IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Are Braxton hicks contractions supposed to be painful? I think I started getting them yesterday night and then again this morning. The sensation is sudden belly tightening? This morning episode was even a little painful. A little worried now. I'm only in my 24 weeks.

Rostrum,
No...it's different sensation. I get the belly tightening after a meal and at night too. But yesterday night and this morning cfm different feeling from the usual tightening. B.H. is more sudden tightening. Furthermore just now it was a little painful.

stb, i find the spray version ok. wht i do is i spray, comb thru n bun up my hair. hair smells nice after using.

by the way, i bought 2 bottles and only managed to use 1...wanna let go of the other brand new bottle. PM me if u are keen.

Googling BH now. Says that unless u get 4 in an hour, otherwise no need for concern. Just take it as early practice for actual labour. States that is's common to start getting BH in 2nd tri.

Ok...feel more relaxed now after reading it.

baby
can i ask abt the kembangan place where u brought ur bb for massage,coz i think my bb got lots of wind also.
how long was the massage session, what do they do? do they teach u how to massage bb also? how much? how long was the wait? can make appt? can u give me the address?
tks so much

Panda
Hee.. Ya mann yr advise like not much help leh.. Haha..
Btw, is it easy to use? U ownself can put the bb in it or need someone to help u?

Bing
I where got slim.. My tummy still there lor.. I wana go get girdle panties to wear see can help not..
I put on abt 16kg... I weight myself before i discharge frm hospital.. I weigh 62kg mann...
But i guess its water retention cos my whole body bloated up after the op...
Then my weight quickly drop to abt 56kg... Cos the bloatedness went away...
Then weight drop further to 53kg... But now like quite hard to drop further liao.. Now 52-53kg.. Hoping to lose another 3kg at least... Some pre pregnancy clothes i still cant wear it yet..

Happy
The massage is abt 15-20mins.. The physician will see the bb first and ask abt what is the problem.. Then she will assign the therapist to do the massage...
The therapist massage the bb hand, palm... Then massage the bb tummy and back.. And finally the head.. She uses v soft pressure.. So i dont knw whether got any effect not..
Cos bb still small so cant take med.. So yao bao is given to be place on the bb tummy..
I was told to go for 3 days continuously.. But so far my small girl still fuss and cry leh... Hmm... But i thk she did sleep better and longer...

The massage is $24... Excludes med... Med is abt $20 i thk..

Address i dont have it with me now.. U can search on the web.. Jusy search for yu guo... Its quite famous for child massage.. Try not to go during wkends cos alot people.. And the massage is shorter.. They give priority to small bbs.. But only when u go early in the morning around 9am when they open...

Panda, gan, just faith, grumpus.. And many others more
Must continue to come here ok.. We can continue to provide each other support and advise even after we gave birth.. Thou cant post as often as last time when we are preggy.. But try to post when u gals have time ya...

I wonder how is tickles now.. She didnt come here to post liao... U gals dont follow her ya! Else will miss u gals ah..Hee

...almost fainted when my parent in law bought 惊风散 for my bb as they find her cry a lot. saw on the description tat meant for bb above 3 mths old.
but actually my bb ger is only crying for milk or when diaper full... my mil doesnt seem to know how to take care of bb but boast a lot on how she brought up her 3 kids. she doesnt even carry newborn properly n keep sayin bb doesnt like her n picky so everytime she carries, bb will cry. so far she only carry bb less than 5 mins n bb will cry... si bei jia lat.
conflict can happen when old ppl keeps imposing their old practice on us. worst still is they r staying together, want to chase out oso cannot. sianz!

luckily got this platform to pour out, if not sooner will kena depression.
mtb, pls ignore my complaining, enjoy ur pregnancy.

panda, think u might b able to relate. 同病相连...
i really considering seriously to take care of my bb ger after my maternity leave ends. cannot 放心 to let my mil take care.

Rose
Its ok to give the 惊风散 to bb.. Alot of my friends also give their nb bbs... Its to let them sleep better at night esp when they have a scare due to long noise or other tin...
But there are alot of fake ones outside.. So buy frm reputable medical hall..

