IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi all, thanks for all the well wishes, will convey to Hui. Our best wishes to all of you ladies also....hope to have more updates on qoo also...our hearts goes out to her and her family, esp the two little ones jia you...

i was quite happy with the kkh ivf cos compared to other hospitals, the costs is cheaper and the nurses(esp Sara) at ivf centre as well as Dr Loh was quite helpful. We went thru the whole process quite smoothly.
Its the overall feel of KKH itself where there's a lack of human touch and personal care that piss me off. Seeing gynae at clinic D needs to wait at least more than half an hour past the appointment time...u can practically see all the bored mum-to-be faces sitting in the clinic.
I thought tps would be better since it offers fast service and quiter environment, so can imagine my shock when we went to tps for the 1st time during saturday, its like a weekend market.

I was quite cost conscious in the initial stage, but now i realised its better to spend more for better care for wife, so that she can have a more reassuring, safe and enjoyable 9months

en_hui, if u r 50/50 abt changing gynae, then i would advise u to change lor, not that Dr Loh no good but he's simply too busy with so many cases i sometimes think that he will not be so detailed...example, he never prescribed antibiotics for Hui for this latest incident, all the while never prescribed DHA for the baby, both medications which Dr Chong did when we saw him two nights back.

Hi sisters, I have a different experience which I want to share. I got pregnant early this year through Doc Loh in KKIVF. I also had bleeding and was admitted twice to KK. The second time, Doc Loh was on leave and I was attended by the specialist on call. My sister in law brought me to see her gyne. I was initially impressed by the gyne who gave me lots of Neurogain and multivitamins. At 25 weeks, I had bleeding again and the gyne said that my cervix is opened 3 cm. He asked me to take a cab to KK 24 hours!! He told me that only KK can handle small babies like mine. I went to KK 24 hour clinic, the specialist said that the baby's ICU was full and the hospital could not accept me because I was discharged from the hospital and when the ICU was full, KK could only accept its own patients. I was desperate. I went to Doc Loh's clinic. He was very sympathetic and made a few phone call and got me admitted. He stopped the womb from contracting with medication, then put a stitch in my cervix to hold the pregnancy. After an agonising few months, I managed to hold the pregnancy to term. Doc Loh cut the stitch. I delivered normally and I am now a proud mother.

Later I found out that Doc only prescribe DHA at 15-16 weeks because it is most beneficial then. I felt cheated by the private gyne because I paid good money to see him but when I had serious trouble, he asked me to take a cab to KK. I am grateful to Doc Loh who took time to see me even though I was in subsidised ward. Many times, he looked really tired, but remained cheerful none the less. Were it not for his skill and compassion, I may not have my baby now.

LY,

I dont know the weight. but doc said she is a bit plump ;p how could it be ? both of us are considered as slim..hiaks..

Twinsmom,

u take care ! Send our regards to qoo. We will be rooting for her.

Curious,

Oh..i Remember u. U also having a girl right ? All the best for your delivery ! I am having a girl too

Wee,

think Hui better have more bedrest now. Don't walk around unnecessarily..

hey gals, yeah actually when i had my bleed scare, my private doc immediately inject me with extra progesterone jus in case, and i was on it every 3 days, till all was stable again, and he tried to explain to me when the bleed.

being this day and age, we would like to understand why this happens and when something goes wrong wat is wrong, then jus brush it off. we not stupid you know..

to me most impt is to find a gyne that will give the personal care that you need. not jus treat you like jus another one.

i am happy with my private doc, his charges also not that bad, i dun think i will change to KKH lor. too many horror storeis already.

forgot to ask also..

for all you ivf mommies to be out there ah, i also went thru ivf, and when i was going thru ivf, ppl say cannot take soya, tofu, papaya etc. but now tat we pregnant aready, i also hear take soya milk is good. so how ah? does that not apply to us? or is it that once preg, all this food is ok?

i kinda need advice

hi jolene, tt's great... managed to conceive it naturally....
so happy for u
OMG, jus realised am 7mths liao... ct believe time flies so quickly..... ya i kn wat u mean, ct wait to see ur bb & wondering if he/she is doing ok, developing well or nt....
so early do triple test?? i did NT scan as advised by gynae....
dun worry too much, k cos will affect ur bb.... be more cheerful & happy

christine, for me, so far, my pte gynae is good. i told her rite from the start tt i had IVF at KKH but prefer pte hosp due to personalised services & friendly staff at the clinic. she did nt charge me too high or xtra or send me to KKH when i had spotting. hence am glad tt i chose her as my gynae
believe it's individual luck at KKH..... no matter wat, as long as the gynae is good (in terms of services & skills) & meet ur expectations, tt's gd enough

mooch,
I ate Soya product b4 & after IVF. Even till now, I have been drinking Soy bean milk everyday.

