IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

errr..if i latch bb on, he only drink for 8mins on one side, n 2 mins on the other side..n falls alseep.. does it means he is full? of shld i wake him up n try to latch somemore?

Pandawife 70ml for ur boy is FM? My gal that day drank 60ml of FM , she actually threw out some of the milk but drinking breast milk dun have this problem. She can sometimes take 100ml but usually drink around 80ml. She is 3 kg now.

Let my girl wear cloth diaper during the day . I think ur mummy trying to save money for u... I have already used 2.5 packs of huggies new born and at least 10 pieces of goon since back on thurs. Now must check newspaper where got diaper sales... Hahaha

Pandawife when I latch my gal in kkh they asked me feed at least 30 min then .... If fall asleep, touch his chin he will suck. My gal used to bottle le, can't latch lately .... Ur boy ok with latching after bottle feed?

gan, yes..70ml applicable to both FM and BM.. about the same amt.. my one still v sleepy ..always drink n fall alseep..hehe.. just now i try to latch, also fall asleep v fast.

we hv not started using cloth nappy leh.. coz the pee n pooing frequency is too much to b using cloth nappy for 3 babies.. plan to start only after they are 1 mth old..when the pooing is less often..

i lost count of the diapers we hv used..hehe..

gan
ntuc got diaper sale in today's straits times. chk out the ad. i've used up 3 packs of huggies and half pack of goon for the past 3 wks. dont dare to start cloth diapers yet ...hahah

Gan, my babies can never latch for more than 10mins... tickle also sleep, strip off the swaddle cloth, ticks the bottom of the feet..also sleep!! when we feed FM hor, they drink within 10-15 mins n finish the 70ml n fall asleep too.....

30mins latch for each bb means i will need 1.5hr each feed.. n 1.5 hr later i need to latch again....:S

my boys ok to latch after bottle feeding.. in hospital the first 4 days, they always bring bb let me latch, followed by feeding FM... but my ger until now cannot latch ...so i always giv her EBM..

Pandawife and Happyhippo using cloth diaper during the day coz cl can help me wash. But only started 2 days ago. =p but cloth really must change very often!! Maybe that's why less nappy rash.

Happyhippo do u find goon diapers better? Huggies cutting like quite small.

Pandawife that's good the babies can latch after bottlefeed I will trying latching when my gal's jaundice is cleared.

Not sure is it becoz I used silicon teats harder than nipples.... Maybe shld have used latex teats.... What teats are u using? The most worth thing I bot is the sterilizer.... Coz used so often in a day!! Almost after every feed and pump

gan, my PD recommend NUK teats leh... easily for bb to suck he says...

i m using avent..

my avent digital sterilizer broke down on the night we cme home after a few uses!! next day xmas ...cant get it replaced. hb went to buy a pigeon one... at least now hv backup set.

i jusr tried to latch my gal...3 mins start sleeping...put her back in cot...10mins later she is screaming for her milk......

Panda, do u think it'll be better to pump and feed them then? 1.5 hrs is very long and maybe not productive. But the lactation consultant at KKH said that baby's suction is the best, then followed by pump. Like that how ah?

fruitree, i discussed this in detail w the LC at tmc..coz we hv 3 babies.
of coz latch is best in terms of suction, but there are also other issues..u will hv to remember who u feed first n last each feed to be fair..coz the last bb to latch might not be able to get as much milk.

her advise to me is to pump n divide the BM equally among the 3 babies.

for me, initially i gave all the BM to my ger coz she is the smallest... n i also notice tht her stools r very little when on FM.. when on BM, she has nice creamy stools...

now i try t0 giv it to whoever is up first for the next feed..coz dont wanna store n heat up since supply not plentiful yet.

after about 1 week, i m only pumping 50-60ml per 3 hourly....dunno when the supply will increase...:S

i m trying to latch now coz i wanna hold bb..hahaha... otherwise nobody will carry bb to my room... even 10mins also good..can hv bonding and also stimulate the breasts abit.

when u gers use the cloth diaper do u slip on the 1 more layer of diaper to hold the cloth diaper ... its sort of like waterproof layer

or just use pins to hold ?

Where can i get fitted cot sheets besides
Ikea, Aussino, kiddy palace.

