IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

sorry..silly qn.. but its normal to pump less milk after i latch bb right? as compared to a pure pumping session w/o latching?

Panda,
yes, it's a good sign if u pump less after latching bb cos it means bb drank well

Panda,

If bb cries before latching then u need to burp. For very young babies, it's good to burp after bf? If they fart, also good.

For yr "silly question", answer is yes =p

thanks thanks! i m trying to latch my boys ... found out tht lying sideways to latch works for us.. i m much more relaxed n comfortable...babies also like it....

supply still very limited now though.... dunno when will ever hv enuff .......

Mums of twins and trips, could someone pls pm me the contact of a gd confinement lady who is experienced in handling twins? How much per mth?

Thanks a lot

Hi girls we have to sterilize the breast pump and milk bottle after every use right? Reading the medela instruction , it says. Once a day

Hi girls, do u find drinking the red date longaan drink too heaty? I find after two days of drinking that, my sore throat became worse and I feel like I'm gonna fall sick. Maybe too used to drinking plain water during pregnancy... Now suddenly just drink this drink feels like not enough pure water in body. Actually why plain water not good?

Gan, i sterilise after every pump leh..very tiring.. after each pump dismantle, wash, sterilize, fix back... then awhile later pump n repeat the same thing again n again....:S

working wife, i take plenty of warm plain water. if red date longan alone..is very heaty. did u remove the seeds in the red dstes? alternative is to just drink red dates drink, dont put longan.

working wife,
it's the longans that make the drink very sweet and hard to drink. like drink already still thirsty. u can feedback to your CL and tell her to lighten the consistency of the drink so it's thinner and more watery. when the drink is thinner, u can drink more then u'll feel more hydrated.

Gan,
i sterilized my pump after every use. I know some ppl practice once a day only, in between leave in a airtight container in the fridge. (cos fridge temp is lower so bacteria breeds slower)

Panda,

I love lying down sideway to bf too! Not so sweaty and both doze off. Haha..

Slowly build yr supply. I took more than 2 months for twins

Happyhippo,

Make sure bb mouth cover yr aerola. Wrong latching can course soreness. As for pumping, maybe u start with the lowest power first. Yeah use ebm to apply on yr tits

Working wife,

No plain water coz there is "wind" in it. I think it's ok to drink as long as it's not cold. Bf is very dehydrating.

Panda,

I never dismantle everything to sterilize lei. I got 2 sets of fennel so I sterilize lesser. Now I only pump 3 to 4 times a day. When my bb gal is back, I will latch her.

Singapoh, i tink i m paranoid..haha.. i wash w detergent and sterilize after every pump.. n i never let anyone else other then hb help me wash the bp. :p

hmmm.. one of my boys always take almost an hour to latch leh... n after tht still not satisfied.. wanna drink some FM to top up...
i m very puzzled.. latch for so long, i lie there always struggle to stay awake!

babyhopeful,
how many times do u poo everyday? i realized my poo getting harder n darker in colour, n oso i hav to lie down on bed to rest after every poo...seems to be drawing away my energy. i hav been drinking quite a lot of water but doesnt seems to soften d poo...

Ya I also dismantle everything to stetilise.... Milk bottles also ... I think I better buy a box to put the sterilized bottles.... I always leave them in the sterilizer.

Do u air the bottles to dry and keep them?

Working wife when u will be discharging?

Rose I have very bad constipation in my 3rd trimester... Despite drinking alot of water n fruits. Regret not letting dr loh know and had piles as I use alot of force then. So if really difficult to poo, let dr loh know

Rose,
I usually poo once a day, and usually ard same time daily. At most, will be once every 2 days. So far, the poo juz came out soft and yellowish.
Eat more fruits and veg and drink plenty of water. I think coz im on GD diet, so had to eat fruits and veg regularly.
However, my feet seem more swollen now.

gan, so far i can stil poo at least once a day but just that after every poo will feel very dehydrated n at times giddy.

babyhopeful, ur feet start swelling...think the clock is ticking liao...so far r u d next one to pop? den follow by me? ...
a friend advised me to keeping telling myself that natural birth is not painful n to endure the contraction pain without epidural ...dun know if i can do it.

