IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

smtimes w 3 i really no energy n patience.. coz repeat triple dose for everything.. not forgetting repeatng to my maids too!! argh...

haha Panda, I hear you... multiples really test patience in that everything have to do twice (and you 3 times!) plus the maids who are like babies too!

Thanks Grumpus and panda for the tips. That's a good idea... will try to do more praising. I do it now, but maybe not enough! Haha
Will keep at it and hope to see at least some improvement.

Yesterday they threw tantrum in public. Went to Ikea and let them play at the children dept area (they have the tables and chairs on display with toys for kids to test test and play). When it was time to go, they refused to let go of the toys and cried and cried. So kesian, cry with big big tears streaming down their face, and pitiful eyes looking at us. We put them back in stroller and continued to walk off, and they kept crying for like 2 mins, and then proceeded to sobbing quietly. Aiyoooh, really know how to tug at your heart strings. But need to be firm with them!

grumpus,

at what age did you let your elder sleep in her own bed (ie those beds for children and not cot?) Currently my ones are sleeping those play pen type of portable cots because they toss and turn so violently during the night, I gave up the wooden cot long ago. Plus the play pen is low enough that they cannot even attempt to climb out yet. Just wondering when is a good time to transition to bed?

Panda
Aiyo.. Then u must be damm shag...
How we wish all of them can sleep thru every nite!

My elder also on off wake up.. Last nite woke up a few times..
Some nights sleep thru...

Chicken stock done.. Put one whole breast with bone in.. 2 pc ginger and a few garlics...

Yr trio seems to be very very attached to u.. Even yr maids face them everyday they also reject them.. Hmm.. Kind of werid... My ones are ok with my maid..
Yday both drop their afternoon nap.. And went to bed at 9pm.. Seems like they are quite ready to drop the 2nd nap...

Gan
I called jg... All class is on wkday.. Only blingual class on wkends.. Which is only 2hrs per session per wk... For 18m above... Alot of time slots are taken up.. Alamak. So difficult to get in.. Even wana spend the $$ also tough.. Lol...

Yr playnest is conducted soley in english? Wondering blingual class good not..

baby, forgot to answer u regarding the balls..i hv different types n sizes.. rubber, soft fabric, air inflated beach ones n also a normal adult basketball which they love. i also hv plenty of those ball pit kind...

my happycall is from BP.. paid about $70+ inclusive of courier...

smtimes i dunno if its gd or bad tht they are so attached to me! n indeed i m very tired and shag! day n night superglue...haiz..

panda,
between para and nurofen min 1hr
nurofen only for above 38.5 fever

between para to para min 4 hrs
between nurofen to nurofen min 6hrs

Grumpus, thks for the detailed info! Decided to bring my gal to pd now. Highly suspect she caught d gingivitis bug from Lucas. Better go before the infection gets bad.. Haiz...never ending problems ..

Panda
Where did u buy the balls from?

Yr happycall is the normal shown on tv or the one with deeper pan? So its original happypan right? Not imitation hor cos i wonder how come so much cheaper than buying off tv..

Just served my girls their tea break.. Mango and blueberry salad with the chicken breast meat from the stock top with yogurt.

Later gg to cook the mushroom cream soup.. Hope its easy..

Baby, I bought from those neighbourhood hdb shops.

Mine is the normal size, not deeper. I hv no idea how to tell if it's authentic.. Tv coz u hv to pay for the cost of the advertisement ! ;)

Panda wife,
Do up still put your trios inside the playard to play? Do they push the panels?

