IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi stumbled by

yalor, better let ur doctor know about this. Do be careful next time ok?

choco_latte, yes, u should ask for calcium supplements. i am taking 1 tab per day. As for milk, 1-2 glasses per day, each glass, i only add 3 spoonfuls cos the milk tend to make me feel very full. i saw the recommendation on mamil mama is 2 glasses a day, each glass 6 spoonfuls. Depends on ur body, some pple can take milk better than others. Initially, i tried to take 6 spoonfuls in one big glass, end up, cannot eat for the rest of the day cos really very full.

Hi cutemiracle
As I'm living overseas, I normally email my gynae if I have questions or call them during office hours to get immediate reply.

Hi Choco
Heard from my sisters that normally the doctor will prescribe calcium and iron tablets during second trimester. I, too, wasn't given anything else apart from folic acids but I make sure the food I eat contain Calcium and Iron. I drink a glass of fresh milk/milo in the morning. Like Chloe, powdered milk fills me up and I'm already feeling bloated at the moment so never take them.

hi Sisters,

seen u gals posting toking abt some Cal n Iron..
my colleague is preggie now n i saw her drinking milk the brand is "Anmum - maternal for pregnant woman"
..is those milk powder that we got to make our own..it mainly for maternity women n it contain Folic acid too and other very important proteins of maternity women

Thanks all... think I will ask doc for calcium supplements, as I don't think the one glass of fresh milk I'm drinking is enough. Haven't tried powdered milk as I'm not sure if I like the taste...is it low fat?

hello all,
regarding milk intake, the dietician in my antenatal class said that 3 glasses of fresh milk per day is sufficient for us. Those milk powder are not recommended as it has higher calories and sugar content. We can also obtain calcium from dairy products like cheese, yogurt, etc.

hi blue rabbit

oh ur dietrician dun recommend powdered milk ah? My dr recommends the powdered milk. If not for the powdered milk, i need to take 2 tabs of calcium. But since i'm taking it, i only need to take 1 tab. Perhaps they've got different schools of thots.

choco_latte, u can try the flavored powdered milk, like vanilla or chocolate. Me taking the vanilla, it is tasty and nice.

Hi blue rabbit

May I check with you when do we start going to antenatal classes? where do you go for yours and how often? Thanks.

chloe,
Ya, will first try the free milk samples when they arrive...cos I don't want to buy the whole tin and then find out I don't like the taste...but would tell doc that I prefer calcium tablets so that I'm sure I'm getting enough calcium. Our babies get their calcium from our own supply, so I'm worried if I don't get enough calcium to replenish for myself, I'll be shrivelled up when I get old...hee hee...

choco_latte

yar, better stock up calcium. i heard that if we dun get enough calcium, will get leg cramps (not sure whether this is true...)

hui, thanks for the info.

hi girls, started working PT job at ex-co. back up for a colleague from another dept, she's gg for maternity leave soon.
hence, no time to login.

went for my scan on 11/9, am now 17W5D and bb measured at 10cm. but the gender has changed from girl girl to boy boy, funny rite. anyway will b gg for a detailed scan on 13/10 & this will confirm the gender & heard can see the organs etc clearly.

hi chloe, am taking mamil mama too (sample) & find it ok. used to drink quite often during 1st tri but lz liao :p in fact, am drinking a cup now
with only 3 scoops. find tt if too many scoops, will feel very heaty & hot.... :p

rae,
thats good PT work can keep u occupied. Gender changed to girl girl to boy boy???? haha...I think this is common, its only the detailed scan that will give you accurate info. Me still waiting to know the gender, got more than 3 weeks to go. So u like boy or girl, of course i know anything is ok with us but we'll stil have a preference right.

For me, i basically like boys (esp the naughty ones) but hubby likes cute cute girls, so cant wait to find out.

Sisters

It's been long time i didn't post any msg in this thread. I enjoy reading each of your post

Just came back from check up (8w 5d), and can see my bbs heartbeats, shape of bbs, head, hands and toes Crown to rump length is 2.3cm (twin 1) and 2.4cm (twin 2). Doc say they are progressing very well. According to their measurement, I'm suppose in 9W 2D. It's to amazing to see them and really very happy. My parents and sister with me when doing scan and this is their first time seeing ultrasound scan also.

Twin 1 is sleeping so soundly but we can see lot of movement from Twin 2. He/She is very active and waving his/her hand to us, and keep moving and even shake his/her head to left and right. It's really really amazing
Even the doc say, this one going to very active. Twin 1 no much movement, only see the blinking heartbeat and seems zzz so soundly

Then doc scan again, let us see whether is there any more no.3. He scan and he say it's confirm, u have twins. We were worried there will be triplets. Be coming back again during 12th week for scan. And then we will know when is my due date.

