IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Rose, mine is bleeding...not spotting....wat a way to end my 2010 n start my 2011...dun tink my company will allow unpaid leave for so long... If dr Loh says I m fit to go bk to work after 2 weeks then I will go bk else i will extend... Agree tt it's not easy for us to conceive so must b v careful bt my close fren tell me Nt to b too paranoid causing more stress to myself bt I dun tink I can stay calm when see red lor...

Dr Loh commented a bit low for one of d placenta... It will move up normally right?

mine was brownish spotting follow by red spotting. it is not uncommon to hav spotting or bleeding but i more paranoid so took unpaid leave ever since that episode to bed rest at home. mine was also low placenta, it only moves up in my recent scan/ ard wk 31.

Rose, are u expecting twins? Yes it is uncommon to hv red spotting... I Tot 2nd tri will b more stable bt apparently it's not... It's better to play safe than to b sorry since our babies dun come easy... If there is a need I will extend whatever leaves I hv...

Gan,
all my ebm was refrigerated immediately after pumping out. so i only bring chilled ebm out. i will pre-dispense the usual feed amt into a feeding bottle, plus maybe another extra feed as back up in case bb asks for more. basically i try to bring just enough lah, and not everything out with me.
i use those cooler bag with frozen ice pack plus bring a thermos flask with hot water.

when feeding time i will warm up the ebm in a cup of hot water.

I really regretted announcing my pregnancy to a few frens... Dunno is it announce too early tts y become like tt... I will keep mum till cny liao... Better to b safe than to b sorry...

rostrum, me not twins, singleton. bb ger.
dun worri about what has happened, just be careful in d days ahead.
stay positive!

Rose, Congrats!!! When is yr edd?

Ya, now can only pray my bleeding will stop v v soon...my Ds scan to pass with flying colors n after this scary episode, no more "surprises" for us... Everything smooth smooth...

Wish everyone here hv a smooth pregnancy n all babies healthy n guai guai n smart smart!!!

ladies, how many times do u bath ur new borns a day? mine take their bath every morning.. and my mum insist in the evening give them a body wipe and change before going to bed. but everytime body wipe, the babies will cry n cry so loudly.. i cannot tahan already... i sit in my room hear them scream n cry... i also wanna cry liao.

Pandanwife,
I only bath my son once in mid morning and wiped him in the evening. Unless weather really hot or he gets very dirty/sweaty from going, i will bathe him in the evening.

Pandawife my gal bathe on afternoon say 3pm to 5 pm depends on her feed and whether she is sleeping. She actually doesn't like to bathe.... Cry everytime the CL bathe her. We didn't wipe her at night ....

Rostrum,

Wave wave* Great to see u here. U must rest as much as u can as u hv bleeding episodes before.

Discuss with yr doc abt natural delivery. Dr Loh asked me "u want to deliver naturally right? 1st baby 3.37 was a smooth delivery. Pushing twins won't be a problem for u". faintz~

My boy was head down and gal in breech position. I took the risk of having a natural plus C sec but he said that it never happen to his patient before. But on the D day, after he checked, he said " possible of having c sec so we might as well go to OT to deliver" I was lucky that my boy has decided to come out first. Mei mei came out after 8 minutes in breech position.

When is yr EDD?

Gan,

I latch on outside so I hv less things to bring out! If I do, it's like Grumpus.

Panda,

I only bathed them in the morning and wipe in the evening. Bathe twins when they started sweating a lot, close to 2 months old

Rose, you are already in week 34!! That's fast!! Dun worry if your tummy not growing to 47. Mine was not a good example. Most importantly is baby healthy. U aiming for natural or c-sect?. I m so glad I had natural delivery and now my choice of confinement food is not so limited. Lol. In fact, I enjoy all confinement food. Lol.

Gan, am so envious that u r discussing on bringing frozen ebm. My house is always crowded. I dun have much chance of latching my girl. So I gv her ebm and fm. She is cleared of jaundice today but need to go back again on tuesday. Btw do u wake up your gal for feeding? Mine is usually sleeping. And I only feed her when she wake up.

Grumpus, my baby is 3.3kg as of day 3 post delivery. Beefing her outside really does make a difference.

singapoh actually is it better to bathe baby in the morning? seems like all of you bathe them in morning. my gal usually sleeps better in morning, so i didn't feel like waking her up to bathe....

Just Faith, my gal auto wake up for milk...now more frequently crying for milk. my gal jaundice level going down but not cleared yet. bringing her to kkh on wed for bt for jaundice and thyroid function.

Gan, my babies also will fuss abit during bath .. esp the boys...will cry.. gal is ok..she enjoys her bath like v relaxing..

according to mrs wong, if we bathe bb the correct way, they are not suppose to cry...bt i find it challenging.

this morning my hb n i took over the bathing session... after we finish w the 3 babies, both of us bathing in our own sweat!

at tmc, the babies take their bath in the mornings before their mid morning feed... so we follow the same.. usually betw 9-930am..after tht we will feed them.

rostrum,

must take good care of urself during ur HL.. hv plenty of bed rest, minimize too much walking and dont do any housework hor...

ur babies will be fine

Gan,

It's up to u. If I remember correctly, when I attend the briefing before discharging, the nurse mention that bathe bb in the afternoon coz not so cold.