Nanaz,
How r u? Din see u online for some time liao...

Stumbled by,
U sure got the report for the detailed scan. Inside got state the bb weight.

Hi hui,
Hope u r better now...take care..

Best twins,
Then u gonna rest & take care ....

Wonder Curious deliver already?

thanks LY
you know lah.. first time mother, worried.. ppl ssay cannot eat this canot eat that.. driving me nuts..

but now i week 11 already, thot should start taking some calcium.

aiyah jus hope all is ok with all of us!

Hi Rae,
Thanks, I am also very happy. By than will be my 15weeks for triple blood test. Is tat a norm?? Just a question, my gynae told me to stop taking folic acid once I reach 3 months. Do u gals still continue?? How I wish time will flies faster and can see my tummy getting bigger and heavier. Ha.

Wow you are already 7 months, due very soon and it's Chinese new year period. So ur bb will be on time to collect ang bao hor. hee.

Twinsmom,
Any update for Qoo. Hope she is alright now.

Hi Mooch,
Ya, I do agree, we tend to afraid of this and that. As for the soya thing issue, I miss it so much as did not take it for at least a year since recommended by sinseh not to take it. So once I am pregnant still not very sure if can drink it. I did ask doctor, in fact soya beans can replace milk and has calcium. I am so glad that I can drink that now. yippy. BTW can we really eat papaya now?? I still have not touch tat.

You are carrying twins right. Congrats to you and have to take care.

mooch,
I think only start taking calcium tablet after 12 weeks leh...
But 1st trimester very impt... should rest more ...aiya...the best is dun work so wont be so stress..haha....stay at home to yang tai... After all we are IVF pregnancy, so got to take very special care...Take care...

hi jolene, thanks for your tips.. papaya i also dunno. but i am glad i can take soya bean milk already then.. cos i dun really like actual milk, i dun mind the soya bean milk or oatmilk
yeah, me carry twins
you at 15 weeks ah? wat triple blood test you going for? is it the one to test the defects?

LY, i haven't taken any calcium tablets as i only in my 11th week, but i was jus wanting to check on food intake. cos of my MS, i feel like i never really take nutritous food last 11 weeks leh, jus wat i feel like eating that won't make me puke. so i am feeling guilty lor..

also end year coming, my mil always have reunion dinner, and makes really good sharks fin soup with crab meat, and i dun wish to miss it lor.. can take or not ah? and birds nest? and chicken essence?

me working from home for now.. so not so bad.. yeah lor, with IVF Preg, we spend so much money, time and effort and feelings into this, we should really take care of it lor..

we worry so much about the preg, then with the older follks having all the 'pantang' food and do and don't make it all worse lor..

take care all of you too! enjoy yourself this Christmas!

Thanks for the well wishes! I have not been well lately, panicking everytime i have tightening
I mailed Dr about it, he asked me to go to 24 hours if it persists and get the staff to page him, he said he will arrange for a senior consultant to attend to me. That sounds better than those young young drs attending.

About qoo,
She is stil in the hospital, Dr had advised her to let go the pregnancy but she wouldnt agree. Lets pray more that there will be a miracle and she can have her babies. I was sooo sad for her last night, i m praying all that i could!

Hi Best Twins,
Pse send my warmest wishes to qoo. We have been thru so far, pse ask her to hang on, all sisters are there for her.

Wee and all,
Want to share my experience with all of u regarding KK too. I was admitted to KK on 27 Nov due to OHSS with flu and cough. For the 1st 3 days, only those young docs came to make the rounds and I was only given normal cough medicine and flu tablets but my breathing never improved!! Throughout these days, my gynae never stepped into my ward at all. Until 3rd day, my mum was so furious that she went IVF centre to look for my gynae then she made the effort to come up and sent me for x-ray. In the end found that I have water in the lungs!!! Why those young doc never detect this problem in the first place and have to wait for my gynae to make the decision. I was quite furious and having 2nd tots of changing hospital now. But the nurses there are all very caring and understanding, which make my stay an relax and enjoyable one.

During my stay, blood test also shows me a BFP so offically I'm promoted to MTB. That's the relieve part.

Best twins,

thanks for the update. What do u mean by 'letting go of the pregnancy' ? U mean doc asked her not to stay in ICU/hospital and let nature take its course ?

