IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

sisters,

is eating things that contain alcohol okay ? those wine or XO used in cooking or baking. Just realised a cake which i ate contains the above.

Rae,

no such problem. My problem at night is need to wake up every nite to pee. And I am only in 3rd month!!!

nanz,

my fren said cow milk's got animal vit a, not very good in 1st trimester, so I minimised taking cow's milk then, but still take about 1 cup every day.

Hi stumbled by,
Wow...so fast..u already in third month...
I think after first trimester should be ok, anyway is very small amt in the cake, and after baking, the alcohol also dun left much... Sometime during cooking, I also add in little amt of alcohol to enhance the taste.
So would u still still on to the same gynae?

hi jo, doxycycline is it antibiotics? cos throughtout the whole process sf loh only prescribe me with antibiotics for 7days leading up to my wife's ER...ours is male factor also...

Hope everyone is doing great here.

stumbled by,
the small amt of wine should be ok i think but can try to avoid in the furture

Jo,
My hubby took it. U can check with the nurse or doctor your doubt, they will be able to advice u better.

en_hui
I was prescrbed antibiotic when I was on puregon almost towards the end like wee says.

wee,
welcome here, nice to see a male post, so is ur wife preggie now?

Twinsmom
Hui is Wees wife
U can check out the post in cycle buddies. Poor Hui, still in hospital probably due to OHSS. Let's pray for her speedy recovery. Hope she will join us soon

En Hui

Doxycycline is the antibiotics both the hubby and wife must take. Hubby takes it when we were on puregon. Wife take it after ER. Think it is to reduce the level of bacteria in the embryos.

Thanks Wee, Best Twins,
I will ask my hubby to get it from the overseas doctor.

i think its not a crucial matter whether doxycycline's been prescribed to hubby or not...cos after i completed my course of doxycycline, there's still a few days more before the ER, hence i tried asking the nurse if there's a need to give me extra to cover the remaining few days leading up to ER, however the nurse said no need.

As for Hui's doxycycline, she was told to stop without completing the course also...

i think more importantly is that during the process, especially days leading up to ER and ET and thereafter, try not to eat seafood(known to cause alleriges), cockles is a no no(increase the likelihood of heps A, B)...this is to minimise any complications to the embryos...

LY

Ya...most likely sticking to him. Cos my hubby is afraid since doc knows all our history, better to stick to him.

How much difference is the cost when you switched to Jurong Woman's clinic ? I cant go there cos its too far away from my house. Is it same gynea for every visit ? I heard if i go other docs as private patients the cost will be about the same.

qoo,
Icic! Ya poor hui, i smsed her yesterday and then only i came to know, hope she's back soon.

wee,
pass my regards to hui please!

Hi girls, I went for my first scan today. I have one BB inside. So happy to see the tiny little dot...really feel at ease liao.

Hi Jo
My hubby took 2 tablets of Doxycycline the nite before ER. Took only one time. Doc asked me to take Doxycycline also after ER for 5 days. But I only took the night after ER, as I feel very very uncomfortable and feel breathless.

Doc say to reduce level of bacterias of sperms and embries. Be caution, do not lie down immediately after taking the pill, only can lie down after one hr later.

Nanz
Yes, the feeling is great
Congrats. Your journey to motherhood just started ..

hi qoo, any idea wats the rationale for not lying down immediately after taking of the pill? cos the nurse only told us no dairy products 2hrs before and after taking of the pills, never mentioned about this...

hi stumbled_by, tink during 1st tri, it's normal to pee in the middle of night, it will lessen/stop when u r in 2nd tri onwards. Tt's wat those pregnancy books say & my experience lah....
lucky my dreams/nitemares have stop & hopefully will not hv anymore.

Hi wee, send my regards to Hui too......
as u mentioned abt Doxycycline, nurse also advise not to take dairy products 2hrs before and after taking of the pills......

Hi Nanz, welcome to MTB..... amazing to see hw tt little dot will grow in time.....
i almost shed a tear during the last scan...... tink my hubby also a bit emotional but didn't really show his feelings kekeke.....

