IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

koala..

tokking abt sex of babies..i was reading thru some US ivf sites...some of the hosp actually allows sex selection one leh..hehe.. but Sg they dun allow.. i asked doc before.. they say "cannot be done", it's like so silly loh..if can do icsi, why they cannot determine the potential sex of the babies right..? just doesn't make sense.. hehe.. i mean..if they dun allow just say dun allow loh...why say cannot be done..? as if we stupid (mountain tortise) like that..:p

deerdeer, dr will be able to show u fetal heartbeat as early as 6 weeks on the ultrasound... but to hear the heartbeats, maybe 8 week onwards.... but dr loh doesn't seem to prefer hearing heartbeats... he prefer to see. not sure about other drs

hopes,

It can be done to select the sex for ivf treatment however the ministry in Singapore does not allow this to happen it here. It is allow in the US.

deer & Koala,

My Gynae also does not prefer to let me hear the heartbeat of the baby at this stage (i just crossed 1st Trimester). He said visually is good enough. He said only when my pregnancy into more advance stage than he will let me hear it. I think something to do with the equipment. Anyhow, i am there just to get his assurance the baby inside is healthy.

I wish to check with ladies here who are into more advance pregnancy. When did you start to feel the baby moving inside you. I feel "water moving" kind of movement. I wonder whether is the baby moving or my intestine is moving.

Hi Bodhi,

How many weeks are you in? according to Dr Loh,to feel baby's movements normally starts aroun week 20. especially for 1st time mom. for me, i started to feel bb's movement at week 15. I wasn't sure too, until my apointment with Dr Loh,(during week 16) and he said it is possible. It explains that i'm being more sensitive. You try to play some music to him and try to see whether you can feel bb move? that's what i did during one of the nights. And i felt his 1st move. Very nice.

bodhi, i started feeling little tappings in week 18. i find lie semi reclined most effective. and yes play music, esp those with drum beats... hahaha. by week 20 should be very strong already.

renee, how are u? u are going to be sahm? if u want to go back to work, u can't go back to your job already hor.... must go into new line or start a biz.....

Hi Renee,

Thanks for your information. I'm at Week 15. I have radio on during the day time. I shall try tonight to have music (hip hop) on on my ipod and see whether the bb jump or not ...just kidding! Thanks and Take Care!

mesh..i also not sure whether its work. I think the music will travel through my ear to my womb..just test it out. I am also thinking to bring my ipod during my next ultra sound scan and see whether the bb will move with the music.

Bodhi,
I'm afraid bb don like hip hop music leh. and also i read on some books they say the same. i was playing him some soft classical and children songs. i even ttell him what are the instrumenets that are playing in the music. so far my bb prefers strings instruments. he'd move and move when he hears the strings. Very funny.

mesh,
I'm good. how are you? i hv not been working for very long ,even before i started IVF. i will be a fulltime mommy until bb starts to go school. Then decide whether or not i should start teaching....

renee,

I also not quite sure what kind of music my bb likes. When i play those baby music, my body don't feel good...nausea feeling however when i play the hip hop...i feel more energy. I have this experienced during my 1st trimester inside the train...i play this classical baby music...i felt like i am going to faint but when i switched to hip hop i felt fine. I find strange and funny but that is the "something" about pregnancy that cannot be explained.

Ok...time to zzzzz and dream! Gosh...me every night dream...dream until i feel so tired!

hi deer deer,
i had bleeding as well as brown staining... just call up your doc to check once you spotted these symptoms. in fact, I had a couple of bleeding incidents (one in wk 6 and another in wk 7.5). for both, I immediately rushed down to the clinic.

for me, my gynae gave me one month MC to bedrest and minimise movement till end of first trimester.

you may check my blog for updates: http://nafeeza.blogspot.com/
801994.gif

red as in real red? hm.... so I assume you are not working now? me so scared sigh... my scan is tomorrow.... does your bleeding comes with cramp ? or any pulling sensation?

ya, it was real red! i was also very scared that's why immediately rushed down to the clinic. no, i did not really feel any cramps...

do you have msn or yahoo? we can do a chat there if you need more info.

and yes, i am not working now. my mc is till end of this month.

pls do go down to the clinic or call the nurse to check on your symptoms if you experiencing brownish stains or bleeding. there's really no time for delay! your little ones are more important...

ladies..

any idea whether drink Eno is ok to soothe bloatedness..?

i feel so bloated all the time.. and ginger drink taste so yucky..:p

Hopes

I'm not too sure abt Eno... but u can try drinking 100+... i drink quite abit in order to burp... after burping, i felt much better...
802164.gif

Bodhi,

i'm not sure abt you felt uncomfi abt listening to classical. but according the books i read and i attended Mrs.Wong's class. they both said bbs dont like hip hop. which classical will make bbs feel sooth and calm, also good for bbs' brain developemnet. next time when bb come out htey will not be crying bbs.

ladies..

i got this very faint light brown discharge (just a little bit) now and then..say.. like once every two days or so.. is it common?

hopes,

Any brown stain or bleeding irregardless of how light, better to go down immediately to 24 hrs, though there is nothing much that they can do for you now but at least they will give you MC for bed rest, you are not suppose to walk too much, minimise movement.

