IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Thanks Baby and Grumpus. I think my girl's IFC use the water bottle whole day. Maybe I should prepare another bottle to ask them to change because I have requested them to feed her cereal and puree in between her milk started today. Hopefully they can manage well because they can't feed her finish the milk that I have prepared.

Grumpus: My girl now only will drink milk while she is sleeping. If she awake she just drink very little then completely stop and show no interest. Is there any way to stop this habit or it is alright?

By the way, may I know after sterilize the milk bottles, do you air dry and thereafter keep them in the fridge or just leave it outside?

Sorry early morning got so many questions to ask.

Happyhippo,
Thanks for the medication name. Dun be too upset abt it. seeing your baby's lovely smiles and grins makes everything all worth sacrificing for..

Ru,
It's quite normal bb go thro a phase where they're not interested in milk. Can be a variety of reasons like milk strike, not interested in milk anymore (want solids), teething etc. For me last time I was very concerned with my elder girl's milk intake, so I would distract her while drinking milk. Let her hold a toy in her hand, play with my hair, sing song etc then while she is distracted just push the bottle into her mouth n she will suck. It's just a phase n eventually dun need all these tricks already.

My younger girl latch on so I couldn't use the same tactics. But for her I found tat once I started solids she was more willing to drink milk again.

Grumpus: She didn't take solid well at this moment as I just started let her try from last weekend. I don't know it is because we always dream feed her at night (at least 3 feeds per day, 8pm, 10:30pm, 2:15pm) so she pick up the habit lo. Now my problem is if she doesnt want to sleep she will not ask for milk so sometime we will miss one feed.

Ru,
It's not cos u always dream feed la. It's just a phase. I always feed my girls based on time lei, I dun wait for them to ask for milk.

justfaith
which brand cereal u using? my boy lately poo only once in every 2-3 days. once stretch 3 days will be very tramatic for him coz his poo come out the hard type & he always cry. tat day i even see a small spot of blood on the tissue, so poor thg. i try to give him water and juice and gripe water... only help a bit. how do u overcome your baby's constipation?

anyone giving ur babies heinz apple/fruit juice? it says 'diluted ready to drink' - do u still add water to dilute further?
besides heinz & gerbers brand, r there any other brands?

Baby can I check ur small girl poo many times when she was constipated... This lastEd for how long? Just checked with my mum my girl poo 6 times today.... But the poo is paste like. Now I m worried why poo so many times. Last time is twice a day

Gan
It only happen recently... So far on off still having this "poo many times" thing.. But its better now.. Cos im giving her barley water and lots of fruits and vege puree... I now only give her white rice cereal.. I stop other grain cereal for now first...

I thk yr girl stool is hard that y keep poo abit here and there.. But as long as she still can poo out is alrite.. Unless she one go didnt poo for a few days... Just let her drink more water and take fruit puree like apple, pear, payaya... Stay away from banana..

Gan, my boy on solids also poo many times a day. its normal.. so long as not watery poo... got poo better then constipated cant poo..

baby, i give my boy assorted cereals too.. i will usually hv 2 veg puree and 1 fruit puree..n in each puree i add different cereal. :p

Thanks panda wife n baby
Stressed man...No poo worried, poo too much also worried. Today once hit 6pm I rushed home...no mood to work though got task to complete

Panda wife what vega u have been giving ur boy... I seemed to keeping giving same vege... Going to prepare pumpkin porridge for her to eat tomorrow

panda
I also try to give more purees.. I give my small girl apple mix pear puree in the morning... Carrot puree in the afternoon.. Pear puree in the evening... Barley water for the day...

Just made apple puree to store... Recently all my purees finish so fast mann.. I made 5 apples puree.. Will be gone in less than 3 days... I feed 1/3 avent cup puree each time..

Gan
U can try lots of vege puree.. Have u try zucchhi? Cauliflower, broccoli etc... Today i cook porridge with spinach and carrot... Yday tried pumpkin porridge for lunch and potato cum zucchhi for dnr...
Tasted the spinach carrot porridge myself.. Doesnt taste yummy at all... But my elder girl still finish the whole bowl hahaaha... So far pumpkin porridge is nice... Potato zucchhi porridge also nice... Cauliflower porridge yummy too...

