IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

panda
my girl loves long noodles n pasta. I feed to her with fork n only push in a bit. she will suck in the rest. slurp!

baby, i roughly cut..haha.. n super fast coz bbs screaming for food! hahaha..

i m using the tinybites scissors too.. from metro.

my eldest eat w spoon, i hv to cut so tht i can scoop into the spoon for him to eat himself..

grumpus, slurping sounds fun! hehe.. tmr i try let them slurp w the hor fun....

Grumpus
My small girl too!... She will slurp the rest of the noodle in.. But my elder cant.. She will get stuck there and look at me.. Lol..

Panda
So i suppose jg is better than gug??
I see the program listed in the website.. Jg play nest is 6m to 18m.. Playclub is 18m onwards... So if my girls go now.. Can only go playnest where alot is still bb... Dont know good or not.. Gug is 15m onwards..
Im thinking to bring them to some form of playgroup before deciding whether to go cc not..
Cos wkends always v boring.. Shopping malls.. Or supermarkets... Feels like bringing them to lesson to learn..
Wana bring them go zoo also.. But lately weather not too good.. Keep raining..

baby, u took ur girls to playground before??

nowadays going downstairs playground also is learning for them.. senses.. smell, sound, touch.. i usually will bring 3 balls for them to throw n kick too.. can improve motoring skills..

i m probably going zoo again end of mar.. the last trip my girl slept thru the waterplay part and we also missed the shows...

JG seems to b a v popular choice among mummies...

Baby my gal goes play nest , the class has 10 babies, only 2 younger than he at 10 months and 11 months, the rest all older. Hmm actually, what is no good about having younger classmates??

Panda I brought my gal to the water play at Jacob ballas Garden last week and she enjoyed it. Maybe will bring her again next week.

Panda so Lucas is self feeding now? U dun have to feed him? That is very good leh, as he is only 14 months plus.
Btw 18 march what time are u meeting fruitree at T3?

The TIny bites scissors is sold at the household stuff section or the baby section?

Gan, did u see his latest video? He can't total self feed yet, I hv to scoop d food n put the spoon on his tray. He will eat from there. Linus too.. But he more lazy, can't do it thru out d meal. Most days half way thru he refuse to take d spoon Liao.
Charlotte can do it but not as consistent .. N she will only eat 2-3 spoons herself n refuse too.... I m hoping over time they will kiasu n copy Lucas
The scissors r, I dunno leh coz singapoh helped me buy. D metro near my hse don't sell it. Let me ask her later.

Hv not fixed d time w Fruitree...most likely I will go at ard 11am..hv lunch there at 12..aft tht continue let d kids play until their nap at 2pm.... I confirm w u again?

Wow, all your babies very good... can self feed or eat those adult food dy.

My kids especially my girl, still don't really like too chunky food. When I feed them something chunky, they will spit out the chunks. I noticed that they don't like to chew a lot, just few times then swallow dy. Is it because I feed too much porridge, now they so used to porridge, they don't want to try other things? I'm also not so adventurous to give them big pieces or long spag cuz I'm afraid they choke. They have about 8 teeth now but of course all in front so not the chewing teeth. I know I can watch them eat to ensure they don't bite off too big a chunk, but still worried that if they choke on something, what will I do? so a bit paranoid.

Do I just continue to feed them the chunks and then hopefully one day they will learn to chew it fully? I know some of you mummies do BLW... but for those who didn't, any advice mummies how I can help them to move to those adult food? Grumpus, Bing, Tickles, any experience to share?

Baby, you mentioned that you use to give your girl pureed food and then you just moved on to chunks. How did she react first few times? Did she gag or just completely started chewing? I don't give pureed foods anymore, unless its like sauce but would like to give bigger chunks now.

working wife
my girl's only got 4 teeth. when she started on chunks she had none! hehe
no. of teeth hv got nothing to do with chewing ability

maybe u can try semi blw? give them bread, carrots, biscuits in between meals to let them practise biting n chewing.
as for choking usually they gag first before any real danger of choking. it looks more scary then it actually is. u gotta start somewhere so some gagging is inevitable.

Gan
No lah. Not actually no good with small bbs ard.. Just scare whole class all bbs.. Hehe..
How much u paying? Have wkend class?
At forum is it?

Panda
Where u get the ball? Is it soccer size? My elder love to play with my hb soccer ball.. Wana buy those lighter form for her..
I havent brought them to playground yet... Scare dirty.. Oops.. Worrying too much..

