IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

My boy is colicky. Cry until no voice n tears come out. I see already also cry with him. Haiz... Pd gave ridwind n asked to rub ruyi oil four times daily but seems no help. He cries abt the same time for past few days already ..

anyone advice for me ?

Happy
So far i only do pap smear and v scan with dr f... Cos he is the first and only gynea i see so far.. I cant recall how much he charge for pap smear.. I thk is $35.. Exclude consult fee.
For me i will return to him for yearly check...

Our bb is so young.. So they still not the stage to interact with us yet.. The eye dr who check my twins eye say right now their eyes will move around.. By 4 mths old they will look straight...

Yes i have done my massage.. I only did 5 sessions..
I did notice my tummy is firmer.. Not as flabby.. But still not as flat and firm as pre pregnancy thou.. U can do ur massage and tell yr threapist to go easy around yr wound area.. I also did feel some soreness when my threapist massage that area.. I find the massage v relaxing.. Esp when we are so busy and tired with the bbs.. But u must have someone to look after yr bb while u massage so u can massage in peace..

Baby,

Though I have completed 9 sessions of massage, I feel that I am not massaging in peace. When the house is too quiet, I worry if my baby is okay.. and when she cries, i start to panic, and wish the massage ends earlier, so that I can attend to her immediately. Am so glad that I am going to have the 10th session soon.

Just faith
No one handle yr bb while u massage?? Yr cl or yr mum?
My mum help me to take care of my twins while i massage.. Thou i hear them cry... I knw my mum is handling them so i didt worry.. I enjoy massage.. I on the airon.. Draw down the curtain.. On soft music.. And i did not talk to the threapist during massage.. The 1hr is the time where i can totally relax and sometime even doze off...

nancy, i tink boy also colicky. scream the whole afternoon n evening.. i wanna faint already. he is only quiet when i carry him n let him rest on my chest...... i carry him until i m exhausted already...... out of desperation, i just put him chest facing downwards on the cot ...n surprisingly he is happy!! but i got to watch over him coz dont feel safe to hav him sleeping alone in this position. but at least i dun hv to continue carrying him tonight...

Nancy,

Dun feel sad if yr bb is colicky. He also can't control himself. He will grow out of it. Both my twins also like that. Every night I had rock band at home. :s

Panda,
would a sling help? at least yr hands would be free to do other things.
i used to let my girl sleep on my chest while i lean back on some pillows so she's not exactly face down but still more on tummy and i get to rest abit.

Singapoh
one bb colic I really so heartpain see them cry u both colic I can imagine. I also try to calm myself down when I carry him. Is there any thing else can help him ?

Panda
I give him everything all dun want. Pacifier, rocker, carry all reject. We surrender gave him Yao lan n he calm down quite a bit ... Bo bian. If not I dun know what to do

Baby,

Usually when I have my massage, my MIL, hubby and maid is around... but I usually dun massage at ease leh... initially was okay, very enjoying. but lately, i made use of the 1.5hrs to make arrangements for her baby shower... keep talking on the phone. hence, i wasnt really enjoying. hahaha

Nancy,

Its good if your boy response well to yao lan. sometimes, i am so tempted to set up the yao lan for her... aiyo, see how. maybe after her baby shower.

babies need lota sleep, so that they will grow well and chubby.

singapoh..yeah..i watched him on his tummy for 30mins...let him calm down n sleep...then flip him over.

grumpus..i have not bought a sling.. tink hv to go pick up at least one today...

nancy...glad yao lan k help ur bb boy feel more comfortable..

my eldest boy fussed aft every feed aft midnite...cry fir v long b4 drifting off to slp. me n hb take turns to crawl out of bed ...let the two grannies rest tonight... v siong...

pumping now coz hv to start preparing for outing to PD from 6am....

Nancy,

Mine also cried non stop. Sometimes carry also cry, latch on also cry. I didn't feel overwhelmed la, just very tired coz cantzzz. Haha..

