IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ru
How old is yr bb? My small girl coming to 6mths also refuse to drink milk when awake.. But no problem when dreamfeeding... I suspect she is teething so gums irriated... Keep using her fingers to rub her gums.. So when i push the teats inside she will cry... Got to coax her to drink...

baby,
Think u posted sometime back that u r using the Ergo baby carrier? Which model r u using?
Can the carrier hold the bb front facing or face ur chest?
Where did u buy it and how much?

Babyhopeful
Ergo carrier cannot let baby sit forward facing.. Can only let baby face u.. Ergo believes baby wants to face the carrier.. Forward facing may let baby be over stimulated on the surroundings...

My model is the organic range.. The material is much softer than the normal ones.. I tried both... I prefer the organic material... I bought it at firstfewyears at paragon... The model on displayed is the one i bought.. U can try yr baby on there..
I thk i bought abt $210...

Singapoh,
That day I went to Kinokuniya wanting to buy the Firstfoods book but only to realise that I forgot to bring the vouchers which bought for hb last time.

Then I read through most of the recipes and they are now in my mind..heheee..if every mom is like me, no economy growth liao.

Its a good book, tailored for Asian bbs. Thanks for highlighting the book.

Ferdina,
Its a princess, sama same here..u will be spending a lot of pretty clothes for sure. Do update us on her growth along the way.

Grumpus,
Could your girl is starting on separation anxiety? Read it can start around 6month. Mine started at 7month, still happy generally but more moodswings and very selective on who carries her and would wake up more often a night (read from babycenter renewed nite waking is a sign of separation anxiety)

Ru and baby79
I started experiencing this milkstrikes from 4month plus. Thought it was teething at first but turned out its not.

Read that one main reason is as they grow older and more aware of their surroundings, they are more easily distracted and less keen to drink in the day time. One solution (will not work all the time though) is to have conducive feeding envt like limit distractions such as people walking around during feeding.

Other possible reasons.
1. Teat hole too small, take a lot of effort to drink so not interested in the end.
2. Teething of course.
3. Disinterested in milk. Could be signalling that its time to start introducing semi-solids to increase variety.
4. Blocked nose
5. A combination of the above reasons.

Then why with these issues yet can suck when sleeping? Its becoz they are less aware of all these disturbances/issues during dreamfeed and less fussy vs in the daytime.

My gal still have milkstrike every now and then and compared to prior to 4mths old, she is no longer as interested in milk (she is 8 months). So now on 2 solid meals, puree for tea and regular but small amount of milkfeeds that still allow her to reach the required quota.

Quite a challenge and stressful during milkstrikes. Hang in there.

How long can we keep frozen puree in the freezer?

Panda
Have u tried banana puree? How was it?
I read cannot freeze banana puree...
The book put just mash it with fork... Is it mashy enough?

Baby : my girl is coming to 4 mth. Yes she always put her hand inside her mouth now. As and when I see I will stop her.

Babygalore: I think you r right. Many points u listed above she has them. She is having flu started 2 wk ago. So sometime her breathing very loud. When she awake she likes people to play with her. So I also suspect the env caused her not interested to the milk. PD said she can drink up to 800ml plus but now only manage to feed her like 600ml plus, so how can i increase her milk intake? Should I start cereal for her in order to get enough vit and needs for her stage?

Ru,
Yes, there are little thiings we can do that ease the rejection and increase milk intake but usually will not totally eliminate.

1. Teat issue: enlarge it a little and see if she can drink faster. If she can swallow comfortably, enlarge in further and check teat flow (right flow should be that milk can drip out on its own nicely. Not gush out but drip out) every now and then. I find that sterilisation causes the hole to shrink over time on its own. So good to check flow regularly.

Also, replace teat regularly even if using silicon teat. Silicon teat hardens quite a bit with time and now I change every 1.5 to 2 months. Everytime I change, she drinks faster (as its softer).

2. Teething. Really come teething time, milkstrike can become very serious. Can try to feed with spoon. Pigeon has this bottle that has a spoon attached to the screw cap. Can use that to feed if really really don't want to suck. But risk of course is that bb may become used to it and reject teat although. Now, I feed some with teat and once she really don't want to suck anymore (say left 30ml), I will feed the remaining milk with spoon. Its not good but no choice, desperate to increase her milk intake.