Mil or mum always have their way to handle bb.. Different people sure have different methods.. So if u wana let yr mil handle.. Must learn to close one eye.. Else sure have conflicts..

I may also need my mil to take care my twins when i go overseas with my hb.. I also dont like the way my mil handle the bbs.. But no choice.. I tell my hb i got to close two eyes and dont thk abt it.. Hee..

Rose,
I was in the same situation as u. My mil is not working so she immediately offered to take care of my elder girl when she was born. She stayed with me for 2mths after my girl was born and oh my goodness when I saw how incompetent she was I really freak thinking I hv to leave my bb with her after I go back to work.
Actually my mil is a very nice and sincere person, just tat she's juz not very competent and when I try teach her she either cannot absorb or choose not to follow.

I even contemplated sending my girl to nanny or infant care. But my hb was very against cos to him if hv to send bb to nanny or infant care, he rather his own mother take care. So in the end I quit my job to take care myself. Cos that's the only option tat everyone can accept. Anyway just like tat I've been a SAHM for >3yrs already and I hv no regrets.

So dun be too stressed, u still hv some time before u hv to go back to work. Ake yr time to think wat is the best child care option for yr bb.

Rose, old ppl usually v different from us when comes to tking care of bbs...I also v worried I will face the problem in future and come pouring here...

Even now preggy, my colleagues can say now preggy women are unlike last time...now more precious, or bbs more special...I always kena "suan". But i dun care cos last time and now is v different. They need to upgrade else always lag behind...

If yr mil really incompetent, then send yr bb to infant care of baby sitter..this is my intention also..

soon to b n baby,
惊风散 can feed to nb? how to tell fake one?
but on d box already said for 3mths n above? or got different brand one?

grumpus,
so u quit ur job...ur mil still stayin with u? i very scared to let my parent in law take care coz they always do things d opposite way n very stubborn. i oso dun wish my child be brought up tat way...not tat i wil definitely b a gd mother. but i just hope to be part of my child growing up. yet on d other hand, leaving my job means lesser income...

rostrum,
my mil strongly objected to infant care n said she can take care of d bb when we brought up d issue before even giving birth.

grumpus,

do u take up any part time job at home? or full time take care of bb? u got 2 children?

i am plannin to do some online businesses if need to quit my job to take care of my bb...

Rose, yes! very difficult for mil to be looking after our babies de... i m a "victim" myself.. "suffering"... u make me wanna air my problems here too...

just this morning..i finished a pump, went out n found tht my girl is drinkig from a bottle tht the teat has 2 strand of brown colored curly dyed hair entangled on it!!!!!! i just gave an order tht i will personally wash n sterilised all bottles MYSELF. actually my parents r very hygenic..but i cannot arrow my mil.. so i say all cannot clean bottles..i will DIY.. HAIZ....

n mil has habit of opening diaper to touch the inside to see if wet!!! kept telling her not to touch.. just feel the outside .. she dun listen. just now open diaper, touch, change liao, never wash hands wanna continue with feeding my bb.

grumpus, my mil is like urs.. incompetent... 2 mths already, she still cannot carry my bbs properly.. to make things worse, she likes to carry them n walk around when feeding! i very very scared she will drop my bbs leh..so everyday "follow" her around.. last night she complain to my hb tht i kept picking on her. i told my hb its very stressful for me to watch over her too.. if she continue to stay here, i will kee siao liao. send me to IMH... next time bring bbs go there visit me.

Rose,
Thankfully my in laws r not staying with me. Yes I hv 2 kids. Just recently when I was having confinement for #2, I asked my mil to come n stay for one mth. I really hv no choice cos I need someone to help with my elder 3yr old. I tot my elder so big already my mil shd be able to handle. Actually she could handle but she totally spoilt my girl. It really reinforce my decision to bring up my kids myself.
Like u said, not say I'm a perfect mother but at least my kids r being brought up the way I want.

