IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

didi,
Ya lor, on top of bb's stuff, the $$ we spent for pre-conception checks, IVF treatment, the antenatal check-ups, delivery also come out to be a BIG sum. I think easily can come out to be $20~30K... hmmm... come to think of it, we really 'se3 de2' hor.

hi blue rabbit

haha... paisei, i thought the cot mobile is intercom. cannot stop laughing, so funny. well, babies really cost a lot hor, moreover the things they used are specially formulated for them... no wonder so pricy.

HiHi all,
After seeing blue rabbits list, cant wait for my scan for going shopping, today went to metro and isetan for window shopping, so cute i like the new born clothes. I think the price some wat similar to kiddy palace, must go taka and other places to check as well. But too tired cant walk much, having back ache now. dont know how to shop liao!

Hi Blue rabbit

Thanks for sharing the list with us. Your compilation is really a great help for all new MTBs. For me, the cost is even higher, having to fly back every month for my routine check-ups add more to the cost. I think I've already spent more than $20k. However, at the end of it when you look at the cute little one, I think it's all worth it.

Hi LY

How exciting, you can feel the movement of your baby liao
. I'm like you too, can hardly control when it comes to good food, especially when I'm back in S'pore [where the food is so much better than Balikpapan]. I'm so worried that I'm gonna put on a lot of weight. I'm big to start with and now very scared that I'll eventually turn into a Ball.
kao_scared.gif

Hi twinsmom

How is your backache? Read in a pregnancy book that there are some exercises that we can do to relief the pain. Can't recall it offhand. Maybe you can check the books you've borrowed from the library if there's anything on exercise during pregnancy.

Hi Chloe

I suffer from bloatedness on some days as well and couldn't drink much water too [felt nausea when force myself to drink]. On days like that, my urine would be darker and had a stronger smell. Wonder if it's due to the fact that our body is not having enough water to dilute the content in the bladder. What do you think? You still having this problem?

Hi Eve_R,
Thanks, the back ache comes everytime i walk for more than five min, ya i have read abt the excercise in books and also blue rabbit had posted in the archived pages how to do it. but i m too lazy to do haha...

So when is your first scan?

Hi twinsmom

I had my first scan nearly 2 weeks ago. I'll be back again middle of the month, staying for 2 weeks as there are more scans and blood test, I think. Hope all goes well.

Good morning MTBs,
Isetan is hvg a baby fair now till 22 Sep. I bought a 'Lucky Baby' playpen at $99 (without mattress) $131 including matress. Suitable for newborn till 2 yrs old. I'm getting it for my mother's place and I think worth buying lor. There are also other bb stuff that u can get. Like Avent feeding bottle is also much cheaper at Isetan now.

hi blue rabbit

Isetan having sales ah. Great! Is it also 20% discount? i know Metro sales is ending this weekend.

Eve_R, my bloatedness problem still there. Even if i force myself to drink lots of water, i got very little urine sometimes. The best batch is in the morning, wow, full force and got a lot, but yellow lar. Still working hard on it, trying to drink more fluids, cos plain water does not seem to be that "attractive". The smell of the urine still lingers around, it is on and off, sometimes have, sometimes dun have...

twinsmom, me too, cannot walk for too long... Sometimes i wonder is it becos i dun exercise that's why muscles degenerating. But there again, dr's advise for multiple preg is not to exercise, he asked me to SIT more... So when i go shopping centre, i need to find place to sit every half an hour, so terok... i'm afraid soon i cannot go out liao, cos i think my stamina is draining very quickly... feel very breathless each time i go out.

Hi Sisters

What type of fruits we should avoid during pregnancy?

I eat few pieces of watermelon last nite, and my mum say too 'liang' but MIL say it's ok to eat few pieces. Everything I eat, my mum say cannot, but my MIL say can. So I list out some of my fav fruits here, and would be great if u all share with me yr knowledge too

Both say ok to :
Apples

Del Monte Banana / Green banana - Both say no

Mum say totally no but MIL say eat in moderation
Oranges / Watermelon / Honey Dew / Dragon Fruit / Strawberry / Kiwi

Lots of fruits mum forbid me to eat, but I also secretly eat, heee....

hi qoo

i know the del monte banana and pineapple is a no. My mom said watermelon, papaya cannot eat. i do take a few pieces of honey dew once in a while. Not sure whether can take, but turns out ok for me. i take strawberries too. i am quite turn off by oranges nowadays, and i still dun like kiwi and dragon fruit as usual. Nowadays i very lazy, so usually will take grapes (seedless ones), close eyes also can eat. heehee...