Zoo water play nice ah... U play with them.. Means all get wet? Got to change right? Need to wear swimming attire or diaper??

Working wife
Ya i dont give puree food anymore... But i still give fruit puree like apple or pear which are hard.. I still blend it for them. Cos i dont wana steam them anymore..

They gag for the first few times.. Then they get the hang of chewing chunks.. I give them cut fruits like mango, kiwi., strawberry.. They handle well.. Then i move on the vege chunks and shredded meat...

Grumpus,

Yeah, actually they handle biscuits and bread well. But sometimes when I let them self feed, they will keep gumming it and then spit it out. Or they will keep biting until so much in their mouth then they chipmunk it, and then eventually spit out. Normal?

Baby,
When you give the fruits, do you cut it to bite sized and feed to them or you cut to big size so that they can hold and self feed? Sometimes the fruit very slippery, will slip out of their hands and fall onto the floor.

Grumpus,

Plus cuz I'm working, the only time I can do all this is weekend. My mom who takes care of them is the old school type, everyday porridge and she said she doesn't know how to let baby self feed the big chunks, and that in her days babies all eat porridge and they grew up fine blah blah blah
Sigh...

Working wife
I cut into bite sizes and feed them.. Didnt let them self feed cos fruits like mango, kiwi all v slippery.. For a start u cut till v small and see how they handle.. If they get the hang liao then u can cut slightly bigger and so on...
Fruits like strawbery, bread, biscuit i let them hold and feed themslvs...
If u find the bread too soft for them to hold and bite.. U can toast it lightly and cut into strips to let them hold...

working wife
quite normal tat they bite a lot n chipmunk in their mouth. just gotta keep at it. usually if I see my girl taking another bite before she has swallowed the previous bite I will stop her n tell her wait, chew n swallow first

I know wat mean abt old sch. maybe u can check with yr mum how they did it last time. cos obviously she didnt feed porridge forever right? at some point she had to move to adult food. so how did she do it?

if yr twins can't eat adult food, it'll make traveling with them more difficult. wat do u plan to do?

Panda didn't see the video must have missed it, will go see. I think I shall let my gal try self feeding during weekend. How do u start? Feed them and let them hold spoon to try?
11am I can't make it Coz grace class ends 103"am
And she needs her nap. Will join future outing! Yes want to go zoo but dun have the time! Think she will enjoy.

Baby we go to playnest at rochestor park
As she is attending mandarin playnest. They do have weekend class but u must check with JG on
The shedule. My gal goes every Sunday n
Monday. Monday my parents will bring her as we are
Working. I paid about $1100 for 1 term, twice
A week, each time 1.5hrs. 1 term 10 weeks. The next term is starting mid march, if u want shld
Go register Coz I think there is a waitlist? I had to be on waitlist for 5 months I think

Working wife, baby, self feeding those slippery fruits v gd at training their fine motoring skills! I used to prepare more so tht drop on floor still hv enuff to eat. Now they k pick up small pieces of most fruits from the tray n eat themselves .. I purposely put on tray so they hv to "chase" aft the fruits to pick it up! Lol... Practice makes perfect.. Over time now hardly drop on floor.

Gan, he just wanna snatch d spoon from me. So I gav it to him he started to stuff it into his mouth. I think he is trying to copy what we do when we feed them..coz he can see my maids feed d other two..so copy cat.

Grumpus,

They can handle adult food, just need to cut or smash it down to bite sized or mash texture... for eg. i can order baked potato, or rice/noodle. Pasta also they eat but need to really cut it down and then cannot feed them one full spoon... gotta feed half a spoon. whole process very long. Actually if I think about it, my problem is not so much they cannot handle.. its that they are not interested in eating a whole meal like that. The only thing that I can fully feed them till finish is porridge and rice with soup, or mash potato, or those baby pasta. other than that, they will eat initially then start spitting it out, or take so long to feed.

That's why Im trying to train them now so that when I travel, it will be easier.

Panda,

My kids love picking things off the tray, esp my girl. She is so meticulous... she will pick the rice grain one by one off the tray and finish it that way. But feed her a few grains put in her mouth, she will sometimes spit out!

