IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

THanks Singapoh n Grumpus! Will check out novena square coz more convinent for me... Let my gal tried the Heinz bottle apple which blissful gave me... Think too sour for her. She took a few mouthful n grab the spoon to stop me feeding. I finished the remaining bottle as my dessert.=p

Gan
Most cold storage has a good range of organic vege.. I saw organic pumpkin at compass pt cs.. I just bought organic mini carrots.. Gg to let my elder girl try...

U can also buy organic bottled puree frm cs.. I bought carrot and pear puree... Only $1.55 per bottle..

U can try giving sweet potato.. My girl loves it! I tried it myself.. V sweet and yummy..
Tried giving banana.. Failed... My girl only took a few spoonfuls...

Hmm.. When can we start to give porridge? I feel like cooking porridge for my elder girl.. Can the porridge replace one milk feed? Cos if i give her porridge sure v full liao

Gave carrots to my elder girl.. She loves it!
Feeding my elder girl v encouraging.. She always give face to finish up whatever i gave her except banana... Make me so enthu to try new recipe with her..
But my small always make me gek sim.. Not at all receptive.. Im still trying her on rice cereal... Havent even start other puree yet lor... Tried giving her pumpkin and apple.. All dont like...

Gan,
Most Cold storage have organic veg/fruits. I bought this brand, "Zenxin" which is from malaysia. I have seen Giant at vivo carrying the same brand of organic veg/fruits as well.

Anyway, i didn't buy all organic. Just those which is heavily leaded with pesticides. You can refer to this website on the info and recipes.

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

Panda
Have u started to give spinach yet? How is the response?
So far i only give those sweet vege.. Hvt start on green leafy vege yet... Maybe shouldnt give spinach puree alone hor.. Sure dont taste well.. Maybe can add into plain porridge together with pumpkin Puree to make it more platable...

baby,

busy day for me, my mum is down w flu, i had to ask my mil to come help out.. n two of my bbs can recognise pple dont want her... so whole day buzz here n there..

my boy very fussy eater! dont want sweet potato, dont want rice cereal even when i mix with pumpkin! and he loves fruits lor.......eat apple n pear so far n always finish up n look at me eyes big big like he wants more of it... i go kitchen wash up the bowl n spoon his eyes kept following me!

i already bought the spinach, maybe if i can find time to steam it tmr early morning, i will try to giv him...

i tried giv my gal rice cereal, she also dont like. gave her pear, she wants more too...:S

Baby,
Ok ok, that is ok
Just asking to make sure as it seems you are trying so many new stuff. Ur bb is indeed lucky
I not so adventurous yet. Mainly fruits but starting on vege as going to use those to cook porridge soon. U are right to start on some veges first. Think I tried veges too late liao.

Gan,
Thanks so much for that link. I will check it out. It’s a good time to get that pair of shoes ready.

U also can find a fairly good range of organic vege at ShopNSave. They sell Jap organic pumpkin, its three times the price of normal pumpkin. But one thing I find about organic vege is its not as tender as normal vege even after boiling in water.

Hey, where to u buy slant cup?
My gal also seems like she prefers to drink out from spoon/cup, anything but teats! Now, I feed some milk with the pigeon bottle that comes with a spoon attached to the screw cap.

Any ladies suffered fm pupps during their pregnancy? I m hving a sudden outbreak last week, week 33+. v upsetting as it is affecting my sleep ESP at nite. Visited a dermatologist n prescribed with cream n piriton but no use as I will still b awaken up by d itch.

D dermatologist told me this will only b cleared after I gv birth. How lucky I m!!!

If any mummies has any remedies, pls let me kw, thanks in advance. I cant imagine myself fighting with pupps for the next 3 weeks or so.. I tink I will go crazy!!!

Mummies, do u separate ur twins in 1st mth? Mine are super disturbing to each other's zzz n when I separate them in different rooms, they are able to stretch 3hours for milk instead of 2 hourly.
Also, my gal seems v v fussy abt whos carrying her, mus hav the correct pose then she happy. I carry her the least of cos as compared to CL & maid during this period, and am worried how to handle this super cranky n fussy gal when CL leaves. I'll hv to take turn with maid to take care of one each at nite, wich I foresee a big problem.
Anyone babies zzz v little? Mine are like if they zzz in the day, they seems to hv problem zzz at nite, my boy was cranky till almost 2am last night b4 he finally zzz deeply. Nowadays I find them zzz with eyes open close, open close, isit a sign of fright or?