Actually i think so long eat in moderation, most fruits should be ok.

Chloe,
I'm not sure Isetan hvg how many % sale leh... there was an advertisement in ST on last Sat and the price tag on the sale items are also discounted price.

qoo_gal,
Strawberries and kiwis are very good for pregnant ladies cos very high in Vitamin C. When u eat fruits, try to eat 1 serving of fruit from each colour group, e.g. honeydew(white), papaya(orange), kiwi(green).

Hi qoo,
I was told not to eat papaya and pineapple by MIL, other than that i have been eating all kinda fruits lately like,
green bananas, apples, grapes, rock melon, honey dew, water melon (twice or once a week), pear, kiwi, strawberry, mango, rambutan, peach, and plum.

I read in books that can actually eat all kinds of fruits even papaya and pinepple but i dare not take it as mil is very strong about it. I dont take orange (but i love to eat) cos i have gastritis and it will make my heart burn worst.

Chloe/Bluerabbit/twinsmom
Thanks, I had better idea now what to eat and not to eat. As a conclusion, papaya and pineapple is a no no.

My hips been aching every nite and I'm not sure whether to go see doc or not. My next scan is on next Fri only. I also eager to see bbs development.

Just curious, for those working mtbs, how to you stay awake as I heard that during pregnancy, most of the times, you will feel tired and sleepy.

Hi Qoo

What I have been told was to avoid having too many fruits that are acidic; avoid having too much papayas, tomatoes and carrots due to the pigmentation and not to eat too much of the "liang" fruits. Think apple and pear are the safest. I also eat grapes occassionally. Hope this helps.

today had doc appointment, both the babies are doing ok (about 9 cm) and i m soo relieved and happy now. Thanks for all the support and prayers. I have also put on 1 kg. Take care all.

God bless all!

Came back from my review. Babies are 13cm at week 18. 2 boys and 1 still unknown.

twinsmom, heehee... so coincidental, we both see drs today.

Eve_R,
Thanks, u take care too.

Chloe,
Ya lo...so u have 2 boys already, lets pray the other one is a girl, but what ever, I m sure whether all girl or all boy also fine with us rite?

Doc said cannot see the gender yesterday so must wait another five weeks to know...so siao!

hi all, like chloe, was at mum's plc, no internet access so din login
507811.gif
all newbies

while at my mum's, she asked me to eat all types of fruits except pineapple & banana, the rest like papaya take moderation.... have been taking red apples, longan, oranges, kiwi, papaya, mango, plum, peach, pears etc....
but not everyday cos lz kekekeke...... my mum told me to eat whatever i like in moderation. she had pineapples everyday while preggie with my sis!!! the fruit stall uncle even told my mum tt he's not gg to sell any pineapple to my mum... hehehehe but ct be help cos tt's her craving...

dun tink will buy many clothes cos will recd hands me down from my sis but bought a 2nd hand car seat at $120 (Maxi Cosi). Ex hor compare to blue_rabbit

Hi Rae

Hi long time din hear from you. I haven't decided on any Gynae yet in Sing. Went for 1st check up (during my 5weeks plus) in Msia. And going back for 2nd check up/scan next week (Fri). I'm 7weeks plus now. Will be flying to and fro forthnightly or monthly during first few months (probably till 5th month) , until doc in Msia says bbs are stable and I will continue check up / scan in Sing.

We were thinking of delivering in Msia too but yet to confirm. In Sing we can claim medisave , I think only up to certain amount. But in Msia, will be forking out hard cash. The hospital bill in Msia around RM5K++ , confinement lady around RM2K, ticket fares to and fro for hubby and PIL , and etc. So many factors to consider. Anyway, too early to worry too much. Praying for my bbs are growing well and will be healthy.

How is your bb? How many weeks are u now? Had know the gender?

Stumbled by
Long time never see u online, how are you and bb?

