IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh - i don't swim laps hahaa... even before i preg i just go 'soak' water so when i go i find a quiet corner to lean my back & look around ... sometimes try to float on my back ..

JJ,

Walk In the pool is good enough! Floating is syiok!

Gan,

U latch yr bb one side and pump the other side so that u get more milk. Mine is dual mini electric from Medela. Good enough.

Singapoh my gal has nipple confusion le after bottlefeed almost a week .... Tried latching on yesterday... She suck abit , pause then suck then unlatched.

Here u gals are talking how to pump and to get more milk..
Im here trying so hard to stop bf... Its so damm painful to stop bf.. Even worst than trying hard to bf... The engorgement and the blocked ducts is so painful... My last pump was yday afternoon.. I was told by tmc parentcraft not to pump and use hand express milk to relieve pain and apply cold cabbage..

I beem following this since yday till now... I still apply cold gel pack when the pain is intense.. It does provide instant relieve but after a while the pain come bk.. Dont know when will this end... I feel so miserable.. Till i have no mood to eat and to take care of the bbs...

Im thinking to get med frm gynea to stop the milk..

Anyone here who has stop bf before can advise me?
Sorry to be a wet blanket here... I really salute mummies who continue to bf!

Gan,
I used the medela swing and bf for one yr lei.

Baby,
Maybe u shd get the med to stop supply cos the method u're using is wat we use after having bf for awhile. The diff is by then our supply has established plus supply even drop naturally already after prolong bfing. So it's quite easy to stop. Yr supply is still high n not yet established hence frequent engorgement.
The med take effect very fast. My mum took it last time.

Grumpus find the suction not as powerful... Now spend abt 1/2 hr to pump 2 feeds for her..... Actually I didn't reAlly pump every 3 hrs... Sometimes stretch 4 hrs then pump. The pump I have got this 'moo moo' sound when I pump.... =p
My baby is not sleeping.. She has been up since 3 pm to bathe and drink milk. Till now still kicking Away in her cot while I m pumping awAy

Grumpus
Ya i really cant tahan the pain... Tml bringing bbs to see pd so will go get med frm my gynea.. Hopefully it will help to get rid of the pain fast... Its so miserable...

Gan,
compared to hospital pump is of cos not as powerful. hospital one is hospital grade wor.
i always hand massage and pump at the same time, i find that helps speeds up the flow. i used to take abt 15-20mins to pump last time.

as long as yr gal is not fussing, dun bother lor, let her entertain herself in the cot.

Gan, coincidentally, dr loh delivered your baby before he left. I waited for his return to deliver my gal when he returns from leave. I will never forget the moment when dr Loh placed her straight on my chest after he pulled her out. Her body was si warmth. And she stopped crying once I touched her. Very touching. N I kept her apologizing that I made her wait so long!!!!

Rose, grumpus

I was supposed to induce y'day at 530pm. But same morning, I had flesh bleeding at 4am. So we went early to kkh. I wasn't admitted to labour ward immediately. They admitted me to single bedder instead. By 3pm, I already feel contractions. When I report to induce at 6pm, my contractions was every 10mins. You won't believe that cervix has not dilate. I was inserted the bullet to trigger dilation at 7pm. By 10pm, my cervix has not dilate. And at that time, my contractions was every 6mins. My pressure was around 13x. I wanted to ask for epi earlier. But was told epi is usually given when cervix is 3cm dilated. By 12am, I was pestering the midwife I want to hv c-sect cos I find going thru contractions for nothing. Very discouraging. So midwife called dr loh and told him patient insisted on c-sect if he dun agree to gv me epi. Then dr loh said ok, give lah.

I had epi at 1am when i was having the every 3mins contraction. Luckily epi helped to bring down my bp and couldn't feel the contractions anymore. After that cervix was dilating 1cm every 30 to 45mins. At 415am water bag bursts. At 6am+ I was pushing very well. Dr log came to deliver at 8am+.

That's why I ended up with such long labour hours. Btw it's 17hrs not 19hrs. Now can feel little bit of pain at stitches. My labour was very dramatic. But I enjoy every process of it. Now seeing her, I m so calm n contented. Can't believe I m a mummy now.

Thanks also to many others who have congratulated me. It's my pleasure to share with all of you

Just faith so nice that u have the baby on ur chest once she is delivered...... I didn't have that special moment. Good that u can deliver naturally..... The midwives said the way I push is wrong, till now I m not sure what's wrong. Enjoy motherhood which is amazing!!

Girls who had c section, how long did u wear the waterproof bandage ? Doc said I cld remove the bandage yesterday which I did ... Yesterday was 10 days post op. I m tempted to shower but not sure will have infection since I wld wet the area

Gan,
i had my waterproof bandage removed after a wk cos i had bad reaction to the adhesive. no prob showering cos the surface wound is closed up already. just pat dry after showering.

