IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Day, the stroller is sO nice. Looks like one of Quinny's design. The very ex n heavy One.

Gan, u have not bought stroller arh?

Tickles bot liao before i deliver but i dun find it easy to open up to use. we got a quinny zapp and recently bought the seat for quinny zapp extra to use on the zapp frame.

Who takes care of your baby when u r working? I am returning to work on 5 May...another 3 more weeks

GAn, my girls are in sch. One in childcare, the other in IFC. So fast hor, time flies. I was so reluctant to go back to work. I was asked to go back 2 weeks early so now I still have 14 days balance.

Tickles, i actually extended my leave by 3 weeks, suppose to be back working on 11 April

Did your younger gal caught the bug from infant care? Which infant care did you send baby to?

Singapoh do you allow your maids to use house phone to call home? my helper just asked if she could her hubby... i almost said ok but not sure would it be a habit that she wants to call home often? At this moment i told her to write a letter to her hub and i will post for her...

Tickles,

When u hv a preschooler it's normal lo. Just like my case, my big son went to full day CC last year. He kept falling sick. Passed to my bb boy till he warded for acute bronchitis. He coughed for so long. He is on off on ventolin inhaler and nebulizer. Doc said coz our family got history of eczema and sinus, so he has become a sensitive child.

Now that my big son attends 3 hourly in PCF school, his health has improved and he outs on weight. My gal was taken care by my MIL during weekdays at that time so she had chance to recover. My poor boy didn't have coz always expose to virus from my big son.

Now I take note of his breathing.

Gan,

I let all my maids to use my home phone to call home but they buy their own phone card.

So far my two maids didn't call home. I m the one who ask how come not calling home, don't they miss home. They said no need. I guess that they are singles and they hv each other as companion.

U can set the frequency for her to call back, like once a month after all chores are done.

Gan,
She caught it b4 she enter IFC. That time she was warded in Glen E for 8 days during CNY period. Faint~ Thats where she spends her first CNY. I also allow my maid to call back but using her phonecard. But she dun do it very frequently. Before she call she'll ask too. She told me call faster and better, write letter take long to reply. I guess calling can also heard the voice ba.

Singapoh,
The first time she caught it from the sister. which sent her to a 8 day stay in Glen E. The 2nd time I dunno how she kena again. But this time its better cos when I hear the wheezing sounds, I immediately gave her ventolin and flxotile. BUt then it didnt get better and she was put on neb for a few days then off she goes to her beloved lung specialist again. Till today still got a bit of wheezing.

Singapoh n tickles my maid just started work on Saturday so I have not pay her her first month salary, if use phonecard means I buy for her n deduct from her salary?

Did any of you have gush of blood suddenly flow out during your pregnancy?
I did FET on 9/3/11, BFP on 25/3/11...gush of blood came suddenly last sat after my shower around 6pm.
Went to KKH,got admitted on bed rest till discharge on monday.
My scan showed twins but i put in 3 embbies.
I was tinking,could the bleeding be from the 3rd?
Nervous n excited n worried coz still monitoring till my appt nxt tue.

grumpus
Now alot of different brand of sleeping bags to choose from. Bought mine using gift card, so still ok. Girl small size ok, no need to worry about her weight problem.

happyhippo
Regarding your c-sect wound, its normal to have numbness and ant-bite feeling. It will go away in the next few months, different people different rate. When I went for follow-up at 8 wks, OB said exercise is fine, but go slow or stop when you feel any sensation. Although most OB would recommend 12wks for exercise. Now I don't have those feelings anymore.

Imp
Your piles ok already or not ? I'm not trying to scare you but be prepared. My fren also have piles, went for natural, although she succeeded but her piles burst during delivery, she suspect her Dr prick it accidently during repair. She was in pain front and back.

Gan
I let my maid call home once every mth using my house phone..

Bing
Bjorn carrier arm and leg hole can adjust.. How abt the carrier itself? Meaning the space to put the baby body.. Can adjust also? If baby bigger size will it be cramp?

U mention firstfewyrs have both ergo and bjorn.. Does paragon firstfewyrs carries both brands as well?

Singapoh, Imp, Rostrum, Fancy,
Dr Loh told me no exercise when I saw him in Tri 2. Told me all the horror stories abt premature babies born ard 26-27 weeks. He was very stern when he said no exercise and minimal walking. I only listened to the no exercise part but walked as I wished. I don't have placenta issues or any complications at all. Only the bout of continuous spotting very early on in 1st tri. No lung jabs at all. Only the usual multi-vits, fish oil and calcium. I don't have backaches or any aches, except the groin/pelvic pain which started recently. That's y didn't think much abt doing any form of exercise or going for massage to relieve any pain.

Yeah, I cant believe that they are still growing as if it's only a singleton in my tummy. I'm telling himself if those triplet mummies can take the combined weight of 3 babies, carrying the weight of these 2 heavy wt shouldn't be an issue at all.

Dr Loh did say that I need not worry abt having them go into NICU now esp since girl is already 2kg. He mentioned that it's not common for twins to be so big like singleton. Just hardly seen that's all. He says he has been very lucky recently with the streak of twins delivery. NICU is really packed with all the multiples apparently. Just this month alone, he delivered 5 sets of twins. So he's extremely happy that mine are heavy wts now.

