IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Val, thanks for the advice. I had told my gynae abt it and he said pregnant lady tends to get dry skin. I had other skin problems too and had seen skin doc. But other rashes was not given

Gan
How much discount u got for the bottom balm?
Cos OG is having 20% discount for avent pdts.. I just stock up on avent body wash... Did u try the avent magic cream? Its quite nice also to moisturise baby skin esp if they sleep in aircon room.. V nice smell too!

Just now many people buy the exersaucer... Thanks for telling me on this offer! But i must say the toys not many on the exersaucer... Some space is even empty... Can let me know where can i buy toys to interchange? How do i know its compatible on this exersaucer?

Gan
Where did u buy the ballamy rice cereal? Cos i couldnt find it in ntuc and cold storage leh...
Which rice cereal is good? Frisocrem, nestle?
I couldnt find ballamy so in the end no choice bought nestle cos my girls aldry tried nestle frm the sachet samples...

Panda/grumpus
Which brand rice cereal u giving yr bbs?

Baby, taka also 20% off for avent products but coz of the taka card, i got another 10%, so will be cheaper than to buy from OG. I have never tried the magic cream. i never apply anything on my baby's face leh..hmm maybe should buy and try.

I bot the toys to interchange from amazon, not sure where in sg sells. coz i was also buying some clothes from Gap and Ralph Lauren for my baby so ordered these toys to have shipment together with Vpost.
the evenlo switch a roo toys can be used on the evenflo exersuacer.
http://www.amazon.com/Evenflo-Switch-Roo-Apple-Book/dp/B000RFDQEK/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1306593302&sr=8-7

Have u let ur gals play on the exersaucer? The toys are not many, but i think for the price, it's ok. I saw the evenflo 1-2-3 tea for me at taka, it's a pink exersaucer, maybe got 2 more toys compared to the one you bot but that one selling $199.

singapoh
ur baby 1 yr ardi, so must have teethed already? is it painful to bf? i noticed my baby starting to teeth, can see tiny bit of teeth. today when bf, him got bite, wow so painful. how did u manage?

gan

baby
ya dont knw why like always busy, cant imagine how you manage with twins or panda with triples.... how heavy are ur twins? coz my boy is quite heavy, so wondering if ergo is good for heavy babies.

wow every one start solid so fast. my boy coming 6mths liao, think i'm slack mummy, still not ready to start, have not done any research on what to give yet, no get high chair also.. terrible. some of u mentioned avocado, what mth can give?

Baby, I oso can't find bellamy from cs n Ntuc. I m still giving nestle coz got samples from Pd. So far I only add one or two teaspoon to the vege puree...hv not progressed to bigger portions coz bb only 5 mths...

Gan, thks for the website!! V convenient can order n deliver.

Hi everyone, wow most of u have started feeding solids!! I'm ready to start too, just bought the book First Foods

Panda,
U freeze your puree in ice cube tray? Then when thaw, must use thaw the entire tray?

You first started feeding with cereal? How do I know how much to give the first few times? When u say one teaspoon, how do u measure it? Is it one spoon of the feeding spoon? If bb finishes it, do we give more or just give the one teaspoon?

When do u feed the cereal? In the morning? How many times a day? Do u also give at last feed befor bed so that they sleep longer? When u feed puree, when do u do it? Do u alternate with cereal? Can u tell me example of your daily feeding schedule?

Do u give the cereal powder in the milk n let bb drink from bottle or make a cereal mix n feed with spoon?

Why do we need to add cereal to the vege puree? I thot vege n fruit puree just feed like that... Must add water or milk to dilute further?

Sorry so many questions but need to equip myself with all the knowledge before starting
thanks!!

Grumpus, Just Faith, Singapoh - appreciate if u can also share your exp with the above questions!

Anyone bought high chair to feed bb in? I think can feed my bbs in the bumbo seat for now.

Pandawife the playmat, once opened u just leave it on the living room floor? Not necessary to keep every night right? How does ur maid clean the mat? With water only? She fleabane once daily?

Happyhippo
Haha there are times when my hands are v full also! But i will always come here to chat chat when my girls are napping during the day... U should come here often too! Alot of info to share here...
U can give avocada as first foods... Some mummies give it as the first food rather than cereal... There is no need to cook the avocado but must use ripe ones... Just blend and feed..

My girls are abt 7kg plus.. The ergo carrier works well... Its not straining on back... But of cos when they grow bigger definitely more aching...