Rostrum, Nothing much can ease the itch leh. I had it in 2nd tri and dr Loh prescribed me steroids cream for day and night. I try to apply only when really bad, other days I try to use calamine lotion to ease abit. Other than that I endure. Till now after birth, my tummy PUPPP is ok but one of them on my leg stil itching.

Imp, so u had d itch fm tri 2 till deliver? Is it true after birth the itchiness will b gone n d rashes will take up till one mth to clear off?

I dun even dare to step out of d hse now as d rashes are quit bad. It starts fm my lower abdomen n spread to my legs, hands. My hands are unsightly n tends to invite curious glares fm strangers as though I hv some skin disease.

It is v disturbing to my daily life!

Janice,
I started to secure CL after my 1st tri, as they say if better ones usually quite hot. But I got a terrible one due to some human mistakes, and my current one is quite ok v v caring towards bbs wich is my main concern, and I am very assured having her around and I do not really wake at night to check on her/them as I know they are in good hands. Earlier that CL I really paranoid and wake everytime I hear bbs crying.
Quite a lazy mummy ;p

When is your due? Maybe can try my current if u interested

Rostrum, hope you will get better soon.
When is your tentative EDD?

I had mild rashes when i was about 8 weeks.
Happened for a few days. Hope it will not come back anytime soon.

Hey Rostrum,
I had Pupps after pregnancy and it was all over the left thigh. Taking oats bath does help to relieve the itch. Oats soothes irritated skin.

Buy plain quacker oats and put some in ur bath water. Most importantly, its natural.

It will take a while to disappear as its hormones related. Don't worry about how passerby think k..if they have basic knowledge, they should know pregnant women have all kinds of flairing up.

Imp, after my bbs first mth, i separate all three in 3 different rooms to zzz... until about 4mths then i bring them back together in their room. now they can zzz together as they wake up less at night...

its normal for bbs to hv eye movements when they zzz.. no worries.. its called REM (Rapid Eye Movement). You can go google to understand more.

until now i dun let bbs sleep w maid.. when i first brought all three into a room, i bunk in with them on a sofa bed... now i zzz in my own room with the baby monitor on. if they wake up, i will run over....

Pandawife, oic REM... hehe... thanks for the info.
Wow u dun let maid handle even one of them, then u usually zzz with them n can cope if more than one bb wake up?

Any quick tips for letting bb get used to our carrying style? CL tel me mus carry more and let her get used to me, but doesnt seem to work she can quiet for 5mins and start to cry again duhhhh...

Now u r letting them zzz together in same room but in different cots?
Hows ur stopping of BF, successful?

Rostrum, hav u decided ware to deliver btw?
Yes I had that till I deliver, and my leg got one spot stil itchy till now tho my tummy immediately ok after deliver. Hands oso ok liao. I m not sure if it will go off after 1mth leh.. U try babygalore method and c if it helps u?

Babygalore
Yes u r right.. I also find organic vege is not as tender as normal ones.. I bought long organic carrots.. Even aft steaming for half hr.. Its still not very soft yet... Then i tried organic mini carrots.. So far ok...

The slant cup gan bought.. I saw it at OG... U can go take alook... The outlet i went is the bugis OG...

I forgot who is asking for CL detail. You can try to contact this lady HP:012-7818518. Got her from agency in Singapore. So far she was doing quite a good job for me. Most of the things I told her to do, she is fine and also gave some advice. She told me contact her directly she will give cheaper.

Babygalore: my bb these few days seem back to normal can feed her in normal way but intake lesses, very soon she doesn't want more (around 100mil)not like feeding her during sleeping mode sometime can go up to 130mil. Anyway, I am happy leow and hope slowly she can back to normal intake and slowly progress to the requirement quatity (700-800+mil)per day.