Gosh, within 3 weeks, I gain 2.5kg, and doc say I shouldn't put on too much weight
. As I will be putting more and more for the few coming months. Looks like I should control my diet now. Can't help it, keep hungry every hour. He asked me to eat dried fruits and light snacks. Looks like I must maintain my weight during this 1st trimester.

Anyway, this trip is very fruitful and worthwhile

Twinsmom
I also want to go dye my hair as the black colour is coming out and very ugly. But still, had to endure and better don't rebond, dye during pregnancy. Those chemicals are not good for bbs even they are not touching our roots.

Sisters
Regarding powdered milk, I also so tempted to drink, but my doc say it's too fattening to mother. BBs won't get much nutrients from the milk yet. And will only need to eat calcium tablets starting from 4th month onwards.

Stumbled By
i gain 2.5kg leh within 3 weeks leh
scary hoh. Doc ask me not to gain anymore and must control. Hungry eat dried fruits. Not solid foods. So have to really control as i believe that my weight will increase in coming mths.

twinsmon, yes true. i thot i will fall asleep after lunch & even brought a bottle of essence of chicken to office. who knows work keeps me bz tt i dun hv time to think abt tireness & sleep....
our preference is girl so tt she can take care of her siblings :p

hi qoo, looks like both of ur bbs are doing well. as for milk, my gynae oso advised me nt to drink too much. am taking calcium tablets now thou.

besttwins/chloe,

yalor...i din wash my hands after applying the repellent. i called up Poison Control Centre at SGH to ask, but they don have much statistics on the ingredients, let alone for pregnant women. They said the 'ingredients' i mentioned may cause gastric discomfort, but i told them i have 'gastric discomfort' like vommitting, nauseous etc, so cant differentiate ;P

qoo,

What dried fruits ? care to enlighten me ? I am usually taking cakes and breads. seems high in carbo

sisters,

my fren told me milk products contain 'animal Vit A' (i am not sure the correct term), so she advised me not to take too much. She said its better to have plants vitamin A (like carrots, soya beans), but of cos, we should limit our Vit A intake. So now i scrutinised the milo/horlicks/cereals/milk powder I am drinking to see the Vit A content. thus, i also try to minimise drinking milk to one cup a day. I dont eat cheese and seldom eat eggs so i can minimise the Vit A contents from animal products. Not sure if this is true but my fren said if want to take milk products better wait till 2nd trimester...

I'm now approaching my 32 weeks and my bb weighs 1.6 kg as of last Sat, everything is progressing well except I have placenta previa which Doc Loh gave me 5 days MC this week to rest at home. I also hv very bad heartburn which makes me very uncomfortable everyday esp. at night. All in all, I'm still taking it well as I think it's worth all these discomfort as long my bb is healthy and strong. Oh yes, she moves and kicks alot and it never fails to make me smile whenever I see her moves inside me.

Eve_R,
I start my antenatal class after my 5th month, that's the best time as ur tummy is not too big and not too tired at 2nd tri. I attended my class at KKH for $120...10 lessons in all, each lesson abt 1.5 hrs every week.

blue rabbit,
sorry to know abt the placenta previa, btw wats that? hope its not anything serious! Does that mean you will have to go c-section?

ya i read that the heart burn will be bad during third trimester, soo scared as i usually have it. Ur gals, kicking must be the best thing in this world rite? I cant wait to feel also, so far not felt anything really like kicking.

stumbled by,
i m not very sure abt the animal vit A, but i only avoid food that are very high in vit A, anyway i was not able to drink milk at all during my first trimester. Now can drink but not everyday but alternate days or once in 3 days.

blue_rabbit,

u must bevery excited as the day approaches. have u thot of whether to do it naturally or c-section ? using epidural or just gas mask ? I have been thinking about it but for me its a long way to go still....

for the antenatal class is it open to public (ie non KKH patients as well ?) ? is it during weekday nights ?

best_twins,
Placenta previa is a medical condition in pregnancy where the placenta is low, in some cases it may block the cervic and hence bb could not pass thru the birth canal. In my case Doc Loh said I hv 80% chance to go natural birth.

stumbled_by,
Yes very excited, esp now I'm starting to wash my daughter's clothes and other stuff, even more looking forward to the big day. I definitely want to hv a natural birth as recovery time will be shorter. I'm open to epidural but will not go for it unless I can't take the pain anymore.