Working wife, my ones too.. They will eat what they put into their mouth. If we feed smtimes spit. I m more than happy they wanna eat themselves. I just sit back relax n take photos or videos! Lol

At this age feeding foods tht need to chew will take longer time. My ones took about 30mins at pasta mania yesterday ...at home ard 30-45mins

working wife
ah then tats a different issue altogether

maybe they just haven't been exposed enuff. y dun u let them tax on more of yr food when u're having dinner? tat way they can try more varieties n will slowly be more open to eating other foods for lunch n dinner.

with my elder girl I was very strict. no taxing of adult food. strictly bland no salt food etc. a lot of plain steamed food. my thinking was it'll be really easy to get her to eat adult food cos it's so yummy, wats there not to like, right?
but now I realise there's a window of opportunity to intro new tastes to kids. beyond 18-24 mths they can become quite fixed in their ways n resistant to change. that includes trying new flavored n tastes too. so now I hv a very hard time getting my elder to try new food. imagine she is 4 n doesn't eat our type of food like chicken rice, chap chye peng, fried bee hoon etc.
she only eats fishball noodles or subway when we're out.

my younger girl on the other hand was exposed from very young. everything I ate she got to try. she's a lot more adventurous n can even take chilli n curry. but of cos it gets much harder to feed her 'healthy no salt stuff' but I know in the long run she'll be a better eater.

ultimately it's a balance lor

Grumpus what wld u cook for ur elder now? My mum is those old school thinking n very strict abt no adult food coz she thinks not good for the little one, reading ur post , I m worried my gal will not be open to new taste. She s ver much a porridge baby except weekend, she has a meal or 2 from petite bowl

Grumpus, I agree w u. Now is d time to intro new tastes hopefully in d lOng run they r less fussy eaters!

My ones seems to b fixated w Italian food! I m trying to intro more Chinese foods n move away from pasta pasta pasta. Aft Seeing how they handled d cheese sticks I think I k start making fish fingers for them to eat..

I wanna try make satay too.. My ones hv not eaten chilli..only tasted curry....

Hmmm..yesterday I noticed my boys aft eating pasta developed some red patches at the chin. Almost immediately kind..but was gone by the time we left j8. Is it an allergy to d food huh?

Gan my mum opposite!! She wanna let my bbs eat everything they eat! I m d one who is more careful. Like what grumpus said hv to strike a balance.

Now I start to use small amounts of sea salt in some of their foods...either to soup or use it marinate fish etc.

If go cc, grace will get to eat more variety. Most of d cc I went only giv porridge once a week..the rest of the week they serve other foods.

gan
my elder is such a boring eater tat mummy can be lazy :p
lunch everyday is noodle soup. I just rotate between different types of soup n noodles. sometimes with fish or minced pork or mushroom or tou fu.

dinner usually rice with dishes. if I cook dinner for hb n me then she eats the same. if not simple stir fried meat with vege or steamed rice with chicken n mushroom etc.
occasionally will make pasta or sandwiches or grilled fish/chicken with fries.

panda
the red patch is prob from contact with the food. can be contact allergy cos yr bbs do hv sensitive skin right? or could be food sensitivity. my younger girl gets those red patches when she eats threadfin cod or salmon n dairy too

grumpus, i think mayb its d tuna. first time they tried tuna. so shld i stay off tuna or its ok to give..

baby, i cook the kang kang ipoh hor fun in lotus roots soup today. very delicious...BUT my bbs all dont like! argh.. either spit out or throw on the floor refuse to eat.. haiz.. now start screaming liao...;s

Panda
Alamak... All yr 3 dont like the horfun?
Then end up u eat ah?
So what did u give them?
Or did u try meesua in the lotus soup?

I read tuna fish is high in mercury.. Not too good for kids.. Maybe thats y have the red patch?

Today lunch i went crystal jade.. I eat wanton noodle soup..my small girl love the noodle... But my elder dont like...

Then we went my inlaw pl.. Didnt bring food for them.. Cook porridge with an apple... Steamed a egg for them.. Both have a bowl each...

Panda wife, the lotus root soup, u cook with lotus root and pork ribs? Ibhave yet try this soup for my gal, maybe will try next weekend. Today vege soup, I just throw in pumpkin, carrot and onion...all orange colour vege!

My gal got the red patches around her lips after eating this cheese stick from icing room this afternoon..hmm..

baby, managed to coax the boys to eat some. but cant finish. girl ate healthy times barley cereal w yogurt.
i ate all the unfinished food lor... haiz...
my kids dont really like mee sua too....

gan, i put alot stuff in the soup to make it sweet.. lotus roots, ribs, peanut, carrot, red dates, wolfberries and dried scallop.