I did not take up any part time job, full time taking care of kids. When my elder was abt 1+ I did venture into some business but after that we started trying for #2, with ivf and all tat I ended up giving up the business.
Definitely if u quit yr job there will loss of income but it's a matter of where r yr priorities lor.

last night i so upset with mil, i refused to let bb sleep in her room..after she fell asleep, i went it to "Steal" my girl n put her in my room w my older boy.... but when both woke up for feeds, i got to wake my hb up to help me.....

rose, i agree w grumpus its a matter of priorities.. my mum initially wanted me to go back to work asap ... but now she see the situation, she dont dare to ask me go back to work. loss of income is also a big consideration for us.. esp when there are 3 babies n a maid coming soon... but nothing is more impt than the well being of my babies. i cannot imagine how chaotic things will be if i go back to work now.

Rose
Hmm.. Personally i didnt give my bbs 惊风散.. So i cant advise u much... I only learnt frm my friends that they give it to their bbs..
If u are not comfortable then dont give.. Can give gripe water.. Safer.. I give them gripe water when they are less than a month old..

Panda
Haha my hb also like to touch the inside diaper to chk whether its wet not... But i thk its ok lah.. As long as the hands is clean.. Cos its only the bum.. Not the mouth mah..
But learn to close one eye when u have elders helping u.. Else can really go crazy ah..
So when i gg bk to work? Or u be sahm?

Panda,
Aiyo, hair entangled in the teat! Touch inside of diaper never wash hands then continue feeding!
Haiz, u poor thing.....

Rose, yup, i fed it coz my son was crying non stop and refused to be put down...I tried all methods to coax him....

I can't help u to differentitate, coz my MIL bought one lor..

grumpus, these are only wht happened today. everyday she will do smthing to drive me crazy de...

baby, i cannot compromise basic hygenie.. if at home cannot even adhere to such basic cleanliness, i might as well send the bbs to ifc. at least the teachers are educated and hv awareness to hygenie practices.

i hv to b sahm until i feel comfortable to let my parents take over. now all of them come to my house.. but come end of this year...my bro's wife also popping.. n my mum will b helping him bb sit too... so the plan is to gather all the babies at her house.. by then mine will b 12mths old. my bro will get a maid too.. so my parents plus 2 maids n myself will go there during the day. at night i bring my bbs back home.

Hmmmm seems like mil is always a headache. I see the way my mil carry my gal I freak out especially she like o bounce her up n down !!

Taking a break from baby care, going Robinson now to buy stuff for my gal... Will check out the rocker too

Think all woman be it MIL, own mother all will have conflict one. I forsee conflict with my own mum too.

Then add on all the aunties, ah-ma's advise will go crazy .. but end of the day all of them have the good intentions of caring for the bb's.

sometimes really got to close both eyes if not everyday is like war zone.

Sometimes i think nowadays bb's are very much protected from the elements, cos the parents are shielding them from dirt etc ...

I agree to what JJ says.. Sometimes cannot be super clean.. Else bbs have no chance to build their immunity.. If always so speck and clean.. Bbs will fall sick easily when expose to germs or dirt..

Now our bbs are aldy more than a month old.. So not as vunderable as nb.. So can be little bit loosen on the super clean part...

Not forgetting we are brought up in a not so clean way too..

And look at us now.. We grow up just as fine!
But of cos cant be too dirty and unhygenic la.. Hee...
Mummies have to guage yrself!

Panda
Wow yr mum as to take care of yr 3 kids plus a nb bb!
Iron woman mann!

I aldy let my maid handle the bbs lo... She now can carry and coax bb when they cry.. Can help me prepare milk and feed milk too..
So she can help us carry or feed the bb while we have our
meals.. When maids are competent enough.. The help will be a godsend... Esp like us with more than a bb...

panda,

ya! i oso terrified of hair dropped in food esp if its bb milk or bottle. in d past when my mil cooks dinner, we often find hair in soup, rice or dishes... luckily for me, my mil never feed or change my ger diaper. she will only stand n raised her voice at my ger "y u cry huh, tell granny y u cry huh"...hahahaha. n when she carries my ger, my ger's head will shake fr side to side. n same as ur mil, she walks around d hse n confinement lady oso told her not to n corrected her carryin posture...but she never listens. sianz...

panda, u got 3 bbs. more economical if u will to b stay home mummy. but thinkin of lesser income... must really weigh priorities...actually i wanted to stay home only when my ger starts schoolin but now, really have to think twice.

rose, i never let anyone else make the milk leh. i make sure i handle all the ebm n fm making myself every feed. otherwise i m sure i will find hair in the fm tin too!

issit all mil same pattern huh? mine also leh! ask bb silly qns!

baby, i agree pass a certain stage can relax abit, but i m not ready for it now. with 3 bbs, if one fall sick, chances are will pass the virus to the other 2.. so i wanna be extra careful. esp so when the bbs have not started their vaccinations.