Stumbled by,
Ya, Will be the same gynae throught-out cos i already sign up the package with the new gynae. All my records are transferred there on my first visit, so should be no problem for the new gynae to look thru my history.The package will be same for all gynae @ $525 from 20 weeeks onwards. Actually all clinic abt the same only is more convinence for me. Properly delivery charges slightly cheaper as mine is a consultant level.All hospital charges will be the same too depend how many bedder u chose.
Your next visit izzit fall on your 16 weeks? Scan of gender only at 19 weeks lor... So got to wait patiently...

Hi Nanz,

Which hospital u from?
R u presently working?
Take care n wish u have a smooth process throught-out your first trimester, just like me...haha...

Hi Wee
My doc never tells me not to take dairy products before 2 hrs. If lie down immediately, we will feel breathless and whole chest pain. Before that, the doc got warn me, but after taking the med I totally forgotten his advice and lie down after hr. That nite was after ER, and eventually we still feel very weak and tired. Then I feel breathless and whole chest pain. Then shout to my family members to hold me up. The pain was so unbearable. Then call the doc and told him the symptoms, and he say he already warn me as this med works differently on diff ppl.

Is Hui getting better? Has she been discharged? Send my regards to her.

Hi MTBS, just wanna check something, those of you in 6 - 8 weeks, is your tummy very big ? as mine in 5 weeks and I can only see a slightly bigger tummy that's all, and I am not eating a lot yet, it is normal ?

A big welcome to all MTBs.

Just got back from Singapore and realised that there are more MTBs. Congratulations.

With regard to Doxycycline or antibiotics prescribed to hubby(ies), I think it's to clear any bacteria in the sperm detected during the SA.

A question for you gals, Is it necessary to see doctor every month? I was thinking of skipping the week 16 and fly down to see my gynae on week 20. Is it advisable? Feeling a bit tired flying down every month liao....

i've been missing these few days, cos was admitted to hospital to sew up my cervix that had shown warning signs of early dilation So scary, the procedure was under GA. This was discovered when i went for the detailed scan. Scan showed that my cervix has starting funneling, i was admitted straight away and had the procedure during that evening. Spent another 2 days in hospital and under drips and tablets to make sure that the procedure has not caused womb to contract. Dr has order complete bed rest, but with a bit of walking in the house.

i'm sharing my experience with u all so that u can take note and check with dr if u are carrying multiples and in the 20+ weeks. Cervix dilation can be silent like my case. It has not started dilating, but has shown warning signs which luckily we caught it during the detailed scan at 21 weeks. i had thick yellowish discharge twice which i suspected was infection, but i was wrong, it was also a warning sign of cervix dilation. So, do watch if u have similar symptoms, best to check with dr.

i may not be logging in so often now, cos need to take bed rest. Do take care of urselves and i will pop in later when i feel better.

hi qoo, 2hrs before and after of doxycycline consumption, cant take dairy products....tink will aftect the efftectiveness of the medication.

Hui still in hospital...

Hi Chloe,
So nice to have a mixture of boys n gal.....
How heavy r yr babies at 21 weeks?
Did dr tell u normal for triple, when is the earliest date u can deliver? Yr EDD is in Feb, right? Maybe u will be earlier than me ( mine is 20 Jan).

Take good care...

Hi Wee,
Dun be sad.... Sure hui is well taken care in the hospital. Hope that she will be fine soon...
How many weeks is hui in?

Eve R,
For safety reason, is good to let yr doc checked u when u are on 16weeks, thou no scanning required. But they will listen to bb heartbeat to ensure bb is ok. Properly, u may have some question to ask yr gynae too.
Actually, y dun u see the gynae near to ur place than flying here.

LY,

glad to hear the charges are about the same, then i will stick to PC ...

yes, my next visit is at week 16. You mean there wouldnt be scanning ? U mean doctor can listen to bb's heartbeat from sthestcope, or from 'touching' your abodomen ?