Singapoh, thanks will let her know but will let her call her hub first using our home phone idd. subsequent call will tell her buy phone cards. Think she just want to let her hub knows she is safe and sound.

bbhopeful,

i let my ger sit on bed resting her back against my bolster n between her waist n adult bolster another of her small bolster. she can sit there playing n listening to me for half an hour with falling to d side. her head is rested on d adult bolster n sort of supporting her head ba. her head does not swing sideway, stays upright n steady. just got her weight, she weighs 5.8kg now in 2mths 2 wks old.

Tickles,

Omg 8 day stay in hospital! Must be very serious. My boy and I only stayed 1 nite in kkh. He didn't really get fully recovered. Went to SBCC and at the end went to Wonderland clinic, Mount Alvernia. PD gave him nebulizer treatment. We bought the machine.

Syrah,

Ah... Dr Loh never ask me to bedrest at all or refrain from swimming. When I ask if it's ok to swim, he said ok. Did u do any exercise before u preggy?

I didn't hv any bleeding at all throughout my pregnancy. There must be a reason why he asked u to rest more. Check with him first. Many multiples are born around 30 weeks. U must be careful

bubbybear,

Thanx,as I wasn't sure since the doc was quite vague regarding the bleeding...just the there are many factors to why the bleeding might happen..and tats it.

For baby carrier, i bought a manduca as my hubby tried out the bjorn which he find the back suppot not as good, even with the one with support model.

Baby,
If you have time, maybe should go and try out the different carriers and bring your little one along to fit in it as well.

Singapoh,
Yes, 8 days. She was very breathless when she was first admitted. Took xray and found that phelgm was stuck on her right lung. Gotta be on oxygen, drip 24 hrs and neb every 4-6 hrly. A theraphist will also come in 3x a day to do tapping and after which suck out her phelgm. Very poor thing. I also bought the machine too.. I got really scared when the PD told be that the last thing she'll do is to stop breathing cos she look pale and breathless. I was terrified k..I keep checking on her to see if she's alright and breathing even at night.

Baby,
I got ergo.. I find it good.. easy to use too. I got it during a spree. Its only $65. Moreover, its authentic de.. It comes in a box with original packaging. If u're keen, u PM me k..

Rainzz,
I bleed most of the time during pregnancy. It might be due to low placenta. Do check with your doc. I had additional oil based progestrone jabs to stabilised and stop the bleeding. Its not something good, but if u handle with care, it should be fine. But do check with doc if u ever bleed again.

Tickles,

I had a progestrone jab on the day I was admitted and the duphaston intake was increased.After which the fresh bleeding stopped and became just spotting.
I only had non stop gushes of fresh bleeding on sat..no blood clots.
How was your bleeding like?
Now I am supposed to monitor for any bleeding/cramps till my appt with Dr. Sadhana nxt tue.

Rainz,
My bleeding was really terrible de. I bleed most of the time when I'm preggie. There was once I was in Macau and I bleed so much that the gynae there to me to be prepared to lose my baby. I was terrified and I cried and cried.. I had singleton. Luckily, my gynae gave me a contact in HK and I called him right away. I was given doses of HCG and progesterone. I cannot rem how many jabs I took on that very day. My gynae in SG called me and asked me to increase my utrogeston dosage too. The HK gynae told be to bed rest and take the ferry back to HK and see him immediately the very next day. When I saw him, he gave me some jabs immediately and I had to jab myself for the next few days too. After ard 7 days of bed rest in HK hotel, he cleared me and send me back to SG. When I returned I had to immediately go and see my gynae too. From daily progestrone jabs, later became weekly proluton jabs then slowly no jabs.. But on off still bleed. Mine is really bleed de. not spotting. Its like menses type. Dark red blood. Try to lie down as much as possible and not exert yourself, dun walk too much or carry heavy things.. My bleeding comes with mild contractions too. Thus, I was on lotsa injection and medication. Was on month-long medical leave at that period too.

Tickles,

Wow, thats really scary. I can understand how u feel..yes,I am lying down as much as I can.
They prescribed compression socks for me to wear during bed rest.
Lucky my parents are staying next block from me,hahaha..at least my meals are settled.
Glad you have a happy healthy baby now,and it's all worth it.

Rainz,
yes.. its really scary. sometimes when I carry my girl and recall abt my ordeal, I'll smile and tell her that she's my miracle baby.. she's a fighter.. For u, just lie down as much as possible and rest well, eat well and do not miss your medication.

Singapoh,
Did u get your combi coccoro from aprisin ?

Tickles,
Your bleeding episode sounded real scary!! ...

Rainzz,
I had a bleeding episode during Wk14 too and it started off with gush of blood (even worse off than my AF). Was hospitalized for 4 days and bleeding tapered off and I was allowed to go home. Was ordered bed rest for the next couple of weeks. Scan showed that there were still some blood clots left which Dr said it would either be absorbed by our body or discharged out again. I was cleared for 2 weeks but started having brown/dark red spotting for another 2wks+.During this period, my dr monitored me regularly and finally the spotting stopped completely and the clot was gone!! Was given oral supports during this period. Even till now, I am still resting at home and seldom go out.