Grumpuso
My boy has been throwing things out of the playard and pushing the panels non stop. Keep telling him not to do, also no use. Very tempted to smack him, do up think it will work ?
What method do you use to teach them to stop doing naughty things ?

happyhippo
smacking will not work cos he has no idea why he is being smacked.
it's very normal. kids this age love to throw things, press buttons, open/close things. they're actually learning cause and effect

if its not dangerous I usually let them be. e.g throwing things out of the play yard is not dangerous. irritating but not dangerous. but if it is dangerous, like pushing the panels then I will tell them firmly no, immediately after they've done the action. if they still do it I will remove them immediately. they will protest etc then I will say very firmly cannot push the panels. then put them back in. if they push again, say no then remove again. in n out until one day they will learn tat if they push the panel they will not get to play inside anymore. something like tat la. really depends on individual situation n how ur child reacts n ur child's character

parenting n disciplining is all abt repetition n consistency. that's how we become naggy

happyhippo, i downsize my play yard. now i only use 4 panels and without the mat. i leave the mat in the open for them to sit ard n play.. i use the play yard when i need to trap 1-2 in there for short while.. most of the play time is free n easy.. now that they can walk, its more challenging to keep them in there for long periods of time. and i also want them to learn to sit together n play without being "trap" by the play yard.

they dont really push the panels. i usually put them in there w a basket of small colorful balls. they will b v busy throwing the balls outside of the yard.

my problem is my boys are attempting to climb out of the play yard..thts more dangerous than pushing the panels... so i minimise using it..n only under supervision of at least 1 adult when i put them in there.

baby, i rush home from PD to cook, no time for pie. guess what, i just cook the hor fun, drain the water, add pasta sauce, chicken and egg. they r happily eating now! FAINT...

Panda
Haha.. Yr trio really eat anytin with pasta sauce! Thats easy for u mann!

Just now i cooked the mushroom cream soup.. Nice...
I mash potato and add in cod fish... Serve the soup on top of it.. Both had 3/4 bowl...

grumpus
haha my boy will be very happy to be out of the play yard, coz he likes to walk around the house. but sometimes i really no energy to run after him, so need to put him inside playyard. i guess he is pushing the panels coz he gets restless and dont like to stay inside the playyard.

pandawife
ur kids will guai guai sit on the open mat to play? they don't run/walk around the house? when they walk around the house, do you follow them closely. i find i hv to coz my boy is so fast, if dont follow closely sure will destroy sthg.
they throw the balls out of the yard? u must be very busy picking up the balls?

Any mummies went to taka baby fair? Any good buys?

thinking of buying a playpen for my gal to sleep. Lately she likes to bite the wood and toss and turn till she is knocking her head or legs. I observed sometimes she seems to be doing for fun....

Gan
Now then buy play pen abit wasteful wor.. V soon she wont be able to sleep in it...
My girls too toss and turn in the cot and knock their legs and head.. But i guess its unavoidable? Cos from young they never have bumper surrounding the cot and now they are getting bigger so the cot space smaller.. Sure will knock here and there...

Btw did pay the registration fee to register grace to jg to be put on waiting list? Im thinking to enrol my girls in their playclub for 18m and above...

U find the playnest good? What are the activities? Grace learn alot?

Gan
U putting grace to learning vision is it? When? How much?
I saw the website put half day at $960... So exp.. Even more exp than pat... Pat is $850...

Im gg to visit pat on wed...

Wondering if the jg playgroup is good... Do i still need to send them to half day cc... Dont knw playground can learn as much as cc not.. Cos cc is everday.. Whereas playgroup is only 2-3 times a week..

Baby, I find the play nest programme not bad. The program is like below
About 15 to 20 mins free play, there will be toys and the kids will play with the toys, teacher will come around and chat with parents abt the kids or talk to the kids. The kids will also take turns to do some art work during this period.
Aout 5 mins of singing, then story telling. Then free play again, this time is with those little tikes cars, mini kitchen etc.
Then wash up, tea time, kids will sit around n have their biscuits, then another 10 mins of singing, class ends.
I find good because I want my gal to experience what is like in class to prepare her for childcare. And also previously, we always think grace wld be a only child so wanted her to mix around with other kids. Hmmm if u say learning, honestly my gal learnt alot from my mum. She picks up alot of words etc from my mum.