Hmm.. I also feel sad this few days after hearing about her. She is in 2nd trimester now and only few weeks later than me. Hope she can pull through. Did she consult her M'sia IVF doc ?

LY,

I didnt get any report. Perhaps in the next visit. Now I am trying to instigate bb to exercise more! Haha..

mooch,

i am also taking soya milk every now and then. But i heard that the calcium content may not be as high as milk. So if u drink soya milk, u may need to get other calcium products such as sardine, yogurt, cheese, ikan bilis etc.

Birds nest and chicken herbal soup u can take in 2nd trimester onwards.

What job are u working from home ? Can share share a bit so I see if I can also get the 'kang tow' ? heehee..But if its 'sensitive' to reveal here its okay

hi stumbled by,

thanks for the food tips. sharks fin can or not ah?

actually i run a sales team, and i have an asst, so she can help do the operationa stuff, and anything impt, i will also be updated daily, and i work thru emails and calls from home lor.

any other food stuff good for baby? next week i start my 2nd trimester, i hope to gie my babies more nutrional food lah.. i have been jus eating wat i can cos of my MS.

stumbled by,
haha...how u want your bb to excerise?

Mooch,
I heard they said is better not to take sharkfin cos higher in mercury content. But i think u eat moderate should be fine. Chicken essence is ok. I also take birdnest since 2nd trimester. Take Pao Sheng is good too...
Just eat well balance diet will do, no need extra de...Take protein food lor...Must eat lots of fruits & water. Cut down on sugar cos can get GD easily.

Best twins,
Can Qoo keep her 2nd twin? U mean letting go of the pregnancy?As in whole or just 1st twin?

Hi Mooch,
Now I am at 13 weeks. Triple blood test is to assess the risk of down syndrome. So hope that everything will be fine.

hi jolene,
if ur gynae recomm triple test at wk15, tink shld follow, trust our grnaes
tt's y we choose them in the 1st place
enjoy ur 1st & 2nd tri while u can, esp 2nd tri cos it's the most comfortable period and prepare bb's stuff during tis period..... as in 3rd tri, tummy big & heavy, legs a bit swollen and movement a bit clumsy... hehehe.... but am waiting for yr end sales, hope ther's sales for bb stuff.

as for folic acid, i had stopped taking them, tink after 1st tri.... gynae prescribed multi-vits, calcium and iron tabs. but i stopped taking multi-vits while into the 2nd bottle cos gynae said since am taking in all the food tt i ate, no need to take it
but she gave me fish oil from wk20...

Dear All
Thanks for yr wishes and prayers on us.

I'm too sad/devastated to explain in details. Everything is over and will recuperate and TTC when time comes. Still in hospital and be discharge in couple of days.

All the best to all mothers here. I won't be joining you all the journey of motherhood

LY,

Yes, tml will be 4 week after my m/c. Dunno when will my AF come....

Qoo,

Sorry to hear abt ur loss. I have PM u my number, please feel free to call me should u need to tok or just vent out. I understand how u feel now. Take care.

Qoo

BIG BIG HUG for you, dear. Sorry to hear this bad news. Please try to stay strong for yourself and hb and most importantly pls take good care of yourself during this period.

Qoo,
So sorry to heard the bad news. But now, u must take good care of your health.Thou is not easy not to think abt it, but u can still try again. Dun give up hopes...

Hi Mooch,
Thanks. You too take care and soon you will be into your 2nd trimester.

Rae,
Now I am in beginning of 2nd trimester but still can't eat very well yet and hope my appetite will be better soon. Yes, shopping, I missed it. Din enjoy shopping for so long. I still dun feel comfortable shopping, not even for half an hour. I tend to feel very tire after a while. Hopefully by end of this month, I am much better and hope still on time for the end year sales. Looking forward to it.
Hmm, I should ask my gynae on the multi vits and calcium as he din prescribe for me and think I am not getting enough.

Are you working now?? Ya, towards the 3rd trimester, with big belly is rather clumsy ha. But it's a process we have to go through. So enjoy and soon once bb pop out you will miss all the pregnancy life....

Qoo, take care of yourself and stay strong. take time to recuperate and try again!

Jolene, so we both quite close in timing? you also starting 2nd trimester now? i also like you, no mood to shop, always wanna sit down, so tired. then appetite dun have, feel hungry but pukey too.. hope i get over this phase soon, then can try to make it for christmas sales..

Qoo,

Take care. U need to go through a mini confinment. Make use of this few months to recharge yourself.

LY,

Dont know. Either talk to her to ask her to exercise, or bend my tummy so it will force her to exercise...hiaks.

I'm so confused with the calculating of the "age" of the embryos. Can any sister here help?