Panda,
i bathe my girl once in the morn abt 10ish and a wipe down in the evening before bedtime. Is it because yr mil/mother strips them totally naked for the wipedown? bbs tend to feel very insecure with no clothes on and will cry. i used to do my girl's wipedown with her clothes on. so i just unbutton her top (diaper still on), use the cloth and wipe her body then take off the top and change to fresh top. then take off diaper, clean bottom and then put on fresh diaper.

Just Faith,
yr girl is doing well

it's ok to wait for her to wake up for milk but try not to let her go beyond 3-4hrs. newborns tummies are very small and need frequent feeding.

Rose, it's on valentine day... V romantic!!!

Singapoh, so it's possible to hv natural for twins? Wow, I tink its a challenge!!! Bt I will ask dr Loh.. Since he is so experienced! If choose natural then c sect later will need to bear both charges right?

My edd is mid jul... Bt twins will b earlier?

Thanks pandawife!! I hv Nt been doing any hsewk since my 2ww till now bt things still happen... Hw I wish I can b as strong as u gals here...panda, Cn I check when is the best time to start bu ourselves for multiple pregnancy?

rostrum
Usually, these things are beyond our control, just rest as much as you can and hope for the best, bleeding is risky, just need to monitor closely, but most of the time, it will turn out ok.

Thanks bubbybear! It's always no good to see red during pregnancy! Really hope it will end soon as it is taking a toll on Dh n me...

Thanks for all the consoles... U girls make me so warm...

just faith, i am aiming for natural n preferably without epidural. but of course easier said than done. today i am feeling extremely tight with my tummy, so uncomfortable that i hav been lying on bed except for meals n toilet. dun know if i can last til wk 37...

rostrum, edd is based on wk 40, anytime aft wk 37 is possible...

babyhopeful, r u feeling more n more uncomfortable as days go? i felt like i am not getting enough air and everytime bb moves, i feel miserable...

Gan, ok... Thanks!

Rose, when it's time for bb to b out, they will b out bt 14th feb is a date easy to rmb
u tk care!!! 3rd tri usually more xin ku, hang on there, in one mth time u will hold yr precious on yr arm...most of my frens actually go for natural without epi, if yr threshold is v high, maybe u can give it a try..

Rostrum,

Not sure about the double charge. I told myself "die die must push hard" . Hehe..

My MIL delivered her triplets naturally without epidural and she said like PS. But it's her 4th pregnancy I guess should be "easier"

For multiples, 35 weeks is good enough. I popped at 36 weeks, 3 days. 37 weeks is full term.

Rose,
i feel heavier as the weeks go by and feel like a penguin walking. Hahaha. This coming wk will be my wk 35.
I dun lie on bed for the whole day, as i need to go buy lunch daily on weekdays. Dinner will be bought by hubby most of the times.
I only lie down for a while when i need to elevate my feet to reduce the swelling.

Singapoh, so u had natural for yr twins or c sect?

Yr mil had her triplets via natural??? I really salute her!!! Wow!!! Since she has experience with multiple pregnancy, she must b yr advisor back then.

36 weeks... Hmm... Hope it wun clash with my bil wedding... Hope to attend their wedding before go pop..

Babyhopeful, u also Nt working? Seems like most mummies not working here... So envy... Seems like u popping v soon...smooth delivery!

Rostrum,

She bedrest in the hospital from 6 months till she popped. She said her total birth weights were 18 pounds. First bb came out in breech position.

I delivered my twins naturally with epidural. That's why they are few minutes a part.

Rostrum,

i took an tai med from week 6 - week 12/13... was told not to take bu after wk 16.

the only other stuff tht i had was birdnest and black chicken essence w/o herbs.

u might wanna seek TCM advise on this instead as it differs with individuals.

grumpus, yeah.. initally my mum will take off all the clothes.. i told her not to. today she tried w/o taking off the clothes first. but maybe bb already scared during the previous body wipe session... so cry very hard.

i m wondering if this is really necessary...

bubblybear, i agree .. how dirty can nb be.. unless they get milk on the clothes..then probably need to do a change before bedtime and wipe the neck with a wet wipe ... no need to do full body wipe i feel......

gals, for storing of BM.. if its used up within 24 hrs..i dun hv to freeze it right?

can just keep in the non freezer part of the fridge?

now hv to store my bm thts pump at night..we only feed BM during the day so tht babies can sleep longer at night after taking FM.

Singapoh, yr mil total birth weights are ok given they are triplets... Bt she v kelian... Must bedrest in hospital from 6 mths till she pop...So delivery naturally for twins is still possible... U r under dr sf Loh right if I m Nt wrong... U gimme some hope... Will discuss with him on d possibility.. Thanks!

Pandawife, I guess I m too late for any antai med now n dr Loh does Nt really like my TCM. may I kw which TCM are u with? I m considering to go eys paragon.. My mum also say to start bu after 16 weeks given my condition nw. She actually wans to start me on week 12/13... Yr black chix essence is self brew one?

