IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bubbybear,
for meet and greet, the characters do not talk.
for the shows, yes they speak in Cantonese

Gan,
1st time there, just did a day trip. finished in 3/4 day.
2nd time there, stayed at Disneyland hotel for one night. went to Disneyland over 2 days.
Disney hollywood is slightly cheaper. Disneyland hotel is grander and there are other activities within the hotel like story telling and crafts. but more for older kids. the highlight of the stay is buffet breakfast at Disneyland hotel. The characters come to each table individually and u can take photos with them

can have dim sum at the chinese restaurant there too, and they have disney shaped dim sum

i have photos on my fb if u wanna see

bubblybear, i also dunno why other sahms dont hv such sticky bbs! haha... smtimes i m amazed i m still alive.. :p

sunday was sil's wedding. we zoomed ard w the kids the whole day. i woke up at 5+ to prepare them to go to mil hse at 7am. their routines all haywired. my two boys on sunday night, woke up from 12am -330am. refused to zzz.. one up to play, one up cry non stop! n both dont want my maids.. my maid carry them, they keep crying and calling mummy! faint... tht night i think i only slept for 3 hours...

Grumpus, pm u my hub email for Facebook, can add him as friend? I can view the pics! Thanks!Disneyland hotel sounds good, will discuss with hub. I am down with fever so home today, have some time to surf on the trip

Panda, only the 2 boys are sticky, char is not? Always tot girls are sticky

hi grumpus,

my girl has been havin dry cough at night, u know if i can feed her anythin durin d day to make her better? honey? she is 13mths plus le. her cough came after a fever n runny nose, didnt see pd coz d fever subsided within 2 days. looks like teethin but its d first time she had fever for teethin...

rose
quite common to have dry cough after runny nose n flu. it will slowly taper off.
since she's 13 months u can try some warm honey before bed or try just leaving a cup of water besides her bed. does she sleep in air con? air con tends to be drying n can irritate the throat hence the cup of water to increase the room humidity

Pandawife
U must be the problem then...haha. Oh dear, too excited during the day, night time don't want to sleep. They competing for your attention..hmmm sometimes, I wonder if I'm in your shoes, what will happen.

Grumpus
Disney shows in Cantonese, isn't it quite funny ?

Gan
bbs can be having molars/canine anytime now to 2.5 yrs. Actually, 1st molar should be out first before canine. But my #2's is opposite, canines are all out, now molars are popping.

bubblybear, my mum also says I m the problem! Coz I cant bear to let them cry. she says from young i carry them so much until now all glued to me dont want my maids...

gan, sad to say this, Charlotte spent most of her time w either my maid or playing on her own when younger.. so now she is not so sticky to me compared to d boys. she is happy to b w my maid when I cant giv her the attention. So my hb always spend more time w her once he is back from work coz he knows my hands n legs are tied w the 2 boys....
but lately i observe she also wants my attention more.. when the two boys are trying to crawl onto me..she will also stand beside me and wait.. if one of them get down, she will quickly jump onto me!

Panda when u have more than one, I guess it is not easy to give equal attention to all. But Char seems more independent and behave like a da Jie Jie Coz she doesn't fuss for attention but grab the opportunity when there is one.

Just faith
Yr girl enjoyed hk trip so much ah.. Hear liao makes me wana bring my girls there too... But scare is a hassel to bring two along... Cos i definitely wont bring along my maid... So two adults to two toddlers.. Wonder is it managable not..

grumpus,

she doesnt slp in aircon room. thanks, will see if needs to make honey water. i read tat lotus root put old ginger helps too, makin tat as soup base for her dnr porridge. thanks!!!

pandawife
ur gal seems like one very sensible kid. is she no2 or no3?

anyone tried resorts world sentosa festive hotel? planning a wkend stay with my boy.

gan/happy, my girl learnt the hard way! haha..not tht she is sensible, she is scared! she is physically smaller, so the boys hv shoved her in her face or just pull her away many x. Fell too many times scared liao. :p

happy she is no3.. youngest, smallest sized and loudest voice

Panda
Hows yr cooking and feeding these few days? Whip up any new recipes?

Just finished feeding them their dnr... Potato and carrot mash with chopped spinach and cod fish. Top with mushroom cream sauce. Finished my last batch of mushroom cream soup... Got to make new ones...

Last trip to ntuc finest at thomson.. Alot of tins dont have.. No sweet corn, peach, kiwi, mango... Even yoplait yogurt also dont have..
I bot the small paul yogurt.. But still big for one serving.. Open liao can still keep inside th fridge??

Long time didnt see kiwi in ntuc.. Not even green ones..
Running out of fruits idea... Keep repeating.. Pear, apple, strawberry, rasperry, banana....