Grace will be going learning vision at novena...still on wait list. Fees is $1200 plus gst

Baby I think I paid the registration fees for JG to register her the last time, I just signed her up for another term. At her age, I am more for learning through play so I am not so keen on classes that has flash cards etc at young age.

Gan
Why u dont flash cards?
At home i use flash cards to let my girls play all the time..
My small girl can identify abt 10 cards... But my elder not interested in learning.. Lol...

My purpose of bringing my girls to playgroup or cc is for them to learn.. Cos i dont think i can teach them alot.. V scare they wont be able to have a good foundation to prepare them for primary school...

Grumpus
Ya i heard they have trial class.. The staff told me to call again end mar to ask abt it.. Cos now mid term.. Dont have trial liao..

Baby it is not that I dun like flash cards, I meant I dun think I like classes for her now just to o through rounds n rounds of serious stuff...I think she has many years to do that when she starts proper education.

I m so lazy, I never use flashcards with her though I bot 2 sets.=p

Happy, I m v surprised too tht after removing d panels, if I sit down n play w them they can sit together as long as 30-40mins without running off.. Of coz must play smthing interesting n engaging ... Tht day we were playing w d night garden mega bloks set.

I let them run ard but hv to watch them coz I hv so many toys it's become a hazard. They can be climbing up or down a ride or attempting to stand on d seat which again is dangerous ...

Happy, yes my ones also keep pushing the panels. To me, the panels are a life saver! Park them there when we need some time to do other stuff (but still need to keep an eye on them). They don't cry to come out or anything, just like to push and push. But if I leave them there, they will quietly play, the minute I walk past, they will scream and scream to be carried. I walk out of sight and in 1 minute, they will quieten down to play again.

My ones let out means will walk and run all over the place. Even if sit down to play, at max 5 mins.

Those using happy call, are you using the double side red pan or the ocher deeper pan? I am going to Seoul for biz trip so will buy it there, but which one is better? The deeper one will have more space to cook but its heavier?

baby, last night my girl high fever 39.5 from 10pm to 2am! nearly wanna admit her to tmc. she refused to let me sponge her, scream n scream. feed med oso mouth zip tight.. i had to force feed her, again scream d house down..haiz...
the worse part is my younger boy work up scream n kick my maids.. refuse to let them carry again... in the end i had to emergency call my mum to come over.. apart from me, my boy only wants her.....

me n hb up the whole night taking hourly temperature, feeding meds and trying to sponge a screaming girl.. this morning both like walking zombies...

panda
last week my younger girl fever hit 40, elder 39. I dun sponge at night cos they will scream n it disrupts their sleep. I only use the fever patch n feed meds when they wake.

I force feed my younger all her meds. I can't even put into her milk cos she latches directly

grumpus, what happen? viral fever? saw the female dr ang yesterday. she says either viral fever or hfmd coz my girl has some rashes. but no ulcer..she says mayb first day cant see the ulcers yet. ask me to bring her back tmr morning for blood test if fever continues.

i was so worried coz the temp din drop at all after taking d meds. so force sponge her too..haiz.. u r right..disrupt d zzz.. she woke up at 10pm n din zzz until 1am... she also refuse all water n milk last night..so i cant add to her milk too...

panda
mine was throat infection. but my girls got viral fever before too.

u mean after giving 2 type of fever med the fever still didn't go down? that means the fever is quite high. ask dr whether can can get some suppositories to stand by. suppository more effective but cannot give together with nurofen.

how many days high fever already? usually 4th day then will turn up on blood test. so far my girls escape blood test cos their fever breaks by 4th day.

dengue is also a possibility

Grumpus yesterday was 1st day. I v scared tonight Wil b like last night.. Yeah aft d two meds still temp stuck at v high....

I can't separate ... ESP now they k walk even harder. My maids can't handle my sick girl. Linus superglue me. My mum went bk coz day time she bbsit my nephew.

Linus will cry n walk to all the rooms look for me. If I close d door he will bang n bang cry n cry until I open!! Only time I can separate is when they zzzz...

Panda, oh no... hope your girl gets better soon.