Ladies, I gt one gf whom has too much bm tt she freeze all her bm and date them... She is giving birth abt 2 mths ahead of me, wld u mind feeding yr babies with other ppl's bm shd Yr own supply is not enuff?

Panda,
if BM is used up within 24hrs, can store in the fridge, no need freezer. but keep way at the back of the fridge, not near the door.
once hit 24hr mark if still not finished have to transfer to freezer then can keep 3 months.

actually the whole bathing/wipedown routine is up to u lah. but it's a good way to start bb on a routine cos they're supposed to feel refreshed and relaxed after the wipedown then it's wind down time, milk and sleep. that's the usual bedtime routine so that kids know bedtime is coming. until today i still follow that sequence for my 3 yr old.

Rostrum, I dun remember taking any bu during my time. But I had daily chicken essence (without dangui etc etc) and every other day bird's nest with pao sheng. I dun regard bird's nest as bu - as many pregies will disagree. But I need pao sheng to give me energy n keep me awake.

Rose, if u r aiming for natural, do try to take coconut water from week 35 onwards. Take it once a week. In all I took abt 7 coconuts as I had one false alarm (which I took one more on the day itself) and on the eve of delivery since I knew I will be induced, I had one more. Go for those with green husks, usually from Malaysia. Don't take those from Thailand (vital coconut).

When I deliver my gal, her complexion was very good. And my lochia flow was heavy during first 3days. Delivering without epi is possible, but provided cervix is dilating gradually. For me, after going through 11hrs of pain, my cervix was not opened (I wasn't relaxed enough, can see my bp of 135 +\- once I had epi, my bp dropped to 108 to 112. And cervix dilated. Try not to numb all the way as you need to feel contractions to know when to push. Oh ya, on the day of delivery, I also had two bottles of chicken essence to gv myself energy to push. Giving birth naturally is not easy. But the end result is very very satisfying.

Pandawife, I dun think evening wipes is necessary. But if my gal wakes up during evening, we will still wipe her. Fast one lah. Like what grumpus says, clean here, cover there. Lol. After she makes a fuss, I will carry her very close to my chest. Let her listen to mummy's heartbeat and let her feel our body warmth. She usually cool down in less than 15seconds. Very effective for me so far. When dr loh deliver here, she was crying, when put straightaway on my chest, she stopped crying and was listening to my heartbeat. I still can't forget that moment.

Pandawife
Yah, even when they poop I only flush the butt at most in the evening, no need body wipe. nb bathe once a day can already I feel. I did it with my #1, this one will be the same, what for make myself so busy.

Sometimes, when u have old folks helping u, they have their own thinking and want to do it their way. Sigh...

rostrum
I think if its really necessary like bb is born really early, bm may be beneficial, otherwise, partial bf is good enough.

Rostrum,

Yeah Dr Loh delivered for me. I didn't take any tcm in both my pregnancy.

Just faith,

Due to GD, I wasn't allowed to drink coconut and my stomach was empty on my D day! And I was numb from my chest down. I just pushed hard and can feel something stuck down there. Dr vacuumed out my 1st. 2 doc pressed on my belly to push bb out.

Singapoh, u r right! hahaha... my mil n mum dun wanna let me bathe n wash hair lor! both conspire and say i can only do body wipes w the herbs water now. cannot tahan, i hide in toilet and secretly bathe! wash my hair close the door quickly blow dry.... like some secret agent mission! hahahaha....

bubblybear, u r right. i had many disagreements w my mum n mil already. until i very tired liao. but my hb kept reminding me tht they are the best pple tht i can trust to take care of the babies.... which is also true...

Panda,

How u hide the noise of a hair dryer? Or u tell yr mum to let u bathe if she wanna wipe yr babies in the evening. Keke..

I hv a method when bathing bb so that they dun feel vulrenable when stripped naked. Dun remove their mittens until the end of bathing. This is taught by my first CL.

That's why I hired a CL. I dun like to be controlled by MIL/mum. I bathed everyday, sometimes twice. June was really warm. I sweat a lot after meals and bf. Can't tahan la.

just faith,
thz for the coconut tips! but i scared the coconut will bring forward my edd, which may hit cny. think i will start drinking after wk 37 or 38, when cny 1st 2 days r over.

babyhopeful, grumpus,

do you gals experienced frequent giddy spell lately? i think i almost passed out this morning in the market, once reached home, lie on bed and sort of lost consciousness or fell asleep instantly, just woke up n realised that i had slept through 2 hours.

Panda,

I didn't hv any ebm to freeze in the first weeks. All used up very fast. I only freeze when my gal went to stay with MIL during weekdays. (11.5 weeks onwards)

Panda
So u bathed using the normal shower water? U didnt use the herbs to bathe?
I also use the herbs water to wipe myself... But use normal water to wash my bottoms...
Try not to bathe everyday if u can tahan.. Esp the hair.. Now the weather not v hot mah ... Else just stay inside aircon rm u will feel better and wont hv the urge to bathe...hee...

babyhopeful,
not sure wat went wrong, just felt my bp getting lower and need to rest horizontally. will talk to dr loh about this.