Meanwhile have plenty of rest and make sure you take things real easy!!

Thanks Singapoh. Think i'll just refrain from anything basically now since my appt with him is just over and he won't bother to answer such email questions from what I've learnt. Next visit is 3 weeks later and he said it'll be the homebound stretch after that! So exciting!

i need to air my anger here again...
my mil wear d same set of clothes during dinner n den go to bed n mornin out for breakfast all d way till lunchtime still never change d clothes or bathe. she wanted to carry bb n i told her better change clothes since bb always like to suck n drool on our clothes. better to b clean. she den went to change but after packin lunch home, eat her share n went back to her room n read newspaper without offerin to carry bb which she usually do. i realise tat only when my fil or my dh ard den she will play or carry bb, if no one at hm, she simply dun care whether i eaten or hands full...
why???? why got such pax????
anyone can offer me some advice???? i see my mil pattern very very sianz, no personal hygiene at all...n oso selfish.

rainzz, congrats on your twins! Please bedrest more for the time being and request for progestrone support (proluton jabs) if necessary till more stable.

syrah, everytime I see Dr Loh, he will say rest more but I din ask about exercise though as I dun intend to do any. I even forgot to ask him whether can talk short walks in parks or not but I tink shd be able to since my walks in parks are light shoppings for bb stuffs =) So Dr Loh says after week 33 will need to homebound? During my week 25 visit, he did ask abt my nature of work, when I told him deskbound, he says then its fine else he will gv me HL to rest...So I guess our main task is to rest and eat well and minimise stress.

Rose, yr mil is a perfect actress infront of other ppl and act differently infront of u. For the hygiene part, I tink u shd tell yr dh subtly about it and hw it will affect bb....let yr dh do the talking...for me I am v straightforward kind, if she dun chg frequently, I will tell her to chg before I will let her carry my bb.

rose.. i can totally understand how u feel. i hv similar problems w my mil. everyday she drive me nutz.... sad to say we cannot control their behaviour... despite the number of times i remind her to take note of her personal hygiene, she is still gross and dirty. there was once she stuck her nose shit on my bb bottle just before a feed!

for me, i sent my mil home..and she will only come on wkends for visits when my hb is around so tht i can still maintain my sanity.

Pandawife =S i can't believe what your MIL did...i wld have freak out and threw that bottle away too. How's things at home? you managing ok with the 2 maids and yourself?

Rainzz...congrats on having twins. I had bleeding during my 1st trimester. 1st time, the doc suspect was the flushing out of the other 2 embbies that didn't implant, similar to what you are thinking. 2nd time was due to a blood clot in my womb. luckily the clot was eventually absorp by my body. like what other mummies advise, most impt now is rest, rest, rest! take the support med regularly.

Panda,
Your MIL is disgusting! Nose shit on the bottles????

Rostrum,
Ur fren can try Singapore Baby and Child clinic AMK branch.. I think any PDs there should be fine. Its quite popular I heard..

Day,
Yes, its scary indeed. Now when i think back, i also dunno how I went thru the period and still maintain my sanity.. Its crazy.. I think I do get a lot of support here. I often chat with the girls to keep my mind off.

gan.. i m sending my old maid bk tmr. her attitude is still bad. choosing food n showing black face. n she cant handle bbs.. my parents still come during the day to help me...coz just 1 maid n myself cannot handle 3 bbs.

i hv asked madeline to help me find another maid.

when i saw the dirt i went bonkers leh. i asked her what happened n she says where got nose shit... kept saying dont hv! got me so angry.. i asked her if she thinks i m blind!

Rostrum, children's clinic blk 177 Tao payohcentral #01-160. tel : 6354 0662. Mon to fri 9am to 1pm 6.30pm to 2pm

Pandwife, wah!!!

Rose, poor thing. I think you need to talk to hub.

Pandawife, hope M finds you a good helper. Mine so far ok, I think she likes baby, always asked me can she carry baby after she showers in the afternoon. I let her play with my baby in the afternoon, feed her. But my baby can recongnise pple, so initially cry and refuse to drink but subsequent days, i will stand in front of them, and my baby is ok drinking seeing me there, if not cry again.
Hmmmm.... glad you have sent your MIL home else i think you would be busy supervising her and check if got dirt on bottles.

Didn't join the forum for a long time s I was quite busy at work and also very tired once I reached home.
Went for my week 29 check up yesterday and Dr Loh told me my boy is at 1.4kg and he said it's a good weight. However, I saw from other websites the average fetal weight at week 29 is somewhere ard 1.1kg so not sure whether mine is slightly overweight. Any ideas, ladies?

Hi Starnight, used to c u in the Jul thread till u MIA.

I tink for singletons, slightly overweight is alright. Since Dr Loh says its of good weight, then u shd trust him. If it is something tt is causing alarm, he will be v frank with us...

My friend has been desperately wanting to collect the PINK stamps found on Huggies Diapers packaging(size M n above) and shes willing to pay a dollar for each stamp. If u r interested, please PM me.