I'll be going thru my 1st scanning on 13 Dec till then I still dunno how many weeks am I preggie.

According to a pregency book I read, we should calculate from our last menses date (mine was 19th Oct). But my ET was done on the 16 Nov. So does that make me 1.5 mth or 3 weeks preganant? So confused

Hi Catherine, congrats! On ET day, our embryos were already 2 weeks old. So by the time you do your beta test for pregnancy, you would have been 4 weeks pregnant already.

Jolene,

Congrats to you.......you take care okay......

Can I ask if you conceive naturally? How was your hubby's sperm morphology like? Any tips to share for those like me who are still TTC....

I have no good news to share.....well, still trying not to think soo much........

all buddies,

i'm back..still on mc till 8th Dec

thanks for all the concern..bb and me doing fine..tomolo will be in my 14 weeks..still no appetite
.. losing weight in this pregnancy..haiz..but lately abit giddy n breathless..but still ok lah

will know bb sex on 26th dec

Catherine,
Congrats

Qoo,
sorry to hear the bad news.. meamwhile please rest well..jia you!!

Hi Hui,
You are back. Glad that everything is ok. Remember to walk slowly, be careful.

Hi Joan,
I am glad to share with you. Our condition is really terrible as I have enlarge womb, endo, and worst of all hard egg shelf tat make my hubby's sperm difficult to penetrate that is why dr recommend icsi. Hubby's sperm is at very low 1% morphology. It's really a miracle tat can conceive naturally. It could be due to the chinese medicine that we took. We have change to marine parade in April after my first ivf. I think it really contributed to my success but u really need to be patient with it. After my fail FET in June, sinseh advise me to rest for 3 months before I start treatment so that he will tiao my eggs and womb and really I conceived on the 3rd month.
May I know yours is male or female factor?? Your tubes ok?? Are you planning any treatment now? Just go for it naturally while waiting for ivf. This is my perception cos my final resort is still ivf since we have been trying for 3 years and without success. So we believe that IVF is still the path in order for us to conceive. So just go with a relax mind and be happy.

Jolene,

My hubby sperm also at a low of 1%. Hopefully, the normal morphology will improve soon, with taking of multi-vitamins........

Did your hubby take TCM too?

For me, I have endor and underwent a lapro in Feb this year........how do you know your egg shell is hard.....is it through IVF?

I am taking Xia Rong's TCM together with acupuncture. My hubby is taking acupuncture but no TCM as he is a Hepathetics active carrier.....So far, still no news of conception.....

I am not planning any treatment......IVF seems a risky approach, if you read on the thread of IVF.......well, I guess that it is all fated lah.......

Did you also monitor your basal temperature chart?

I hope that I could be like you loh......conceive naturally........did your sinseh say that you are expecting or you found out yourself?

Thanks for all your tips!

Pls take good care of yourself.........

hey gals, need advice!

i hear there is a list of things in face care that we cannot use like
salicylic acid
glycolic acid
retinol
retin-a
AHA
BHA
PHA

have you all heard of it? is it true? how would we know which product or itemm have wat leh?

hi jolene,

yes, am working as a contract in my previous Co. Backup for lady on maternity leave :p who will be back before mid of Jan.....

Qoo,

so sorry to hear it.... stay strong & bu ur health
BIG BIG Hugs for you

hi mooch,
i heard that retinol, retin-a, AHA and whitening products cannot use. Those pimple/acne cream oso cannot any how use..... not sure abt hte rest.....

hi hui,
u r back
take gd care & dun stress too much

hi Rae, thanks for the tip! actually i dun use any creams or stuff anymore, but only cleanser. so now i trying to see which is a safe cleanser to buy. aside from that, even moisturizer also i dun use anymore.

hope all of you are taking good care of yourselves!

hi stumbled by, this list i got from another thread on this forum. i also now worry my shampoo, conditioner, facial cleaser and soap got any of these or not.

somemore lately i buy SkinFood Products, and its Korean, so the box says all the ingredients in Korean! maybe i should check with the stores..

tmr my appt with doc, 12 week, can see bb again! so excited!

Hui! good to have you back!

Hi Joan,
Good morning.
Yes, it's thru IVF tat embrylogist told me it's hard and hv to drill hole. Sounds very serious huh. Acu is good for both you and hubby. I heard tat can improve sperm very well. During than I did try acu but hubby does not want it. Good tat your hubby willing to take tat. After lap, should be more fertile as our womb will be very clean. Taking basal temperature is really very stressful. Initially i try tat after a while, I give up. Continue and i am sure you will conceive soon. Be positive.