Gan
Ya i saw the pink exersaucer.. Looks nicer.. But cos more exp so i didnt buy it.. Tot the promo one looks good enough..
So far hvt really give bb try yet.. Cos just fix yday night.. Just now bbs drink their morning milk and sleep again... Haha..
The ballamy cereal is good? Why u buy it? Heard good reviews on it?

Panda
So far i didnt add any cereal on my vege puree.. I just serve it pure... Cos i wana let them taste the pure vege instead of tasting cereal everytime... When i puree pumpkin.. The consistency is just nice no need to thicken or dilute...

Working wife
U can read the first book.. V useful.. Teach u how to make puree and store them..
U can make more puree.. Freeze in tray.. Then once harden.. Take them out and store in zip lock bag.. So u only need to take one cube out to defrost when u need them...

For a start u feed solids once a day... Choose a time when bb is not sleepy... Not cranky.. Good mood.. And also hungry but not starving.. So bb will be more receptive..
I usually give ard noon time when bb just woke up from their morning nap.. Near to feeding time... After feed solids.. I will feed them their usual milk 45mins later..
U can start rice cereal first.. Add fm or bm to make..

Gan
The playmat teach us to use bottle detegent add water to wipe for the first time then aft which just use water to wipe..
I just leave the mat open on the flr.. I ask my maid to wipe it every morning when she wake up before bb lie on it..

Happyhippo,

My boy has 8 and my gal 7 teeth. My boy sank his teeth on my tit during bf. His teeth were sharp and u can imagine the pain I had to endure. I guess that he wasn't use to his new teeth. After awhile, he latch on without sinking his teeth.

My gal never do that but she bit me if I force her to drink more. Waaaa!!

Working wife,

There is a sample time table at the back page of Firstfoods book. I just tried a new recipe from there - alphabet pasta. Soon I will try the Couscous recipe

Panda and I use ice tray with lid from Daiso. After freezing, transfer the cubes to a ziplock bag. Label and write the date. I don't take out to thaw. I steam frozen cubes in my mini electric steamer. Takes about 5 to 8 minutes.

I use rice cereal to mix in the purée if it's too watery or water/ebm if purée is too thick.

When u blend to make purée, no need to add water except sweet potato. I find that sweet potato purée is too thick and get stuck in bb's mouth, difficult for them to eat.

Use a spoon to feed cereal. U want bb to learn to eat from a spoon.

I gave rice cereal 1 hour after their morning milk. Make 1 teaspoon (rice cereal)for a start. If they still want more, make another teaspoon.

Mothercare is having promotion on their $99 highchair.

Panda,
as far as i know, only frisocream has milk mixed with the cereal. bellamy's, healthy times, happy bellies, organix etc are all pure cereal.

working wife,
i freezed my purees in ice cube tray. everyday i just pop one cube out. i didn't transfer to a zip lock bag. if it's too difficult to just pop one out then transfer to a ziplock or tupperware.

feed solids when bb is not too hungry and in a good mood. usually after a nap, slightly before a feed. i used to feed my girl at abt 10-11am cos eventually her 1st proper meal is lunch and i wanted her to get used to eating at ard the same time. slowly i introduced dinner, then breakfast and by abt 10mths she was eating breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon snack. it's better to feed them frequent, small meals then one large heavy meal.

as for amts, it's not too crucial as long as u're consistent. if u use a normal teaspoon then just make sure u always use a normal teaspoon to measure. feeding solids is not as precise as feeding milk. for a start i control the amt bb eats cos i want them to still be able to drink their milk. but as they get older and eat a wider variety of food, i let them eat until they're full.

u can feed cereal together with vege/fruit puree, or break them up into separate feeds. it all depends on how much yr bbs can eat at one sitting. but it's good to feed together cos when u eventually transition to porridge, they shd be eating rice, vege and fish/meat in one meal.

u can mix vege puree together with cereal to make the cereal taste better but it's good to feed separately too so bbs learn the taste of different foods before u start combining them.

i slot solid feeds in between milk feeds. so morn wake up is milk feed, then one solid feed, then milk for the rest of the day. eventually it becomes milk, breakfast, milk, lunch, milk, afternoon snack, dinner, milk then sleep.

oh i bought the high chair from ikea. cheap and good. but u can start in the bumbo for now. prob only buy when u get to bkk

Singapoh, baby, thanks!