Panda,

How come avert sterilizer is so lousy? I m still using my pigeon sterilizer. Bought in 07.

PD told me to latch my gal first because she is a small eater.

gan
i started using huggies then goon. we find the goon quite big leh, abit worry if can hold all the poo. think we prefer huggies coz more fitting, so feel more secured

my baby is 3wks now and poo about 1-2 times per day. is that the norm rate?
when he poos, its really big time poo and loud! so loud that think it scares himself too that he sometimes let out a cry. any of ur bbs got like tat also?

JJ,

It will be too warm if u use a waterproof cover plus cloth diaper. It may cause rash.

My twins are wearing Fitti. They zzz whole night for 10 ton12 hrs without change also no problem. Very cheap too!

singapoh - then won't the stuff leak out ? esp if its heavy duty poo/ pee ?

how many waterproof mats u guys bought ?
Cot sheets ?

Singapoh, yeah lor.. i also dunno why.. digital set somemore.. so lousy. i got my sil to replace a new set. the pigeon one is more user friendly..just press one on/off button.. easier for my parents n mil to use.

avent one we intend to keep as spare.. coz more complicated to use.

i tink my latching skills sucks! hahaha.. thts y bb uncomfortable n fuss.. i tried cradle, football hold.. all fail on ger... the two boys ok with either... will happpily suck n sleep!

JJ I bot the nappy snaps from mothercare instead of using pins scared poke Bb accidentally ... Which is a right choice coz my gal very active always kick during change. I bot waterproof pants too but like Singapoh said very warm , then no point wearing cloth le coz want to air Bb backside. I put a thin waterproof mat below her so that the bed won't be wet.

Singapoh I also heard my gf said fitti cheap and good. Do they have small size? This one ntuc got sell rite?

JJ I have 4 sets of bed sheets. 1 waterproof mat from pigeon .... That one used for changing diapers and also put below her if she wears cloth nappy. I put a nAppy liner for the cloth nappy. With cloth must change often can't be like disposable wear a few hrs. Like just now my gal was fussing coz she pee and she not comfy with the cloth nappy . The cloth also kena poo many times..... Need to soak then wash. Overall more work compared to disposable

Panda, I guess it will take some time for us to establish the feeds. And it will all depend on the babies too.

I also intend to give more BM to my boy since he's the smallest. But so far come to think of it, he's put on more weight than his original weight after all the initial weight loss. My second girl still haven't reach original weight. Eldest reaching now.

panda,
does diaper hav any indication when its full n wet? so tat ur mum no need to touch if its time to change? 3bbs change disposable diaper siong leh, think wil cost quite a lot...mayb ur mum wants to maximise d usage...

roughly how many pieces of disaposable diapers is require per day? think i may need to stock up now since got ntuc sales.

Panda, one triplet mummy I spoke to suggested cloth diapers. Bur I'm not sure if they are meant for bigger babies. She told me they are easier on the pocket. She mentioned the brand bumwear.

Happy
Hows yr appt with dr f?
Yr wound healing well?
When do u need to see him again?

Panda/gan
Huggies has the smallest fit.... Better for premature bbs.. Glen e is using huggies at the nicu.. I bought both huggies n pampers... Pampers is much bigger.. I still prefer huggies.. Hee...

Gan,
Welcome to auntie hood. Thurs is my favorite day of the wk. First thing in the morning I will check the newspapers for all the supermarket sales then chiong down if there r good deals.

Panda,
Small bbs r harder to latch cos they fall asleep very easily n fast.

JJ,
I used traditional cloth nappies for my elder girl. Didn't use a waterproof covering cos it's really too hot with it. I just spread a thin waterproof mat under her bum.
At night I use disposable diapers.

JJ,

I use Fitti when they were a little older. So far only 1 or 2 incident of poop leakage. Could be because didn't wear properly.

U can use a cheaper brand during the day coz u change them more regularly. At night can use better brand.

Panda,

I think u need 2 sterilizer!

Hey y dun u pay for a LC to visit u at home? She can guide u. Or any experience gf. Last time I went to my gf's house to guide her when I only hv my big son. Now no time and energy liao.

My favorite position is lie down to bf..