Chloe
Hope will be mixture, 2 boys n 1 girl is perfect. But it's really so sweet when seeing yr bbs. Can check with you, in Sing, the doc is doing abdominal scan or V-scan? And how's the scan look like, black n white right? In Sing, can we request to print out the scan? During my 1st scan,only see two sacs (no yolk in it).

Twinsmom
Great to hear bbs are doing great. U must be very very excited for the next scan. Pray you will will get mixture, but even same gender, never mind. Importantly, BBs must be healthy

hi qoo

For private hosp, the dr will do the vaginal and abdominal scans. Not sure about public hosp, maybe the rest of the gals can advise. At an early stage around 6th week, they may use v-scan. After that, it will be abdominal scan. Yes, the scan is in black and white, u can request for a printout, the printout is free. u will prob see heartbeats in ur next scan, maybe the first scan was at a very early stage, that's why still cannot see the heartbeat, but from the number of sacs, can roughly tell how many babies u are expecting.

hi qoo, icic... very tedious of u to travel to-fro for check-ups but it's worth it. Still u hv to take care. Am into my 18th week now. Lotsa changes to my body & complexion
most likely girl girl but hope can confirm when check up on Mon afternn...
take care....

Chloe
Thanks. Just very excited for next week scan. During yr 8th week scan, what did u see?

Rae
Yup, it's quite tiring, but it's worthwhile. According to old wives tales, if u having drastic changes on yr complexion, then it's boy. If you look pretty and fresh at all time, then it's girl, same hormone mah. Hee...lot's of old wives tales..Good luck on yr scan on Mon.

qoo_gal,
I can imagine how excited you are for your next scan.
In my week 8 scan, i could see the heartbeats (a blinking white dot in each sac). Can't recall if the doc let me hear the heartbeats that week. Also measured the crown-to-rump lengths of each embryo (mine averaged around 1.5cm)... You'll be even more excited at that moment to know exactly how big your babies are in your tummy. Remember to ask your doc for a printout of your scan. I was happily staring at my printout until my next scan.

qoo,
me looking same skinny still, only tummy is standing out, in fact hubby tells me i look skinnier than before except for the tummy. My face is full of pimples and lot of tiny black dots kinda thing appearing above my chest and at the back. looks so ugly liao! So is it boy according to the old wives tales?? My mil says, if women's complexion is bad then its a gal, dont know la....I found out this website which discusses abt pregnancy myths, enjoy reading!

http://www.womenfitness.net/preg_myths.htm

choco,
how's things going on for u? when is your next scan

love all
twinsmom
15W4days

best twins

good that only your tummy sticks out, so it shows u only gain weight at the tummy area
You only gain 1KG so far...*envious* see my posting to qoo below for my weight gain. When did your complexion problem start ? Mine ever since week 6 or so, my face is red and dry. Red esp after i threw up, or when i felt nauseous. The redness is especially bad around the mouth and sides of nose....cant leave home without foundation. What about u ? Do u cover with foundation or just leave it ?

Maybe u want to use some oil control facial wash.. Sorry cant help much cos i am also puzzled by my dryness problem. Whatever moisturiser or rich cream i apply, still peeling and red

qoo,

my morning sickness is getting better but yesterday and today came back again..But overall still have nauseous feeling. Bloated feeling is more or less 'gone' by now but still have it after meals. My appetite is more normal now as in I dont eat so often now but i still need to eat in between meals. Do u get hungry easily ? I think i put on more than the 'necessary weight' in 1st trimester and i havent reached end of 1st trimester yet! read somewhere the average weight put on in 1st tri is ~2-3 kg. Now I am < week 12 but inching towards 3 KG weight gain already...hiaks..

pregnant at W10-W11

Choco_latte
Thx for the info. Yup, very excited loh. Keep praying that bbs are growing well . Yes, seeing bbs growing during each scan is so amazing and feel so touched
I will ask for print out if have.

