IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Novena sq cedele at 10am sounds gd.

Grumpus,
What car are u driving? It looks spacious even with 2 car seats. If I put 2 car seats in my car, we hardly have much space to sit for the back row. Thinking of changing to a MPV like honda stream but the COE is crazy now.

Rostrum,
I bought 2 car seats but only put 1 in the car and the other one is collecting dust in the storeroom. If we put 2 car seats in the car, only 1 person can squeeze in between the 2 car seats. So u may wanna consider getting a more compact car seat and probably get 1 to try out first. If u train the babies to sit on the car seat since young, they will get used to it. My friends' babies who had been taking the car seat since birth have no problem. A few who started after the babies were 8 months or above have problem getting the babies to take the car seat now.

We paid the CL taxi fare to travel from the queen st bus terminal to the hospital the day I was discharged. Initially she requested for my hubby to pick her up from the bus terminal but my hubby was too busy to fetch her. So we asked her to take cab instead.

Gan,
I feel akward too when I bring my helpers to go shopping. Bringing them to friends' or relative's house still ok. But if bring them to shop, they follow us wherever we go and eat whatever we eat. I'm not used to eat. That's why my hubby and I will usually bring 1 baby out and leave the other 1 at home with the helpers if we are going to the shopping mall.

Bing, ya.. Tts y tinking to get 1 first.. We tinking to chg car but 2nd hand one for more car space. If really chg will buy 2 n hv them trained since young.

Honda stream dun hv big boot space unless u knock down the 2 seats at d back..so in d end will still become 5 seater also.

Mummies, sorry... One more question.. Any idea where to get nice n comfy bedding set? Dun wan to get too exp one though.. Wanna get a few sets for chging just in case..

rostrum,
my #1 using peg perego infant car seat, my #2 using maxi cosi child car seat. i dun recommend either cos they're quite bulky but we like them.

my friend drives a toyota vios. highly recommends the combi Coccoro convertible car seat. can use from birth till 4-5yrs old. she installed 2 in her vios and can still squeeze one person in the middle.

Bing,
I'm driving a SUV, hehehe that's why it looks so spacious. but even then only hv space for one person to squeeze in the middle. no way can sit more than one.

we convert our SUV to a MPV when necessary cos the booth space can sit 2 more :p

Hey, are we meeting at <font color="ff0000">United Square (#B1 - 34/35/36)</font> or <font color="ff0000">Novena Square (#01 - 01/02)</font> Cedele?

There's a Cedele at both places. Need to clarify otherwise we'll miss each other on Fri!

Grumpus what model is ur maxi cosi? Urs seems more spacious. Mine is the basket kind n I think my daughter is going to outgrow the seat soon. Was telling hub we need to buy a new car seat soon, maybe during the great singapore sale.

Bing I didn't want to have lunch outside coz not sure if she is to eat with us? Or we eat n order another set for her after we eat? What do u do when u dine out? Btw realized we are from same JC but I must be many batches before u

Gan,
my infant seat is not maxi cosi. it's peg perego. infant seat supposed to last till one yr old lei, think all abt the same size. u'll just hv to somehow squeeze yr girl in cos it's not safe for them to sit in a forward facing car seat yet.

Gan,
Oops, i just realise y u got confuse. cos i said #1 using peg perego and #2 using maxi cosi.
shd be the other way round! :p

oh if u need a new car seat can consider those convertible ones. cos they're usually bigger and able to accomodate till 4yrs old. except they can be installed both rear facing and forward facing.

Rostrum,

Maids here can only registered at 1 address. Some maid don't mind cleaning more than 1 address but it's not in black and white. Of coz agent will say ok but if the maid complains to MOM, they will deny everything. Employer may get fined or jail term. I read in the newspaper before.

1 sister here with twins are using 2 Coccorro combi in her 5 seater car. Her babies are now over 10 kegs each and still sits comfortably in them. If u get infant carseat like Grumpus's it will look cramp when yr babies are bigger. Might as well get those from newborn till 4 years old type. Coccorro is till 4 years old. $369. My Aprica is close to $700

Btw I saw an interesting clips to secure 2 strollers to form a twin stroller at Isetan, Nex.

Grumpus hehehe ya I was staring at ur #2 infant seat n thinking what model coz look different from mine. Think I will check out the combi coz the price Singapoh mentioned seems affordable as can use up to 4 yrs old. Wonder when is the next isetan private sale coz usually have discount got combi

Grumpus, but d peg prego one looks comfy.. So NBs not safe to sit at car seat facing front? Shd b the other side? Din kw got convertible ones..

Singapoh, will chk out d cocorro Combi but v exp wor..

U saw d clips? Any idea wat brand?

Singapoh, hope I can breeze thru the 2 years with helper..get helper really heng suay... If they suka suka go complain, I Jialatz...

Rostrum,
Yes, nb cannot seat facing forward cos their necks and spines r not strong enuff to withstand the impact in the event of a crash (touch wood!)

For yr case, better to get convertible cos u need to get 2. When the twins reach one u can still continue to use until 4yrs old. If u divide out is not exp. Otherwise u need to get 2 infant seat, then another 2 child seat, not worth it!
For me, one kid at a time, makes sense to get infant seat then upgrade to child seat then infant seat pass down to #2.

ru can take normal panadol but not sure if will help you recover quickly from flu leh. maybe go see a GP and let him know you are breastfeeding.

Grumpus, really appreciate d advice on car seats. Thanks, will chk out d convertible ones..mk sense if I intend to use for long term..

S'pore law must use car seats till Hw old?