U can mix and match different vege puree to have different taste each time..

Panda
Oh u mix cereal into the puree..
I didnt.. Cos i wana let them taste the pure vege/fruit puree..
I give cereal mix with fm separately.. So in one meal.. 3/4 bowl of cereal and 1/3 cup of fruit puree...

Is yr two boys weight similar?
My two girls v different leh... My elder girl looks much bigger in size... My small girl slim down recently..
Saw white teeth on her upper gum.. Looks like its gonna cut soon...

Baby tried zucchini before, she likes. Maybe will buy again to make. Just now I didn't blend the pumpkin but cut into very small pieces...try n see if she likes. If not will make puree. Wow ur gal can eat well. My gal lost weight recently leh...not o chubby.

Btw anyone got a good n easy to use camera to recommend. Been taking my gal's pic with iPhone ..maybe shod buy a good camera coz now she a lot of action. Very cute

Gan, I gv pumpkin, zucchini, cauliflower, carrot, butternut squash, sweet potato, Potato. Within these k mix n match too. U go check out those bottle foods n see their combi, then u k DIY too ;) i even add fruits to vege.

Baby, my boy don't eat plain cereal from day 1. Had such hard time feeding. Pd says it's tasteless thts y bb don't like. N he doesn't like to eat the same taste thru out the whole meal. V hard to please!!

Both my boys almost same wt. At 7.5mths, one 8.6, one 8.7. My younger boy dont take much solids, but he is v gd milk drinker. Can take average of 200ml per 3 hourly...smtimes 240-270! Only my gal smaller but she also more petite compared to the boys..

GAN, I m using samsung pl150. Easy snapshot camera. U shld get one proper camera. IPhone pics if wanna print resolution v bad. Not clear.

Panda ur younger boy milk intake per day is how much? My gal till now only drinks 120 to 140 ml per feed.
Will check out the camera iPhone us just so handy so whenever see some special moments just take n snap.

Rose my gal is 7.5kg at 6 mths so urs not too heavy

Agreed with grumpus. my girl only slighly over 7kg. Every time, someone see her and ask me how many months. When I said 6mth, they all said very small size le.

Yesterday was so angry. Took off on monday wanted to talk to the pricipal in my girl's IFC. She needs to go off earlier but didn't tell me so at the end did'nt manage to see her. So no choice talked to the teaches about my concern. Also requested them to start feed cereal and puree. The result came back was after taking cereal (1 teaspoon) the intake of the milk drop from 100ml to 60ml. the other feed also from 120ml drop to 100ml. So I think I am going to busy again to look for another IFC. What the pricipal promised earlier was all rubbish..

Ru,
Yes. I'm sure. My girl is of smaller size de. Her weight percentile is slightly better now at 25%. Initially was like 3% only. Cos she had quite serious reflux prob since birth and was on medication till recently only. The last check up was 2weeks back ard 6.9kg. Think now should be slightly over 7kg. But she will be 9m old next week.

Ru,
I think its quite normal that after taking cereal the milk feed will somehow reduce a little. Erm,But I think its a problem if your girl doesnt drink well all the time when in the IFC.

Gan,

Your bb weight is oso 75 percentile? Can she crawl? I put my bb on her tummy, she looks just like a upside down tortise...limbs in the air struggling...
so funny.

Rose my gal is 50 percentile at 6 mths leh ...'the pd said so .. She can crawl slightly with tummy on floor but most of time she is rotating! Ur gal is younger so give her time to learn to crawl. =) when I see other babies crawl in gymboree I will tell myself my gal is slightly preterm, will catch up later. =)

Grumpus/Ru/tickles I think her weigh is stagnant... Now at most 8kg or maybe less but she looks petite ... Dunno is her face still baby or what... Recently someone Tot she is only 4 mths old! =s

Tickles: oic..luckily the teacher in IFC can feed her well.

In fact, I tried at home first before asking the IFC to try. So I know she didn't really eat. The teacher also admit said only 1 teaspoon. At home, I feed her but her milk intake remain unchange. I think is the enviroment and handling issue. Because yesterday, the teacher also admit they feed her outside (playarea) and when she see other children her head move along. When I enroll her that time, I have already told them she is easy distracted by sound so need to bring her to quiet place during feeding time. The pricipal ansure me that the teachers will do that but guess only initial period.