3. Before 4mths is too early to start. Depending on her weight gain. From what most pds tell moms, if still got ok weight gain, recommended to weight until quite close to 6 months. However, if weight gain is not ideal at all, I read some pd oked bbs to start once past 4 months but only if weight gain is worrying. If weight gain ok, but not so ideal, maybe close to 5 months. So perhaps u can monitor, once u think her weight gain is stalling due to low milk intake and she is definitely past 4 months to 5 months, can start to train her with spoon liao. Use a proper weaning spoon and start with rice cereal, one teaspoon first. Am quite glad I trained her fr 5months plus as she took a while to reach the 4 tbsp per meal now. And if don't want to drink milk, at least can feed solid (add milk inside to increase milk intake).

Of course, reduce distractions during feeding. But on the other hand, there are bb whom once u on TV, they start to suck well. So it might be necessary to experiment. I have heard of desperate parents who let their bbs watch their favourite cartoons during milk time. It’s a function of personal belief and how desperate one is. Alto the general rule of thumb is to reduce distractions and just focus on feeding.

4. The next time u see ur pd ur jab, ask for the sea salt spray and keep one handy. Also get a Pigeon nose sucker. If suspect there is mucus, can use spray. Pd said spray can use max 3 times a day, not a drug, so safe to use when needed. After sprayed for about 1/2 hr, suck out whatever mucus with nose sucker.

600ml plus is not too bad. Your gal is still doing fine

Baby, I hv not tried banana. Only started apple for three days.. Banana mayb next week. Menu this week is apple, sweet potato and pumpkin. Avocado experiment failed..

My boy dun like plain rice cereal, I hv to always add taste to it then he wanna eat..

Panda
Banana sounds abit difficult to manage.. Cos it oxidise v fast.. Got to serve immediately aft preparing.. Cannot prepare in advance.. Cos i usually prepare beforehand when they are napping.. So can eat once they wake up...

This week menu for me is apple, pumpkin and rice cereal.
Did u taste the apple puree yrself? It taste sourish.. Dont know which type of apple will be sweeter..

Hmm.. Maybe my small girl also dont like plain cereal.. U add vege/fruit puree to yr boy rice cereal? Maybe i should do that too...

What other fruits u wana try other than banana? I hvt even try carrot and sweet potato.. All these taste abit similar.. All orange color.. I hope to start them on green vege.. U tried spinach liao? I bought a pkt of frozen green peas but no courage to try.. Sounds difficult and tasteless.. Haha

Gan
The ballamy rice cereal is it call organic baby rice?
Cos the link u give didnt have cereal.. Only have baby rice and baby porridge... How much u buy frm cs?

Baby yup organic baby rice... I think I paid $7.50 from cs. My gal love the rice cereal... Will increase to 2 teaspoon next week

Babygalore: thanks so much for providing the idea. Will try out and see how. In fact for no 1, tried but fail to change the teat. Using Medela s size teat and wanted to change to other brand but fail. Will try again the m size teat of Medela this weekend by self. I just sent my bb to a new infant care centre. Hopefully the caregiver will have more experience to help me to feed her. Wed was the 1 day, they used the rocker and tried to rock and feed. I don't like the way they did as I felt they rock too fast and afraid later bb will indigestion so requested them to carry her and feed. Yesterday morning so far so good but the even feed fail again because of handling by another caregiver so today is my last chance to c and advice them my preference.

Ru,
No mention Ru..Same here, also tried to change teat fr Pigeon silincon to nuk latex but failed. My daughter drank with nuk very quickly the first time but rejected subsequently. BBs have their distinctive like and dislike..Now I back to Pigeon L flow (as she is already 8mths) and will maintain the hole every other day. Since ur bb is already 4mths, certainly can try out M flow for Medela.

