IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ya maybe i didnt let my girls try often enough... Thats y both didnt really like to chew... Will give them slice apple to try.. Let them play with it.. Hope can keep them busy haha...

i use bulla pure cream too. chicken/pork stock both i tried before.. all ok. if use one box of mushroom, hv to freeze half. they can eat half of the portion w 2 potatoes added into it.

u can create texture by not blending all the mushroom. i blend half, half i just chop into pieces.. after adding potatoes u get a nice thick mushroom chowder ...

Panda,

Those hard fruits like apple and pear and fruit skin can still be a choking hazard even though they can handle it well, gotta be careful.

You are very adventurous, I'm more by the book. Everything still cut into bite sizes or even smaller and no hard food at all. Hee... Scaredy cat mommy

Mushroom chowder sounds nice. Thx for recipe, will try that too.

My kids never show separation anxiety to that extent leh. They r the kind anyone also can carry one. Only when I'm around, they will prefer me to carry over anyone else but when I'm not around they will happily play. I think its cuz I go to work everyday since they were younger. Dunno to be happy or not... Sometimes I wish they'd miss me more!

Working wife, oh yes I still watch them like a hawk when they self feed.
It's gd tht ur twins don't hv separation anxiety!! Now my mum nagging me daily tht I let my bbs stick to me so much next time go cc will b v difficult ..

Panda
So u freeze the remaining soup without the added potato right? The half chopped mushroom u freeze also or u add when u warm the frozen soup?
Im thinking to use vege stock... U use vege stock before? Cos i hvt tried meat stock yet...

Same as working wife.. My girls dont have separetion anxiety leh even when they face me everyday... Thou my small girl is abit more clinky to me..

separation anxiety depends on individual bb character. my elder girl is super clingy n the very long winded whiny type.
my younger is very on an off. when she cry she really cry but once stop tats it can run off n play already. she also not much separation anxiety. can happily wave bye bye to me.
my elder until now if dun see me when wake up will cry

Baby, u tried parking ur girls at ur in laws or parents place? So good .. Dont hv d hassle of separation anxiety

I hardly Cook veg stock. Usually it's veg w chicken or pork. But shld b ok since can even use water.

The chopped mushroom freeze together coz I add in already. Potatoes only when I need to serve. I oso tried adding chopped zucchini to add greens.. Ok too.. Basically can add any veg u want when serving ..for me I choose those tht can b cut to cubes to create texture otherwise so mashy they dont wanna eat.

Working wife, there is a baby led weaning group on fb. U shld join. It's v interesting to see bbs as young as 6-7mths self feeding veg, fruits!
my bbs at home w me, I wanna train them to b independent coz next time go cc one teacher so many kids. Now they can climb up rocker chair n drink milk themselves, after milk bring d bottle to d sink, pick up toys n bOoks to keep after play time. I m oso looking forward to d day I don't need maids!!!

Panda
Yup.. Once a while i will leave them at my inlaw pl or my parents pl when i go run errands... I will wave them goodbye and tell them to be good girls... Off i go... V seldom i will hear them cry... When they do.. I will listen behind the door... After a short while the cries will stop and i can hear them playing...

My elder is the independent type.. My small girl abit more clingy to me... She will cry for me when she see me.. But when im not around she is ok to play on her own...

Wahh.. Yr trio so clever.. Can go up rocker chair to feed themslvs... Only my elder can hold bottle to feed... My small girl dont want... Wants to be fed..

Just cooked vege stock... Corn, carrot, potato and onion... This is my fav vege stock combi.. Later will use it to cook ipoh hor fun soup for their lunch. Will throw in a beated egg, some spinach and the vege in the stock..
Thinking to give them chicken salad for their tea break.. Heeee

Im so sleepy now.. My elder woke up like a million times yday night.. The worst night so far... Every half to one hr will cry and wants to be carried bk to sleep... Sigh..
Wondering is it cos i serve dnr too late last night.. By the time they finished aldry near 7pm.. Milk at 9pm.. Both didnt finish the milk.. Guess too full liao... Will try not to serve dnr pass 6pm... Got home too late yday... As both napping in the stroller while we are out...

Panda
How u store the mushroom soup to freeze? Inside plastic bag?
Can use avent blender to blend the soup right? The blender container is plastic... Not glass... Ok hor?