When my ones had viral fever, it lasted about 4-5 days. Fever only breaks when given meds, then after the meds wore off, fever returned. Continuous off-on for almost 5 days before it broke.

Like Grumpus said, Nurofen to be given if fever more than 38.5. If fever still persists, then suppositories are stronger and apparently works faster. If you're worried, can bring to hospital, think they have jabs that can bring the fever down.

I have been forcing my girl to take meds since forever... she refuse to open her mouth for the meds. Have to hold her down, force her mouth open and squirt the meds in sideways, massage her jaw and throat so that she will swallow. That time when she was sick, it was a battle, 3 meds 3 x a day. Put in milk, scared she won't finish the milk then the meds will be neither here or there and I won't know how much she has taken. Faintz...

With my boy when he anti syringe, I tried to put the meds in a cup and then use spoon to feed him. He took it and even wanted more cuz it tasted sweet. He must have thought it was something nice I'm giving him since its in a spoon.

Sick kids are always challenging... hang in there, and hope you get some rest.

Panda,

Here in BKK, if the fever remains at more than 39 for two consecutive readings (about 2-4 hours apart), the doc will advise me to bring them to see doc. From my experience, he will suggest to admit to hospital so that they have round the clock monitoring.

Not sure what is the protocol in SG. But if have to admit, it might give her a chance to rest and recover faster? And also can separate her from the others.

Another option, maybe you can send your boys and maids to your mom's place? Once you are out of sight, then maybe Linus won't cry for you and will happily play when he is there? Then you can stay at home with your girl and just focus on looking after her?

working wife, i called tmc last night. they told me if by 2am the fever still persist better bring her in. but thankfully the temp started to go down...

i cant send my kids to my mum's coz my 6 mths old nephew is there. i dunno if the boys hv already caught smthing from Char..if my nephew catches anything from my trio, i will get hell from my brother.

working wife
my girl is the same. i hv to hold down both hands n her head. otherwise she will fling her head side to side. when she opens her mouth to scream, quickly squirt the meds in. I tilt her head slightly backwards so she can't spit out the meds which she has a tendency to do!

panda
no choice may hv to ask yr mil to help

Panda
Hope yr girl is better by now... Its really a super challenge with sick child.. Even worst when u have more than 1...

Both my girls also having running nose on off.. I didnt bring them see pd since not v serious...

Cant imagine they keep falling sick when gg to playgroup or cc... Can really go crazy.

Dont be so hard on yrself.. Do simple meals for them so u can rest more ya...

Panda
Easy ones like cooking soup and mix it with rice or noodle...

Today i cook corn, carrot, sweet potato, onion and chicken soup... Will cook it with horfun... Put in spinach and egg.. And throw in some stock vege inside.

grumpus, my mil also cant help coz sil wedding this sunday! she is busy running ard buying stuff n prep for the big day..

really bad timing, my stove conk out now!! my dad here trying to see if can fix it now... hv to pop their soup into slow cooker while the stove is getting fixed.

baby, my girl's temp only under control with 3 hourly alternate meds.. once try to drag, fever comes again. n she is soooooo cranky. the boys go near her she thinks they wanna snatch her toys, start screaming her head off...

baby, my girl not eating.. dunno what she wanna eat.. i cooking ABC soup coz she loves to chew on corn.. dunno later wanna eat anot...

also made pasta for the boys...

just now refuse to drink the 3pm milk.. i gav her some wholegrain fish shaped snacks and a piece of chocolate biscotti.. she finished up.. at least smthing in the tummy..

lunch also she refused to eat the fish pie...

my mum says no rice, no chicken, no egg!

panda
my girl last week also refuse food. even my da bao food let her eat also dun want. milk also hardly drink.
for abt 3-4 days was like tat.

try to give her more fluids. high fever makes the body very dry n easily dehydrated. my pd even said if she dun drink enuff water hv to syringe force feed.
continue with alternating meds. n continue for additional 24hrs aft the fever subsides.