Bot the super green avocados... Not ripe yet..

baby, tried angel hair pasta this afternoon .. dinner was scramble egg cooked w tomatoes, peas, onion and minced pork. served w brown rice and soup.

check out my food album for recent makans

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150294692097070.358715.537157069&type=1&l=091c908703

trying to giv more soups and chinese fare... prep them for cc... coz kinderland mostly chinese foods..

i bought white nectarines from giant. kiwi my mil help me buy from wet market.. mango my dad buys from shop and save! hahaah...

yes the yogurt open liao can keep in fridge.. its impossible to finish up at one serving leh. even adults its also alot leh.

how about papaya, dragonfruit, rock melon and water melon?

Panda
Yup i bot payaya and watermelon.. Gave them payaya for teabreak today.. My small girl had a few mouths and reject. Only my elder eats..
Watermelon still inside fridge... I gave before.. Response not too good also...

Baby, don't worry too much! If u worry can or cannot, difficult to bring yr girl's for holidays. Hubby was asking me where is our next holiday destination. Lol.

Happyhippo, we stayed in both hard Rock hotel and festive. I prefer festive family suite. The one with the loft bed. How come u can still get room huh? I called last weekend. All fully booked for march holidays, except michael hotel. Quoted me $788 for two nights stay. ;(. Planning to bring my nephew as he just finish his o level prelims

Gan, I m glad that i have been bathing my girl with shower hose and standing. It was useful when we brought her for holidays. Unlike my last experience at hard rock hotel, I had to put her on swimming float and bathe her. So Terok!

I didn't stay in Disneyland hotel. I stayed in quarry bay. Abt 1000++hkd Per night for corp rate.

Just faith the price rws quote u comes with universal tix leh, quite worth, coz today I call they quotes about $350 for 1 night at Michael hotel. I m also thinking of a staycation after working so hard for the last few weeks.

I m still bathing my gal in her tub.=p

justfaith
i booked for sat & sun, monday school start, so i guess sunday was ok. family rm not avail for sat, so i took a suite rm. btw, the loft bed and sofa bed - is it suitable for a kid only? too small for adult?

ya i think package is more worth it. i didnt think i will go USS, so took room only.

did u take the buffet breakfast at festive hotel? was it worth it?

did u try any of the chinese restaurants in RWS? any feedback? i think i need to plan our meals and see if need to make reservations coz this wkend very crowded coz all hotels fully booked !

justfaith/gan
oh i just found out that u can sign up for genting member and they offer you members price for the hotel rms. if u take rms only, the discount is not bad, abt 30%/40% depending on dates.

Happy I am already a member, the price they quote is member price leh..but I was looking at good friday weekend,

U can eat at ding tai feng there, or if u want can take the monorail to vivo for some of the meals. I tried hard rock buffet, not bad too.

How much is the room this weekend?

Happy price is the same. Never try imperial treasure there. Hotel Breakfast I tried when I stayed in hard rock hotel , ok only not much variety. So I won't pay if it is not free. Will just go toast box. buffet dinner better.

Happyhippo, I see. I am a silver member with RWS. Unless, it's gold member n above, otherwise don't expect free or cheap room rates. Same as Gan, I only patronize din tai fung, toast box and ruyi. Those food in hard rock hotel not worth paying, unless it's free. otherwise, we will drive out and eat at hawker centre opp vivocity if we have a big company.

Both sofa and loft bed ok for adults. The last time we stayed there, we have 3 adults and 1 teenager.

Gan, the price is ok for two nights but I don't want michael hotel leh. Will only settle for HR or festive.

Wow, all talking about holidays!

Just Faith, travelling with one and with two is a whole different story leh! Travelling with two is not really a holiday. You are on duty round the clock! Every morning is a mad rush to get them ready and out of the door to start the day. And their napping times during the day may be different so even when one sleeps, its not like we can enjoy cuz the other one awake! In reality, it is not impossible for 2 adults to manage 2 babies, but it won't be much of a holiday... you will come back feeling even more tired! And when they sleep at night, cannot even take turns to go out cuz scared if both wake up crying then one adult cannot handle.

So Baby... you need to think and plan carefully before going for hols. But now that they are bigger, the eating and bathing aspects are easier... they can eat outside food, bathe standing up etc. So that is better than when they were below 1 year.