Panda u have trained the trio well! They learnt keep the toys...mine still leave the toys and books a mess after play. And holding bottle , she wil hold a while and then purposely pull the bottle out and play with the teat etc.

gan
my elder girl until now still needs to be fed her milk!! it's not tat she can't she just refuses too. if I give her the bottle n walk off she will run after me n follow me asking me to feed her

Panda
Lunch is a great success! The whole pot of horfun all wiped out... Both had two bowls... The horfun is soft and nice.. Tried those bot at wet makert and those pre pack from ntuc all no good... They dont like.. This one both like...
Just fed them chicken salad.. Finished too. Mango and blueberry cubes with chopped chicken fillet top with vanilla yogurt.

Now simmering porridge for dnr... Rice millet with butternut squash. Later will steam salmon for them... Simple dnr... Mummy too tired to cook anytin more...

baby, where did u buy the horfun from?

we went to expo, the bbs had their first meal of outside food. gave them fish fillet spagetti and pork chop baked rice. my eldest self fed w spoon thru out the meal happily stuffing the food into his mouth.. hehehe.. one of the rear meals all happily stay in the high chair thru out. i bought steamed apples with raisins along ..

i store in avent cups.. i used a normal blender. the avent one abit small n if the water level exceeds the high of the blending part, d water will leak out.

gan, they r still learning to keep toys. smtimes they will listen n drop the toys into the toy boxes. smtimes notti take the toys n drop them just outside the box n walk away!

but i m hopeless at discipling leh..linus is becoming a little terror.. screaming n crying always to get his way... haiz...

grumpus, i m thinking of trying out pumpkin n sunflower seeds.. hav u given ur girls? how do u serve them?? seems kind of hard..n its so small. dunno if they can handle it..

panda
I haven't intro to my younger girl. my elder one eats as snack. I mix raisins, cranberries n sunflower seeds into a snack mix for her.
u can try making yr own breakfast bars using the seeds. or bake muffins. just chop them up. or u can add to yoghurt with fruits or even yr chicken salad u can sprinkle some chopped seeds in. for a start chop them up finely.

Panda
I bot it from ntuc... Its not those chilled ones.. Its usually display in other section. No need to fridge before opening...
Its preservatives free... Comes in other kind of noodle like thick meehoon, yellow noodle etc.. But i didnt buy yellow noodle cos the ingredient state there is colouring.. Only horfun and kway tiao doesnt have...

pandawife
oh u went expo? manage to buy anythg? wanted to go but was too tired coz went out quite long with my boy.
am really impressed with how you managed to teach your trios to self feed. can i get some tips from you? what spoon did you use? from your experience, did u notice which type of food is easier for them to start self feedg/easier to scoop?
tks

Grumpus, haiz think my gal is like ur elder refuse though she knows...she will purposely play with the teat or hold the bottle down instead of up so that she is sucking air, n she knows I will feed her coz of what she did!

Panda my gal is showing signs of terrible 2, screams if she wants something n she didn't get....gosh have to try distract her coz even if I explain to her no, she may still wants her way! Only way is to distract her from what she wants to stop the screams

Panda My gal has been having outside food at least once a meal for weekend for last few weekends, coz busy. I bot from petite bowl at united square. Ur trio can finish the 2 dishes? That is adult portion right?? My gal s small tummy, 4oz seven full le.

At home the kids sit n high chairs through their meals?

Gan
When buy from Petite bowl must be careful, I found a huge chicken bone inside the foOd and another lady found a fish bone. just be careful when u feed

Gan, Linus is the same! N it's getting harder n harder to distract him! Nowadays he really bully me. Cry n cry n cry when I feed him. Maid feed he guai guai finish his food.
He is one super demanding bb to take care off.. Wants 100% of my attention. See Lucas sit on my lap he oso cry.. Haiz..

I always start d meals in d high chair. But rarely they will wanna stay on it thru out.

Happy, I use nuk spoons coz d handles r shorter easier for them to eat themselves. My ones can't scoop themselves yet. If giv them d bowl they will start stirring d food n send the foods flying everywhere !
I used to make alot of pasta when they self feed using hands. Thts d easiest to cook.
Now I giv thick porridge, bake rice, pasta, pies.. Stuff tht r sticky n thick enuff to stay on the spoon when they eat themselves. Of coz still hv to b prepared there will b a mess coz they will turn the spoons in all directions n foods will drop ..
If at home u can put a picnic mat or newspaPer below d high chair.
Let ur boy eat w you. Bbs r the best copy cats. They will observe n mimic what you do.. ;)

panda
hv u tried ignoring Linus when he demands for attention? how long will he cry?
bbs learn fast, all u need to do is let him cry out once n the next time he won't cry as long already

pandawife
ok, putting newspaper on floor sounds like a good idea!
nuk spoon-is yours the NUK EASY LEARNING Maxi Cutlery Set
http://en.nuk.de/products/drink_training/productdetail/?p=10.255.062&lty=m&lid=25#path=/products/drink_training&m=1

if not, is it any of these images ?
https://www.google.com/search?q=nuk+spoon&hl=en&rls=com.microsoft:en-sg&prmd=imvns&source=lnms&tbm=isch&ei=Y-FKT775Cc3QrQfzu5ifDw&sa=X&oi=mode_link&ct=mode&cd=2&ved=0CAsQ_AUoAQ&biw=1024&bih=587

thinking of changing my tommee tippee spoon coz the scoop part is quite small, quite hard to catch food when my boy scoop.
tks

