IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

baby, i got up at 4plus to pump again.. fever went down.. feels much better already.

just came back from PD..need to pump soon...

PD prescribe fenugreek and ask me to drink meat/fish soups 3 meals a day.. to help improve the supply. he says most importantly i must hv the mindset that i wanna do it

i notice supply slowly increasing.. now a 15mins pump i can get 60ml.. before tht need to pump 30mins to get 40-50ml.

Just faith, jia you! looking forward to ur princess's photos

Rose,
Oic, u hv to go ADC for scan. I only go Dr Loh's room for scan. He will check bb weight, heartbeat and water level. Then he said all normal, very good.
Many pple told me usu first bb will not be exactly full term and may deliver earlier. As long as above 37 weeks, i suppose it is safe bah.

Is it possible for Dr Loh to deliver during the 1st 2 days of CNY?

babyhopeful,
is tat colostrum? no, no discharge from nipple yet.
ya hor, will ask dr loh on my coming visit next week. wil let u know. think if hit 1st 2nd day very lucky or best hit d first rabbit bb in singapore. think will have free 1yr supply from sponsors...hahahaa

Hi nancy, do you still rmb me from the other thread? I hv sent you a PM, can you revert to me whenever you are convenient?

Rose,
wah, u still think of getting the first rabbit bb in singapore...the whole of singapore will know u hv delivered...lol...
but deliver on 1st 2 days oso may not hv so many medical staff in hospital, as some may be on leave...
i think 1st 2days CNY are public hols...unless the bb wan to come out, if not dun think doc will entertain inducing on these days.

Rose educated ah beng! Kekeke Dr tee pops by to see me during my stay as he is covering dr loh but he didn't even check my wound just ask am I ok. He is charming maybe he looks like some Hk movie star to me... Haha. U want to deliver on 1st day cny? Missed out all the yummy food leh.. I can't imagine eating confinement food during the first few days of CNY

Pandawife how is ur boy's jaundice? My girl still have and we bringing her to kkh for bloodtest alt days now

babyhopeful,
dun put on makeup n put on your ugliest spec n with a short haircut, dun think anyone will recognize u. hahaha. just jokin, i oso dun want to appear on tv...
ya, think if hit cny, mayb lesser local nurses...wil dr find it unauspicious to see red on d 1st day of new year?
try not to feel too excited, stay calm n maybe bb will stay longer inside. oso not too much cold drinks...

oic, Rose. I bought extra large bra from mothercare in Tri 2 when i realised the old ones r vv uncomfortable. Think can last till delivery. Will continue to use before deciding whether to buy nursing bra.

Rose,
LOL...see red on 1st day of CNY...think docs r used to it..
If u hit the news, they will report ur name etc..ur friends/relatives will definitely know..
I was thinking of delivering b4 CNY starts, then can rest and dun need to go house visiting. Some pple said "end tiger, beginning rabbit" bb r smart. My cousin was born a few days b4 CNY and she is smart and good in her studies.

i dun take cold drinks now, ever since kena GD.

gan,
it wil be quite malu lah, but the thought of free diapers, milk powder, voucher etc...rather tempting. hahahaha. -____-"'

Panda
U using dual pump at the same time? So far i hvt use dual pump.. Im only using single pump... Cos if use dual pump.. No hand to massage the breast while pumping..

60ml is good... Keep it up!
Who knows after awhile u will have enough to feed all 3!
Shame to say im giving up bf.. My breast stil have painful hard lumps.. Its making feel so miserable.. Luckily cold cabbage can provide me with some relief.. Its gonna be a long painful route to stop bf...

babyhopeful,
luckily i hav a common name. :D kekeke.
ya, i heard too, my friends were telling me that coz bb born in the beginning of year has more months of learning advantage to those born later. subjective though.
did u engage confinement lady? they charge much higher during the 15 days of new year, highest if you want them in for the 1st 5 days of cny.