Singapoh, pm u, thanks

rostrum,
child needs to be in car seat until 15kg (that's anywhere from 3-5yrs depending on individual kid). after 15kg, they can use a booster seat with the regular car seat belt. the booster seat is essentially just a cushion to let them sit higher and use the car seat belt comfortably without it 'strangling' them. they can stop using the booster once they are tall enough.

Bing, working wife, grumpus, fashion spree,
Think Celede at NovSq isn't as spacious as the United Sq's. Lets meet at 15Apr Fri @ 10AM Cedele United Square (#B1-34/35/36) - just opposite Cold Storage supermarket.

Singapoh, I am also using Aprica car seat. Hubby only installed the car seat last weekend. By the way, how often do you wash the car seat covers?

Grumpus &amp; Gan. Thks for yr advice. Just came back fr clinic. Just gave me running nose med (chlorpheniramine). Grumpus is right regular panadol ok but not all cold relief panadol is fine. ( jfyi)

Singapoh
Same same... I order one set of meal for my maid with a drink also.. I share drink with my hb...
U and maid eat together? Then who take care of bb?

Gan
Yes i bring my maid along when shopping.
Usually i will leave the two strollers with her outside the shop while me and hb go shop shop... If the shop is spacious enough then she will help to push the strollers while we go see tins.. She will just stand aside.. If bb needs attending then she help to carry and coax the bbs..

Initially im not used to bringing my maid out.. So will leave her at hm while my hb and i bring two bbs out.. But now used to it liao... I find it better cos she can help to take care bbs.. And help us take our purchases...

Panda/gan
Are u still wrapping yr bbs when sleeping at night?
Im still wrapping them.. But cos they will be learning to roll over so not safe to have cloth wrapping them... But scare if no wrap they wont feel secure and wont sleep well... Cos they are aldry used to wrapping since day 1.... How ah?

Somemore they sleep in aircon rm... No wrap wont feel cold meh? Cant have blanket also cos dangerous since they are learning to flip...

since u r all on the topic of carseats..sometimes during car rides, need to breatfeed baby, so will be out of the infant car seat. shd be ok right? although i always try to coax him till we reach destination, but sometimes no choice i jus hv to bf coz i find it very distracting for hubby to drive with baby crying. how do u all manage?
hahah i also share drinks with hubby when outside

baby, i never wrap my baby for sometime le. i bought those long sleeves with footing cover body suits from mothercare for her to wear at night, air con is set at 27 degree. but will still put a cover up to her chest. i usually will wake up a few times at night to check on her or feed her.

Happy i do breastfeed in the car when my gal is screaming due to hunger but usually before going out or coming home, i would feed baby first so that she won't be hungry during the journey.

Happyhippo,
I either plan it such that I bf just before getting in the car, or I let bb cry till we reach destination. Most of the time our car trips dun take more than 20min anyway.
I also frequently drive alone with bb so taking her out of the seat to bf is not even an option.

grumpus when u are driving, ur baby is in the front seat or still at the back? if at the back how do you check on her?

Baby,

Once we are seated down, I will give teething biscuits for my twins. It will occupy them for awhile coz teething biscuits are hard. They take time to chew.

We all try to eat together. Usually my hubby feeds our big son. If babies fuss, maid will attend. I hv 2 maids.

Just faith,

I don't wash very often unless there is vomit or spillage and it stain the seat cover. Btw the cover cost $100+. so ex :S

Happyhippo,

I try to make sure bbs are fed before driving.

Ru,

I m also taking chlormine. I only take at night coz it makes me very drowsy.

gan,grumpus
thks for sharing. ya most time i will also try to bottle feed him before going out. his fussing happens when we are out for longer time when feeding timing gets a bit off..

Baby,

If u wrap bb from shoulder also quite dangerous. It can get loose and cover bb. Till now I dun give blanket. Only a bolster. Not even a pillow at night

Gan,
My girls sit at the back. If yr front passenger seat has airbags, cannot put car seat.
Err, I dun check on my girl. I listen to her crying. If true discomfort I will stop the car, settle her, buckle her back up n continue on. Otherwise I just continue on.

baby..my bbs sleep on tummy de...so no wrappig. i jusr dress them in long pants only. sleep in air con 26degree. no blanket too.

Oh I didn't know there's Cedele at United Sq cos I haven't been there for a while. I usually go to Novena Sq/ Sq 2.
See u guys this fri. I haven't decided whether I should drive over with my baby or take cab down. I haven't tried driving alone with the baby on car seat before.

Gan,
So far we brought the babies with 2 helpers to restaurant twice. Both helpers ate together with us as the babies were sleeping. But I think if we are going to restaurant next time, we will probably just bring 1 baby and leave the other baby with the 2 helpers at home. We can't be bringing the 2 helpers with us to restaurants all the time. And I don't feel very safe to leave the maid at home alone.
Oh we are from the same JC? Which class are you from? I'm from 96S33. I think you are the most only 4/5 years before me cos I'm also in my thirties already

Grumpus,
Your SUV is quite spacious. I thought it's a MPV. We like this Suzuki SUV very much but we realize that SUV is a 5 seater afterall. Still not big enough for us so we are considering getting a MPV now. Your little girl has so much hair and it's so black!

Rostrum,
With the crazy COE now, it's really not worth to get a new MPV so we may consider getting a second hand one. Honda stream is just one of the options. We are looking at Mazda 5 too. It has sliding door and is also quite spacious. Very easy to get to the last row as compared to other MPV.
What car are you looking at? There are not many MPV in the market. It's either Toyota Wish/ Picnic, Honda Stream/ Odyssey or Mazda 5.