Understand ur worry about if the caregivers at IF can give ur gal the optimum way of feeding. Its like u will worry and think about it all the time right. Same here loh. When my gal is on milkstrike, first thing I ask my mom (primary caregiver) when I fetch her is, got drink or not?. U r probably worry that the different caregivers at IF will affect her drinking, but hope u will feel better if I tell u that even when its my mom who feeds my girl all the time, my girl will chu new pattern every now and then. U are right to point out and exclude all the issues that u are concern about during feeding (rocking too fast can cause regurgitation) and after that, hope the different nice aunties at the centre can coax ur girl to drink. My MIL used to be an auntie at IF n she told me aunties there also chu pattern to coax babies to drink such as sing songs, put ruyi oil before each feed etc… So don't worry too much k, somehow, with some ways, they will drink their milk eventually

Baby,

Banana is very easy to to prepare. No need to steam it. Just mash with a fork on a rough surface (for grinding) I used the Pigeon peanut shape bowl with yellow lid.

I give only Belangan banana from Malaysia. Less wind

Singapoh
Is it those short small banana? Not those long del monte type right? Must use very ripe banana hor? If i wana save time.. Can i dont mash with fork? I use blender can? Will it be too mashy??

Babyhopeful

I am also using ergo organic carrier, very soft and easy to handle on my own. I bought it cheaper from a lady who took stock from supplier and she will teach u how to use and try the different ergo models. Pm if u interested to know more.

Need to check with you.
Is it safe to let my 13mths baby to eat outside foods? Ice cream or fries? Even adult meals.

That I not very sure.

My little joy,
It's still best not to let 13mth old hv too much salt/msg which adult meals tend to contain. Esp outside food, cos it's taxing on their kidneys. It's ok once in awhile to let them tax a bit but dun think they shd eat full meals outside on a regular basis.
I did bring my elder girl to HK when she was 12mths n gave her porridge n plain noodles from outside. But other than tat I always try to give her home cook food even now when she's 3.

Panda
I bought those small bananas liao.. But not ripe yet.. So will try it out maybe tml or sun.. Ask my father to help me buy sweet potato also.. Hee.. So fun...
But small girl still not receptive on solid food leh.. Tried rice cereal, pumpkin, apple all she dont like... She aldry 6mths old liao leh...

Panda
Which kind of sweet potato u buy? I bought those skinny purple skin type.. The flesh is yellow.. Or should i buy those fat ones.. Flesh is orange color.. Which one is sweeter?

Today i feed my elder girl pumpkin for bfast... Apple for lunch.. Later gg to feed her sweet potato.. Evening will be rice cereal... So feng fu hor... Hee

baby,
my friend's bb was not receptive to solid food until abt 8 mths.
another friend's bb only started eating mashy porridge after 1yr old.

bb will eat when they're ready, just keep trying.
u can try different textures and consistancy to see if maybe she prefer thicker or thinner, smoother or lumpier food. my elder girl was very picky abt that.

Baby,

It's not those very small ones. Those are Pisang Emas. Belangan is medium size. Sometimes also comes in large size. U can see the label. It's ripe when u see black spots on the skin and peel out easily from the stalk.

Moms who know about bb shoes:

What would u recommend as baby's first walking shoes (as in the brand, such as pigeon, skidders etc)? I know its good to let them learn to walk barefooted at home but would like to get something good for outside use. Thanks!!

Babyglorae
Yup i know..i aldry feed pumpkin for a week.. Apple for 4 days... Sweet potato the first time today... That is ok right?

Singapoh
Oh is it? Then if its those small ones can give bbs? Or only can give belangan??

Baby, my younger boy n gal both not eating yet. My younger boy now gags everytime I put food into his mouth! Smtimes e even puke his milk out.... My gal will chew on the food then push it out w her tongue.

My eldest boy dont like sweet potato. I fed for 3 days everytime he eat two to three mouth...he starts to scream! Then I gav pumpkin or apple he will finish up the entire portion. This boy can't sit still to eat, I hv to go round round w him in the exersaucer to feed him!! Tried ask my maid carry him sitting while I feed, he kept wiggling n refused to sit. Rocker also he dont want..headache...

Pandawife did u try highchair? My gal sits in highchair when my mum feeds. Previously they carried her till I bot the chair

Babygalore I was looking at pediped, saw it selling on the reebonz website

Singapoh
Ohhhh i see... I dont usually eat bananas so not sure the different types... As long as can give then i will try once the bananas are ripe enough.. Cos now the skin is still green in color...