Rose,
I will be doing confinement at my mil's house. She offered her help, since she did for all her other grandchildren too.

Did consider engaging CL, but think not worth the $$, as it is vv ex, when i asked for the quote...that CL quoted me 3k regardless of which of the 15days of cny delivered.

babyhopeful,
good for you. my mil stays with me but getting CL due to my mil old age. but my mil did offer to take care of d bb after my maternity. old ppl kinda oppose to putting nb to infant care service. but i a bit worried of her hygiene when taking care of d bb...she likes to dig her teeth with her fingers...anytime anywhere...n seldom see her washing her hands with soap. gosh...its tricky to highlight to her yet not offending her. old habits difficult to change.

Gan,

my little ones just cleared their jaundice bt today. PD says by end of 1st week will peak already.. and the levels are all very low.. no need to worry. PHEW.. was quite worried this morning.

baby, yes..i using the electric dual pump.. just finished w a 90ml bottle of bm..hehe..very happy.
it takes alot of discipline and effort to be pumping.. i always get a backache after pumping..even with alot of pillows supporting my back..

i dun pump n massage at the same time.. i will massage both breasts..pump 10mins..then stop to massage again.. then continue pump another 10mins.. if i m not too tired, i try to pump for 30mins.. if very tired, then i do it for 20mins.

PD says it will be challenging to bf all 3 ...demand is more than wht my body can supply..

i m happy to be able to do partial.. not ambitious to wanna total bf all 3 of them.

Rose, i see ur concerns.. i hv to train my parents n mil to get into the habit of washing their hands w anti bacteria soap and also use hand sanitizer before they carry babies or do feeding.

smtimes they just change diapers, n forget to wash hands n proceed to make FM to feed bb!

so me n hb hv to round the clock be on shift to ensure all is ok until they get used to doing it comfortably....

Gan, ur gal still hv to be under the phototherapy machine?

alternate bt very poor thing leh! just now when i brought my babies to the lab.. i dun dare to go in when they did the prick... hb went in w each of them..i sit outside hear them cry my heart very pain...i also wanna cry!!

so far they hv been prick 3 times since birth... i already cannot take it..

see my boy in the light machine, also heartaching..

Panda,

Oh dear...change diapers and make FM w/o washing hands...that is a bit... ~___~ '''

Old people tends to say "dirty eat dirty grow up"...and they like to compare with us saying nowadays our immune system so weak coz we are too hygienic...

really have to play by ear...lately there is a case of Hand Foot Mouth Disease spread from child to father...and the mother is pregnant...

My MIL often have mouth ulcers, toothache problems and sore throat, my hb already hinted to her not to poke her fingers into her mouth for nothing...but she just listens to what she wants to listen...sianz. Have to wait and see how much she is willing to change her habits for the sake of her grandchild...

Pandawife my poor girl has been taking blood test many times since birth.... Very heartpain. She started with low blood sugar coz she is preterm according to doc. Then her thyroid was slightly off which cld be due to birth stress. Jaundice not clear yet... Initially was daily bt now alternate... Her reading is 229 no need phototheraphy but need bt to monitor. Not sure if I shld do partial breastfeeding and provide FM coz I read some jaundice due to breastfeeding ..... But so far doc at kkh A&E never say anything when hubby told them she is on breast milk only

So u can return the machine to tmc today? How do u and hubby bring the 3 babies out for PD appt today?

Rose, it usually happens during the nights..coz at night wake up ..blur blur..then bb screaming to be changed..followed by wanna be fed..

of coz to us, its a major hygenie issue.

i also hv to teach them how to wash the different parts of the milk bottle, and how to use the sterilizer and followed by using the tongs to put the milk bottle back.

the initial stage is very challenging..but no choice..unless u can do everything urself. hv to be patient and slowly let them learn ...

Yes panda...have to trust them. They are also parents themselves... :p

Thanks, felt so much better now. But I just saw my MIL walked out of the toilet and no sound of water...think she didnt wash her hands. Hahahahaha...I am dead meat...