Twinsmom
That's a informative link! Thax. Looks like point no 3 is the same with old wives tales. If complexion breaks out, and yr nose is bigger than usual, looks ugly, then it's boy. Hee... just myth from frens, just listen loh, don't take it too serious. But point no 2 is diff from what I heard. If ppl walk behind yr back and don't know u are pregnant, it's more pointed shape then it's boy. If u look pregnant from behind , all round shape then it's girl.
Another myth to share, if wear maternity dress, old generation will be able to tell sexes of bb. If yr dress is 'plated' (not sure how to explain) in centre , then it's boy. If yr dress is 'plated' at left and right, then it's girl. Hee...hee.. I heard too many liao, ppl says I just listen loh. All my colleagues are experienced mothers. I haven't break the news to my colleagues and boss yet. Too early to tell them. After 4th month then tell them.
But my hips been aching every nite, and feeling very cramp also. I thought it's due to sit or walk too long. I had an afternoon nap from 2-5pm yest and today, and realised when lying down, gosh, it's really pain, and I can't move my hips at all. Just so pain. Morning, my stomach feels soft and like normal, but when end of the day, stomach become so big.

Stumbled by
Glad to hear from you. Yes, I get hungry easily. After meal, 1 hr later hungry. I had stock up my biscuits/apples/kiwis in office. Feel hungry at all time. 3Kg is a lot leh, if hungry eat fruits. Is yr mouth bland? Last time after each meal, the taste of the food will still linger in my mouth for at least 1-2 hours, but now after meal, my mouth feels so bland/tasteless after 1 min. I keep eating 'sour plum' also. Last time, I never like 'sour plum' and I must say, I hate 'sour/preserved' plum. Apples also taste very bland to me and I eat apples with sour plum
It's become so yummy. When is yr next scan? Is yr tummy showing?

Oh yes, I been eating folic acid only. My doc say all vitamins supplements, zinc, calcium tablets are not necassry for time being. I checked with my doc, whether do I need to start to drink milk like Annum, he say no need. He will give me calcium tablets starting from 5th month. He say he don't encourage his patients to drink milk at early stage, coz' we will gain weight easily and very fattening. Drinking lot of milk doens't help to pass the nutrients to bbs.
Oh yes, I bought folic acid in Msia and it's so cheap. 1 month supply only RM3.00. One tablet Rm0.10. I'm not sure how much in Spore. Maybe slightly expensive a bit.
Any mum still inserting Progesterone capsules? I bgt 1 box (5days supply) for RM60.00. I called and check with TMC, they selling SGD60.00.

Sisters
What kind of shoes are u wearing now? Bgt 1pair shoes from Hush Puppies n Bata, look kindda auntie but very comfortable loh, anti slip and cushion type cost $59.90. Been wearing this shoes to work. Colleagues ask me why wear this auntie shoes, I just say, Oh, its comfortable.

Will be going for NT scan in a couple of weeks. Any advice or suggestions? Kinda nervous about it.

Hi Qoo
I'm still taking Progestrone Capsule, twice daily. I have chosen to take it orally than inserting it. Think I have to take it till end of first trimester. Is it the same for you?

qoo_gal,
I know what you mean abt getting hungry...i get hungry every few hours. Sometimes i can even finish a burger meal in afternoon and then eat normal dinner a few hours later! hee hee...quite amazed at my appetite. As for shoes, I'm also wearing either flat sandals or loafers (very comfortable but may look a little auntie)...don't dare to wear my heels, sure kenna scolding from family...

In 1st trimester, I was required to take only folic acid, no other supplements required by doctor. FYI, Ntuc unity is selling it much much cheaper than guardian...only S$2.50 for 100 tablets. The foil wrapped tablets are exactly the same as guardian's but cost less than half of their price.

Twinsmom,
my previous scan was wk12 and my next scan is at wk16...looking forward to it...
Are you still continuing to take folic acid in 2nd trimester? My doc said can stop in 2nd trimester as the folic acid from our diet should be sufficient, and that folic was more crucial in the 1st trimester.

Stumbled_by,
ever since I got pregnant, my complexion has improved...hubby says i always look as if i have rosy cheeks...