Panda
Ohhh... Looks like yr trio not into chinese food huh..
Or maybe cos horfun and meesua too soft.. Nothing for them to chew thats y they dont like?

My girls the opp.. Prefer to eat chinese food like kway tiao, meesua... Dont really like pasta...

Wahh.. U put so many ingredient in yr soup ah.. Actually with lotus, carrot and ribs the soup should be quite nice liao wor.. Dont really need to put red dates and the scallop mah... I wont put all these.. Cos its preserved kind of food... Prefer to use fresh ingredient for home cooking...
If they older then dont have to cook soup specially for them.. Just drink our home cooked soup..

Bot 2 designs of shoe from bata today.. $19.95 a pair.. Cheap... Thou design so so only.. Not much variety also..
My girls wearing size 5... Hmm.. Their feet seems big for their age...

Panda
Where u buy yr happy call pan? From the tv?
I saw bp selling at $60 leh... Also got another model which has deeper pan at $68.. Tv selling at $108... Wonder will it be fake... Cos i wana buy one but dont know the $60 can be trusted not.. Thou i see alot buying from the bp..

Thanks Grumpus, Baby and Panda for the tips. Will work on it and hopefully by the time we go for holiday, they will be more receptive to adult food.

Weekend I try to cook different things for them. Yesterday cooked salmon chowder, very rich and creamy, today cooked spaghetti bolognese, gave them beef for the first time... They liked it, very enthusiastic at the start. But I noticed that they can't eat as much as porridge when they eat this kind of food... Is it normal? Cuz the food is rich n heavy? They ate like 3/4 of the Ikea's colorful bowl... If porridge they can eat 1 1/2 Ikea bowl. How much are your babies eating? I wonder if what I feed them is more or less compared to others.

Baby, when u say bowl, what bowl u referring to? Panda, how much your kiddos eating?

Btw, my kids these past two weeks have been very naughty... showing signs of tantrum. They just started this thing, whenever I take something away from them, they will automatically start screaming and crying... It can be anything... A toy, their water bottle, their bolster. Anyone encounter the same thing? I just say no to them and continue to walk away... They will cry n cry until I give them something new or I distract them by showing them something else. Sigh....

Working wife 3/4 ikea bowl is good portion... Yr ones can eat one and half bowl thats v good!

When i say a bowl.. Is those chinese bowl we use to eat rice..
Cos im using the tiger bowl.. Stainless less interior with plastic exterior... They eat near to the brim..

Tantrums is pretty normal for their age now.. Thats what i read.. They cant communicate yet so they convey by showing tantrums.. My ones too.. Cant snatch anytin from them.. Must ask them for permission.. Lol.. Usually when i ask "can give mummy?"... They will pass the thing to me.. But if they shake their head or refuse to give me.. And i take it away.. Sure scream like hell...

working wife
porridge is very light. if eat rice, pasta or noodles definitely will eat less. just think when u eat one bowl of porridge vs one bowl of rice, which one will u feel more full?

my girl eats abt 1/3-1/2 ikea bowl only

Working wife, my ones oso 1/2-3/4 ikea bowl. My girl smaller tank. Boys k eat more. The portion is what u see in my photos. ;)

I used to count the macaroni pieces. About 35-45 pieces for each bb.. Now I just grab n go.. Argaration...

My porridge is usually v thick n packed w ingredient ..so they can never eat one bowl. Oso 1/2-3/4 bowl.

Baby I m doing porridge free day.. Lunch pasta, dinner chicken pie...

Last night my trio all woke up many x. My younger boy used to b ok for my maids to pat him when he cries at night. For the past one week my maid carry he will scream n scream n kick her until I appear. D minute I carry him he collapsed on me... Haiz.... My girl wOke up w fever this morning... Check her gums abit swelling... Think she might hv caught d gingivitis bug from my boy...... Really never ending! Last night both my younger ones zzzz in my rOom.

Panda
Im doing v simple porridge for lunch cos im teaching my maid to cook.. Cant cook too complicated ones..
Rice millet with sweet potato and pork. Got to teach her some porridge recipes so she can help me to cook when im not around.. Tml will teach her butternut squash with pork.

Dnr i will mushroom cream soup.. Thawing chicken rib now to cook stock...