Rose,
Oic...i dun live with my mil...so will hv to pack my luggage and stay over for 1 mth.
I will take childcare leave to take care of my gal for abt 1 to 2 yrs before returning to workforce. Oredi informed my principal about it.
When i resume work, will put my gal in childcare, coz by then at least 2 yrs old, which i will feel more comfortable.
My mil can take care of her if i really wan to, but i would like to experience motherhood for the initial years. Anyway, im oredi on NPL this year, so will extend childcare leave, since i will not get any maternity leave benefits. The only thing, I will be posted to another school.

Rose,
omg...nvr wash hands after toilet visit??
think u better get ur hb involved to hint to her as well.
If i need to get any msg across to my mil and i feel paiseh, my hb will do the 'dirty job'...so far, it works!

Gan, whats the measurement units? 229 is very high? coz today my babies results came back all below 8. the boy was 11 and dr wanted us to do the phototherapy.

yes..tmc already sent smbody to pick up the machine at noon time.

haha.. our trip out v challenging.. early morning mad rush to feed n get 3 of them dressed... my hb put the biggest boy in the infant car seat, while me n hb carry one bb each.. my dad drove, mil also came along to be extra pair of hands.

when we reach the clinic, it was still early.. wait for 15mins..then one of my boys poo n pee..it leaked n wet his romper, pants and also the swaddling blanket! so we had to change him into a new outfit there...... n also give him another feed to pacify him....

thank goodness, the other two babies did not fuss nor feel hungry for the rest of the trip until we reach home

Babyhopeful,

Hahaha...think I better stop exposing my MIL bad habits...wait no appetite.

*naughty me* But just to share one last "classic" case: few days ago, saw my MIL scratched her butt (its in between butt wor) in the public, put the same hand on an old escalator handle and after exiting from the escalator, started digging her teeth with the same hand...
*okie, thats it... too gross*

Panda wife dunno what's the units but above 260 needs phototheraphy. I m thinking of mixing some FM to her feeds see if jaundice can clear else really Heartpain. Then my mum and Sis kept nagging at me why I dun send her for phototheraphy... Making me snap coz doc send us bAck and they way they put it is like I insist to keep my gal home

Babyhopeful,

no choice...I try not to see...but d daily habit of putting the entire hand into d mouth and use finger to dig the wisdom tooth area is just too obvious to miss... :p But I admit I am beginning to observe her more closely ever since she said she is gonna to take care of the bb...

Same like if you are going to engage infant care service, you would check on their cleanliness etc...

Or perhaps I am getting more and more paranoid as d big day approaches...hahahaha...

Silly me, worry for all the boliao stuff...

Rose,
it's no boliao stuff hor...its personal hygenie and its important...if not, next time young kids will pick up the bad habits without knowingly...

BabyHopeful,

I can only be hopeful...coz even her own daughter and son already pointed out to her many times, but she is just so stubborn and used to such old habits. She is not my mother, I believe if I snap at her, she will "remember"...own mother is different.

So far I've lived with my parents-in-law for many years, no problem at all. only lately the hygiene thingy seems to have magnified before my eyes. :p

Really must be tactful. You too, when you go over stay with your MIL for a month, always remember "family harmony" as individuals have different lifestyle...

Good luck. Btw, r u a pri or sec sch teacher?

Rose,
Yah, i oredi told my hubby to ask my mil whether can bathe, shampoo etc. Dun wan any conflicts when i go over.
I taught in sec sch for 10 yrs. In fact, I'm in the middle management, hence it took me quite some time to consider b4 going on NPL.

Seriously if u want yr MIL to tc of yr bbs, hv to close both eyes. U can tell yr own mum but very difficult to tell Mil off

Babyhopeful,

Thats a good decision to look after your bb during her growing up stage. I originally have the intention to leave my job but I cant rely everything on my husband, since he is also supporting his aging parents and sister. Also there are the loans etc...

