IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Just faith, hope u strike soon with Yr #2!!! good luck!! The next one will b a rabbit/dragon baby!!!

Babygalore, waves!!!! So happy to see u here... Din login here over d past few days as I was napping n going out.. Trying to catch some rest before the long week starts again! During my scan at Camden at 14 weeks, prof say most likely 2 princes. I m going for my detailed scan in 3 weeks time.. Hopefully by then can cfm again...I only pray for smooth pregnancy n healthy babies. The rest is secondary
happy enuff le

How are u with your girl? Trying for #2? do drop by here to chat chat... I seldom go to d the other thread as there is not much postings there... Hee..

Congrats soon to be on Yr #2!!!

Rose, I usually do not wake her up for milk. Like your CL, I try to drag her feeding time. This is especially useful when you want to wean off night feeds. During her first month, her timings are quite erratic. From 2hrs to 3.5hrs. Now, my girl only wake up one time at night. Eg of her last night feeds. Daddy fed at 730pm. Mine turn, 130am. Next feed 6am. Her avg feeding time is 4.5 to 5hrs now. But with the help of pacifier. During first month, I didn't give her pacifier. She is one month and three weeks old now. At full month, her weight was around 4.3kg. Growing quite well too.

I think sleep is equally impt for a baby to grow heathily.

Just faith how much is ur Bb drinking now for thefeeds that last 4.5 to 5 hrs?

Singapoh / Grumpus does ur baby has yellow watery stool?
My Bb stool lately is watery yellowish with some curds. She poos 3 to 4 times a day n on ebm except last feed at nite fm. Last time the stools were creamy like those pea soup but now is watery....

gan, justfaith n grumpus,
thz for your reply. my CL logic is if she starts feeding every 2-3 hrs at night, when she leaves, i will be jialat. my bb ger not yet full month. think i will observe first.

jusfaith,
i remember ur bb at birth is ard 3.4 kg? till full month is 4.3 kg? my bb ger also growing slow according to PD, my CL said bb on full bm usually dun put on weight that fast.

gan,
my bb ger stool oso watery n yellowish. had asked PD before how to differentiate diahorrea with breastfeeding watery stool. as i ever saw my bb poo out a jet of water first follow by yellowish watery stool, so i asked d doc if its considered diahorrea. PD replied is so long as stool not white, red n black color, its considered ok.

Rose if I m not wrong baby shld put on 800g to 1 kg in first mth.
Waking up to feed at night is tough but observing my gal, I think baby will wean off their night feed themselves as they grow. My gal asked for milk every 2 hrs to 2.5hrs, very tiring as i dun get good sleep but I fed on demand coz think too young to train her to feed on schedule. Moreover she cried the house down if she is not fed when hungry. But since she reach 8 weeks, she slept for 4 hrs inthe night before asking for milk, day time still go on her 2 to 2.5hrs feed.
Still observing her feeding habits.

MTB and new mumiies.
i have entered 24th week now.. iam experiencing headache for past 2 days.. it is mild through the day and goes off for few hrs , then few hrs it is quite severe... iam just appling some headache oil . is it ok ?? and i also started having sciatic nerve pain.. where i get shooting sharp pain in my butt when i get up or change my positon to sleep.

Prayhard , JJ
How r u guys doing ??

Vio,
thanks for the info.

bb_jo21,
hi... u r not the only one.. i have not started shopping yet

Diana,
i know how excited it is... as days pass by u will feel more...

Rostrum,
me too going for check up in 3 weeks time.. .. mine is singleton so no detail scan :-(((
this kkh has such a long gap between visits.. can't wait to see the cuties.. hope the intervals gets shorterned once we reach 30 weeks..

Syrah ,
ur check up is next week rite ??? how r u doing ?

Rose,

No, my baby girl's weight was 3.16kg at birth time. Full month, ard 4.3kg. 1 month, 17 days, 4.84kg.

As I said, not only milk will help to put on weight, ample sleeping is also important.

Gan,

My gf wean off her gal's night feed at 2 months... I am very envious. For the 4 to 5.5hrs, she was taking 105ml avg. I tried to feed her 120ml, but she cannot finish the milk.

Rose,
My girl was 2.5kg at birth, on full BM. I fed her round the clock every 2hrs, her weight at one month was 4kg.

Gan,
My girl's poo also used to be creamy and more paste like. Recently also became more watery. Shd be ok, I remember my elder girl's poo was always the watery type.

fancy > ya a few days back i was wondering how come i dun feel the kicks... after that the next few days i feel like poping out like heartbeat like that

Working wife
During the day its 3hrs interval..
At night time can be 3-4.5hrs...
Im trying to reduce the milk vol.. Cos pd and tcm physician say cant feed too much else got indigestion and wind.. And will result bb cant sleep well at night... Sigh...
Initially i increase milk to 105ml... Now reduce bk to 90ml...