Chloe,

didi,

dont worry about tummy size, as long as it doesnt ballon too suddenly. Dont worry if u aren't eating a lot too....it should go to normal in 2nd trimester like both MTBs said

Hi Stumbled by, good to hear from you
cause my tummy is not that big, I have lost some weight too
thanks for the assurance

LY,
Thanks so much for the advise. The reason that I didn't wanna see the local gynae here is due to hygiene reason [I'm living in Kalimantan, Indonesia]. A couple of my neighbours went to see the gynae here and the feed back I got were "the environment is not sterile", "they recyle the bottles for collecting urine" and "when lying on the bed, you feel like it's next to a toilet"... After hearing all these remarks, it just puts me off seeing the doctor here. Alternatively, I can go to Jakarta but the flying time is the same as coming back to Singapore. Haiz.... That's also one reason why all the expat ladies were refered to doctors at Mt E after seeing the expat GP here.

Hi LY,

I'm with KK.
Yes, I'm working.
Thanks for ur well wishes...

So far so good for me...just feeling tired and sleepy lor, especially in the afternoon...

Hi Girls, Just to check with u all normally if the 1st AMC scan shown 1 BB that means the chances only 1 rite, cos I put in 2 embyros and was told that I need to go back for 2nd scanning to cfm if there will be another one cos it might be too small to detect during 1st scan.
Anybody has similar experience?

I am here too. Very happy to receive baby dust from you.
Well, very happy now...will have lot of queries on MTB journey.

Hi Nanz
During my 1st scan (5weeks), doc had detected 2 sacs. And ask me to scan again on 8th week. During 2nd scan, my gynae still searching for 3rd sacs and he did mentioned that sometimes the other one is too small to detect during 1st scan.
Even my recent scan (9 weeks) , my gynae is still looking for 3rd sacs and confirm with me that I have twins

All the best.

Hui
Yes, big welcome to Hui

hui and vendy,
welcome to mtb's thread, ur journey to motherhood had just begun, have fun girls...ur turn now

<font color="aa00aa">twinsmom
18weeks5days</font>

Qoo and Best Twins,

sincerly thanks to u two

i will be having my scan on week 6 which is 17th oct
.. check with u gals, did u gals have discharge during early preg?

Stumbled by,
Is a equipment to measure the heart beat, but dun know what izzit called. Also very fast, nothing much during the 4months visit.

Nanz,
I am carrying only 1 bb and is a boy, now into my 25weeeks by this weekend.
I actually put in 3 embryos, but only one sucessfully attached....is good enough...
A friend of mine, detected a second sac at 2nd scan at 8 weeks, so good luck to u for next visit.

Hui &amp; Vendy,
Congratulation to both of u.... A warm welcome...

Hi MTB,
Have anyone ever caught a flu or fall sick?
I am down with sore throat &amp; block, stuffy nose, with slight coughing. Any remedy which is safe to recommend?

hui,
Yes i had some clear white discharge during my 6,7 and 8th week. so have u informed ur family yet? how did they react?

Hi LY

I've just recovered from a cold that I caught in Singapore. I was given Chlorpheniramine [same as Piriton] for my runny and stuffy nose by my doctor and nothing else. As for cough, he asked me to drink warm honey water with a little lemon in it. For sore throat, I was told that any of the lozenges sold in stores such as Woods peppermint and strepsils can be taken. I was also asked to drink plenty of water. Hope this help. Take care.

Hui

Congratulations!

I, too, have discharge [even now]. I read somewhere that as long as discharge is clear and egg-white like and doesn't cause any itch or burning sensation, it's normal.

Best twins,
m whole family know.. my grandparent is so happy...my grandpa kp luaghing non-stop..when i hear him laugh till like that my tears drop..can imagine how long he waited
.. y great-grandma oso very happy..coz she's goin to be great-great-grandmother
.. i have this yellow discharge but not watery instead is one pcs one pcs.. my grandma say some preg women will have this symptom..

Eve,
thanks...my discharge doesn't cause me an itch or burning sensation...is white n combine with one pcs one pcs yellow in colour thing..i oso duno wat's that thing but so long i dont feel discomfort guess is ok..

Eve,
Thanks, earlier I was wonder if strepsil can be taken or not...

Hui,
Wow, u got such extended family...I dun even get a chance to see my grandma...
I also got yellow discharge till now...

CONGRATS hui, Vendy &amp; didi!!!!

hui, r u feeling better??? may i kn wat happened? hardly been logging in since started work....

pls take care, Chloe.....