But at least, my parent-in-law can help take care of the bb...apart from the cleanliness issue. :p

Govt sector r usually pro family...rejoining the work force after a few years should not be too difficult. But its a bit pity that you didnt enjoy the 4 months maternity leave...

Singapoh,

True, not only close both eyes, must also close ears and mouth...hahahaha. Den left with heartache...

Singapoh if er ur cl cut her finger By the foil while trying to Tear the foil of the FM and 1 drop of blood dropped into the FM....... Scooping out the ' containminated' fm is good enuff or I shld discard the whole new tin??

Rose even with cl I also worry abt hygiene ..... I guess best is taking care by ourselves

Rose,
Yah, Govt sector is usu easier to negotiate NPL.
LOL, juz now when u said Dr Loh is "educated ah beng", i was reminded of some of my students whom r ah bengs alike...Dr Loh is not like them. Haha, but think he is influenced to speak Singlish. At first, I tot he is the ang moh type.

Babyhopeful,

Its not the language or accent that he speaks that makes me feel ah beng, its more like the entire package of him fits into my stereotyping of educated ah beng. Hahaha.

Esp the way he carried himself on other unrelated topics...of course, he's not the typical ah beng type, he is the intellectual type.

Gan,

Tricky...Has that drop of blood dried up? If dried, think I will dump the whole tin...if still in liquid form, I will scoop out a big cup.

Singapoh I now stress if my baby drank any of her blood!! I scope after feeding my baby coz she asked me feed said she cut her hand.... So I go check the fm after feeding.... Saw the dried blood drop in the milk.... Will let my hubby know if we shld buy a new tin....

Rose,
u r so funny...whole package...wahhaha...

Gan,
Yah, MOE allows us to take NPL up to 4yrs for valid reasons. I will extend my NPL into childcare leave after i delivered.

I started my NPL Jan this year to take a good break to ttc. Previously when i did my fresh cycle and FET during sch hols, still affect the sch term as miscarriage tends to take some time to recover too.

Gan, does ur gal poo alot? My boy poo very often n alot when he was under phototherapy...seems like good pooing means the jaundice level is recovering?

i got quite worried tht my gal's level will go up..coz she poo very little n in small bites when on FM.. so i gave her all my bm.. n i noticed she poo more.. n its nice n creamy kind.

Gan, i tink i will dispose of the FM if i m you.. kiasu abit better than keep tinking about it. you might wanna do wht i did.. prepare smaller portions of the FM n put in those multi tiers plastic milk powder storage containers to prevent contamination of the whole can when u open n close ir too often.

Pandawife my gal poo alot .... I think breastfeed baby poo more?? But the poo is yellowish and like not solid stool... Normal right?

Yes I m throwing away the whole tin.... Dun take chances but I kept thinking if my gal drank any of her blood.... I dun remember seeing that when I scope up the fm to make milk ...

My hubby asked me continue breastfeeding coz dr never asked us stop and he will buy a new tin and swap the old tin. I think my girl used to breast milk... She drank very slowly when I feed her formula. When she takes breast milk she drinks very fast

Ya will follow ur suggestion to scope into smaller portion. Can't be throwing away $40 tin of milk so often due to carelessness!!

Gan,
breastfed bb poo is yellowish with some curds in them. as long as they're on 100% milk diet the stools should not be solid.
dun keep thinking anymore whether yr gal drank the blood lah. never see means dun have :p

breast milk is thinner so is easier to drink, FM is thicker so bb need to suck harder. but FM also heavier means bb will sleep longer.

eh, i tot u hv enough bm for yr gal, why u giving FM?

Grumpus coz I read abt jaundice due to breastfeeding, so was thinking replacing some feeds with FM .. Maybe it's 'tian yi' I continue bf since that fm i m throwing away.=p my hubb told me doc knew she is on 100% bm, didn't say anything as long she poo n pee

I m worried abt her jaundice after 1 week still not cleared