As for the duphaston, I believe you are taking twice a day? you can increase it to 3 times a day instead cos KKH will not give you any injection but recommend rest.

dodo,

The belly belt does not work for me. Because not only my tummy grow. My tigh and buttock "grow" as well. Therefore, the belly belt can't help me to fit into my pre-pregnancy pants/jeans.

renee,

thanks for your information. I certainly would like my BB to stay calm. Going forward, will listen to soothing music at night. Didn't feel the move last night, no "kung fu" kick yet.

hopes

Remember I told you I also got brown stain when I was 5 weeks +? Dr Loh said this indicates unstable implantation and it is not "normal".

Sorry, not to scare you, the brown stain might turn into bleeding in the worst case scenario. So please take it seriously, like Happy said, go to KK24 hours, take as much mc as possible, stop work immediately and rest at home until your first scan.

sigh... I did go down to the clinic. but, then the doc say it is normal to have brownish staining. hopes - do you have any cramps etc?

Hopes and deerdeer,
I had some brown stains during my first trimester and a slight cramp too. So, I called TPS and told the nurse. She told me to go down straight away to see Dr Loh as she would try to squeeze me in. So I went and Dr Loh did a scan for me and gave me an oil-based injection to stabilise the pregnancy and like what Koala had said, it was due to unstable implantation. Thereafter, I got long mc to rest and got another 2 more injections before everything else is okay. I think you should call TPS tomorrow and see what the nurse advises you to do. I don't really like 24hr clinic as I think they are not very professional there. Last time during my 2ww, I was super bloated and went there to seek treatment. Then they did a pregnancy test for me even though they knew that I had done my IVF treatment and was waiting for the outcome. The test was negative. I was so devastated but a few days later, on Saturday which I was due to do the blood test, I was confirmed to be pregnant. So, I don't trust 24hr clinic.

I just found out that I am pregnant 2 days ago. I am a patient with Dr SF Loh of KKH. Since all of you are probably more experienced than me, thought I could tap on your knowledge for the following advice :

a) It seems that my tummy is still very bloated. Any idea if the bloatedness will go off or the tummy supposed to continue to grow from here together with the baby ? It seems that the size of the tummy is a bit too huge for the baby now.

b) Because my tummy is big i.e look like maybe 8 to 12 weeks pregnant, should I use the stretch mark cream now ? If so, any recommended brand ?

c) I should be considered 4 weeks pregnant right? If so, how to calculate which would be my EDD ?

d) I am scheduled to see the Dr in 2 weeks time. What can I see from the scan ? Will I be able to tell the number of babies I have ?

e) I get occassional backache. Is this normal ?

f) For those under Dr LOh, what is the difference between consulting him in TPS and Speciaiist Clinic D ?

g) I do not feel tired or hungry like other pregnant mothers. Is this normal ?

Pardon me for the list of questions. I am a first time mummy. Very elated, Can't wait to go for the scan asap. Appreciate your advice. Tks

MTBs,

Yes, 100+ is gd, i drank tt too but of cos moderately. My sil oso drank it for her 2 pregnancies. She said the nurses at the hosp she delivered told her so

hi lynn,

answers below:
a) errr.. sorry, no advice for this as i did not have this problem

b) heard that clarins has a good product for stretch marks

c) check out this link to compute your EDD:
http://www.mybirthcare.com/calculator.asp

d) likely, you can probably see how many sacs there are which would tell how many babies... ;P

e) err.. better check with your doc about this.

f) no comments cos i am not under him.

g) i think diff people have diff symptoms so as long as there's no staining or bleeding or bad cramps, things should be fine. just eat and rest well. i have 2 good books to recommend to better equip yourself. They are:
1. What to expect when you're expecting by Arlene Eisenberg, Heidi E. Murkoff & Sandee E. Hathaway

2. Babycare before birth by Zita West

I find the above books useful to check out on stuff I am unsure about, esp at the early stages of the preg when I had a number of symptoms such as brownish discharge and bleeding.

take care there and njoy the route to motherhood! you may want to check out my blog for the details of my journey, thus far... http://www.nafeeza.blogspot.com/
803156.gif

Lynn

Thank u for sharing the good news! Wishing u a smooth 9mths ahead
803385.gif

I'm currently into my 10th week and also c-ing Dr Loh. My EDD shd be around early Dec. To add on to Dodo's advice, I just share with u my experiences (in relation to your questions) :

a) My poor tummy was also very bloated towards the end of my 2WW and it didn't subside until my 8th week! It was really uncomfortable and "hard" at the sametime... seems like there's a "rock" inside... heh... heh... When i ask Dr loh, he said its normal and asked me not to be alarm...