Anyway, just called up one centre so bring her to view the place this Sat.

Happy
Yes.. I steam first then blend...

Panda
My girl opp... Only like plain cereal.. Dont quite like vege puree... Fussy eater..
My elder girl on the hand.. Can take anytin i give her.. Loves eating!

my baby every now n then will have
red spots red lines under his neck. do u know if this is considered heat rash? what cream is effective? or is it I didnt air dry his neck enough?tY thks

Happyhippo,
Sounds like heat rash. Think it's difficult to air their necks cos of all the fats :p
I use kodomo baby powder lotion, it's supposed to be like powder but in lotion form. I find it effective for under the neck rashes. I apply once after bath and once after evening wipe down.

Gan, I remember you did FET under Dr Loh. Were you given aspirin back then? Is it okay to take aspirin together with prognova and folic?

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

i m thinking of buying a jumperoo.. i see that Fisher Price has the rainforest and the precious planet design. but i notice most of you got the rainforest design.. wonder why no one buy the precious planet design.
even in the "to sell" thread, everyone is selling rainforest design. is there something wrong with the precious planet design? coz i m more keen on that but like no 2nd hand ones around.

also kind of deciding between jumperoo & exersauce. any one has any opinion?

Happy
I usually keep in the freezer for abt a week plus...
But i read can keep for months.. It depends how comfortable u are in keeping how long for bb food..
If u dont want to keep so long.. Maybe just prepare for a week supply at one time...
Cos i have two bbs eating.. So food will finish faster.. Sometimes my frozen food will snap up within 3 days.. Esp those apple, pear puree..

Just faith I had aspirin from the start of the fet till my bfp, then stop aspirin. Ok to take with progynova nfolic, I did that as they were prescribed by dr loh. When r u starting ur FET?

Happy if ur baby is mobile, ie can climb out of the exersaucer, not safe for them to play in it

Singapoh the last trip u went back malaysia n brought ur maid along, how is the sleeping arrangement like?? Everyone sleeps together? I m planning an inaugaral overseas trip with my bb... Trying out short flight to Penang first, thinking of bringing the maid along else she is home alone when we r away but not comfie abt all sleeping together... Hmmm like no privacy??!!

Happyhippo, I hv exersaucer at home. My girl has been playing all day long. I am glad I invested in this since she was 4months. I also bought a preloved jumperoo. I left it at my sis place - as my sis will help me to babysit on the weekends while we go out to run errands. To me, I like both jumperoo n exersaucer. It helps to keep my girl occupied. But sometimes she gets bored easily.  I dun let my maid handle my baby but I will ask my maid to accompany her when I go for quick shower or lunch.  Never leave your baby unattended.  My girl can crawl very fast and she will support herself on the baby cot railings to get up to stand on her own, it is v dangerous as she may lose balance n hit her head - so there is no safe place for her to play at home, other than exersaucer. Hehe. 

Baby, yes. Starting this month. One really not enough. Lol. I dun want my girl to grow up lonely lah. Hubby also encouraging. 

Gan, thanks for yr reply. Was so worried if I could take the medications together. Today day 2 on prognova. sounds familiar?  Hehe. 

Happyhippo, sorry. Didn't reply yr earlier post. She was on frisocrem. I am anti-cereal now. Made my girl poo so hard. Think you need to give yr boy more water, ESP if he's on solid.

Rose, my girl was 8.2kg at 6 months plus. She lost 0.7kg within 3days as she was running fever due to teething. Now managed to put her back to 8.5kg. She's now 7.5months.

Just faith wow!! Will hear good news from u soon! If ur lining is good, ur ET cld be on D16 there about. How many embbies r u transferring?

baby
thks,will try one batch this wkend. btw which cubes r u using to freeze the puree?

gan,justfaith
thks for sharing. alamak I just read the jumperoo max weight is 25 lbs ie 11.3kg. my boy is ardi 10kg, like no room to grow. my boy is 8mths, do u think is too late to buy ardi?
wanted to get so tat can keep baby occupied when I need do thgs coz I got no maid. aya shd hv tot of getting all these toys earlier. r there any other useful toys to buy at this stage? if u know of any, can let me know, coz I always very slow in such thgs.

justfaith
Im also thinkg start another round of ivf, but will b fresh cycle. can ask u few thgs?
how many rounds of menses before u start fet?
my gynae said must total stop breastfeedg, but I find abit hard coz I nurse my boy for his daytime naps.when u stopped bf?
did u go for any tcm this time?
sorry so many qns. I so happy now got u to share notes with...heehee

Gan,

We booked 2 connecting rooms. My maid shared a room with my mum a baby. My hubby, big son and the other twin in my room. My 2nd maid stayed back in Singapore at my MIL's home.