Panda
Aiyo.. Then u must be damm shag...
How we wish all of them can sleep thru every nite!

My elder also on off wake up.. Last nite woke up a few times..
Some nights sleep thru...

Yr trio seems to be very very attached to u.. Even yr maids face them everyday they also reject them.. Hmm.. Kind of werid... My ones are ok with my maid..
Yday both drop their afternoon nap.. And went to bed at 9pm.. Seems like they are quite ready to drop the 2nd nap...

Working wife, just like baby. I will tell my girl, "can give mummy?". Must ask for her permission. Cannot suka suka take things away from her. Hahaha. Also I don't want to develop bad habits like snatching. The only person who snatch from her is my maid. Always kena scolded me many times.

Baby, Just Faith,

I always start by asking her first... for eg. i give her water bottle and she will drink, then when she finish drinking she will start shaking the bottle and waving it around, then I say "ok, do you want some more? No? Ok, please give to mama, I will put it away". She won't give, so I will take from her gently. She will let me take, but 2 seconds later will start screaming. Or other eg. is she is playing with the toy, and then its time for bath. I always tell her first, ok 5 more minutes and then u will take your bath. Then when its time, "ok let's take our bath. Please put down the toy, we will continue playing after we take our bath." She don't put down so I take from her lor. Then she scream again. Sigh.....

Panda, you know, the pictures make your portions look so much bigger! I didn't own the Ikea bowls previously so I had no idea they were that size. I always thought it was so much bigger and I was wondering wow... other babies are eating so much!! haha! Only yesterday I bought the bowls from Ikea to replace my current bowls then I realised the size. Currently I use another brand and the bowl is bigger than Ikea. at least now I know roughly how much others are eating so no need to always wonder if its too much or too little. Thanks mummies!!

Noticed my girl these few days anti milk again. They usually drink 210 ml each feed so x 3 times will be 600ml. But lately, she drink 100-120ml stop and pass me back the bottle. Give her back she shake her head and wave the bottle away. Aiyoh... so have to put more milk in her brekkie, and give cheese or yoghurt for snack. I also plan to give some milk in sippy cup as part of the snack. Can be 50-60ml, if they drink, at least that's 50-60ml more. Also train them to drink milk frm sippy cup so eventually all daytime milk will be from sippy cup.

Btw, yesterday I tried making spag bol for them and made my own tomato sauce. Today their poo so dark orange, red! is it normal?

working wife
do u say thank u when u gently take the item away? my girl also not always will give so like u I will say pls give back then gently take it away. after tat I will say thank u, good job etc. lots of praise even though she didn't really do anything :p
then I immediately divert by telling her to go play or look for daddy or watever so she forgets abt the thing she had to give back

when my girl eats orange stuff her poo is always orange!

working wife, the photos enlarge the food..haha.. even the nice plate i serve fish pie one of the days..the portion actually v little.. but everyone went wow! ..hehehe..

yeah.. input orange, output oso orange..keke.. my bbs poo always hv bites of mushroom, corns, carrots etc... aft having bbs, i become poo expert..hehehe.. always scrutinising their poo..

my bbs never drink 200ml any of the feeds ever since 3 full solids meals. max per feed is 170ml...

baby, yes! my trio all v attached to me. i also dont understand leh.. even my parents who pop by few hours play w them, they prefer them to my maids!!! n my maids r w them whole day ... smtimes v frustrating leh..when i need to cook or eat my meals or bathe.. its always a challenge... really hv to zoom in n out..
just now i put all in high chairs, ask my maids wear their bibs, i walk to the kitchen get their foods ...oso cry!!

oh yes n with kids u hv to be super patient. like I will repeat many many times for her to put back her toy or give me back the cup etc.
I will say put back the toy pls, time to go, pause for her to react/respond. if she continues playing I repeat. can be like 4-5 times. then finally I will guide her hand to the spot, make her release the toy, then lots of praise n carry her out at the same time. now I dun need to repeat so many times

it's the praises n hugs n kisses tat do the job. u hv to basically make it such tat making u happy is more impt than playing

sounds like blackmail but cos at this age they dun understand y they hv to do certain things. they only do it to make u happy n to get the praises

agree w grumpus..i do tht alot when they self feed.. even when they hold the spoon n the food drop before going into mouth, i also praise them n tell them lets try again....

really really need alot of patience!!!! where can i order more patience??