Panda,
yr boy is latched on but is he drinking? u need to observe his chin and throat, make sure he's sucking and swallowing. cos sometimes bb latch on but are not drinking that's why still not satisfied.

grumpus, yeah...he is sucking n drinking.. but slow... like in sleep mode... suck abit, rest abit. my other boy is faster, 15mins each side, n he is satisfied...

think my boy got chapped lips, a tiny bit of skin peeling like tat. any idea how to cure?
his lips are also very whitish, is this milk residue? any mummies got encounter the same?

Grumpus u 37 weeks today?? Must be counting down to meeting ur Bb!! U going for natural or c section ?

Btw after c section , when can we conceive again?

grumpus, so next one to pop wil be u...

whats your waistline now? want to guage how much more will mine expand coz now at wk 34 i am already feeling very tight and heavy...n i am only 39.5" inch now!!! i remember just faith mentioned hers was ard 47" during her full term!!! thats so big!

Singapoh, no leh, i only latch 1 bb per feeding session... coz their feeding timings too close ..

i noticed these 2 days the boys are drinking very little milk... and their feeding timings are all off... dunno if its the latching.. their FM intake per feed used to b 70ml.. now each feed only taking 40ml max...

is it normal for them to be drinking irregular amounts?

Panda,

Ohh then do u pump after each feeding session? LC told me if bb latch for more than 20 mins no need to pump but I dunno abt triplets la.

Drink lesser so next feed is earlier?

Pandawife my Bb drinking also abit irregular lately.... She can have 70ml then 1 hr plus later cry for milk.... And I will feed her another 30 to 50ml. Not sure is it ok

Rose I see my gal so cute.. Told myself shld go for 1 more FET so that she won't be lonely... We just renewed the storage of our 6 embbies, so fast 1 yr has passed since my fresh cycle. But coz mine is c section , dun think I can get pregnant so fast so will ask dr loh what preventive measures we can take during this time.... So ironical

Singapoh, yes, i pump after each session. can still hv some BM to store..

the feed timing smtimes earlier smtimes later.. we cant see any patterns..so confused now also. but definitely drinking lesser per feed even when the feed is pure FM w/o latching.

i m tinking of stop latching tmr to see if they r drinking enuff... coz i hv no idea how much they are taking when latched one.

Gan...ur bb also ar... if my one cries for more, we usually will giv somemore to top up... if not bb keep crying n fussing...

does ur gal sleep thru the night apart from feeds n diaper changes now? my ones start to hv long stretches of hours wide awake leh... smtimes 2-3 hrs in the wee hrs of the morning dont wanna sleep....:S

Gan,
YES! i am 37wks today. still playing the waiting game. Bb only partially engaged and cervix was still closed at the last check. She's still growing well, 2.5kg last thurs so dr wants to just leave her in.

After c-sect, best to wait at least one yr before getting preggie again. So yr kids should be at least 2 yrs apart by the time u deliver again.

Rose,
Just Faith's bb is quite big (3kg), my bb is smaller...hehhehe
my waistline now abt 43inches.

Rose,
wah...to deliver natural without epidural must hv high threshold for pain...i dun think i can...my frenz advised to use epidural...actually quite a number went for csection.

Gan,
oh didn't ans yr qn abt natural or c-sect.
i'm hoping to go for natural. but a lot will depend on the circumstances. cos i can't be induced due to previous c-sect. i hv to go into labour naturally. so if there's any situation where i MUST deliver (fluid low, bb not growing etc etc), it's straight away c-section liao.

Hi mummies, can I join in? I m currently 12 weeks n having twins. I m under Dr Loh in kkh..

I m v upset recently... I Tot all is well till last thur when I m abt to turn in for the nite, suddenly a gush of red blood just come out like tt staining my shorts n panty. I went to kkh 24 hrs immediately n was told there is nothing wrong, cervix closed, babies active n waterbags ok... I was given a proluton jab n to bedrest..