I'm going to Melbourne with the twins, my mom and hubby. So 3 adults and 2 babies. And I have relatives there so when we all go out in a big group, more ppl to help!

justfaith, gan
thks for the info. ya think those r the few more affordable eateries. wished they had some fast food places. hv u tried the malaysia food street?
justfaith, how to get silver membership, must go casino to chalk up points is it?

working wife, i can totally imagine what you are trying to say! Now my trio on fixed routine...based on the routine i foresee if we go on hols, i will hardly hv anytime to do anything else other than take care of their basic needs in the hotel!

i see all u mummies talking about staycation, i think if i go, its only a waste of $$$..hahaha...

panda
during holidays routine all go out the window.
usually during holiday I cut corners. like bathing the kids once only in the evening rather than twice so it's faster to get out in the morning. of cos no cooking. and eating simultaneously while feeding instead of feeding then eating.
I usually time traveling longer distances to coincide with nap time etc

Panda not easy to travel with bb! Even with one, during my 4d3n penang trip in December, I practically only stay in hotel to cook porridge, make her nap( my gal can't really nap on the go) etc. So if u ask me abt penang, I only know g hotel n the mal next door!! Hahaha

Happy forget about the Malaysian food street, I brought my parents there in feb, q was horrible and food not nice N ex

gan
oh ok. my friend was just telling me that the msia food street is not good also!

read in straits times today abt young kids having decay tooth. hv ur little ones started to brush teeth? how to teach? can imagine my boy will just bite the toothbrush and not let me 'brush'. which brand of toothbrush to buy? those with brittles like the adults type or those rubber-like brush/babies types?

happyhippo
get the finger brush. I find tat easiest for bb.
yes they will go through a stage where they will bite. just hv to persist

Working wife, yeah! Having two is more tricky but can still be done. Question is, want or not. Hubby's support also very impt. My gf with twin boys bought her sons to shanghai when they were 5mths old and recently Phuket. As long as you are ready to see some drastic changes in their sleeping hrs, and don't expect a perfect holiday can Liao. I carried my girl throughout the flight. Cheapo me took budget carrier. I didn't buy seat for her. So I entertained her throughout the flight. My hubby didn't helped me as he worked late and was busy catching his sleep.

I didn't even give my girl baby food. Fed her porridge or marcoroni depending on where we eat. By the time we got back to hotel, all were tired. Dozed off easily.

Just Faith,

yeah agree... it is tricky but can be done. I have come to accept the fact that holidays don't really mean relaxing holidays anymore... haha!! I've been bringing my kids for so many weekend trips now, I learnt thru the hard way what to do and what not to do. But I look at it as spending quality time with them and exposing them to more things. And in BKK there is nothing much to do on weekends except shop, gymboree, playground... I take weekend holidays almost once-twice a month since I got here!

As for flying, I'm also expert already. The kids have gone on six flights so far (but all short distance within BKK-KL-SIN). Melbourne will be the first long flight and overnight... so a little nervous. I never even consider buying a seat for them leh... I always carry them! Haha!! Ipad is a good ally... watching Barney on ipad can keep them entertained at least half hour.

Happy Hippo,

I use the baby toothbrush to brush their teeth. Haven't tried the finger brush. Yes, they will keep biting it, and use their tongue to play with the brush so end up brushing the tongue more than the teeth. But like what Grumpus said, must persist.

Panda,

yeah, I understand your apprehension. Although its true that routines go out of the window when on holiday, with two or 3 in your case, it is hard. Do your kids sleep easily in their stroller or car? If so, then it helps, at least they can still nap when outside.

Baby, for budget carrier, they change infant fee. I paid $50 for one way. Something like that. Like what working wife said, must plan properly. For this trip, I planned for abt 1mth. Cause my girl don't have so many thick clothes. I bought online. So much cheaper.

Working wife, if you say BKK nothing to do on weekends, I think singapore is no better leh. Cannot keep going zoo, bird park, RWS, botanic garden. Lol.

baby, infants under 2 years old don't need their own seat. Once after 2 years, have to buy seat for them.

If you don't buy a seat, then you need to pay a fee for infants, its about $50++ per way.

Baby for babies under 2, their fare is a percentage of
Adult Fare, can't remember is it 10 or
30%. I paid $168 for my gal's fare
To hong kong on Cathay pacific. They will sit on ur lap, uring take off and landing, will have seat belt to secure them

Just Faith,

I say that because we don't have family or friends here in bkk. The few friends we have are mostly single so they have diff lifestyle. That's why we resort to travelling on weekends.

working wife
I cannot imagine not buying a seat for my kids!! for #2 even though she's under 2 we got a child ticket for her so she gets a seat. the extra space will help cos for sure she will not sleep in the bassinet

working_wife
U have 2 tots, they will be toddling around throughout the flight so no need seat, I can imagine u and the adults carrying them and walking around...haha cos I been through that many times.