KKH antenatal class is open to all, $150 fpr non-patients at KKH. $120 for patients. U can choose to go on weekday nites or weekends, depending on your schedule. But the weekend classes are usu fully booked very early so hv to try ur luck.

Stumbled By
Dried frutis are those in prepack, like dried cranberries, prunes, apricots etc.. can find those in NTUC, cold storage..etc
How do u feel now? My breasts is very itchy every day and nipples are very dry, like goose bumps and flaking. Can't stand the itchniess and keep scratching at nite

hi qoo

Perhaps u can try putting on some nipple cream. i bought one tube from mothercare at $5. So far, it works for me. Try not to scratch, cos the more u scratch, the more itchy it will get.

Hello Ladies, I'm new to this thread. Just got my result on sat and it was positive. By the way, can someone pls advise me what to expect during my ist appt. Im with Kk, and was told to go AMC before seeing the DR next wk. What is AMC? They nvr explain to me leh cos tat time they are busy and jus ask me go AMC then see DR. Oh yah, I went thru ISCI process and have 2 embryos put in.

Can someone share their experience to me after test postive for preg. I dun have any symptons for preg except for the big tummy (since ET) and feeling of tiredness. Oh yes, oso i have very good appetite since ER till now, hence put on weigh even before the test. Any advice or diet that I have to take note of now? Thanks.

qoo,

i don have the nipple problem. in fact there are no changes to my body, except my face and tummy. i still have evening sickness. I dont throw up but i feel bloated and 'stuck' all night :p i thought by 12 weeks should be better, hopefully by 16th week i get better..

nanz,

i start getting evening sickness from week 6 onwards. i was surprised i don feel anything for first few weeks too, so enjoy yourself now :p dont worry, not everybody will feel something different..

Nanz,
Big congrats on ur pregnancy Nanz,
AMC is antenatal monitoring centre or something like that, detailed scans are usually done here for kkh patients. yes u have to go there for scan first before seeing doctor, they will tell u how many babies u have and the size, heartbeat etc.

pregnancy symptoms vary for each of us, some of us had severe Morning Sickness(MS) by 5th or 6th week while other did not have any or had some. For now, I would suggest that u eat healthy, balanced food. Add more fuits, vege and protein to ur diet. Try to avoid, caffeine, soft drinks like pepsi, coke etc and chemically processed food. Try and rest as much as u can whenever possible. Hope this helps, may the other sisters will give you more info. BTW, who is ur doctor?

Stumbled by, thank u for the advice...By the way, I really eat alot now. But I am only abt 3 weeks+ since ET, Is it normal? Hard to stop the food crave as i will think of this and tat to eat. Yes, I really like salty and sour stuffs now. I have put on abt 2 kg since ET.

Hello Best Twins, thank u for the well wishes. I'm with Dr. Sadhana during the ISCI process and will still stay with her for my pregnancy.
I really very kan cheong now, but still sometime feel worry how come no symptons (even i noe not all woman have symptons) other than eat and eat. I used to be skinny type but now everybody see me say i put on weight and is only a mere 3 weeks since ET. So getting worry, but contrl liao. But my tummy really growing big, i was wondering so fast meh or it is the med effect? Sorry, i may be repeating myself but 1st time really no experience and abit lost here & there.

Best twins, can list a few examples of wat are the chemical processed food? Sour prunes, wu hua guo, skittles condsider in this category? Cos i eat alot of these junks oso.

Nanz,
The weight and tummy could be due to medicines, usually after a ivf/icsi pregnancy the tummy will swell as the pregnancy hormones will trigger the ohss (thats what the nurse told me), my tummy was very huge after i tested +ve but later around 6 or 7 weeks it went down, keep drinking plenty of water. its ok to put on weight but of course not too much during the first trimester, so like i said u can choose ur food wisely, try to avoid food that are fatty or oily, more vege and fuits wont add too much weight i guess. Fish is also very good. Hope this helps. U can borrow books from the library on healthy eating during pregnancy.
I'll try to find the website that has info.

nanz,

yes, could be due to OHSS cos tummy shouldnt grow big at this stage (3 weeks+ ET?).....is it your impression or did you measure your waistline ?

i also need to eat often, tho i throw up and dont like food (ie no appetite!) seems ironical hor.. there was once when i need to eat every 2hours cos my stomach feels empty. but later my weight shoot up a bit and i control myself. now i still need to eat something in between meals and also supper. like what qoo said, try to eat healthy snacks tho its easier said than done. carbohydrates still make u feel like u have eaten ;P

Hi Nanz,
Congratulation to u..