But i also get persistent dry skin around the mouth, even with my moisturiser.

qoo,
lower back pain is normal during pregnancy i guess and about the tummy size in the morning and later part of the day, ya i also have the same thing, i checked with some of the experienced sisters and was told almost all has the same symptoms, so its also normal, think tummy gets bloated once we start eating hehe...Dont worry, get hubby to do a gentle massage on your lower back while u r lying on your sides, i always do that whenever hubby is with me and it seems to help

Eve_R,
I did not go for the NT scan, I told doc that i dont want to know anything, will keep the babies whatever it is....so he allowed me to skip
sorry so cant advice u..

choco,
Yes, my doc asked me to continue the folic acid, I only stopped the progestrone tablets (thank god!) But i have also read in books that folic acid is only most important during the first trimester, so dont worry, try to eat more food that contains folic acid.

qoo,

my mouth was bland in the beginning but not now....my tummy seems bigger now but no , its not showing. can still wear most of my clothes. Mine is singleton so perhaps 'should' tahan with my normal clothes till 3-4months..

choco_latte,
mine is certainly not rosy cheeks. the redness is around sides of nose and sides of mouth... yalor, no moisturisers can help. it is peeling most of the time too ;(

qoo/choco_latte,
glad to hear both of u get hungry all the time too ;P I dont know if 3KG is a lot, but i lost about 2Kg during my IVF treatment (since my first IVF last Dec), so perhaps this 3 KG weight gain is partially to go back to my 'old weight' ?? hahaha...excuses...

i don think we should buy shoes at this stage. cos it is still early. some people's shoe sizes actually INCREASE later on due to bloated feet/leg. So i think its better to buy later on...

Eve_R/ sisters ,

Yes, I am going for NT scan next week too. I wonder if any sisters can share more...i only know it is to measure the thickness of the ear, and to take some urine and blood samples..

stumbled by,
sorry, forgot to reply your post dear!

My skin problem started right after i started to have ms around week 5++, but i dont have the redness around my mouth and nose. I used to have sore and cracked lips (sometimes even bled) while i was vomiting badly, thing it was due to dehydration. Now it has gone and new problems arise like i have mentioned earlier.

hey, i wish i can put on some weight, MIL and hubby says i look very weak and pathetic and that they are scared how are the babies. Dont worry about putting on weight la...later can reduce, just eat whatever u feel like eating and dont worry.

I m not applying any cream or foundation, since i m not working, I just let my face be as it is cos i m scared the chemicals will harm the babies. But whenever i go out i do apply some whitening cream just on my face. Oh my hair is another mess, it has turned to be so rough and dry, I wonder if we can do rebonding???

Last week too busy to online...
I went Jb to scan 2 saturday ago, abt 20 weeks, and was told that is a bb boy, weight 389g..haha..
Is a very exciting moment when we first saw bb in 4 D scanning. The cost is RM80 for first timer.

Hi Stumbled by

I thought the NT scan is to measure the thickness of the skin behind the neck? Or is it the ear? Confused liao. Hopefully someone here can advise us and give us more info.

How many weeks are you at now? We must be quite close

i've not been logging in for a while. So tired...

Eve_R, NT scan is done to measure the fluid behind the baby's neck, the smaller the measurement the lower is the risk of Down Syndrome. It is also to scan for the nose bridge. If the nose bridge is visible then the risk of DS is also lower. Normally, NT scan is done on the 12th week.

So tired these days, i am beginning to suffer from an expanding tummy. Seems to be expanding so fast lately... like the skin going to tear!!! Been applying lots of stretch mark, hopefully can help a bit. Had flu last week, now although recovered, still got a lot of phlegm in my throat. Ever since got flu, appetite is very lousy... So sian!!! Upstairs having renovation, so noisy!! And still having heartburn at night... aiyoh, me only 19th week, still got a long long way to go. How???

Btw, anyone doing purchases on baby's clothes online? There seems to be a lot of threads doing bulk purchases in this forum. Anyone buying anything?

twinsmom,
gynae advised not to do perming or colouring of hair during pregnancy due to the chemicals, so you better don't do rebonding as well... If your hair is dry, you can try using those off-the-shelf hair masks which are easy to use after shampooing, and makes the hair very soft.
Oh, about the folic acid in 1st tri, just wanted to ask...how many tablets did your gynae ask you to take per day for your twins? I took one 5mg tablet every day. Don't know if enough or not.

stumbled by,
i guess don't worry about the weight gain...at least you have appetite and as long as your gynae is ok with it. I'm quite lucky not to have ms...but only started measuring my weight in week 12...so will compare against my next appmt's measurement to see how much is my gain.