b) Just like u, even b4 i conceived i alrdy had a "pot belly" so it was quite "useful" cos' no-one knew i was preggy... heh... heh... i only started using anti-stretchmark cream recently... i alternate between 2: a)Mothercare (which is much cheaper) and b) Clarins StretchMark control... Some MTBs also use the Clarins Tonic which is highly recommended for stretchmarks.

c) Yes, u should be 4 weeks pregnant alrdy. When u c Dr Loh in 2weeks times, he'll do a calculation for u when your EDD will be... so no worries!

d) From the 1st scan, normally the sac can be seen alrdy and u'll know by then, if u r expecting singleton or multiples... i remembered i was very excited when i went for my 1st scan...

e) I do get it when i don't sleep well. If its bothering u, pls let Dr Loh know...

f) Main difference is that in TPS, u hv the convenience of picking up your medicine at the sametime and no need to go Pharmacy to wait (which is what happens if u go Clinic D). Of course for that convenience in TPS, u hv to pay alittle more ($6 to be exact) as compared to Clinic D. Also TPS offers Sat mornings and wed evenings appmt, so u might like to take that into consideration, but some of the MTBs hv commented that the waiting time on sat mornings is bad = 2hrs!

g) I also had poor appetite during the 1st few weeks... cos' i think i was so bloated i cldn't eat anything... my appetite only pick up afew weeks ago...

Take Good care of yourself and see u around here
803386.gif

Hi Lynn, gals,

For those pregnant under IVF, Dr loh said that your ET date is 4 weeks 2 days pregnant (since calculating base on our menses are not accurate) so if you see him 2 weeks later when that day is 6 weeks 2 days

kola, deer deer..

i went to 24hrs this morning and told doc abt my staining.. doc did a scan.. found two embies..but one not growing..i'm so disappointed.. and for the other bigger one, can't see the heartbeat yet.. i'm at 5wks, so worried..

doc says maybe next wk when i see dr loh can see ..but i'm so worried if cannot see still..that means gone case already.. so worrying..

jeni..

u are right..24hrs the service sucks.. damn jia latz.. doc only gave me two days mc.. and told me staining is normal also... no injections or medication given also...

hi hopes,
i also have a bit of brown staining on tue and wed so yesterday i called the kk appt line, the lady (rose) was very nice and got me a slot at 5pm yesterday to see dr loh at tps, luckily he said everything was alrite but want me to rest as much as possible , increase duphaston to 3x/day and was also given an oil based injection.ya like what jeni said, i preferred to see sf . sf did mentioned if the brown stain persist better see him again cos any brown/red stain is consider not stable to the pregnancy.

tk care!

hopes,
don worry, sf did say at this point of time, he is not expecting to see the heartbeat yet, got to wait till next week. he is more interested to see the sac and will calculate (not remember what) and told us it is the rite size and on target.

thanks miracle..

did dr loh did any scan for u..? any heartbeat yet..?

i'm trying to call TPS to see whether they can squeeze me in tmr or not..

yes Hopes, you must call TPS, tell them u have staining, they will squeeze u in one.

anyway can only see fetal heartbeat from 8 weeks onwards. week 5/6 can see the dot only.

oh yes, today is thu, if TPS closed already then u must try tomorrow morning at 9am.

don't worry and reste in bed if u can

hopes,
yes, he did scan for me and saw a sac and said mayb next week then can see heartbeat, he assured us everything is ok but must rest more.he said the injection is to stabilize the pregnancy.

i tried calling tps but couldnt get thru so i call the kk appt line @62944050 and the lady squeezed me in.

mesh, miracle,

thanks alot
the nurse at tps ask me to monitor myself first..if tmr still no good, then no choice, walk in direct to TPS. she says dr loh tmr got 25 patients, really can't squeeze me in.

Hi...i am new in the forum chat section.
i went for my 1st scan at KKH on 10th. Now going to 7weeks.
Found that i have irregular cystic space (some sort like liquid type) near the baby. 1 week MC given by Dr SF Loh and see him again on 22nd.....
so worried

In my opinion...if come to emergency...just look into yellow pages just call any private gynae and rush to his/her clinic and do an urgent check. There is no time to waste if KKH is unable to see you. Time is precious if the moment is critical!

HI Hopes,

Dont lose hope. The fetal heartbeat can only be seen at least at 6 to 7 weeks wor. ok? You are only 5 weeks. When I was at 5 weeks. I can only see the yolk sac. At 6 weeks, I saw the fetal pole.

Bodhi..

u are right.. ! gd piece of advise !

deerdeer..

yah.. i'm quite ok already... coz sister miracle also say the same thingy..
at least i'm more relieved. only a little disappointed the chance of getting twins is a little low now...

is urs a singleton too?