However, this morning again saw red fresh blood n went in 24 hrs again .. This time I'm lucky.. Dr Loh saw Dh n ask him wat happen... He attended to me after a c-sect.. He did a scan for me n commented one placenta a bit low... Bt he say he can't say the bleeding is fm there except to ask me rest welln given 2 weeks hl.. He is giving me weekly proluton jabs...

Mummies, is this common in ivf pregnancies ESP for twins? I dunno where went wrong...I dunno y my pregnancy is Nt so smooth... Sigh!

Gan, do u still rmb me?

Panda, grumpus n Nancy n all other experienced mummies, i hv been a silent reader in the ivf thread n this thread n really v grateful for all the advises offered in the forum... I hv come this far cos of all the support fm u all... In fact I hv been reading since singapoh time

Rostrum if low placenta better rest more and minimize movement. Good that dr loh saw u and gave u the proliton jab. Better make appt to see him again before ur HL is over to confirm if ok to go back to work. Placenta wld normally move up as u progress in ur pregnancy. But with bleeding rest rest rest. That's what I did during my first trimester bleeding.

Pandawife... Yes lately my gal is very active at night..... She wld be up from 10 plus pm till 1 am! Or like now. We fed her at 4pm plus and she is not sleeping but eyes big big lying on her cot.

Gan,
oh my, i have such 'fond' memories of the eyes big big phase.
it's still not too bad if she's lying quietly by herself. wait till she knows how to call for attention :p

Gan, yes, will be seeing him again before my hl ends... U hv such serious bleeding during 1st tri too? Any idea when yrs totally stop?

Grumpus I very bad i let her kick and play herself in her cot and I observed her. She now learnt something from the cl!! Cl always go 'mmmmm' when she poos.... Now she also go mmmm till her face is red when she poos but not constipation coz her poo is watery and sometimes with curds. Grumpus very soon u will have the eyes big big phase.... Kekeke. Hope u can go for natural this time and ur baby wt is good now!

Rostrum I have a bad bleeding episode when I was 6 weeks plus, stand up from sofa and blood just flow down .... Wet my undies and shorts.... That time I can of freak out coz dr loh said my placenta was detaching... But later it was found that I have a blood clot in my womb. The blood clot was later absorb by my body

Gan, mine is the same as u, blood flows out like tap water bt it happens to me when I'm crossing over to 2nd tri... I hope with the 2 weeks rest, everything will b smooth fm there...

All yr baby talks really mk me envy.. Hw I wish I can carry my precious in my arms soon bt I understand another set of worries will set in... It's never ending de lo... U so fast plan for 2nd one le... Keke... Try to do it before the storage fee expires else lugi... Hopefully u Cn try for another one v v soon...

Rostrum can't have number 2 till 2012 coz I had c section. =)

Just rest more and talk to ur babies, everything will be fine

rostrum,
if conceive naturally after c-sect then no choice lor. it will be a high risk pregnancy though.

my gf delivered her 2nd bb one yr after her first bb via c-sect. when her dr found out she was preggie again she nagged at her big time, but still hv to support her pregnancy right? so she had 2 c-sections just one yr apart. no option of trying natural delivery.

Grumpus, I see... Looks like we hv to pay at least 2 years storage fee for the next try... Din kw abt all these... Being cut 1 year apart is no joke...

I tink mine mostly c- sect though I wan v much to hv natural.. Bt v difficult... So far I read mostly c- sect for multiple pregnancies...

Hope yr next one is a natural one n Cn try for 3rd one soon

hi rostrum, can feel your worry as i had spotting in 2nd tri, kinda freak out since 2nd tri is considered stable liao. but i was thinking since now dr gave you 2wks mc, u shld try to rest on bed n really minimize walking. also if your work allows, you may wish to extend your mc or annual/ unpaid leave to stay home throughout the entire pregnancy...its not easy for us to be pregnant, let alone twins. must exercise double caution especially with low placenta. wish u well n most imptly, lie on bed...