Gan,

We booked 2 connecting rooms. My maid shared a room with my mum a baby. My hubby, big son and the other twin in my room. My 2nd maid stayed back in Singapore at my MIL's home.

Gan, he takes mostly 5 feeds a day, so about 900-1000ml. he is still v bad w solids..tried to gv him some bottled fruit puree today... after 5 half spoons he puke all his milk out from gagging...haiz....

my gal takes about the same as ur gal..every 3 hrly 130-140ml, until the 10pm dreamfeed she can take 170ml. she average 6 feeds a day.

Gan, i am left with 3 embbies. Dr Loh want me to transfer 3... told him i am not prepared for triplets. 2 will be nice... heehee. But now, I am considering if I should go for 3.. since all may not make it after thawing.. hmmmm. Btw, I am also thinking of taking my girl for super short trip. Also thinking if I should bring my maid along. Will be good if can have someone to carry my bags... but sleeping arrangement will be kinda awkard.

Happyhippo, i didn't go for accupunture/TCM or take special attention. I just avoided cold drinks and keep my body warm like last IVF (actually mine was SOIUI convert to IVF... thus, not so many eggs were retrieved.) I am not on additional supplements. Now I am so busy with #1, no time to think or worry about the outcome. Will give my best shot. Heehee.

Oh... your boy is heavy leh - 10kg. faintz!! How do you keep your boy occupied during daytime?

Singapoh the trip will be us plus maid so guess everyone shares 1 room Coz I can't be booking a room just for her.'haiz akward ar!

Just faith where r u planning to go? Actually if left 3 embbies thaw 3 n put 3'bah else left the last embbie so lonely.

Panda I just bot avocado today, will let my gal try. She can be a fussy eater... If she doesn't like the food she will boo to spit out the food!

Tickles, my girl also super small size like yours. She is 7.5 months, weight about 6.2kg. I hope she will reach 7kg when she turns 9 months leh.

Just Faith, Baby, Grumpus,

how do you feed your babies so much water? I find it hard to feed them water. Tried the normal milk bottle... my girl wouldn't touch. She will only open her mouth to drink when its time for milk. Tried sippy cup, they drink some and let the rest spill out of their mouths. Tried straw cup, they don't quite know how to suck yet.

Girls, I feed my babies cereal in the morning. Alternate between Bellamy baby rice, baby porridge and apple +cinnamon porridge. But they seem to not enjoy it so much anymore. You think its because they are bored of the taste (or lack of?) Any other suggestions on what I can feed them or how to make the cereal taste better? Add puree into it? They are still only taking 1/3 to 1/2 the Combi feeding bowl. Is that sufficient as one solid meal feed?

Grumpus, Singapoh,

My boy currently has 6 milk feeds, and girl has 5 milk feeds (she sleeps thru the night). So its 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm and 7pm. I am thinking of increasing the solids for them and I think I will reduce one milk feed during the day. So I will feed them every 2 hours e.g..

7am - milk upon waking
9am - breakfast cereal
11am - milk feed
1pm - lunch (porridge)
3pm - milk feed
5pm - dinner (cereal+puree)
7pm - milk before bedtime
12mn - boy will wake up for milk, girl sleeps thru

if I manage to still feed them > 600 ml milk within these 4 feeds, is that enough? For each solid meal, they eat about 1/3-1/2 combi feeding bowl.

By the way, when you put the fish in the porridge to cook, do you blend it as well or just mash the fish?

justfaith
was ur no 1 natural delivery or c-sect? if c-sect need to rest longer before trying no 2?
daytime, i let him play his toys, read to him, sometimes watch video, carry him walk/look ard the house... running out of ideas liao... you got new ideas, let me know hor ...
r u working or SAHM?