I also start to eat alot after tested positive. I put on alot of weight in first trimester. My doc din said much. Just eat more fruits n wdrink plently of water. If u feel very bloated, can take in at least 3 egg white per day or drink protein drink.
Everybody has different symptoms, so not too worry.
Most impt is stay happy & Rest well n u should be ok

hi, hi didi reporting ....

Best_Twins, guessed you and me are the same, I am also very bloated, but it has managed to gone down a bit. Can I checked something with you, if we fall sick (ie fever and cold) where should we see doc ? as I am worried a GP might prescribe wrong medicine.

didi,
Welcome to the thread

If we are sick we can see a GP, however the GP will also give you only the normal penadol, normal penadol is safe during pregnancy, remember no other penadol like flu, extra but only the normal round one. If any GP gives u other medications for fever then u need to check with doctor, for me doctor said, normal penadol is the best and sisters here also recommend that. Try to eat healthy and improve your immune system so that u wont fal sick. For me i was sick for almost 3 weeks (flu and fever on and off) during my 9th to 11th week cos my MIL was having fever at that time and she passed it to me so i suggest u stay away from sick people haha...

hi didi

Welcome on board, so happy for u!

Best is try not to fall sick, well, easier said than done!!
i will see GP when i am sick, but before i start taking the medication, i will check with my gynae whether the medicine can be taken. i understand from other threads that for panadol, ok to take normal ones, but not those that contain muscle relaxant. Try not to come into contact with sick pple at this time.

Hi ladies, I am feeling very paranoid now!!! This coming thursday 1st time scanning...and hope my BB or BBs is really growing well inside cos these fews day I dunno is it due to self-cautiouness just have feelings of tummy cramp on and off, backaches, but at times just dun feel anything...then thinking am i really preggie....somemore now down with flu and fever like Didi...really hope thursday come soon so i can see the BB/BBs inside to make me feel at ease....my hubby say i think too much liao...but dunno why i jus still feel so stress leh...
kao_confused.gif

stumbled_by/Best twins, just check with u girls I am taking HL milk every AM now as i heard the powered milk may be too heaty...is it oK? I will make it warm by microwave...

LY thanks for ur wishes...

hi nanz

Well, it is normal to feel paranoid. When i was tested positive, i could not believe it, so i actually wasted another test kit just to make sure still got double line!!
It's normal to feel this way cos at this stage, ur MS has not yet started so u keep asking urself whether something has gone wrong. Do enjoy urself now before MS starts to kick in.

i drink powdered milk, but recently cut down cos it makes me feel very full. But if u can take it, then it should be very nutritious cos it is specially formulated for preggies. It contains iron and calcium that u need for pregnancy.

Chloe, just to check with you. Did you happen to have running nose ? if so, can I know what medicine did the doc prescribe for you, the gp gave me piriton, wonder if it is safe ? just kiasu

Nanz,
I think its best for u to drink whatever milk u like...but like chloe says, the powedered mil which is specially formulated for pregnant women is best but some of us cannt take it, for me i cant take it so I drink it once or twice a week and then drink fresh milk at times.

MS means Morning Sickness, hope u dont get it

hi nanz

Yes, MS means morning sickness.

didi, no, the only medication i took was when i had UTI (antibiotics). i had flu 3 weeks ago, but managed to suppress it within 1-2 days without medication, i was lucky i wasn't running a temp or having a running nose. Better check with ur doctor if u not sure whether piriton can be taken.
For flu, the best medication is to sleep as much as u can, and drink lots of fluid. i made some ginger water (just boil ginger with water), i drink it then go to sleep, perspire a lot but after i wake up, feel so much better. If ur body is not the heaty type, can try ginger water.

Chloe, thanks but my body belongs to the 'heaty' kind so think I will give ginger drink a miss, thanks

hi MTBs, do u have frequent dreams/nightmares ever since you are preggie? I found out I had it very often, sometimes every night....
it can be strange, funny, sad, happy etcetc. Jus last night, I dreamt that I had died & was at my own funeral!!!!
*sob, sob* and woke up crying.....

Hi IVF mummies

Going thru' IVF now. KKH prescribes doxycycline for my hubby, but he is overseas this week and did not take it. I am not sure if my hubby does not take the antibiotics, will it affect our success rate?

Want to check with you all, do all of your hubbies take doxycycline during your cycle?

Hi Jo,

I am now on Lucrin and Dr Loh did not prescribe my HB with any medications though my problem is mainly male factor. Did yr Dr explain the reason for prescribing yr HB with the drugs?