Yeah, I just check the back of the book on the daily meal planner. Btw, there is one part where they say feed cereal, vege puree n fruit puree at dinnertime. Is it either one of those or all 3??

Hmm... Must we add cereal to thicken puree? If puree is watery, not ok to feed as it is? I thot should let them taste the pure vege or fruit taste right?

Thx for the tip on the ice cubes! Sounds brilliant! So usually at the start, they will eat one cube at one sitting? so when we start puree, do we alternate between cereal n puree at different times or feed cereal n puree atthe same feed?

Hi! I just found this forum and thread. Are everyone here IVF mummies/mummies-to-be?

I'm currently 22 weeks into my 1st pregnancy from 2nd cycle IVF... The 1st one failed and didn't even have any embryos to freeze... was going to give up and did the 2nd cycle as a last ditch attempt and was successful!

Initially found we were expecting twins but one of the twins didn't do so well... so now only singleton...

So far baby is well and scans good... Still very happy but all that experience made me really anxious and scared..

wondering if anyone had any similar experiences..

Working wife
I prefer to let my girls taste the pure vege... But its also ok to add cereal to thicken the puree if its too watery.. Cos u wont want to feed too watery puree to bb... Another tip is to drain yr vege before blending to prevent the puree to gets too watery...

I usually feed my girls vege puree in the noon... Rice cereal during evening cos wana to let them feel fuller to last thru the night... I didnt add rice cereal to milk bottle cos i read must let bb learn to eat cereal frm spoon rather than bottle.. So i feed cereal by spoon followed by usual milk for their last feed before sleep...

U can try pumpkin as a start for vege puree... Cos its v creamy and soft... Easier to steam and blend..

hi mummies over 5mths,
any of u experience stomach pain and more frequent loose stool when u r 4mths aft delivery? lately i hav been havin frequent bowel movement and tummy will feel pain like diahoera pain...almost a week liao.

Singapoh,
Heeeeheee…maybe that is why her MIL is supposed to have "died" and not her own mother.

Gan,
Thanks for ur advice, after hearing what u told me, my original plan was to switch her to 0-6 month nuk teat and once she can accept, upgrade to 6-18 month but who knows she totally cannot stand the nuk teat shape. The minute I try to insert into her month, she rejected…so now back to the stiff pigeon teat again. Mission to change to flexible teat failed.

Pandawife,
To obtain the weaning food guide. U can call 1800 345 5213 (their customer care hotline). Tell them you are interested to try out enfapro A+ (for six months and above). They will ask for ur name, IC, babies name, and babies bc no. They will also ask what FM u are currently giving or BF, just tell them want to try out enfapro A+ when ur bbies turn 6month. Also specify u want to the weaning food guide. They will then courier u a 400g tin of sample including the guide and some marketing materials. If u don't intend to give bbs enfapro, u can even try to trade that 400g of enfapro with other moms who have other brands of sample as enfapro is in high demand.

I have attached the weaning guide below for ur guide ref k.

Ur babies are sooooooooo cute!!!! I love the pic with all the three of them lying down on their sides. Really cute

Mabel Tan
Congrats..Don't worry about not too strong preg signs. I have had preg with very strong signs right fr the start but they did not work out and with my daughter, signs not as obvious but ended up carrying her to term. It is definitely not a good indication of health of preg and besides, the signs fluctuate throughout the whole 1st trimester.

Ferdina,
Welcome.
My daughter is concieved naturally but as I have tried ivf before and know some moms here fr the ivf days, I find it nice to chat here. Sorry that u lost one precious baby and do continue to stay positive and strong for ur other baby. Is it a princess or prince ?

Moms,
I have typed out the weaning guide and attached here in excel form. So far, I wean my girl with this guide.

Rose
Previously, the tcm I saw mentioned that the condition of our stool is also a function of our hormones and typically, after 4months of delivery, our hormones go through another round of major change to adjust back to pre-preg hormones. That is the time that we will often exp hair loss. Alto I did not have frequent loose stool at 4 mths post delivery, I did exp mood swings/hair loss etc. u might also want to rule out stomach flu that is another possibility of loose stool. Continue to take more water to rehydrate urself and avoid oily/spicy food for the next few weeks. Do recover soon.

mime_msexcel.gif

WeaningGuide.xls (31.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Panda
Did u feed yr bbs solids in the morning? Cos i find no time to do so leh... Cos morning always busy with morning feed.. Bath... Aft bath nap... Simply no time to feed solids thats y always wait till they wake up frm their bath nap to feed them.. That is ard noon time liao...