Btw, need to ask those mummies using Medela pump. May I know can I sterilize the kit by using boiling method? Any part/kit I can't put inside?

Besides, I wanted to ask any good cooler/warmer bag to recommend? Currently, every day I have to pack 4X milk bottles inside medela cooler bag together with the ice cube, I find it is quite heavy. Anyway to lighten the weight, especially when need to bring bb goes out. And also when we go out everytime need to prepare hot water bottle and a cup to warm the milk, any good idea to share?

imp, if more than one bb wakes up together, then i will call my maid..otherwise i can handle myself..

ur gal sounds like my younger boy. from very young fussy about the positions he wanna be carried and zzzz...fuss n fuss if its not right.. no short cuts..hv to bond w bb and understand his/her "style".

my boy is generally very fussy, from the milk bottle, types of clothes (he dun like pull over the head type, etc). i was so frustrated that i asked my PD about this. he says my boy is a fast developer, hence more "demanding".. he knows exactly what he likes and dont like.

yes.. my bbs zzz in the same room different cots..now they can flip, and turn all over.. cannot fit them into 1 cot anymore...

i stopped bf after 2 weeks of agony! painful!

Anyone bought baby swimming tub? I saw at the bulk purchase.. Seller selling a translucent tub 80cm x 80cm.. At $78... Any comments?

suyana, I dun tink it will get better except to ease the itch for a few hrs and after tt the vicious cycle will continue again...My EDD is 15th Jul which is my 40 weeks, but for twinnies will pop in week 37-38 or even a few days earlier...

babygalore, mine is quite bad, dun tink oat bath will help. I am using Cetaphil shower gel now and also soda powder to clean the body when itch...other than tt is to tk piriton for my slp and the cream from the doc...and lots of body lotion...the plm is some passerbys wun hv basic knowledge one, they will stare and stare as though u got skin disease..I find v insensitive lor Even last time when I saw such breakouts in some ppl, I also wun stare and stare lor .my dh says just ignore, but I will only go out if weather is cooling, else if it is too hot, I prefer to stay indoor..Thanks for the suggestion

Imp, I am delivering in KKH...already done my admission...So once u deliver, the rashes will disappear almost immediately?

baby, i considered buying..emailed the seller to check.. this size is only suitable for 1 bb.. if put 2 in there...very limited movements, not recommended... and the height is also limited with our growing bbs...

Pandawife, wow yr boy veri yim chim oso huh.. So took u hw long to find out his fav position n him getting used to ur carrying? Any reason why ur maid is not taking care of bbs?

U stopped bf without meds huh? So engorged till it goes off?

Rostrum, usually it goes off after delivery de. But mine stil itch at leg so I duno y oso. Maybe varies in indl? How's bbs growing? Stil alot difference btw tmc n Kkh weight?

ru,
for medela pump, the soft shield cannot be sterilized. also, if u sterilize using boiling method, must sure the pot has enough water and that the parts dun touch the side of the pot. dun boil too long. one of the mummies i know, her medela parts melted in the pot when they touched the sides and she overboiled.

why do u need to transport 4x bottles? how long do u go out for? i find the heaviest part of the medela cooler bag is the ice pack. but of cos that's the one that helps keep cold for longer. so unless u're going out whole day, is not necessary. i got this other ice pack, smaller and lighter, taka, kiddy palace etc do carry. the outer part is soft plastic, not like the medela one which is hard plastic. each cost abt $5. good enough to last for few hrs out.

when i went out, i didn't like to carry so many bottles. i either used milkbag or i used those 240ml big milk bottle to store my bm. each bottle can store 2 feeds in my girl's case. then i just carry one empty bottle for feeding. when time to feed, i just pour out one feed from the big bottle into the feeding bottle.
usually i dun bring cup for warming, i just use whichever cup i can find from the restaurant /cafe/coffeeshop that i'm feeding at.
alternatively u can get those thermos cup instead of flask. can use to store hot water and double up as the cup for warming.

Imp, I hope mine really goes off after delivery. Another few weeks to go... I shall ren!