Gan,

Should hv S size. I bought mine in NTUC. I saw in Shop & Save but it's pull ups.

Pureen blue packaging is not bad too. My big son used that when he was a baby

Panda
U can go down to tmc parentcraft to ask for advise... U dont have to purposely go down.. Maybe can schedule when u go there to see gynea or pd...
Today i brought my girls to see pd... Their weight is 2.7 and 2.8... Still quite small hor.. They are nearly a mth old liao.. But weight still lesser than a full term nb bb...

I also went to see a lc at glen e for my engorgement.. She massage for me and let me pump out the milk.. Its a instant relief for me! The engorgement is totally gone... Gone with te pain too... She ask me just to pump 3-5mins to relieve pressure when the breast is filled... Gynea gave me antibiotics for 5 days for inflammation.. Afterwhich can take 2 days med to stop milk...

JJ,
If you can wait, order from spree from Babymallonline. It's cheap and the prints are quite nice. The material is like t-shirt material, slightly thinner than Aussino.

I was asking cos my MIL mentioned abt this to me .. then i blur ... didn't know of it .. Ahh my mIL more up to date then me?!?

those i saw at kiddy palace looks quite thin but might be cos its plastic material the bum will be hot & humid ... hmmm ...

bakaholic - thanks for the recommendation i will go check out this Babymallonline see what it is ... the spree is in this forum ?

Rose,
Quite difficult to stock up on disposable diapers now cos ntuc sales r always for M size above only.
They're so smart right? Cos younger bbs use the most diapers.

Baby...I just went for gynae visit. Fever due to the breast engorgement.. Dr says use cold compress on the breasts to relieve it n oso stop the fever. No med required. Mean while continue pumping. Maybe will call in LC .. My hb says nt practical for me to latch three..no need rest or slp if I do tht.

Singapoh..yum yum told me she mostly pump.. Downside is will get big boobs which I dun mind ..lol

Panda,
hahahha u know my bra size never went down even after i stopped pumping for my elder girl for so long? i had to throw away all my pre pregnancy bras and wear those i wore when i was preggie.

Panda
I wonder is it due to the avent pump we use tats y we get engorgement even with regular pumping...
I also kena fever once due to engorgement...
Can continue to pump to let the fever go away.. Just eat panadol will do.. And bb still can drink the milk to get the antibodies..

Panda, the cold cabbage thing really works too. After you pump or feed, you put it back on and only remove when pumping again. Also massage while pumping. Must press quite hard.

Pandawife ya my boobs are bigger now.... Finally they are bigger than my tummy!!

Babyhopeful u will get samples of dryers (2 pieces) after delivery in kkh. The nursery also using drypers. My CL thinks mamy Poko is good. But ex lah.

hmm.. how to massage whilte pumping huh? coz the pump suction will be pressed against the breast leh... when i try to massage, the shield like will release the suction n leak milk out :S

called LC hotline, she ask me to keep pumping.. i will try 2 hrly pumping tonight... see if tmr can clear..if not will make a trip to parentcraft....

panda,
u can only massage the back part of the breast cos the shield dun cover the whole breast mah. it does take a bit of practise. let me see if i can explain. u using double pump right?
ok, so left forearm 'kiap' left shield onto left breast, left hand hold right shield to right breast. so yr left arm is across both breasts. use right hand to massage right breast. because u're using yr left hand to hold the right shield in place, the connection should not break so easily.

to massage the other side, just mirror image the above. so right arm kiap right breast, right hand hold left shield, massage left breast with left hand.

grumpus...wah..very challenging! haha. the next pump i try.....

my mum just now came n ask me to latch one of my boy.. she says see if he can latch.. better then i pump to clear the engorgment.. my boy super duper impatient.. once come near me, fuss n fuss..bt w my hb's help, managed to latch him on both sides for 45mins before he was satisfied... now my breasts feels more relax.....

Hi girls, I'm finally a mama
finally had to do GA based on doctor's orders.

Isaac (kor kor) born at 6.16am weighs 2.8kg and Isabel (mei mei) born at 6.17am weighs 2.1kg. Both are doing fine n went straight to normal nursery. I'm so proud of them!

Words can't describe how I feel now. I'm so in love with them!!!

Thx for all yr support girls for these past few weeks!