Grumpus, I tried! I put him in d play pen to cry n I walk away. 15mins he stop. But d minute I walk out he start again. This k go on for 3-4 x until he puke food from crying so much! Haiz....I really dunno what to do leh......

Happy, 2nd link first row first pic or 3rd row 2nd pic.
U can oso look ard for other brands, so long as the handles r short it's ok... The longer handles one r meant for us to feed easier...

Panda I am also thinking how to teach my gal. Like yesterday she wants to push her own stroller at TAKA.=s my dad said no and she screams so loud that I can hear when I was in a shop with glass door closed , I can still hear her, it's that loud!! I ran out and carry her away and try distract her with other things... But it might not always work.. I think she knows I dun give in. So she sometimes will scream 'yeye' or 'baba' for my dad or my hubby as they give in to her more readily

panda
it's tough when u hv another 2 who also follow n cry. wat if u dun leave him in the play pen? let him just follow u ard n if he cries just let him unless it's a genuine reason?
it's a matter of desensitization.

gan
when u hv kids yr skin become very thick. I will carry away to a quiet area but I won't distract. just let them scream until they calm down themselves. if my elder one I will tell her if she dun stop now we will go home right away.
my hb doesn't interfere so it's ok. if my parents give in or step in I will tell them off :p

My elder is giving us a hell of the night with her constant cries!!! These past few nights she been waking up like near to 10times... Cry and cry... Really dont knw whats wrong with her... My small girl no problem... Can sleep thru... Arrghhh...
My hb and i keep take turn to pacify her till we really so peksek and smack her...

With the little sleep.. I feel im gg crazy any min... Dont have the energy to handle them thru the day...
My hb ask me to park them at inlaw pl for the afternoon so i can rest... But that means they got to take their morning and afternoon naps there and have their meals there too where im not ard... Hai.. Mummy just not fang xin...

Panda
If yr trio dont sit in highchair.. How do they self feed?
Im trying to intro them to self feed too... Cos they always sit in highchair thru out their meals so easier for me to let them self feed... Got to go get some nuk spoons for them to try..
So far didnt let them self feed using spoons.. Only let them play with it.. But they will put the spoons into their mouth...
Only let them self feed bread, biscuit and some fruits...

Today lunch will give horfun soup again since there is still left over horfun... Will throw in spinach and zucchini with an egg.
Hopefully will be as successful like yday...

I called pat cc... Arrange for visit.. Was told only pm session is available for most centres...
I read thru their program in their website.. Realise morning programs are more interesting and educating.. But pm ones are v short and not much programs per say...
So now im stuck.. Dont know how.. Wondering should i just let them go playgroup to learn instead of parking them at half day cc...

Need advise here... Any good playgroups near novena area? Parents need to company them for playgroups right? In this way they cant learn to be away from mummy hor?

Panda
U intend to park yr trio for full day cc? When do u intend to park them?
My girls born on dec 2010.. So jan 2013 they can go toddler class at pat.. Half day at pat is $850 before subsidy...

baby
united square has growing up gifted. parent accompanied playgroup type. similar to Julia Gabriel.
otherwise the entire newton road stretch has many kindergartens, newton life, eaton, MMI etc. 2013 they can go N1 already, non parent accompanied

Grumpus
2013 jan can go N1? They are only 2yrs old wor...
I wana them to go some form of learning centre to learn... Dont want them to stuck home with me whole day.. Thats y thinking to send them to cc for half day so at least they can learn and have half day at home with me...
Cos hear lots of good reviews abt pat.. But now looking at their pm programs not good leh... So thinking maybe send them for playgroup.. But means they still need to be with me...
Hmmm... How har??

Gan
U sending ur girl for full day cc at learning vision? When?

baby
yes the year they turn 3 is N1. cos yr bbs r dec bbs so they'll go into N1 at 2yr n 1mth
if u send to N1 it'll be 3 hrs a day.

Baby, I find Mmi quite good too.. In terms of programme n food. U can check out d one near ur place. At such young age I m v for learning thru play.