I had a terrible experience, when travelling with #1 on long haul overnight flight when she was 16 mths. I thought night flight will be good as they can sleep, but my #1 only slept 2 hrs and throughout the flight we played at the business class pantry area, she didn't want anyone else except me cos cranky, so hb had a comfortable flight. When it was time to land, #1 refused to be strap down, kept asking for bed which I couldn't give, so she kept crying, kicking and struggling. All this persisted until we land, I pity the passengers who has to put up with it, but I had a few who came by and pat my shoulders, I think they also pity me...haha. When we landed she was so tired and finally fell asleep that my nightmare ended. I was already very shag. So for all my long haul flights now, I try to do day flights. Actually, the best time to travel is when they were bbs, eat and sleep most of the time, tots the worst age group to travel, cos they don't understand when we explain, they just want what they want, they can't get, they just cry loudly, buan tahan. I'm going to experience long haul flight again in July with #2 this time as a tot, but I guess I already exprienced the worst.

Panda
Sometimes carry too much is the problem, like my #2 now won't sit on the stroller for long, as he is used to me carrying him in the pouch. I never use the pouch on #1 and so travelling with her was much easier. Even after carrying, put her back on the stroller, she is ok, but with #2 its more challenging.

When holiday, I also got no routine, free n easy, eat, bath and sleep no fix time. All the holidays/short trip, I find the kids KO really early cos they so tired after a long day, so me and hb can also relax early. I think for u, got to wait till the trio is about 2+/3 b4 can travel comfortably.

my bbs all very hooked onto their routine.. good for me coz all will eat and sleep at the same time. but sucks when we need some flexibility...

the few times on wkends when we are out, they KO at the exact same time the naps are due. and ask for food/milk at the exact same timings. its like they hv an internal alarm!

bubblybear, i m definitely guilty of carrying too much! my trio all cant sit in stroller for long.. short distances n when d stroller is moving ok.. but once stop n they r bored.. i will hv 3 screaming toddlers crying to get out...

bubblybear, I brought books, her fav spongebob, alot of biscuits and bread to keep my girl occupied. Sometimes i even ask for empty plastic cups to let her play. She sat 4hrs on our lap. Guess she's used to being strapped in car seats and strollers. So she didn't fuss at all.

bubblybear, I even brought tupperware tumbler for my girl to play with. One tumbler can keep her occupied for 30+mins.. She will open and close, close and turn.. Occasionally drop cover. Also brought pen and paper. I drew faces. She likes to scribble. So many ways to keep her occupied. My hubby called it my "八宝袋"... Bag of wonders. Lol.

haiz..my girl lately always get very cranky becoz she cant do things on her own... i.e she wanna open a container cover.. try n try if cannot she cries very loudly.. and refused help to do it! aiyoh...

Panda
Precisely ! Mine go for long walks ok, but if shopping, wHen the stroller keep stopping, all hell break loose, and once the crying spell start, want to put back stroller very difficult, got to carry in pouch until he sleep then can put down. But now better, at least can put him down to walk.

Yes, they all one kind of character. My #2 not so persistent like your girl, will ask for help, but he is good at opening cover, if hand cannot, he will try with his teeth to pry open the container, most of the time he can do it and that's how he steal food from his sis lunchbox

Just faith
Then your girl can travel. My tots won't sit down for so long even with goodie bags, sure walk around in flight. So day flight is good, be thick skin let them walk around disturb other people..haha. The problem with night flight is lights were off after supper, only pantry area is bright, so happily wants to be there. In the car they are ok, no problem, in the stroller #1 was good, #2, depends.

Panda and bubbly my hub just mentioned the other day we can sell our stroller! Coz my gal doesn't like to sit in stroller, after 10 mins or so wants to be out. She wants to push her own stroller, we have to carry her as she pushes the stroller, looks kind of silly.

gan, i hv a twin maclaren and a single capella! haha.. now when we go for short trips out.. i put Linus in the stroller w a music book.. he is ok to keep pressing the buttons playing music.. the other two my maids sling them.. so the twin stroller becomes white elephant liao.. my hb kept saying hv to stroller train them again... but i find it a hassle to b using 3 strollers..we always hv problems fitting into lifts together n end up wasting time waiting n waiting at the malls...

bubblybear, my boys will also use their teeth to open containers..my girl die die wanna use her hands.. and her skills r not there yet! or she will try to put back a water bottle cover.. but keep dropping, then she starts her screaming again.. hahaha.. n the way she cry is like my maid abuse her ... faint.. she has d habit of playing stuff while eating... so half way thru if she cant get her way w the toys she starts screaming n we hv to stop d meal until she calms down... :S

Panda
U got the basic happy call pan right?
I saw ocher pan which is deeper in the bp.. And also diamond wok... Dont knw which one to buy...
The happcall pan is it difficult to wash? Cos it can only open max 90 degree..