Baby - how? Yr bbs satisfied with 90 ml? My bbs take 100-120 ml but that's mixed ebm and fm. And the fm is HA formula which I find is lighter and easier to digest vs the usual fm. Dunno if that's too much or not. Their interval also 3 hrs in the day and 3.5 to 5 hrs at night depending.

working wife, after taking HA milk for a while, i dun find a difference as compared to the normal FM in terms of feeding intervals.

baby, this morning at 1am, my 2nd boy took 185ml of milk leh! aiyoh... i gav him his usual 135ml..after tht he refused to sleep..kept crying for more milk... so i make 30ml... still cannot satisfy him... continue to cry for milk.... so i make another 30ml..he took 20ml ...then happy liao...can sleep :S

Working wife
Sometimes they will still fuss after finish their milk.. Crying for more.. I will try to pacify them.. By carrying.. Pacifier.. Rocking.. After awhile they will be ok... But sometimes cannot then i will make another 15ml for them..
My 90ml is before powder.. After adding powder will be abt 100ml...

I know its quite pityful to see yr bbs crying for more milk.. But long run its better for them.. Cos aldy got 2 pds telling me not to overfeed them.. Will cause more harm.. They will feel more uncomfy if their stomach is overfull...

Panda
Wahh.. Yr boy really can drink mann!!!
He got colic problem?
What is his weight?
Yr two mothers no more problem liao?

Pandawife and baby, ur babies can drink! Wish my gal drink like yours...mine is quite consistent sticking to the 30ml per hr rule. she is gaining weight but the milk intake is not increasing, not sure why.

Pandawife,

Can I check something with u? I bought the same baby cot as yours. I have upgraded to latex mattress. But I forgotten to ask whether it comes with bed sheet or not leh. They have this 9 pcs bedding set as free gift. Where to get the bed sheet huh?

And would like to ask - mummies using Dr Brown's bottles? Are they good compared to Avent? What size of the milk bottles should I buy huh? And how many? Very confused leh....so many sizes.

Gan
Haha.. U worry yr girl not drinking enough whereas i worry my bbs drinking too much.. So ironic.. I also notice my girls will tend to cry for milk after they poo...
Just now my big girl had 90ml at 3pm.. Then she poo at 4pm.. Immediately she cry for milk.. So i gave her 30ml.. She now sleeping after finished her milk... I stick to 30ml per hr too..

baby, my boy was 4.7kg at about 7 weeks. he doesnt hv colic problem. he drinks and burps easily.. unlike the other boy who has reflux issues n constantly needs to be burped.

my PD din mention overfeeding leh..he kept telling me babies will tell me how much they wanna drink.. my ones when they hv enuff..will use their tongue to push the teat out.. or just hold the teat in their mouth n refuse to suck.

prayhard, the 9pcs bedding set includes bedsheet

i m using both avent n dr brown. avent is gd enuff if ur bb does not hv colic or reflux problems. i bought dr brown becoz my eldest boy spits milk alot... dr brown is more complicated in terms of the parts of the bottle..hence more hassle to clean n wash.

u can buy a few 125ml ones for a start... how many depends on how often u wanna wash them..i know of frens who buy more bottles coz they dun wanna wash after night feeds..just feed n throw the bottle into the sink.. accumulate n wash together in the morning.

gan, grumpus n justfaith,
my ger birth weight is 3.2 n lately weigh is 3.7, but she left one more week wil be full mth liao. btw, do u weigh ur bb with pillow? d PD weighin balance has pillow, dun noe how much weight will it contribute. i am feedin her 100ml every 3hrs but she will take at least half an hr to burp...

Fancy,
Other than my usual aching ribs & swelling/cramping feet, I'm the same. Babies doing well too. Kicking whenever they r hungry! U have a gd memory. Yea my next scan is coming up soon. So excited!!!

Rostrum,
How r u coping with the twins preg so far? Much more stablished?

Diana,
It's a really gd feeling to feel the baby's kicks isn't it? I'm still waiting to see the ripple effect on my belly. Heard from friends that seeing the ripple is another exciting thing to look forward to!

fancy, how come u dun hv detail scan? I tot detail scan is for singletons as well as multiple pregnancies? KKH usually carry out the detail scan in week 20 in ADC...do u mean tt singletons dun hv growth scans?

syrah, I dunno when shd we consider stable? I m still v looking forward for each scan lor...trying to stay relaxed and happy for this pregnancy. Really looking forward for my detail scan at Camden then I can heave a sigh of relief ba...I tink till I can hold my babies in my arms, else I can be rest assured de la..keke...