Hi Fancy & Rostrum, ok.. i will try.. i surf d net n claimed tat neck pain during early pregnancy could be due to higher hormones...dunno hw true. In my last BT w KK to confirm my pregnancy, my hcg level was over 1000.. aiyo..faint.
nw considering to buy those neck support pillow... anyone of u noe where gt sell?

Snuuggly, dun worry..wait 1 mre week..like wat Fancy claimed..be positive okie? yr bb shld be ok..

Minutes using pigeon bottle detergent, just discovered Robinson is cheaper than Ntuc or cold storage when there is no sale. Yesterday my hb bot the refill pack at 13.3 from cold storage as square 2 Ntuc doesn't sell. Robinson selling 9.9!

Bot the rocker for my gal too else very boring she is either in her cot or on our bed.

gan, i also wanna buy another rocker..but no time to go out n shop. kept nagging at hb tht i wanna bring bbs out to shop..but he no energy...told me wait until they r a few mths older or when their feeding frequency is not so often.

gan, i buy the detergent from metro with 20% off...coz about $10.30. but robinsons is cheapest.. next time can go there and stock up..i just bought mine yesterday.

Fancy – thank you so much for the website, it’s very useful. Are you with KK dr loh also? How far along now ?

Syrah – hihi, glad u still rem me..
I had really bad ms last time and was hospitalized for iv drips. I’m getting better now taking 2 mths’ off to rest at home ( coz I had bad cramp last time and non stop vomiting) so better stay home and rest.

We are expecting singletion. My private gynae told us it’s a baby girl just last week. Need to go for 20 wk detailed scan to determine that. Boy or girl, as long as baby is healthy and doing fine, we are happy liao. I’m really confused coz I read a lot but still clueless about the baby’s movements…I hope I know how to differentiate it soon.

How about u ? I rem you expecting twins. Boy and girl ?

Rostrum – hi, I’m also just hit 19 wks today so we are both not far along. You are having twins right? With KK too ?

Mic1980 – my private gynae told me he will see me more often once after 26 wks coz to make sure everything’s well. He said ivf baby more prone to miscarriage and preterm labor. I thought of switching completely to private instead of dr loh coz he’s always too busy and waited 2-3 hrs for 10-15mins comments only.

Where u intend to deliver in Msia ? I also intend to go JB to deliver (can use medisave too). But dunno any immigration complication when bringing baby back to Sg later. U got any idea?

Pandawife can ask hb just go grab the rocker from the mall? Felt recharged from the short break, though what I bot r wet wipes, detergent, nothing interesting. Going home now !

The lack of sleep has made me very forgetful n short temper ... Was telling my mum I can't remember if th 3am feed I put 1 or 2 scoop of fm.=s was ' nagging' at my gal when she woke up at 3am for milk coz at 1.30am she cried for milk but when fed her, she drank little n fall asleep.

Panda, rose,
hahaha my fil is the one that like to ask bb silly qns. my fil super gian to carry bb, but only know how to carry. if wet he will chuck back to us and say "wet!". if she fusses he will chuck back to us and say "hungry!"
then when i'm trying to settle my fussing girl, he will hover near my shoulder and keep asking my girl "why bb? why darling? wat's wrong? be a good girl ok? go sleep...."
super irritating

Syrah / rostrum – not meant to scare u but I had menstrual like cramp last time and went for private gynae’s advice coz I felt dr loh didn’t give me much info. The gynae told me early pregnancy, we should feel soft and no pain at our abdomen.