My boy had his vaccination on both thighs. He only cried out once and quiet. Hub said he is thick skin! I said most probably his layer of fats is helping him. Haha..

Singapoh I remembered seeing ur twins with personalized rompers.... Do u know where can I order? Thinking of having one for my gal for her 1 mth celebration. Thks

Gan, so wasted. Cos you tahan until 10cm. btw, at my last few pushes, dr loh n dr Marianne helped me alot. Especially dr Marianne, which I must thank her for it. Her commands were very accurate. I only listened to her then. For those going natural birth, it's important to push when u r contracting.

I'm getting backache now. Cos overworked this morning. Hahaha. Going to discharge tomorrow. Btw, my lochia flow is very heavy. Soaked maternity pads again n again. Fainted once in the toilet. Lucky my sis was waiting for me outside the door. I called out to her.

Just faith
Congrats to u gal! Welcome to motherhood!

Yr lochia is v heavy? I think cos u went thru natural birth.. Those who went thru c sect.. I think dr help us clear most of the blood.. My lochia flow not heavy...

Singapoh
Ya cos i went cold turkey tats y im in so much pain..
Cos i aldy in pain with blocked ducts when im pumping before i stop.. So i didn tot of doing it gradually... And also the parentcaft told me to stop pumping.. So here i am feeling so miserable with the engorgement pain..
Just now i burst into tears with the pain.. Its so unbearable.. Its worst than the c sect op... Really pray hard that the worst is over and v soon its gonna be over...

Baby get the medicine, will help .

Thanks Singapoh !! Saw ur gal's personalized romper on website. =)

Just faith ... Take iron tablets coz ur lochia is heavy... Tomorrow can go home with princess le!!

Gan, is yr lochia heavy too? Cos you almost had natural birth. I wonder if that has helped you to have easier breastfeeding.

Just faith my lochia was heavy for 3 days but not so heavy that I need to keep changing pads. Today light flow.... Hopefully it will clear soon.

Panda, my belated but heartiest congrats to you!!! You are truly a legend. Glad that all your babies went past 2kg.

Just faith, congrats to you too! Wow, 19 hours of labour is no joke.

And hello to all ladies. I had been missing in action since I went back home cos I have been so busy pumping and making 2 trips to the hospital daily to see my babies. All of them are out from the NICU now. My boy is in the step down unit and the girls are in SCN. They all had jaundice and my boy especially had to be on phototherapy for some time. But now all stable already and they have all started to gain weight. It was painful for me to see them with with tubes here and there. But now that they are putting on weight and are more stable, I'm ok.

Pumping round the clock is also damn tiring. I wonder how is it gonna be once they are home. Panda, how has it been for you?

Simply can't wait to bring home my darlings. I still haven't carry my boy
Cant wait for that.

Justfaith,
WOWWWWW 17 hrs ..Congratsssss u made it ..natural delivery.... all worth to see the little one..

Workingwife,

All the best..

Singapoh
Just now took 2 panadol... Cos i have drug allergy.. So cant take ponstan...
Both breast react differently.. Cos i usually have more milk on my left side.. So its more pain at my left side now.. And alot of milk will drip out when i apply cold compression... My right side pain lesser... Not much milk come out...
So i guess my right side will heal faster than my left side..
Tonight gonna be a sleepless night for me... Dont think i can sleep well with the pain.. Somemore i need to have cold compression like every hr or so...

Didnt expect its so painful to stop bf...

Fruitree,

glad to hear that your precious babies are doing so well! how often do u pump? i try to do it 3 hourly..smtimes too busy /tired, will drag to 4 hrs. supply never enuff for 3 babies.. hv to rotate the bm between them...but i try to at least hv enuff for 1 of them every feed....

definitely tiring..to be pumping.. and also looking after the babies. i dun hv the luxury of the kind of confinement tht mummy only eat, sleep n bf bb. hv been having on n off fever for 3 days .. not sure if its due to the lack of rest or heaty confinement foods. tmr going to see gynae, will ask him whats wrong.

in betw the pumping n chaos, i try to catch power naps.. usually 30-45 mins..... at night, one of the feeds, i will get up to help..so tht hb can sleep... he has been a great support..if not i would hv gone insane the first day we reached home.

but all these are worth it.... u just hv to look at the babies, u will feel tht u can do anything for them!

Girls, trying to sleep now but of course nervous n excited. Aanesthesist reviewed my case and suggested GA so I will just go with what doc say. Well, I tried asking for epi

Btw, those mummies using formula milk, what brand is good? TMC told us we can choose what FM we want them to feed for first day since I'll be groggy frm GA. Any advice?