Should be ripples or tsunami? Kekeke...

Syrah & Diana,

So cool right! My bb kicks alot. I'm already 24 going on 25 weeks along and his kicks have been getting more frequent. Can be 4 or more kicks in a min. Haha

Wah...wat is tis rippling effect? Can't wait to see that too.

Pandawife,

Thanks for the info. I'll sure pop into the dept store and request for the list. How are you and your 3 darlings. Saw the pics you post when you popped. They are so adorable

Can you please share with me what are your takes on milk bottles? I'm considering brands such as Avent, NUK, Dr. Brown or Pigeon. But no idea which is better. Also, can newborns use wide neck bottles or should I stick to standard bottles?

Bb Jo,
Newborns can use wide neck bottles. In fact it is more recommended than standard bottles cos it's supposed to be more similar to the breast.
As for which brand, tat is very subjective cos it really depends on bb. For every brand there will be bbs who love it and bbs who hate it. I dun think there's such a thing as 'better'

My elder girl has personally gone through pigeon, nuk and avent. She started on pigeon cos the bottles came bundled with the sterilizer tat I bought. Ard 2nd mth, she had trouble with the teats and was sucking a lot of wind. I didn't consider switching to avent cos I know the flow for avent is pretty fast. So switched to nuk which was supposed to be easier for bb to suck. She used nuk until abt 10mths and then it was no longer suitable cos it was too slow. So switched to avent as she was bigger and now enjoyed the fast flow.
So u see, I had one of those picky bbs. But there r bbs who hv used pigeon or nuk or avent from day 1 with no probs

mummies, my younger boy always suck the avent teat until it flattens during feeds.. does it mean the flow is not fast enough?

i m not sure how to tell if flow is too fast or slow... my girl always drink her milk n cry at the same time ... i m confused whts wrong... tried changing teat to bigger size..but still the same...

panda,
the avent teat that flattens is it new? cos teats that are too old get too soft and tend to flatten when suck. do u see air bubbles going into the bottle? meaning when bb suck, air is supposed to go into the bottle through the air vents to replace the milk flowing out. if no air bubbles, then the teat can be sucked until flat also.

for yr girl, did u try burping her before the feed? sometimes if they're uncomfortable they'll cry but still drink milk at the same time cos hungry.

if yr bb takes very long to finish their milk like >30mins and gets frustrated then most likely the flow is too slow and u can try changing the teat. if flow too fast, usually bb will be gulping and swallowing very fast and sometimes milk will leak out the sides of their mouth too.

if all else fails, may hv to try totally different bottle. my elder girl was on pigeon at first but the smaller hole flow became too slow for her, but the next size up hole was too fast. she was kind of in between sizes. so i had to change brands.

Rose, my girl's weight is taken in the PD clinic. The pillow's weight is not included. As the weighing scale shows 0 when turned on.

Fancy, rostrum is right. At kk, I had detailed scan and growth scans done. But I lost counts when these tests were taken.

Baby, not sure if I answer yr question regarding mamy poko. The small pkt contains 48 pieces. $14.90. The jumbo pkt at ntuc more wu-hua. 72pcs $20.65. But my gal will outgrow size s soon. Moreover I still have 1.5 pkts of the cheapo drypers at home which my friend bought for me when she came to visit me.

Just faith how's drypers cutting compared to mamy poko? My hubby got the m size drypantz coz of guardian 1 for 1 promo.... Wondering baby 2 mths can wear drypAntz?

gan, drypers cutting is smaller than mamy poko.

i din buy the drypantz coz its more suitable for bbs who are walking or toilet training..

Syrah ,
Good to hear.. .. cramping is due to lack of calcium .. so have more milk and please just sit wherever u r when u get cramps..so that u don’t lose the balance. Rippling effect ? ok I google and see 

Rostrum,
My detail scan was on 21 week , its over and all was well.. it was so good .. full 40 min.. watching the baby .. yawning , thumbs up , sucking the thumb.. I was too emotional I think my pregnancy hormomes were so high .. that the minute they start scanning the tears started flowing and didn’t stop till the end..
All the time I was like.. WOW MIRACLE…. Iam going to be mom.. there is a baby inside me….. we r blessed to be born as ladies..to experience this. OMG i am getting emotional now...
My next visit is only with Dr.loh – no detail scan – 26 weeks ..
For twins u will have 2 more detail scan I guess based on syrah info. 25 and 30th week.. iam not sure..
I guess u will feel more stable after detailed scan and when you start to feel the kicks and movement..