I hv given up on d weights issues. Hv learnt to tk it easy. Initially wanted to seek 2nd opinion but hv decided not to. As long as babies are healthy, we shall beef them up outside the womb. Hv chosen Kkh cos tmc has advised us on d costs involved shall they need nicu. Feels tt d money can b spent on their education n health rather than nicu. Has went for 2 ctgs n a few growth scans n so far so good.. D only issue is dunno y d smaller one dun like to eat.. Keke..

How are u coping? Ok wif BF?

Panda
Is it? I saw another seller the tub.. Can accomodate one adult and one bb leh..
Cos if bring two bbs to baby spa.. Abit exp.. So tot can buy this tub to let them try before bringing them to public pool...
Can put one bb in at a time instead of putting more than one bb...

Baby,

I bought one
but have not use it yet cos my gal has slight flu.

Ya, baby spa is exp leh so I told my hubby that I rather invest in this. I bought from BP also.

Imp, yes, my younger boy is super fussy boy! hehe.... i struggle with him for 2 weeks.. smtimes i try until pek chek..pass to my hb.. esp at night when trying to coax him to zzz... he will fuss n fuss..coz he is tired and yet i cant find a position he likes...

my maid helps w the bbs during the day time.. plus also do housework. i dun let her zzz w bbs coz i worry she might be too tired and not in the best of condition to be caring for the bbs esp when they wake up at wee hours....

i hv a gf, who got so frustrated w her son's frequent wakings tht she slap her bb's thighs leh! so i cant imagine what a maid would do if she is frustrated and too tired....

yup..i didnt use any med.. like wat grumpus advised, just tahan the engorgement... i was cranky alot that 2 weeks! :p

baby, yeah..if u dun mind putting one bb at a time...

i let the bbs swim in my bath tub at home... i wanted to buy the tub if its bigger and can accomodate more than my bath tub..but since it cant, then not worth buying for my case.

Panda, haha your boy sounds like mine. Super fussy. Now he has frequent night wakings, so tiring for us. Have to carry until he falls asleep.

When your bbs sleep in the other room, they don't wake each other up? Also since they can flip n turn now, how do we ensure they are safe n don't suffocate when we are not in the same room? Your baby monitor comes with video?

I'm planning to let bbs sleep in their own room when we move to bkk. But not sure whether one of us should sleep with them first until they are a little older.

Btw, when u let bbs swim in bathtub, what do they wear? Waterproof diapers? Where to buy huh?

anyone start potty training? how to train huh? i'm thinking if can start soon, but not sure how leh.
mummies with boys - any recommendation on which is a good potty so that when boys pee, they don't spray out of the potty :p

baby
i bought the swimming tub from sgmambo
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5475034.html?1305388915

its 80cmx 80cm, smaller than another bp which is 90cm
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5487494.html?1307465323

i prefer the design of the sgmambo tub, but one -ve part is that you need to fill up to a certain amt of water before the tub can be stable. i think the other bp tub has a inflated rim which will hold the tub better even without water.

Happy
Hello!! Long time no see!! Wow u aldry thinking to potty train yr boy liao ah... Hee..

Currently i will sort of train them when i change their diaper.. I will open their diaper and shhhhhsss... My elder girl will usually pee out.. But my small girl only sometimes pee out..

Ya i saw this 2 bp on the tub.. I also prefer the mambo design but seems like the bigger one better cos its more stable and much spacious... And also cheaper..
U aldry let yr boy try? How was it?

Baby,
Thanks so much for being the informant on the slant cup..
I chionged down to OG Bugis just now to buy liao. Bot an orange one..will see if bb uses it tonite..hehee..

For the organic mini carrot, I have tried to cook porride with it and steam with. Can do. U r right, quite soft and babies can most likely accept.

Ru,
Clap clap..yeh yeh..happy for u that ur bb is back to normal mode for drinking. Actually I tried to suck using teat to find out why some bbs hate to suck and true enough, its takes quite some effort to suck just a bit of milk. So maybe our bbs feel very sian and tired that after some 100ml, they give up. Now I feed the remaining using spoon. I am looking forward to the day that my bb can drink from cup.