Second time mum ma so their crying like rock music. =p

Seems like a lot of us facing same problem now. So far, my boy is the colicky one. They both sleep in same room but girl doesn't seem to that affected byhis crying. Yesterday evening was rough. Boy cried n cried, carry don't want, put in Moses basket don't want, put in cot no need to say.... Cry even louder. From 5pm to almost 10pm, he just drift in n out of sleep... Every 10 mins, he will stir n start crying again. My hubby also sick so slept early.... I and my mother really didn't know what to do. Finally the poor boy slept at 10pm n was so tired that we had to wake him for feed in middle of the night.

Am gonna try the ruyi oil... Might not help with the colic, but will try anything now.

Girls ur babies always cry when wake up or sometimes they woke up without crying? My gal always cry when she woke up and seems to be always waking up in hunger! And we have to pacify her while waiting for the ebm to warm up.
Seems like a bad routine to always wake up screaming in hunger. Mummies what do u do to prevent such situation ?

Gan,
As bb get older they'll hv a more predictable routine n u roughly know when they'll wake up. I always watch over my girl when she's sleeping. When reaching the time to wake up she'll start stirring, legs, arms stretching already. I'll start warming the ebm already, dun wait until she really wake.

Grumpus I do sometimes watch for such signs n prepare the ebm.... But when she is awake, once open her eyes she wld be crying and screaming for milk. Is there any way we can 'train' the Bb or it's a phase they will grow out, ie when they are older they won't wake up crying.

Working wife
Most post natal massage will come yr hse to do the massage... There are free lance ones and those engaged by company... I do the massage 5 weeks after delivery.. Cant start too late else no effect liao..
I use originsjamu..personally i dont like to engage free lance ones unless highly recommended by friends.. Cos i dont know what kind of pdts they use and whether their enthics are good not..

Gals
Have u gals brought yr bbs out so far? Cny coming.. Dont thk i have time to shop for new clothes for myself.. Any website i can source for nice bb clothes?

I find my bbs stools v smelly leh.. Like v pungent musky smell esp when they are on similac fm...

Gan,
Bb shd outgrow lah. As they get older their tolerance for hunger also goes up. They can wait awhile for their milk.

gals..i asked my PD about how to deal w bbs having gassy tummy and also colic. he advised the following:

1) for those who are bottle feeding, feed the bbs sitting upright, burp in the same position... and hold bb for 15-20mins before lying down in cot.

2) put bb chest facing mattress for 1hr after feed. this is to prevent the air bubbles in the tummy from moving upwards and causing bb discomfort.

3) rid wind solution.

all these combined will reduce the level of discomfort for bb... though will not totally eliminate.

my boy with reflux put on 1.5kg! the most among the 3 of them..the other 2 put on 1.2kg.. i m so surprised.. coz he seems to be regargitating alot of milk after feeds..n almost every feed...
PD says average bb growth for 1st mth is 800gm - 1kg...so my little ones are doing well....

Singapoh I latch her last night for 45mins but I think no bm?? Coz later she cried in hunger and didn 't want to latch and drank 80ml ebm which is her usual amt.
I suspect when I latched her she is sucking for comfort like a pacifier

Panda
How do u know yr boy has reflux? What symptoms does yr boy have?

Are u gg to let yr bbs take rotavirus and premuoccol vacinations?

baby, he will puke milk after and during feeds..smtimes in small amts tht flow out..smtimes more... PD says its very common w young bbs...n shld go away when they are about 6mths...

we will be taking up the package at PD which includes these two vaccinations..plus a couple of others such as influenza..etc

my bbs did not do hep b jab at birth..only BCG done. the next visit 1 mth later ..will do 6 in 1.

Panda
My twins will also have milk flow out frm their mouth after feeding.. Can be an hr later.. Not right after feeding... Will stain their top... This is reflux?