I m sending mine in dec. either start n1 for 3 hrs like wat grumpus mentioned or go half day cc first for 6 mths. . The rest of the day go my mum hse. Once they get used to d place n stop falling sick often, then I switch them to full day cc.

Kinderland charges $1300 for 10 weeks N1 class. Half day cc is $600 per mth after subsidy.

Those who serve tofu to your kids, what kind of tofu do you buy? Those that they sell the in the supermarket (the smooth white type which is in a tub of water)... does that have preservatives? Or do you buy those fresh one from the market? Thanks.

Grumpus, Panda,

I'm thinking of making tomato pasta sauce. Any or you have a recipe to share? I recall you mentioning to buy tomato paste... is it those canned type? Any particular brand?

Also Grumpus, do you have any suggestions how I should prepare the meals for my kids when we go to Australia? What do you plan to do for your younger one? Just eat out and order food for them? What to order and do we just ask them not to add salt etc? Also, are you still sterilising her bottles (oh wait... you still direct latch right?)

Mummies, do you all still sterilise the bottles? Thinking if I should stop sterilising already as I don't think I should lug the steriliser around for my trip.

Btw, Panda... thanks for suggesting the blw website on fb. Yes, very interesting to see all the diff types of food the babies eat!

I'm keen on trying more different types of food and encouraging them to self feed now... firstly, need to come up with more interesting menus other than porridge. Yesterday tried an egg and potato salad, not so good.. I added broccoli in and the combi of the broccoli and egg smell was quite off-putting :S

The video you posted v cute (with the 3 of them sitting down at the table to eat). Seems like they sit still to eat... you tried feeding them at the table since they self feed now? Or else, if they don't sit in high chair, how do they self feed? Btw, what was that you fed them... is it biscuits? char trying to feed Linus.. so cute!

working wife
I use those tofu in tube form. states for soup n steaming. those r softer n smoother. I'll choose those tat state preservative free.

tomato sauce is really easy. I use del monte canned tomato paste. essentially any one tat is salt n preservative free

u can add anything, pumpkin purée, cauliflower purée etc. I do add a dash of salt n sugar. fry some garlic and/or onions till fragrant, add tomato taste n veg purée. add chopped mushrooms, mince chicken/pork/beef, add water till desired consistency. season with parsley or oregano or Italian mixed herbs. some grated cheese n it's done.

my younger girl still direct latch. but I didn't sterilize past 1 yr old for my elder. I plan to just feed them outside food when in Sydney. pasta, fish n chips, vietnamese/Thai/Chinese noodles, rice etc

THanks Grumpus. I just wonder though, how do you determine that the tomato paste doesn't have salt? on the nutrition label, there would certainly be some level of sodium... at most, they will specify preservative free. So you buy those with low content of sodium?

When you order outside food, do you specify no salt/sugar or you just order the adult food and serve to your kids? Actually, I know that toddlers can take some salt, but only restricted to 0.8g per day. How do we actually measure that, easiest way is just to ensure we don't use any salt at all right?

working wife
I just look at the label n as long as no salt listed under the ingredients list I'm ok. u r right tat there is always some level of sodium which is why before one yr old I hardly give canned or processed food. now they're older I think some is ok. even those bb biscuits etc do contain salt n sugar

for outside food I just order adult food n feed as is. if it's Asian food I'll try to give inner portions where there's no gravy n I also rinse off with some hot water before feeding. for fries I rub off as much salt as I can with serviettes before feeding

for holidays I think it's ok they eat a bit more salt for tat 1-2 weeks as its not a long term thing. at home I will of cos not let them eat so much outside food although I do let them have outside food meals on occasion

of cos there r parents who lug along their slow cooker n cook their bb meals even during holidays

Panda
Mmi and montessori is it the same??
The one along newton road is mmi or montessori??
U intend to put yr trio at which cc? Register liao?

working wife,

my pd says soya is not good for boys. so try to minimise giving ur boy soya products. even soya sauce he says no good..

i bought himalayas sea salt..he suggested using tht in cooking as it contains trace minerals tht r good for bbs...

i just did my own sauce today.. ingredients as follows:

2 tablespoon butter
half onion
15 medium size tomatoes (cut quarters n deseed)
half red capsicum
i cook all of above in the happy call pan and blend

half pumpkin
5 sticks of carrots
3 small sweet potatoes
small bundle of spinach
steam all of above n blend...

mix both parts together...

my bbs attention span is as long or as short as what u see in the video!!! hahaha..

they were eating strawberries and oat raisin cookies..

i stopped sterilising 2 mths ago. anyway like grumpus shared before their spoons n bowls also not sterilise...