Rostrum,
Really hope the pupp can ease and u can relax a bit..luckily our generation got aircond. Cannot imagine how the pregnant women many centuries ago have to tahan all these amidst the humility...yes, believe u sure can ren until popping day..jiayou k!

Happyhippo,
Supposedly when bb can sit fairly well u can start potty training already. Start with poo poo first. If yr bb has more or less fix timing to poo u can put him on the potty just before he poo n make the ng ng sound. If he poo u praise him. If he dun poo, u take him off the potty and try again in 10mins or so until he poo. Or, persistently put him on the potty after every feed and make the ngng sound. Main thing is to get bb to associate poo with the ng ng sound. Usually after poo they will pee, then u make the shh shh sound so bb associate pee with the sound. It's quite hit and miss and requires months of persistence. Eventually bb will poo and pee on cue when u make the ng ng and shh shh sound.
This is the traditional method my mum taught me. Didn't work for me cos I didn't hv the patience to be so consistent :p

The western way says to simply wait until bb is ready. When bb understands wat u want and is consciously able to hold and release their bladder. This is usually ard the age of 2 but I do hv friends who manage to train their bbs from as early as 14-15mths. I trained my girl at 2, I simply took off her diapers and told her she has no diapers so she need to pee in the potty. There were a few accidents but I just keep reinforcing n within 3 days she understood wat I wanted n was able to tell me before she pee.

Gan
Have u let yr girl try the bellamy apple&cinamon porridge? And also the tooth wipes? Cos i saw u ordered.. Me too.. Hehe...
I also bought happy organic brown rice.. And two types of fruit puree.. Mango and apricot.. Cos these two fruit abit difficult to prepare myself..
This link v useful.. I only placed the order yday.. Its delivered today!

Working wife, my bbs sntimes do wake each other ..but I want them to get used to sleeping in the same room. All my bbs slp on their tummy since one month old. Now two of them will flip n slp on their back...only my gal zzz on tummy n seldom flip. I hv a video monitor n I m a v light sleeper. Any slightest sound I will dash next door! Smtimes can b quite tiring running to n fro a few times a night.

During the first few weeks tht I let them sleep together in their room, I bunk in on the sofa bed...until I m comfortable to let them zzzz by themselves. My bbs zzz early at 7plus...I zzza are midnight after the dreamfeed session...betw 7pm to mn, I will b like a night time security guard..go in use a night light to check on them...

They swim naked leh! Huggies has disposable swimmer diapers...mothercare sells reuseable ones. ;)

Baby I have not paid agape babies yet!! Haa... Was doing quite abit of purchase online n forgot to transfer the $. Now u remind me, will transfer later !

Gan
Haha.. Me too leh.. I have purchased alot of items frm bulk purchase... Just transferred $$ to buy the dimple pillow.. Pjs for my girls... And gg to buy the swimming tub... Alamak.. Spent too much $$ liao!!! Haha..

So what did u buy? Got any good tin to share? Hee...

baby i have moved on to overseas spree...everyday after work and when baby sleeps, i am shopping online.
Lately bought from the old navy spree and carters spree coz got sale, price similar to buying from bulk purchase but u can have more choices. I was also buying PJ for my gal coz find mothercare 3 for $56 abit ex as my baby only wear them for like 2 months and i have to change.

check out this carter spree, exchange rate seems more attractive than the rest. now got 20% off.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/5552308.html?1307524998

pandawife
haha, my boy also swim naked.
the first time i put on the swim diaper, figured out no need lah coz at home. want to ask you, can you manage putting on the neck float for your baby by yourself or you need another person to help you?
so far i still need 2 person to do it. trying to figure out how to do 1 person.

baby
my boy enjoys the swimming tub. hope he will continue for a while more. just not much width for him to swim very soon. depth wise still ok coz his head is abover water. i wished i bought it earlier for him to use to maximise while it is still big enuf for him. so if u r keen, just buy, dont wait liao

grumpus
thks for sharing. my boy pooing time is very erractic, everyday different. lately only once every 2 days. hope that is normal.
when u start training, u still let baby wear diaper right? so keep removing/putting back diaper ya?
btw, which potty u bought?