How come yr bbs did not take hep at birth? My twins aldy took their 2nd hep... They will take 5in1 at 3 mths old.. According to the nurse.: it may cause fever.. So they usually let bbs take at 3 mths old.. Cos they dont want bb to have fever that young... Hep injection will not cause fever.. If gotto take 6in1.. Need to take at 2 mths old..

baby, my PD says me n hb not hep b carrier. there is not need for our bbs to be given the hep b jab at birth as it is possible to cause side effects at later age when given at birth. in sg, most bbs hv it done at birth becoz the govt cannot differentiate which bb's parents hv hep b or not, so just do a blanket cover for all.

he also told me the jabs tht the govt made compulsory for bbs are very much no longer high risk ones in sg. its the non compulsory ones tht r more impt.

yes.. milk flowing out is reflux.. it seems like most bbs hv it.. smtimes i can change my bb boy's top 3x in 1 hour... i read in a book tht reflux is more of a laundry problem then anything else

Took my boy to pd today. He had some discharge frm the ear, we suspect either water went in or milk went in when he spit of milk and it dribbled into his ear. Pd said its inflammed, have to take antibiotic. Cld be the reason why he is so cranky lately. Then when we came home, after his med n feed, he puked. I see also so heartpain
then after that, his sister also puked milk. Dunno whether she feels he is sick??

Panda,
When u say puke milk, like how much comes out? A mouthful or 10-20ml? My bbs puke means 10-20ml come out... Normal spitting is only a mouthful. Am quite worried... This puking happen 2-3 times already leh (not in same day, 2-3 times over past 2 weeks). Is that normal?

Gan,

Comfort suckling usually last for few seconds then bb doze off. If bb is actively suckling means he is drinking.

Panda,

Wah u are doing a great job. Soon u will hv 3 little sumo. Haha

Pandawife what r the non compulsory injections? Which PD r u seeing? My friend recommend a PD at united square whom I wld likely switch to after the review with kkh PD when she is 8 weeks and after the 6 in 1.

My gal also spit out mouthful of milk sometimes 1 hr after feed. I m practically washing her clothes everyday! Luckily have a dryer.

working wife, smtimes its a mouthful which spills out.. smtimes its much more like half the feed tht merlions out when he burps. this happens for at least half his feeds! i was very concerned...bt PD says on problem since he is growing well. this is a transition period..

singapoh, hehe.. 3 little sumo sounds nice! LOL...but i miss my little gal's petite-ness when she was a new born. now she is all chubby on the face already. :p

gan, later i go get the health booklet and let u know... i hv a whole balcony of bb clothes everyday...hehe..

Gan
Me too.. I been changing my girl top several times a day..
Sometimes i wonder is it i didnt burp her enough after milk..
Today she even have milk coming out frm her nose!

Btw did u gals wrap yr bbs whole day? I didnt leh.. I never wrap them.. I just let then move their legs and hands freely..
Sometimes even at night i also nvr wrap them...

Baby I didn't wrap my girl since she is 2 weeks old.. Coz she doesn't like to be wrapped! I have a few new swaddling blankets not used. Today my hubby trim her nails so we have also remove her mittens

Panda
Haha me too leh.. I miss my girls small pettie face when they only few weeks old.. Now both are chubby!

Gan
So u didnt let yr bb wear mitten and booties now liao? I notice their hands and feets are cold.. If dobnt wear not scare they will feel cold?

Btw, when u clean yr girl bottom.. Do u pull apart the labia and clean inside? Cos i always do that when they poo.. The poo will get trap inside.. And also during wipe time i also clean inside.. But i scare will irrate that area cos its a sensitive area there...

Check with you, once bb is born, will KKH appoint a PD or do we need to find our own PD? Is that the reason why u gals are finding PD near your place?

baby
When the bbs are older, they may not want to be wrap. So it depends on bbs.

I still wrap my bb. Find that it helps reduce startle and bb feel more secure and sleeps better. The nurses here says can wrap until 4 mths if the bb wants. See how it goes, will continue wrapping as long as bb wants.