BBjo21,
Hi Iam in 24th week .. I guess iam one week behind.. when is ur EDD?? Mine is 18th June- singleton.

grumpus, my boy will suck until flatten and also the front part of the teat will get "sucked" into the fatter part (if u get what i m trying ti describe)....

i will observe later to see if there are air bubbles.. if no air bubbles, wht shld i do?

he also will hv milk leaking out when he drinks! the bib always soaking after his feed de...aiyoh.. looks like i need to replace teat..

he takes long to finish his milk..coz always fall asleep half way thru.. we hv to try means n ways to wake him up to continue drinking.. smtimes the feed can take as long as 45mins...very stressful esp at night...

Pandawife ya didn't know the promo was for drypantz... Tot was fir drypers so just ask hubby go buy. Being man I doubt bs notice that it was not normal diapers he bought.=p
Maybe will open 1 packet n try .... Dun think I can keep the M size till my baby walks! Wld be too small for her

Pandawife there r a few times my gal suck the teats until flat like what u describe.... I tot was becoz she has too much of the teat on her mouth.. So I pull the teat out n feed her again

i just tried feeding him w dr brown bottle.. no leaking problem.. i tink its the teat .. my dr brown teat is nb size..

my bbs seem to be doing better with the dr brown bottles..tink need to invest in another batch of new bottles....

hv u tried going out alone with ur baby yet? think i still not ready coz sure panic when he start crying when outside.

my boy seems to be putting on lots of weight leh. twice his birth weight in 2 months. think he will be fat fat, now thinking if there is a formula milk that is less fattening. how much weight ur babies put on so far?

Panda,
Good good, glad u figured out the prob. Now u know why I say bottles r very subjective, no such thing as 'better' but more bb dependent...hehehehe...

Happyhippo,
My girl is on full BM and is prob already going to double her birth weight at 2 months....hehehe

Panda,
Eh at night the feed tat takes 45mins. Did bb wakeup himself or u wake bb to feed? How u know bb wake up for milk and not other reasons? My elder girl used to wake very frequently and I always tot she was hungry but she would drink very little. So I would try other ways to put her back to sleep first. She wake up can be too hot, too cold, bum uncomfortable, need to change sleeping positions, need to burp, need to pee/poo etc etc
If all else fails then I offer milk.

Hearing the mtbs talking abt bb movements and kicks.. How i miss those times...

Feeling the kicks and punches... Seeing those tummy waves...

grumpus, i based on timing leh.. if its more then 3 hrs already... and i usually check diaper before feeding...

and he will be crying so hard n flipping his tongue... i assume thts hungry....

bb wake up by himself de.. now i dun wake them up for feeds....

Grumpus he he u r like me.... Very happy that Bb put on weight.

Happyhippo my gal is on 90% ebm and I think she had double her birth weight at 8 weeks... =) I m glad she is catching up coz she is only 2.77kg at birth. At 7 weeks, she is 4.99kg.
I very tempted to go out on my own with Bb, got the pupsik pouch but dunno how to use.=s my mum also kept nagging Bb so young fun bring out

Panda,
flipping tongue can sometimes be uncomfortable, need to burp, got wind.

just a thought la cos if wake up hungry by right shd drink quite fast mah. or could just be the bottle.

Gan
What is pupsik pouch?

I saw one mummy using a cloth sling.. No need to tie and no ring.. Just need to fold the cloth at the shoulder can liao...
Anyone know where can i buy it?

grumpus, i tink so too.. but smtimes difficult for me to giv all the attention to 3 of them when all 3 cry at the same time... my mum n mil will tell me they are hungry..must feed milk..
it can be very chaotic when there are 3 screaming babies middle of the night....

i just told my mum about this.. we will try it out tonight.....

baby, i m also using pupsik pouch. hehe..in fact we bought 2.. in different sizes.. my hb uses one at home.. n i hv one ...

gan, u follow the instruction card.. very easy to use.. just wear over one shoulder and put bb inside.. i used the sling a few times when we brought the bbs out, and my girl slept thru out in the sling.. like v comfortable..

hi fancy, tks for sharing w us on yr detailed scan.. wow, indeed miracle..
if i were u, i wld oso be emotional... yr EDD on 18 Jun huh? haha..tat's my bdae ler..

hi all mummies & mummies to be,
i'm new here n came fr ivf thread. Need some advices fr all of u..
i'm in my 6th week now...n my MS start to kick in.. Beside being feeling tired, nauseous & loss of appetite, hv u all encounter neck pain (something like stiff neck) & arm aching during yr early stage? Is it becoz i din slp well? Or d higher hormones at tis stage i m having?

r u all still wearing ur binder? i lazy liao coz everytime bf, got to remove. didnt wear long time, no wonder my preggie tummy still there