Panda - the ready packed one is which brand?

after delivery, i find that i can't feel it when my bladder is full. but when go pee, alot pee come out. its quite scary.. hope its not a sigh of incontinence in later age..
anyone experiencing the same?

baby
saw dr f ardi. ya stitch removal was fast. the cold spray was a little bit stinky. dr f keep saying few times its gonna be cold, very cold. i also forgot to ask him saw me how long is that black thread...hahah...all i did was hold my breathe as he did the removal.
ya he asked me to continue all the vits, see him in one mth time to get an all clear & pap smear.
actually why need pap smear? i also didnt ask.

do u find that u don't have time to rest much? even thou everyone keep reminding u tat must rest during confinement. now i worry next time got all the aches and sickness coz never rest even during confinement.
im posting at such unearthy hr coz jus fed baby and finished pumping :p

working wife,

all the brands comes w ready packed bottles. I tink there are 4-5 brands to pick from. I consulted the PD and he recommended Enfalac A+ for the babies, so we went with it.

Feeling excited for you! All the best and look forward to meeting ur darling babies soon

happyhippo,

same here, i also dun hv much rest.. pumping n taking care of babies.

i dun really tink much about it. watched all those ang moh's documentary, the mummies start taking care of babies from day 1 they are home, never do confinement too... i believe its fine..just try to get as much rest in btw as u can..... rest is not confined to just during confinement...we hv to look aft bb beyond the first mth for many many yrs..hee....

Working wife,

epi also have it's side effect. Many sistas here mentioned here mentioned abt shivering during epi. Lucky I didn't have that. When I was in the normal ward 4hrs aft delivery, my right leg was still numb. I was v worried n hubby keep massaging for me until I get my normal feel back. No harm going for GA.

Now I miss those days when my little gal was in my stomach. I m missing all the nights kicks!!! Try to catch more sleep now. We are all rooting for you!!!!

Just Faith,

so fast u miss the kicks huh? hehe.. i tink to touch and sayang the real thing better leh!

You must be looking forward to bringing little princess home!

Happyhippo I didn't sleep much too .... In fact confinement no no such as not touching cold tap water I have been doing it ... Like just mow washed breast pump and bottle coz I dropped them on the floor when I m abt to pump.... My cl is sleeping now coz my gal was fussing alot last night.... She wanted to be carried.... Have to check when is last feed with her later.

Panda, i can imagine that it'll be worse when babies come home. So far I've been pumping 7-8 times a day. Initially I took about 1 hour plus for each pump. Cos my breast became engorged and I was advised to massage well before pumping. And i was pumping every 3 hours. Then I got damn tired cos no rest at all. Then as I kept pumping and pumping, the engorgement went away and now I don't spend so much time pumping. At most 40 mins each pump.

So how much BM does 1 baby need panda? Now since my kids are still small, their intake is not that much. So, my supply is enough for all 3. But I think soon won't be enough.

Gan,

I washed all the bottles and pumps after my CL left. I only had 3 weeks of confinement. I went shopping in between. Ha ha..

Happy,

I think when we r old, it's normal to hv aching and sickness.

Panda,

That's what I told my mum! Taking care of yourself is a lifetime thingy, not just during confinement.

Fruitree, yes.. coz when babies ar back, u will not only be pumping.. there are alot of other things to do. initially i wanna make sure everyting is perfect... kept walking in n out of my room to make sure everyone's doing the right thing...but after a few days, i cannot take it.. then hb told me to rest...he says if i recover faster, i can do more things myself. now just focus on pumping n resting.. so last night i only woke up to pump.. babies cry i also just go back to sleep, let my mum n mil help me.

bm intake of each bb varies...my ger at 2kg took 20ml initially...now 1 week later taking 30-40ml.

the boys started w 30ml, now each can take 70ml.

Singapoh, tell u smthing, my mum is potty training my 1 week old boys leh :S

she can tell they cry n wanna pee..she will take out the diapers and carry them on top of the potty to pee!

Rose, not impressive, i went out to "investigate".....

baby was crying not becoz he wanna pee, its becoz the diaper was very wet.. whole piece turn yellow liao.. my mum just touch the surface says not wet :S then she strip the baby half naked n try to make him pee, he just scream n scream!

i told her not to do it untli they are older.. now is not the time.

this nappy not wet issue has been on going for many days.. told them many times, u see the diaper all yellow n heavy, means hv to change.. doesnt mean u use ur hands to touch, not wet, continue to wear, later nappy rash lagi worse.. but they still dont get it. haiz....

Singapoh, yes..she will train all 3.. she is very proud tht all of us were potty trained very early by her.. always telling her frens about this...LOL

Panda, is it 70ml every 3 hours?

Yah, I'm trying to get back to normal as soon as possible so that I can quickly recover before babies come home.

Ask you girls, do you all think it is ok for us to drive on our own about 2 weeks after c-sec? My hubby's needs to get back to work from next week, so only I can go give the milk to the hospital. Wondering if I'll be pushing myself too much by driving. Anyone here drove so soon after delivery?

fruitree, mine is every 2.5-3hrs.

but my boys bigger size too..so fuel consumption higher..one near to 3kg, the other one abt 2.6kg.