Bubbybear
My twins also startle when they sleep.. Any slight sound will make them jerk.. So means they feel insecure and wrapping can help?
But wrapping in the day like v warm le..

Baby today is first day she didn't wear mittens yes her hands r abit cold coz I on the air con at 28 degree as I was latching her. Guess we will go without aircon for a while. My gal normally wear socks so her feet r warm. But just now o removed her socks do that she can wriggle her toes.
Maybe u use a cloth nAppy to swaddle her? Not so warm . My gal will wriggle out of the swaddling blanket and she preferred her hands free.

Gan
Ya im using the cloth nappy to wrap my girls.. If i dont wrap tight enough after awhile they will also wriggle their hands out.. I dont quite like to wrap them cos they can move their hands and legs freely.. Can do exercise hehe..

Aircon at 28 degree still cold meh? I on at 26 degree.. I aldy feel not cold enough liao.. If dont wear mitten will they poke their eyes? Or am i worrying too much.. Haha..

Gan
Ya im using the cloth nappy to wrap my girls.. If i dont wrap tight enough after awhile they will also wriggle their hands out.. I dont quite like to wrap them cos they can move their hands and legs freely.. Can do exercise hehe..

Aircon at 28 degree still cold meh? I on at 26 degree.. I aldy feel not cold enough liao.. If dont wear mitten will they poke their eyes? Or am i worrying too much.. Haha..

Everyone busy today ah? No one here le... Hee

Yday night one of my girl cry non stop.. Nothing can pacify her.. She has lots of wind.. Pass out loud gas.. Her stools are watery and greenish...And will pass out abit of poo when she fart.. Is she having diaharrea? We have her ridwind and she immediately calm down and went to sleep..

Baby... Nowadays I totally cannot sleep at night. After the throwing up incident, I'm paranoid now when bbs sleep... I'm so scared they throw up in their sleep. So I end up just watching them. And now, both of them take turns to wake up so it's almost every hr. My cl is so tired that I noticed she dozed off whilst feeding my bbs at night. So I also make sure I have to observe her giving the feed. End up I can only try to sleep during the day.

Girls who pump n bf, do u find yr back sore? Mine is so sore cuz sometimes the position of bf is quite straining n need to hold still in case bb lose the latch-on.

Baby - did yr pd prescribe Ridwind? I want to try it but I saw the ingredients include simethicone (like our adult gas pills), dunno if it's too strong for bb? Can newborn (less than one month) take ridwind? My boy every evening same thing..... Cry n cry n cry... Until I can see he is sooo tired but still dun wanna sleep.

Anyone of u experience yr bb hungry for food just 1-1.5 hrs after last feed? When my boy cries, he will open his mouth wide wiide searching for nipple.... I dunno if they just do that each time or really hungry. We dare not feed so often so end up to pacify him for one hr plus where he cry on n off until the cries keep coming, then we feed. Dunno if we should just feed him when he opens his mouth searching even if it's just one hr after feed? Anyone had same experience can share?

working wife, i hv the same problem w my babies. some nights they want to be fed very often..like every hour. i told my PD..he says they are "snacking". usually if every hr, they will drink lesser milk than the normal amount.

he gave the following suggestions to overcome this:

1) offer bb some water if its not time for the feed
2) get bb to go into deep sleep..tht way.. he doesnt feel the need to snack..coz he will be very sleepy... to do this, feed him in total darkness.. this will trigger his brain to continue sleeping rather than sleep lightly n wake up 1 hr later.
3) slowly drag the feeding time by 15mins each feed..eventually u will get back to the 2-3 hrly feed..but this is provided u can pacify bb n he is not screaming too bably. hv to play by ear. might not be possible every feed.

my bbs are given rid wind. i did an earlier post on PDs advise to deal with gassy/colicky bbs.. u can refer to the pointers