Panda
Aiyo i bet u have to go around feeding yr boy! My small girl also keep fidgeting in the rocker when i feed her.. Refuse to open her mouth.. When i mgt to push the food in.. She will always give me a yucky look.. Then chew abit and puke out.. Only rice cereal she will swallow them.. But still refuse to open mouth for more.. I aldry timed the feeding near to milk time to ensure she is hungry enough... But still fail... And she also refuse to drink her milk... Always need to rock, pat and coax her to drink... Shag man!!

Lucky its a breeze feeding my elder girl.. She will eat whatever i give her... Even the sourish apple she will eat.. But dont eat as much... Today gave her sweet potato she also slurp it all up... She will v kancheong use her hand to grab mine to push the spoon to her mouth.. Within mins.. All food is gone! I feed her in the nb to toddler rocker... I raise the back higher so she will sit up...

The sweet potato v sticky... All clump together.. I got to add some water to blend it... And also got to add some water before feeding my girl... I didnt add fm.. Cos wana let her taste the pure vege taste... I taste it myself.. V yummy..
I will make sure my girl is not distracted during feeding.. No toys... No tv...

Lately, my boy has been waking more frequently at night. This is what I feared most!before, they usually sleep at 7 plus all the way to 7am, with a waking at 1am and 5am. now, my boy wakes up at 11 plus, n then subsequently every 2 hours! Shag man past few nights... I'm wondering why at 5 mths there is increased night wakings again. Could it be teething? Lately he ha been really sucking n biting is fingers to glory, give pacifier also he bite, not suck. Also not interested in drinking milk.

Experienced mummies, did yr babies ever hve flattened head? My boy head very flat on one side cuz he always turn one side when sleeping. N we didn't really diligently turn his head frm side to side before this. Now his head quite irregular shape
anyone's baby had that n did it even out eventually as they grow bigger? What can I do about it now at 5 months?

Working wife,
Yup sounds like yr boy wants food already. Increased night wakings is cos he doesn't drink enuff during the day or is simply not satisfied with just milk already. Could also be a combination with teething. But teething symptoms will subside after a week or so then come back again. Whereas wanting more than just milk will not go away until u start solids.

I didn't turn my elder girl's head diligently either n now she has a flat spot on one side of her head. I dun think they outgrow it. I dun know if those dimple pillows tat r supposed to prevent flat head will work now at 5 mths.

Working wife my gal has a flatten right side when she was younger as she has the tendency to sleep on her right. Quite obvious as the PD can tell she has a flatten head just by looking at her face. During her 3 month visit to PD, i check with the PD why she always look to her right and sleeps on her right, the PD checked and said she has torticollis. So she went for 2 sessions of physio at kkh as her right neck muscle is stiff. I also let her sleep on the babysafe dimple pillow at 3 months plus. her head will turn slightly to the right but at least not turn completely to one side. and now she sleeps on her tummy, she somehow turn to her left. Now her head is ok, the flatness is not so obvious.

Maybe u buy a dimple pillow for your boy as I find it helps.

My small girl also keep waking up at night.. Keep sucking and biting her fingers.. Refuse to drink milk even when it has pass the feeding time... But hor give her solids she dont want leh..

baby,
could be teething lor. my elder girl ever only eat plain bread the whole day (cos that was her favourite at tat time)
anything else dun want, milk also dun want.

Grumpus
She teething v long liao leh... So far still no sign of teeth.. But my elder girl no sign of teething aldry got two teeth! Haha..

Halo, I'm in my 17th week n my fren told me I need to look for confinement lady le. Any good one to recommend? Pie say me not active here cos I dunno how to contribute :"p

working wife, your pd also said ur boy has torticollis? Did he recommend anything? Actually i didn't do those exercise the physio therapist ask me do at home with my gal, as she would scream and cry when i tried to do the exercises with her. but i would try to attract her to turn to her left side with toys or playing with her on her left... but as her neck gets stiffer and she tends to look around when we carry her upright, her condition seems to improve.

I bot the babysafe dimple pillow from robinson. Think taka and motherworks selling too.

You can also buy dimple pillow from this bulk purchase, apparently this brand has good review.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5396426.html?1306945922

Gan
What is torticullius?

Alamak my small girl back of head also super flat leh.. Now she aldry 6mths old.. Is it too late to correct??

Gan,
yup ntuc finest at thomson plaza has a good range of organic stuff.
ntuc at square 2 and cold storage at novena square has some too