LY,
congrats on finding the sex, so u can start shopping for your boy boy ready!

chloe,
welcome back, so poor thing, got so many problems liao....me also having flu since yesterday and body pain like no tomorrow...so sick of the pain. my tummy feels so tight and uncomfortable, dont know it this is expanding???
U take care ok..

choco,
mine is also the same, i take 5 mg everymorning and thats all, think this should be sufficient for twins or triplets. Folic acid is present in many foods we eat so dont worry, those days no folic acid and we are all still ok ma...keke...
If you wanna continue then let your gynae know ok.
Thanks for the advice on hair tmt, i think i better wait until i give birth for that....for now may be tshould cut my hair short!

hi twinsmom

yalor, better dun rebond ur hair. The chemicals may be harmful to babies. aiyoh that flu i had last week was sooo terrible, can understand how u feel now. Body was like sometimes cold, sometimes hot, and oh yes, aching lor. i think u are right, u should be experiencing the expansion. ur tummy itchy? Mine a bit itchy, but i try not to scratch... and skin is like going to tear... My stomach seems to be ascending too, something like reaching up towards the diaphragm and very uncomfortable...

choco, i took 1 tab of folic acid too. Do u drink powder milk? It contains folic acid too.

Hi Chloe

Thanks for the information on the NT scan. Hope you feel better soon, maybe take some vitamin C or fruit juice [avoid citrus if you still have phlegm]as I believe they help. Still feeling bloated, especially from afternoon onwards. It's so bad in the evenings that my stomach stick out and regardless what I wear, I look so awful. Haiz.. have two functions to attend with hubby this weekend and none of my clothes look right on me.

Hi twinsmom

Don't think it's a good idea to rebond your hair as the chemicals are quite strong and may harm your babies.I read in some books that even painting your nails are not advisable as the nail polish contains a certain chemical that may harm/affect the development of your babies. I, too, think that you should wait till you have delivered.

Hi choco

The information I get from books is that we need about 400-600mcg of folic acid supplement when pregnant. Hence, I think 5mg should be enough. If you are still in doubt, maybe can check with your doctor.

Take care all and may God bless us all with healthy babies

Hello Everyone,

Do you have possibility to contact Gynae over the phone for urgent questions/queries? Do you consider this is as good to have?

Appreciate your comments.

hi cutemiracle

My dr is with Gleneagles. In case of emergencies after office hours, he asked us to go to the A&amp;E at Gleneagles. The staff at A&amp;E will alert him to come in.

As for questions, i will call the clinic during office hours or drop him an email.

Eve_R, u are right! i started having phelgm after drinking the Fruit Tree orange juice!!! Strike lottery also never so accurate!
Now still taking fruits, but like u said, i avoid citrus fruits like oranges.

hi Eve_R,
Yah u're right. After I wrote my earlier post, I quickly went to dig thru my books and found that we need 0.4mg of folic acid when pregnant, so the 5mg tablet should be more than sufficient. Phew.

Twinsmom / chloe,
Am also thinking of asking doc for calcium supplements in addition to the fresh milk I'm drinking....as I think my calcium intake not that sufficient. Did you gynae ask you to take calcium suppl, or how much milk do you drink every day?

sisters,

i apply insect repellent on my legs every evening because my mum stays at landed property n her house used to be dengue hotzone. yesterday evening after applying the insect repellent, I ate some grapes. While eating one of the grapes, i find the grapes to be 'hot' and 'spicy', i din think much and continue eating. later on (an hour later), i realised it maybe because my hands may have remnants of the insect repellent' (it is those spray kind), thus I may have swallowed some insect repellent !!! How ? the insect repellent is spraying kind and contains Citronella 15% and Neem Oil 2%

twinsmom,

maybe u want to cut your hair short. short hair is easier to manage, so even if its dry or messy, u dont feel so...

eve_r,

next week will be my week 12. like what Chloe says, NT scan is done at week 12

stumbled by,
U mean u didnt wash ur hands after applying the repellent? Please remember to wash ur hands well before eating regardless of touching anything or not. I m not sure about the hazard and the contents of the repellents but dont think u should worry too much (it might have been a very small amount) but ensure that it doesnt happen again. To play safe, do mail or call ur doctor about it so that u can be peaceful.

Be careful of what u eat and how clean it is in the future ok! cos i remember having a terrible food poisoning after eating fried rice from a nearby coffee shop during my week 6, and after that i m soo concious of food hygiene and content.