 100% love and attention, may take some time for kid to learn to adjust but for mothers....i read somewhere that "love do not divide, love only multiplies"...so the more kids the more love u have. ;) how how how.....?

LY, hee hee...me also SAHM for now...but haven't been watching much TV since i gave birth, not even the news so sometimes very suaku, must wait for hubby to update me. my twins really keeps me on my toes.

stacy, as long kids are healthy, boy or gal secondary rite? ;) anyway today just received letter from KKH to tell them whether to continue freezing my left over embies...*sigh* i would love to have more kids...but hubby thinks twins is enuff liow leh.....

Am giving away these if any of you need them:

1) 1 box (27 capsules) of Utrogestan100 (expiry jan2009)
2) Duphaston (about 25 tablets) expiry 2010

Dawn,
the one on the left is your son son right and the one on the right is your sweetie roght?
Your son son look so cheeky and your sweetie so innocent looking... They are very cute! Yah how times fly...

Don't worry about school lah. Know you will feel panic now but once you step into the school, you will be too busy to feel panic... hahaha... So, you took no pay leave for 6 months?

Dawn,
Your gal got really big eyes leh...so sweet...Really envy that u got 2 in a go...then can stop production liao...
Did u manage the 2 on your own? Must be very tough on u...