Bad cramp (like menstrual like or others) indicates the uterus is contracting and pushig out the baby from the womb.

My last visit I told him about tightening in my lower abs, he told me to start eating the meds he gave for me for relaxing the uterus and not risking early contraction.
That’s why I took 2mths’s off to rest at home to minimize stress at work and too much walking.

Just info, late miscarriage occurs before 26 wks, after that it’s consider preterm labour and baby needs neonatal care to survive.

Although it’s still early for me now, he also gave me dates when I should start monitoring baby movement’s for at least 1 hr everyday after 26wks to make sure baby’s fine till delivery.

Just sharing, I was really paranoid now coz my fren lost her baby on the day of delivery bcoz baby got infection and no heartbeat detected. It was devastating news and like what she told me, everyday is different when you are pregnant and never ever take things for granted. Each person will have different experience BUT if you are in doubts, do not hesitate to contact your gynae. Better be kiasu a bit than regret later.
She is blessed with a 2nd baby right after (after complications a lot and bedrest in hospital for 2mths).

Panda/gan
Im also using pigeon bottle detergent. i bought mine frm kiddy palace.. 2 refill pkts for $18.90... Robinson selling at 9.90 per pkt without sale?

rexxie,

I will deliver at Malacca and leave baby to my mum after 2 month maternity leave. I wont bring my baby here coz nobody look after.

Which week are you now ?

mic1980 - i guess you are gg to Mahkota to deliver right. My hb's fren also went there to deliver and he said the doc is good there.

im 19 wks now. How about u?

Wah...all the talks on MIL's cleanliness really freaks me out...I guess if I really want them to tk care, I will close 1 or 2 eyes...if really cannot close will hv to look for alternatives le...

Rexxie, u r going to 2 gynaes now? Actually I am too cos of twins..Maybe as 1st timers, we are more conscious and excited...I find the appts in kkh is too far apart. Sometimes my appt can be 5-6 weeks apart. In btw, we will go to pte gynae to scan...Honestly, I hv bad experience with kkh 24 hrs..We are still considering where to deliver the babies...

I am hving twins and with Dr Loh too.

rostrum, it takes alot to be able to close one or two eyes. esp when our babies are nt easy to come by.. we want the best we can give for them. i tried many times ...but fail miserably i would say... everyday struggle to stay cool...very very tough..

rexxie, are u taking utrogestan for relaxing the uterus? I am tking it now from Dr Loh. he says its common for multiple pregnancy to tk it and later part I will be prescribed another type of medi on top of utrogestan. I learnt from both gynaes tt it is to relax the uterus and stablise the womb.

Yup, bad cramps is no good and something we got to tk note. But after a full meal and feel tightening shd be v normal right? I always feel better after applying stretchmark cream.

Yr pte gynae gives u alot of information wor...can share share wif us here if u hv more info?

It is good to be more careful since our pregnancy dun come easy...but dun b too paranoid cos it will be v stressful as we are oni half way thru the pregnancy only...must relax!

Pandawife, I tink when my babies out and in yr situation, my hse will become war zone too...it is v v difficult to close one eye esp really lor, our pregnancy dun come easy...I really really hope my ILs wun give me much plms else I really got to send my babies to bb sitter liao.

rostrum - yea, i'm gg to 2 gynaes now coz still need to do detailed test which is costly in private hospital. my other gynae even advised me to get the test done at KK (cheaper) and let him see results. He's ok with that. He gave me salbutamol but one side effect is heart palpitation. i feel abdomen soft after taking it but i only take it when necc.

dr loh also gave me utrogestan for 2wks last time and i had fever last time he didn't say much to me. my private gynae took time to explain what should i do if i have fever and high fever can cause miscarriage too.

yea, it's very hard for us to conceive and now we are finally preggers we have to be extra caution with many things (but not overly paranoid la).

he's at gen E. delivered few local celebrities' bbs here. he's on the news and papers too. and i find his fees are reasonable. no need to wait so long and he allocates about 1/2 hrs with us for Qs and vr detailed scanning. Vr diff from kK, here he measures bb's head and legs and arms whether they correspond with the weeks we are now at.