Scare my routine is not right cos when they grow older.. They will need to take solid breakfast...

baby,
u can start with lunch first.
when they get older they won't nap so early already. then u can squueze in breakfast

Panda/gan
Which level height yr bbs sit on the exersaucer? My ones aldry need the 2nd level... Totally missed the lowest level.. Alamak.. Should i buy much earlier hor to maximise the usage...

I read the instructions say must only let bbs toes touch the base.. Never let them stand flat foot on the base.. I thk is not to hinder the leg development... Else bb leg will be curve..

Grumpus
Oh is it... Ok ok.. Thanks for telling me!
Now im feeding them lunch and dnr... Vege puree for lunch and cereal for dnr.. Will follow their usual milk feed.. Ok right?
But usually aft the solids.. They cant finish up their milk...

Baby, I don't hv fix timing. V hard for me coz not all three r eating. I hv to find a gd timing tht my eldest is happy to eat, n the other two r not fussing n need my attention. Smtimes I feed in the morning, smtimes in the afternoon. My bbs wakes up v early at 5plus..then 7plus short nap, 8am I bathe them. After tht drink milk..one hr after milk my boy is happy to eat.

Since now is testing stage i try not to b so bothered w the timing, otherwise I will b v stressed! Wanna enjoy the feeding process w them.

I m using the lowest level for the exersaucer n they all tip toe.. Can't compare coz my set is different..they touch the floor instead of part of the exersaucer.

Baby my gal is using the lowest level coz she is not tall!! She is only 61cm at 4 mths.=s hope she will grow taller n I can upgrade the levels!

Singapoh thanks for mentioning abt the mothercare high chair!! I just went kkh mothercare during my lunch break n bot the chair. $49. Gosh I m spending so much money.... Hehehe but happy !!

Hw often can I feed ridwind as babies feedg is 2 hourly. It says up to 4x a day n I'm feeding 0.5ml only each time.

Gan, my gal also v petite size. 5mths at 62cm! she very cute..she will sit slightly sideway so tht one of her feet can touch the floor n slide herself along w one foot tip toe...

Hi Mummies and MTBs, I am new to this thread. Expecting twins in Dec. Would mummies here have CL to recommend for twins. I heard CL for twins more difficult to hire? and they are more expensive? Would really aprpeciate your advise. Thank you. =)

Hi Moms,

Anyone has been cooking broth to add into ur bb's porridge? Any simple methods to share? Thanks in advance.

Imp22,
My pd recommends 4x a day and 0.5ml each time. He said no need to add into each feed. He said alternate feed is fine but try not to add more than 0.5ml each time as ridwind ridwinds partly by increase in farting and if add too much as once, bb might get irritated with too much farting..heeee..

babygalore,
i used to cook vege stock for my girl's porridge. just dump in all sorts of odds and ends vege that i hv. e.g. carrot, pumpkin, corn, spinach. when older i use broccoli, cauliflower, celery, watercress, chicken or pork bones. sometimes i add a bit of garlic, sliver fish or ikan bilis.
i cook a small pot and then freeze in individual portions, similar to freezing puree. so everyday when i cook her porridge, instead of adding water, i use the frozen stock cubes.

Babygalore,

I just make Chix stock today.

1 whole Chix. (skinned and chopped)
5 soaked dried black mushroom
2 L water

Simmer for 2 hours

Hi Grumpus and Singapoh,

Ur broth sounds so yummy! Galic and mushrooms are all very good ideas, can add flavor and cover the meat smell as my daughter is not a super keen eater.

I will try out ur ideas this week. Thanks a zillion!

How much FM should a 6 weeks gal takes? I am feeding my gal 120ml per feed every 3 hours. PD said too much liao. Think I have overfed her. So what is the correct volume?

Prayhard
My bbs cuming to 6mths old is drinking 130ml only.. I thk u are feeding yr bb too much... Overfeeding may cause bloatedness and tummy wind.. Cause indigestion and make yr bb uncomfy...
U can try this formula... 150ml x yr bb weight.. This is the recommended total milk vol a day... Then i just divide by no of feeds per 24hr and u will get the milk vol per feed.
Eg, 150ml x 4kg then total divide by 8 feeds.

Panda
How is yr maid? Good? Any problems?
When is yr 2nd maid cuming?